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SPECIAL NOTICES 
 

 
 

COMMUNITY AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT 
COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT, LIBRARY 

 
PUBLIC NOTICE OF AVAILABLE UTAH STATE PUBLICATIONS 

 
 
The Utah State Library Division has made available Utah State Publications List No. 02-14, dated July 8, 2002 
(http://library.utah.gov/02-14.html); and List No. 02-15, dated July 19, 2002 (http://library.utah.gov/02-15.html).  For copies of the 
complete lists, contact the Utah State Library Division at:  1950 West 250 North, Suite A, Salt Lake City, UT 84116-7901; phone:  
(801) 715-6777; or the Division of Administrative Rules, PO Box 141007, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-1007; phone:  (801) 538-
3218; FAX:  (801) 538-1773; or view them on the World Wide Web at the addresses above. 
 
DAR NOTE:  This is the last notice that will be published in the Utah State Bulletin.  The lists are published on the State Library 
Division's website (http://library.utah.gov) and notice is also sent to Utah libraries which post this information. 
 
 
 

 
 

End of the Special Notices Section 
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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between July 2, 2002, 12:00 a.m., and July 15, 2002, 
11:59 p.m. are included in this, the August 1, 2002, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · 
·) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the 
Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is 
available from the filing agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least September 3, 2002.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the 
last day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  
Additionally, citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  
Section 63-46a-5 (1987) requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the 
publication date of the PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through November 29, 2002, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than 31 days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the 
Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-4 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-2, 
and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Administrative Services, Fleet 
Operations 

R27-4 
Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of 

State Fleet 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25079 
FILED:  07/12/2002, 09:32 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  A section 
(R27-4-3) was added to this rule in anticipation of a legislative 
change.   However, the change was not made in the Utah 
Code; therefore this section will need to be removed. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Removes Section R27-4-3 
entitled "Agreements Made Pursuant to Section 63A-9-401(7)" 
from this rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsections 63A-9-401(1)(a), 63A-9-401(c)(v), 63A-9-
401(c)(ix), 63A-9-401(c)(xi), and 63A-9-401(c)(xii) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This change will cause no change in the 
state budget, because it was based on an expected change in 
the Utah Code which did not happen. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This change will cause no change in 
local government budget, because it was based on an 
expected change in the Utah Code which did not happen. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  This change will have no effect on any 
other persons, because it was based on an expected change 
in the Utah Code which did not happen. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs associated with this rule change, because it 
was based on an expected change in the Utah Code which 
did not happen. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The changes to this rule were 
based on an anticipated change in the Utah Code that was not 
made.  Therefore, there will be no fiscal impact on 
businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES 
FLEET OPERATIONS 
Room 4120 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Alison Taylor at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3306, by FAX at 801-538-1773, or by Internet E-mail at 
alisontaylor@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Steve Saltzgiver, Director 
 
 
 
R27.  Administrative Services, Fleet Operations. 
R27-4.  Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of State Fleet. 
R27-4-1.  Authority. 
 (1)  This rule is established pursuant to Subsections 63A-9-
401(1)(a), 63A-9-401(1)(c)(v), 63A-9-401(1)(c)(ix), 63A-9-
401(1)(c)(x), 63A-9-401(1)(c)(xi) and 63A-9-401(1)(c) (xii), which 
require the Division of Fleet Operations (DFO) to: coordinate all 
purchases of state vehicles; make rules establishing requirements for 
the procurement of state vehicles, whether for the replacement or 
upgrade of current fleet vehicles or fleet expansion; make rules 
establishing requirements for cost recovery and billing procedures; 
make rules establishing requirements for the disposal of state 
vehicles; make rules establishing requirements for the reassignment 
and reallocation of state vehicles and make rules establishing rate 
structures for state vehicles. 
 (a)  All agencies exempted from the DFO replacement program 
shall provide DFO with a complete list of intended vehicle 
purchases prior to placing the order with the vendor. 
 (b)  DFO shall work with each agency to coordinate vehicle 
purchases to make sure all applicable mandates, including but not 
limited to alternative fuel mandates, and safety concerns are met. 
 (c)  DFO shall assist agencies, including agencies exempted 
from the DFO replacement program, in their efforts to insure that all 
vehicles in the possession, control, and/or ownership of agencies are 
entered into the fleet information system. 
 (2)  Pursuant to Subsection 63-38-3.5(8)(f)(ii), vehicles 
acquired by agencies, or monies appropriated to agencies for vehicle 
purchases, may be transferred to DFO and, when transferred, 
become part of the Consolidated Fleet Internal Service Fund. 
 
R27-4-2.  Fleet Standards. 
 (1)  Prior to the purchase of replacement and legislatively 
approved expansion vehicles for each fiscal year, the Fleet Vehicle 
Advisory Committee (FVAC) shall, on the basis of input from user 
agencies, recommend to DFO a standard vehicle and the features 
and miscellaneous equipment to be included in said vehicle for each 
vehicle class in the fleet. 
 (2)  DFO shall, after reviewing the recommendations made by 
the FVAC, determine and establish, for each fiscal year, the standard 
replacement vehicle, along with included features and miscellaneous 
equipment for each vehicle class in the fleet. 
 (3)  DFO shall establish lease rates designed to recover, in 
addition to overhead and variable costs, the capital cost associated 
with acquiring a standard replacement vehicle for each vehicle class 
in the fleet. 
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 (4)  DFO shall establish replacement cycles according to 
vehicle type and expected use.  The replacement cycle that applies to 
a particular vehicle supposes that the vehicle will be in service for a 
specified period of time and will be driven an optimum number of 
miles within that time. Whichever of the time or mileage criterion is 
reached first shall result in the vehicle's replacement. 
 
[R27-4-3.  Agreements made pursuant to Section 63A-9-401(7). 
 (1)  Agreements made pursuant to Section 63A-9-401(7) shall 
be permitted only in cases where the vehicles that are the subject 
matter of the agreements were, or are, funded from sources other 
than state appropriations. 
 (2)  Agreements made pursuant to Section 63A-9-401(7) shall, 
at a minimum, contain: 
 (a)  a precise definition of each duty or function that is being 
allowed to be performed; and 
 (b)  a clear description of the standards to be met in performing 
each duty or function allowed; and 
 (c)  a provision for periodic administrative audits by either the 
DFO or the Department of Administrative Services; and 
 (d)  a representation that the procurement or disposal of the 
vehicles that are the subject matter of the agreement shall be 
coordinated with DFO, and that alternative fuel vehicles shall be 
purchased by the agency or institution of higher education, when 
necessary, to insure state compliance with federal AFV mandates; 
and 
 (e)  a representation that the purchase price is less than or equal 
to the state contract price for the make and model being purchased; 
and in the event that the state contract price is not applicable, that 
the provisions of Section 63-56-1 shall be complied with; and 
 (f)  a representation that all the information whose entry into 
DFO's fleet information system would be required if the vehicles 
that are the subject matter of the agreement were funded with state 
appropriations, shall be entered into DFO's fleet information system; 
and 
 (g)  a date on which the agreement shall terminate if the 
agreement has not been previously terminated or renewed. 
 (3)  An agreement made pursuant to Section 63A-9-401(7) may 
be terminated by DFO if the results of administrative audits 
conducted by either DFO or the Department of Administrative 
Services reveal a lack of compliance with the terms of the 
agreement.] 
 
R27-4-4.  Vehicle Replacement. 
 (1)  All state fleet motor vehicles shall, subject to budgetary 
constraints, be replaced when the vehicle meets the first of either the 
mileage or time component of the established replacement cycle 
criteria. 
 (2)  Prior to the purchase of replacement motor vehicles, DFO 
shall provide each agency contact with a list identifying all vehicles 
that are due for replacement, and the standard replacement vehicle 
for the applicable class that has been established by DFO after 
reviewing the recommendations of the FVAC that will be purchased 
to take the place of each vehicle on the list. 
 (3)  Agencies may request that state fleet motor vehicles in their 
possession or control that have a history of excessive repairs, but 
have not reached either the mileage or time component of the 
applicable replacement cycle, be replaced.  The request to replace 
motor vehicles with a history of excessive repairs is subject to 
budgetary constraints and the approval of the Director of DFO or the 
director's designee. 

 (4)  Agencies may petition the Executive Director of the 
Department of Administrative Services, or the executive director's 
designee, for a review in the event that the Director of DFO or the 
director's designee denies a request for the replacement of motor 
vehicles with a history of excessive repairs. 
 (5)  In the event that the replacement vehicle is not delivered to 
the agency by the vendor, the agency shall have five working days to 
pick-up the replacement vehicle from DFO, after receiving official 
notification of its availability.  If the vehicles involved are not 
exchanged within the five-day period, a daily storage fee will be 
assessed and the agency will be charged the monthly lease fee for 
both vehicles. 
 (6)  DFO is responsible for insuring that the state motor vehicle 
fleet complies with United States Department of Energy alternative 
fuel vehicle (AFV) mandates. DFO may require that a certain 
number of replacement vehicles, regardless of the requesting 
agency, be alternate fuel vehicles to insure compliance with said 
AFV mandates. 
 
R27-4-5.  Fleet Expansion. 
 (1)  Any expansion of the state motor vehicle fleet requires 
legislative approval. 
 (2)  The agency requesting a vehicle that will result in fleet 
expansion shall be required to provide proof of the requisite 
legislative approval for the procurement of an expansion vehicle and 
any additional features and miscellaneous equipment, before DFO is 
authorized to purchase the expansion vehicle. 
 (3)  For the purposes of this rule, an agency shall be deemed to 
have the requisite legislative approval under the following 
circumstances only: 
 (a)  The procurement of expansion vehicles is explicitly 
authorized by the Appropriations Committee during the general 
legislative session; or 
 (b)  The procurement of expansion vehicles is explicitly 
authorized by a special session of the legislature convened for the 
express purpose of approving fleet expansion. 
 (4)  For the purposes of this rule, only the following shall 
constitute acceptable proof of legislative approval of the requested 
expansion: 
 (a)  A letter, signed by the agency's Chief Financial Officer, 
citing the specific line item in the appropriations bill providing said 
authorization; or 
 (b)  Written verification from the agency's analyst in the 
Governor's Office of Planning and Budget (GOPB) indicating that 
the request for expansion was authorized and funded by the 
legislature. 
(5) Upon receipt of proof of legislative approval of an expansion 
from the requesting agency, DFO shall provide to the State Division 
of Finance copies of the proof submitted in order for the Division of 
Finance to initiate the process for the formal transfer of funds from 
the requesting agency to DFO.  In no event shall DFO purchase 
expansion vehicles for requesting agencies until the Division of 
Finance has completed the process for the formal transfer of funds. 
 (6)  When the expansion vehicle is procured, the vehicle shall 
be added to the fleet and a replacement cycle established. 
 (7)  DFO is responsible for insuring that the state motor vehicle 
fleet complies with United States Department of Energy alternative 
fuel vehicle (AFV) mandates. DFO may require that a certain 
number of expansion vehicles, regardless of the requesting agency, 
be alternate fuel vehicles to insure in compliance with said AFV 
mandates. 
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R27-4-6.  Vehicle Feature and Miscellaneous Equipment 
Upgrade. 
 (1)  Additional feature(s) or miscellaneous equipment to be 
added to the standard replacement vehicle in a given class, as 
established by DFO after reviewing the recommendations of the 
Fleet Vehicle Advisory Committee (FVAC), that results in an 
increase in vehicle cost shall be deemed a feature and miscellaneous 
equipment upgrade. A feature or miscellaneous equipment upgrade 
occurs when an agency requests: 
 (a)  That a replacement vehicle contains a non-standard feature. 
For example, when an agency requests that an otherwise standard 
replacement vehicle have a diesel rather than a gasoline engine, or 
that a vehicle contain childproof locks. 
 (b)  The installation of additional miscellaneous equipment not 
installed by the vehicle manufacturer. For example, when an agency 
requests that light bars or water tanks be installed on an otherwise 
standard replacement vehicle. 
 (2)  Requests for feature and miscellaneous equipment 
upgrades shall be made in writing and: 
 (a)  Present reasons why the upgrades are necessary in order to 
meet the agency's needs, and 
 (b)  Shall be signed by the requesting agency's director, or the 
appropriate budget or accounting officer. 
 (3)  All requests for vehicle feature and/or miscellaneous 
equipment upgrades shall be subject to review and approval by the 
Director of DFO or the director's designee.  Vehicle feature and/or 
miscellaneous equipment upgrades shall be approved when in the 
judgment of the Director of DFO or the director's designee, the 
requested feature and/or miscellaneous equipment upgrades are 
necessary and appropriate for meeting the agency's needs. 
 (4)  Agencies may petition the Executive Director of the 
Department of Administrative Services, or the executive director's 
designee, for a review in the event that the Director of DFO or the 
director's designee denies a request for a feature and/or 
miscellaneous equipment upgrade. 
 (5)  Agencies obtaining approval for feature and/or 
miscellaneous equipment upgrades shall, prior to the purchase of the 
vehicle, pay in full to DFO, a feature and/or miscellaneous 
equipment upgrade rate designed to recover the total cost associated 
with providing the additional feature(s) and/or miscellaneous 
equipment, unless the requesting agency otherwise negotiates an 
agreement with DFO for payments to be made in installments, and 
provided that the terms of the installment agreement do not delay the 
payment of the general fund debt. 
 (6)  In the event that an agreement providing for the payment of 
a feature and/or miscellaneous equipment upgrade in installments is 
reached, the agency shall indemnify and make DFO whole for any 
losses incurred resulting from damage to, loss or return of the 
vehicle and/or equipment prior to the receipt of all payment 
installments by DFO. 
 
R27-4-7.  Agency Installation of Miscellaneous Equipment. 
 (1)  The director of the Division of Fleet Operations, with the 
approval of the Executive Director of the Department of 
Administrative Services, may enter into Memoranda of 
Understanding allowing customer agencies to install miscellaneous 
equipment on or in state vehicles if: 
 (a)  the agency or institution has the necessary resources and 
skills to perform the installations; and 
 (b)  the agency or institution has received approval for said 
miscellaneous equipment as required by R27-4-6. 

 (2)  Each memorandum of understanding for the installation of 
miscellaneous equipment shall, at a minimum, contain the 
following: 
 (a)  a provision that monthly lease fees shall be charged to the 
agency from the date of the agency's receipt of the replacement 
vehicle as required under R27-4-9(7)(b); and 
 (b)  a provision that said agency shall indemnify and hold DFO 
harmless for any claims made by a third party that are related to the 
installation of miscellaneous equipment in or on state vehicles in the 
agency's possession and/or control; and 
 (c)  a provision that said agency shall indemnify DFO for any 
damage to state vehicles resulting from installation or de-installation 
of miscellaneous equipment; and 
 (d)  a provision that agencies with permission to install 
miscellaneous equipment shall enter into the DFO fleet information 
system the following information regarding the miscellaneous 
equipment procured for installation in or on state vehicles, whether 
the item is held in inventory, currently installed on a vehicle, or sent 
to surplus; 
 (i)  item description or nomenclature; and 
 (ii)  manufacturer of item; and 
 (iii)  item identification information for ordering purposes; and 
 (iv)  procurement source; and 
 (v)  purchase price of item; and 
 expected life of item in years; and 
 (vi)  warranty period; and 
 (vii)  serial number; 
 (viii)  initial installation date; and 
 (ix)  current location of item (warehouse, vehicle number); and 
 (x)  anticipated replacement date of item; and 
 (xi)  actual replacement date of item; and 
 (xii)  date item sent to surplus; and 
SP-1 number. 
 (e)  a provision requiring the agency or institution with 
permission to install being permitted to install miscellaneous 
equipment to obtain insurance from the Division of Risk 
Management in amounts sufficient to  protect itself from damage to, 
or loss of, miscellaneous equipment installed on state vehicles.  
Agencies or institutions with permission to install miscellaneous 
equipment shall hold DFO harmless for any damage to, or loss of 
miscellaneous equipment installed in state vehicles. 
 (f)  a provision that DFO shall provide training and support 
services for the fleet information system and charge agencies with 
permission to install miscellaneous equipment an MIS fee to recover 
these costs. 
 (g)  a date on which the agreement shall terminate if the 
agreement has not been previously terminated or renewed. 
 (3)  Agreements permitting agencies or institutions to install 
miscellaneous equipment in or on state vehicles may be terminated 
if there is a lack of compliance with the terms of the agreement by 
the state agency or institution. 
 
R27-4-8.  Vehicle Class Differential Upgrade. 
 (1)  For the purposes of this rule, requests for vehicles other 
than the planned replacement vehicle established by DFO after 
reviewing the recommendations of the Fleet Vehicle Advisory 
Committee (FVAC), that results in an increase in vehicle cost shall 
be deemed a vehicle class differential upgrade. For example, a 
vehicle class differential upgrade occurs when, regardless of 
additional features and/or miscellaneous equipment: 
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 (a)  The replacement vehicle requested by the agency, although 
within the same vehicle class as the vehicle being replaced, is not the 
standard replacement vehicle established by DFO for that class. For 
example, an agency requests a Ford Focus instead of a Chevrolet 
Cavalier, the standard vehicle in the compact sedan class for FY 
2001. 
 (b)  The agency requests that a vehicle be replaced with a more 
expensive vehicle belonging to another class.  For example, when an 
agency requests to have a standard ½ ton truck replaced with a 
standard 3/4 ton truck, or a compact sedan be replaced with a mid-
size sedan. 
 (2)  Requests for vehicle class differential upgrades shall be 
made in writing and: 
 (a)  Present reasons why the upgrades are necessary in order to 
meet the agency's needs, and 
 (b)  Shall be signed by the requesting agency's director or the 
appropriate budget or accounting officer. 
 (3)  All requests for vehicle class differential upgrades shall be 
subject to review and approval by the Director of DFO or the 
director's designee.  Vehicle class differential upgrades shall be 
approved only when: 
 (a)  In the judgment of the Director of DFO or the director's 
designee, the requested vehicle upgrade is necessary and appropriate 
for meeting the demands of changing operational needs for which 
the planned replacement vehicle is clearly inadequate or 
inappropriate; 
 (b)  In the judgment of the Director of DFO or the director's 
designee, the requested vehicle upgrade is necessary and appropriate 
for meeting safety, environmental, or health or other special needs 
for drivers or passengers. 
 (4)  Agencies may petition the Executive Director of the 
Department of Administrative Services, or the executive director's 
designee, for a review in the event that the Director of DFO or the 
director's designee denies a request for a vehicle class differential 
upgrade. 
 (5)  Agencies obtaining approval for vehicle class differential 
upgrade(s) shall pay to DFO, in full, prior to the purchase of the 
vehicle, a vehicle class differential upgrade rate designed to recover 
the difference in cost between the planned replacement vehicle and 
the actual replacement vehicle when the replacement vehicle is a 
more expensive vehicle belonging to the same or another class. 
 
R27-4-9.  Cost Recovery. 
 (1)  State vehicles shall be assessed a lease fee designed to 
recover depreciation costs, and overhead costs, including AFV and 
MIS fees, and where applicable, the variable costs, associated with 
each vehicle. 
 (2)  Lease rates are calculated by DFO according to vehicle 
cost, class, the period of time that the vehicle is expected to be in 
service, the optimum number of miles that the vehicle is expected to 
accrue over that period, and the type of lease applicable: 
 (a)  A capital only lease is designed to recover depreciation plus 
overhead costs, including AFV and MIS fees, only. All variable 
costs, such as fuel and maintenance, are not included in the lease 
rate. 
 (i)  Capital only leases are subject to DFO approval; and 
 (ii)  Shall be permitted only when the requesting agency 
provides proof that its staffing, facilities and other infrastructure 
costs, and preventive maintenance and repair costs are less than, or 
equal to those incurred by DFO under the current preventive 
maintenance and repair services contract. 

 (iii)  DFO shall, upon giving approval for a capital only lease, 
issue a delegation agreement to each agency. 
 (b)  A full-service lease is designed to recover depreciation and 
overhead costs, including AFV and MIS fees, as well as all variable 
costs. 
 (3)  DFO shall review agency motor vehicle utilization on a 
quarterly basis to identify vehicles in an agency's possession or 
control that, on the basis of the applicable replacement cycle, are 
either being under-utilized or over-utilized. 
 (4)  DFO shall provide the results of the motor vehicle 
utilization review to each agency for use in agency efforts to insure 
full utilization of all state fleet motor vehicles in its possession or 
control. 
 (5)  In the event that a vehicle is turned in for replacement as a 
result of reaching the optimum mileage allowed under the applicable 
replacement cycle mileage schedule, prior to the end of the period of 
time that the vehicle is expected to be in service, a rate containing a 
shorter replacement cycle period that reflects actual utilization of the 
vehicle being replaced may be implemented for said vehicle's 
replacement. 
 (6)  In the event that a vehicle is turned in for replacement as 
scheduled, but is not in compliance with optimum mileage allowed 
under the applicable replacement cycle, a rate containing a longer 
replacement cycle period that reflects actual utilization of the vehicle 
being replaced may be implemented for said vehicle's replacement. 
 (7)  DFO shall begin the monthly billing process when the 
agency receives the vehicle. 
 (a)  Agencies that choose to keep any vehicle on the list of 
vehicles recommended for replacement after the receipt of the 
replacement vehicle, pursuant to the terms of a memorandum of 
understanding between the leasing agencies and DFO that allows the 
agency to continue to possess or control an already replaced vehicle, 
shall continue to pay a monthly lease fee on the vehicle until it is 
turned over to the Surplus Property Program for resale. Vehicles that 
are kept after the receipt of the replacement vehicle shall be deemed 
expansion vehicles for vehicle count report purposes. 
 (b)  Agencies that choose to install miscellaneous equipment to 
the replacement vehicle, in house, shall be charged a monthly lease 
fee from date of receipt of the replacement vehicle.  If DFO 
performs the installation, the billing process shall not begin until the 
agency has received the vehicle from DFO. 
 
R27-4-10.  Executive Vehicle Replacement. 
 (1)  Executive Vehicles shall be available to only those with 
employment positions that have an assigned vehicle as part of a 
compensation package in accordance with state statute. 
 (a)  Each fiscal year DFO shall establish a standard executive 
vehicle type and purchase price. 
 (b)  Executives may elect to replace their assigned vehicle at 
the beginning of each elected term, or appointment period, or as 
deemed necessary for the personal safety and security of the elected 
or appointed official. 
 (c)  When the executive leaves office, the vehicle shall be sold 
in accordance with State Surplus Property Program policies and 
procedures. 
 (2)  Executives shall have the option of choosing a vehicle 
other than the standard executive vehicle. 
 (a)  The alternative vehicle selection should not exceed the 
standard executive vehicle price parameter guidelines. 
 (b)  In the event that the agency chooses an alternative vehicle 
that exceeds the standard vehicle guidelines, the agency shall pay for 
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the difference in price between the vehicle requested and the 
standard executive vehicle. 
 
R27-4-11.  Reservation of Vehicle Allocation for Surrendered 
Vehicles. 
 (1)  This section implements that part of Item 59 of S.B. 1 of 
the 2002 General Session which requires the Division of Fleet 
Operations to "create a capitalization credit program that will allow 
agencies to divest themselves of vehicles without seeing a future 
capitalization cost if programs require replacement of the vehicle." 
 (2)  Except as provided in paragraph 3 of this section, DFO 
shall, in the event that an agency voluntarily surrenders a vehicle to 
DFO, hold the vehicle allocation open for the surrendering agency, 
for a period not to exceed the remainder the fiscal year within which 
the surrender takes place. 
 (3)  The surrendering agency's failure to request the return of 
the vehicle surrendered prior to the end of the fiscal year within 
which the surrender took place, shall result in the removal of the 
surrendered vehicle or allotment from the state fleet and effect a 
reduction in state fleet size. 
 (4)  DFO shall not hold vehicle allocations for an agency when 
the vehicle that is being surrendered: 
 (a)  has been identified for removal from the state fleet in order 
to comply with legislatively mandated reductions in state fleet size; 
or 
 (b)  is identified as a "do not replace" vehicle in the fleet 
information system; or 
 (c)  is a state vehicle not purchased by DFO; or 
 (d)  is a seasonal vehicle that has already been replaced. 
 (5)  Any agency that fails to request the return of a voluntarily 
surrendered vehicle prior to the end of the fiscal year within which 
the surrender took place, must comply with the requirements of R27-
4-5, Fleet Expansion, to obtain a vehicle to replace the one 
surrendered. 
 
R27-4-12.  Inter-agency Vehicle Reassignment or Reallocation 
Guidelines. 
 (1)  DFO is responsible for state motor vehicle fleet 
management, and in the discharge of that responsibility, one of 
DFO's duties is to insure that the state is able to obtain full 
utilization of, and the greatest residual value possible for state 
vehicles. 
 (2)  DFO shall, on a quarterly basis, conduct a review of state 
fleet motor vehicle utilization to determine whether the vehicles are 
being utilized in accordance with the mileage requirements 
contained in the applicable replacement cycles. 
 (3)  DFO shall provide the results of the motor vehicle 
utilization review to each agency for use in agency efforts to insure 
full utilization of all state fleet vehicles in its possession or control. 
 (4)  In conducting the review, DFO shall collect the following 
information on each state fleet vehicle: 
 (a)  year, make and model; 
 (b)  vehicle identification number (VIN); 
 (c)  actual miles traveled per month; 
 (d)  driver and/or program each vehicle is assigned to; 
 (e)  location of the vehicle; 
 (f)  class code and replacement cycle. 
 (4)  Agencies shall be responsible for verifying the information 
gathered by DFO. 
 (5)  Actual vehicle utilization shall be compared to the 
scheduled mileage requirements contained in the applicable 

replacement cycle, and used to identify vehicles that may be 
candidates for reassignment or reallocation, reclassification, or 
elimination. 
 (6)  In the event that intra-agency reassignment or reallocation 
of vehicles fails to bring vehicles into compliance with applicable 
replacement cycle mileage schedules within a replacement cycle, 
DFO may, in the exercise of its state motor vehicle fleet 
management responsibilities, reassign, reallocate or eliminate the 
replacement vehicles for vehicles that are chronically out of 
compliance with applicable replacement cycle mileage requirements 
to other agencies to ensure that all vehicles in the state  fleet are 
fully utilized. 
 (7)  Agencies required to relinquish vehicles due to a 
reassignment or reallocation may petition the Executive Director of 
the Department of Administrative Services, or the executive 
director's designee, for a review of the reallocation or reassignment 
made by DFO. However, vehicles that are the subject matter of 
petitions for review shall remain with the agencies to which they 
have been reassigned or reallocated until such time as the Executive 
Director of the Department of Administrative Services or the 
executive director's designee renders a decision on the matter. 
 
R27-4-13.  Disposal of State Vehicles. 
 (1)  State vehicles shall be disposed of in accordance with the 
requirements of Section 63A-9-801 and Rule R28-1. 
 
KEY:  fleet expansion vehicle replacement 
2002 
63A-9-401(1)(a) 
63A-9-401(c)(v) 
63A-9-401(c)(ix) 
63A-9-401(c)(xi) 
63A-9-401(c)(xii) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-77 
Professional Geologist Licensing Act 

Rules 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25092 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 16:31 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 2002 
Legislature enacted Title 58, Chapter 77 (H.B. 96), requiring 
licensure for professional geologists.  This rule is being 
enacted to clarify the provisions of that new statute.  (DAR 
NOTE:  H.B. 96 is found at UT L 2002 Ch 218, and was 
effective May 6, 2002.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This new rule provides the 
following: definitions, education requirements, experience 
requirements, examination requirements, renewal cycle-
procedures, clarification on exemption from licensure in 
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Subsection 58-77-304(1), unprofessional conduct and seal 
requirements. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-77-101, and Subsections 58-1-106(1) and 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Adds American Geological Institute's 
Guidelines for Ethical Professional Conduct, April 2, 1999 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur costs of 
approximately $100 to print this rule once it is made effective. 
 Any costs incurred will be absorbed by the Division in the 
current budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Proposed rule does not affect local 
governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Persons seeking licensure as a 
professional geologist will be impacted.  An applicant for 
licensure is required by rule to complete at a minimum an 
undergraduate degree.  The cost of an undergraduate degree 
can vary greatly depending on the university attended.  After 
January 1, 2004, an applicant for licensure as a professional 
geologist must also take and pass the Association of State 
Boards of Geology (ASBOG) Fundamentals of Geology (FG) 
and Principles and Practice of Geology (PG) examinations.  
The cost of both examinations is estimated to cost 
approximately $350-$400.  The Division is unable to 
determine how many persons will be applying for licensure as 
a professional geologist.  The following fees which are 
identified are as a result of newly enacted statute and not 
these rules, but the Division wanted all applicants for licensure 
as a professional geologist to be aware of the licensing fees 
involved.  New application: $150; Renewal fee (every two 
years): $120; Education/Enforcement Surcharge added to 
new application and renewal fees: $15. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Persons seeking 
licensure as a professional geologist will be impacted.  An 
applicant for licensure is required by rule to complete at a 
minimum an undergraduate degree.  The cost of an 
undergraduate degree can vary greatly depending on the 
university attended.  After January 1, 2004, an applicant for 
licensure as a professional geologist must also take and pass 
the ASBOG FG and PG examinations.  The cost of both 
examinations is estimated to cost approximately $350-$400.  
The Division is unable to determine how many persons will be 
applying for licensure as a professional geologist.  The 
following fees which are identified are as a result of newly 
enacted statute and not these rules, but the Division wanted 
all applicants for licensure as a professional geologist to be 
aware of the licensing fees involved.  New application: $150; 
Renewal fee (every two years): $120; Education/Enforcement 
Surcharge added to new application and renewal fees: $15. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  In accordance with Title 58, 
Chapter 77, the Division is proposing this rule to begin 
administering the new licensing requirements for professional 
geologists.  Included in this rule are the licensing requirements 

for education, training and testing, all of which will create a 
business impact for the geology business community.  The 
only cost that can be estimated at this point is the cost of 
examinations, which is in the range of $350-$400.  However, 
the cost of education will depend upon the university attended 
by the applicant.  It is also unclear how many people will seek 
licensure under this new statute.  Ted Boyer, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Lynn Bernhard at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6621, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
lbernhard@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  8/16/2002 at 9:00 AM, 160 East 300 South, 
Conference Room 428 (4th Floor), Salt Lake City, Utah. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-77.  Professional Geologist Licensing Act Rules. 
R156-77-101.  Title. 
 These rules are known as the "Professional Geologist Licensing 
Act Rules". 
 
R156-77-102.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 77, as 
used in Title 58, Chapters 1 and 77, or these rules: 
 (1)  "ASBOG" means Association of State Boards of Geology. 
 (2)  "Geosciences", as used in Subsection 58-77-302(4)(a), 
means an earth science degree, which results in sufficient geological 
knowledge to enable the practice of geology before the public. 
 (3)  "Qualified individual", as used in Section R156-77-302c, 
means a person who is licensed as a professional geologist in a 
recognized jurisdiction, or who otherwise meets the requirements for 
licensure as defined in Sections 58-77-302 and R156-77-302b and 
R156-77-302c. 
 (4)  "Practice of geology before the public" does not include the 
following aspects of paleontology: 
 (a)  taxonomy; 
 (b)  biologic analysis of organisms; or 
 (c)  the human context of a site. 
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 (5)  "Practice of geology before the public" does not include the 
following aspects of the practice of anthropology and archeology: 
 (a)  archeological survey, excavation, and reporting; 
 (b)  production of archeological plan views, profiles, and 
regional overviews; or 
 (c)  investigation and reporting of artifacts or deposits that are 
modified or affected by past human behavior. 
 (6)  "Principal", as used in Subsection 58-77-102(5), means the 
licensee assigned to and personally accountable for the production of 
specified professional geologic projects within an organization. 
 (7)  "Recognized jurisdiction", as used in Subsection R156-77-
302d(2), means any state, district or territory of the United States 
that issues a license for a professional geologist, and whose licensure 
requirements include: 
 (a)  a bachelors or post graduate degree in the geosciences from 
an accredited institution or equivalent foreign education as 
determined by the International Credentialing Association and the 
Division in collaboration with the board; 
 (b)  documented qualifying experience requirements similar to 
the experience requirements found in Subsection 58-77-302(5) and 
Section R156-77-302; and 
 (c)  passing the ASBOG Fundamentals of Geology (FG) and 
the ASBOG Principles and Practice of Geology (PG) Examination. 
 (8)  "Unprofessional conduct", as defined in Title 58, Chapters 
1 and 77, is further defined, in accordance with Subsection 58-1-
203(5), in Section R156-77-502. 
 
R156-77-103.  Authority - Purpose. 
 These rules are adopted by the division under the authority of 
Subsection 58-1-106(1) to enable the division to administer Title 58, 
Chapter 77. 
 
R156-77-104.  Organization - Relationship to Rule R156-1. 
 The organization of this rule and its relationship to Rule R156-
1 is as described in Section R156-1-107. 
 
R156-77-302b.  Qualifications for Licensure - Education 
Requirements. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-77-302, the education 
requirements for graduates of an approved geoscience program are 
as follows: 
 (a)  an earned bachelors or masters degree in geology from an 
accredited institution; or 
 (b)  an earned bachelor or post-graduate degree in the 
geosciences from an accredited institution including the completion 
of a minimum of 24 semester or 36 quarter hours in upper level or 
graduate geology courses, which includes one or more of the 
following subject areas: 
 (i)  structural geology; 
 (ii)  geophysics; 
 (iii)  sedimentology/stratigraphy/paleontology; 
 (iv)  mineralogy/petrology/geochemistry; 
 (v)  engineering geology/environmental geology; 
 (vi)  hydrogeology/hydrology; 
 (vii)  geomorphology/remote sensing; 
 (viii)  economic geology/petroleum geology; and 
 (ix)  field geology. 
 (2)  In accordance with Section 58-1-302, an applicant who has 
been educated in a foreign country shall submit a course-by-course 
accreditation evaluation completed by International Credentialing 
Association to determine program equivalency. 

R156-77-302c.  Qualifications for Licensure - Experience 
Requirements. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-77-302(5), active 
professional practice requirements are clarified or established as 
follows: 
 (1)  Professional practice shall be obtained after completing the 
minimum educational requirement for licensure. 
 (2)  One year of active professional practice shall consist of a 
minimum of 2,000 hours of geological work experience under the 
supervision of a qualified individual, or in responsible charge as 
permitted by law. 
 (3)  No more than 2,000 hours of active professional practice 
may be gained in any 12 month period of time. 
 (4)  Qualifying work engagements consist of a range of 
activities included in the practice of geology consisting of more than 
the performance or supervision of geological work activities that are 
routine, such as routine sampling, laboratory work, or geological 
drafting, where the elements of initiative, scientific judgment and 
decision-making are lacking. 
 (5)  Three years of geologic research or teaching activity in 
upper division or graduate level geology classes at an accredited 
university is equivalent to one year of qualifying experience. 
 
R156-77-302d.  Qualifications for Licensure - Examination 
Requirements. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-77-302(6), except as 
otherwise provided in Subsection (2) or(3), the examination 
requirements for licensure as a professional geologist after January 
1, 2004 are established as follows: 
 (a)  the ASBOG Fundamentals of Geology ("FG") Examination 
with a passing score as recommended by the ASBOG; and 
 (b)  the ASBOG Principles and Practice of Geology ("PG") 
Examination with a passing score as established by the ASBOG. 
 (2)  The ASBOG FG Examination shall not be required for an 
applicant who: 
 (a)  has practiced as a principal for five years of the last seven 
years preceding the date of the license application; 
 (b)  was not required to pass the ASBOG FG Examination for 
initial licensure from the recognized jurisdiction the applicant was 
originally licensed; and 
 (c)  has passed the ASBOG PG Examination. 
 (3)  The ASBOG FG and PG Examinations shall not be 
required for an applicant who: 
 (a)  has practiced as a principal for five years during the last 
seven years preceding the date of the license application; 
 (b)  has been licensed for 20 years preceding the date of the 
license application; and 
 (c)  who was not required to pass the ASBOG FG and PG 
Examination for initial licensure from the recognized jurisdiction the 
applicant was originally licensed, but was required to pass a 
predecessor exam established by the recognized jurisdiction. 
 
R156-77-303.  Renewal Cycle - Procedures. 
 In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1), the renewal date 
for the two-year renewal cycle applicable to licensees under Title 58, 
Chapter 31b, is established by rule in Section R156-1-308. 
 
R156-77-304.  Exemption from Licensure. 
 The exemption from licensure in Subsection 58-77-304(1) is 
defined or clarified as follows: An "employee" or "subordinate", as 
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used therein and elsewhere in Title 58, Chapter 77, or these rules, 
means an individual who: 
 (1)  is not licensed as a professional geologist; 
 (2)  works with, for, or provides professional geologic services 
on work initiated by a person licensed as a professional geologist; 
and 
 (3)  works only under the administration, charge, control, 
command, authority, oversight, guidance, jurisdiction, regulation, 
management, and authorization of a person licensed as a 
professional geologist. 
 
R156-77-501.  Unprofessional Conduct. 
 "Unprofessional conduct" includes: 
 (1)  submitting an incomplete final plan, specification, report or 
set of plans to: 
 (a)  a client, when the licensee represents, or could reasonably 
expect the client to consider the plan, specification, report or set of 
plans to be complete and final; or 
 (b)  to a government official for the purpose of obtaining a 
permit; 
 (2)  failing as a principal to exercise responsible charge; 
 (3)  failing as a supervisor to exercise supervision of an 
employee, subordinate, associate or drafter; or 
 (4)  failing to conform to the accepted and recognized standards 
and ethics of the profession including those stated in the "American 
Geological Institute's Guidelines for Ethical Professional Conduct", 
April 2, 1999, which is hereby incorporated by reference. 
 
R156-77-601.  Seal Requirements. 
 (1)  In accordance with Section 58-77-601, the seal design and 
implementation shall be: 
 (a)  each seal shall be a circular seal, 1-1/2 inches minimum 
diameter; 
 (b)  each seal shall include the licensee's name, license number, 
"State of Utah", and "Licensed Professional Geologist"; 
 (c)  each seal shall be signed and dated with the signature and 
date appearing across the face of each seal imprint; 
 (d)  each original set of final geologic map, cross-section, 
sketch, drawing, plan, or report prepared, as a minimum, shall have 
the original seal imprint, original signature and date placed on the 
cover or title sheet; 
 (e)  a seal may be a wet stamp, embossed, or electronically 
produced; and 
 (f)  copies of the original set of plans, specifications, reports, 
maps, sketches, surveys, drawings, documents and plats which 
contain the original seal, original signature and date are permitted, if 
the seal, signature and date is clearly recognizable. 
 
KEY:  licensing, professional geologists, geology 
2002 
58-1-106(1) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
58-77-101 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-402 
Incentives for Excellence in Public 

Schools 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25098 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:36 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding and the program at the Utah 
State Office of Education no longer exist. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost to the state 
budget.  There may be some savings to the state.  The state 
will no longer pay anything for new programs that were 
previously funded at 50% by this rule. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost to local 
government.  There may be some savings to school districts 
because there will be no matching funds which sometimes 
came from school district funds. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Individuals never paid for this program. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Persons never paid 
for this program. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses.  Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-402.  Incentives for Excellence in Public Schools. 
R277-402-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Eligible donors" means private enterprise, including the 
business community and entities oriented to making a profit in their 
work; nonprofit entities, including foundations, civic clubs, and 
associations; and persons making personal donations. 
 B.  "Public Education Foundation" means a nonprofit 
organization formed for the purpose of generating private funds for a 
school, school district, or other educational effort. 
 C.  "Educational excellence" means programs, practices, 
learning materials, and equipment which have direct impact upon 
the instruction of students and result in increased student 
performance in the required state school curriculum. 
 D.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 E.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 F.  "Reallocated" means the distribution of state funds 
originally allocated to a district which were not matched by that 
district and are thus available to other districts which can match the 
unused funds. 
 
R277-402-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized under Article X, Section 3 of the 
State Constitution which vests general control and supervision of 
public education in the Board, Section 53A-4-202, U.C.A. 1953, 
which assigns to the Board the responsibility for developing 
standards and administering funds for a program promoting 
educational excellence, and Section 53A-1-401(3), U.C.A. 1953, 
which permits the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its 
responsibilities. 
 B.  This rule establishes standards and procedures for the 
Incentives for Excellence in Public Schools Program and for 
administering associated funds. 
 
R277-402-3.  Division of State Appropriation. 
 A.  State funds appropriated under this program are allocated as 
specified in Section 53A-4-202, U.C.A. 1953. 
 B.  State matching funds earmarked for an eligible district are 
disbursed to the district according to the following schedule: 
 (1)  April 1 - Districts must have applied for Incentives for 
Excellence funds. 
 (2)  After April 1, if a district has not applied and qualified for 
Incentives for Excellence funds, monies will be reallocated to other 
school districts under the same program guidelines.  Districts 
qualifying for reallocated funds will be notified and asked to submit 
a letter of intent to apply for reallocated monies. 
 (3)  May 1 - Qualifying districts must have applied for 
reallocated funds. 
 

R277-402-4.  Eligibility. 
 To participate in this program, a district must: 
 A.  Appoint, with the approval of the local board of education, 
an on-going committee which shall include representatives from 
education, business, and the nonprofit sectors of the community to 
function as a public education foundation, an advisory board, or in 
another role appropriate to the purposes of the law. 
 B.  Designate an employee of the district to administer the plan, 
maintain contact with the Office, and coordinate the matching 
process. 
 
R277-402-5.  Funding Process. 
 A.  A district is eligible to receive funds when the following 
criteria are met: 
 (1)  it has identified how the money is to be used; 
 (2)  it has identified how expenditures meet the Educational 
Excellence definition; 
 (3)  it has verified the receipt and sources of the district's 
match.  At least 50 percent of the district's match must be from 
sources other than existing PTA funds.  A PTA may participate 
above the 50% level when it is part of an overall partnership 
program which involves the community in raising funds for 
approved incentive projects.  In such cases, the revenue source is 
designated as community donations gathered by the PTA. 
 B.  Requests for portions of the state's match may be made until 
April 1 of the fiscal year. 
 C.  The match must be private dollar for public dollar, and may 
not be in kind. 
 D.  A verification of the district's match, signed by the local 
project administrator and the district superintendent, must be 
completed for each portion of the state's matching monies. 
 E.  Funds made available for match during a given fiscal year 
must be matched during that same fiscal year but may be spent in 
subsequent years. 
 F.  An application for each school or project shall be completed 
in full and submitted to the USOE. 
 
R277-402-6.  Fiscal and Reporting Procedures. 
 A.  The Office develops uniform accounting and reporting 
procedures, forms, and deadlines for this program. 
 B.  Funds received under this program may not be used for 
salaries, out-of-state travel, building construction, or indirect costs.  
Stipends, contracts, or honoraria are allowable. 
 
R277-402-7.  Waivers. 
 The State Superintendent may grant a written request for a 
waiver of a requirement or deadline which a district finds unduly 
limiting. 
 
KEY:  public education, financial incentives*, education 
foundations*, school/business partnerships* 
1992 
Notice of Continuation September 12, 1997 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-4-202 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Education, Administration 

R277-403 
Productivity Project Studies:  Classified 

Employee Program 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25099 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:36 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The rule is 
repealed because the funding for this specific program no 
longer exists. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to state government.  The state will no longer pay for 
productivity ideas under this rule. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  There was no previous cost to 
school districts--no change.  Districts may have submitted 
proposals.  No longer can be reimbursed or receive incentive. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Individuals can no longer expect money for 
cost savings ideas. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Individuals can no 
longer expect money for cost savings ideas. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses.  Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 

AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-403.  Productivity Project Studies:  Classified Employee 
Program. 
R277-403-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Productivity for Classified Employees" means improving 
the efficiency of classified employees in the public schools, which 
should include training components, classified staffing formulas, and 
preventative maintenance formulas. 
 B.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 C.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-403-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Article X, Section 3 of the Utah 
Constitution which vests the general control and supervision of 
public education in the Board, Section 53A-1-401(4), U.C.A. 1953, 
which directs the Board to adopt rules to promote productivity in the 
public school system, and Section 53A-1-401(3), U.C.A. 1953, 
which allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its 
responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to specify standards and 
procedures which must be met to qualify for funds allocated to the 
Board for productivity programs. 
 
R277-403-3.  Application for Funds; Award Procedures; 
Eligibility. 
 A.  An individual, school, or district may apply for productivity 
funds by submitting a concept paper through a local school district 
office to the USOE. 
 B.  Concept papers shall be reviewed and evaluated by an 
appointed committee of the USOE. 
 C.  From the concept papers submitted, those submitting the 
most creative and promising ideas shall be invited to submit full 
proposals.  Technical assistance in the preparation of proposals is 
available upon request. 
 D.  Applications for grants shall be reviewed and rated by a 
team consisting of USOE staff, local district personnel, and, as 
needed, outside consultants. 
 E.  The findings and recommendations of the review teams 
shall be consolidated and presented to the State Superintendent of 
Public Instruction who shall make recommendations to the Board 
which shall make the final selection. 
 
R277-403-4.  Grant Types. 
 A.  Applicants may submit classified productivity project 
studies which are designed to improve the efficiency of classified 
employees in the public schools. 
 B.  Applications must address one of the following types of 
productivity project studies: 
 (1)  an innovative or developmental project which addresses 
productivity; 
 (2)  a planning project which proposes to study or analyze an 
idea prior to a future request for funds to pilot test or implement the 
studied concepts; 
 (3)  where funds remain, projects which propose to duplicate a 
proven productivity project developed and tested in another district 
would be considered for replication. 
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KEY:  educational planning 
1987 
Notice of Continuation September 12, 1997 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(4) 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-441 
Alternative Experimental Pilot Programs 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25108 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:40 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding and specific program no longer 
exist. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget for pilot/experimental education programs 
beginning in the 2002 school year.  There may be minimal 
savings to the Utah State Office of Education because it will 
no longer need to administer the program. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  School districts will not receive 
specific funds for these programs but may find funds within 
the school district. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Only school districts, never persons, received 
funds. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Only school districts, 
never persons, received funds. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-441.  Alternative Experimental Pilot Programs. 
R277-441-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "Certificated teachers" means instructors in the public 
schools who hold licenses issued by the Board which attest to the 
fact that the holders have satisfied the requirements for employment 
in the public school system as outlined in R277-502. 
 C.  "Superintendent" means the State Superintendent of Public 
Instruction. 
 D.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-441-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision over public 
schools in the Board, Section 53A-17a-132(4)(b) which directs the 
Board to select schools for the pilot programs and develop selection 
criteria, and by Section 53A-1-401(3) which allows the Board to 
adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to establish criteria and 
procedures for schools and school districts to receive alternative 
experimental pilot program funds. 
 
R277-441-3.  Selection of Schools. 
 A.  Funds shall be allocated to school districts for specific 
elementary schools selected by the review team. 
 B.  Up to three elementary schools shall be selected for funding 
in each school year that funds are appropriated or available. 
 C.  Proposals shall be received at the Superintendent's office as 
designated by the application. 
 
R277-441-4.  Required Selection Criteria. 
 A.  The school shall provide: 
 (1)  a minimum of five hours per day of 2-12 instruction time; 
 (2)  a minimum of 1100 hours per year of instruction time in 
grades 2-12; 
 (3)  that the minimum instruction time of hours per day and 
hours per year is offered by certificated teachers; 
 (4)  a significant increase, identified in the proposal, over the 
previous year of instruction time devoted to the core subjects 
designated in R277-700-10; 
 (5)  a suggested and projected long-term student plan that 
encourages students to complete their elementary education in five 
rather than six and complete public school education in ten instead 
of the traditional 12 years; 
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 (6)  increased teacher specialization in grades K-6; and 
 (7)  a projected school year calendar which begins no later than 
August of the school year that funds are appropriated or available. 
 
R277-441-5.  Recommended Selection Criteria. 
 A.  Priority shall be given to school proposals which include: 
 (1)  Two to three hours per day of time devoted to any 
combination of: 
 (a)  instruction in subjects such as music, art, technology, 
foreign language and citizenship; 
 (b)  instruction by certificated and non-certificated instructors 
and volunteers; 
 (c)  city and county recreation programs; and 
 (d)  community service activities. 
 (2)  Schools, city and county recreation programs such as 
intramural, leagues and clubs; 
 (3)  Opportunities, facilities and supervisors for community 
service by students; 
 (4)  After-hours school use for two or three hours per day for 
two or three school days per week or Saturdays; 
 (5)  Use of school facilities for a variety of child-parent, adult 
and technology skill building opportunities or activities; 
 (6)  Use of school facilities during extended holiday and 
summer breaks; and 
 (7)  A long-term commitment from the district to continue the 
priorities identified in the proposal. 
 
R277-441-6.  Distribution of Funds. 
 A.  The schools selected to receive funding shall be identified 
as determined in the application process. 
 B.  The funding shall be provided monthly from the USOE. 
 
R277-441-7.  Evaluation. 
 The USOE and school districts with selected schools shall 
collaborate on an annual evaluation of program effectiveness and 
student progress. 
 
KEY:  public schools, school year, extended year* 
1994 
Notice of Continuation September 30, 1999 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-17a-132(4)(c) 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-452 
Procedures for Filing Comprehensive 

Capital Outlay Plan 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25100 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:37 

 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the law no longer exists that made the rule 
necessary. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost to state 
government.  There may be some savings in administration 
costs at the State Office of Education to review plans.  Some 
oversight previously providing -- savings in staff time/costs. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local school boards/school 
districts will now be responsible, perhaps using consultants, to 
ensure wise planning and spending on capital projects. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Persons had no expenses previously/no 
savings now. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Persons had no 
expenses previously/no savings now. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-452.  Procedures for Filing Comprehensive Capital 
Outlay Plan. 
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R277-452-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 C.  "Comprehensive Capital Outlay Plan" means a plan 
outlining current school buildings, their location, and their usage, 
with a description of future school buildings, their location, and their 
usage. 
 
R277-452-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Article X, Section 3 of the Utah 
Constitution which vests general control and supervision of public 
education in the Board, and Section 53A-1-401(3) which permits the 
Board to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to outline the procedures to be 
followed by local boards in submitting a comprehensive capital 
outlay plan to the Board. 
 
R277-452-3.  Submission of Plan. 
 A.  A local board of education shall file a comprehensive 
capital outlay plan with the Board once every five years.  It shall 
also file a revised plan each time changes are adopted by the local 
board. 
 B.  Review of plan by USOE 
 (1)  Upon receipt of a plan, the State Superintendent of Public 
Instruction shall notify the district submitting the plan of the plans 
acceptance, rejection, or need for modification. 
 (2)  The notice shall: 
 (a)  be given within 60 days of receipt of the plan; 
 (b)  include reasons for rejection or need for modification; and 
 (c)  advise the local board of the process to appeal the 
determination. 
 (3)  The Board shall approve the plan if it is in accordance with 
generally accepted projection standards and techniques or unless an 
exception made by the State Superintendent is justified. 
 C.  Within a reasonable time following a determination of 
rejection or need for modification, district and USOE staff shall 
meet to agree to a plan acceptable to the USOE and the district. 
 
R277-452-4.  Appeal Procedures. 
 A.  A local board receiving notification of rejection or need for 
modification of its plan, may, after the meeting required under 
Subsection R277-452-3, make a written request for a hearing with 
the Board. 
 B.  The written request shall include: 
 (1)  justification for the request, including an explanation of the 
district and USOE's inability to reach agreement; 
 (2)  what part of the plan necessitates reconsideration by the 
Board; and 
 (3)  other relevant facts for reconsideration. 
 C.  The local board may present its position to the Board orally. 
 D.  The State Superintendent of Public Instruction may make 
written and oral recommendations to the Board concerning the 
Board's reconsideration. 
 E.  No later than the first regular meeting of the Board after the 
appeal hearing, the Board shall make a final determination regarding 
the plan.  The State Superintendent of Public Instruction shall notify 
the local board of the Board's decision. 
 F.  The decision of the Board is the final administrative 
determination on the matter. 
 

KEY:  educational facilities, educational planning 
October 5, 1998 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-455 
Standards and Procedures for Building 

Plan Review 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25107 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:40 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the law no longer exists that made the rule 
necessary.  The law was seen as duplicative and burdensome 
to school districts. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-402(1)(d) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost to the state 
budget.  There may be some savings in staff time without 
required review. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Most of the requirements are 
still in place with other state or federal entities; no increased 
review by local school boards due to repeal of this rule. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Other persons were never affected, only state 
and local boards. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Other persons were 
never affected, only the State and local boards of education. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses.  Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
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DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-455.  Standards and Procedures for Building Plan 
Review. 
R277-455-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 B.  "Building Code" means all of the following which are 
available at the Division of Facilities Construction and Management 
and from the USOE Finance and Statistics Division: 
 (1)  "Uniform Building Code (UBC)" as promulgated by the 
International Conference of Building Officials (ICBO); 
 (2)  "National Elecrical Code (NEC)" as promulgated by the 
National Fire Protection Association (NFPA); 
 (3)  "Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC)" as adopted by the 
International Association of Plumbing and Mechanical Officials 
(IAPMO); 
 (4)  "Uniform Mechanical Code (UMC)" as promulgated by the 
ICBO and IAPMO; 
 (5)  "Utah Energy Code" as adopted by the American Society 
of Heating, Refrigeration, and Air Conditioning Engineers, 
Inc./Illuminating Engineers Society (ASHRAE/IES); 
 (6)  "Americans with Disabilities Act Handbook"; and 
 (7)  "Utah State Fire Marshal Laws, Rules and Regulations." 
 C.  "Schematic drawing" means a first, single line drawing of 
the layout of a facility showing the general orientation and 
development of a project. 
 D.  "Preliminary plan" means a further development of a 
schematic drawing illustrating the size and character of a project 
including plans, elevations, and other necessary drawings giving the 
size and character of the structure, the mechanical system, the 
electrical system, and an estimate of the construction cost. 
 E.  "Final plans" means the plans and specifications from which 
the project is to be constructed. 
 F.  "State Superintendent" means the State Superintendent of 
Public Instruction or his or her designee. 
 G.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 
R277-455-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Section 53A-20-102 which 
requires the State Superintendent to approve specified district 
building projects, Section 53A-20-104 which requires the State 
Superintendent to enforce state statutes relative to district building 
projects, Sections 53A-1-402(1)(d) and 53A-20-102(2)(c) which 
allow the Board to adopt rules relative to district building projects 
and Section 53A-1-401(3) which allows the Board to adopt rules in 
accordance with its responsibilities. 

 B.  The purpose of this rule is to specify the standards and 
procedures by which proposed building construction plans are 
approved by the State Superintendent. 
 
R277-455-3.  Submissions. 
 A.  If the total annual accumulative cost of a building project 
exceeds $100,000, before the project is let for bid, the district shall 
submit to the State Superintendent for review and approval: 
 (1)  at least one set of the preliminary plan for the project as 
soon as the plans are completed; and 
 (2)  one set of the final plans, with the signed approval of the 
State Fire Marshal, the State Health Department or local Health 
Department, and the State Division of Facilities Construction and 
Management, where applicable under Subsection 3(C). 
 B.  All school districts prior to bid shall submit to the State Fire 
Marshal: 
 (1)  one set of the preliminary plan of a building project as soon 
as it is completed; and 
 (2)  one set of the final plan for approval. 
 C.  All school districts constructing facilities in whole or in part 
with state funds shall submit for approval project plans and 
specifications to the State Division of Facilities Construction and 
Management prior to bid in accordance with Section 26-29-4. 
 D.  All districts shall provide one set of the "as built" plans to 
the Board.  School districts shall maintain "as built" plans. 
 E.  Plans for proposed building sites shall be submitted to the 
State Superintendent for approval. 
 F.  Prior to the adoption of a change order affecting educational 
adequacy, life safety, or access to persons with disabilities, it shall 
be submitted to the State Superintendent for approval. 
 
R277-455-4.  Criteria for Approval. 
 A.  To receive approval of a proposed building site, the local 
school district must certify that: 
 (1)  the site is well located; 
 (2)  the site is of adequate size; 
 (3)  staff of the Utah Geological Survey have reviewed and 
recommended approval of the geologic hazards report provided by 
the school district geotechnical consultant; and 
 (4)  the location of the site has been determined after 
consultation with appropriate local government authorities in 
accordance with Section 53A-20-108. 
 B.  School districts shall have a procedure to review geologic 
hazards in screening potential school facility sites prior to 
acquisition. 
 C.  To receive approval of proposed building plans, the local 
school district must provide evidence that: 
 (1)  the plans meet the requirements of Section 53A-20-102; 
 (2)  the school district has provided for inspection by an 
inspector qualified under criteria established by R156-56-11, 
Uniform Building Standard Rules, and the State Superintendent; and 
 (3)  the school district has provided the notice required by 
Section 53A-20-108. 
 
R277-455-5.  Procedures. 
 A.  The USOE shall review preliminary plans upon receipt.  
Recommendations, suggestions, and comments resulting from the 
review are sent by letter to the affected school district superintendent 
and the architect.  Meetings with the district superintendent, USOE 
staff, district staff, and the architect to resolve problems revealed by 
the review may be initiated by the USOE staff, the district 
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superintendent, or the architect.  The review of a preliminary plan 
represents the major review of the USOE.  The USOE shall make 
every effort to resolve problems relating to the approval of plans 
prior to the submission of the final plans. 
 B.  Upon receipt, the USOE reviews final plans in light of the 
preliminary review and any subsequent discussions.  Approval of the 
plans is given by the State Superintendent if the final plans meet the 
criteria of Section 4(B). 
 C.  Upon receipt, the USOE considers requests for site 
approval.  The State Superintendent approves requests that meet the 
criteria of Section 4(A) unless there is justification for exception. 
 D.  Upon receipt, requests for approval of change orders are 
reviewed by the USOE and, if appropriate, submitted to the State 
Fire Marshal, State Health Department and State Building Board for 
approval.  Approval or rejection of the change order is made on the 
basis of compliance with building code specifications, statutory and 
administrative rule requirements, and Fire Marshal and Building 
Board approval. 
 E.  Approval of plans and specifications and of change orders is 
signified by the signature of the authorized person on the document. 
 
KEY:  educational facilities 
August 1, 2000 
Notice of Continuation February 26, 1999 
53A-20-102 
53A-20-104 
53A-1-402(1)(d) 
53A-1-401(3) 
53A-20-108 
26-29-4] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-459 
Teachers' Supplies and Materials 

Appropriation 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25095 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:35 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
amended to include teachers from charter schools and from 
the Edith Bowen Laboratory School to be eligible to receive 
the appropriation for teachers' supplies and materials.  This 
language is based on 2002 legislation in H.B. 3, Supplemental 
Appropriations Act II.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 3 is found at UT L 
2002 Ch 330, and was effective on March 26, 2002.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule now includes 
charter school teachers and Edith Bowen Laboratory School 
teachers as eligible to receive the teachers' supplies and 
materials appropriation. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-402(1)(b) 

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to state budget because charter schools have previously 
received these funds for their teachers, as public schools. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government; funds come from the state. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons; charter school teachers, as public school 
teachers, have previously and will continue to receive funds 
for materials and supplies. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  The money comes 
from the state budget to all public school teachers. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-459.  Teachers' Supplies and Materials Appropriation. 
R277-459-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 [C]B.  "[Full-time equivalent teaching position]Classroom 
teacher" means a permanent teacher position filled by one or more 
[job-sharing ]teachers employed by a school district, the Utah 
Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, the Edith Bowen Laboratory 
School, and charter schools and paid on the teachers' salary schedule 
or a charter school salary schedule.  Teachers shall be employed for 
an entire contract period and shall provide instructional [or 
counseling ]services to students. 
 [B]C.  "Field trip" means a district, [ATC ]or school authorized 
excursion for educational purposes. 
 D.  "Teaching supplies and materials" means both expendable 
and nonexpendable items that are used for educational purposes by 
teachers in classroom activities and may include such items as: 
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 (1)  paper, pencils, workbooks, notebooks, supplementary 
books and resources; 
 (2)  laboratory supplies, e.g. photography materials, chemicals, 
paints, bulbs (both light and flower), thread, needles, bobbins, wood, 
glue, sandpaper, nails and automobile parts; 
 (3)  laminating supplies, chart paper, art supplies, and mounting 
or framing materials; 
 (4)  This definition should be broadly construed in so far as the 
materials are used by the teacher for instructional purposes in 
classrooms, lab settings, or in conjunction with field trips. 
 E.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-459-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized under Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which gives general control and supervision of the public 
school system to the Board, by Section 53A-1-402(1)(b) which 
directs the Board to establish rules and minimum standards for 
school programs, and by state legislation which provides a 
designated appropriation for teacher classroom supplies and 
materials. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to distribute money [to]through 
school districts, [ATCs and ]the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the 
Blind, the Edith Bowen Laboratory School, and charter schools to 
[allocate to ]classroom teachers [and counselors ]for school 
materials and supplies and field trips. 
 
R277-459-3.  Distribution of Funds. 
 A.  Each school district, [ATC and ]the Utah Schools for the 
Deaf and the Blind, the Edith Bowen Laboratory School, and charter 
schools shall provide the USOE with a teacher count of full-time 
[equivalent teaching positions]classroom teachers, as defined above, 
as of October 1 of each year. 
 B.  The USOE shall distribute funds [to]through each school 
district, [ATC and ]the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the Blind, the 
Edith Bowen Laboratory School, and charter schools proportionally 
per [full-time equivalent teaching]eligible position to the extent of 
the appropriation. 
 C.  Individual teachers shall designate the uses for their 
allocations within the [guidelines]criteria of this rule.  Districts and 
other eligible schools shall develop procedures and timelines to 
facilitate the intent of the appropriation. 
 D.  Each school district shall ensure that each eligible 
individual [in a full-time equivalent teaching position ]has the 
opportunity to receive the proportionate share of the appropriation. 
 E.  If a teacher has not spent or committed to spend the 
individual allocation by April 1, the school or district may make the 
excess funds available to other teachers or may reserve the money 
for use by teachers the following years. 
 F.  These funds are to supplement, not supplant, existing funds 
for these purposes. 
 G.  These funds are to be accounted for by the district or 
eligible school using state or district procurement and accounting 
policies. 
 
R277-459-4.  Other Provisions. 
 A.  Districts, [ATCs and ]the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the 
Blind, the Edith Bowen Laboratory School, and charter schools shall 
allow, but not require, teachers to jointly use their allocations. 
 B.  Districts, [ATCs and ]the Utah Schools for the Deaf and the 
Blind, the Edith Bowen Laboratory School, and charter schools shall 
allow part-time or job-sharing teachers a proportionate allocation. 

KEY:  teachers, supplies[*] 
[September 1, 2000]2002 
Notice of Continuation July 12, 2000 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-402(1)(b) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-465 
Character Education Funding 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25106 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:40 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding no longer exists. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  Overall state budgets have been cut with 
this program specifically eliminated. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or saving 
to local government.  Local boards of education may use 
general block grant funds for character education. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Other persons were never affected. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Persons were never 
affected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-465.  Character Education Funding. 
R277-465-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "Core Curriculum" means minimum academic standards 
provided through courses as established by the Board which shall be 
completed by all students K-12 as a requisite for graduation from 
Utah's secondary schools. 
 C.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 D.  "Character education" means any program or activity 
integrated into the Core Curriculum and designed to teach students 
principles of character that will help them avoid high risk behaviors 
and learn to function as caring, productive citizens in society. 
 E.  "Utah State Public Education Strategic Plan (Strategic 
Plan)" means the written plan presented to the Utah Legislature in 
January, 1992 for improving public education in Utah.  A copy of 
the Strategic Plan is available in the Office of the State 
Superintendent of Public Instruction. 
 
R277-465-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision of the public 
school system under the Board, by Section 53A-1-401(3) which 
allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its 
responsibilities and by Section 53A-17a-131.6 which provides that 
the Board develop rules for the distribution of funds appropriated for 
the character education program. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to clarify criteria and procedures 
for distributing funds for character education programs. 
 C.  The purpose of character education is to teach students 
principles such as integrity, social responsibility, and the importance 
of the work ethic in order to help them avoid high risk behaviors and 
learn to function as caring, productive citizens in society. 
 
R277-465-3.  Application Process. 
 A.  School districts shall complete a written application for 
character education funding and submit the application to the USOE 
Character Education Specialist by deadlines designated by the 
USOE. 
 B.  The application shall present a systematic and 
comprehensive district plan and include proposed student materials, 
parent involvement and teacher training components. 
 C.  Application may request funding for up to three years. 
 D.  The application shall: 
 (1)  include the name of the school district and contact person; 
 (2)  identify the names and positions of the district character 
education committee including parent membership; 
 (3)  describe the district character education plan; 
 (4)  describe how the application meets the criteria described in 
Section 53A-17a-131.6 for the use of character education funds; 

 (5)  include a process for evaluating character education 
activities undertaken as part of the plan; 
 (6)  include a description of how the character education 
activities of the plan shall be integrated into the Core Curriculum 
and support the State Strategic Plan; 
 (7)  include a process for seeking approval of the local board 
and local character education committee of all teaching materials, 
curriculum materials, course outlines and evaluation instruments 
used in programs and activities funded with this money; and 
 (8)  describe how the program will continue after the funding 
period. 
 
R277-465-4.  Distribution of Funds and Reporting 
Requirements. 
 A.  Character education grants of $20,000 to $30,000 shall be 
awarded annually to eight to twelve school districts. 
 B.  Decisions regarding awards shall be based on the quality of 
the completed application and the probable effectiveness of the plan. 
 C.  Character education funds shall be used for: 
 (1)  implementing curriculum within the classroom that 
provides for the direct instruction of students; 
 (2)  student materials, parent involvement, and teacher training. 
 D.  Funding priority shall be given to plans that: 
 (1)  will be implemented under the direction of a district 
character education committee; 
 (2)  involve parents with educators in all phases of the design, 
implementation, and evaluation of the program. 
 (3)  have integrated character education into Core Curriculum 
classes. 
 E.  Districts receiving funds shall prepare and submit a year-
end report that: 
 (1)  details how the funds were expended during the program 
period; 
 (2)  identifies any funds not expended; 
 (3)  includes a request to carry forward any program funds not 
expended or obligated during the approved program period with a 
plan for expenditure of remaining funds with USOE approval; 
 (4)  includes results of a yearly program evaluation and an 
outline of changes planned in response to evaluation information. 
 
R277-465-5.  Waivers. 
 The State Superintendent of Public Instruction may grant a 
written request for a waiver of a requirement or deadline which a 
district finds unduly restrictive.  A request that is granted shall be 
consistent with state and federal law and the express purposes of this 
rule. 
 
KEY:  curricula, character education* 
October 16, 1995 
Notice of Continuation October 13, 2000 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(3) 
53A-17a-131.6] 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Education, Administration 

R277-467 
Modernizing School Library Media 

Center Collections 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25110 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:40 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding no longer exists. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost to the state 
budget.  There may be minimal administration savings to the 
Utah State Office of Education because it will no longer need 
to administer the program. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local boards may choose to 
develop programs with block grant funds. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Other persons were never affected. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Persons were never 
affected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-467.  Modernizing School Library Media Center 
Collections. 
R277-467-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 C.  "Library books" means trade books that support the school 
curriculum and books for recreational reading interests.  This 
definition does not include textbooks or books used solely for 
classroom instruction. 
 D.  "School library media collections" means those collections 
of resources, in a variety of formats and delivery systems, used for 
information and support of reading skills instruction and practice.  
Such collections shall be managed and housed in the individual 
school library media center or are acquired by library media 
personnel for electronic access. 
 
R277-467-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision of public 
schools in the Board, by 1996 Laws of Utah, Chapter 321, Section 
36(3) which directs the Board to develop rules to distribute one-time 
monies for school library media collections, and Section 53A-1-
401(3) which allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its 
responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to provide for distribution of one-
time monies to school districts for school library media collections 
during the 1996-97 school year. 
 
R277-467-3.  Distribution of Funds. 
 A.  Each Utah school shall receive an allocation from the 
appropriation for library media reference resources as follows: 
 (1)  elementary schools, through grade six, shall receive $2,000 
per school; 
 (2)  junior high/middle/intermediate schools, through grade 
nine, shall receive $2,200 per school; 
 (3)  senior high school shall receive $2,400 per school; and 
 (4)  Multi level schools shall receive the appropriation as 
determined by the highest grade in the school. 
 B.  Following the base distribution, the  remaining funds shall 
be distributed to districts on a per pupil basis. 
 C.  Schools shall spend these fund allocations only for library 
media collection materials including library books and CD ROM-
based library media reference resources.  CD ROM-based library 
media reference resources may include encyclopedias and index 
databases. 
 
R277-467-4.  Accountability and Evaluation. 
 The USOE Library Media Specialist may review individual 
schools to determine if funds were expended consistently with the 
purpose of this rule and the law. 
 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 25101 

 
22 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 1, 2002, Vol. 2002, No. 15 

KEY:  libraries, educational media* 
April 29, 1997 
Notice of Continuation November 30, 2001 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-472 
Reading Performance Improvement 

Awards Program 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25101 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:38 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding no longer exists. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost to the state 
budget.  There may be minimal administrative savings to the 
Utah State Office of Education because it will no longer need 
to administer the program. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local boards may choose to 
develop programs with block grant funds. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Other persons were never affected. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Persons were never 
affected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-472.  Reading Performance Improvement Awards 
Program. 
R277-472-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "ASCII (American Standard Code for Information 
Interchange)" means a binary code for text as well as 
communications and printer control. It is used for most 
communications and is the built-in character code in most 
minicomputers and all personal computers. 
 B.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 C.  "CRT (Criterion Reference Test)" means the Utah State 
Core assessment end of level test designed to assess student mastery 
of the reading Core Curriculum in grades K-3. 
 D.  "Ethical administration of assessments" means that 
educators should not violate general ethical standards concerning 
theft, cheating, lying or similar violations as they relate to the testing 
or evaluation process.  Also, the definition includes educational 
defensibility - test preparation activity that raises student test scores 
is INAPPROPRIATE unless it simultaneously increases student 
mastery of the content domain tested. 
 E.  "Significant reading performance improvement" means: 
 (1)  students shall be assessed using the State CRTs, an 
Informal Reading Inventory, and a diagnostic reading instrument 
selected from the state-approved list.  In addition to these three, 
schools may use other instruments to demonstrate reading 
performance improvement; 
 (2)  schools shall provide documentation of performance on the 
designated assessments showing student performance in reading; 
and 
 (3)  the majority of the students in the school (i.e., more than 50 
percent) shall have improved their reading performance on at least 
two-thirds of the reading assessments given to students. 
 F.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-472-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision of public 
education in the Board, Section 53A-3-402.11(2)(b) which requires 
the Board to make rules for program participation, and Section 53A-
1-401(3) which permits the Board to adopt rules in accordance with 
its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to provide an application process 
and standards for school participation in the Reading Performance 
Improvement Awards Program. 
 
R277-472-3.  Application Process and Distribution of Funds. 
 A.  Awards shall be made to individual schools and funds 
allocated to school districts to distribute to designated schools for K-
3 programs. 
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 B.  Schools shall use existing documents and data (e.g. 
application for State Literacy Program funds, application for school 
trust lands funds, grant applications, accreditation data) to apply for 
this award. 
 C.  Upon submission of an application for any grant that 
addresses reading, a school should indicate the desire to receive 
funds for the funds awarded under this rule. 
 D.  Any application that outlines a program that is currently 
being implemented in a school may be used to apply for these funds. 
 E.  The application that is submitted by schools to the district 
shall include: 
 (1)  identification of current performance in reading, including 
student-level baseline data for all instruments used to document 
significant reading performance improvement, submitted as an 
ASCII file; 
 (2)  an explanation of procedures to be implemented for 
monitoring student progress to ensure accountability, including 
ethical administration of the assessment measures at uniform times 
throughout the school year; 
 (3)  a description of the school's reading program(s); 
 (4)  a plan for professional development and training for school 
staff to support implementation of the program(s); and 
 (5)  a listing of the resources and materials needed to 
implement the plan.  Any resources needed to implement the plan 
are the responsibility of the school. 
 F.  Applications shall be collected at the district office and 
reviewed by district staff to ensure that the application requirements 
have been met, and forwarded by the district to the Evaluation and 
Assessment Coordinator at the Utah State Office of Education no 
later than November 15 of each year.  End-of-year outcome data 
shall be submitted by each successful applicant in the same format 
as baseline data to USOE no later than September 30 of each year. 
 G.  USOE staff shall review the applications received from the 
districts each year and identify those that have met the criteria for 
showing significant reading performance improvement. 
 H.  Those that have documented significant reading 
performance improvement will be rank ordered according to the 
amount of improvement made. 
 I.  Nine schools that have shown the greatest improvement will 
be identified. 
 J.  USOE staff shall submit the names of the schools showing 
the greatest improvement to the Board for approval to receive 
$1,000 each. 
 K.  Schools receiving funding shall be notified by October 15. 
 
R277-472-4.  Limitation on Funds. 
 Funds shall be used exclusively for purposes set forth in 
Section 53A-3-402.11(2)(a)(ii) (i.e., to purchase books and other 
reading materials). 
 
KEY:  reading, academic performance 
November 16, 1999 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-3-402.11(2)(b) 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-478 
Block Grant Funding 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal and Reenact) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25096 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:35 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the repeal and reenact is to provide for significant 
changes to the block grant. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The reenacted rule 
combines different funds together into three new blocks.  The 
repealed rule included in the local discretionary block:  truancy 
prevention and intervention; character education; alternative 
middle school programs; unrestricted local program; 
incentives for excellence; Educational Technology Initiative 
(ETI); school nurses; experimental and developmental; and 
reading initiative; the reenacted rule includes in the local 
discretionary block:  maintenance and operation costs; capital 
outlay; department services; and a distribution formula for 
local discretionary block grant programs.  The repealed rule in 
the special populations block grant included:  Families, 
Agencies, and Communities Together (FACT); gang 
prevention and intervention; youth in custody; Math, 
Engineering, Science Achievement (MESA); Alternative 
Language Services (ALS); highly impacted schools; adult 
education; regular at risk; homeless and minority; accelerated 
learing programs; and pregnancy prevention;  the reenacted 
rule in the special populations block grant emphasizes 
improving student academic success with priority for 
interventions for students not performing to Utah Performance 
Assessment System for Students (U-PASS) standards and 
also includes a funding formula.  The repealed rule included 
funding for professional development and career ladders; the 
reenacted rule has a third block called quality teaching that 
provides a formula and requires the school district to have a 
long-term professional development plan, but also still 
provides for an optional career ladder program. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to state government.  The revised blocks give local school 
boards greater spending discretion. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local school boards will have 
greater discretion. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Only local school boards are affected. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons; funding is only to local 
school boards. 
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COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-478.  Block Grant Funding. 
R277-478-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Adult basic education" means a program funded through 
the state using state and federal funds to provide instruction for 
adults whose inability to compute or speak, read, or write the 
English language below the ninth grade level substantially impairs 
their ability to find or retain employment commensurate with their 
real ability. 
 B.  "Alternative Language Services (ALS)" means researched-
based, instructional programs that are compatible with the Board's 
PRINCIPLES OF EQUITY FOR UTAH'S PUBLIC SCHOOLS and 
that meet the needs of children speaking a language other than 
English in the public school system.  Programs shall be designed to 
enable students to achieve competence in English and to meet school 
grade-promotion and graduation requirements as determined by the 
Board and school districts. 
 C.  "Alternative Middle School Program" means an educational 
placement outside of the traditional school setting for students ages 
11-15 that integrates middle school characteristics outlined in 
Section 53A-11-909(5). 
 D.  "Block grant funding formula" means a plan for the 
distribution of funds to school districts based upon a district's total 
WPUs in K-12, and the necessarily existent small schools portion of 
the Minimum School Basic program. 
 E.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 F.  "Character education" means any program or activity 
integrated into the Core Curriculum which is designed to teach 
students principles of character that will help them avoid high risk 
behaviors and learn to function as caring, productive citizens in 
society. 
 G.  "Educational Technology Initiative" means a program as 
outlined in Section 53A-1-701. 

 H.  "Experimental and Developmental Program" means a 
program that is in the testing, research or expansion stage that 
demonstrates the potential to improve education. 
 I.  "Fiscal Year (FY)" means the twelve month period from July 
1 through June 30 during which state funds are distributed. 
 J.  "Highly Impacted Schools" means schools with identified 
risk-factors for student success including: high student mobility, 
high percentage of students eligible for free school lunch, high 
percentage of ethnically diverse students, high percentage of student 
with limited English proficiency, and large percentage of students 
from single parent families. 
 K.  "Homeless student" means a student who meets the federal 
definition of homeless for purpose of funding under the McKinney 
Act, 42 USCA, Sections 11431 through 11434. 
 L.  "Incentives for Excellence" is a program providing for 
programs, practices, learning materials, and equipment which have 
direct impact upon the instruction of students and which result in 
increased student performance in the Core Curriculum. 
 M.  "Math, Engineering, Science Achievement program 
(MESA)" means a course or courses offered during the regular 
school day or a club held after school that involves identified 
students and addresses identified district objectives with designated 
minority and female students. 
 N.  "Professional development" means activities approved 
under R277-501 for the purpose of satisfying requirements of 
Section 53A-6-104 for educator license renewal. 
 O.  "Request for proposal (RFP)" means a competitive 
application process used to identify programs that best meet 
requirements established by the Board. 
 P.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-478-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized under Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision of public 
education in the Board, and Section 53A-1-401(3) which permits the 
Board to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to establish criteria and 
procedures for distributing discretionary block grant funds and to 
provide for appropriate monitoring, reporting, and accountability. 
 
R277-478-3.  Local Discretionary Block Grant Programs. 
 A.  Districts may allocate any amount received for programs 
within this block to other programs within this block. 
 B.  Districts shall adhere to identified law, rules or criteria for 
all programs for which the local board of education chooses to 
expend block grant funds. 
 C.  Programs for which local discretionary block grant funds 
may be spent include: 
 (1)  Truancy Intervention and Prevention as defined and 
outlined in R277-607; 
 (2)  Character Education as defined and outlined in Section 
53A-13-101(4) and R277-465.  Additionally, monies shall be used to 
provide inservice training to teachers on the use and teaching of 
character education materials and to acquaint teachers with the 
requirements in the Utah Constitution and state statutes to teach 
qualities of character. 
 (3)  Alternative Middle School programs as defined and 
outlined in Section 53A-11-909; 
 (4)  Unrestricted Local Program - monies may be used for the 
following: 
 (a)  maintenance and operation costs; 
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 (b)  capital outlay and debt service; or 
 (c)  a combination of maintenance and operation costs and 
capital outlay and debt service. 
 (d)  Expenditures shall meet criteria and accountability 
standards consistent with the purposes of this rule and 
 (e)  be reported to the Board in annual budget and financial 
reports. 
 (5)  Incentives for Excellence 
 (a)  A school district shall use its allocation to promote a strong 
partnership between public education and private enterprise, to seek 
additional financial support from the business community, and to 
enhance its educational excellence; and 
 (b)  School districts are encouraged under this program to 
develop projects that rely on matching private and public monies to 
promote educational excellence. 
 (6)  Educational Technology Initiative as defined and outlined 
by Sections 53A-1-701 through 707; 
 (a)  Monies may be used to maintain existing programs and for 
inservice programs required to implement the technology; and 
 (b)  Each school district shall develop a comprehensive 
inservice plan and report expenditures for teacher training to the 
USOE. 
 (7)  School Nurses as defined and outlined by Section 53A-11-
204; 
 (8)  Experimental and Developmental Programs as defined and 
outlined by Sections 53A-15-103, 53A-17a-132 and R277-416; 
 (9)  Reading Initiative as defined and outlined in Section 53A-
1-606.5; 
 (10)  Local discretionary program; expenditures shall: 
 (a)  meet criteria and accountability standards consistent with 
the purposes of this rule. 
 (b)  be reported to the Board in annual budget and financial 
reports. 
 
R277-478-4.  Special Populations Block Grant Programs. 
 A.  Except for programs for which funds are awarded through 
the RFP process, districts may allocate any amount received for 
Special Population Programs to other programs within the Special 
Population Programs' category.  Funds may also be used to 
supplement RFP programs. 
 B.  Districts shall adhere to identified law, rules or criteria for 
all programs for which the local board of education chooses to 
expend Special Population Program funding. 
 C.  RFP programs include: 
 (1)  FACT (Families, Agencies, and Communities Together); 
 (2)  Gang Prevention and Intervention; 
 (3)  Youth-in-custody - a district shall serve all populations 
identified in the law; and 
 (4)  MESA (Math, Engineering, and Science Achievement). 
 D.  Non-RFP programs include: 
 (1)  Alternative language Services as defined and outlined in 
R277-716; 
 (2)  Highly Impacted Schools as defined and outlined in 
Section 53A-15-701 and R277-464; 
 (3)  Adult Education as defined and outlined in Sections 53A-
15-401, 53A-17a-119 and R277-733; 
 (4)  Regular At-risk as defined and outlined in Section 53A-
17a-121 and R277-760; 
 (5)  Homeless and Minority as defined and outlined in Section 
53A-17a-121(4) and R277-616; 

 (6)  Accelerated Learning programs (including Gifted and 
Talented, Advanced Placement, and Concurrent Enrollment) as 
defined and outlined in Section 53A-17a-120, R277-711, R277-712 
and R277-713; and 
 (7)  Pregnancy prevention - upon submission of a program 
consistent with Sections 53A-13-101, 76-7-321 through 325, R277-
752 and this rule. 
 
R277-478-5.  Professional Development and Career Ladders. 
 A.  The Board shall distribute funds for teacher professional 
development programs and teacher career ladders to school districts. 
 B.  Career ladder programs shall be funded under and 
consistent with: 
 (1)  Sections 53A-9-101 through 105, 
 (2)  Section 53A-17a-124, and 
 (3)  R277-526. 
 C.  $10,000,000 of the professional development appropriation 
shall be distributed to school districts for teacher professional 
development days beyond the regular school year. 
 (1)  For purposes of this appropriation, each district shall add 
two days designated for professional development to its annual 
calendar beginning with the 2001-2002 school year. 
 (2)  Professional development days shall be scheduled by the 
district and approved by the local board of education. 
 (3)  Funding for professional development days shall be used to 
implement and train educators for the Utah Performance Assessment 
System for Students consistent with Section 53A-3-701(5)(a)(i). 
 (4)  Districts/schools are encouraged to use existing 
professional development models that are based on research and best 
practice to provide training for educators. 
 (5)  Districts/schools are encouraged to work with other 
districts or schools that have common characteristics and goals to 
maximize resources and funding where possible. 
 (6)  The funds received by a district from this appropriation 
shall be used to pay classroom teachers for the two additional days 
and may include other licensed employees as identified by the 
district. 
 
R277-478-6.  Hold Harmless Funds. 
 Districts shall spend hold harmless funds received under 
Section 53A-17a-131.16 for local discretionary block programs or 
consistent with professional development criteria. 
 
KEY:  educational expenditures, block grant funding* 
August 1, 2001 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(3)] 
R277-478.  Block Grant Funding. 
R277-478-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "Core Curriculum (Core)" means minimum academic 
standards provided through courses as established by the Board 
which shall be mastered by all students K-12 as a requisite for 
graduation from Utah's secondary schools. 
 C.  "Fiscal Year (FY)" means the twelve month period from 
July 1 through June 30 during which state funds are distributed. 
 D.  "Limited English proficient (LEP)" means a student who: 
 (1)  is aged 3 through 21; 
 (2)  was not born in the United States or whose native language 
is a language other than English and comes from an environment 
where a language other than English is dominant; or 
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 (3)  is a Native American or Alaska Native or who is a native 
resident of the outlying areas and comes from an environment where 
a language other than English has had a significant impact on such 
individual's level of English language proficiency; or 
 (4)  is migratory and whose native language is other than 
English and comes from an environment where a language other 
than English is dominant; and 
 (5)  has sufficient difficulty speaking, reading, writing, or 
understanding the English language and whose difficulties may deny 
such individual the opportunity to learn successfully in classrooms 
where the language of instruction is English or to participate fully in 
our society. 
 E.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-478-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized under Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision of public 
education in the Board, and Section 53A-1-401(3) which permits the 
Board to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to establish criteria and 
procedures for distributing block grant funds and to provide for 
appropriate monitoring, reporting, and accountability. 
 
R277-478-3.  Local Discretionary Block Grant Programs. 
 A.  Districts and charter schools shall use Local Discretionary 
Block Grant funds for: 
 (1)  maintenance and operation costs; 
 (2)  capital outlay; and 
 (3)  debt service. 
 B.  Local Discretionary Block Grant funds shall be distributed 
using the following formula: 
 (1)  Eight percent of the total local discretionary block grant 
appropriation shall be divided into 41 equal shares. 
 (2)  Each district shall receive one share. 
 (3)  One share shall be divided equally among all charter 
schools except charter schools which were once existing district 
schools. 
 (4)  The remaining portion of the local discretionary block 
grant appropriation (ninety two percent)shall be divided among the 
districts and charters based upon their total WPUs in K-12, and the 
necessarily existent small schools portion of the Minimum School 
Basic program. 
 C.  Local discretionary program expenditures shall: 
 (1)  meet criteria and accountability standards consistent with 
the purposes of this rule. 
 (2)  be reported to the Board in annual budget and financial 
reports. 
 
R277-478-4.  Interventions for Student Success Block Grant. 
 A.  Districts and charter schools shall use Interventions for 
Student Success Block Grant funds to improve student academic 
success, with priority given to interventions on behalf of students not 
performing to standards as determined by U-PASS test results. 
 B.  Each school district and charter school governing board 
shall develop a plan for the expenditure of Interventions for Student 
Success Block Grant funds.  In developing the plan, districts should 
consider involving educators from Core areas identified in R277-
700. 
 C.  The plan shall specify anticipated results; it may include 
continuing existing programs to improve students' academic success 
for which funds were appropriated before FY 2003. 

 D.   Each local school board and charter school governing 
board shall approve its plan for the expenditure of the block grant 
funds in an open public meeting under Sections 52-4-1 through 10 
before the funds are designated for specific programs. 
 E.  By September 1 of each year, each local school board and 
charter school governing board shall submit a copy of its plan, a 
letter of assurance to the Board that its plan was approved in an open 
and public meeting, and a copy of the local board minutes of the 
meeting in which the plan was approved. 
 F.  If a local school board or charter school governing board 
fails to submit the documents specified in R277-478-4E to the Board 
by September 1, the Board shall withhold the distribution of 
Interventions for Student Success Block Grant funds until 
documentation required under this rule is provided. 
 G.  Interventions for Student Success Block Grant funds shall 
be distributed using the following formula: 
 (1)  Seventy seven percent of the total student success block 
grant appropriation shall be allocated using the Local Discretionary 
Block Grant formula as outlined in R277-478-3B. 
 (2)  The remaining portion of the Interventions for Student 
Success Block Grant funds (twenty three percent) shall be allocated 
on the basis of the number of LEP students as determined by Title 
IX, Part A, Section 9101(25) in each district or charter school for the 
prior fiscal year. 
 
R277-478-5.  Quality Teaching Block Grant. 
 A.  Districts and charter schools shall use Quality Teaching 
Block Grant funds to implement school and school district 
comprehensive, long-term professional development plans required 
under Section 53A-3-701. 
 B.  Each local school board shall, as provided by Section 53A-
3-701, review and either approve or recommend modifications for 
each school's comprehensive, long-term professional development 
plan within the district so that each school's plan is compatible with 
the district's comprehensive, long-term professional development 
plan. 
 C.  Each local school board and charter school governing board 
shall approve in an open public meeting a plan to spend Quality 
Teaching Block Grant funds to implement the school district's or 
charter school's comprehensive, long-term professional development 
plan.  In developing the plan, districts and charter schools should 
consider involving educators from every core area. 
 D.  By September 1 of each year, the local school board and 
charter school governing board shall submit a copy of its plan, a 
letter of assurance to the Board that the plan was approved in an 
open and public meeting, and a copy of the local board minutes of 
the meeting in which the plan was approved. 
 E.  If a local school board or charter school governing board 
fails to submit the documents specified in R277-478-5D to the 
Board by September 1, the Board shall withhold the distribution of 
Quality Teaching Block Grant funds until documentation required 
under this rule is provided. 
 F.  Career Ladder Programs 
 (1)  Districts and charter schools may choose to implement a 
career ladder program of their own design with money received 
under the Quality Teaching Block Grant. 
 (2)  If a career ladder program is funded, districts and charter 
schools shall ensure that their school and district professional 
development plans are consistent with Section 53A-3-701(iv). 
 (3)  Districts and charters shall also report to the Board how the 
career ladder funds were spent consistent with Section 53A-9-106. 
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 G.  Quality Teaching Block Grant funds shall be distributed 
using the following formula: thirty percent of the total Quality 
Teaching Block Grant funds shall be distributed on the basis of the 
number of full-time equivalent teachers employed by the district or 
charter school for the immediately previous school year. The 
remaining seventy percent of the funds shall be distributed on the 
basis of the number of WPUs in the basic programs of the Minimum 
School Program for the immediately previous school year. 
 
KEY:  educational expenditures, block grant funding 
2002 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(3) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-521 
Professional Specialist Licensing 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25097 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:36 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The rule is 
amended to provide specifically for evaluation of 
documentation and to emphasize the need for background 
checks. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The amendment requires 
review of documentation and requires a criminal background 
check. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  Costs of a background check are borne 
by the individual. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Only a state-level review is 
required. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Applicants for this license will pay $60 for a 
Federal Bureau of a Investigation (FBI) and Bureau of 
Criminal Identification (BCI) background check. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Applicants for this 
license will pay $60 for a FBI and BCI background check. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 

250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
R277-521.  Professional Specialist Licensing. 
R277-521-1.  Definitions. 
 [E]A.  "Accredited college or university" means a school or 
institution which is sanctioned through a review process by a 
regional or national accrediting agency recognized by the United 
States Department of Education. 
 [C]B.  "License" means an authorization issued by the Board 
which permits the holder to serve in a professional capacity in[ the] 
public school[s] administration. 
 [B]C.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 [A]D.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 [D]E.  "Volunteer or work experience with the public schools" 
means regular time spent at specific volunteer assignments such as 
school board member; regular school district employee; regular 
classroom volunteer or tutor; or local, regional or state PTA board 
member under the direction of licensed personnel. 
 
R277-521-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision of public 
education in the Board, Section 53A-6-10[1]4(1) which authorizes 
the Board to issue [certificates]licenses for [teachers, supervisors, 
administrators, and other professionals]educators, and Section 53A-
1-401(3) allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its 
responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to establish standards for 
licencing of professional specialists and administrators. 
 
R277-521-3.  Level 1 License. 
 A.  Finance and Statistics: An individual employed at least 20 
hours per week in a school district or by the Board [shall]may be 
eligible for this license if the individual satisfies the following: 
 (1)  has a minimum of a Bachelor's degree from an accredited 
college or university in accounting, finance, business statistics or a 
related area; and 
 (2)  can demonstrate at least minimal experience in education 
which may include: 
 (a)  four semester hours or the quarter hour equivalent from an 
accredited college or university in education-related classes; 
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 (b)  a minimum of five hours of USOE or district inservice in 
education related classes; or 
 (c)  volunteer or work experience or education experience with 
the public schools. 
 (3)  submits documentation of education courses or related 
experience, or both, for evaluation and approval by 
section/department staff. 
 B.  Law and Legislation: An individual employed at least 20 
hours per week by a school district or by the Board, [shall]may be 
eligible for the professional specialist license if the individual 
satisfies the following: 
 (1)  active member of the Utah State Bar; and 
 (2)  can demonstrate at least minimal experience in education 
which may include: 
 (a)  four semester hours or the quarter hour equivalent from an 
accredited college or university in education-related classes; 
 (b)  a minimum of five hours of USOE or district inservice in 
education related classes; or 
 (c)  volunteer or work experience or education experience with 
the public schools. 
 (3)  submits documentation of education courses or related 
experience, or both, for evaluation and approval by 
section/department staff. 
 C.  Evaluation and Assessment:  An individual employed at 
least 20 hours per week by a school district or by the Board, shall be 
eligible for the professional specialist license if the individual 
satisfies the following: 
 (1)  has a minimum of a Bachelor's degree from an accredited 
college or university in psychology, education, or educational 
psychology; and 
 (2)  can demonstrate at least minimal experience in education 
which may include: 
 (a)  four semester hours or the quarter hour equivalent from an 
accredited college or university in education-related classes; 
 (b)  a minimum of five hours of USOE or district inservice in 
education related classes; or 
 (c)  volunteer or work experience or education experience with 
the public schools. 
 (3)  submits documentation of education courses or related 
experience, or both, for evaluation and approval by 
section/department staff. 
 
R277-521-4.  Level 2 License. 
 A.  Finance and Statistics: An individual employed at least 20 
hours per week in a school district or by the Board shall be eligible 
for this license if the individual satisfies all applicable conditions 
under R277-521-3A and the following: 
 (1)  has completed a Masters degree in accounting, finance, 
business statistics or a related area, or CPA (certified public 
accountant) from an accredited college or university; and 
 (2)  provides documentation of significant educational 
experience such as: 
 (a)  10-12 hours education-related or supervisor-approved 
course work; or 
 (b)  20 hours USOE or district inservice in education-related 
classes; or 
 (3)  provides documentation of significant volunteer or work 
experience as demonstrated by increased levels of responsibilities as 
defined under R277-521-1D or education experience. 
 B.  Law and Legislation: An individual employed at least 20 
hours per week in a school district or by the Board shall be eligible 

for this license if the individual satisfies all applicable conditions 
under R277-521-3B and the following: 
 (1)  has completed 20 semester hours or equivalent quarter 
hours from an accredited college or university in: 
 (a)  educational administration; or 
 (b)  educational instruction; or 
 (c)  supervisor-approved course work; or 
 (2)  provides documentation of significant educational 
experience such as: 
 (a)  10-12 hours education-related or supervisor-approved 
course work; or 
 (b)  20 hours USOE or district inservice in education-related 
classes; or 
 (3)  provides documentation of significant volunteer or work 
experience as demonstrated by increased levels of responsibilities as 
outlined under R277-521-1D. 
 C.  Evaluation and Assessment: An individual employed at 
least 20 hours per week in a school district or by the Board shall be 
eligible for this license if the individual satisfies all applicable 
conditions under R277-521-3C and the following: 
 (1)  has completed 20 semester hours or equivalent quarter 
hours beyond the Bachelor's degree from an accredited college or 
university in: 
 (a)  educational psychology; or 
 (b)  supervisor-approved course work; and 
 (2)  provides documentation of significant educational 
experience such as: 
 (a)  10-12 hours education-related or supervisor-approved 
course work; or 
 (b)  20 hours USOE or district inservice in education-related 
classes; or 
 (3)  significant volunteer or work experience as demonstrated 
by increased levels of responsibilities as outlined under R277-521-
1D. 
 
R277-521-5.  Level 3 License. 
 A.  Finance and Statistics:  An individual employed at least 20 
hours per week in a school district or by the Board shall be eligible 
for this license if the individual satisfies all applicable conditions 
under R277-521-3A and R277-521-4A and the following: 
 (1)  has completed a Doctorate or Masters degree in accounting, 
finance, business statistics or a related area, and a CPA consistent 
with Section 53A-6-103(9)(d); and 
 (2)  has earned a teacher, counselor, or administrative license. 
 B.  School Law and Legislation:  An individual employed at 
least 20 hours per week in a school district or by the Board shall be 
eligible for this license if the individual satisfies all applicable 
conditions under R277-521-3B and R277-521-4B and the following: 
 (1)  has completed a Doctorate other than law consistent with 
Section 53A-6-103(9)(d) and at least a Masters degree in a USOE-
approved area of study; and 
 (2)  has earned a teacher, counselor, or administrative license. 
 C.  Evaluation and Assessment:  An individual employed at 
least 20 hours per week in a school district or by the Board shall be 
eligible for this license if the individual satisfies all applicable 
conditions under R277-521-3C and R277-521-4C and the following: 
 (1)  has completed a Doctorate consistent with Section 53A-6-
103(9)(d); and 
 (2)  has earned a teacher, counselor, or administrative license. 
 



DAR File No. 25102 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 1, 2002, Vol. 2002, No. 15 29 

R277-521.  Other Requirements. 
 A.  An applicant for licensing under R277-521 shall satisfy the 
criminal background check requirements under Section 53A-6-401. 
 B.  An applicant for licensing under R277-521 shall satisfy 
professional development requirements under Section 53A-6-104(2) 
 and R277-501. 
 
KEY:  education, license[*] 
[September 15, 1999]2002 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-6-10[1]4(1) 
53A-1-401(3) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-526 
Career Ladders in Education 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25102 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:38 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the law and funding no longer exist. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-9-102(1) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There are no anticipated cost to the 
state budget.  There may be minimal administrative savings to 
the Utah State Office of Education because it will no longer 
need to administer the program. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local boards may choose to 
develop programs with block grant funds. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Teachers who may have benefited from 
the Career Ladder program may still receive some 
compensation from a local board Career Ladder program. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Persons were never 
affected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 

at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-526.  Career Ladders in Education. 
R277-526-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "Career Ladder plan" means a compensation system 
developed by a school district, with cooperation from parents, 
educators, and school administrators of the district, which is 
designed to require, recognize and reward quality performance of 
educators.  A Career Ladder plan may also further professional 
development for licensed educators. 
 C.  "Career Ladder Levels" means a component of a Career 
Ladder consisting of multiple levels to which an educator is 
assigned.  Assignment, compensation, and progress within the 
system are dependent upon individual qualifications. 
 D.  "Career Ladder committee" means a group of citizens, 
parents, educators and administrators designated by a local board. 
 E.  "Educator" means a licensed person who is paid on the 
teachers' salary schedule and whose primary function is to provide 
instructional or counseling services to students in the public schools. 
 F.  "Educator Evaluation System" means a procedure developed 
by a school district, with cooperation from parents, educators, and 
school administrators of the district, which provides a reasonably 
fair, consistent, and objective evaluation of educator performance. 
 G.  "Educator Performance" means the functional ability of an 
educator as determined by instructional competency, teaching 
effectiveness, or student progress. 
 H.  "Extended Contract Days" means an element of a Career 
Ladder which provides for additional paid, non-teaching days 
beyond the regular school year. 
 I.  "Individual Extended Contract" means the extension of an 
individual contract of an educator. 
 J.  "Job Enlargement/Extra Pay for Extra Work" means an 
element of a career ladder which provides additional compensation 
to individual educators or teams of educators for instruction and 
curriculum-related responsibilities which are in addition to regular 
duties and address district or building goals. 
 K.  "LEAs" means local education agencies, Utah Schools for 
the Deaf and the Blind, Edith Bowen Laboratory School and 
Applied Technology Centers. 
 L.  "Line of Evidence" means data used to verify educator 
performance.  This may include peer reviews, student progress data, 
parent or student survey results, administrator evaluation, or other 
verification of performance. 
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 M.  "Performance Bonus" means a component of a career 
ladder which provides compensation to educators who, through a 
formal evaluation process, are judged to be outstanding in regular 
classroom performance. 
 N.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 O.  "Per diem" means payment for food and lodging as 
determined by the current district rate. 
 P.  "Daily stipend" means the educator's rate of pay as 
determined by the individual's per hour or per day salary schedule or 
a flat rate not to exceed the state maximum of $250.00 per day. 
 Q.  "Eligible teacher trainer" means a licensed Utah educator 
designated to provide training, mentoring or services to other school 
district employees using Career Ladder funds. 
 R.  "Costs for eligible teacher trainers" means per diem and 
daily stipends. 
 S.  "Induction program" means a program of guidance and 
evaluation for teachers during their provisional employment. 
 T.  "Mentor" means a licensed teacher, trained to guide a new 
teacher during her probationary teaching period. 
 
R277-526-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized under Utah Constitution Article X 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision of the public 
schools in the Board, Section 53A-1-401(3) which allows the Board 
to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities, and Section 
53A-9-102(1) which directs the Board to adopt policies and 
guidelines about the Career Ladder program. 
 B.  This rule defines standards and procedures by which school 
districts may receive funds administered by the Board for Career 
Ladders.  Career Ladder programs shall increase student 
performance by:  (1)  enhancing teacher job performance; (2)  
identifying and rewarding excellent classroom instruction; (3)  
enriching the learning climate, and; (4)  restructuring the 
instructional process to enhance the organizational effectiveness at 
the school and district levels. 
 
R277-526-3.  Plan Approval, Application, and Modification. 
 A.  The Board shall grant final approval for funding to Career 
Ladder plans which meet all Board and statutory standards. 
 B.  The State Superintendent of Public Instruction, or a 
designee, shall develop forms and procedures, and establish 
deadlines for administration of the Career Ladder Program.  The 
Superintendent may, upon written request, waive deadlines for 
reasons consistent with law or the express purpose of this rule. 
 C.  Funds may be used to pay the actual cost of substitutes for 
educators released to perform necessary Career Ladder tasks 
specified in the approved Career Ladder plan. 
 D.  Any modification of a Board-approved Career Ladder plan 
shall be approved in writing by the Career Ladder committee, the 
local board, and the Board. 
 
R277-526-4.  Career Ladder Committee. 
 A.  Under the direction of the local board of education, each 
district shall establish a Career Ladder committee. 
 B.  A district shall establish a plan for selecting Career Ladder 
committee members and shall set terms of service for members. 
 C.  The committee shall develop, implement, and evaluate the 
district's Career Ladder plan. 
 D.  The Career Ladder plan shall include provisions for 
communication between the Career Ladder committee and 
educators, administrators, parents, and others. 

 E.  Applications for Career Ladder funds shall include 
documentation that the plan was developed with cooperative action 
among citizens, educators, school administrators, and the local 
board. 
 
R277-526-5.  Career Ladder Plan Components. 
 A.  A Career Ladder plan may provide for performance 
bonuses.  If an LEA chooses to use Career Ladder money for 
performance bonuses for teachers, the school district shall have or 
develop a plan that describes qualification procedures and includes a 
remuneration schedule.  Plans may provide for teams of educators to 
earn performance bonuses based on qualitative and quantitative 
assessment of student progress. 
 B.  Each plan shall present a Career Ladder level system with 
multiple levels beyond the basic license.  The plan shall include 
nomenclature, criteria for placement, job descriptions, and a 
remuneration schedule for Career Ladder levels. 
 (1)  Advancement on Ladder levels is contingent upon effective 
teaching performance. 
 (2)  Each plan shall describe how teaching performance shall be 
measured and how student progress shall be evaluated. 
 C.  A plan may include funds for Job Enlargement/Extra Pay 
for Extra Work.  If this segment is included in the Career Ladder 
plan, the plan shall describe the procedures and application process 
for assigning appropriate responsibilities.  Job enlargement positions 
shall be related to the Core Curriculum and shall not be solely 
administrative or extracurricular in nature. 
 D.  The plan may include funds for extended non-teaching days 
for all eligible educators for instruction and curriculum related 
responsibilities which address district or school goals. 
 E.  A district Career Ladder plan may designate funds for in-
service to include per diem expenses, daily stipends and costs for 
eligible consultants and teacher trainers. 
 F.  Plans may include a program of guidance and evaluation for 
teachers during their provisional employment periods.  If a district 
chooses to include a teacher induction component, the plan may 
include provisions for training, mentoring, monitoring and 
evaluating provisional teacher effectiveness and for assessing 
student progress. 
 
R277-526-6.  Career Ladder Educator Evaluation System. 
 A.  Each district shall use an educator evaluation system to 
evaluate its educators for placement, participation, and advancement 
on the Career Ladder.  The educator evaluation system shall be 
consistent with Section 53A-10-101 through 111 which requires the 
participation by classroom teachers and administrators in 
development of the evaluation program at the district level. 
 B.  A written description of the system shall be available to 
educators and the school community. 
 
R277-526-7.  Career Ladder Plan Evaluation. 
 A.  A Career Ladder plan shall be reviewed and evaluated 
annually. 
 B.  Annual evaluations shall include documentation, shall 
account for funds expended, shall describe progress toward 
identified Career Ladder goals and shall be sent to the State 
Superintendent. 
 C.  Career Ladder plans shall be revised, as necessary, to reflect 
changes in legislation. 
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R277-526-8.  Reports. 
 A.  The Board shall require an annual report from each 
participating district due on June 30 of each year. 
 B.  The report shall include the Career Ladder plan evaluation 
for the current school year ending June 30, a plan for the upcoming 
year and other information requested by the State Superintendent. 
 
R277-526-9.  Negotiations. 
 A.  Neither the Career Ladder appropriation to a school district 
nor the Board's Career Ladder standards are subject to negotiations 
between a local board and its employees. 
 B. District negotiations concerning Career Ladders shall be 
limited to and consistent with 53A-17a-124(2)(c). 
 
KEY:  education, faculty, professional competency 
August 1, 2001 
Notice of Continuation October 20, 1997 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(3) 
53A-9-102(1)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-701 
Values Education 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25111 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:40 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding no longer exists. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost to the state 
budget.  There may be minimal administrative savings to the 
Utah State Office of Education because it will no longer need 
to administer the program. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local boards may choose to 
develop programs with block grant funds. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Other persons were never affected. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Persons were never 
affected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-701.  Values Education. 
R277-701-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Values" means principles or standards of worth. 
 B.  "Value judgments" means judgments which rate things with 
respect to their worth. 
 C.  "Values education" means the systematic effort to help 
students identify, acquire, and act upon personal and basic societal 
principles and human needs. 
 D.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 
R277-701-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized under Article X, Section 3 of the 
Utah Constitution which vests general control and supervision of 
public education in the Board, Section 53A-1-401(3), U.C.A. 1953, 
which allows the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its 
responsibilities and Section 53A-1-402(1)(c), U.C.A. 1953, which 
directs the Board to adopt rules regarding curriculum and 
instruction. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to specify standards for values 
education programs in school districts. 
 
R277-701-3.  Values Education. 
 Values education shall be included and primarily taught in the 
social studies curriculum of kindergarten through grade twelve.  
There shall be universal responsibility among all teachers for values 
education. 
 
R277-701-4.  Subject Matter. 
 A.  Values education programs shall meet the requirements of 
Sections 53A-13-101, U.C.A. 1953. 
 B.  Students shall be taught to value the rights and freedoms 
embodied in the founding documents, including the Declaration of 
Independence and the Constitutions of the United States and of the 
State of Utah, and to assume the commensurate personal and societal 
responsibilities which assure the perpetuation of those freedoms. 
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 C.  The school shall provide the setting and opportunities to 
teach by example and role modeling the following values: 
 (1)  each individual has dignity and worth; 
 (2)  a free society requires respect for persons, property, and 
principles; 
 (3)  each individual has a right to learn and the freedom to 
achieve; 
 (4)  each individual, regardless of race, creed, color, sex, ethnic 
background, or economic status, shall have equal opportunity; 
 (5)  each individual has the right to personal liberties so long as 
the rights of others are not violated; 
 (6)  each individual is responsible for personal choices and 
actions; 
 (7)  each individual has a responsibility to the total society; 
 (8)  a democratic government is based on rule of the majority 
with guaranteed protection of the rights of the minority; 
 (9)  a democratic society is based on law; 
 (10)  problems should be solved through reason and orderly 
processes; 
 (11)  individuals should be tolerant of the religious beliefs of 
others and shall have freedom to exercise their own religious beliefs 
within the context of appropriate activity; and 
 (12)  each individual has the right to work, to pursue an 
occupation, and to gain satisfaction from personal efforts. 
 D.  Students shall be assisted in developing skill in value 
analysis in harmony with their maturity. 
 E.  Students must be taught to recognize that there are inherent 
and inevitable value conflicts of both a personal and societal nature. 
 Students must be assisted in developing skills to deal effectively 
with these value conflict situations. 
 
R277-701-5.  Methods. 
 A.  Materials used in values education must be sensitive to the 
community's values, disclosed to parents, and available to parents 
for review upon request. 
 B.  Pre-service and in-service programs shall be provided for 
training teachers in values development.  Teacher preparation 
programs shall ensure that teacher candidates have the requisite 
knowledge base and are appropriately prepared to teach the concepts 
embodied in the statutes.  State and local education agency in-
service activities shall emphasize values education where 
appropriate. 
 C.  Methods and procedures for teaching values shall facilitate 
change in behavior based upon the guided choice of the individual.  
Emphasis shall be upon individual student self-discipline and 
obligation.  Programs to regulate inappropriate behavior shall be 
implemented. 
 
KEY:  education, curricula 
1987 
Notice of Continuation January 14, 1998 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(3) 
53A-1-402(1)(c)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-716 
Alternative Language Services (ALS) 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25103 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:38 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding no longer exists. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  Funds previously designated for 
"alternative language services" have been placed in the 
"Interventions for Student Success Block Grant Program." 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local school boards may use 
block grant funds to provide these services; some level of ALS 
services are required by federal law. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  ALS funding previously supported district 
programs and were not paid to individual persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  ALS funding 
previously supported district programs and were not paid to 
individual persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
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R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-716.  Alternative Language Services (ALS). 
R277-716-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Alternative Language Services (ALS)" means researched-
based, instructional programs and is compatible with the Board's 
PRINCIPLES OF EQUITY FOR UTAH'S PUBLIC SCHOOLS and 
which meet the needs of children speaking a language other than 
English in the public school system.  Programs shall be designed to 
enable students to achieve competence in English and to meet school 
grade-promotion and graduation requirements as determined by the 
Board and school districts.  Such programs are included in the 
following models: 
 (1)  "Special alternative instructional program," such as an 
English as a Second Language (ESL) program, means instruction 
designed for students of limited-English proficiency.  Such programs 
are not transitional or developmental education programs but are 
designed to meet the particular linguistic and instructional needs of 
the students enrolled.  Such programs shall provide both structured 
English language instruction and special instructional services which 
allow the student to achieve competence in the English language. 
 (2)  "Transitional bilingual education" means a model designed 
for a student of limited-English proficiency which provides 
structured English instruction to allow a student to achieve 
competency in the English language, using the student's primary 
language as a medium of instruction.  Insofar as possible, such 
instruction shall incorporate the cultural heritage of students in the 
program. 
 (3)  "Developmental bilingual education" means full-time 
instruction using both English and a second language.  Such 
instruction is designed to help students achieve competence in 
English and a second language, while mastering subject matter 
skills.  Such instruction shall, to the extent necessary, be in all 
courses of study.  Classes in programs of developmental bilingual 
education shall be comprised of equal numbers of students whose 
primary language is English and limited-English proficient students 
whose primary languages are the second languages of instruction 
and study in the program. 
 B.  "Students with bilingual needs" means students whose 
primary or home language is other than English (PHLOTE); and: 
 (1)  who are monolingual speakers of a language other than 
English; 
 (2)  who speak a language other than English and have limited 
oral proficiency or limited literacy in English or limited proficiency 
in both; 
 (3)  who have equal oral knowledge of another language and 
English; but lack cognitive and academic English skills; or 
 (4)  who speak predominantly English but have limited 
cognitive and academic skills in English. 
 C.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 D.  "A Limited English proficient (LEP)" student means a 
student who meets one or more of the following conditions: 
 (1)  was born outside of the United States or whose native 
language is not English; 
 (2)  comes from an environment where a language other than 
English is dominant; or 
 (3)  is American Indian or Alaska Native and comes from an 
environment where a language other than English has a significant 
impact on the student's level of English language proficiency; and 
 (4)  who because of Subsections (1), (2) and (3) has sufficient 
difficultly speaking, reading, writing, or understanding the English 
language that the student is denied the opportunity to learn 

successfully in an English-only classroom or to participate fully in 
society. 
 E.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
R277-716-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized under Utah Constitution, Article X, 
Section 3, which vests general control and supervision of public 
education in the Board; by the U.S. Department of Education Title 
VI Regulation (34 C.F.R. Part 100) which prohibits practices of 
discrimination when based on race, color or national origin; and by 
Section 53A-1-401(3) which allows the Board to adopt rules in 
accordance with its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to: 
 (1)  direct that school districts provide alternative language 
services to students; 
 (2)  provide standards and criteria for those services and 
programs; and 
 (3)  distribute funds to districts to offset costs in providing 
alternative language services to designated students. 
 
R277-716-3.  Classification, Identification and Assessment of 
Students. 
 A.  School districts shall determine a student's primary 
language upon entrance in a district school.  School districts shall 
request information identifying a student's national origin and 
primary language upon registration in a district school and shall 
keep such information in the student's permanent record file.  
Information obtained from the registration form shall be 
supplemented by additional assessments conducted by the school 
and approved by the USOE. 
 B.  Districts shall classify LEP students, as necessary, using 
categories specified for students with educational needs for ALS.  
Students shall be classified based on information gathered from 
assessments required in Subsection R277-716-3C.  Such 
classification shall assist the USOE in determining the need and 
providing funds to assist districts in providing an equal educational 
opportunity to each student with ALS education needs. 
 C.  Language Assessment Requirements 
 (1)  Districts shall use instruments approved by the USOE; 
 (2)  Such instruments shall be administered by a school district 
employee trained in the interpretation of the specific tests. 
 (3)  Tests shall be evaluated by a school district employee 
trained in the interpretation of the specific test. 
 D.  Special education assessment tools shall not be used to 
assess English language proficiency. 
 E.  Parents shall be notified about their children's placement in 
alternative language programs.  Communication to parents shall be 
in the parent's preferred language. 
 
R277-716-4.  Endorsement Requirement. 
 By the completion of school year 2000-2001, teachers whose 
primary assignment is to provide English language instruction to 
LEP students shall have an endorsement in English as a Second 
Language or in Bilingual Education. 
 
R277-716-5.  Program Components. 
 A.  An ALS (Alternative Language Services) program shall 
include the following: 
 (1)  The designation of procedures for identifying primary or 
home language of students. 
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 (2)  School district employee(s) trained for administering the 
language proficiency assessment instruments to students whose 
primary or home language is other than English. 
 (3)  A program design using a model that is research-based and 
has demonstrated effectiveness in meeting the needs of LEP 
students. 
 (4)  Licensed employees who are appropriately endorsed in 
accordance with the ALS program design(s) selected by the school 
district. 
 (5)  Evaluation standards for measuring the progress of students 
including program exit criteria. 
 (6)  Plans for monitoring student performance for a minimum 
of two years after students exit the program. 
 (7)  A comprehensive system for staff development. 
 (8)  Services to LEP students who qualify for special education. 
Services: 
 (a)  shall be in compliance with IDEA 1997-(PL 105-17); and 
 (b)  shall be provided with special education funds for students 
who qualify for special education. 
 (9)  Appropriate language development and culturally relevant 
materials specifically designed for language acquisition. 
 (10)  Procedures for parent involvement. 
 
R277-716-6.  Distribution of Funds and Reporting. 
 A.  The USOE shall provide ALS funding to school districts 
based on the number of students identified as LEP in the district and 
based on the district's conformity with R277-716-5. 
 B.  The USOE shall distribute $500,000 appropriated by the 
Legislature to school districts through a competitive request for 
proposal process.  The funding shall support literacy/reading 
instruction for licensed or endorsed ESL or bilingual educators. 
 C.  Applications for one-time funding shall be available 
through the USOE.  Timelines stated in the application shall apply. 
 D.  A school district that accepts ALS funds shall provide the 
USOE with a year-end report as requested. 
 
KEY:  public education, alternative language services* 
August 1, 2000 
Notice of Continuation January 14, 1998 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-732 
Community Education 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25109 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:40 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding no longer exists. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 

STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  No specific state funding has been 
allocated for a number of years. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local school boards may 
provide community school programs from block grant funds. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Local school boards may determine to 
offer school community school programs or courses and 
charge participants to make the programs self-supporting.  
The costs are too speculative to estimate. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Local school 
boards may determine to offer school community school 
programs or courses and charge participants to make the 
programs self-supporting.  The costs are too speculative to 
estimate. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-732.  Community Education. 
R277-732-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "Community education" means a philosophical concept 
based upon a partnership between the community and education 
where each views the other as a valuable resource in developing the 
community, improving community living, and developing a 
common process toward the end of individualized education.  It 
consists of two parts:  public involvement in education decision 
making and the community school as a delivery system of 
educational services. 
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R277-732-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision of public 
education in the Board and by Section 53A-1-401(3) which allows 
the Board to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to specify standards governing 
community education programs. 
 
R277-732-3.  Program Standards. 
 A.  Community education programs and funds shall support the 
following criteria: 
 (1)  the public is involved in determining the role the schools 
shall play in solving individual and community problems through 
planning, solving problems, making recommendations, and 
evaluating roles; 
 (2)  the public is involved in education decision making and 
sharing of responsibility and accountability at all appropriate levels; 
 (3)  the community school, acting as a community center, is a 
delivery system of educational services for the community; 
 (4)  educational services are designed to serve the needs of all 
segments of the community; and 
 (5)  programs and services are offered at community schools or 
other convenient locations in cooperation and coordination with 
other organizations, agencies, and institutions which provide 
community services. 
 B.  State funds may be used for any of the following: 
 (1)  salaries; 
 (2)  professional and technical services; 
 (3)  insurance, communication, advertising, printing; 
 (4)  travel; 
 (5)  miscellaneous purchased services; 
 (6)  food; and 
 (7)  indirect costs--restricted. 
 C.  The Board may develop forms, deadlines, or accounting and 
reporting procedures to administer this program. 
 
KEY:  community schools 
1987 
Notice of Continuation January 14, 1998 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1a-104 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-740 
Subchapter One of the Education 

Improvement and Consolidation Act of 
1981 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25104 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:39 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the funding no longer exists. 

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  No specific state funding has been 
allocated for a number of years. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  Local school boards continue to 
receive federal funding previously authorized by this rule 
under different federal regulations. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  Other persons were never affected. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  Persons were never 
affected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses. Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-740.  Subchapter One of the Education Improvement and 
Consolidation Act of 1981. 
R277-740-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "Chapter One Funds" means funds made available by the 
Federal Government under the Education Improvement and 
Consolidation Act of 1981 for instruction in basic skills for 
disadvantaged, migrant, Indian, handicapped, neglected, and 
delinquent children. 
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R277-740-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X, 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision of public 
education in the Board, Section 53A-1-402(3) which permits the 
Board to administer funds made available through programs of the 
Federal Government and Section 53A-1-401(3) which allows the 
Board to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to specify standards and 
procedures for Chapter One Funds. 
 
R277-740-3.  Standards and Procedures. 
 The Board incorporates by reference Subchapter One of the 
Education Improvement and Consolidation Act of 1981, 20 
U.S.C.A. Sections 2701 through 2854.  The Board shall follow the 
standards and procedures of this section in administering Chapter 
One funds.  This information is available from the Chapter One 
Section at the Utah State Office of Education. 
 
KEY:  exceptional children, education finance 
1987 
Notice of Continuation March 13, 1998 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-1-402(3) 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Education, Administration 

R277-742 
Truancy Prevention Support Centers 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25105 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 18:39 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
repealed because the law and funding no longer exist. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 53A-1-401(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  There are no longer specific state funds 
allocated for grants for truancy prevention support centers. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government.  The majority of school districts 
never applied for grants for truancy prevention support 
centers; they never took advantage of the funding. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
other persons.  The rule provided for grants to school districts 
and never benefited individuals. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for affected persons.  The rule provided for 

grants to school districts and never benefited affected 
persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  I have reviewed this rule, and I 
see no fiscal impact on businesses.  Steven O. Laing 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

EDUCATION 
ADMINISTRATION 
250 E 500 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-3272, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Carol Lear at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7835, 
by FAX at 801-538-7768, or by Internet E-mail at 
clear@usoe.k12.ut.us 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Carol Lear, Coordinator School Law and 
Legislation 
 
 
 
R277.  Education, Administration. 
[R277-742.  Truancy Prevention Support Centers. 
R277-742-1.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Board" means the Utah State Board of Education. 
 B.  "USOE" means the Utah State Office of Education. 
 C.  "Truancy support center" means a location designated by 
the school or district where truant, suspended, or expelled students 
are assigned or sent by school administrators, law enforcement 
officials, or court personnel. 
 D.  "Truant student" means a student who has excessive 
unexcused absences from school, as determined by school or district 
policy and communicated to students, parents and faculty. 
 
R277-742-2.  Authority and Purpose. 
 A.  This rule is authorized by Utah Constitution Article X 
Section 3 which vests general control and supervision of the public 
education system in the Board, Section 53A-11-106 which directs 
the Board to provide grants to school districts to provide and staff 
truancy support centers, and 53A-1-401(3) which allows the Board 
to adopt rules in accordance with its responsibilities. 
 B.  The purpose of this rule is to establish criteria and 
procedures for distributing funds to school districts for the 
establishment of truancy support centers. 
 
R277-742-3.  Distribution of Applications and Funds. 
 A.  Grant applications shall be provided and distributed by the 
USOE. 
 B.  Completed grant forms shall be submitted through school 
districts to the USOE according to deadlines established by the 
USOE. 
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 C.  Grants shall be reviewed by a team composed of USOE 
staff, other state agency representatives, community representatives, 
and school district personnel. 
 D.  The team shall submit recommendations for funding to the 
Board or designee for final approval. 
 E.  Districts shall be notified of awards within one month of 
funding approval by the Board or designee. 
 F.  Grants shall be awarded to no more than two Utah school 
districts for purposes identified in the approved proposals. 
 G.  School district(s) shall be selected for funding based on an 
analysis of the following factors: 
 (1)  the proposed use of funds awarded under this rule as they 
supplement other at-risk funding received by the district(s); 
 (2)  the extent of interagency collaboration (list other agencies 
with which the grant applicant currently coordinates services and the 
types of services jointly provided); and 
 (3)  documentation of previous successful efforts to: 
 (a)  reduce student truancy and 
 (b)  provide effective alternative services for truant, suspended, 
or expelled students. 
 
R277-742-4.  Evaluation and Reports. 
 Each school selected for funding shall be required to submit an 
annual evaluation report to the USOE. 
 
KEY:  truancy 
September 4, 1997 
Art X Sec 3 
53A-11-106 
53A-1-401(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-220-4 
Section III, Small Municipal Waste 

Combustion Units 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25087 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 11:10 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  To allow 
compliance with the carbon monoxide (CO) emission limit in 2 
steps, require compliance with all emission limits except CO 
by May 13, 2002, and to make minor corrections. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The only source affected by 
this rule is Wasatch Energy Systems (WES).  WES has 
achieved early compliance with all new federal emission limits 
except that for CO, and the Plan is revised to provide for a 2-
step compliance process for CO.  Revisions require that WES 
meet a CO limit of 100 parts per million by dry volume, 
measured as the geometric mean of a 24-hour block average 
until the date one year after Environmental Protection Agency 
(EPA) approval of the Utah Plan.  After that date, the CO limit 
is the federal limit of 100 parts per million by dry volume, 

measured as the arithmetic average of a 4-hour block 
average.  Additionally, the compliance schedule for all 
pollutants, including dioxins and furans, is also being revised 
to May 13, 2002.  The revised compliance schedule for all 
pollutants except CO is more stringent than the federal 
emission guideline and the current Plan.  The compliance 
schedule for CO is in accordance with the earliest compliance 
date required by the federal emission guideline. With 
specifications of increments of progress, the CO compliance 
date could be extended to December of 2005. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-2-104; 40 CFR Part 60, Subpart BBBB 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Section III, Small Municipal Waste 
Combustion Units. 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The only affected source is WES.  There 
is no change in cost for the state budget, as WES is regulated 
under 40 CFR Part 70 and thus pays fees to cover the cost of 
regulation. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The only affected source, WES, is 
owned by a group of local governments in Davis County.  This 
revision to the Plan allows WES to postpone costs of 
compliance with the carbon monoxide standard, thus 
postponing costs for the citizens of those local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  No other persons are affected by the 
change in the Plan. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The only affected 
source, WES, is owned by a group of local governments in 
Davis County.  This revision to the Plan allows WES to 
postpone costs of compliance with the carbon monoxide 
standard, thus postponing costs for the citizens of those local 
governments. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The only affected businesses 
are those that dispose of waste through Wasatch Energy 
Systems and thus can postpone their share of the costs to 
meet the carbon monoxide emission limit, and businesses that 
design, manufacture and install pollution control equipment, 
who will not receive revenue from any upgrade needed to 
comply with the carbon monoxide emissions limit until later. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  8/19/2002 at 7:00 PM, Layton City Council 
Chambers, 437 N. Wasatch Dr, Layton. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  10/02/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-220.  Emission Standards: Plan for Designated Facilities. 
R307-220-4.  Section III, Small Municipal Waste Combustion 
Units. 
 Section III, Small Municipal Waste Combustion Units, as most 
recently adopted by the Air Quality Board on [September 5, 
2001]October 2, 2002, pursuant to Section 19-2-104, is hereby 
incorporated by reference and made a part of these rules. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, landfills[*], environmental protection, 
incinerators 
[November 1, 2001]2002 
Notice of Continuation March 26, 2002 
19-2-104 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory 
Services, Epidemiology 

R386-710 
Early Warning Reporting 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25074 

FILED:  07/08/2002, 11:40 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  With the 
passage in the 2002 Legislature of H.B. 231, this rule is 
obsolete and unnecessary.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 231 is found at 
UT L 2002 Ch 155, and was effective May 6, 2002.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 26-1-30 and 26-6-3 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  During the Olympics, a heightened 
disease surveillance program was funded by various private, 
local, state, and federal resources.  This rule supported that 
 
 

 reporting.  Repealing this rule will return reporting to pre-
Olympic levels that can be sustained within existing 
appropriations.  Thus, repealing the rule will have a positive 
impact on state budgets by not requiring reporting that cannot 
be funded within existing appropriations. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  During the Olympics, a heightened 
disease surveillance program was funded by various private, 
local, state, and federal resources.  This rule supported that 
reporting.  Repealing this rule will return reporting to pre-
Olympic levels that can be sustained within historical spending 
levels for local governments.  Thus, repealing the rule will 
have a positive impact on local government budgets by not 
requiring reporting that cannot be funded within historical 
spending levels. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  During the Olympics, a heightened disease 
surveillance program was funded by various private, local, 
state, and federal resources.  This rule supported that 
reporting.  Repealing this rule will return reporting to pre-
Olympic levels that can be sustained within historical spending 
levels.  Thus, repealing the rule will have a positive impact on 
health care providers and others that would otherwise be 
required to report by not requiring reporting that cannot be 
funded within historical spending levels. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Repealing the rule 
will reduce compliance costs for affected persons by restoring 
reporting requirements to pre-Olympic levels. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This reduction in reporting 
requirements that will occur by repeal of this rule will have a 
positive fiscal impact on businesses.  Rod L. Betit 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
EPIDEMIOLOGY AND LABORATORY SERVICES, 
EPIDEMIOLOGY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Robert Rolfs at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6386, by FAX at 801-538-6694, or by Internet E-mail at 
rrolfs@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod Betit, Executive Director 
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R386.  Health, Epidemiology and Laboratory Services, 
Epidemiology. 
[R386-710.  Early Warning Reporting. 
R386-710-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 This rule establishes a reporting and review system to identify 
diseases and injurious exposures that are of uncertain origin, 
including terrorist attacks.  It is authorized by Sections 26-1-30, 26-
6-3. 
 
R386-710-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  "emergency center" means: 
 (a)  a health care facility licensed under the provisions of Title 
26, Chapter 21, Utah Code, that operates an emergency department; 
or 
 (b)  a clinic that provides emergency or urgent health care to an 
average of 20 or more persons daily. 
 (2)  "encounter" means an instance of an individual presenting 
at the emergency center who satisfies the criteria in section R386-
710-4. 
 (3)  "diagnostic information" means an emergency center's 
record of individuals who present for emergency or urgent 
treatment, including the reason for the visit, chief complaint, 
presenting diagnosis, and final diagnosis. 
 
R386-710-3.  Reporting Encounters. 
 (1)  An emergency center operating within the state shall report 
the preceding day's encounters to the Department by: 
 (a)  allowing Department representatives or agents to review its 
diagnostic information to identify encounters; or 
 (b)  reviewing its diagnostic information and reporting all 
encounters by 9:00 a.m. the following day. 
 (2)  The emergency center may remove all identifying patient 
information from its report, except information sufficient to allow 
the emergency center to identify the individual to conduct further 
investigation pursuant to section R386-710-6. 
 
R386-710-4.  Encounter Criteria. 
 Encounter criteria that require a report are diagnostic 
information that indicate the presence of one of the following 
syndromes: 
 (1)  respiratory infection with fever; 
 (2)  bloody diarrhea; 
 (3)  gastroenteritis (diarrhea or vomiting) without blood; 
 (4)  febrile illness with rash; 
 (5)  meningitis, encephalitis, or unexplained acute 
encephalopathy or delirium; 
 (6)  suspected acute viral hepatitis; 
 (7)  illicit drug-related episode; 
 (8)  sepsis or unexplained shock; 
 (9)  unexplained death with history of fever; 
 (10)  botulism-like syndrome; 
 (11)  lymphadenitis with fever; and 
 (12)  other criteria that the Department has reasonably 
determined to be indicative of disease outbreaks or injurious 
exposures of uncertain origin. 
 
R386-710-5.  Report Contents. 
 The emergency center's report shall include the following 
information for each encounter: 
 (1)  facility name; 

 (2)  patient identifier that allows linkage with patient record for 
follow-up investigation if needed; 
 (3)  date of visit; 
 (4)  time of visit; 
 (5)  patient's age 
 (6)  patient's sex 
 (7)  patient's zip code for patient's residence; 
 (8)  syndrome that was detected; 
 (9)  diagnostic information and, if transmitted electronically, 
diagnostic codes assigned to the visit; and 
 (10)  whether the patient was admitted to hospital. 
 
R386-710-6.  Epidemiological Review. 
 For each encounter, an emergency center shall allow a 
Department representative or agent to review the emergency center's 
medical record on the patient to assess whether the patient's illness 
may indicate a public health threat. 
 
R386-710-7.  Penalties. 
 Pursuant to Section 26-23-6, any person that violates any 
provision of this rule may be assessed an administrative civil money 
penalty not to exceed $2,500 upon an administrative finding of a 
first violation and up to $5,000 for a subsequent similar violation 
within two years.  A person may also be subject to penalties imposed 
by a civil or criminal court, which may not exceed $5,000 or a class 
B misdemeanor for the first violation and or a class A misdemeanor 
for any subsequent similar violation within two years. 
 
KEY:  disease reporting 
January 15, 2002 
26-1-30 
26-6-3] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Community and Family Health 
Services, Health Education Services 

R402-5 
Birth Defects Reporting 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25076 

FILED:  07/11/2002, 08:42 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment addresses issues/concerns raised by some 
hospitals about the current rule that was last amended in 
August 2001.  This proposed change extends the time for 
hospitals to report to the Birth Defect Network, clarifies the 
issue regarding emergency visits/outpatient visits vs. 
hospitalizations of infants with birth defects, eliminate two 
definitions, and reduces the penalties that apply for violation of 
the rule.  (DAR NOTE:  The previous amendment was 
published in the June 1, 2001, Bulletin under DAR No. 23731 
and was effective August 9, 2001.) 
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SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Eliminates Cytogenetic 
Laboratory and Fetal Death definitions; and changes wording 
in Section R402-5-3 to include the wording "admits a patient" 
and "within 40 days of discharge".  In Section R402-5-7, the 
penalty clause is modified to reduce the penalties. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 26-1-30 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment neither imposes nor 
eliminates workload on the state and, therefore, no costs or 
savings are anticipated. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This amendment imposes no 
measurable additional workload on the local governments that 
operate hospitals.  There may be negligible savings from the 
clarification on when reporting is due, outpatient vs. 
admission, and the reduction in possible penalties.  These 
savings are difficult to quantify. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  This amendment imposes no measurable 
additional workload on entities that operate hospitals.  There 
may be negligible savings from the clarification on when 
reporting is due, outpatient vs. admission, and the reduction in 
possible penalties.  These savings are difficult to quantify. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This proposed rule 
change does not impose any new or increased compliance 
costs because no additional time or effort is needed to comply 
with the change.  Current compliance costs may be reduced 
by the clarification of when reports are due.  Waiting until after 
discharge may simplify the process of gathering information 
for reporting. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change is in response 
to comments from regulated hospitals and addresses 
concerns about then reports are due.  It should have a small 
positive impact on businesses.  Rod L. Betit 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
COMMUNITY AND FAMILY HEALTH SERVICES, 
HEALTH EDUCATION SERVICES 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Marcia Feldkamp at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6953, by FAX at 801-584-8488, or by Internet E-mail at 
mfeldkamp@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 

AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod Betit, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R402.  Health, Community and Family Health Services, Health 
Education Services. 
R402-5.  Birth Defects Reporting. 
R402-5-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 This rule establishes reporting requirements for birth defects for 
births in Utah and for birth-defect related test results.  Sections 26-1-
30(2)(c), (d), (e), (g), (p), (t), 26-10-1(2), and 26-10-2 authorize this 
rule. 
 
R402-5-2.  Definitions. 
 As used in this rule: 
 (1)  ["Cytogenetics laboratory" means a laboratory in Utah that 
conducts genetic analysis of samples taken from humans. 
 (2)  ]"Birthing center" means a birthing center licensed under 
Title 26, Chapter 21. 
 ([3]2)  "Birth defect" means a congenital anomaly listed in the 
ICD-9-CM (International Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision, 
Clinical Modification, established by the United States Center for 
Health Statistics) with a diagnostic code from 740.0 to 759.9 or in 
the ICD-10 (International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision, 
established by the World Health Organization) with a diagnostic 
code from Q00-Q99. 
 [(4)  "Fetal death" means the delivery of a dead fetus that is of 
20 weeks or more gestation, calculated from the date the last 
menstrual period began to the date of delivery. 
 (5)](3)  "Hospital" means general acute hospital, children's 
speciality hospital, remote-rural hospital licensed under Title 26, 
Chapter 21. 
 
R402-5-3.  Reporting by Hospitals and Birthing Centers. 
 [The hospital or birthing center where there is a live birth with 
a birth defect, any outcome of pregnancy where a birth defect is 
detected, or admission of a child under 24 months of age with a birth 
defect shall report or cause to report to the department within 40 
days after any such event the following:]Each hospital or birth 
center that admits a patient and detects a birth defect as a result of 
any outcome of pregnancy, or admits a child under 24 months of age 
with a birth defect shall report or cause to report to the department 
within 40 days of discharge the following: 
 (1)  child's name; 
 (2)  child's date of birth; 
 (3)  mother's name; 
 (4)  mother's date of birth; 
 (5)  delivery hospital; 
 (6)  birth defects diagnoses; 
 (7)  mother's state of residency at delivery; 
 (8)  child's sex; and 
 (9)  mother's zip code. 
 
R402-5-4.  Reporting by Laboratories. 
 [Any]Each laboratory operating in the state that identifies a 
human chromosomal or genetic abnormality or other evidence of a 
birth defect shall report the following on a calendar quarterly basis 
to the department within 40 days of the end of the preceding 
calendar quarter: 
 (1)  if live born, child's name and date of birth; 
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 (2)  mother's name; 
 (3)  mother's date of birth; 
 (4)  date the sample is accepted by the laboratory; 
 (5)  test conducted; 
 (6)  test result; and 
 (7)  mother's state of residency at delivery. 
 
R402-5-5.  Record Abstraction. 
 Hospitals and birthing centers required to report pursuant to this 
rule as well as community health care providers who participate 
voluntarily shall allow personnel from the department or its 
contractors to abstract information from the mother's and child's files 
on their demographic characteristics, family history of birth defects, 
prenatal information and outcomes of that and other pregnancies by 
that mother. 
 
R402-5-6.  Liability. 
 As provided in Title 26, Chapter 25, persons who report, either 
voluntarily or as required by this rule, information covered by this 
rule may not be held liable for reporting the information to the 
Department of Health. 
 
R402-5-7.  Penalties. 
 [As required by Section 63-46a-3(5):  Any hospital, birthing 
center, or laboratory that violates any provision of this rule may be 
assessed a civil money penalty not to exceed the sum of $5,000 or be 
punished for violation of a class B misdemeanor for the first 
violation and for any subsequent similar violation within two years 
for violation of a class A misdemeanor as provided in Section 26-23-
6.]Pursuant to Section 26-23-6, any person that willfully violates any 
provision of this rule may be assessed an administrative civil money 
penalty not to exceed $1,000 upon an administrative finding of a 
first violation and up to $3,000 for a subsequent similar violation 
within two years.  A person may also be subject to penalties imposed 
by a civil or criminal court, which may not exceed $5,000 or a class 
B misdemeanor for the first violation and a class A misdemeanor for 
any subsequent similar violation within two years. 
 
KEY:  birth defects, birth defect reporting 
[August 9, 2001]2002 
26-1-30(2)(c), (d), (e), (g), (p), (t) 
26-10-1(2) 
26-10-2 
26-25-1 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Statutory 
authority for the rule was repealed by the 2002 Legislature.  A 
new advisory committee for health care provider loans was 
created.  New rules will be proposed consistent with S.B. 113. 
 (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 113 is found at UT L 2002 Ch 307, and 
was effective March 26, 2002.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 9 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Department, pursuant to S.B. 113, 
is still required to administer a loan repayment program for 
health care providers.  This rule change in isolation would 
reduce work demands for the Department.  However, 
replacement rules consistent with S.B. 113 will replace this 
rule.  It is hoped that the new rules can be simpler and 
therefore some savings may result to state government. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments benefit from the 
loan repayment program since many of these providers work 
for local health departments and other local agencies.  This 
rule repeal will not reduce that benefit to local government.  If 
the replacement rules as they support a single committee can 
be simpler, some savings may result to local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Private persons benefit from the loan 
repayment program in that health care in rural and other 
underserved areas is increased by this program.  If the 
replacement rules as they support a single committee can be 
simpler, some savings may result to health care providers, 
clinics, and hospitals. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The rule is being 
repealed, therefore there are no compliance costs. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The new advisory committee 
created by S.B. 113 should have a positive impact on 
businesses as the structure for awarding these loans is 
simplified.  Rod L. Betit 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, 
PRIMARY CARE AND RURAL HEALTH 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Lyle Odendahl at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6878, by FAX at 801-538-6306, or by Internet E-mail at 
lyleodendahl@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod Betit, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R434.  Health, Health Systems Improvement, Primary Care and 
Rural Health. 
[R434-10.  Physicians and Physician Assistants Grant and 
Scholarship Program. 
R434-10-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule, R434-10, provides criteria for the implementation of the 
Physicians and Physician Assistants Grant and Scholarship Program 
and the award of grant funds to physicians and physician assistants 
willing to work in a medically underserved rural area of the state and 
the award of funds to train physicians and physician assistants to 
practice medicine in a medically underserved rural area of the state. 
 
R434-10-2.  Definitions. 
 The definitions as they appear in Section 26-9-202 apply.  In 
addition: 
 (1)  "Approved Site" means an eligible site which is approved by 
the committee pursuant to Subsection 26-9-204(2)(a). 
 (2)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (3)  "Designated health professional shortage area" means a 
service area designated by the Secretary of Health and Human Services 
as having insufficient primary care physicians. 
 (4)  "Eligible Site" means a hospital or medical clinic that the 
committee has designated as meeting the eligibility criteria established 
by the committee and is in a medically underserved rural area pursuant 
to Subsection 26-9-202 (4). 
 (5)  "Grant" means a grant of funds under a contract to defray 
educational loans. 
 (6) "Obligated service" means service in a medical specialty 
needed at an approved site for a minimum of two years or a longer 
period to which the applicant agrees in a grant or scholarship contract. 
 (7)  "Postgraduate training" means medical training in one of the 
following: 
 (a)  a postgraduate training program in the United States 
accredited by the Accreditation Committee on Graduate Medical 
Education; 
 (b)  a postgraduate training program in the United States 
accredited by the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of 
Professional Education; 
 (c)  a postgraduate training program in Canada accredited by the 
Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. 
 (8)  "Physician Scholarship" means an award of money for 
educational expenses given to a person under a contract where the 
person agrees to accept the award in exchange for practicing medicine 
in a medical specialty needed, as determined by the committee, in an 
approved site following completion of postgraduate training. 
 (9)  "Physician Assistant Scholarship" means an award of money 
for educational expenses given to a person under a contract where the 
person agrees to accept the award in exchange for practicing medicine 
as a physician assistant in an approved site. 
 

R434-10-3.  Physician Grant Administration. 
 (1)  The department may provide a grant to repay loans taken for 
physician educational expenses. 
 (2)  The physician grant recipient may not enter into any other 
similar contracts until he satisfies the obligated service described in the 
grant. 
 (3)  For a physician grant recipient with a four year contract the 
state shall provide 20% of the grant at the completion of the first three 
months, 20% of the grant at the completion of year one, 20% at the 
completion of year two, 20% at the completion of year three, and 20% 
at the completion of year four. 
 (4)  For a physician grant recipient with a three year contract the 
state shall provide 25% of the grant at the completion of the first three 
months, 25% of the grant at the completion of year one, 25% at the 
completion of year two, and 25% at the completion of year three. 
 (5)  For a physician grant recipient with a two year contract the 
state shall provide 33% of the grant at the completion of the first three 
months, 33% of the grant at the completion of year one, and 34% at the 
completion of year two. 
 (6)  The physician grant recipient must obtain an unrestricted 
license to practice as a physician in Utah before his first day of practice 
under the grant contract. 
 (7)  The physician grant recipient must obtain approval from the 
committee prior to beginning obligated service at an eligible site. 
 (8)  A physician grant recipient must obtain approval prior to 
changing the approved site where he fulfills his obligated service. 
 
R434-10-4.  Physician Assistant Grant Administration. 
 (1)  The department may provide a grant to repay loans taken for 
physician assistant educational expenses. 
 (2)  The physician assistant grant recipient may not enter into any 
other similar contracts until he satisfies the obligated service described 
in the grant. 
 (3)  For a physician assistant grant recipient with a four year 
contract the state shall provide 20% of the grant at the completion of 
the first three months, 20% of the grant at the completion of year one, 
20% at the completion of year two, 20% at the completion of year 
three, and 20% at the completion of year four. 
 (4)  For a physician assistant grant recipient with a three year 
contract the state shall provide 25% of the grant at the completion of 
the first three months, 25% of the grant at the completion of year one, 
25% at the completion of year two, and 25% at the completion of year 
three. 
 (5)  For a physician assistant grant recipient with a two year 
contract the state shall provide 33% of the grant at the completion of 
the first three months, 33% of the grant at the completion of year one, 
and 34% at the completion of year two. 
 (6)  The department may not provide a grant until the physician 
assistant passes the National Commission on the Certification of 
Physician Assistants/National Board of Medical Examiners Physician 
Assistant National Certification Exam. 
 (7)  The physician assistant grant recipient must obtain an 
unrestricted license to practice as a physician assistant in Utah before 
his first day of practice under the grant contract. 
 (8)  The physician assistant grant recipient must obtain approval 
from the committee prior to beginning obligated service at an eligible 
site. 
 (9)  A physician assistant grant recipient must obtain approval 
prior to changing the approved site where he fulfills his obligated 
service. 
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R434-10-5.  Full-Time Equivalency Provisions for Grant 
Recipients. 
 (1)  The annual grant amount is based on the level of full-time 
equivalency that the grant recipient agrees to work. 
 (2)  A grant recipient who provides services for at least 40 hours 
per week may be awarded a grant based on the percentages outlined in 
Section R434-10-3 and R434-10-4. 
 (3)  A grant recipient who provides services for less than 40 hours 
per week may be awarded a proportionately lower grant based on a 
full-time equivalency of 40 hours per week. 
 
R434-10-6.  Physician Grant Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a physician grant recipient for a physician grant, 
the committee shall evaluate the applicant based on the following 
selection criteria: 
 (a)  the extent to which an applicant's training is in a medical 
specialty needed at an eligible site; 
 (b)  the applicant's commitment to serve in a medically 
underserved rural area which may be demonstrated in any of the 
following ways: 
 (i)  has lived in an area with fewer than 100 persons per square 
mile; 
 (ii)  has rural work or educational experience; 
 (iii)  has work or educational experience with rural populations 
such as the Peace Corps, VISTA, or the Extension Service of the 
Department of Agriculture; 
 (iv)  other facts or experience that the applicant can demonstrate to 
the committee that establishes his commitment to a rural practice. 
 (c)  the availability of the applicant to begin service, with greater 
consideration being given to applicants available for service at earlier 
dates; 
 (d)  the length of the applicant's proposed obligated service, with 
greater consideration given to applicants who agree to serve for longer 
periods of time; 
 (e)  the applicant's: 
 (i)  academic standing; 
 (ii)  prior professional or personal experience in medically 
underserved rural areas; 
 (iii)  board certification or eligibility; 
 (iv)  residency achievements; 
 (v)  peer recommendations; 
 (vi)  other facts that the applicant can demonstrate to the 
committee that establishes his professional competence or conduct; 
 (f)  the applicant's financial need; 
 (g)  the applicant's willingness to accept Medicare, Medicaid, or 
Utah Medical Assistance patients; 
 (h)  the applicant's willingness to provide care regardless of a 
patient's ability to pay; 
 (i)  the applicant's ability and willingness to provide care; 
 (j)  the applicant's achieving an early match with an eligible site. 
 (2)  Only the following medical specialities may receive an award 
under this program: 
 (a)  anesthesiology, 
 (b)  general surgery, 
 (c)  internal medicine, 
 (d)  obstetrics/gynecology, 
 (e)  ophthalmology, 
 (f)  orthopedic surgery, 
 (g)  osteopathic general or family practice, 
 (h)  pediatrics, 
 (i)  psychiatry, 

 (j)  radiology, 
 (k)  urology. 
 (3)  Only physicians who are available to begin practicing 
medicine in the state within one year from the date of application are 
eligible for this program. 
 (4)  To be eligible for a grant, a physician: 
 (a)  must be a United States citizen or permanent resident; 
 (b)  must not have practiced medicine in rural Utah within three 
years prior to the date of application; 
 (c)  must be enrolled in or have completed postgraduate training 
prior to submitting an application to participate in the grant program. 
 
R434-10-7.  Physician Assistant Grant Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a physician assistant grant recipient for a 
physician assistant grant, the committee shall evaluate the applicant 
based on the following selection criteria: 
 (a)  the extent to which an applicant's training is needed at an 
eligible site; 
 (b)  the applicant's commitment to serve in a medically 
underserved rural area, which may be demonstrated in any of the 
following ways: 
 (i)  has lived in an area with fewer than 100 persons per square 
mile; 
 (ii)  has rural work or educational experience; 
 (iii)  has work or educational experience with rural populations 
such as the Peace Corps, VISTA, or the Extension Service of the 
Department of Agriculture; 
 (iv)  other facts or experience that the applicant can demonstrate to 
the committee that establishes his commitment to a rural practice. 
 (c)  the availability of the applicant to begin service, with greater 
consideration given to applicants available for service at earlier dates; 
 (d)  the length of the applicant's proposed obligated service, with 
greater consideration given to applicants who agree to serve for longer 
periods of time; 
 (e)  the applicant's: 
 (i)  academic standing; 
 (ii)  prior professional or personal experience in medically 
underserved rural areas; 
 (iii)  results of the National certification exam; 
 (iv)  preceptorship achievements; 
 (v)  peer recommendations; 
 (vi)  other facts that the applicant can demonstrate to the 
committee that establishes his professional competence or conduct. 
 (f)  the applicant's financial need; 
 (g)  the applicant's willingness to accept Medicare, Medicaid, or 
Utah Medical Assistance patients; 
 (h)  the applicant's willingness to provide care regardless of a 
patient's ability to pay; 
 (i)  the applicant's ability and willingness to provide care; 
 (j)  the applicant's achieving an early match with an eligible site. 
 (2)  Only physician assistants who are available to begin 
practicing medicine in the state within one year from the date of 
application may be eligible for this program. 
 (3)  To be eligible for a grant, physician assistants: 
 (a)  must be a United States citizen or permanent resident; 
 (b)  must have passed the National Commission on the 
Certification of Physician Assistants/National Board of Medical 
Examiners Physician Assistant National Certification Exam; 
 (c)  must not have practiced medicine in rural Utah within three 
years prior to the date of application. 
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R434-10-8.  Extension of Grant Contract. 
 (1)  A physician or physician assistant who has signed a grant 
contract for less than four years may apply on or after his first day of 
practice under a grant to extend his grant contract by one or two years, 
up to the maximum of four years total. 
 (2)  The service obligation may be extended only at an eligible 
site. 
 (3)  A physician or physician assistant who desires to extend his 
grant contract must inform the committee in writing of his interest in 
extending his grant contract at least six months prior to the termination 
of his unextended grant contract. 
 
R434-10-9.  Schedule of Breach of Grant Contract Repayment. 
 (1)  A grant recipient who fails to complete the obligated service 
shall begin to repay the penalty to the department within 30 days of the 
breach.  The department may submit for immediate collection all 
amounts due from a breaching grant recipient who does not begin to 
repay within 30 days. 
 (2)  The amount to be paid back shall be determined from the end 
of the month in which the grant recipient breached the contract as if the 
grant recipient had breached at the end of the month. 
 (3)  The breaching grant recipient shall pay the total amount due 
within one year of breaching the contract.  The scheduled payback may 
not be less than four equal quarterly payments. 
 
R434-10-10.  Physician Scholarship Administration. 
 (1)  The department may provide physician scholarship funds to a 
physician scholarship recipient for a maximum of four years of medical 
or osteopathic school or until completion of medical or osteopathic 
school, whichever is shorter. 
 (2)  For each academic year the committee may award $12,000 to 
a physician scholarship recipient. 
 (3)  The committee may pay tuition and fees directly to the 
medical or osteopathic school, and determine the amount and frequency 
of direct payments to the student. 
 (4)  The physician scholarship recipient may not enter into a 
scholarship contract other than with the program established in Section 
26-9-201 until the obligated service agreed upon in the state scholarship 
contract is satisfied. 
 (5)  A physician scholarship recipient must work full-time, as 
defined by the physician scholarship recipient's employer and as 
specified in his contract with the department. 
 (6)  A physician scholarship recipient must serve one year of 
obligated service for each year he received a scholarship under this 
program. 
 (7)  The committee may cancel a scholarship at any time if it finds 
that the physician scholarship recipient has voluntarily or involuntarily 
terminated his medical or osteopathic school or postgraduate training, 
or it appears to be a reasonable certainty the physician scholarship 
recipient does not intend to practice medicine as required by statute, 
rules, and contract in a medically underserved rural area in the state. 
 (8)  The physician scholarship recipient must begin postgraduate 
training within six months after he obtains a Doctor of Medicine or 
Doctor of Osteopathy degree.  Postgraduate training must be 
continuous unless the physician scholarship recipient obtains prior 
approval from the director of the physician scholarship recipient's 
postgraduate training program and from the committee. 
 (9)  The physician scholarship recipient must attend a minimum 
three year postgraduate training program. 
 (10)  The physician scholarship recipient must obtain an 
unrestricted license to practice medicine in the state and begin 

practicing medicine for the agreed upon period of time at an approved 
site within six months of completion of postgraduate training. 
 (11)  The physician scholarship recipient shall select for 
postgraduate training a residency in one of the following areas:  family 
practice, general internal medicine, general pediatrics, or 
obstetrics/gynecology.  If the physician scholarship recipient desires to 
choose a postgraduate training program in a medical specialty other 
than family practice, general internal medicine, general pediatrics, or 
obstetrics/gynecology, he must demonstrate the need for the medical 
specialty in a medically underserved rural area and obtain approval 
from the committee. 
 (12)  Upon completion of postgraduate training, the physician 
scholarship recipient shall be responsible for finding employment at an 
eligible site in a medically underserved rural area of Utah. 
 (13)  The physician scholarship recipient must obtain approval 
from the committee prior to beginning obligated service at an eligible 
site. 
 
R434-10-11.  Physician Assistant Scholarship Administration. 
 (1)  The department may provide physician assistant scholarship 
funds to a physician assistant scholarship recipient for a maximum of 
four years for physician assistant school, or until completion of 
physician assistant school, whichever is shorter. 
 (2)  For each academic year the committee may award $12,000 to 
a physician assistant scholarship recipient. 
 (3)  The committee may pay tuition and fees directly to the 
physician assistant school, and to determine the amount and frequency 
of direct payments to the student. 
 (4)  The physician assistant scholarship recipient may not enter 
into a scholarship contract other than with the program established in 
Section 26-9-201 until the obligated service agreed upon in the state 
contract is satisfied. 
 (5)  A physician assistant scholarship recipient shall work full-
time, as defined by the physician assistant scholarship recipient's 
employer and as specified in the contract. 
 (6)  A physician assistant scholarship recipient must serve one 
year of obligated service for each year he received a scholarship under 
this program. 
 (7)  The committee may cancel a scholarship at any time if it finds 
that the physician assistant scholarship recipient has voluntarily or 
involuntarily terminated his physician assistant education and training, 
or it appears to be a reasonable certainty the physician assistant 
scholarship recipient does not intend to practice medicine as a 
physician assistant as required by statute, rules, and contract. 
 (8)  The physician assistant scholarship recipient must obtain a 
temporary physician assistant license and begin practicing medicine at 
an approved site for the agreed upon period of time within six months 
of completion of physician assistant education. 
 (9)  The physician assistant scholarship recipient shall take the 
National Commission on the Certification of Physician 
Assistants/National Board of Medical Examiners Physician Assistant 
National Certification Exam at the soonest date after completion of 
physician assistant schooling.  At the soonest date after the physician 
assistant scholarship recipient passes this exam he shall obtain a 
permanent unrestricted license as a physician assistant. 
 (10)  If the physician assistant scholarship recipient fails the 
National Commission on the Certification of Physician 
Assistants/National Board of Medical Examiners Physician Assistant 
National Certification Exam, he must retake the exam within one year 
of failure of the National certification exam.  If the physician assistant 
scholarship recipient fails the exam a second time, or fails to retake the 
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exam, he shall be in default of the scholarship contract.  The period 
when the temporary license is lost due to failing the exam and the 
physician assistant scholarship recipient is unable to practice at an 
approved site does not count against retiring the obligated service under 
the contract. 
 (11)  Upon graduation from physician assistant schooling, the 
physician assistant scholarship recipient shall be responsible for finding 
employment at an eligible site in a medically underserved rural area of 
Utah. 
 (12)  The physician assistant scholarship recipient must obtain 
approval from the committee prior to beginning obligated service at an 
eligible site. 
 
R434-10-12.  Physician Scholarship Applicant Eligibility and 
Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a recipient for a physician scholarship, the 
committee shall evaluate the applicant based on the following selection 
criteria: 
 (a)  the applicant's commitment to serve in a medically 
underserved rural area, which may be demonstrated in any of the 
following ways: 
 (i)  has lived in a rural area with fewer than 100 persons per square 
mile; 
 (ii)  has rural work or educational experience; 
 (iii)  has work or educational experience with rural populations 
such as the Peace Corps, VISTA, or the Extension Service of the 
Department of Agriculture; 
 (iv)  has declared a commitment to practice in a medically 
underserved rural area as expressed in the essay which is required as 
part of the scholarship application; 
 (v)  other facts or experience that the applicant can demonstrate to 
the committee that establishes his commitment to a rural practice. 
 (b)  the applicant's need for assistance in financing a medical or 
osteopathic education; 
 (c)  the applicant's academic ability as demonstrated by official 
transcripts and official medical or osteopathic school admission test 
scores; 
 (d)  the applicant's evidence that he has been accepted by or 
currently attends a medical school accredited by the Liaison Committee 
on American Medical Education or osteopathic school accredited by 
the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of Professional 
Education; 
 (e)  the applicant's personal and professional references 
demonstrating the applicant's good character and potential to 
successfully complete medical or osteopathic school. 
 (2)  In selecting a physician scholarship recipient, the committee 
may give preference to: 
 (a)  applicants who agree to serve in a medically underserved rural 
area of the state for four years in return for four years of scholarship 
assistance; 
 (b)  applicants who agree to complete their postgraduate training 
in one of the following medical specialties: family practice, general 
internal medicine, general pediatrics, or obstetrics/gynecology; 
 (c)  applicants from rural Utah. 
 (3)  To be eligible to receive a physician scholarship, an applicant 
must be a United States citizen or permanent resident. 
 (4)  Before the committee awards a scholarship, applicants must 
participate in an interview with the committee or its designee. 
 (5)  To remain eligible to receive scholarship funds, an applicant 
must satisfactorily complete each year of medical or osteopathic school 
and be a matriculated student. 

R434-10-13.  Physician Assistant Scholarship Applicant Eligibility 
and Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting an applicant for a physician assistant scholarship, 
the committee shall evaluate the applicant based on the following 
selection criteria: 
 (a)  the applicant's commitment to serve in a medically 
underserved rural area, which may be demonstrated in any of the 
following ways: 
 (i)  has lived in a rural area with fewer than 100 persons per square 
mile; 
 (ii)  has rural work or educational experience; 
 (iii)  has work or educational experience with rural populations 
such as the Peace Corps, VISTA, or the Extension Service of the 
Department of Agriculture; 
 (iv)  has declared a commitment to practice in a medically 
underserved rural area as expressed in the essay which is required as 
part of the scholarship application; 
 (v)  other facts or experience that the applicant can demonstrate to 
the committee that establishes his commitment to a rural practice. 
 (b)  the applicant's need for assistance in financing a physician 
assistant education; 
 (c)  the applicant's academic ability as demonstrated by official 
transcripts; 
 (d)  the applicant's evidence that he has been accepted by or 
currently attends a physician assistant school accredited by the 
Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation of the 
American Medical Association; 
 (e)  the applicant's personal and professional references 
demonstrating the applicant's good character and potential to 
successfully complete physician assistant school. 
 (2)  In selecting a physician assistant scholarship recipient, the 
committee may give preference to applicants from rural Utah. 
 (3)  To be eligible to receive a physician assistant scholarship, an 
applicant must be a United States citizen or permanent resident. 
 (4)  Before the committee awards a scholarship, applicants must 
participate in an interview with the committee or its designee. 
 (5)  To remain eligible to receive scholarship funds an applicant 
must satisfactorily complete each year of physician assistant school and 
be a matriculated student. 
 
R434-10-14.  Physician Scholarship Recipient Obligations. 
 (1)  A physician scholarship recipient must maintain minimum 
continuous registration to maintain medical or osteopathic student 
status until he completes all requirements for his degree.  The 
maximum years leading to a degree may not exceed four years, unless 
extended pursuant to R434-10-16. 
 (2)  A physician scholarship recipient must attend a minimum 
three year postgraduate training program. 
 (3)  A physician scholarship recipient must obtain an unrestricted 
license to practice as a physician in Utah prior to beginning practice at 
the approved site. 
 (4)  Within six months before and not exceeding one month 
following completion of postgraduate training, a physician scholarship 
recipient shall provide to the department documented evidence from an 
eligible site of its intent to hire him. 
 (5)  Upon completion of postgraduate training, the physician 
scholarship recipient is responsible for finding employment at an 
eligible site in a medically underserved rural area of Utah. 
 (6)  The physician scholarship recipient must obtain approval 
from the committee prior to beginning obligated service at an eligible 
site. 
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 (7)  A physician scholarship recipient must begin employment at 
the approved site within six months of completion of postgraduate 
training. 
 (8)  A physician scholarship recipient, upon completion of 
postgraduate training, must demonstrate willingness to serve the 
underserved by: 
 (a)  accepting Medicare, Medicaid, or Utah Medical Assistance 
Program patients; 
 (b)  providing care regardless of patient's ability to pay; 
 (c)  showing ability and willingness to provide care. 
 (9)  The minimum length of obligated service is two years, or such 
longer period to which the applicant and the committee agree. 
 (10)  The physician scholarship recipient must obtain committee 
approval prior to changing the approved site where he fulfills his 
obligated service. 
 
R434-10-15.  Physician Assistant Scholarship Recipient 
Obligations. 
 (1)  A physician assistant scholarship recipient must maintain 
minimum continuous registration to maintain physician assistant 
student status until he completes all requirements for his degree.  The 
maximum years leading to a degree may not exceed four years unless 
extended pursuant to R434-10-16. 
 (2)  A physician assistant scholarship recipient shall take the 
National Commission on the Certification of Physician 
Assistants/National Board of Medical Examiners Physician Assistant 
National Certification Exam at the soonest date after completion of 
physician assistant schooling. 
 (3)  Upon completion of physician assistant schooling, the 
physician assistant scholarship recipient is responsible for finding 
employment at an eligible site in a medically underserved rural area of 
Utah 
 (4)  The physician assistant scholarship recipient must obtain 
approval from the committee prior to beginning obligated service at an 
eligible site 
 (5)  Within three months before, and not exceeding one month 
following completion of physician assistant education and prior to 
beginning fulfillment of obligated service, a physician assistant 
scholarship recipient shall provide to the department documented 
evidence from the approved site of its intent to hire him. 
 (6)  A physician assistant scholarship recipient, upon completion 
of physician assistant schooling, must demonstrate willingness to serve 
the underserved by: 
 (a)  accepting Medicare, Medicaid, or Utah Medical Assistance 
Program patients; 
 (b)  providing care regardless of patient's ability to pay; 
 (c)  showing ability and willingness to provide care. 
 (7)  A physician assistant scholarship recipient must begin 
employment at the approved site within six months of completion of 
physician assistant education. 
 (8)  The minimum length of obligated service is two years, or such 
longer period to which the applicant and the committee agree. 
 (9)  The physician assistant scholarship recipient must obtain 
committee approval prior to changing the approved site where he 
fulfills his obligated service. 
 
R434-10-16.  Extension of Contract with Scholarship Recipient. 
 (1)  The committee may extend the period within which the 
scholarship recipient must complete his medical, osteopathic, or 
physician assistant education: 
 (a)  if the scholarship recipient has a serious illness; 

 (b)  if the scholarship recipient is activated by the military; 
 (c)  for other good cause shown, as determined by the committee. 
 
R434-10-17.  Schedule of Breach of Scholarship Contract 
Repayment. 
 (1)  A scholarship recipient who: 
 (a)  Fails to finish his professional schooling within the period of 
time agreed upon with the committee shall within 90 days after the 
deadline for completing his schooling or within 90 days of his failure to 
continue his schooling, whichever occurs earlier, shall repay: 
 (i)  all scholarship money received according to a schedule 
established by contract with the committee; 
 (ii)  if not repaid within one year of default, 12% per annum 
interest on unrepaid scholarship money calculated from the date each 
installment was received under the scholarship; 
 (iii)  costs and expenses incurred in collection, including attorney 
fees. 
 (b)  Finishes his schooling and fails to pass the necessary 
professional certifications or examinations within the time period 
agreed upon with the committee shall begin to repay to the department 
within one year of the breach: 
 (i)  all scholarship money received according to a schedule 
established by the committee; 
 (ii)  if not repaid within one year of default, 12% per annum 
interest on unrepaid scholarship money calculated from the date each 
installment was received under the scholarship; 
 (iii)  costs and expenses incurred in collection, including attorney 
fees. 
 (c)  Finishes his schooling and fails to take the necessary 
professional certifications or examinations within the time period 
agreed upon with the committee shall within one year of the breach: 
 (i)  pay as a penalty twice the total amount of the scholarship 
money on a prorated basis according to a schedule established by the 
committee and 12% per annum interest on the unpaid penalty amount; 
 (ii)  costs and expenses incurred in collection, including attorney 
fees. 
 (d)  Finishes his schooling and becomes a physician or physician 
assistant but who fails to fulfill his obligated service shall begin to 
repay the penalty to the department within one year of the breach, 
pursuant to Subsection 26-9-210 (5). 
 (2)  A physician scholarship recipient who fails to complete a 
minimum three year postgraduate training program within the time 
period agreed upon with the committee shall within 90 days after the 
deadline for completing his postgraduate training program or within 90 
days of his failure to continue his postgraduate training program, 
whichever occurs earlier, repay: 
 (a)  all scholarship money received according to a schedule 
established by the committee; 
 (b)  if not repaid within one year of default, 12% per annum 
interest on unrepaid scholarship. 
 (3)  The amount to be paid back shall be determined from the end 
of the month in which the scholarship recipient breached the contract as 
if the scholarship recipient had breached at the end of the month. 
 (4)  The breaching scholarship recipient shall pay the total amount 
due within four years of breaching the contract.  The scheduled pay 
back may not be less than four equal payments. 
 
R434-10-18.  Release of Recipient from Obligated Service. 
 (1)  The committee may release a recipient from his obligated 
service without penalty: 
 (a)  if the obligated service has been fulfilled; 
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 (b)  if he dies; 
 (c)  for other good cause shown, as determined by the committee. 
 (2)  Extreme hardship sufficient to release the recipient without 
penalty includes: 
 (a)  inability to complete medical, osteopathic, or physician 
assistant school or fulfill obligated service due to permanent disability 
that prevents the recipient from completing school or performing any 
work for remuneration or profit; 
 (b)  a family member, for which the recipient is the principal care 
giver, has a life-threatening chronic illness. 
 
R434-10-19.  Eligible Site Determination. 
 (1)  Criteria to determine an eligible site include: 
 (a)  within the medically underserved rural area: 
 (i)  the percentage of the population with incomes under 200% of 
the federal poverty level; 
 (ii)  the percentage of the population 65 years of age and over; 
 (iii)  the percentage of the population under 18 years of age; 
 (iv)  the infant mortality rate; 
 (v)  the postneonatal mortality rate; 
 (b)  distance to nearest physician or physician assistant and 
barriers to reaching the physician or physician assistant, e.g., winter 
driving conditions or mountainous roads' 
 (c)  for physician eligible site determination, the ratio of 
population to physician medical specialty for which the site applied; 
 (d)  for physician assistant eligible site determination, a minimum 
population to physician assistant ratio of one physician assistant per 
1,500 persons, in addition to the number of primary care physicians at 
the site, the affect physician assistants may have on the practice of 
providers and the delivery of health care at the site; and 
 (e)  letters of support from a majority of practicing physicians and 
physician assistants in service area, county and civic leaders, hospital 
administrator, business leaders, local chamber of commerce, citizens, 
and local health departments. 
 (2)  The committee may give preference to sites which assure in 
their site applications that other community physicians will continue to 
see their fair share of Medicaid, Medicare, and Utah Medical 
Assistance patients. 
 (3)  The committee may give preference to designated health 
professional shortage areas requesting one of the following medical 
specialties: 
 (a)  family practice; 
 (b)  internal medicine; 
 (c)  obstetrics/gynecology; 
 (d)  pediatrics; 
 (e)  physician assistants. 
 (4)  An eligible site approved to have a grant or scholarship 
recipient practice there must offer a salary and benefit package 
competitive with salaries and benefits of other providers in the service 
area. 
 
R434-10-20.  Eligible Bona Fide Loans. 
 (1)  A bona fide loan may include the following: 
 (a)  a commercial loan made by a bank, credit union, savings and 
loan association, insurance company, school, or credit institution; 
 (b)  a governmental loan made by a federal, state, county, or city 
agency; 
 (c)  a loan made by another person which is documented by a 
contract notarized at the time of the making of the loan; indicative of an 
arm's length transaction, and with competitive term and rate as other 
loans available to physician and physician assistant students; or 

 (d)  a loan that the applicant conclusively demonstrates is a bona 
fide loan. 
 
R434-10-21.  Reporting. 
 The committee may require the recipient to provide information 
regarding the academic performance, commitment to medically 
underserved rural areas, continuing financial need, obligated service 
fulfillment, and other information reasonably necessary for the 
administration of the program during the period the recipient is in 
medical, osteopathic, or physician assistant school; postgraduate 
training; and in practice. 
 
KEY:  grants, physicians, physician assistants*, scholarships* 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25072 
FILED:  07/05/2002, 15:23 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Statutory 
authority for the rule was repealed by the 2002 Legislature.  A 
new advisory committee for health care provider loans was 
created.  New rules will be proposed consistent with S.B. 113. 
 (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 113 is found at UT L 2002 Ch 307, and 
was effective March 26, 2002.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 9e 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Department, pursuant to S.B. 113, 
is still required to administer a loan repayment program for 
health care providers.  This rule change in isolation would 
reduce work demands for the Department.  However, 
replacement rules consistent with S.B. 113 will replace this 
rule.  It is hoped that the new rules can be simpler and 
therefore some savings may result to state government. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments benefit from the 
loan repayment program since many of these providers work 
for local health departments and other local agencies.  This 
rule repeal will not reduce that benefit to local government.  If 
the replacement rules as they support a single committee can 
be simpler, some savings may result to local government. 
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❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Private persons benefit from the loan 
repayment program in that health care in rural and other 
underserved areas is increased by this program.  If the 
replacement rules as they support a single committee can be 
simpler, some savings may result to health care providers, 
clinics, and hospitals. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The rule is 
repealed, therefore there are no compliance costs. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The new advisory committee 
created by S.B. 113 should have a positive impact on 
businesses as the structure for awarding these loans is 
simplified. Rod L. Betit 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, 
PRIMARY CARE AND RURAL HEALTH 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Lyle Odendahl at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6878, by FAX at 801-538-6306, or by Internet E-mail at 
lyleodendahl@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod Betit, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R434.  Health, Health Systems Improvement, Primary Care and 
Rural Health. 
[R434-20.  Special Population Health Care Provider Financial 
Assistance Program. 
R434-20-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule provides criteria for the implementation of the Special 
Population Health Care Provider Financial Assistance and Retention 
Act; the award of grant funds to primary health care providers to repay 
loans taken for educational expenses; and the award of scholarship 
funds to individuals seeking to become primary health care providers, 
in exchange for practicing for a specified period of time in a medically 
underserved urban area of the state. 
 
R434-20-2.  Definitions. 
 The definitions as they appear in Section 26-9e-2 apply.  In 
addition: 
 (1)  "Applicant" means a person who submits a completed 
application for a grant or scholarship under this part. 
 (2)  "Approved site" means an eligible site which is approved by 
the committee pursuant to Subsection 26-9e-2(15). 

 (3)  "Department" means the Utah Department of Health. 
 (4)  "Eligible site" means a site that the committee has designated 
as meeting the eligibility criteria established by the committee and is in 
a medically underserved urban area pursuant to Subsections 26-9e-5 
(1)(f) and 26-9e-2(15). 
 (5)  "Grant" means loan repayment as defined in Subsection 26-
9e-2(6). 
 (6)  "Postgraduate training" means internship, practicum, 
preceptorship, or residency training required for primary health care 
provider licensure and as required by this rule. 
 (7)  "Scholarship"means an award of money for educational 
expenses given to an individual under a contract where the individual 
agrees to become a primary health care provider in exchange for 
practicing for a specified period of time in a medically underserved 
urban area in the state. 
 
R434-20-3.  Grant Administration. 
 (1)  The department may provide a grant to repay loans taken for 
primary health care provider educational expenses. 
 (2)  The grant recipient may not enter into any other similar 
contracts until he satisfies the service obligation described in the grant. 
 (3)  For a grant recipient with a four year contract, the state shall 
provide 20% of the grant at the completion of the first three months, 
20% of the grant at the completion of year one, 20% at the completion 
of year two, 20% at the completion of year three, and 20% at the 
completion of year four. 
 (4)  For a grant recipient with a three year contract, the state shall 
provide 25% of the grant at the completion of the first three months, 
25% of the grant at the completion of year one, 25% at the completion 
of year two, and 25% at the completion of year three. 
 (5)  For a grant recipient with a two year contract, the state shall 
provide 33% of the grant at the completion of the first three months, 
33% of the grant at the completion of year one, and 34% at the 
completion of year two. 
 (6)  A grant recipient must have a permanent, unrestricted license 
to practice in their primary health care specialty in Utah before his first 
day of practice under the grant contract. 
 (7)  A grant recipient must obtain approval from the committee, of 
the eligible site to complete his service obligation, prior to beginning to 
fulfill his service obligation at an eligible site. 
 (8)  A grant recipient must obtain approval prior to changing the 
approved site where he fulfills his service obligation. 
 
R434-20-4.  Full-Time Equivalency Provisions for Grant 
Recipients. 
 (1)  The annual grant amount is based on the level of full-time 
equivalency that the grant recipient agrees to work. 
 (2)  A grant recipient who provides services for at least 40 hours 
per week may be awarded a grant based on the percentages outlined in 
Section R434-20-3. 
 (3)  A grant recipient who provides services for less than 40 hours 
per week may be awarded a proportionately lower grant based on a 
full-time equivalency of 40 hours per week. 
 
R434-20-5.  Grant Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a grant recipient for a grant award, the committee 
shall evaluate the applicant based on the following selection criteria: 
 (a)  the extent to which an applicant's training in a primary health 
care specialty needed at an eligible site; 
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 (b)  the applicant's commitment to serve in a medically 
underserved urban area which can be demonstrated in any of the 
following ways: 
 (i)  has worked or volunteered at a community or migrant health 
center, homeless shelter, public health department clinic, or other 
service commitment to the underserved; 
 (ii)  has work or educational experience with special populations 
through the Peace Corps, VISTA, or a similar volunteer agency; 
 (iii)  has cultural or language skills that may be essential for 
provision of primary health care services to special populations; 
 (iv)  other facts or experience that the applicant can demonstrate to 
the committee that establishes his commitment to serve special 
populations; 
 (c)  the availability of the applicant to begin service, with greater 
consideration being given to applicants available for service at earlier 
dates; 
 (d)  the length of the applicant's proposed service obligation, with 
greater consideration given to applicants who agree to serve for longer 
periods of time; 
 (e)  the applicant's: 
 (i)  academic standing; 
 (ii)  prior professional or personal experience serving special 
populations, 
 (iii)  board certification or eligibility; 
 (iv)  postgraduate training achievements; 
 (v)  peer recommendations; 
 (vi)  other facts that the applicant can demonstrate to the 
committee that establishes his professional competence or conduct; 
 (f)  the applicant's financial need; 
 (g)  the applicant's willingness to accept Medicaid, Medicare, Utah 
Medical Assistance, and Children's Health Insurance Program patients; 
 (h)  the applicant's willingness to provide care regardless of a 
patient's ability to pay; 
 (i)  the applicant's ability and willingness to provide care; 
 (j)  the applicant's achieving an early match with an eligible site. 
 (2)  To be eligible for a grant, an applicant must be a United States 
citizen or permanent resident. 
 (3)  To be eligible for a grant, an applicant must be enrolled in or 
have completed postgraduate training prior to submitting an application 
to participate in the grant program. 
 (4)  Only grant applicants who are available to begin practicing as 
a primary health care provider in the state within one year from the date 
of application are eligible for this program. 
 
R434-20-6.  Dentist Grant Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a Dentist grant recipient for a grant award, the 
committee shall evaluate the applicant based on the selection criteria 
listed in Section R434-20-5. 
 (2)  In selecting a Dentist grant recipient for a grant award, the 
committee shall also evaluate the Dentist applicant based on the 
following selection criteria: 
 (a)  must have attended a dental school accredited by the 
American Dental Association. 
 (b)  must have passed the Utah Dentist and Dental Hygienist Law 
Examination, pursuant to Subsection R156-69-302b(1). 
 (c)  must have passed the Western Regional Examining Board; 
Central Regional Dental Testing Service, Inc.; Northeast Regional 
Board of Dental Examiners, Inc.; or Southern Regional Testing 
Agency, Inc., examinations pursuant to Subsection R156-69-302b(2). 
 

R434-20-7.  Mental Health Therapist Grant Eligibility and 
Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a Mental Health Therapist grant recipient for a 
grant award, the committee shall evaluate the applicant based on the 
selection criteria listed in Section R434-20-5. 
 (2)  In selecting a clinical psychologist grant recipient for a grant 
award, the committee shall also evaluate the clinical psychologist 
applicant based on the following selection criteria: 
 (a)  must have attended a school accredited by a regional 
institutional accrediting body identified in the "Accredited Institutions 
of Postsecondary Education" and recognized by the Association of 
State and Provincial Psychology Boards as listed in the "Doctoral 
Psychology Programs Meeting Designation Criteria", pursuant to 
Subsection R156-61-302a(1), awarding a degree that meets the 
requirements of Subsection 58-61-304(1)(d). 
 (b)  must be completing or have completed a minimum two year 
supervised clinical internship prior to submitting an application to 
participate in the grant program. 
 (c)  must have passed the Examination for the Professional 
Practice of Psychology developed by the American Association of 
State Psychology Board, pursuant to Subsection R156-61-302c(1)(a). 
 (d)  must have passed the Utah Psychology Law Examination, 
pursuant to Subsection R156-61-302c(1)(b). 
 (3)  In selecting a clinical social worker grant recipient for a grant 
award, the committee shall also evaluate the clinical social worker 
applicant based on the following selection criteria: 
 (a)  must have attended a school accredited by the United States 
Council on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association of 
Schools of Social Work, awarding a degree in social work. 
 (b)  must be completing or have completed a minimum 4,000 
hours of supervised clinical social work and mental health therapy 
training which includes 1,000 hours of face to face therapy completed 
over a duration of not less than two years, prior to submitting an 
application to participate in the grant program. 
 (c)  must have passed the Utah Social Work Law, Rules, and 
Ethics Examination, pursuant to Subsection R156-60a-302d(1)(a). 
 (d)  must have passed the National Basic Examination of the 
American Association of State Social Work Boards, pursuant to 
Subsection R156-60a-302d(2)(b). 
 (e)  must have passed the National Clinical Examination of the 
American Association of State Social Work Boards or the Clinical 
Social Workers Examination of the State of California, pursuant to 
Subsection R156-60a-302d(1)(b). 
 (4)  In selecting a marriage and family therapist grant recipient for 
a grant award, the committee shall also evaluate the marriage and 
family therapist applicant based on the following selection criteria: 
 (a)  must have attended a school accredited by or in a candidacy 
status by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family 
Therapy Education, awarding a degree in marriage and family therapy. 
 (b)  must be completing or have completed 4,000 hours of 
marriage and family therapy training and 1,000 hours supervised 
mental health therapy training completed over a duration of not less 
than one year, prior to submitting an application to participate in the 
grant program. 
 (c)  must have passed the Utah Marriage and Family Therapy Law 
and Ethics Examination and the Examination of Marital and Family 
Therapy written for the Association of Marital and Family Therapy 
Regulatory Boards, pursuant to Subsection R156-60b-302d(1). 
 (5)  In selecting a professional counselor grant recipient for a grant 
award, the committee shall also evaluate the professional counselor 
applicant based on the following selection criteria: 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 25072 

 
50 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 1, 2002, Vol. 2002, No. 15 

 (a)  must have attended a school accredited by a regional 
institutional accrediting body identified in the "Accredited Institutions 
of Postsecondary Education", for the Commission of Recognition of 
Postsecondary Accreditation of the American Council on Education, 
awarding a degree that meets the requirements of Subsection 58-60-
405(4). 
 (b)  must be completing or have completed 4,000 hours of 
supervised professional counselor training and 1,000 hours of 
supervised training in mental health therapy completed over a duration 
of not less than one year, prior to submitting an application to 
participate in the grant program. 
 (c)  must have passed the Utah Professional Counselor Law, 
Rules, and Ethics Examination, pursuant to Subsection R156-60c-
302d(1)(a). 
 (d)  must have passed the National Counseling Examination of the 
National Board of Certified Counselors, pursuant to Subsection R156-
60c-302d(1)(b). 
 (e)  must have passed the National Clinical Mental Health 
Counseling Examination of the National Board of Certified Counselors, 
pursuant to Subsection R156-60c-302d(1)(c). 
 
R434-20-8.  Physician Grant Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a Physician grant recipient for a grant award, the 
committee shall evaluate the applicant based on the selection criteria 
listed in Section R434-20-5. 
 (2)  In selecting a Physician grant recipient for a grant award, the 
committee shall also evaluate the Physician applicant based on the 
following selection criteria: 
 (a)  must have attended an accredited school of allopathic or 
osteopathic medicine, accredited by the Liaison Committee on 
American Medical Education or by the American Osteopathic 
Association Bureau of Professional Education, which awards a degree 
of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of Osteopathy. 
 (b)  must be enrolled in or have completed a minimum three year 
postgraduate training program in the United States or Canada 
accredited by the Accreditation Committee on Graduate Medical 
Education or the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of 
Professional Education or accredited by the Royal College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, prior to submitting an application 
to participate in the grant program. 
 (c)  must have passed the examination requirements for licensure 
as a physician or surgeon or osteopathic physician or surgeon in Utah, 
pursuant to Section R156-67-302d or Section R156-68-302b. 
 
R434-20-9.  Physician Assistant Grant Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a Physician Assistant grant recipient for a grant 
award, the committee shall evaluate the applicant based on the selection 
criteria listed in Section R434-20-5. 
 (2)  In selecting a Physician Assistant grant recipient for a grant 
award, the committee shall also evaluate the Physician Assistant 
applicant based on the following selection criteria: 
 (a)  must be enrolled in or completing a physician assistant 
program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied 
Health Education Programs. 
 (b)  must have passed the National Commission on the 
Certification of Physician Assistants/National Board of Medical 
Examiners Physician Assistant National Certification Exam, pursuant 
to Section R156-70a-302(1). 
 (c)  must have passed the Utah Physicians Assistant Law and 
Rules Examination, pursuant to Section R156-70a-302(2). 

 (d)  must have a permanent, unrestricted license to practice 
medicine as a physician assistant in Utah. 
 (e)  must submit a copy of the delegation of services agreement 
signed by the supervising physician and substitute supervising 
physician for approval by the committee. 
 (3)  The department may not provide a grant to a physician 
assistant until the physician assistant passes the National Commission 
on the Certification of Physician Assistants/National Board of Medical 
Examiners Physician Assistant National Certification Exam. 
 
R434-20-10.  Eligible Bona Fide Loans. 
 (1)  A bona fide loan may include the following: 
 (a)  a commercial loan made by a bank, credit union, savings and 
loan association, insurance company, school, or credit institution; 
 (b)  a governmental loan made by a federal, state, county, or city 
agency; 
 (c)  a loan made by another person which is documented by a 
contract notarized at the time of the making of the loan; indicative of an 
arm's length transaction, and with competitive term and rate as other 
loans available to primary health care provider students. 
 (d)  a loan that the applicant conclusively demonstrates is a bona 
fide loan. 
 
R434-20-11.  Extension of Grant Contract. 
 (1)  A grant recipient who has signed a grant contract for less than 
four years may apply on or after his first day of practice under a grant 
to extend his grant contract by one or two years, up to a maximum of 
four years total. 
 (2)  The grant contract may be extended only at an approved site. 
 (3)  A grant recipient who desires to extend his grant contract must 
inform the committee in writing of his interest in extending his grant 
contract at least six months prior to the termination of his unextended 
grant contract. 
 
R434-20-12.  Schedule of Breach of Grant Contract Repayment. 
 (1)  A grant recipient who fails to complete the service obligation 
shall begin to repay the penalty to the department within 30 days of the 
breach.  The department may submit for immediate collection all 
amounts due from a breaching grant recipient who does not begin to 
repay within 30 days. 
 (2)  The amount to be paid back shall be determined from the end 
of the month in which the grant recipient breached the contract as if the 
grant recipient had breached at the end of the month. 
 (3)  The breaching grant recipient shall pay the total amount due 
within one year of breaching the contract.  The scheduled payback may 
not be less than four equal quarterly payments. 
 
R434-20-13.  Scholarship Administration. 
 (1)  The department may provide scholarship funds to a 
scholarship recipient for a maximum of four years of postgraduate 
schooling or until completion of postgraduate schooling, whichever is 
shorter. 
 (2)  For each academic year the committee may award $12,000 to 
a scholarship recipient. 
 (3)  The committee may pay tuition and fees directly to the school 
and determine the amount and frequency of direct payments to the 
student. 
 (4)  The scholarship recipient may not enter into a scholarship 
contract other than with the program established in Section 26-9e-1 
until the service obligation agreed upon in the state scholarship contract 
is satisfied. 
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 (5)  A scholarship recipient must work full-time, as defined by the 
scholarship recipient's employer and as specified in his contract with 
the department. 
 (6)  A scholarship recipient must serve one year of service 
obligation for each year he received a scholarship under this program. 
 (7)  The committee may cancel a scholarship at any time if it finds 
that the scholarship recipient has voluntarily or involuntarily terminated 
his schooling, postgraduate training, or if it appears to be a reasonable 
certainty that the scholarship recipient does not intend to practice as 
required by statute, rules, and contract in a medically underserved 
urban area in the state. 
 (8)  Upon completion of schooling and required postgraduate 
training, the scholarship recipient is responsible to find employment at 
an eligible site in a medically underserved urban area of Utah. 
 (9)  A scholarship recipient must obtain approval from the 
committee prior to beginning service obligation at an eligible site. 
 (10)  A scholarship recipient must obtain approval from the 
committee prior to changing the approved site where he fulfills his 
service obligation. 
 (11)  A dental, medical, mental health therapist, and osteopathic 
scholarship recipient must: 
 (a)  begin required postgraduate training within six months after 
he obtains his degree.  Postgraduate training must be continuous unless 
the scholarship recipient obtains prior approval from the director of the 
scholarship recipient's training program and from the committee. 
 (b)  obtain an unrestricted license to practice in the state and begin 
practicing for the agreed upon period of time at an approved site within 
six months of completion of postgraduate training. 
 (12)  Medical and Osteopathic scholarship recipients shall: 
 (a)  select for postgraduate training a residency in one of the 
following areas:  family practice, general internal medicine, general 
pediatrics, or obstetrics/gynecology.  If the scholarship recipient desires 
to choose a postgraduate training program in a medical specialty other 
than family practice, general internal medicine, general pediatrics, or 
obstetrics/gynecology, he must demonstrate the need for the medical 
specialty in a medically underserved urban area and obtain approval 
from the committee. 
 (b)  attend a minimum three-year postgraduate training program. 
 (13)  Physician assistant scholarship recipients: 
 (a)  must obtain a temporary physician assistant license and begin 
practicing medicine at an eligible site for the agreed upon period of 
time within six months of completion of physician assistant education. 
 (b)  must submit a copy of the delegation of services agreement 
signed by the supervising physician and substitute supervising 
physician for approval by the committee. 
 (c)  shall take the National Commission on the Certification of 
Physician Assistants/National Board of Medical Examiners Physician 
Assistant National Certification Exam the first time it is offered after 
completion of physician assistant schooling.  After the physician 
assistant scholarship recipient passes this exam he shall obtain a 
permanent, unrestricted license as a physician assistant as soon as 
possible. 
 (d)  if the physician assistant scholarship recipient fails the 
National Commission on the Certification of Physician 
Assistants/National Board of Medical Examiners Physician Assistant 
National Certification Exam, he must retake the exam within one year 
of failure of the National Certification Exam.  If the physician assistant 
scholarship recipient fails the exam a second time, or fails to retake the 
exam, he shall be in default of the scholarship contract.  The period 
when the temporary license is lost due to failing the exam and the 
physician assistant scholarship recipient is unable to practice at an 

approved site, does not count against retiring the service obligation 
under the contract. 
 
R434-20-14.  Scholarship Applicant Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  In selecting a recipient for a scholarship, the committee shall 
evaluate the applicant based on the following selection criteria: 
 (a)  the applicant's commitment to serve in a medically 
underserved urban area, which may be demonstrated in any of the 
following ways: 
 (i)  has worked or volunteered to serve special populations or 
other service commitment to the underserved; 
 (ii)  has work or educational experience with special populations 
through the Peace Corps, VISTA, or a similar volunteer agency; 
 (iii)  has cultural or language skills that may be essential for 
provision of primary health care services to special populations; 
 (iv)  has declared a commitment to practice in a medically 
underserved urban area as expressed in the essay which is required as 
part of the scholarship application; 
 (v)  other facts or experience that the applicant can demonstrate to 
the committee that establishes his commitment to special populations. 
 (b)  the applicant's need for assistance in financing his education; 
 (c)  the applicant's academic ability as demonstrated by official 
transcripts and official school admission test scores; 
 (d)  the applicant's evidence that he has been accepted by or 
currently attends an accredited school approved by the committee; 
 (e)  the applicant's personal and professional references 
demonstrating the applicant's good character and potential to 
successfully complete school. 
 (2)  In selecting a scholarship recipient, the committee may give 
preference to: 
 (a)  applicants who agree to serve in a medically underserved 
urban area of the state for a greater length of time in return for 
scholarship assistance; 
 (b)  physician applicants who agree to complete their postgraduate 
training in one of the following specialties: family practice, general 
internal medicine, general pediatrics, obstetrics/gynecology, or 
psychiatry. 
 (3)  To be eligible to receive a scholarship, an applicant must be a 
United States citizen or permanent resident. 
 (4)  Before the committee awards a scholarship, applicants must 
participate in an interview with the committee or its designee. 
 (5)  To remain eligible to receive scholarship funds, an scholarship 
recipient must satisfactorily complete each year of school and be a full-
time matriculated student. 
 
R434-20-15.  Scholarship Recipient Obligations. 
 (1)  A scholarship recipient must maintain minimum continuous 
registration to maintain full-time student status until he completes all 
requirements for his degree.  The maximum years leading to a degree 
may not exceed six years, unless extended pursuant to R434-20-11. 
 (2)  Within six months before and not exceeding one month 
following completion of postgraduate training, a scholarship recipient 
shall provide to the department documented evidence from an eligible 
site of its intent to hire him. 
 (3)  Upon completion of schooling or postgraduate training, the 
scholarship recipient is responsible for finding employment at an 
eligible site in a medically underserved urban area of Utah. 
 (4)  A scholarship recipient must obtain an unrestricted license to 
practice in Utah prior to beginning practice at the approved site. 
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 (5)  A scholarship recipient must obtain approval from the 
committee prior to beginning to fulfill his service obligation at an 
eligible site. 
 (6)  A scholarship recipient must begin employment at the 
approved site within six months of completion of postgraduate training. 
 (7)  A scholarship recipient, upon completion of postgraduate 
training, must demonstrate willingness to serve special populations by: 
 (a)  accepting Medicare, Medicaid, Utah Medical Assistance 
Program, and Children's Health Insurance Program patients; 
 (b)  providing care regardless of patient's ability to pay; 
 (c)  showing ability and willingness to provide care. 
 (8)  The minimum length of service obligation is two years, or 
such longer period to which the applicant and the committee agree. 
 (9)  The scholarship recipient must obtain committee approval 
prior to changing the approved site where he fulfills his service 
obligation. 
 
R434-20-16.  Dentist Scholarship Recipient Obligations. 
 (1)  A Dentist scholarship recipient must abide by the scholarship 
recipient obligations listed in Section R434-20-15 and complete the 
following service obligations: 
 (a)  must attend a dental school accredited by the American Dental 
Association. 
 (b)  must pass the Utah Dentist and Dental Hygienist Law 
Examination, pursuant to Subsection R156-69-302b(1). 
 (c)  must pass the Western Regional Examining Board; Central 
Regional Dental Testing Service, Inc.; Northeast Regional Board of 
Dental Examiners, Inc.; or Southern Regional Testing Agency, Inc., 
examinations pursuant to Subsection R156-69-302b(2). 
 
R434-20-17.  Mental Health Therapist Scholarship Recipient 
Obligations. 
 (1)  A clinical psychologist scholarship recipient must abide by the 
scholarship recipient obligations listed in Section R434-20-15 and 
complete the following service obligations: 
 (a)  must attend a school accredited by a regional institutional 
accrediting body identified in the "Accredited Institutions of 
Postsecondary Education" and recognized by the Association of State 
and Provincial Psychology Boards as listed in the "Doctoral 
Psychology Programs Meeting Designation Criteria", pursuant to 
Subsection R156-61-302a(1), awarding a degree that meets the 
requirements of Subsection 58-61-304(1)(d). 
 (b)  must complete a minimum two year supervised clinical 
internship. 
 (c)  must pass the Examination for the Professional Practice of 
Psychology developed by the American Association of State 
Psychology Board, pursuant to Subsection R156-61-302c(1)(a). 
 (d)  must pass the Utah Psychology Law Examination, pursuant to 
Subsection R156-61-302c(1)(b). 
 (2)  A clinical social worker scholarship recipient must abide by 
the scholarship recipient obligations listed in Section R434-20-15 and 
complete the following service obligations: 
 (a)  must attend a school accredited by the United States Council 
on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association of Schools of 
Social Work, awarding a degree in social work. 
 (b)  must complete a minimum 4,000 hours of supervised clinical 
social work and mental health therapy training which includes 1,000 
hours of face to face therapy completed over a duration of not less than 
two years. 
 (c)  must pass the Utah Social Work Law, Rules, and Ethics 
Examination, pursuant to Subsection R156-60a-302d(1)(a). 

 (d)  must pass the National Basic Examination of the American 
Association of State Social Work Boards, pursuant to Subsection R156-
60a-302d(2)(b). 
 (e)  must pass the National Clinical Examination of the American 
Association of State Social Work Boards or the Clinical Social 
Workers Examination of the State of California, pursuant to Subsection 
R156-60a-302d(1)(b). 
 (3)  A marriage and family therapist scholarship recipient must 
abide by the scholarship recipient obligations listed in Section R434-
20-15 and complete the following service obligations: 
 (a)  must attend a school accredited by or in a candidacy status by 
the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Education, awarding a degree in marriage and family therapy. 
 (b)  must complete 4,000 hours of marriage and family therapy 
training and 1,000 hours supervised mental health therapy training 
completed over a duration of not less than one year. 
 (c)  must pass the Utah Marriage and Family Therapy Law and 
Ethics Examination and the Examination of Marital and Family 
Therapy written for the Association of Marital and Family Therapy 
Regulatory Boards, pursuant to Subsection R156-60b-302d(1). 
 (4)  A professional counselor scholarship recipient must abide by 
the scholarship recipient obligations listed in Section R434-20-15 and 
complete the following service obligations: 
 (a)  must attend a school accredited by a regional institutional 
accrediting body identified in the "Accredited Institutions of 
Postsecondary Education", for the Commission of Recognition of 
Postsecondary Accreditation of the American Council on Education, 
awarding a degree that meets the requirements of Subsection 58-60-
405(4). 
 (b)  must complete 4,000 hours of supervised professional 
counselor training and 1,000 hours of supervised training in mental 
health therapy completed over a duration of not less than one year. 
 (c)  must pass the Utah Professional Counselor Law, Rules, and 
Ethics Examination, pursuant to Subsection R156-60c-302d(1)(a). 
 (d)  must pass the National Counseling Examination of the 
National Board of Certified Counselors, pursuant to Subsection R156-
60c-302d(1)(b). 
 (e)  must pass the National Clinical Mental Health Counseling 
Examination of the National Board of Certified Counselors, pursuant to 
Subsection R156-60c-302d(1)(c). 
 
R434-20-18.  Physician Scholarship Recipient Obligations. 
 (1)  A Physician scholarship recipient must abide by the 
scholarship recipient obligations listed in Section R434-20-15 and 
complete the following service obligations: 
 (a)  must attend a school of allopathic or osteopathic medicine, 
accredited by the Liaison Committee on American Medical Education 
or by the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of Professional 
Education, which awards a degree of Doctor of Medicine or Doctor of 
Osteopathy. 
 (b)  must enroll in and complete a minimum three year 
postgraduate training program in the United States or Canada 
accredited by the Accreditation Committee on Graduate Medical 
Education or the American Osteopathic Association Bureau of 
Professional Education or accredited by the Royal College of 
Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. 
 (c)  must pass the examination requirements for licensure as a 
physician or surgeon or osteopathic physician or surgeon in Utah, 
pursuant to Section R156-67-302d or Section R156-68-302b. 
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R434-20-19.  Physician Assistant Scholarship Recipient 
Obligations. 
 (1)  A Physician Assistant scholarship recipient must abide by the 
scholarship recipient obligations listed in Section R434-20-15 and 
complete the following service obligations: 
 (a)  must enroll in and complete a physician assistant program 
accredited by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health 
Education Programs. 
 (b)  shall take the National Commission on the Certification of 
Physician Assistants/National Board of Medical Examiners Physician 
Assistant National Certification Exam pursuant to Section R156-70a-
302(1), the first time it is offered after completion of physician assistant 
schooling.  After the scholarship recipient passes this exam he shall 
obtain a permanent unrestricted license to practice as soon as possible. 
 (c)  if the scholarship recipient fails the National Commission on 
the Certification of Physician Assistants/National Board of Medical 
Examiners Physician Assistant National Certification Exam, he must 
retake the exam within one year of failure of the national certification 
exam.  If the scholarship recipient fails the exam a second time, or fails 
to retake the exam, he shall be in default of the scholarship contract.  
The period when the temporary license is lost due to failing the exam 
and the scholarship recipient is unable to practice at an approved site 
does not count against retiring the obligated service under the contract. 
 (d)  shall take the Utah Physicians Assistant Law and Rules 
Examination, pursuant to Section R156-70a-302(2). 
 (e)  must obtain a temporary license to practice medicine as a 
physician assistant prior to beginning service obligation at the approved 
site. 
 (f)  must submit a copy of the delegation of services agreement 
signed by the supervising physician and substitute supervising 
physician for approval by the committee. 
 
R434-20-20.  Extension of Contract with Scholarship Recipient. 
 (1)  The committee may extend the period within which the 
scholarship recipient must complete his dental, medical, mental health 
therapist, osteopathic, or physician assistant education: 
 (a)  if the scholarship recipient has a serious illness; 
 (b)  if the scholarship recipient is activated by the military; 
 (c)  for other good cause shown, as determined by the committee. 
 (2)  The service obligation may be extended only at an eligible 
site. 
 
R434-20-21.  Schedule of Breach of Scholarship Contract 
Repayment. 
 (1)  A scholarship recipient who breaches his scholarship contract 
shall be evaluated based on the criteria listed in Subsections 26-9e-9(4) 
and 26-9e-9(5), as well as the following criteria: 
 (a)  A scholarship recipient who fails to complete the required 
minimum postgraduate training within the time period agreed upon 
with the committee shall within 90 days after the deadline for 
completing his postgraduate training or within 90 days of his failure to 
continue his postgraduate training, whichever occurs earlier, repay: 
 (i)  all scholarship money received according to a schedule 
established by the committee; 
 (ii)  if not repaid within one year of default, 12% per annum 
interest on unrepaid scholarship amounts. 
 (b)  The amount to be paid back shall be determined from the end 
of the month in which the scholarship recipient breached the contract as 
if the scholarship recipient had breached at the end of the month. 

 (c)  The breaching scholarship recipient shall pay the total amount 
due within four years of breaching the contract.  The scheduled pay 
back may not be less than four equal payments. 
 
R434-20-22.  Release of Recipient from Service Obligation. 
 (1)  The committee may release a recipient from his service 
obligation without penalty: 
 (a)  if the service obligation has been fulfilled; 
 (b)  if he dies; 
 (c)  for other good cause shown, as determined by the committee. 
 (2)  Extreme hardship sufficient to release the recipient without 
penalty includes: 
 (a)  inability to complete dental, medical, mental health therapist, 
osteopathic, or physician assistant school or fulfill service obligation 
due to permanent disability that prevents the recipient from completing 
school or performing any work for remuneration or profit; 
 (b)  a family member, for which the recipient is the principal care 
giver, has a life-threatening chronic illness. 
 
R434-20-23.  Eligible Site Determination. 
 (1)  Criteria the committee shall use to determine an eligible site 
include: 
 (a)  Within a medically underserved urban area: 
 (i)  the percentage of the population with incomes under 200% of 
the federal poverty level; 
 (ii)  the percentage of the population 65 years of age and over; 
 (iii)  the percentage of the population under 18 years of age; 
 (iv)  the percentage of population that is homeless, 
 (v)  the percentage of population that is migrant or seasonal farm 
workers, 
 (vi)  the percentage of population that has HIV/AIDS. 
 (vii)  the distance to the nearest primary health care provider and 
barriers to reaching the primary health care provider. 
 (c)  The committee may give preference to sites which provide 
letters of support from: 
 (i)  a majority of practicing primary health care providers in the 
service area, 
 (ii)  county and civic leaders, 
 (iii)  hospital administrators, 
 (iv)  business leaders, local chamber of commerce, citizens, and 
 (v)  local health departments. 
 (2)  An eligible site approved to have a grant or scholarship 
recipient must offer a salary and benefit package competitive with 
salaries and benefits of other providers in the service area. 
 (3)  A medically underserved urban area must apply to and gain 
approval from the committee in order to be determined eligible for a 
scholarship or grant recipient to complete their service obligation. 
 
R434-20-24.  Annual Assessment and Strategy. 
 (1)  The committee shall annually complete an assessment and 
strategy on techniques to promote and facilitate the recruitment and 
retention of primary health care providers to serve special populations 
in medically underserved areas of the state. 
 (2)  The committee shall develop alternative service obligation 
criteria that a grant or scholarship recipient may use to fulfill his service 
obligation if the grant or scholarship recipient is unable to fulfill his 
service obligation at an approved site due to reasons beyond his control. 
 
R434-20-25.  Reporting. 
 The committee may require the recipient to provide information 
regarding the academic performance, commitment to medically 
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underserved urban areas, continuing financial need, service obligation 
fulfillment, and other information reasonably necessary for the 
administration of the program during the period the recipient is in 
dental, medical, mental health therapist, osteopathic, or physician 
assistant school; postgraduate training; and in practice. 
 
KEY:  grants, scholarships 
March 24, 2000 
26-9e] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 

Primary Care and Rural Health 

R434-50 
Nurse Education Financial Assistance 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25073 

FILED:  07/05/2002, 15:29 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Statutory 
authority for the rule was repealed by the 2002 Legislature.  A 
new advisory committee for health care provider loans was 
created.  New rules will be proposed consistent with S.B. 113. 
 (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 113 is found at UT L 2002 Ch 307, and 
was effective March 26, 2002.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule is repealed in its 
entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 26, Chapter 9d 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Department, pursuant to S.B. 113, 
is still required to administer a loan repayment program for 
health care providers.  This rule change in isolation would 
reduce work demands for the Department.  However, 
replacement rules consistent with S.B. 113 will replace this 
rule.  It is hoped that the new rules can be simpler and 
therefore some savings may result to state government. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments benefit from the 
loan repayment program since many of these providers work 
for local health departments and other local agencies.  This 
rule repeal will not reduce that benefit to local government.  If 
the replacement rules as they support a single committee can 
be simpler, some savings may result to local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Private persons benefit from the loan 
repayment program in that health care in rural and other 
underserved areas is increased by this program.  If the 
replacement rules as they support a single committee can be 
simpler, some savings may result to health care providers, 
clinics, and hospitals. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The rule is being 
repealed, therefore there are no compliance costs. 

COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The new advisory committee 
created by S.B. 113 should have a positive impact on 
businesses as the structure for awarding these loans is 
simplified.  Rod L. Betit 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, 
PRIMARY CARE AND RURAL HEALTH 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Lyle Odendahl at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
6878, by FAX at 801-538-6306, or by Internet E-mail at 
lyleodendahl@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod Betit, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R434.  Health, Health Systems Improvement, Primary Care and 
Rural Health. 
[R434-50.  Nurse Education Financial Assistance. 
R434-50-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 This rule implements the nurse education financial assistance 
program. It covers scholarships for nurses willing to work in needed 
nursing specialty areas and loan repayment grants for nurses willing to 
work in nursing shortage areas of the state, as provided in Title 26, 
Chapter 9d. 
 
R434-50-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Definitions for this rule are found in Section 26-9d-1. 
 (2)  "Eligible employment site" means a public or private health 
care institution or agency or a nursing education institution approved by 
the committee at which a recipient may perform the service obligation. 
 (3)  "Grant" means a loan repayment under Section 26-9d-5. 
 (4)  "Scholarship" means a scholarship under Section 26-9d-6. 
 (5)  "Committee" means the Nurse Financial Assistance 
Committee created by Section 26-1-7. 
 
R434-50-3.  Designation of Nursing Shortage and Needed Nursing 
Specialty Areas. 
 The committee shall designate nursing shortage areas and needed 
nursing specialty areas based on eligibility and selection criteria. 
 
R434-50-4.  Scholarship Administration. 
 (1)  A scholarship may be provided only for those courses 
required by the educational institution for completion of nursing 
education. 
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 (2)  Before receiving a scholarship, the applicant must enter into a 
contract with the Department that binds him to the terms of the 
program. 
 (3)  As requested by the committee, a scholarship recipient shall 
provide information reasonably necessary for administration of the 
program. 
 (4)  The committee shall determine the total amount of each 
scholarship. 
 (5)  For each academic year, the committee may award a 
scholarship recipient the lesser of $15,000 or the total sum of 
educational expenses as determined by the committee. 
 (6)  The committee may approve payment to a scholarship 
recipient for increased federal, state and local taxes due to receipt of the 
portion of the scholarship that is not tax-exempt. 
 (7)  The reasonable living expenses portion of the scholarship may 
not exceed 50% of the scholarship for each academic year. 
 (8)  The committee shall determine the amount of educational 
expenses other than tuition and fees, that are paid to the student. 
 (9)  The committee shall evaluate whether the scholarship 
recipient's proposed employment site for the service obligation is an 
eligible employment site. 
 (10)  If there is no available eligible employment site upon a 
scholarship recipient's graduation, the recipient shall repay the 
scholarship amount as negotiated in the scholarship contract. 
 
R434-50-5.  Scholarship Contract-Contents. 
 (1)  Before receiving a scholarship, each applicant selected shall 
enter into a scholarship contract with the state agreeing to the terms and 
conditions upon which the scholarship is given. 
 (2)  The scholarship contract shall include the terms and 
conditions to carry out the purposes and intent of Title 26, Chapter 9d 
and these rules. 
 (3)  The scholarship contract shall contain: 
 (a)  a statement of the damages to which the state is entitled for the 
recipient's breach of the scholarship contract; and 
 (b)  such other statements of the rights and liabilities of the 
Department, the committee, and the scholarship applicant, not 
inconsistent with Title 26, Chapter 9d. 
 
R434-50-6.  Scholarship Application. 
 (1)  The committee may consider for scholarship candidacy only 
those applicants who have matriculated into a graduate program at a 
school of nursing. 
 (2)  A scholarship applicant shall provide evidence of eligibility, 
demographic data, residential history, documented educational history, 
employment history, personal and employment references, a Utah 
nursing license in good standing, and an essay describing plans for 
working in a needed nursing specialty area, as required and in the 
format requested by the committee. 
 (3)  A scholarship applicant shall disclose to the committee any 
other funds applied for, or received in connection with his nursing 
education. 
 (4)  The Department shall promptly provide written notice to a 
scholarship applicant on the committee's approving the applicant's 
participation in the scholarship program, or the committee's 
disapproving the applicant's participation in the scholarship program. 
 (a)  Within 30 days following provision of the written notice, the 
applicant shall notify the Department of his intent to accept or reject the 
scholarship award. If the Department has not received the applicant's 
notification within 30 days, the Department may cancel the award. 
 

R434-50-7.  Scholarship Recipient Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  To be eligible for a scholarship, an applicant must: 
 (a)  submit a completed scholarship application to the Department; 
 (b)  be matriculated in a school of nursing; 
 (c)  have been selected by the committee to receive a scholarship; 
 (d)  declare an intent to work in a needed nursing specialty area of 
the state after completion of graduate training; and 
 (e)  be a nurse who has a license in good standing to practice in 
the state under Title 58, Chapter 31, Nurse Practice Act. 
 (2)  In selecting an applicant to receive a scholarship, the 
committee shall evaluate the applicant based on the following criteria: 
 (a)  residential history; 
 (b)  documented educational history; 
 (c)  employment history; 
 (d)  educational, personal and employer references; 
 (e)  an essay describing plans for working in a needed nursing 
specialty area; 
 (f)  commitment to serve in a needed nursing specialty area; 
 (g)  applicant's proposed time for completion of education; 
 (h)  length of the applicant's proposed service obligation, with 
greater consideration being given to applicants who agree to serve for 
longer periods of time; 
 (i)  the applicant's area of graduate education, with preference 
given to applicants who choose to specialize in critical areas of need as 
determined by the committee; 
 (j)  projected nursing education expenses. 
 (3)  The committee may request that the applicant supplement the 
information requested under R434-50-7(2) to make an informed 
decision on an application. 
 (4)  To remain eligible to receive a scholarship, an applicant must 
maintain a passing grade and be a matriculated student. 
 
R434-50-8.  Scholarship Recipient Obligations. 
 (1)  Within three months before, and not exceeding one month 
following completion of nursing education and prior to beginning 
fulfillment of service obligation, a scholarship recipient shall provide 
the Department documented evidence from the eligible employment 
site of its intent to hire the scholarship recipient. 
 (2)  A scholarship recipient must maintain minimum continuous 
registration to maintain graduate student status until he completes all 
requirements for his degree. The maximum years leading to a degree 
may not exceed five years, and must be specified in the recipient's 
contract, as negotiated with the committee. 
 (3)  A scholarship recipient must begin employment at the eligible 
employment site determined by the committee within five months of 
completing the nursing education covered by the scholarship. 
 (4)  A scholarship recipient shall perform full-time work as 
defined by the recipient's employer, and as specified in the recipient's 
contract with the Department. 
 (5)  The minimum length of service obligation is two years, or 
such longer period to which the applicant and the committee may 
agree. 
 (6)  A scholarship recipient shall obtain approval from the 
committee prior to any change in the eligible employment site where 
the service obligation is fulfilled. 
 
R434-50-9.  Release of Scholarship Recipient From Obligation. 
 (1)  The committee may release, in full or in part, a recipient from 
any obligation under the scholarship contract without penalty: 
 (a)  if the service obligation has been fulfilled; 
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 (b)  if the recipient is unable to complete nursing education or 
fulfill the service obligation due to permanent disability that prevents 
the recipient from performing any work for remuneration or profit; 
 (c)  if the recipient dies; 
 (d)  because of extreme hardship; or 
 (e)  for other good cause shown, as determined by the committee. 
 
R434-50-10.  Extension of Contract with Scholarship Recipient. 
 The committee may extend the time within which the recipient 
must complete his nursing education as agreed upon in the contract for 
good cause shown. 
 
R434-50-11.  Schedule of Repayment-Scholarship. 
 (1)  A scholarship recipient who breaches his contract with the 
Department shall begin to repay within 30 days of the breach. The 
Department may submit for immediate collection all amounts due from 
a breaching scholarship recipient who does not begin to repay within 30 
days. 
 (2)  The breaching scholarship recipient shall pay the total amount 
due within one year of breaching the contract. The scheduled payback 
may not be less than four equal quarterly payments. 
 (3)  The amount to be paid back shall be calculated from the end 
of the month in which the scholarship recipient breached the contract as 
if the recipient had breached at the end of the month. 
 (4)  The calculation of the amount to be paid back by a scholarship 
recipient who breaches his contract with the Department prior to 
finishing school is twice the amount of all funds received from the 
Department. 
 (5)  The calculation of the amount to be paid back by a scholarship 
recipient who finishes school but fails to complete the service 
obligation is as follows: 
 (a)  determine the percentage of retired service obligation by 
dividing the number of months of retired service obligation by the total 
number of months of the service obligation, 
 (b)  subtract the amount in (a) from 1.00, 
 (c)  multiply the amount obtained in (b) by 2, 
 (d)  multiply the amount obtained in (c) by the total amount of the 
recipient's scholarship. 
 (6) The breaching scholarship recipient shall pay simple interest at 
the rate of 12% per annum on all funds received under the scholarship 
contract, from the date he received each installment under the contract. 
 (7)  Any unretired amount following the scheduled payback 
period is subject to collection. 
 
R434-50-12.  Reporting Requirements for Scholarship Recipients. 
 (1)  Each recipient shall assure that the nursing school completes 
and returns a student status form provided by the Department. 
 (2)  After beginning service and for the duration of the service 
obligation, the scholarship recipient shall assure that the eligible 
employment site submits a quarterly statement of verification of 
employment indicating the recipient's continued employment to the 
Department within ten business days following the end of each quarter. 
 
R434-50-13.  Grant Administration. 
 (1)  A grant may be provided to repay loans taken only for those 
courses that were required by the educational institution for completion 
of nursing education. 
 (2)  Before receiving a grant, the applicant must enter into a 
contract with the Department that binds him to the terms of the 
program. 

 (3)  As requested by the committee, a grant recipient shall provide 
information reasonably necessary for administration of the program. 
 (4)  The committee shall determine the total amount of each loan 
repayment grant. 
 (5)  For each year of a grant recipient's full-time service at an 
eligible employment site, the committee may award the recipient the 
lesser of $15,000 or the outstanding loan principal for educational 
expenses, as determined by the committee. 
 (6)  The committee may approve payment to a grant recipient for 
increased federal, state, and local taxes caused by receipt of the grant. 
 (7)  The Department shall make grant payments to a recipient at 
the end of the first six months of service. The Department shall make 
subsequent payments at least every six months thereafter for the 
duration of the contract, except that the committee may approve a 
different schedule of subsequent payments as requested by the 
recipient. 
 (8)  The Department shall not pay for a nursing education loan of 
a grant applicant who is in default at the time of an application. 
 (9)  The committee shall evaluate whether the grant recipient's 
proposed employment site for the service obligation is an eligible 
employment site. 
 
R434-50-14.  Full-Time Equivalency Provisions for Grant 
Recipients. 
 (1)  The annual grant amount is based on the level of full-time 
equivalency that the grant recipient agrees to work. 
 (2)  A grant recipient who provides services for at least 40 hours 
per week may be awarded a grant based on the percentages as 
determined by the committee. 
 (3)  A grant recipient who provides services for less than 40 hours 
per week may be awarded a proportionately lower grant based on a 
full-time equivalency of 40 hours per week. 
 
R434-50-15.  Eligible Bona Fide Loans. 
 (1)  A bona fide loan may include the following: 
 (a)  a commerical loan made by a bank, credit union, savings and 
loan association, insurance company, school, or credit institution; 
 (b)  a governmental loan made by a federal, state, county, or city 
agency; 
 (c)  a loan made by another person which is documented by a 
contract notarized at the time of the making of the loan, indicative of an 
arm's length transaction, and with competitive term and rate as other 
loans available to students. 
 (d)  a loan that the applicant conclusively demonstrates is a bona 
fide loan. 
 
R434-50-16.  Grant Contract-Contents. 
 (1)  Before receiving a grant, each applicant selected shall enter 
into a grant contract with the state agreeing to the terms and conditions 
upon which the grant is given. 
 (2)  The grant contract shall include the terms and conditions to 
carry out the purposes and intent of Title 26, Chapter 9d and these 
rules. 
 (3)  The grant contract shall contain: 
 (a)  a statement of the damages to which the state is entitled for the 
applicant's breach of the grant contract; and 
 (b)  such other statements of the rights and liabilities of the 
Department, the committee and the grant applicant, not inconsistent 
with Title 26, Chapter 9d. 
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R434-50-17.  Grant Application. 
 (1)  A grant applicant shall provide evidence of eligibility, 
demographic data, residential history, documented educational history, 
employment history, personal and employment references, a Utah 
nursing license in good standing, other service obligations, loan 
certification, and an essay describing plans for working in a nursing 
shortage area, as required and in the format requested by the 
committee. 
 (2)  A grant applicant shall disclose to the committee any other 
funds applied for or received in connection with his nursing education. 
 (3) A grant applicant shall provide the Department documentation 
from the eligible employment site that: 
 (a)  the applicant is currently employed at the eligible employment 
site; or 
 (b)  the eligible employment site intends to hire the applicant. 
 (4)  The Department shall promptly provide written notice to a 
grant applicant on the committee's approving the applicant's 
participation in the grant program, or the committee's disapproving the 
applicant's participation in the grant program. 
 (a)  Within 30 days following provision of the written notice, the 
applicant shall notify the Department of his intent to accept or reject the 
grant award. If the Department has not received the applicant's 
notification within 30 days, the Department may cancel the award. 
 
R434-50-18.  Grant Recipient Eligibility and Selection. 
 (1)  To be eligible for a grant, an applicant must: 
 (a)  submit a completed grant application to the Department; 
 (b)  provide proof of graduation from a school of nursing; 
 (c)  be a nurse who has a license in good standing to practice in 
the state under Title 58, Chapter 31, Nurse Practice Act; 
 (d)  have been selected by the committee to receive a grant; 
 (e)  be available to begin service at an eligible employment site 
within one month of entering into a contract with the Department; and 
 (f)  provide documented evidence from the eligible employment 
site of the intent to hire the grant recipient. 
 (2)  In selecting an applicant to receive a grant, the committee 
shall evaluate the applicant based on the following selection criteria: 
 (a)  residential history; 
 (b)  documented educational history; 
 (c)  employment history; 
 (d)  employer, educational and personal references; 
 (e)  an essay describing plans for working in a nursing shortage 
area; 
 (f)  commitment to serve in a nursing shortage area; 
 (g)  amount of the nursing education loan; 
 (h)  length of the applicant's proposed service obligation, with 
greater consideration being given to applicants who agree to serve for 
longer periods of time; 
 (i)  the applicant's level of nursing education, with preference 
given to applicants who can meet shortage area nursing needs, as 
determined by the committee. 
 (3)  The committee may request that the grant applicant 
supplement the information requested under R434-50-16(2) to make an 
informed decision on an application. 
 
R434-50-19.  Grant Recipient Obligations. 
 (1)  A grant recipient shall begin service at a specified eligible 
employment site determined by the committee within one month of 
entering into a contract with the Department. 
 (2)  A grant recipient shall perform full-time work, defined at the 
beginning of the service obligation as full-time by the recipient's 

employer, and as specified in the recipient's contract with the 
Department. 
 (3)  No period of clinical training required for nursing education 
may be counted toward satisfying a period of service obligation. 
 (4)  The minimum length of the service obligation is two years, or 
such longer period to which the applicant and the committee may 
agree. 
 (5)  A grant recipient shall assure that the eligible employment site 
provides the Department a statement of the recipient's continued 
employment. 
 (6)  A grant recipient shall obtain approval from the committee 
prior to any change in the eligible employment site where the service 
obligation is fulfilled. 
 
R434-50-20.  Release of Grant Recipient from Service Obligation. 
 (1)  The committee may release, in full or in part a recipient from 
any obligation under the grant contract without penalty: 
 (a)  if the service obligation has been fulfilled; 
 (b)  if the recipient is unable to fulfill the service obligation due to 
permanent disability that prevents the recipient from performing any 
work for remuneration or profit; 
 (c)  if the recipient dies; 
 (d)  because of extreme hardship; or 
 (e)  for other good cause shown, as determined by the committee. 
 
R434-50-21.  Schedule of Repayment-Grant. 
 (1)  A grant recipient who breaches his contract with the 
Department shall begin to repay within 30 days of the breach. The 
Department may submit for immediate collection all amounts due from 
a breaching grant recipient who does not begin to repay within 30 days. 
 (2)  The breaching grant recipient shall pay the total amount due 
within one year of breaching the contract. The scheduled payback may 
not be less than four equal quarterly payments. 
 (3)  The amount to be paid back shall be determined from the end 
of the month in which the grant recipient breached the contract as if the 
recipient had breached at the end of the month. 
 (4)  The calculation of the amount to be paid back by a grant 
recipient who fails to complete the service obligation is as follows: 
 (a)  determine the percentage of retired service obligation by 
dividing the number of months of retired service obligation by the total 
number of months of the service obligation, 
 (b)  subtract the amount in (a) from 1.00, 
 (c)  multiply the amount obtained in (b) by 2, 
 (d)  multiply the amount obtained in (c) by the total amount of the 
recipient's grant. 
 (5)  The breaching grant recipient shall pay simple interest at the 
rate of 12% per annum on all funds received under the grant contract, 
from the date he received each installment under the contract. 
 (6)  Any unretired amount following the scheduled payback 
period is subject to collection. 
 
R434-50-22.  Eligible Employment Site Determination. 
 (1)  Criteria the committee shall use to determine an eligible 
employment site include: 
 (a)  Within a nursing shortage area of the State: 
 (i)  the percentage of the population with incomes under 200% of 
the federal poverty level; 
 (ii)  the percentage of the population 65 years of age and over; 
 (iii)  the percentage of the population under 18 years of age; 
 (iv)  the distance to the nearest health care provider and barriers to 
reaching the health care provider. 
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 (b)  The committee may give preference to proposed employment 
sites which provide letters of support from: 
 (i)  practicing health care providers in the service area, 
 (ii)  county and civic leaders, 
 (iii)  hospital administrators, 
 (iv)  business leaders, local chamber of commerce, citizens, and 
 (v)  local health departments. 
 (c)  Other proposed employment site eligibility and selection 
criteria as determined by the committee. 
 (2)  An eligible employment site approved to have a grant or 
scholarship recipient must offer a salary and benefit package 
competitive with salaries and benefits of other nurses in the service 
area. 
 (3)  A nursing shortage area proposed employment site must apply 
to and gain approval from the committee in order to be determined 
eligible for a grant recipient to complete their service obligation. 
 
R434-50-23.  Reporting Requirements for Grant Recipients. 
 After beginning service and for the duration of the service 
obligation, the grant recipient shall assure that the eligible employment 
site submits a quarterly statement of verification of employment 
indicating the grant recipient's continued employment to the 
Department within ten business days following the end of each quarter. 
 
KEY:  grants, scholarships, nurses 
October 1, 2001 
Notice of Continuation February 10, 1998 
26-9d] 
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DAR FILE NO.:  25088 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 12:00 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
proposed changes have been made to:  1) define the scope of 
the administrative reviews mentioned in Subsection R527-
200-6(17);  2) provide a clear understanding of the terms 
"location information", "other location information", and "files"; 
and 3) specify that a presiding officer shall issue a 
paternity/child support order if a respondent who participates 
in any way fails to appear for genetic testing or respond to a 
notice of the genetic testing results.  These changes are being 
made in accordance with Senate Bill 24 and Senate Bill 25 
(2002 General Session of the State Legislature) which 
amended Sections 62A-11-304.4 and 62A-11-304.2 
respectively.  (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 24 is found at UT L 2002 Ch 
59, and was effective May 6, 2002; S.B. 25 is found at UT L 
2002 Ch 60, and was effective May 6, 2002.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Three new definitions 
("location information", "other location information", and "files") 
have been added to Section R527-200-2.  Subsection R527-

200-6(17) has been revised to include the terms "other 
location information" and "files" and to make minor word 
changes.  In Subsection R527-200-12(3), the respondent's 
failure to "appear for genetic testing" and failure to "respond to 
the notice of test results" replace failure to "respond to 
subsequent notices for genetic testing or test results", and "an 
order of paternity and child support" replaces "a judgment and 
order based on the failure to respond to the subsequent 
notices". 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 30-3-32 through 30-3-38, 62A-11-203, 62A-
11-304.1, 62A-11-304.2, 62A-11-304.4, 62A-11-307.2, and 
Title 63, Chapter 46b 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The proposed change to limit requests 
for location information or other location information to open 
cases (see definition of "files" in Subsection R527-200-2(g)) 
will result in budgetary savings because the activities of 
finding/accessing and researching closed or archived files will 
be eliminated.  This will save agent time, presiding officer 
time,  and agency  resources when a review is conducted and 
there are closed as well as open cases involved, and will 
eliminate the need to conduct an administrative review when 
the only cases involved are closed.  The amount of savings 
depends on the number of requests that will be, or would have 
been made involving location information in closed cases, the 
number of closed or archived cases that this would involve, 
the number of administrative reviews that will be avoided 
altogether, and the time and resources that will not have to be 
expended in administrative reviews that are conducted.  
Because of the variability of these factors and  insufficient 
data concerning review requests involving closed cases, it is 
not possible at this time to accurately estimate the savings this 
change will have on the State budget.  Savings are also 
expected as the result of the proposed change to issue an 
administrative order if the respondent fails to appear for 
genetic testing.  Previously, the practice was not to issue an 
administrative order if the respondent failed to appear for his 
appointment, but to refer the case to the Attorney General's 
office for judicial action to establish paternity and an order of 
support.  The additional costs of attorney time, serving 
additional notice and other legal pleadings, court costs, etc. 
will be saved on every case that falls into this category due to 
the rule change.  The amount of savings will depend on the 
number of cases in which an obligor who is served with a 
notice of agency action to establish paternity and child 
support, and participates in any way, fails to appear for 
genetic testing.  The cost of each judicial case (that will be 
avoided) varies depending on its unique elements and 
whether the proceedings are concluded quickly or are 
protracted. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Administrative rules of the 
Office of Recovery Services do not apply to local 
governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  With the implementation of the proposed 
change to limit requests for location information or other 
location information to open cases, parents who might 
otherwise expect the Office of Recovery Services to expend 
funds to manually retrieve, research, and release information 
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from closed and archived files, will be limited to information 
available from currently open cases.  The proposed change to 
issue an administrative paternity/support order when 
respondents who participate in the administrative proceedings 
fail to appear for genetic testing, will begin their support 
obligations.  Those obligations will no longer be delayed 
pending the completion of judicial proceedings.  This will result 
in costs to the affected respondents (support payments), but 
will also result in a savings to the custodial parents and 
children involved who will benefit from the support payments 
that are made.  Respondents who do not contest the 
administrative order will be saved the additional costs of 
extended legal proceedings which they otherwise would have 
been subject to under current practice (to refer all cases in 
which the respondent fails to appear for genetic testing to the 
Attorney General's Office for judicial action). 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  If a parent wants 
information beyond that which is available in currently open 
cases, the parent will need to pursue other sources to obtain 
it.  In addition, an administrative order requiring payment of 
support will be issued when a respondent who has 
participated in the administrative proceedings fails to appear 
for genetic testing.  That obligation will no longer be delayed 
pending completion of judicial proceedings and will result in 
costs for the respondent because the support obligation will 
start earlier.  There will not, however, be costs for extended 
legal proceedings unless the respondent chooses to contest 
the administrative order. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The proposed rule changes 
concern administrative reviews for the release of location 
information or other location information in a child support 
case to one of the parties or the party's attorney, and the 
conditions under which an administrative order of paternity 
and child support may be issued.  It is not expected that these 
changes will have a direct fiscal impact on any business. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
RECOVERY SERVICES 
515 E 100 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84102-4211, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Wayne Braithwaite at the above address, by phone at 801-
536-8986, by FAX at 801-536-8509, or by Internet E-mail at 
waynebraithwaite@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Emma Chacon, Director 
 
 

R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-200.  Administrative Procedures. 
R527-200-1.  Authority. 
 This rule establishes procedures for informal adjudicative 
proceedings as required by Section 63-46b-5 of the Administrative 
Procedures Act. 
 
R527-200-2.  Definitions. 
 1.  Terms used in this rule are defined in Sections 62A-11-202, 
62A-11-303, and 63-46b-2. 
 2.  In addition, 
 a.  "office" means the Office of Recovery Services; 
 b.  "participate" means 
 (i)  in a proceeding that was initiated by a notice of agency 
action, present relevant information to the presiding officer within 
the time period described by statute or rule for requesting a hearing; 
and 
 (ii)  if a hearing is scheduled, participate means attend the 
hearing; 
 c.  "party" means the Office of Recovery Services and the 
respondent. 
 d.  in a proceeding to determine the noncooperation of a IV-A 
or Non-IV-A Medicaid recipient or applicant, the recipient or 
applicant is the respondent and is therefore a "party". 
 e.  "location information" means the current, verified residential 
address of a custodial or noncustodial parent and, if different and 
known to the office, the current, verified residence of any child 
named in a parent-time order that specifies time periods during 
which the child shall be with the noncustodial parent as provided in 
Sections 30-3-32 through 30-3-38.  If a current, verified residential 
address is not available, "location information" means an 
employment address if known. 
 f.  "other location information" means a verified, non-
residential mailing address such as a Post Office Box or Rural 
Route, at which a party whose location information is being sought 
receives mail. 
 g. "files" on custodial and noncustodial parents means 
records contained in open child support services cases, in which both 
paper and electronic case information may be stored. 
 
R527-200-3.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to: 
 1.  establish the form of proceedings; 
 2. provide procedures for requesting and obtaining a hearing 
when a proceeding is initiated by a notice of agency action; 
 3.  provide procedures and standards for orders resulting from 
the administrative process; 
 4.  provide procedures for informal proceedings; 
 5.  provide procedures for the conduct of hearings, conferences, 
and administrative reviews; 
 6.  provide procedures for requesting reconsideration; 
 7.  provide procedures for a motion to set aside a default order; 
 8.  provide procedures for amending an administrative order; 
 9.  provide procedures for setting aside an administrative order; 
and 
 10.  provide procedures for requesting judicial review. 
 
R527-200-4.  Designation of Presiding Officers. 
 The following persons are designated presiding officers in 
adjudicative proceedings: 
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 1.  agents; 
 2.  senior agents; 
 3.  team managers; 
 4.  program coordinators; 
 5.  program specialists; 
 6.  quality assurance specialists; 
 7.  associate regional directors; 
 8.  regional directors; 
 9.  directors; 
 10.  other persons designated by the director of the Office of 
Recovery Services. 
 
R527-200-5.  Form of Proceeding. 
 All adjudicative proceedings commenced by the office through 
a notice of agency action, or commenced by other persons affected 
by the office's actions through a request for agency action shall be 
informal adjudicative proceedings. 
 
R527-200-6.  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 The following actions are considered to be informal 
adjudicative proceedings: 
 1.  hearings, conferences, or administrative reviews to establish 
or modify child support orders; 
 2.  conferences to determine paternity; 
 3.  conferences or hearings to establish a judgment for genetic 
testing costs; 
 4.  conferences or hearings to establish a judgment for birth 
expenses; 
 5.  conferences or hearings to establish or modify an order 
regarding liability for medical and dental expenses of a dependent 
child; 
 6.  administrative reviews to establish an order when a notice to 
enroll a child in a medical insurance plan is contested; 
 7.  conferences or hearings to establish an order against a 
garnishee enforcing an administrative garnishment; 
 8.  administrative reviews to determine whether the information 
concerning a support debt which will be reported to consumer 
reporting agencies is accurate; 
 9.  conferences or hearings to establish the cause of an 
overpayment obligation, and to modify, or renew the obligation; 
 10.  hearings, conferences, or administrative reviews to amend 
an administrative order; 
 11.  hearings, conferences, or administrative reviews to set 
aside an administrative order; 
 12.  administrative reviews to establish an order which 
determines past-due support following a request for agency action; 
 13.  administrative reviews to establish an order when an office 
determination of noncooperation is contested by IV-A or Non-IV-A 
Medicaid recipients; 
 14.  conferences or hearings to establish a judgment against a 
responsible party for costs and/or fees, and to impose penalties 
associated with legal action taken by the office; 
 15.  administrative reviews to establish an order of non-
disclosure when a determination is made not to disclose a parent's 
identifying information to another state in an interstate case action; 
 16.  conferences or hearings to approve or deny requests for 
waiver or deferral of estate recovery for reimbursement of Medicaid; 
and 
 17.  administrative reviews to determine whether location 
information or other location information available in files on [a 
]custodial or noncustodial [parent]parents [should]may be released 

to the [other]requesting party or to the [other]requesting party's legal 
counsel in accordance with the provisions of Utah Code Title 62A, 
Chapter 11. 
 
R527-200-7.  Service of Notice and Orders. 
 Notices, orders, written decisions, or any other documents for 
which service is required or permitted to be made by Section 63-46b 
may be served using methods provided by Section 63-46b or the 
Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 
R527-200-8.  Procedures for Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 The procedures for informal adjudicative proceedings are as 
follows: 
 1.  In proceedings initiated by a notice of agency action, the 
presiding officer will issue an order of default unless the respondent 
does one of the following in response to service of the notice: 
 a.  pays the entire amount in full; 
 b.  participates as provided in R527-200-12; 
 c.  or, for overpayment programs, requests a hearing as 
provided in R527-200-9. 
 2.  In proceedings initiated by a notice of agency action, the 
presiding officer shall schedule a hearing if available under R527-
200-9 and the office receives the respondent's written request: 
 a.  within 30 days of service of notice of agency action; or 
 b.  before an order is issued by the presiding officer. 
 3.  In administrative garnishment proceedings, the presiding 
officer shall schedule an administrative review if the office receives 
the obligor's written request for agency action within 10 days of the 
financial institution sending notice to the obligor of an 
administrative garnishment, or if the obligor requests the 
administrative review prior to any request by the garnishee for the 
issuance of an order to the garnishee to pay the office; 
 4.  Within a reasonable time after the close of an informal 
adjudicative proceeding, the presiding officer shall issue a signed 
order in writing which states the following: 
 a.  the decision; 
 b.  the reason for the decision; 
 c.  a notice of the right to request reconsideration and the right 
to petition for judicial review; and 
 d.  the time limits for requesting reconsideration or filing a 
petition for judicial review. 
 5.  The presiding officer's order shall be based on the facts 
appearing in the agency's case records and on the facts presented in 
evidence at any hearings, conferences, or administrative reviews. 
 6.  A copy of the presiding officer's order shall be promptly 
mailed to each of the parties. 
 
R527-200-9.  Availability of a Hearing or Administrative Review 
in Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 1.  A hearing before a presiding officer in the Office of 
Administrative Hearings, Department of Human Services is 
permitted in an informal adjudicative proceeding if: 
 a.  the proceeding was initiated by a notice of agency action; 
and 
 b.  the respondent in a properly filed request for hearing or in 
the course of participation raises a genuine issue as to a material fact 
as provided in R527-200-10; and 
 c.  for child support services, participates in a preliminary 
agency conference. 
 2.  An administrative review before a presiding officer in the 
Office of Recovery Services, Department of Human Services is 
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permitted if an informal adjudicative proceeding is initiated by a 
request for agency action. 
 a.  The presiding officer shall conduct a review of all 
documentation provided by the requesting party and in the agency 
files, and issue a Decision and Order stating the decision and the 
reasons for the decision. 
 b.  The requesting party shall not be required to appear, either 
in person or through representation when the administrative review 
is conducted, but may choose to attend. 
 
R527-200-10.  Hearings in Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 1.  In proceedings initiated by a notice of agency action, all 
hearing requests shall be referred to the presiding officer appointed 
to conduct hearings. 
 2.  The presiding officer shall give timely notice of the date and 
time of the hearing to all parties. 
 3.  Before granting a hearing in a case referred, the presiding 
officer appointed to conduct the hearing may decide whether the 
respondent raises a genuine issue as to a material fact.  Upon 
determining there is no genuine issue as to a material fact, the 
presiding officer may deny the request for hearing, and close the 
adjudicative proceeding. 
 4.  The respondent may object to the denial of a hearing as 
grounds for relief in a request for reconsideration. 
 5.  There is no genuine issue as to a material fact if: 
 a.  the evidence gathered by the office and the evidence 
presented for acceptance by the respondent are sufficient to establish 
the obligation of the respondent under applicable law; and 
 b.  no other evidence in the record or presented for acceptance 
by the respondent in the course of respondent's participation 
conflicts with the evidence to be relied upon by the presiding officer 
in issuing an order. 
 6.  Evidence upon which a presiding officer may rely in issuing 
an order when there has been no hearing: 
 a.  documented wage information from employers or 
governmental sources; 
 b.  failure of the respondent to produce upon request of the 
presiding officer canceled checks as evidence of payments made; 
 c.  failure of the respondent to produce a record kept by the 
clerk of court, a financial institution, or the office, showing 
payments made; 
 d.  failure of the respondent to produce a written agreement in a 
Non-IV-A case which was signed by both the absent parent and the 
custodial parent providing for an alternate means of satisfying a 
child support obligation; 
 e.  birth certificates of the children whose support is sought 
from the respondent; 
 f.  certified copies of the latest support orders; 
 g.  other applicable documentation. 
 
R527-200-11.  Telephonic Hearings. 
 Telephonic hearings will be held at the discretion of the Office 
of Administrative Hearings, Department of Human Services. 
 
R527-200-12.  Procedures and Standards for Orders Resulting 
from Service of a Notice of Agency Action. 
 1.  If the respondent agrees with the notice of agency action, he 
may stipulate to the facts and to the amount of the debt and current 
obligation to be paid.  A stipulation, and judgment and order based 
on that stipulation is prepared by the office for the respondent's 

signature.  Orders based on stipulation are not subject to 
reconsideration or judicial review. 
 2.  If the respondent participates by attending a preliminary 
conference or otherwise presents relevant information to the 
presiding officer, but does not reach an agreement with the office or 
is unavailable to sign a stipulation, and does not request a hearing, 
the presiding officer shall issue a judgment and order based on that 
participation. 
 3.  If the respondent participates in any way after receiving a 
notice of agency action to establish paternity and child support, 
[and]but fails to [respond to subsequent notices]appear for genetic 
testing or respond to the notice of test results, the presiding officer 
shall issue [a judgment and]an order [ based on the failure of the 
respondent to respond to the subsequent notices]of paternity and 
child support based on existing information and circumstances. 
 4.  If the respondent requests a hearing and participates by 
attending a preliminary agency conference, and after that conference 
the respondent does not agree with the notice of agency action, and 
participates by attending the hearing, the presiding officer who 
conducts the hearing shall issue an order based upon the hearing. 
 5.  If the respondent fails to participate as follows, the 
appropriate presiding officer may issue an order of default and 
default judgment: 
 a.  the respondent fails to respond to the notice of agency action 
and does not request a hearing; 
 b.  after proper notice the respondent fails to attend a 
preliminary conference scheduled by the presiding officer to 
consider matters which may aid in the disposition of the action; or 
 c.  after proper notice the respondent fails to attend a hearing 
scheduled by the presiding officer pursuant to a written request for a 
hearing. 
 6.  The default judgment is taken for the same amount and for 
the same months specified in the notice of agency action which was 
served on the respondent.  The judgment cannot be taken for more 
than the amount or time periods specified in the notice of agency 
action.  If there is no previous court order and the best available 
information supports the amount, the judgment may be taken for less 
than the amount specified in the notice of agency action.  The 
respondent may seek to have the default order set aside, in 
accordance with Section 63-46b-11. 
 7.  If a respondent's request for a hearing is denied under R527-
200-10, the presiding officer issues a judgment and order based upon 
the information in the case record. 
 8.  Notwithstanding any order which sets payments on 
arrearages, the office reserves the right to periodically report the 
total past-due support amount to consumer reporting agencies, 
intercept state and federal tax refunds, submit cases to the federal 
administrative offset program where permitted by federal regulation, 
levy upon real and personal property, and to reassess payments on 
arrearages. 
 
R527-200-13.  Conduct of Hearings, Conferences, and 
Administrative Reviews in Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 1.  The hearing, conference, or administrative review shall be 
conducted by a duly qualified presiding officer. The presiding 
officer shall not have been involved in preparing the information 
alleged in the notice which is the basis of the adjudicative 
proceeding.  No presiding officer shall conduct a hearing, 
conference, or administrative review in a contested case if it is 
alleged and proved that good cause exists for the removal of the 
presiding officer assigned to the case.  The party or representative 
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requesting the change of presiding officer shall make the request in 
writing, and the request shall be filed and called to the attention of 
the presiding officer not less than 24 hours in advance of the 
hearing. 
 2.  Duties of the presiding officer when conducting a hearing: 
 a.  Based upon the notice of agency action, objections thereto, 
if any, and the evidence adduced at the hearing, the presiding officer 
shall determine the liability and responsibility, if any, of the 
respondent under Section 62A-11-304.2.  Following determination 
of liability, the presiding officer shall refer the obligor to the team 
handling the case for determination of acceptable periodic payment 
or alternative means of satisfaction of any arrearage obligation. 
 b.  The presiding officer conducting the hearing may: 
 (i)  regulate the course of hearing on all issues designated for 
hearing; 
 (ii)  receive and determine procedural requests, rule on offers of 
proof and evidentiary objections, receive relevant evidence, rule on 
the scope and extent of cross-examination, and hear argument and 
make determination of all questions of law necessary to the conduct 
of the hearing; 
 (iii)  request testimony under oath or affirmation administered 
by the presiding officer; 
 (iv)  upon motion, amend the notice of agency action to 
conform to the evidence. 
 3.  Rules of Evidence in hearings: 
 a.  Discovery is prohibited, but the office may issue subpoenas 
or other orders to compel production of necessary evidence. 
 b.  Any person who is a party to the proceedings may call 
witnesses and present such oral, documentary, and other evidence 
and comment on the issues and conduct such cross-examination of 
any witness as may be required for a full and true disclosure of all 
facts relevant to any issue designated for fact hearing and as may 
affect the disposition of any interest which permits the person 
participating to be a party. 
 c.  Any evidence may be presented by affidavit rather than by 
oral testimony subject to the right of any party to call and examine 
or cross-examine the affiant. 
 d.  All relevant evidence shall be admitted. 
 e.  Official notice may be taken of all facts of which judicial 
notice may be taken in the courts of this state. 
 f.  All parties shall have access to information contained in the 
office's files and to all materials and information gathered in the 
investigation, to the extent permitted by law and subject to R527-5. 
 g.  Intervention is prohibited. 
 h.  In child support cases the hearing shall be open to the 
obligee and all parties, as defined in R527-200-2. 
 4.  Rights of the parties in hearings:  A respondent appearing 
before the presiding officer for the purpose of a hearing may be 
represented by a licensed attorney, or, after leave of the presiding 
officer, any other person designated to act as the respondent's 
representative for the purpose of the hearing.  The office's 
supporting evidence for the office's claim shall be presented at a 
hearing before a presiding officer by an agent or representative from 
the office.  The supporting evidence may, at the office's discretion, 
be presented by a representative from the office of the Attorney 
General or by a staff attorney. 
 
R527-200-14.  Agency Review. 
 Agency review shall not be allowed.  Nothing in this rule 
prohibits a party from filing a request for reconsideration or for 
judicial review as provided in Sections 63-46b-13 and 63-46b-14. 

R527-200-15.  Reconsideration. 
 Either the respondent or the office may request reconsideration 
in accordance with Section 63-46b-13 once during an informal 
adjudicative proceeding. 
 
R527-200-16.  Setting Aside Administrative Orders. 
 1.  The office may set aside an administrative order for reasons 
including the following: 
 a.  A rule or policy was not followed when the order was taken. 
 b.  The respondent was not properly served with a notice of 
agency action. 
 c.  The respondent was not given due process. 
 d.  The order has been replaced by a judicial order which covers 
the same time period. 
 2.  The office shall notify the respondent of its intent to set the 
order aside by serving the respondent with a notice of agency action. 
 The notice shall be signed by a presiding officer. 
 3.  If after serving the respondent with a notice of agency 
action, the presiding officer determines that the order shall be set 
aside, the office shall notify the respondent. 
 
R527-200-17.  Amending Administrative Orders. 
 1.  The office may amend an order for reasons including the 
following: 
 a.  A clerical mistake was made in the preparation of the order. 
 b.  The time periods covered in the order overlap the time 
periods in another order for the same participants. 
 2.  The office shall notify the respondent of its intent to amend 
the order by serving the respondent with a notice of agency action.  
The notice shall be signed by a presiding officer. 
 3.  If after serving the respondent with a notice of agency 
action, the presiding officer determines that the order shall be 
amended, the office shall provide a copy of the amended order to the 
respondent. 
 
R527-200-18. Amending an Administrative Paternity Order. 
 1.  If an administrative paternity order has been entered and the 
individual determined to be the father requests that paternity be 
disestablished based on genetic test results from an accredited lab 
which appear to exclude him as the biological father and genetic 
testing has not previously been completed, the presiding officer shall 
initiate an adjudicative proceeding to amend the paternity order 
prospectively. 
 2.  The presiding officer shall notify the mother and the 
previously determined legal father of the intent to amend the order 
by sending notices of intent to amend based on the genetic test 
results. 
 3.  If the mother or previously determined legal father do not 
present other evidence which calls into doubt the credibility of the 
genetic test results and the mother does not contest the 
administrative action, the presiding officer shall issue an order 
which amends the original order, finding the previously determined 
legal father to no longer be the legal father effective the date the 
amended order is issued.  The presiding officer shall send a copy of 
the order to both the mother and the former legal father. 
 4.  If other evidence is presented which calls into doubt the 
credibility of the genetic test results or the mother contests the 
administrative action, the presiding officer shall not amend the 
original paternity order.  The presiding officer shall send notice of 
the decision to the mother and the father, which will inform the 
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father of his right to administrative reconsideration of the decision 
and to appeal the decision to a court of competent jurisdiction. 
 
KEY:  administrative law, child support, overpayment[*], 
welfare fraud 
[May 16], 2002 
Notice of Continuation May 7, 2001 
30-3-32 through 30-3-38 
62A-11-203 
62A-11-304.1 
62A-11-304.2 
62A-11-304.4 
62A-11-307.2 
63-46b 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Human Services, Recovery Services 

R527-201 
Medical Support Services 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25089 

FILED:  07/15/2002, 12:53 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The State 
IV-D Child Support Offices are mandated to use the National 
Medical Support Notice in accordance with 45 CFR 303.32 
National Medical Support.  This reference needs to be added 
to the rule and the reference to 65 FR 82165 and 82166, 
which was added prior to 45 CFR 303.32 being finalized 
should be deleted as it is a duplicate reference.  Office of 
Recovery Services/Child Support Services (ORS/CSS) agents 
can only give credit to an obligated parent when that parent 
requests the credit and the insurance has been verified by the 
office. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Delete the reference to 65 
FR 82165 and 82166, which are hereby incorporated by 
reference from the first paragraph and add the new finalized 
reference to 45 CFR 303.32.  In paragraph eight, language 
was added to indicate that the obligated parent is responsible 
for providing ORS/CSS with the necessary verification of 
insurance coverage.  This is consistent with Section 78-45-
7.15. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 63-46b-1 et seq., 62A-11-326, 62A-11-326.2, 
62A-11-326.3, 78.45.7.15; Subsections 35A-7-105(2) and 
62A-11-406(9); and 45 CFR 303.30, 303.31, and 303.32 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be a small savings to the state 
budget because ORS agents will only calculate an insurance 
credit upon the request of the obligated parent instead of on 
every case. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Administrative rules of ORS do not 
apply to local government. 

❖  OTHER PERSONS:  In the past ORS gave obligated parents an 
insurance credit without that parent requesting the credit. Now 
the parent may not receive insurance credit unless verification 
of the insurance coverage is provided. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because the 
obligated parent has to request insurance credit, there may be 
minimal costs associated with making that request; i.e., long 
distance phone call, transportation costs, etc. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule has never had an 
impact on business and the change to the rule does not create 
or cause an impact to businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
RECOVERY SERVICES 
515 E 100 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84102-4211, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
LeAnn Wilber at the above address, by phone at 801-536-
8950, by FAX at 801-536-8509, or by Internet E-mail at 
lwilber@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Emma Chacon, Director 
 
 
 
R527.  Human Services, Recovery Services. 
R527-201.  Medical Support Services. 
R527-201-1.  Federal Requirements. 
 The Office of Recovery Services/Child Support Services, 
(ORS/CSS), adopts the federal regulations as published in 45 CFR 
303.30 and 303.31 (2000), and [in 65 FR 82165 and 82166 (]45 CFR 
303.32)[, which are hereby incorporated by reference]. 
 
R527-201-2.  Definition. 
 1.  The National Medical Support Notice (NMSN) is the 
federally approved form that ORS/CSS shall use, when appropriate, 
to notify an employer to enroll dependent children in an 
employment-related group health insurance plan in accordance with 
a child support order. 
 
R527-201-3.  Limitation of Services. 
 ORS/CSS shall not: 
 1.  pursue establishment of specific amounts for ongoing 
medical support, 
 2.  initiate an action to obtain a judgment for uninsured medical 
expenses, or 
 3.  collect and disburse premium payments to insurance 
companies. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 25089 

 
64 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, August 1, 2002, Vol. 2002, No. 15 

R527-201-4.  Medical Support Services in Non-IV-A Cases. 
 Medical Support Services shall be provided in conjunction with 
child support services to applicants who are not receiving Medicaid 
unless the applicant notifies ORS/CSS that the children are already 
covered under a health insurance plan and provides ORS/CSS with 
the insurance information. 
 
R527-201-5.  Conditions Under Which Non-IV-A Medicaid 
Recipients May Decline Support Services. 
 ORS/CSS shall provide child and spousal support services; 
however, a Non-IV-A Medicaid recipient may decline child and 
spousal support services if paternity is not an issue and there is an 
order for the non-custodial parent to provide medical support. 
 
R527-201-6.  Securing a Medical Support Provision in the 
Support Order. 
 1.  Notice to potentially obligated parents:  The notice to 
potentially obligated parents shall include a provision that an 
administrative or judicial proceeding will occur to determine 
whether either parent should be ordered to purchase and maintain 
appropriate medical insurance for the children.  This notification 
shall be provided when either of the following conditions is met: 
 a.  the state initiates an action to establish a final support order 
or to adjust an existing child support order; or 
 b.  the state joins a divorce or modification action initiated by 
either the custodial or the non-custodial parent. 
 2.  If a judicial support order does not include a medical support 
provision, ORS/CSS shall commence judicial action to modify the 
order to include a medical support provision. 
 
R527-201-7.  Reasonable Cost of Insurance Premiums. 
 Employment-related or other group coverage that does not 
exceed 5% of the obligated parent's monthly gross income is 
generally considered reasonable in cost.  However, an employer may 
not withhold more than the lesser of the amount allowed under the 
Consumer Credit Protection Act, the amount allowed by the state of 
the employee's principal place of employment, or the amount 
allowed for health insurance premiums by the child support order.  If 
the combined child support and medical support obligations exceed 
the allowable deduction amount, the employer shall withhold 
according to the law, if any, of the state of the employee's principal 
place of employment requiring prioritization between child support 
and medical support.  If the employee's principal place of 
employment is in Utah, the employer shall deduct current child 
support before deducting amounts for health insurance coverage.  If 
the amount necessary to cover the health insurance premiums cannot 
be deducted due to prioritization or limitations on withholding, the 
employer shall notify ORS/CSS. 
 
R527-201-8.  Credit for Premium Payments and Effect of 
Changes to the Premium Amount Subsequent to the Order. 
 1.  If the order or underlying worksheet gives credit of a 
specific amount for the children's portion of the premium and the 
amount of the premium decreases, ORS/CSS may reduce the amount 
of the credit without seeking a modification of the order. 
 2.  If the order or underlying worksheet does not mention a 
specific credit for insurance premiums, ORS/CSS shall give credit 
for the child(ren)'s portion of the insurance premium when the 
obligated parent provides the necessary verification[insurance] 
coverage[ is verified]. 

 3.  When a support order does not include a medical insurance 
provision, and a parent voluntarily enrolls the child(ren) in an 
insurance plan: 
 a.  in Non-IV-A cases, if the parents agree to share equally the 
cost of the insurance, ORS/CSS shall give credit or offset the other 
parent's share of the expense.  If the parents disagree, the order must 
be modified to include an insurance provision before the credit or 
the offset shall be given. 
 b.  in IV-A cases, ORS/CSS shall give credit for 50% of the 
child(ren)'s portion of the insurance premium. 
 4. ORS/CSS shall notify both parents in writing whenever the 
credit is changed. 
 
R527-201-9.  Establishing Costs for Pregnancy and 
Confinement. 
 1.  When establishing a judgment for medical costs for 
pregnancy and confinement in IV-A and Non-IV-A Medicaid 
paternity and separation cases, ORS/CSS shall research the exact 
pregnancy and confinement costs which have accumulated to date. 
 2.  When establishing a judgment for medical costs for 
pregnancy and confinement in Non-IV-A Non-Medicaid Cases, 
ORS/CSS shall consult with the mother to determine the amount of 
the uninsured pregnancy and confinement expenses. 
 3.  When establishing any judgment for medical costs for 
pregnancy and confinement, one half of the uninsured pregnancy 
and confinement costs shall be charged to the non-custodial parent. 
 
R527-201-10.  Enforcement of Obligation to Maintain Medical 
and Dental Insurance. 
 1.  In Non-IV-A cases and in IV-A Medicaid cases, appropriate 
steps shall be taken to ensure compliance with orders which require 
the obligated parent to maintain insurance.  Obligated parents shall 
demonstrate compliance by providing ORS/CSS with policy 
numbers and the insurance provider name for the dependent children 
for whom the medical support is ordered. 
 2.  In Non-IV-A cases and in IV-A Medicaid cases, if an 
obligated parent has been ordered to maintain employer-based 
medical insurance and insurance is available at a reasonable cost 
according to R527-201-7 through an employment-related group 
health plan, ORS/CSS shall use the NMSN to transfer notice of the 
insurance provision to the obligated parent's employer unless 
ORS/CSS is notified pursuant to Section 62A-11-326.1 that the 
children are already enrolled in an insurance plan in accordance with 
the order. 
 3.  When appropriate, ORS/CSS shall send the NMSN to the 
obligated parent's employer within two business days after the name 
of the obligated parent has been entered into the registry of the State 
Directory of New Hires, matched with ORS/CSS records, and 
reported to ORS/CSS in accordance with Subsection 35A-7-105(2). 
 4.  The employer shall transfer the NMSN to the appropriate 
group health plan for which the children are eligible within twenty 
business days of the date of the NMSN if all of the following criteria 
are met: 
 a.  the obligated parent is still employed by the employer; 
 b.  the employer maintains or contributes to plans providing 
dependent or family health coverage; 
 c.  the obligated parent is eligible for the coverage available 
through the employer; and 
 d.  state or federal withholding limitations, prioritization, or 
both, do not prevent withholding the amount required to obtain 
coverage. 
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 5.  If more than one coverage option is available under a group 
insurance plan and the obligated parent is not already enrolled, 
ORS/CSS in consultation with the custodial parent may select the 
least expensive option if the option complies with the child support 
order and benefits the children.  The insurer shall enroll the children 
in the plan's default option or least expensive option in accordance 
with Subsection 62A-11-326.2(1)(b) unless another option is 
specified by ORS/CSS. 
 6.  The employer shall determine if the necessary employee 
contributions for the insurance coverage are available.  If the 
amounts necessary are available, the employer shall begin 
withholding when appropriate and remit directly to the plan. 
 7.  In accordance with Subsections 62A-11-326.1(2) and (3), 
the obligated parent may contest withholding insurance premiums 
based on a mistake of fact.  The employer shall continue 
withholding under the NMSN until notified by ORS/CSS to 
terminate withholding insurance premiums. 
 8.  If a parent successfully contests the action to enroll the 
children in a group health plan based on a mistake of fact, ORS/CSS 
shall notify the employer to discontinue enrollment and withholding 
insurance premiums for the children. 
 9.  In accordance with Subsection 62A-11-406(9), the employer 
shall promptly notify ORS/CSS when the obligated parent's 
employment is terminated. 
 10.  ORS/CSS shall promptly notify the employer when a 
current order for medical support is no longer in effect for which 
ORS/CSS is responsible. 
 
R527-201-11.  Obligated Parent Receiving Medicaid. 
 1.  If an obligated parent is receiving Medicaid or was receiving 
Medicaid at the time the medical debt was incurred, ORS/CSS shall 
not enforce payment of the medical debt regardless of medical 
support provisions in the order. 
 2.  In an unestablished paternity case, if the father's income was 
taken into consideration when determining the household's 
eligibility for Medicaid, ORS/CSS shall not enforce payment of 
medical expenses regardless of the medical support provisions in the 
order, but shall enforce the health insurance provision. 
 
KEY:  child support, health insurance, M[m]edicaid 
[September 17, 2001]2002 
Notice of Continuation January 30, 2002 
63-46b-1 et seq. 
62A-11-326.1 
62A-11-326.2 
62A-11-326.3 
62A-11-406(9) 
78-45-7.15 
35A-7-105(2) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-215 
Permissible Arbitration Provisions for 

Individual and Group Health Insurance 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25093 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 17:04 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The rule is 
being written to adopt the arbitration standards of the federal 
Department of Labor, Pension and Welfare Benefits 
Administration. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule applies to disability 
income policies, individual and group health insurance 
policies, and health maintenance organization contracts.  The 
rule defines the term "permissible arbitration provision" and 
provides guidelines for the disclosure of the arbitration 
provision in the insurance contract. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 31A-2-201; and 29 CFR 2560.503-1 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule should create little impact on 
the state's budget since the federal law required compliance 
with their arbitration laws and regulations by July 1, 2002.  
This rule mirrors those requirements regarding arbitration.  
Companies planned ahead for this change and have refiled 
the necessary forms and filing $20 filing fee with the 
department. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule will not affect local 
government since the rule applies only to licensees of the 
department. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Most of the 250 health insurers doing 
business in Utah have already made the required wording 
changes to the arbitration provisions of their policies.  They 
have done this by filing the required forms and $20 filing fee 
with the department.  The insurer will be required to bear the 
cost of the arbitration procedure.  Costs for these procedures 
may run from $1,500 on up, depending on the circumstances 
of the case.  The increased cost to insurers may be passed on 
to insureds through increased premiums. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Most of the 250 
health insurers doing business in Utah have already made the 
required wording changes to the arbitration provisions of their 
policies.  They have done this by filing the required forms and 
$20 filing fee with the department.  The insurer will be required 
to bear the cost of the arbitration procedure.  Costs for these 
procedures may run from $1,500 on up, depending on the 
circumstances of the case.  The increased cost to insurers 
may be passed on to insureds through increased premiums. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Insurers will be impacted by 
this rule and may pass the costs onto their insurers through 
increased premiums. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
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Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  8/28/2002 at 10:00 AM, Room 5112, State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT 84114. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590. 215.  Permissible Arbitration Provisions for Individual and 
Group Health Insurance. 
R590-215-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the commissioner of Insurance under 
the general authority granted under Section 31A-2-201(3) and in 
compliance with the Department of Labor, Pension and Welfare 
Benefits Administration Rules and Regulations for Administration and 
Enforcement: Claims Procedure, 29 CFR 2560.503-1. 
 
R590-215-2.  Purpose. 
 This rule recognizes arbitration as an acceptable method of 
alternative dispute resolution with regards to health benefit plans.  This 
rule is not intended to create procedural guidelines for the 
administration of arbitration proceedings once commenced.  This rule 
is intended to: 
 (1)  define the term "permissible arbitration provision" as set forth 
in Subsections 31A-21-313(3)(c) and 31A-21-314(2), and ensure 
compliance with the Department of Labor, Pension and Welfare 
Benefits Administration Rules and Regulations for Administration 
and Enforcement: Claims Procedure, 29 CFR 2560.503-1; and 
 (2)  provide guidelines upon which disclosure of a contract 
arbitration provision is to be made. 
 
R590-215-3.  Applicability and Scope. 
 (1)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  disability income policies; 
 (b)  both individual and group health insurance policies; and 
 (c)  health maintenance organization contracts, as defined by 
31A-1-301 covering individual and employer benefit plans issued or 
renewed on or after July 1, 2002; 
 (2)  Long Term Care and Medicare supplement policies are not 
considered health insurance policies for the purpose of this rule. 
 

R590-215-4.  Definitions. 
 For the purpose of this rule, the commissioner adopts the 
definitions as particularly set forth in Sections 31A-1-301, 78-31a-2 
and the following: 
 (1)  "Adverse benefit determination" means any of the following: 
a denial, reduction, or termination of, or a failure to provide or make 
payment, in whole or in part, for, a benefit, including any such denial, 
reduction, termination, or failure to provide or make payment that is 
based on a determination of a participant's or beneficiary's eligibility to 
participate in a plan.  With respect to individual or group health benefit 
plans, a denial, reduction, or termination of, or a failure to provide or 
make payment, in whole or in part, for, a benefit resulting from the 
application of any utilization review, as well as a failure to cover an 
item or service for which benefits are otherwise provided because it is 
determined to be experimental or investigational or not medically 
necessary or appropriate. 
 (2)  "Benefit Plans" means health insurance as defined in 31A-
1-301. 
 (3)  "Compulsory binding arbitration" means a contract provision 
requiring arbitration as an automatic and exclusive remedy for any 
dispute involving a contract of insurance to the exclusion of any 
otherwise available judicial remedy, provided that the claim or 
controversy exceeds the jurisdictional limit of the small claims court of 
the state where the action would be brought. 
 (4)  "Compulsory non-binding arbitration" means a contract 
provision requiring an insured to exhaust a procedure of extra-judicial 
arbitration as a condition precedent to the pursuit of an otherwise 
available judicial remedy. 
 (5)  "Voluntary binding arbitration" means a contract provision 
that, at the exclusive election of the insured, requires an insurer to 
submit to arbitration as set forth in such contract, provided that the 
claim or controversy exceeds the jurisdictional limit of the small claims 
court of the state where the action would be brought. 
 
R590-215-5.  Rule. 
 (1)  Compulsory binding arbitration is not a permissible arbitration 
provision. 
 (2)  Compulsory non-binding arbitration is a permissible 
arbitration provision when utilized as an internal review of an adverse 
benefit determination as permitted under 29 CFR Subsection 
2560.503-1(c)(4), of the Department of Labor, Pension and Welfare 
Benefits Administration Rules and Regulation for the 
Administration and Enforcement: Claims Procedure. 
 (3)  Voluntary binding arbitration, at the exclusive election of an 
insured party, is a permissible arbitration provision, and may only be 
used as a voluntary level of review as permitted under 29 CFR 
Subsection 2560.503-1(c)(3)(iii), of the Department of Labor, 
Pension and Welfare Benefits Administration Rules and Regulation 
for the Administration and Enforcement: Claims Procedure. 
 (4)  Policy forms containing compulsory binding or voluntary 
binding arbitration provisions for the exclusive election of an insurer 
will be disapproved under Subsection 31A-21-201(3)(a)(iv). Such 
provisions in previously approved forms are declared not enforceable.  
They will be construed and applied as if in compliance with the 
Insurance Code, as permitted under Section 31A-21-107. 
 (5)  Each application pertaining to a health benefit plan, which 
contains a permissible arbitration provision, must include or have 
attached a prominent statement substantially as follows: 
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 ANY MATTER IN DISPUTE BETWEEN YOU AND THE 
COMPANY MAY BE SUBJECT TO ARBITRATION AS AN 
ALTERNATIVE TO COURT ACTION PURSUANT TO THE 
RULES OF, THE AMERICAN ARBITRATION ASSOCIATION OR 
OTHER RECOGNIZED ARBITRATOR, A COPY OF WHICH IS 
AVAILABLE ON REQUEST FROM THE COMPANY.  ANY 
DECISION REACHED BY ARBITRATION SHALL BE BINDING 
UPON BOTH YOU AND THE COMPANY.  THE ARBITRATION 
AWARD MAY INCLUDE ATTORNEY'S FEES, IF ALLOWED BY 
STATE LAW, AND MAY BE ENTERED AS A JUDGEMENT IN 
ANY COURT OF PROPER JURISDICTION. 
 Such statement must be disclosed prior to the execution of the 
insurance contract between the insurer and the policyholder and, shall 
be contained in the certificate of insurance or other disclosure of 
benefits. 
 (6)  A health insurance dispute may be resolved through any small 
claims court having jurisdiction or voluntary binding arbitration. 
 (7)  All arbitration provisions contained in insurance policies shall 
be in compliance with the "Utah Arbitration Act," Title 78, Chapter 
31a. 
 (8)  Any such agreement for arbitration shall not obligate an 
insured to pay for the arbitration in accordance with 29 CFR 2560.503-
1(c)(v). 
 (9)  No arbitration provision may require that arbitration be held at 
a place further from the residence of the insured than the nearest 
location of a State Court of General Jurisdiction. 
 
R590-215-6.  Severability. 
 If any provision or clause of this rule or its application to any 
person or situation is held invalid, such invalidity shall not affect any 
other provision or application of this rule which can be given effect 
without the invalid provision or application, and to this end the 
provisions of this rule are declared to be severable. 
 
R590-215-7.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provisions of this rule 
45 days from the rule's effective date. 
 
KEY:  health insurance arbitration 
2002 
31A-2-201 
29 CFR 2560.503-1 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-14 
Commercial Harvesting of Protected 

Aquatic Wildlife 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25091 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 15:10 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being amended to eliminate procedures, standards, and 
requirements for commercially harvesting brine shrimp and 

brine shrimp eggs, which will be regulated under a new rule, 
Rule R657-52.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R657-
52 is found under DAR No. 25090 in this Bulletin.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment eliminates 
the procedures, standards, and requirements for commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, which the 
Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) will regulate under a 
new rule, Rule R657-52.  In addition, provisions of this rule are 
being amended to: delete salamanders, leeches and crayfish 
as species of fish allowed to be used for harvesting or selling 
for use as fish bait; provide specific species of nongame fish 
that may be harvested or sold; include the "bluehead sucker" 
species of fish on the list of prohibited nongame species; and 
provide consistency and clarity throughout the remaining rule 
for the commercial harvesting of protected aquatic wildlife. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-14-3, 23-14-18, 23-14-19, 23-15-7, 23-15-8 
and 23-15-9 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This amendment eliminates the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, which DWR 
will regulate under a new rule, Rule R657-52, and provides 
consistency and clarity throughout the remaining rule for the 
commercial harvesting of all other protected aquatic wildlife. 
Therefore, this amendment does not create a cost or savings 
impact. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This filing does not create any direct 
cost or saving impact to local governments because they are 
not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local governments 
indirectly impacted because the rule does not create a 
situation requiring services from local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  This amendment eliminates the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, which DWR 
will regulate under a new rule, Rule R657-52, and provides 
consistency and clarity throughout the remaining rule for the 
commercial harvesting of all other protected aquatic wildlife. 
Therefore, this amendment does not create a cost or savings 
impact to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs associated with this amendment. This 
amendment eliminates the procedures, standards, and 
requirements for commercially harvesting brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs, which DWR will regulate under a new rule, 
Rule R657-52, and provides consistency and clarity 
throughout the remaining rule for the commercial harvesting of 
all other protected aquatic wildlife. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments to this rule 
do not create an impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
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1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  8/13/2002 at 9:00 AM, Snow College, Richfield 
Utah (Contact Division of Wildlife Resources for exact 
location.). 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
 
 
R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-14.  Commercial Harvesting of Protected Aquatic Wildlife. 
R657-14-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)(a)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-3, 23-14-18, and 23-
14-19, and Sections 23-15-7 through 23-15-9, this rule provides the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for: 
 [(a)](i)  harvesting protected aquatic wildlife for use as fish 
bait; and 
 [(b)  commercially harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp 
eggs; and 
 (c)](ii)  seining protected aquatic wildlife. 
 [(2)  To the extent that this rule applies to the](b)  The 
commercial [harvest]harvesting of brine shrimp and brine shrimp 
eggs[, the objective of this rule is to protect, manage, and conserve 
the brine shrimp resource based upon the best available data and 
information and adequately preserve the Great Salt Lake ecosystem 
while recognizing the economic value of allowing the harvest of 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs and maintaining a sustainable 
brine shrimp population] is regulated under Rule R657-52. 
 
R657-14-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Alternate seiner" means the person in charge of and 
responsible for supervising a crew of helpers harvesting authorized 
species of protected aquatic wildlife in the absence of the primary 
seiner. 
 (b)  "Certified bait dealer" means a person who has obtained a 
certificate of registration authorizing the harvest, possession, or sale 
of protected aquatic wildlife for use as [live or] dead fish bait. 
 (c)  "Harvest" means to seine, or gather in protected aquatic 
wildlife and reduce it to possession. 
 (d)  "Harvest location" means the location where the gathering 
or harvesting of protected aquatic wildlife takes place.[  For 
purposes of harvesting brine shrimp, a harvest location is a 300 yard 
radius from the location of the Certificate of Registration marker as 
required under Subsection R657-14-16(2).] 

 (e)  "Helper" means a person aiding a certificate of registration 
holder in the harvesting, transporting, or selling of protected aquatic 
wildlife, including any employee, agent, family member, or donated 
labor. 
 (f)  "Helper card" means a card authorizing a person to act as a 
helper. 
 (g)  "Nongame fish" means all species of fish, except: 
 (i)  any species or hybrid species of trout, including albino, 
brook, brown, cutthroat, golden, grayling, kokanee salmon, lake or 
mackinaw, rainbow, splake, and tiger; 
 (ii)  Bonneville cisco; 
 (iii)  bluegill; 
 (iv)  bullhead; 
 (v)  catfish; 
 (vi)  crappie; 
 (vii)  green sunfish; 
 (viii)  northern pike; 
 (ix)  largemouth bass; 
 (x)  Sacramento perch; 
 (xi)  smallmouth bass; 
 (xii)  striped bass; 
 (xiii)  tiger muskellunge; 
 (xiv)  walleye; 
 (xv)  white bass; 
 (xvi)  whitefish; 
 (xvii)  wiper; and 
 (xviii)  yellow perch. 
 (h)  "Primary seiner" means the person in charge of and 
responsible for supervising a crew of helpers harvesting protected 
aquatic wildlife. 
 (i)  "Purchase" means to buy, acquire, or obtain from sale, 
exchange, barter, or trade protected aquatic wildlife for pecuniary 
consideration or advantage. 
 (j)  "Seining" means to harvest protected aquatic wildlife with 
the use of a net or other similar device. 
 (k)  "Wildlife registration office" means the division office in 
Salt Lake responsible for processing applications and issuing 
certificates of registration. 
 
R657-14-3.  Certificate of Registration Required. 
 (1)(a)  A person may not harvest, possess, or transport 
protected aquatic wildlife without first obtaining a certificate of 
registration and a helper card for each individual assisting that 
person. 
 (b)  The original copy of the certificate of registration must be 
present at the harvest location while harvesting protected aquatic 
wildlife. 
 (2)  Except as provided in Subsection R657-14-13(4), a person 
must obtain a separate certificate of registration to engage in the 
following activities: 
 (a)  harvesting or selling designated species of fish[, 
salamanders, leeches, and crayfish] for use as fish bait; and 
 (b)  seining and selling protected aquatic wildlife for any 
purpose other than for use as fish bait.[; and 
 (c)  harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs.] 
 (3)  A certificate of registration is not required [: 
 (a)  ]for the retail sale of dead protected aquatic wildlife 
imported into Utah, provided the product is clearly labeled as to its 
out-of-state origin[; 
 (b)  to process brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs; or 
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 (c)  to sell brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs, provided the 
brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs were taken in accordance with the 
provisions of this rule by a person who has obtained a certificate of 
registration or as provided in Subsection R657-3-18(4)]. 
 (4)  Certificates of registration are not transferable, except as 
provided in Section R657-14-21. 
 (5)  Any certificate of registration issued to a business or any 
other commercial organization shall be void upon the termination of 
the business or organization or upon bankruptcy. 
 (6)(a)  The issuance of a certificate of registration automatically 
incorporates within its terms the conditions and requirements of this 
rule specifically governing the activity for which the certificate of 
registration is issued. 
 (b)  Any person accepting a certificate of registration under this 
rule acknowledges the necessity for close regulation and monitoring 
by the division.[ 
 (7)  Any certificate of registration issued or renewed by the 
division under this rule to harvest brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs 
is a privilege and not a right. The certificate of registration 
authorizes the holder to harvest brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs 
subject to all present and future conditions, restrictions, and 
regulations imposed on such activities by the division, the Wildlife 
Board, the state of Utah, or the United States. 
 (8)  A certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs does not guarantee or otherwise legally entitle the 
holder to any of the following: 
 (a)  a minimum harvest quota in any given season or seasons; 
 (b)  a quota or percentage of the harvestable surplus as 
determined by the division; 
 (c)  a particular harvesting or processing method; 
 (d)  a particular harvest season duration, commencement date, 
or termination date; 
 (e)  access to any particular area or site on the Great Salt Lake 
or on other waters in the state, regardless of historical authorization 
or use; 
 (f)  marina access on the Great Salt Lake or elsewhere in the 
state, regardless of historical authorization or use; 
 (g)  an increase, stabilization, or reduction in the number of 
certificates of registration issued by the division to harvest brine 
shrimp and brine shrimp eggs; 
 (h)  an exclusive opportunity to harvest; 
 (i)  a particular quantity or quality of brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs; 
 (j)  a particular water condition or salinity level conducive to 
brine shrimp production, brine shrimp egg production, or harvest 
success; 
 (k)  any particular level of protection for brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs from disease, pesticides, or predators; or 
 (l)  any other right or management philosophy beneficial to 
harvesting or production of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (9)  The procedures and processes outlined in this rule 
regulating the harvest of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs are all 
subject to change as the division and the Wildlife Board gather 
greater information and data on the impact current harvest 
regulations have on the sustainability of brine shrimp populations, 
the Great Salt Lake ecosystem, and the economic viability of the 
industry.] 
 
R657-14-4.  Application for Certificate of Registration. 
 (1)  Applications for certificates of registration are available at 
division offices. 

 (2)[(a)]  Applications for commercial seining or harvesting 
protected aquatic wildlife for use as fish bait may be submitted any 
time during the year. 
 [(b)  Applications for harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp 
eggs may be submitted May 1 through May 31.  Applications may 
be submitted by mail if postmarked no later than midnight on the 
last day of the application period. 
 (3)(a)](3)  If an application for a certificate of registration is 
made in the name of a commercial organization, the applicant must 
specify the person responsible for that entity. 
 [(b)  All commercial organization applicants must provide on or 
with the application, a written statement designating the responsible 
person as its legal agent in all matters before the division relating to 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp egg harvesting. 
 ](4)(a)  Completed applications must be submitted to the 
wildlife registration office. 
 (b)  The division may return any application that is incomplete 
or completed incorrectly. 
 (5)(a)  The application review process may require up to 45 
days. 
 (b)  The division may deny issuing a certificate of registration 
to any applicant for any of the following reasons: 
 (i)  the applicant has previously been issued a certificate of 
registration and has failed to submit any report required by this rule, 
the division, or the Wildlife Board; 
 (ii)  the applicant has been found guilty, pleaded guilty or 
pleaded no contest in an administrative proceeding to violating any 
rule, statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board Order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife; or 
 (iii)  the applicant has been found guilty, pleaded guilty or 
pleaded no contest in a criminal proceeding to violating any rule, 
statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board Order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife. 
 (6)  The division may limit the number of certificates of 
registration issued or deny any application in the interest of wildlife, 
wildlife habitat, serving the public, or public safety. 
 (7)  If an application is approved, the division shall issue the 
applicant a certificate of registration that specifies: 
 (a)  the species and amounts of protected aquatic wildlife that 
may be harvested or sold; 
 (b)  the water and locations where protected aquatic wildlife 
may be harvested; 
 (c)  the gear that may be used; 
 (d)  the hours during which protected aquatic wildlife may be 
harvested; 
 (e)  the means and amounts of protected aquatic wildlife that 
may be transported; and 
 (f)  any restriction imposed on the applicant in addition to the 
provisions of this rule. 
 (8)(a)  Certificates of registration for seining or harvesting 
protected aquatic wildlife for use as fish bait are valid for a calendar 
year.[ 
 (b)  Certificates of registration for harvesting brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs are valid only during the harvest season as 
provided in Subsection R657-14-14(2).] 
 
R657-14-5.  Use of Helpers. 
 (1)(a)  Except as provided in [Subsections (2) and R657-14-
14(6)]Subsection (2), any person aiding the certificate of registration 
holder in seining protected aquatic wildlife [or harvesting brine 
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shrimp and brine shrimp eggs ]shall be in possession of a helper 
card. 
 (b)  A helper card shall be deemed to be in possession if it is on 
the person or on the boat from which the person is working. 
 (2)  A helper card is not required of any person engaged only in 
the retail sale or transportation of protected aquatic wildlife[, except 
as provided in Subsection R657-14-14(7)]. 
 (3)  Helper cards are issued in the name of the certificate of 
registration holder and are transferable among individuals assisting 
the certificate of registration holder. 
 (4)(a)  A helper may assist in the harvest of protected aquatic 
wildlife only while working under the direct supervision of a 
primary or alternate seiner. 
 (b)  For purposes of this rule, "direct supervision" means to be 
physically present, either on a boat with the helper or within close 
proximity so as to be able to provide direct instructions to the helper. 
 (5)  Twelve additional helper cards for each Certificate of 
Registration may be obtained from the wildlife registration office at 
any time during the year. 
 
R657-14-6.  Records - Report of Activities. 
 (1)  Each person who has been issued a certificate of 
registration authorizing the harvest or sale of protected aquatic 
wildlife shall keep accurate records of the number or weight 
harvested and to whom the products were sold. 
 (2)  The records required under Subsection (1) shall be retained 
for at least five years and must be available for inspection upon 
division request. 
 (3)(a)  A person who has been issued a certificate of 
registration for seining or harvesting protected aquatic wildlife for 
use as fish bait shall include the following information, broken down 
by month, in an annual report to the division: 
 (i)  the species of protected aquatic wildlife harvested; 
 (ii)  the water from which the protected aquatic wildlife were 
harvested; and 
 (iii)  the total number or weight of protected aquatic wildlife 
harvested. 
 (b)  A person who has been issued a certificate of registration 
for the retail sale of protected aquatic wildlife shall include the 
following information, broken down by month, in an annual report 
to the division: 
 (i)  the name and address of each person from which protected 
aquatic wildlife was purchased or sold; 
 (ii)  the species of protected aquatic wildlife purchased or sold; 
and 
 (iii)  the weight and number of protected aquatic wildlife 
purchased or sold. 
 (c)[(i)  A person who has been issued a certificate of 
registration for harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs must 
submit a weekly harvest report to the Great Salt Lake Ecosystem 
Project office. The report shall include the total amount of brine 
shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, by raw weight, harvested each day.  
The reports must be prepared by a person working for the reporting 
company. The reports must be received or postmarked by Monday 
of each week. 
 (ii)  A daily harvest report must be filed with the Great Salt 
Lake Ecosystem Project office. The report must be filed not later 
than 12 hours after the end of the previous calendar day. The report 
may be filed utilizing a voicemail system linked to a dedicated 
phone number provided or the report may be filed by fax to a 
dedicated phone number. The report shall include the total amount 

of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, by raw weight, harvested 
each day. The report must be prepared or given by a person working 
for the reporting company. 
 (iii)  When brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs are being 
transported away from the lakeshore to a processing plant, a landing 
receipt form must be prepared and in possession of the transport 
driver before leaving the loading site. The form shall include the 
certificate of registration numbers, certificate of registration holders, 
harvest dates, harvest areas, landing dates, container numbers and 
weights as determined by certified scales for lake harvested brine 
shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, container numbers and weight 
estimates for shore harvested brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs 
and names of individuals who landed and weighed the product. The 
reports must be received or postmarked by Monday of each week. 
 (iv)]  Report forms are provided by the division. 
 
R657-14-7.  Species of Protected Aquatic Wildlife That May Be 
Harvested. 
 (1)(a)  The division may authorize a person to harvest or sell 
[nongame fish, salamanders, leeches, crayfish, brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs, or]the following nongame fish: 
 (i)  Utah Chub (Gila atraria); 
 (ii)  Carp (Cyprinus carpio); 
 (iii)  Mountain sucker (Catostomus platyrhynchus); 
 (iv)  Utah sucker (Catostomus ardens); or 
 (v)  Redside shiner (Richardsonius batteatus). 
 (b)  The division may authorize a person to harvest or sell 
overabundant nuisance game species, as determined by the division. 
 [(b)](c)  The certificate of registration shall identify those 
species of protected aquatic wildlife that may be harvested or sold. 
 (2)  Any species of protected aquatic wildlife caught that is not 
authorized for harvest must be immediately returned alive and 
unharmed to the water from which it was harvested. 
 
R657-14-8.  Prohibited Nongame Species. 
 The following species of protected aquatic wildlife may not be 
harvested, and if caught must be immediately returned alive and 
unharmed to the water from which it was taken: 
 (1)  bonytail [chub ](Gila elegans); 
 (2)  bluehead sucker (Catostomus discobolus); 
 (3)  Colorado [squawfish]pikeminnow (Ptychocheilus lucius); 
 [(3)](4)  flannelmouth sucker (Catostomus latipinnis); 
 [(4)](5)  gizzard shad (Dorosoma cepedianum); 
 [(5)](6)  grass carp (Ctenopharyngodon idella); 
 [(6)](7)  humpback chub (Gila cypha); 
 [(7)](8)  June sucker (Chasmistes liorus); 
 [(8)](9)  least chub (Iotichthys phlegethontis); 
 [(9)](10)  leatherside chub (Gila cypha); 
 [(10)](11)  razorback sucker (Xyrauchen texanus); 
 [(11)](12)  roundtail chub (Gila robusta); 
 [(12)](13)  Virgin River chub (Gila robusta seminuda); 
 [(13)](14)  Virgin spinedace (Lepidomeda mollispinis); and 
 [(14)](15)  woundfin (Plagopterus argentissimus). 
 
R657-14-9.  Harvest Hours. 
 (1)  Protected aquatic wildlife[, except brine shrimp and brine 
shrimp eggs,] may be harvested from 5 a.m. to 10 p.m. year-round, 
unless otherwise specified on the certificate of registration. 
 [(2)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs may be harvested 24 
hours during the calendar day. 
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 (3)](2)  When the harvest season is suspended or closed, all 
harvest activity shall cease at official sunset. 
 
R657-14-10.  Identification of Traps and Nets. 
 (1)  A metal tag or plate stamped with the owner's name and 
certificate of registration number must be securely attached to each 
seine, trap and net. 
 (2)  Any improperly tagged seine, trap, or net may be seized by 
the division. 
 
R657-14-11.  Transportation, Purchase, or Sale of Live 
Protected Aquatic Wildlife. 
 (1)  A person may not have in possession any live species of 
protected aquatic wildlife, except as [provided in Subsection R657-
14-12(1), or as otherwise ]provided in Rules R657-3 or R657-16. 
 (2)  A person may not purchase any live protected aquatic 
wildlife from or sell any live protected aquatic wildlife to any person 
or entity who has not obtained a certificate of registration to possess 
or sell live protected aquatic wildlife, except as provided in 
Subsection R657-14-3(3). 
 
R657-14-12.  Certified Bait Dealers. 
 (1)  The division may authorize a person to [: 
 (a)  harvest salamanders or leeches and retain them alive as fish 
bait; 
 (b)  transport live or dead salamanders or leeches into or out of 
Utah; 
 (c)  establish an outlet for the sale of live or dead salamanders 
or leeches; or 
 (d)  ]harvest or sell designated species of [dead]protected 
aquatic wildlife for use as dead fishing bait, including cut baits. 
 (2)(a)  The division may allow a person to harvest, possess, or 
sell the [following]species of protected aquatic wildlife for use as 
dead fish bait as provided in Section R657-14-7.[:] 
 [(a)  nongame fish, except those prohibited species described in 
Section R657-14-8; 
 (b)  crayfish; 
 (c)  salamanders; 
 (d)  leeches; or 
 (e)  any overabundant game species as determined by the 
division and indicated on the certificate of registration.](b)  The 
division shall not allow a person to harvest, possess, or sell any other 
protected aquatic wildlife for use as dead fish bait except as 
provided in Section R657-14-7. 
 (3)(a)  A person may not purchase dead fish bait from any 
person who has not obtained a certificate of registration from the 
division. 
 (b)  Subsection (a) does not preclude commerce with out-of-
state sellers of dead, prepared fish baits if the dead fish bait is clearly 
labeled as to its origin. 
 (4)(a)  Only a person who has obtained a certificate of 
registration from the division may harvest, sell, or trade protected 
aquatic wildlife for use as fish bait. 
 (b)  Any protected aquatic wildlife sold for use as fish bait must 
be packaged in a suitable container, and have securely attached a 
clearly discernable business label on each package that provides the 
brand or business name, business address, type of product, and 
certificate of registration number. 
 (5)  A person may not purchase or sell any dead fish bait that 
does not have a label attached to the package as provided in 
Subsection (4)(b). 

R657-14-13.  Commercial Seining. 
 (1)  The division may issue a certificate of registration 
authorizing a person to harvest designated species of protected 
aquatic wildlife by seining. 
 (2)(a)  Three helper cards are issued with the certificate of 
registration. 
 (b)  Additional helper cards may be obtained from the division. 
 (3)  A seiner may harvest any species of nongame fish[, except 
those prohibited species as designated in] listed under Section R657-
14-[8]7, and any overabundant game species as determined by the 
division and indicated on the certificate of registration. 
 (4)  A seiner may harvest or sell protected aquatic wildlife for 
use as dead fish bait as provided in Section R657-14-12, if 
authorization is obtained from the division and indicated on the 
certificate of registration. 
 
R657-14-14.[  Harvesting Brine Shrimp and Brine Shrimp Eggs 
-Certificate of Registration - Helper Cards. 
 (1)(a)  The division may issue a certificate of registration 
authorizing a person to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (b)  A separate certificate of registration and the corresponding 
certificate of registration marker are required for each harvest 
location. 
 (c)(i)  The provisions of this rule do not apply: 
 (A)  to the harvest of 200 pounds or less of brine shrimp or 
brine shrimp eggs, during a single calendar year, for culturing 
ornamental fish, provided the brine shrimp eggs are not sold, 
bartered, or traded; or 
 (B)  for the retail sale of brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs. 
 (ii)  A certificate of registration is required for the activities 
described in Subsection (i) as provided in Rule R657-3-18. 
 (2)  Except as provided in Subsections R657-14-19(4) and (5), 
the certificate of registration is valid for harvesting brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs only during the harvest season beginning October 
1 and ending January 31. If October 1 falls on a Sunday, the harvest 
season shall begin on the following Monday. In the interest of the 
wildlife resources of the Great Salt Lake, the harvest season may be 
delayed up to 10 days provided the harvesting companies are 
notified seven days in advance of the delay. After the season has 
opened, harvesting may be suspended two times during the season, 
for up to seven days each time, in the interest of the wildlife 
resources of the Great Salt Lake, provided the harvesting companies 
are notified at least 24 hours in advance of the suspension date. 
 (3)  The Wildlife Board, after considering the best available 
biological data and other information received from the division and 
the public, has determined that: 
 (a)  a limitation on the number of certificates of registration 
issued by the division to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, 
is currently necessary to protect the brine shrimp resource and the 
Great Salt Lake ecosystem; 
 (b)  additional research and scientific data is necessary to 
adequately understand the dynamics of the brine shrimp populations, 
the Great Salt Lake ecosystem, and the impact harvesting has on the 
sustainability of the resource; 
 (c)  given the current number of certificates of registration, the 
need for additional scientific data, and the increasing efficiency in 
the industry's ability to harvest large quantities of brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs in short periods, the issuance of additional 
certificates at this point in time may compromise the division's 
ability to effectively regulate the harvest to avoid jeopardizing 
resource sustainability; and 
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 (d)  given these factors and the harvest restrictions adopted in 
this rule, a total of 79 certificates of registration may be issued. 
 (4)  Certificates of registration that may become available for 
issuance through revocation, expiration, nonrenewal, or surrender 
may either be retired by the division or reallocated to eligible 
persons and entities through random drawings conducted at the 
Division of Wildlife Resources, Salt Lake City office. 
 (5)  All persons or entities applying for a certificate of 
registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs made 
available for issuance through Subsection (4) shall satisfy the 
following requirements: 
 (a)  submit a certificate of registration application to the 
wildlife registration office consistent with the requirements set forth 
in R657-14-4; and 
 (b)  submit a cashiers check to the division in the amount of 
$10,000 for each certificate of registration applied for. 
 (6)(a)  One certificate of registration is required for each 
harvest location. 
 (b)  The original certificate of registration must be in 
possession at the harvest location and available for inspection by the 
division or any peace officer upon demand. 
 (7)(a)  Three individual helper cards are issued with the 
certificate of registration and are transferable. 
 (b)  Additional helper cards may be obtained from the division. 
 (c)  Any crew member harvesting or transporting brine shrimp 
or brine shrimp eggs from the harvest location must have a helper 
card in possession. A primary or alternate seiner does not have to be 
present while transporting brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs from 
the harvest location. 
 (d)  An employee directing harvest operations from a plane 
does not have to have a helper card. 
 (e)  The driver of a truck transporting brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs from the lake to a storage or processing plant does not 
have to have a helper card. Any crew member loading brine shrimp 
and brine shrimp eggs into a truck must have a helper card in 
possession. 
 (8)(a)  A primary seiner and an alternate seiner card are issued 
with the certificate of registration and are transferable within the 
entity holding the certificate of registration. 
 (b)  A primary seiner or an alternate seiner must be present and 
directly supervise the harvest activity. 
 (c)  The primary or alternate seiner must have a primary or 
alternate seiner card in possession at the harvest location. 
 
R657-14-15.  Certificate of Registration Renewal for Brine 
Shrimp and Brine Shrimp Egg Harvesting. 
 (1)  Each certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs issued under this rule may be renewed by the 
division on an annual basis consistent with the provisions in this 
section. 
 (2)  Persons or business entities issued certificates of 
registration by the division in the harvest year immediately 
preceding the harvest year for which renewal is sought will have a 
preference for the same number of certificates of registration, 
provided the applicant satisfies the renewal criteria for each 
certificate of registration. 
 (3)  The annual expiration date of a certificate of registration 
shall be shown on the certificate of registration. A certificate of 
registration that is not renewed prior to the expiration date shown on 
the certificate of registration automatically expires. 

 (a)  A certificate of registration automatically expires prior to 
the expiration date shown on the certificate of registration upon the 
dissolution of a holder that is a partnership, corporation, or other 
business entity. 
 (b)  Upon the death of a certificate of registration holder that is 
a natural person, the estate may attempt to sell the harvest operation 
and petition the division, under Section R657-14-21, to transfer the 
certificate of registration to the respective buyer. 
 (c)(i)  Failure to annually renew a certificate of registration by 
satisfying all the renewal criteria outlined in this rule prior to the 
expiration date shown on the certificate of registration shall 
automatically deprive the prospective holder of a renewal preference 
in succeeding years. 
 (ii)  Preference forfeiture results whether unsuccessful renewal 
is the consequence of automatic expiration, applicant neglect, or 
division denial. 
 (iii)  Failure to renew in years where the harvest of brine 
shrimp or brine shrimp eggs is closed for regulatory or management 
purposes will result in preference forfeiture. 
 (d)  Expiration of a certificate of registration is not an 
adjudicative proceeding under Title 63, Chapter 46b of the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act. 
 (4)  Renewal applications for certificates of registration to 
harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs are available at the 
division's wildlife registration office in Salt Lake City. 
 (a)  Completed renewal applications shall be submitted to the 
wildlife registration office between May 1 and May 31 of each year. 
Applications are considered "submitted" for purposes of this rule 
when hand delivered to the wildlife registration office on or before 
the application deadline, or when mailed to the wildlife registration 
office and postmarked no later than midnight on the last day of the 
application period. 
 (b)  Where a certificate of registration renewal application is 
submitted in the name of a commercial organization, the applicant 
must specify the person responsible for that entity. 
 (c)  The commercial organization applicant must provide, on or 
with the renewal application, a written statement designating the 
responsible person as its legal agent in all matters before the division 
relating to brine shrimp and brine shrimp egg harvesting. 
 (d)  The division may return any application that is incomplete 
or completed incorrectly. 
 (e)  Applications for renewal that are filed within the prescribed 
time period set in this rule but returned as incomplete or completed 
incorrectly may be granted where the errors are corrected and the 
application resubmitted to the wildlife registration office within 30 
days from the date the initial application was rejected. 
 (f)  The application review process may require up to 45 days. 
 (5)  The criteria for certificate of registration renewal are as 
follows: 
 (a)  the applicant was issued a certificate of registration to 
harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs in the immediate harvest 
season preceding the application for renewal; 
 (b)  the applicant has accurately and completely filled out the 
division's renewal application and submitted it to the division within 
the time period prescribed in this rule; 
 (c)  the applicant has submitted with the renewal application a 
cashiers check for $10,000 for each certificate of registration; and 
 (d)  the applicant satisfies all other requirements prerequisite to 
receiving an initial certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp 
or brine shrimp eggs as found in R657-14-4. 
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 (6)  The division may refuse to renew a certificate of 
registration for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  the applicant has failed to submit any report required by the 
division in writing, or any report required by this rule or the Wildlife 
Board; 
 (b)  the applicant has been found guilty, pleaded guilty or 
pleaded no contest in an administrative proceeding to violating any 
rule, statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board Order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife; 
 (c)  the applicant has been found guilty, pleaded guilty or 
pleaded no contest in a criminal proceeding to violating any rule, 
statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board Order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife; or 
 (d)  where the division determines that renewal may 
significantly damage or is not in the interest of wildlife, wildlife 
habitat, serving the public, or public safety. 
 (7)  If an application for renewal is approved, the Division shall 
issue the applicant a new certificate of registration that may specify: 
 (a)  the species and amounts of protected aquatic wildlife that 
may be harvested or sold; 
 (b)  the water and locations where protected aquatic wildlife 
may be harvested; 
 (c)  the equipment that may be used; 
 (d)  the hours during which protected aquatic wildlife may be 
harvested; and 
 (e)  any restriction imposed on the applicant in addition to the 
provisions of this rule. 
 (8)  Any applicant who has been refused renewal of a certificate 
of registration may submit a request for agency action to the 
Wildlife Board, in care of the Division of Wildlife Resources, within 
30 days following notification of the refusal to renew. The format 
and content of the request for agency action and any subsequent 
proceedings initiated thereunder shall comply with Rule R657-2. 
 (9)  Certificates of registration for harvesting brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs are valid only during the harvest season as 
provided in Subsections R657-14-14(2) and R657-14-19(4). 
 
R657-14-16.  Harvesting Brine Shrimp and Brine Shrimp Eggs -
Identification of Equipment. 
 (1)(a)  Any boat used for harvesting operations must be 
identifiable from the air, water and land with either the company 
name, company initials or certificate of registration number. A camp 
or base of operations located on or near the shoreline must be 
marked so it is visible from the air and land with either the company 
name, company initials, or certificate of registration number. Boat 
markings denoting the company name, company initials or 
certificate of registration number, must be visible from a distance of 
500 yards when on the lake. 
 (b)  The letters or numbers shall be visible at all times, written 
clearly and shall meet the following requirements: 
 (i)  letters or numbers on the top of a boat shall be at least 36 
inches in height; 
 (ii)  letters or numbers used on the sides of a boat shall be at 
least 24 inches in height, except that boats with inflatable hulls may 
use letters and numbers that are 12 inches in height; 
 (iii)  letters or numbers used on a camp or base of operations 
sign shall be at least 24 inches in height; and 
 (iv)  all letters and numbers used for identification purposes 
shall be of reflective white tape with a solid black background. 
 (c)  Identification may be done with a magnetic sign placed on 
top of and the sides of the vehicle or boat. 

 (d)  A boom shall be marked with letters and numbers at least 
three inches in height and marked once on each continuous segment 
of boom that may be coupled together. 
 (e)  All containers filled or partially filled with brine shrimp or 
brine shrimp eggs and left unattended on the shore or in a vehicle 
parked on the shore shall be individually marked with either the 
company name, company initials or certificate of registration 
number under which the product was harvested. Each container shall 
be marked as follows: 
 (i)  the company name, company initials or the certificate of 
registration number shall be permanently and legibly marked at a 
visible location on the exterior surface of the container; or 
 (ii)  the company name, company initials or the certificate of 
registration number shall be permanently and legibly marked on a 
durable, waterproof tag securely and visibly attached to the exterior 
surface of the container. 
 (f)  "Shore" for purposes of this section, shall include all lands 
within one mile of the body of water where the product was 
harvested. "Shore" does not include permanent structures affixed to 
the land and operated for purposes of storing or processing brine 
shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, provided the name of the structure's 
current owner or tenant is visibly marked on the exterior of the 
structure. 
 (2)(a)  Only one certificate of registration marker 
corresponding to each certificate of registration will be displayed at 
each harvest location as follows: 
 (i)  on the boat with the certificate of registration on board; 
 (ii)  on the harvest boat or attached to the boom; 
 (iii)  in the water at the harvest location; or 
 (iv)  on the shore while harvesting brine shrimp or brine shrimp 
eggs from shore. 
 (b)  A certificate of registration marker shall consist of a piece 
of equipment, furnished by the harvesters, with the specifications as 
provided in Subsection (b)(i) through Subsection (b)(v). 
 (i)  A six foot long piece of tubing with a weight at one end. 
 (ii)  This piece of tubing shall have a fluorescent orange ball 
that is a minimum of eighteen inches in diameter, mounted in the 
approximate center of this length of tubing. This fluorescent orange 
ball shall be marked in two places with indelible black paint, the 
COR number that is being operated and matches the decal as 
provided for in Subsection R657-14-16 (2)(b)(iii). These painted 
COR numbers shall be a minimum of twelve inches in height. 
 (iii)  Mounted above the orange ball towards the un-weighted 
end of this tubing shall be a decal issued by the division which 
denotes the certificate of registration in use and corresponding to the 
certificate of registration marker device. 
 (iv)  Mounted on this tubing between the orange ball and the 
un-weighted end of this tubing, shall be an aluminum radar reflector 
that is a minimum of fifteen inches square. 
 (v)  Mounted above the radar reflector shall be a three-inch 
wide band of silver reflective tape. 
 (vi)  Mounted on the un-weighted end of this tubing shall be an 
amber light that at night is visible for up to one-half mile and flashes 
30 times per minute, minimum. 
 (c)  The COR marker must be displayed in a manner that is: 
 (i)  visible in all directions at a distance of 500 yards; or 
 (ii)  displayed above the superstructure of any vessel that a 
certificate of registration is being used from; and 
 (iii)  the amber light must be operating at all times between 
sunset and until sunrise. 
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 (d)  A brine shrimp harvester shall not display an amber light at 
night, or an orange ball or other device which simulates the 
certificate of registration marker device, without having the original 
certificate of registration at the harvest location. 
 (e)  Brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs may not be harvested in 
any manner, nor may a harvest location be claimed unless and until 
an original copy of the certificate of registration is at the harvest 
location and the corresponding certificate of registration marker is 
properly deployed as required in R657-14-16(2). 
 (f)  The certificate of registration and corresponding certificate 
of registration marker shall not be transported to the harvest location 
by aircraft. 
 (i)  "Aircraft" for purposes of this section, means any 
contrivance now known or in the future invented, used, or designed 
for navigation of or flight in the air. 
 
R657-14-17.  Harvesting Brine Shrimp and Brine Shrimp Eggs - 
Use of Booms. 
 (1)(a)  A primary seiner, alternate seiner, or helper must remain 
within one mile of any boom attached to the shore, whether open or 
closed, 24 hours a day so that an officer may easily locate the person 
tending the boom. 
 (b)  A boom may be left unattended in the open water during 
the legal harvest season if: 
 (i)  the boom is properly identified as provided in Subsection 
R657-14-16(1)(b)(iii); 
 (ii)  the boom is closed; 
 (iii)  the boom is marked with a certificate of registration 
marker as described in Subsection R657-14-16(2)(b); and 
 (iv)  the boom is lighted as described in Subsection R657-14-
16(2)(c)(iii). 
 (2)  On a causeway or dike where camping is not allowed, a 
primary seiner, alternate seiner, or helper must be stationed at the 
closest possible camping site, not more than 10 miles away, and that 
location must be clearly identified on a tag securely attached to the 
shore end of the boom. 
 (3)(a)  A person may not harvest any brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs within 300 yards of any certificate of registration 
marker displayed at a harvest location as provided in Subsection 
R657-14-16(2)(a) without permission from the company that first 
began harvesting in that location. 
 (b)  The certificate of registration marker must be deployed as 
provided in Subsection R657-14-16(2) and accompanied by an 
individual at the harvest location to receive the 300 yard 
encroachment protection. 
 (4)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs may be removed from 
another person's boom only with written permission from the person 
who owns the boom. 
 (5)  A person may not deploy more than one continuous length 
of boom for each certificate of registration. 
 
R657-14-18.  Harvesting Brine Shrimp and Brine Shrimp Eggs -
Unlawful Method - Use of Equipment. 
 (1)  A person may not intentionally drive a boat through, or 
create a wake through, a streak of brine shrimp eggs that another 
person is harvesting. 
 (2)(a)  A person may test the equipment to be used in 
harvesting brine shrimp from March 1 through September 30. 
 (b)  At least 48 hours before testing the equipment, the person 
must notify the division's Northern Regional Office. 

 (c)  Any brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs collected while 
testing the equipment must be immediately returned within 1/4 mile 
of the location in which they were collected. 
 (3)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs may not be taken to a 
storage facility, test site located greater than 1/4 mile from the 
location in which they were collected, or to the shore, except as 
provided in Section R657-14-19(4). 
 
R657-14-19.  Harvesting Brine Shrimp and Brine Shrimp Eggs -
Areas of Harvest and Season Dates. 
 (1)  The division may authorize the harvest of brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs from: 
 (a)  the Great Salt Lake and surrounding areas, including ponds 
operated in a normal manner for mineral extraction; and 
 (b)  the Sevier River. 
 (2)  The area east of the north-south line from the tip of 
Promontory Point south along the east shore of Fremont and 
Antelope Islands and along the dike extending from the south end of 
Antelope Island to the south shore of the Great Salt Lake is closed to 
the commercial harvesting of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (3)  Except as provided in Subsections (4) and (5), brine shrimp 
and brine shrimp eggs may be harvested only during the harvest 
season as described in Subsection R657-14-14(2). 
 (4)(a)  Any person who has a valid certificate of registration 
may cumulatively collect up to 25 pounds of brine shrimp eggs 
between March 1 and September 30 for the purpose of conducting 
research. 
 (b)  For the purpose of conducting research, a person may not 
collect more than one pound of brine shrimp eggs during a single 
day regardless of the number of certificates of registration issued to 
that person. 
 (c)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs collected for research 
under the authority of this section may not be sold, traded, or 
bartered. 
 (5)(a)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs may be harvested 
from mineral extraction ponds located along the shores of the Great 
Salt Lake any time during the year. 
 (b)  A pond may not be built solely for the purpose of raising of 
harvesting brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs. 
 (c)  Brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs may not be introduced 
into the Great Salt Lake or any pond. Brine shrimp and brine shrimp 
eggs must enter into the pond during normal mineral extraction 
processes. 
 (6)  All brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs which have been 
harvested and placed in containers shall be transported from the lake 
or lakeshore not later than 21 days after the close of the harvest 
season. No brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs may be removed from 
the surface of the beach and placed in a container after the season 
has closed. 
 
R657-14-20.]  Violations. 
 (1)  The penalty for any violation of this rule is a class C 
misdemeanor as provided in Section 23-13-11(2). 
 (2)  Any violation of, or failure to comply with the provisions 
of this rule, any requirement contained in a certificate of registration 
issued pursuant to this rule, or any Wildlife Board Order[, or any 
statute related to the harvesting, possession or transfer of brine 
shrimp or brine shrimp eggs] may be grounds for revocation, 
suspension or denial of future certificates of registration as 
determined by a division hearing officer. 
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[R657-14-21.  Certificate of Registration Transfers. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 23-19-1(2), a person may not lend, 
transfer, sell, give or assign a certificate of registration to harvest 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs belonging to the person or the 
rights granted thereby, except as authorized hereafter. 
 (2)  "Business entity" for purposes of this section means any 
person, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, or other commercial 
organization that has been issued a certificate of registration by the 
division to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (3)(a)  The division may authorize, consistent with the 
requirements of this section, the transfer of a valid certificate of 
registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs from the 
lawful holder to an other person or entity in the following instances: 
 (i)  where any transaction or occurrence will cause the name of 
the business entity recorded as the certificate of registration holder 
to change from that specifically identified on the certificate of 
registration; 
 (ii)  where any transaction or occurrence will cause the business 
entity recorded as the certificate of registration holder to 
permanently reorganize, dissolve, lapse, or otherwise cease to exist 
as a legal business entity under the laws of the State of Utah or the 
jurisdiction where the business entity was organized; or 
 (iii)  where any transaction or occurrence effectively transfers a 
certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp 
eggs in violation of Section 23-19-1(2). 
 (b)  written approval from the division for any certificate of 
registration transfer permitted under this rule shall be obtained prior 
to any transfer of the certificate of registration or the rights granted 
thereunder. 
 (c)  Transferring or selling an ownership interest in a business 
entity holding a certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs does not require division approval provided the 
transfer of ownership does not cause the business entity to 
temporarily or permanently change its name, reorganize, dissolve, 
lapse, or otherwise cease to exist as a legally recognized business 
entity under the laws of the State of Utah. 
 (4)  Obtaining division approval to transfer a certificate of 
registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs shall be 
initiated by application to the division, as provided in Subsections 
(a) through (e). 
 (a)  Complete the application prescribed by the division and 
submit it to the division's wildlife registration office. 
 (b)  Applications may be submitted any time during the year. 
 (c)  Annual applications and fees for certificates of registration 
renewal shall be submitted between May 1 and May 31, regardless 
whether a transfer application is contemplated or pending. 
 (d)  If an application to transfer a certificate of registration 
identifies a business entity as the transferee, the transferee must 
designate a person responsible for that entity. 
 (i)  The transferee shall provide on or with the application a 
written statement designating the responsible person as its legal 
agent in all matters before the division relating to brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp egg harvesting. 
 (e)  The division may return any application that is incomplete 
or completed incorrectly. 
 (5)  The division shall respond to the application to transfer a 
certificate of registration within 20 days of receipt in one of the 
following forms: 
 (a)  a letter approving the application; 
 (b)  a letter denying the application and identifying the reasons 
for denial; 

 (c)  a letter identifying deficiencies in the application and 
requesting additional information from the applicant; or 
 (d)  a letter notifying the applicant that the division requires 
additional time to process and consider the application with an 
explanation of the extenuating circumstances necessitating the 
extension. 
 (6)  The division shall deny an application to transfer a 
certificate of registration where any of the following exists: 
 (a)  the proposed transferee fails to satisfy all the requirements 
necessary to obtain an original certificate of registration; or 
 (b)  the applicant transferor fails to demonstrate that the 
certificate of registration will be transferred in connection with the 
sale or transfer of the entire brine shrimp harvest operation or the 
harvesting equipment ordinarily required to effectively utilize a 
certificate of registration. 
 (i)  Business entities holding no harvesting equipment may be 
approved for a certificate of registration transfer only where the 
entire business entity and brine shrimp harvest operation is 
transferred along with all certificates of registration held by the 
business entity. 
 (ii)  Business entities changing the official name maintained on 
division records as the certificate of registration holder shall simply 
establish that the entity's ownership and business structure will not 
materially differ under the new business name. 
 (7)  The division may deny authorizing a certificate of 
registration transfer to any proposed transferee for any of the 
following reasons: 
 (a)  the applicant transferee has previously been issued a 
certificate of registration and has failed to submit any report required 
by this rule, the division, or the Wildlife Board; 
 (b)  the applicant transferee has been found guilty, pleaded 
guilty or pleaded no contest in an administrative proceeding to 
violating any rule, statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board order 
relating to the harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic 
wildlife; or 
 (c)  the applicant transferee has been found guilty, pleaded 
guilty or pleaded no contest in a criminal proceeding to violating any 
rule, statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife. 
 (8)(a)  If a transfer application is approved, the division shall 
accept the surrender of the transferor's certificate of registration and 
reissue it to the proposed transferee within 10 business days of the 
surrender consistent with the requirements prescribed in this rule. 
 (b)  The proposed transferee may not begin harvesting brine 
shrimp or brine shrimp eggs until it has received a certificate of 
registration from the division issued in its name, and only then in 
conformance with all applicable laws, rules, and orders of the 
Wildlife Board and division. 
 (c)  In receiving a certificate of registration transferred under 
this section, the transferee assumes no additional privileges or 
opportunities with respect to harvesting brine shrimp and brine 
shrimp eggs than those formerly possessed by the transferor.] 
 
KEY:  game laws, bait dealers, commercialization of aquatic 
wildlife 
[May 17, 2001]2002 
Notice of Continuation July 12, 2002 
23-14-18 
23-14-19 
23-13-13 
23-15-7 
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Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-52 
Commercial Harvesting of Brine Shrimp 

and Brine Shrimp Eggs 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  25090 
FILED:  07/15/2002, 15:10 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule is 
being proposed to provide procedures, standards, and 
requirements for commercially harvesting brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs, and replaces those provisions which are 
being eliminated under Rule R657-14.  (DAR NOTE:  The 
proposed amendment to Rule R657-14 is under DAR No. 
25071 in this Bulletin.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule provides the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, and replaces 
those provisions which are being eliminated under Rule R657-
14.  In addition, provisions of this rule are being changed to: 
eliminate specific fees, which are provided under the state fee 
schedule and in accordance with statute; provide clarification 
on transporting brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs from the 
lake or lakeshore under Subsection R657-52-13(6); and 
clarification on requirements that after testing equipment for 
harvest, the brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs must be 
returned to the water, if collected from the water, or returned 
to the beach, if collected from the beach. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 23-14-3, 23-14-18, 23-14-19, 23-15-7, 23-15-
8, and 23-15-9, and Subsection 23-19-1(2) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule provides the procedures, 
standards, and requirements for commercially harvesting 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, and replaces those 
provisions which are being eliminated under Rule R657-14.  
The Division of Wildlife Resources (DWR) determines that by 
removing the provisions regarding commercially harvesting 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs from Rule R657-14 and 
incorporating those provisions into a new rule does not create 
a cost or savings impact to the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This filing does not create any direct 
cost or saving impact to local governments because they are 
not directly affected by the rule.  Nor are local governments 
indirectly impacted because the rule does not create a 
situation requiring services from local governments. 

❖  OTHER PERSONS:  This rule provides the procedures, 
standards, and requirements for commercially harvesting 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, and replaces those 
provisions which are being eliminated under Rule R657-14.  
DWR determines that by removing the provisions regarding 
commercially harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs 
from Rule R657-14 and incorporating those provisions into a 
new rule does not create a cost or savings impact to other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule provides 
the procedures, standards, and requirements for commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, and replaces 
those provisions which are being eliminated under Rule R657-
14.  DWR determines that by removing the provisions 
regarding commercially harvesting brine shrimp and brine 
shrimp eggs from Rule R657-14 and incorporating those 
provisions into a new rule does not create an additional 
compliance cost to affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule provides the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, and replaces 
those provisions that are being eliminated under Rule R657-
14.  Removing the provisions regarding the commercial 
harvest of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs from Rule 
R657-14, recommended by the brine shrimp industry, and 
incorporating those provisions into this new rule does not 
create an impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  8/13/2002 at 9:00 AM, Snow College, Richfield, 
Utah (Contact Division of Wildlife Resources for exact 
location.). 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
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R657.  Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources. 
R657-52.  Commercial Harvesting of Brine Shrimp and Brine 
Shrimp Eggs. 
R657-52-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  Under authority of Sections 23-14-3, 23-14-18, 23-14-19, 
Sections 23-15-7 through 23-15-9, and 23-19-1(2), this rule provides 
the procedures, standards, and requirements for commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (2)  The objective of this rule is to protect, manage, and 
conserve the brine shrimp resource based upon the best available 
data and information and adequately preserve the Great Salt Lake 
ecosystem while recognizing the economic value of allowing the 
harvest of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs and maintaining a 
sustainable brine shrimp population. 
 
R657-52-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  Terms used in this rule are defined in Section 23-13-2. 
 (2)  In addition: 
 (a)  "Alternate seiner" means the person in charge of and 
responsible for supervising a crew of helpers harvesting brine 
shrimp and brine shrimp eggs in the absence of the primary seiner. 
 (b)  "Certificate of registration marker" means a floating or 
mounted marker conforming to the specifications set forth in 
Subsection R657-52-16(2) and (3), which must be displayed at a 
harvest location before harvest activity commences. 
 (c)  "Harvest" means to gather or collect brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs and reduce it to possession. 
 (d)  "Harvest location" means the location where the gathering 
or harvesting of brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs takes place. A 
harvest location is a 300 yard radius from the location of the 
Certificate of Registration marker as required under Subsection 
R657-52-16(8). 
 (e)  "Helper" means a person aiding a certificate of registration 
holder in the harvesting, transporting, or selling of brine shrimp or 
brine shrimp eggs, including any employee, agent, family member, 
or volunteer. 
 (f)  "Helper card" means a card authorizing a person to act as a 
helper. 
 (g)  "Primary seiner" means the person in charge of and 
responsible for supervising a crew of helpers harvesting brine 
shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (h)  "Purchase" means to buy, acquire, or obtain from sale, 
exchange, barter, or trade brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs for 
pecuniary consideration or advantage. 
 (i)  "Wildlife registration office" means the division office in 
Salt Lake responsible for processing applications and issuing 
certificates of registration. 
 
R657-52-3.  Certificate of Registration Required. 
 (1)  A person may not harvest, possess, or transport brine 
shrimp or brine shrimp eggs without first obtaining a certificate of 
registration and a helper card for each individual assisting that 
person. 
 (2)(a)  The division may issue a certificate of registration 
authorizing a person to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (b)  A separate certificate of registration and the corresponding 
certificate of registration marker is required for each harvest 
location. 
 (c)  The original copy of the certificate of registration must be 
present at the harvest location while harvesting brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs. 

 (3)  A certificate of registration under this rule is not required: 
 (a)  to harvest 200 pounds or less of brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs, during a single calendar year, for culturing ornamental 
fish, provided the brine shrimp eggs are not sold, bartered, or traded; 
 (i)  a certificate of registration is required, however, under Rule 
R657-3 for the activities described in Subsection (a); 
 (b)  for the retail sale of brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs 
imported into Utah, provided the product is clearly labeled as to its 
out-of-state origin; 
 (c)  to process lawfully acquired brine shrimp or brine shrimp 
eggs; or 
 (d)  to sell brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs, provided the 
brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs were taken in accordance with the 
provisions of this rule by a person who has obtained a certificate of 
registration or as provided in rule R657-3. 
 (4)  Certificates of registration are not transferable, except as 
provided in Section R657-52-7. 
 (5)  Any certificate of registration issued to a business or any 
other commercial organization shall be void upon the termination of 
the business or organization or upon bankruptcy. 
 (6)  Certificates of registration that may become available for 
issuance through revocation, expiration, nonrenewal, or surrender 
may either be retired by the division or reallocated to eligible 
persons and entities through random drawings conducted at the 
Division of Wildlife Resources, Salt Lake City office. 
 (7)  All persons or entities applying for a certificate of 
registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs made 
available for issuance through Subsection (6) shall satisfy the 
following requirements: 
 (a)  submit a certificate of registration application to the 
wildlife registration office consistent with the requirements set forth 
in R657-52-5; and 
 (b)  submit a cashiers check to the division in the established 
fee amount for each certificate of registration applied for. 
 (8)(a)  The issuance of a certificate of registration automatically 
incorporates within its terms the conditions and requirements of this 
rule specifically governing the activity for which the certificate of 
registration is issued. 
 (b)  Any person accepting a certificate of registration under this 
rule acknowledges the necessity for close regulation and monitoring 
by the division. 
 (9)  Any certificate of registration issued or renewed by the 
division under this rule to harvest brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs 
is a privilege and not a right.  The certificate of registration 
authorizes the holder to harvest brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs 
subject to all present and future conditions, restrictions, and 
regulations imposed on such activities by the division, the Wildlife 
Board, the state of Utah, or the United States. 
 (10)  A certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp or 
brine shrimp eggs does not guarantee or otherwise legally entitle the 
holder to any of the following: 
 (a)  a minimum harvest quota in any given season or seasons; 
 (b)  a quota or percentage of the harvestable surplus as 
determined by the division; 
 (c)  a particular harvesting or processing method; 
 (d)  a particular harvest season duration, commencement date, 
or termination date; 
 (e)  access to any particular area or site on the Great Salt Lake 
or on other waters in the state, regardless of historical authorization 
or use; 
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 (f)  marina access on the Great Salt Lake or elsewhere in the 
state, regardless of historical authorization or use; 
 (g)  an increase, stabilization, or reduction in the number of 
certificates of registration issued by the division to harvest brine 
shrimp and brine shrimp eggs; 
 (h)  an exclusive opportunity to harvest; 
 (i)  a particular quantity or quality of brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs; 
 (j)  a particular water condition or salinity level conducive to 
brine shrimp production, brine shrimp egg production, or harvest 
success; 
 (k)  any particular level of protection for brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs from disease, pesticides, or predators; or 
 (l)  any other right or management philosophy beneficial to 
harvesting or production of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (11)  The procedures and processes outlined in this rule 
regulating the harvest of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs are all 
subject to change as the division and the Wildlife Board gather 
greater information and data on the impact current harvest 
regulations have on the sustainability of brine shrimp populations, 
the Great Salt Lake ecosystem, and the economic viability of the 
industry. 
 
R657-52-4.  Certificate of Registration Availability. 
 (1)  The Wildlife Board, after considering the best available 
biological data and other information received from the division and 
the public, has determined that: 
 (a)  a limitation on the number of certificates of registration 
issued by the division to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs 
is currently necessary to protect the brine shrimp resource and the 
Great Salt Lake ecosystem; 
 (b)  additional research and scientific data is necessary to 
adequately understand the dynamics of the brine shrimp populations, 
the Great Salt Lake ecosystem, and the impact harvesting has on the 
sustainability of the resource; 
 (c)  given the current number of certificates of registration, the 
need for additional scientific data, and the increasing efficiency in 
the industry's ability to harvest large quantities of brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs in short periods, the issuance of additional 
certificates at this point in time may compromise the division's 
ability to effectively regulate the harvest to avoid jeopardizing 
resource sustainability; and 
 (d)  given these factors and the harvest restrictions adopted in 
this rule, a total of 79 certificates of registration may be issued. 
 
R657-52-5.  Application for Certificate of Registration. 
 (1)  Applications for certificates of registration to harvest brine 
shrimp and brine shrimp eggs are available at division offices and 
must be submitted to the division between May 1 through May 31.  
Applications may be submitted by mail if postmarked no later than 
midnight on the last day of the application period. 
 (2)(a)  If an application for a certificate of registration is made 
in the name of a commercial organization, the applicant must specify 
the person responsible for that entity. 
 (b)  All commercial organization applicants shall provide with 
the application a written statement designating the responsible 
person as its legal agent in all matters before the division relating to 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp egg harvesting. 
 (3)(a)  Completed applications must be submitted to the 
wildlife registration office. 

 (b)  The division may return any application that is incomplete 
or completed incorrectly. 
 (4)  The application review process may require up to 45 days. 
 (5)  The division may deny issuing a certificate of registration 
to any applicant for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  the applicant has previously been issued a certificate of 
registration and has failed to submit any report required by this rule, 
the division, or the Wildlife Board; 
 (b)  the applicant has been found guilty, pleaded guilty or 
pleaded no contest in an administrative proceeding to violating any 
rule, statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife; or 
 (c)  the applicant has been found guilty, pleaded guilty or 
pleaded no contest in a criminal proceeding to violating any rule, 
statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board order relating to the harvest, 
possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife. 
 (6)  The division may limit the number of certificates of 
registration issued or deny any application in the interest of wildlife, 
wildlife habitat, serving the public, or public safety. 
 (7)  If an application is approved, the division shall issue the 
applicant a certificate of registration that specifies, among other 
things: 
 (a)  the name, address and phone number of the applicant; 
 (b)  the name, address and phone number of the responsible 
person; 
 (c)  the water and locations where brine shrimp and brine 
shrimp eggs may be harvested; 
 (d)  the certificate of registration's expiration date; and 
 (e)  any restriction imposed on the applicant in addition to the 
provisions of this rule. 
 (8)  Certificates of registration for harvesting brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs are valid only during the harvest season as 
provided in Sections R657-52-12 and R657-52-13. 
 
R657-52-6.  Certificate of Registration Renewal. 
 (1)  Each certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs issued under this rule may be renewed by the 
division on an annual basis consistent with the provisions in this 
section. 
 (2)  Persons or business entities issued certificates of 
registration by the division in the harvest year immediately 
preceding the harvest year for which renewal is sought will have a 
preference for the same number of certificates of registration, 
provided the applicant satisfies the renewal criteria for each 
certificate of registration. 
 (3)  The annual expiration date of a certificate of registration 
shall be shown on the certificate of registration.  A certificate of 
registration that is not renewed prior to the expiration date shown on 
the certificate of registration automatically expires. 
 (a)  A certificate of registration automatically expires prior to 
the expiration date shown on the certificate of registration upon the 
dissolution of a holder that is a partnership, corporation, or other 
business entity. 
 (b)  Upon the death of a certificate of registration holder that is 
a natural person, the estate may attempt to sell the harvest operation 
and petition the division, under Section R657-52-7, to transfer the 
certificate of registration to the respective buyer. 
 (c)(i)  Failure to annually renew a certificate of registration by 
satisfying all the renewal criteria outlined in this rule prior to the 
expiration date shown on the certificate of registration shall 
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automatically deprive the prospective holder of a renewal preference 
in succeeding years. 
 (ii)  Preference forfeiture results whether unsuccessful renewal 
is the consequence of automatic expiration, applicant neglect, or 
division denial. 
 (iii)  Failure to renew in years where the harvest of brine 
shrimp or brine shrimp eggs is closed for regulatory or management 
purposes will result in preference forfeiture. 
 (d)  Expiration of a certificate of registration is not an 
adjudicative proceeding under Title 63, Chapter 46b of the Utah 
Administrative Procedures Act. 
 (4)  Renewal applications for certificates of registration to 
harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs are available at the 
division's wildlife registration office in Salt Lake City. 
 (a)  Completed renewal applications shall be submitted to the 
wildlife registration office between May 1 and May 31 of each year. 
 Applications are considered "submitted" for purposes of this rule 
when hand delivered to the wildlife registration office on or before 
the application deadline, or when mailed to the wildlife registration 
office and postmarked no later than midnight on the last day of the 
application period. 
 (b)  Where a certificate of registration renewal application is 
submitted in the name of a commercial organization, the applicant 
must specify the person responsible for that entity. 
 (c)  The commercial organization applicant must provide, on or 
with the renewal application, a written statement designating the 
responsible person as its legal agent in all matters before the division 
relating to brine shrimp and brine shrimp egg harvesting. 
 (d)  The division may return any application that is incomplete 
or completed incorrectly. 
 (e)  Applications for renewal that are filed within the prescribed 
time period set in this rule but returned as incomplete or completed 
incorrectly may be granted where the errors are corrected and the 
application resubmitted to the wildlife registration office within 30 
days from the date the initial application was rejected. 
 (f)  The application review process may require up to 45 days. 
 (5)  The criteria for certificate of registration renewal are as 
follows: 
 (a)  the applicant was issued a certificate of registration to 
harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs in the immediate harvest 
season preceding the application for renewal; 
 (b)  the applicant has accurately and completely filled out the 
division's renewal application and submitted it to the division within 
the time period prescribed in this rule; 
 (c)  the applicant has submitted with the renewal application a 
cashiers check for the established fee amount for each certificate of 
registration; and 
 (d)  the applicant satisfies all other requirements prerequisite to 
receiving an initial certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp 
or brine shrimp eggs as found in R657-52-5. 
 (6)  The division may refuse to renew a certificate of 
registration for any of the following reasons: 
 (a)  the applicant has failed to submit any report required by the 
division in writing, or any report required by this rule or the Wildlife 
Board; 
 (b)  the applicant has been found guilty, pleaded guilty or 
pleaded no contest in an administrative proceeding to violating any 
rule, statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board Order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife; 
 (c)  the applicant has been found guilty, pleaded guilty or 
pleaded no contest in a criminal proceeding to violating any rule, 

statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board Order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife; or 
 (d)  where the division determines that renewal may 
significantly damage or is not in the interest of wildlife, wildlife 
habitat, serving the public, or public safety. 
 (7)  If an application for renewal is approved, the Division shall 
issue the applicant a new certificate of registration that may specify: 
 (a)  the species and amounts of protected aquatic wildlife that 
may be harvested or sold; 
 (b)  the water and locations where protected aquatic wildlife 
may be harvested; 
 (c)  the equipment that may be used; 
 (d)  the hours during which protected aquatic wildlife may be 
harvested; and 
 (e)  any restriction imposed on the applicant in addition to the 
provisions of this rule. 
 (8)  Any applicant who has been refused renewal of a certificate 
of registration may submit a request for agency action to the 
Wildlife Board, in care of the  Division of Wildlife Resources, 
within 30 days following notification of the refusal to renew.  The 
format and content of the request for agency action and any 
subsequent proceedings initiated thereunder shall comply with Rule 
R657-2. 
 (9)  Certificates of registration for harvesting brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs are valid only during the harvest season as 
provided in Subsections R657-52-12 and R657-52-13. 
 
R657-52-7.  Certificate of Registration Transfers. 
 (1)  Pursuant to Section 23-19-1(2), a person may not lend, 
transfer, sell, give or assign a certificate of registration to harvest 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs belonging to the person or the 
rights granted thereby, except as authorized hereafter. 
 (2)  "Business entity" for purposes of this section means any 
person, proprietorship, partnership, corporation, or other commercial 
organization that has been issued a certificate of registration by the 
division to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (3)(a)  The division may authorize, consistent with the 
requirements of this section, the transfer of a valid certificate of 
registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs from the 
lawful holder to an other person or entity in the following instances: 
 (i)  where any transaction or occurrence will cause the name of 
the business entity recorded as the certificate of registration holder 
to change from that specifically identified on the certificate of 
registration; 
 (ii)  where any transaction or occurrence will cause the business 
entity recorded as the certificate of registration holder to 
permanently reorganize, dissolve, lapse, or otherwise cease to exist 
as a legal business entity under the laws of the State of Utah or the 
jurisdiction where the business entity was organized; or 
 (iii)  where any transaction or occurrence effectively transfers a 
certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp 
eggs in violation of Section 23-19-1(2). 
 (b)  written approval from the division for any certificate of 
registration transfer permitted under this rule shall be obtained prior 
to any transfer of the certificate of registration or the rights granted 
thereunder. 
 (c)  Transferring or selling an ownership interest in a business 
entity holding a certificate of registration to harvest brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs does not require division approval provided the 
transfer of ownership does not cause the business entity to 
temporarily or permanently change its name, reorganize, dissolve, 
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lapse, or otherwise cease to exist as a legally recognized business 
entity under the laws of the State of Utah. 
 (4)  Obtaining division approval to transfer a certificate of 
registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs shall be 
initiated by application to the division, as provided in Subsections 
(a) through (e). 
 (a)  Complete the application prescribed by the division and 
submit it to the division's wildlife registration office. 
 (b)  Applications may be submitted any time during the year. 
 (c)  Annual applications and fees for certificates of registration 
renewal shall be submitted between May 1 and May 31, regardless 
whether a transfer application is contemplated or pending. 
 (d)  If an application to transfer a certificate of registration 
identifies a business entity as the transferee, the transferee must 
designate a person responsible for that entity. 
 (i)  The transferee shall provide on or with the application a 
written statement designating the responsible person as its legal 
agent in all matters before the division relating to brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp egg harvesting. 
 (e)  The division may return any application that is incomplete 
or completed incorrectly. 
 (5)  The division shall respond to the application to transfer a 
certificate of registration within 20 days of receipt in one of the 
following forms: 
 (a)  a letter approving the application; 
 (b)  a letter denying the application and identifying the reasons 
for denial; 
 (c)  a letter identifying deficiencies in the application and 
requesting additional information from the applicant; or 
 (d)  a letter notifying the applicant that the division requires 
additional time to process and consider the application with an 
explanation of the extenuating circumstances necessitating the 
extension. 
 (6)  The division shall deny an application to transfer a 
certificate of registration where any of the following exists: 
 (a)  the proposed transferee fails to satisfy all the requirements 
necessary to obtain an original certificate of registration; or 
 (b)  the applicant transferor fails to demonstrate that the 
certificate of registration will be transferred in connection with the 
sale or transfer of the entire brine shrimp harvest operation or the 
harvesting equipment ordinarily required to effectively utilize a 
certificate of registration. 
 (i)  Business entities holding no harvesting equipment may be 
approved for a certificate of registration transfer only where the 
entire business entity and brine shrimp harvest operation is 
transferred along with all certificates of registration held by the 
business entity. 
 (ii)  Business entities changing the official name maintained on 
division records as the certificate of registration holder shall simply 
establish that the entity's ownership and business structure will not 
materially differ under the new business name. 
 (7)  The division may deny authorizing a certificate of 
registration transfer to any proposed transferee for any of the 
following reasons: 
 (a)  the applicant transferee has previously been issued a 
certificate of registration and has failed to submit any report required 
by this rule, the division, or the Wildlife Board; 
 (b)  the applicant transferee has been found guilty, pleaded 
guilty or pleaded no contest in an administrative proceeding to 
violating any rule, statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board order 

relating to the harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic 
wildlife; or 
 (c)  the applicant transferee has been found guilty, pleaded 
guilty or pleaded no contest in a criminal proceeding to violating any 
rule, statute, proclamation, or Wildlife Board order relating to the 
harvest, possession, or sale of protected aquatic wildlife. 
 (8)(a)  If a transfer application is approved, the division shall 
accept the surrender of the transferor's certificate of registration and 
reissue it to the proposed transferee within 10 business days of the 
surrender consistent with the requirements prescribed in this rule. 
 (b)  The proposed transferee may not begin harvesting brine 
shrimp or brine shrimp eggs until it has received a certificate of 
registration from the division issued in its name, and only then in 
conformance with all applicable laws, rules, and orders of the 
Wildlife Board and division. 
 (c)  In receiving a certificate of registration transferred under 
this section, the transferee assumes no additional privileges or 
opportunities with respect to harvesting brine shrimp and brine 
shrimp eggs than those formerly possessed by the transferor. 
 
R657-52-8.  Primary and Alternate Seiners. 
 (1)(a)  A primary seiner or an alternate seiner must be present 
at each harvest location and directly supervise the harvest activity. 
 (b)  A primary or alternate seiner does not have to be present 
while transporting brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs from the 
harvest location. 
 (c)  A primary seiner and an alternate seiner card are issued 
with the certificate of registration and are transferable within the 
entity holding the certificate of registration. 
 (d)  The primary or alternate seiner must have a primary or 
alternate seiner card in possession at the harvest location. 
 
R657-52-9.  Use of Helpers. 
 (1)(a)  Except as hereafter provided in Subsection (2), any 
person aiding the certificate of registration holder, a primary seiner, 
or alternate seiner in harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs 
shall be in possession of a helper card. 
 (b)  Three individual helper cards are issued with the certificate 
of registration. 
 (c)  A helper card shall be deemed to be in possession if it is on 
the person or on the boat from which the person is working. 
 (2)(a)  A helper card is not required of any person engaged only 
in the retail sale or transportation of brine shrimp or brine shrimp 
eggs. 
 (b)  A person directing harvest operations from a plane for a 
certificate of registration holder does not have to have a helper card. 
 (c)  The driver of a truck transporting brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs from the lake to a storage or processing plant does not 
have to have a helper card. Any crew member loading brine shrimp 
and brine shrimp eggs into a truck must have a helper card in 
possession. 
 (3)  Helper cards are issued in the name of the certificate of 
registration holder and are transferable among individuals assisting 
the certificate of registration holder. 
 (4)(a)  A helper may assist in the harvest of brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs only while working under the direct supervision 
of a primary or alternate seiner. 
 (b)  For purposes of this rule, "direct supervision" means to be 
physically present, either on a boat with the helper or within close 
proximity so as to be able to provide direct instructions to the helper. 
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 (5)  Twelve additional helper cards for each certificate of 
registration may be obtained from the wildlife registration office at 
any time during the year. 
 
R657-52-10.  Records - Report of Activities. 
 (1)  Any person or business entity issued a certificate of 
registration to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs shall keep 
accurate records of the weight harvested and to whom the product is 
sold. 
 (2)  The records required under Subsection (1) shall be retained 
for at least five years and must be available for inspection upon 
division request. 
 (3)  Certificate of registration holders shall submit the 
following reports to the Great Salt Lake Ecosystem Project office for 
each certificate of registration: 
 (a)  A weekly harvest report documenting the total amount of 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, by raw weight, harvested each 
day of the reporting week. The reports must be prepared by a person 
working for the reporting company, and the reports must be received 
or postmarked by Monday of each week. 
 (b)  A daily harvest report documenting the total amount of 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, by raw weight, harvested each 
day. The report shall be filed no later than 12 hours after the end of 
the previous calendar day. The report may be filed utilizing a voice 
mail system linked to a dedicated phone number provided or the 
report may be filed by fax to a dedicated phone number. The report 
must be prepared or given by a person working for the reporting 
company. 
 (c)  A weekly report of all landing receipts prepared pursuant to 
Section R657-52-14 during the reporting week.  The report must be 
prepared or given by a person working for the reporting company, 
and must be received by the division or postmarked by Monday of 
each week. 
 (4)  Report forms may be obtained from the division. 
 
R657-52-11.  Species of Protected Aquatic Wildlife That May Be 
Harvested. 
 (1)  A certificate of registration issued under this rule may 
authorize the holder to commercially harvest only brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs. 
 (2)  Any species of protected aquatic wildlife caught other than 
brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs must be immediately returned 
alive and unharmed to the water from which it was harvested. 
 
R657-52-12.  Harvest Season and Hours. 
 (1)(a)  Except as provided in Subsections R657-52-13(4) and 
(5), a certificate of registration is valid for harvesting brine shrimp 
and brine shrimp eggs only during the harvest season beginning 
October 1 and ending January 31.  If October 1 falls on a Sunday, 
the harvest season shall begin on the following Monday. 
 (b)  In the interest of the wildlife resources of the Great Salt 
Lake, the harvest season may be delayed up to 10 days provided the 
harvesting companies are notified seven days in advance of the 
delay. 
 (c)  After the season has opened, harvesting may be suspended 
two times during the season, for up to seven days each time, in the 
interest of the wildlife resources of the Great Salt Lake, provided the 
harvesting companies are notified at least 24 hours in advance of the 
suspension date. 

 (2)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs may be harvested 24 
hours a day during any open harvest season by those possessing a 
valid certificate of registration for such activities. 
 (3)  When the harvest season is suspended or closed, all harvest 
activity shall cease at official sunset on the designated date of 
closure. 
 
R657-52-13.  Areas of Harvest and Special Season Dates. 
 (1)  The division may authorize the harvest of brine shrimp and 
brine shrimp eggs from: 
 (a)  the Great Salt Lake and surrounding areas, including ponds 
operated in a normal manner for mineral extraction; and 
 (b)  the Sevier River. 
 (2)  The area east of the north-south line from the tip of 
Promontory Point south along the east shore of Fremont and 
Antelope Islands and along the dike extending from the south end of 
Antelope Island to the south shore of the Great Salt Lake is closed to 
the commercial harvesting of brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs. 
 (3)  Except as provided in Subsections (4) and (5), brine shrimp 
and brine shrimp eggs may be harvested only during the harvest 
season as described in Section R657-52-12. 
 (4)(a)  Any person who has a valid certificate of registration 
may cumulatively collect up to 25 pounds of brine shrimp eggs 
between March 1 and the official opening date of the brine shrimp 
harvest season, as declared by rule or the division, for purposes of 
conducting research. 
 (b)  For the purpose of conducting research, a person may not 
collect more than one pound of brine shrimp eggs during a single 
day regardless of the number of certificates of registration issued to 
that person. 
 (c)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs collected for research 
under the authority of this section may not be sold, traded, or 
bartered. 
 (5)(a)  Any person possessing a valid certificate of registration 
to harvest brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs may do so from 
mineral extraction ponds located along the shores of the Great Salt 
Lake any time during the year. 
 (b)  A pond may not be built or manipulated for the purpose of 
culturing or harvesting brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs. 
 (c)  Brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs may not be introduced 
into the Great Salt Lake or any pond.  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp 
eggs must enter into the pond during normal mineral extraction 
processes. 
 (6)  All brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs which have been 
harvested and placed in containers shall be transported from the lake 
or lakeshore not later than 21 days after the close of the harvest 
season.  No brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs may be removed from 
the surface of the beach or water and placed in a container after the 
season is closed.  Containers filled prior to the close of the harvest 
season with brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs may be transported 
from the lake or lakeshore after the close of the harvest season, 
provided transportation occurs no later than 21 days following the 
closure. 
 
R657-52-14.  Transportation. 
 (1)  When brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs are transported 
away from the lakeshore to a processing plant, a landing receipt 
form must be prepared and be in possession of the transport driver 
before leaving the loading site. 
 (a)  The landing receipt shall include: 
 (i)  the harvesters' certificate of registration numbers; 
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 (ii)  the certificate of registration holder's name; 
 (iii)  the harvest dates; 
 (iv)  the harvest areas; 
 (v)  the landing dates; 
 (vi)  the container numbers and weights as determined by 
certified scales for lake harvested brine shrimp and brine shrimp 
eggs; 
 (vii)  the container numbers and weight estimates for shore 
harvested brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs; and 
 (viii)  the names of the individuals who landed and weighed the 
product. 
 (2)  The driver of a truck transporting brine shrimp product 
away from the lakeshore is not required to possess a helper card 
while engaged in that activity. 
 (3)  Any person loading brine shrimp product into a truck to 
transport from the lakeshore shall possess a helper card. 
 
R657-52-15.  Identification of Equipment. 
 (1)(a)  Any boat used for harvesting operations must be 
identifiable from the air, water and land with either the company 
name, company initials or certificate of registration number.  A 
camp or base of operations located on or near the shoreline must be 
marked so it is visible from the air and land with either the company 
name, company initials, or certificate of registration number.  Boat 
markings denoting the company name, company initials or 
certificate of registration number, must be visible from a distance of 
500 yards when on the lake. 
 (b)  The letters or numbers shall be visible at all times, written 
clearly and shall meet the following requirements: 
 (i)  letters or numbers on the top of a boat shall be at least 36 
inches in height; 
 (ii)  letters or numbers used on the sides of a boat shall be at 
least 24 inches in height, except that boats with inflatable hulls may 
use letters and numbers that are 12 inches in height; 
 (iii)  letters or numbers used on a camp or base of operations 
sign shall be at least 24 inches in height; and 
 (iv)  all letters and numbers used for identification purposes 
shall be of reflective white tape with a solid black background. 
 (c)  Identification may be done with a magnetic sign placed on 
top of and the sides of the vehicle or boat. 
 (d)  Each continuous segment of boom that may be coupled 
together shall be marked to denote the company's name, initials, or 
certificate of registration number. The markings shall consist of 
letters or numbers at least three inches in height. 
 (e)  All containers filled or partially filled with brine shrimp or 
brine shrimp eggs and left unattended on the shore or in a vehicle 
parked on the shore shall be individually marked with either the 
company name, company initials or certificate of registration 
number under which the product was harvested.  Each container 
shall be marked as follows: 
 (i)  the company name, company initials or the certificate of 
registration number shall be permanently and legibly marked at a 
visible location on the exterior surface of the container; or 
 (ii)  the company name, company initials or the certificate of 
registration number shall be permanently and legibly marked on a 
durable, waterproof tag securely and visibly attached to the exterior 
surface of the container. 
 (f)  "Shore" for purposes of this section, shall include all lands 
within one mile of the body of water where the product was 
harvested.  "Shore" does not include permanent structures affixed to 
the land and operated for purposes of storing or processing brine 

shrimp and brine shrimp eggs, provided the name of the structure's 
current owner or tenant is visibly marked on the exterior of the 
structure. 
 
R657-52-16.  Certificate of Registration Markers. 
 (1)(a)  One certificate of registration marker corresponding to 
each certificate of registration shall be displayed at each harvest 
location as follows: 
 (i)  on the boat with the certificate of registration on board; 
 (ii)  on the harvest boat or attached to the boom; 
 (iii)  in the water at the harvest location; or 
 (iv)  on the shore while harvesting brine shrimp or brine shrimp 
eggs from shore. 
 (b)  No more than one certificate of registration marker shall be 
displayed at each harvest location. 
 (c)  An original certificate of registration shall be present at the 
harvest location where the corresponding certificate of registration 
marker is displayed. 
 (2)  A certificate of registration marker shall consist of a piece 
of equipment, furnished by the harvesters, constructed in accordance 
with the following specifications: 
 (a)  A six foot long piece of tubing with a weight at one end. 
 (b)  This piece of tubing shall have a fluorescent orange ball 
that is a minimum of eighteen inches in diameter, mounted in the 
approximate center of the length of tubing.  The fluorescent orange 
ball shall have the certificate of registration number, corresponding 
to the certificate of registration decal attached to the marker pursuant 
Subsection R657-52-16(2)(c), marked in two places with indelible 
black paint. The painted certificate of registration numbers shall be a 
minimum of twelve inches in height. 
 (c)  Mounted above the orange ball towards the un-weighted 
end of the tubing shall be a decal issued by the division which 
denotes the certificate of registration in use and corresponding to the 
certificate of registration marker device. 
 (d)  Mounted on the tubing between the orange ball and the un-
weighted end of the tubing, shall be an aluminum radar reflector that 
is a minimum of fifteen inches square. 
 (e)  Mounted above the radar reflector shall be a three-inch 
wide band of silver reflective tape. 
 (f)  Mounted on the un-weighted end of this tubing shall be an 
amber light that at night is visible for up to one-half mile and flashes 
30 times per minute, minimum. 
 (3)  The certificate of registration marker must be displayed in a 
manner that is: 
 (a)  visible in all directions at a distance of 500 yards; or 
 (b)  displayed above the superstructure of any vessel that a 
certificate of registration is being used from. 
 (4)  The amber light on a displayed marker device must be 
operating at all times between sunset and sunrise. 
 (5)  A brine shrimp harvester shall not display an amber light at 
night, or an orange ball or other device which simulates the 
certificate of registration marker device, without having the 
corresponding, original certificate of registration at the harvest 
location. 
 (6)  Brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs may not be harvested in 
any manner, nor may a harvest location be claimed unless and until 
an original copy of the certificate of registration is at the harvest 
location and the corresponding certificate of registration marker is 
properly displayed as required in this section. 
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 (7)  The certificate of registration and corresponding certificate 
of registration marker shall not be transported to the harvest location 
by aircraft. 
 (a)  "Aircraft" for purposes of this section, means any 
contrivance now known or in the future invented, used, or designed 
for navigation of or flight in the air. 
 (8)  A person may not harvest any brine shrimp or brine shrimp 
eggs within a 300 yard radius of a certificate of registration marker 
displayed at a harvest location without permission from the company 
that first began harvesting in that location. 
 
R657-52-17.  Use of Booms. 
 (1)(a)  A primary seiner, alternate seiner, or helper must remain 
within one mile of any boom attached to the shore, whether open or 
closed, 24 hours a day so that an officer may easily locate the person 
tending the boom. 
 (b)  A boom may be left unattended in the open water during 
the legal harvest season if: 
 (i)  the boom is properly identified as provided in Subsection 
R657-52-15(1)(d); 
 (ii)  the boom is closed; 
 (iii)  the boom is marked with a certificate of registration 
marker as described in Subsections R657-52-16(2) and (3); and 
 (iv)  the certificate of registration marker is lighted as described 
in Subsections R657-52-16(2)(f)and (4). 
 (2)  On a causeway or dike where camping is not allowed, a 
primary seiner, alternate seiner, or helper must be stationed at the 
closest possible camping site, not more than 10 miles away, and that 
location must be clearly identified on a tag securely attached to the 
shore end of the boom. 
 (3)(a)  A person may not harvest any brine shrimp or brine 
shrimp eggs within 300 yards of any certificate of registration 
marker displayed at a harvest location as provided in Subsection 
R657-52-16(8) without permission from the company that first 
began harvesting in that location. 
 (b)  The certificate of registration marker must be deployed as 
provided in Section R657-52-16 and accompanied by an individual 
at the harvest location to receive the 300 yard encroachment 
protection. 
 (4)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs may be removed from 
another person's boom only with written permission from the person 
who owns the boom. 
 (5)  A person may not deploy more than one continuous length 
of boom for each certificate of registration. 
 
R657-52-18.  Use of Equipment. 
 (1)  A person may not intentionally drive a boat through or 
create a wake through a streak of brine shrimp eggs that another 
person is harvesting. 
 (2)(a)  A person or business entity possessing a valid certificate 
of registration may test the equipment to be used in harvesting brine 
shrimp from March 1 through the official opening date of the brine 
shrimp harvest season, as declared by rule or the division. 
 (b)  At least 48 hours before testing the equipment, the person 
must notify the division's Northern Regional Office. 
 (c)  Any brine shrimp or brine shrimp eggs collected while 
testing the equipment must be immediately returned to the water, if 
collected from the water, or returned to the beach, if collected from 
the beach, within 1/4 mile of the location in which they were 
collected. 

 (3)  Brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs may not be taken to a 
storage facility, test site located greater than 1/4 mile from the 
location in which they were collected, or to shore, except as 
provided in Section R657-52-13(4). 
 
R657-52-19.  Violations. 
 (1)  The penalty for any violation of this rule is a class C 
misdemeanor as provided in Section 23-13-11(2). 
 (2)  Any violation of, or failure to comply with the provisions 
of this rule, any requirement contained in a certificate of registration 
issued pursuant to this rule, any Wildlife Board Order, or any statute 
related to the harvesting, possession or transfer of brine shrimp or 
brine shrimp eggs may be grounds for revocation, suspension or 
denial of future certificates of registration as determined by a 
division hearing officer. 
 
KEY:  brine shrimp, commercialization 
2002 
23-14-3 
23-14-18 
23-14-19 
23-15-7 
23-15-8 
23-15-9 
23-19-1(2) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-406-402 
Fraud 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  25085 

FILED:  07/12/2002, 13:12 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Consistent 
with recent legislation (S.B. 83 Amendments to 
Unemployment Insurance, General Session 2000), this rule 
amendment eliminates the requirement that the Department 
provide the claimant with an opportunity for a hearing prior to 
an initial determination concerning unemployment insurance 
(UI) fraud.  The initial adjudication of UI fraud will be handled 
in the same manner as other initial-adjudication issues.  (DAR 
NOTE: S.B. 83 is found at UT L 2000 Ch 60, and was 
effective May 1, 2000.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule amendment is 
necessary to comply with legislative changes which eliminated 
the requirement that the Department provide the claimant with 
an opportunity for a hearing prior to an initial determination 
concerning UI fraud. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsections 35A-4-406(2), 35A-4-406(3), 35A-4-
406(4), and 35A-4-406(5) 
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End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section 
 

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs associated with 
this change since the Department is already following this 
procedure. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does no apply to local 
government and therefore there are no costs or savings to 
local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs or savings 
associated with this amendment to any person.  The rule does 
not change the procedure, the statute which was passed in 
2000 did.  The rule and statute eliminate a step in the 
administrative process so there are no savings or costs to any 
person. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs or savings associated with this amendment 
for the affected persons.  This rule change is being made to 
make the rules consistent with legislation passed during the 
General Session of 2000.  Because the rule does not make 
the change and this change eliminates a step in the 
administrative process, there are no costs or savings to any 
affected person. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendment will have no 
impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 

THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and Payment 
Services. 
R994-406.  Appeal Procedures. 
R994-406-402.  Fraud. 
 (1)  When the Department has evidence of an overpayment 
resulting from the claimant's failure to properly report material 
information, the claimant will be notified of the issue, given an 
opportunity [for a hearing]to provide information concerning the issue, 
and told that payments are being held pending a decision.  In such 
circumstances, payment of benefits for claims currently in process may 
be held for up to two weeks pending [a hearing with regard to the issue 
of fraud or ]the issuance of a[n] fraud or overpayment decision.  Benefit 
payments which have not been paid for eligible weeks prior to the 
disqualification period under Subsection 35A-4-405(5), shall be used to 
reduce such an overpayment.  100% of the benefit check to which he is 
entitled will be used to reduce the overpayment. 
 (2)  The overpayment and penalties for fraud are established only 
when benefits have been denied under Subsection 35A-4-405(5).  The 
repayment amount is determined by Subsection 35A-4-405(5) and, 
following a decision, repayment must be made in cash before the 
claimant will be eligible to establish a waiting week credit or receive 
future benefit payments.  Therefore, the overpayment and penalties 
cannot be offset. 
 
KEY:  appellate procedures, jurisdiction, overpayments, 
unemployment compensation 
[April 5, 2001]2002 
Notice of Continuation May 23, 2002 
35A-4-406(2) 
35A-4-406(3) 
35A-4-406(4) 
35A-4-406(5) 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency 
to respond to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only 
those changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  
Additions made to the rule appear underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with 
brackets surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · ·) indicates that unaffected text was 
removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules 
will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print is available from the agency or from the 
Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
While a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE does not have a formal comment period, there is a 30-day waiting period during 
which interested parties may submit comments.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 
published in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends September 3, 2002.  At its option, the agency may hold public 
hearings. 
 
From the end of the waiting period through November 29, 2002, the agency may notify the Division of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor 
more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may 
file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Division of 
Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the 
process over. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-6 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code 
Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-5, R15-4-7, and R15-4-9. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-73 
Chiropractic Physician Practice Act 

Rules 
 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
DAR File No.:  24828 

Filed:  07/03/2002, 11:14 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  After a 
public hearing and further Division review, one substantive 
change is being made to Section R156-73-303b. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Subsection R156-73-
303b(2):  changed the amount of time a licensed chiropractic 
physician is responsible for maintaining competent records of 
completed continuing education from four to two years.  The 
amount of time was originally two years and in the rule 
amendment filing, the Division changed it to four years.  
However, it is now being returned to two years.  (DAR NOTE: 
 This change in proposed rule has been filed to make 
additional changes to a proposed amendment that was 
published in the June 1, 2002, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, 
on page 26.  Underlining in the rule below indicates text that 
has been added since the publication of the proposed rule 
mentioned above; strike-out indicates text that has been 
deleted.  You must view the change in proposed rule and the 
proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make this 
rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-73-101, and Subsections 58-1-106(1) and 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division does not anticipate any 
additional costs or savings associated with this change in 
proposed rule filing beyond those already identified in the 
original rule filing. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Proposed rule amendment does not 
apply to local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The Division anticipates no additional 
costs or savings associated with this change in proposed rule 
filing beyond those already identified in the original rule filing. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The Division 
anticipates no additional costs or savings associated with this 
change in proposed rule filing beyond those already identified 
in the original rule filing. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There appears to be no fiscal 
impact with the change in proposed rule, returning to the 
 
 

original requirement that continuing education records be 
maintained for two years.  Ted Boyer, Executive Director 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Daniel T. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6767, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dantjones@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-73.  Chiropractic Physician Practice Act Rules. 
R156-73-303b.  Continuing Education - Standards. 
 (1)  The standards for continuing education are as follows: 
 (a)  the content must be relevant to chiropractic practice and 
consistent with the laws and rules of this state; 
 (b)  the course must be under the sponsorship of or approved 
by: 
 (i)  a chiropractic college or university whose doctor of 
chiropractic program is accredited by the Council on Chiropractic 
Education, Inc.; 
 (ii)  a professional association or nonprofit organization 
representing a licensed profession whose program objectives relate 
to the practice of chiropractic; or 
 (iii)  the licensing agency of another state; 
 (c)  learning objectives must be reasonably and clearly stated; 
 (d)  teaching methods must be clearly stated and appropriate; 
 (e)  faculty must be qualified, both in experience and in 
teaching expertise; 
 (f)  documentation of attendance must be provided; and 
 (g)  there shall be no more than four clock hours related to 
chiropractic practice marketing or practice building. 
 (2)  A licensee shall be responsible for maintaining competent 
records of completed continuing education for a period of [four]two 
years after close of the two year period to which the records pertain. 
 (3)  The board may, after review, waive the continuing 
education requirements for a licensee presenting sufficient evidence 
of hardship or illness or other reason making it impossible or highly 
impractical for the licensee to attend or have attended a sufficient 
number of continuing education classes. 
 
KEY:  chiropractors, licensing, chiropractic physician 
2002 
Notice of Continuation July 5, 2001 
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58-73-101 
58-1-106(1) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-110-10 
Section IX, Control Measures for Area 

and Point Sources, Part A, Fine 
Particulate Matter 

 
NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 

DAR File No.:  24593 
Filed:  07/08/2002, 14:28 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  
Corrections and clarifications are made in the State 
Implementation Plan (SIP) in response to public comments. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Changes are made 
throughout the text of the SIP that is incorporated by reference 
under Section R307-110-10.  Small changes are made in 
response to public comments to clarify provisions in the 
original proposal.  In addition, comments about mobile source 
emissions led to re-running the computer modeling, making 
small changes in the attainment demonstrations for each of 
the monitored sites.  No changes are made in the emissions 
budget to demonstrate transportation conformity.  (DAR 
NOTE:  This change in proposed rule has been filed to make 
additional changes to a proposed amendment that was 
published in the April 1, 2002, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, 
on page 8.  Underlining in the rule below indicates text that 
has been added since the publication of the proposed rule 
mentioned above; strike-out indicates text that has been 
deleted.  You must view the change in proposed rule and the 
proposed amendment together to understand all of the 
changes that will be enforceable should the agency make this 
rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Section IX, Control Measures for Area 
and Point Sources, Part A, Fine Particulate Matter of the 
State Implementation Plan 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The changes are minor corrections and 
clarifications in the text of the SIP and do not affect costs and 
benefits to the state. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The changes are minor corrections 
and clarifications in the text of the SIP and do not affect costs 
and benefits to local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The changes are minor corrections and 
clarifications in the text of the SIP and do not affect costs and 
benefits to anyone. 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Compliance costs 
for affected persons are not affected by the minor corrections 
and clarifications in the SIP. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The changes in the SIP are 
minor corrections and clarifications and do not change 
anticipated costs for affected businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-110.  General Requirements:  State Implementation Plan. 
R307-110-10.  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and Point 
Sources, Part A, Fine Particulate Matter. 
 The Utah State Implementation Plan, Section IX, Control 
Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part A, Fine Particulate 
Matter, as most recently amended by the Utah Air Quality Board on 
[June 5, 2002]July 3, 2002, pursuant to Section 19-2-104, is hereby 
incorporated by reference and made a part of these rules. 
 
KEY:  air pollution,small business assistance program, 
particulate matter, ozone 
2002 
Notice of Continuation March 27, 2002 
19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-110-17 
Section IX, Control Measures for Area 
and Point Sources, Part H, Emission 

Limits 
 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
DAR File No.:  24592 

Filed:  07/08/2002, 14:26 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  There is 
no change in the text of the rule.  Corrections and 
clarifications are made in the State Implementation Plan 
(SIP) in response to public comments. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  There is no change in the 
text of the rule.  However, there are changes in the text of the 
SIP that is incorporated by reference under Section R307-
110-17.  For Geneva Rock Products, a new provision requires 
that an opacity observation of emissions from the asphalt 
plant be taken at least once every 12 months.  For Provo City 
Power, the required stack tests shall be used to update the 
emissions rate factors.  For Springville City's power plant, a 
clarification requires that compliance shall be determined 
using the total hours of operation for the 12-month period.  In 
response to public comments, the details of how Geneva 
Steel will demonstrate compliance with emission limits and 
other provisions are spelled out in greater detail.  These are 
not new requirements for the company, as they already are 
detailed in Geneva's permit and approval orders.  In addition, 
the text is restructured so that similar items are grouped 
together.  (DAR NOTE:  This change in proposed rule has 
been filed to make additional changes to a proposed 
amendment that was published in the April 1, 2002, issue of 
the Utah State Bulletin, on page 9.  Underlining in the rule 
below indicates text that has been added since the publication 
of the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates text 
that has been deleted.  You must view the change in 
proposed rule and the proposed amendment together to 
understand all of the changes that will be enforceable should 
the agency make this rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  Section IX, Control Measures for Area 
and Point Sources, Part H, Emission Limits of the State 
Implementation Plan 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The corrections and clarifications do not 
affect the costs or benefits to the state.  The additional 
requirements for Geneva Steel are not new requirements for 
the company, as they already are detailed in Geneva's permit 
and approval orders.  Thus, DAQ is already tracking 
compliance with these requirements and no new expense to 
the state is incurred by adding the requirements to the SIP. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The only affected local governments 
are Provo and Springville.  The corrections and clarifications 
in their emission limits do not change their costs or benefits. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  For Geneva Rock Products, the 
clarification in the emission limits does not change the 
company's costs or benefits.  For Geneva Steel, the additional 
requirements are not new requirements for the company, as 
they already are detailed in Geneva's permit and approval 
orders.  Including them in the SIP does not change the cost to 
the company. 
 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  For Geneva Rock 
Products, the clarification in the emission limits does not 
change the company's costs or benefits.  For Geneva Steel, 
the additional requirements are not new requirements for the 
company, as they already are detailed in Geneva's permit and 
approval orders.  Including them in the SIP does not change 
the cost to the company. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The changes are made in 
response to public comments and do not represent new 
requirements for the affected companies.  Thus, there is no 
change in costs for the companies. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-110.  General Requirements:  State Implementation Plan. 
R307-110-17.  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and Point 
Sources, Part H, Emissions Limits. 
 The Utah State Implementation Plan, Section IX, Control 
Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part H, Emissions Limits, as 
most recently amended by the Utah Air Quality Board on June 5, 
2002, pursuant to Section 19-2-104, is hereby incorporated by 
reference and made a part of these rules. 
 
KEY:  air pollution,small business assistance program, 
particulate matter, ozone 
2002 
Notice of Continuation March 27, 2002 
19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Labor Commission, Occupational 
Safety and Health 

R614-1-5 
Adoption and Extension of Established 
Federal Safety Standards and State of 

Utah General Safety Orders 
 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
DAR File No.:  24916 

Filed:  07/09/2002, 08:00 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
proposed changes expand the coverage of Utah's 
enforcement of 29 CFR 1910.119, Process Safety 
Management For Highly Hazardous Chemicals, to include 
blister agents: HT, HD, H, and Lewisite; and the nerve 
agents: GA and VX.  The failure to previously include the 
foregoing chemical warfare agents in Utah's enforcement of 
29 CFR 1910.119 was an oversight arising from the fact 
that these agents are not typical industrial chemicals.  
However, a small release of these lethal agents could 
produce catastrophic results.  The extension of Utah's 
enforcement of 29 CFR 1910.119 to include these agents 
will require management controls in the form of programs 
and procedures to prevent the occurrence of, and minimize 
the consequences of, releases of such agents. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed change 
expands the coverage of Utah's enforcement of the existing 
standards found in 29 CFR 1910.119 to include blister agents: 
HT, HD, H, and Lewisite; and the nerve agents: GA and VX.  
The change also applies the threshold quantity of 100 pounds 
currently found in 29 CFR 1910.119.  (DAR NOTE:  This 
change in proposed rule has been filed to make additional 
changes to a proposed amendment that was published in the 
July 1, 2002, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 105.  
Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has been 
added since the publication of the proposed rule mentioned 
above; strike-out indicates text that has been deleted.  You 
must view the change in proposed rule and the proposed 
amendment together to understand all of the changes that will 
be enforceable should the agency make this rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 34A, Chapter 6 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Because Occupational Safety and 
Health already administers 29 CFR 1910.119 with respect to 
other highly hazardous chemicals, there are no anticipated 
additional enforcement costs related to expansion of the 
coverage of 29 CFR 1910.119 to the specified blister agents 
and nerve agents.  Since the State does not store, handle, or 
dispose of the specified blister agents and nerve agents, the 
proposed change will produce no cost or savings to the State 
budget. 

❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because local governments do not 
store, handle, or dispose of the specified blister agents or 
nerve agents, the proposed change will have not cost or 
savings impact on local government budgets. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because the specified agents are not 
typical industrial hazardous chemicals, there should be 
minimal or no cost impact on other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It is anticipated 
that the proposed change will, in practice, have application 
only to a limited number of persons.  The affected persons 
already have trained personnel and programs in place to meet 
the requirements of 29 CFR 1910.119. The proposed 
amendment should not impose any additional compliance 
costs. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  As noted above, it is 
anticipated that the proposed change will, in practice, have 
application to only a few persons, which already have trained 
personnel and programs in place to meet 29 CFR 1910, and 
119's requirements.  The proposed amendment should  not 
impose any additional compliance costs on the affected 
persons and should not impact other businesses at all. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

LABOR COMMISSION 
OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
William Adams at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6897, by FAX at 801-530-7606, or by Internet E-mail at 
wadams@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 09/03/2002. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  09/04/2002 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  R Lee Ellertson, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R614.  Labor Commission, Occupational Safety and Health. 
R614-1.  General Provisions. 
R614-1-5.  Adoption and Extension of Established Federal 
Safety Standards and State of Utah General Safety Orders. 
 A.  Scope and Purpose. 
 1.  The provisions of this rule adopt and extend the applicability 
of: (1) established Federal Safety Standards, (2) R614, and (3) 
Workers' Compensation Coverage, as in effect July 1, 1973 and 
subsequent revisions, with respect to every employer, employee and 
employment within the boundaries of the State of Utah, covered by 
the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act of 1973. 
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 2.  All standards and rules including emergency and/or 
temporary, promulgated under the Federal Occupational Safety and 
Health Act of 1970 shall be accepted as part of the Standards, Rules 
and Regulations under the Utah Occupational Safety and Health Act 
of 1973, unless specifically revoked or deleted. 
 3.  All employers will provide workers' compensation benefits 
as required in Section 34A-2-201. 
 4.  Any person, firm, company, corporation or association 
employing minors must comply fully with all orders and standards 
of the Labor Division of the Commission. UOSH standards shall 
prevail in cases of conflict. 
 B.  Construction Work. 
 Federal Standards, 29 CFR 1926 and selected applicable 
sections of R614 are accepted covering every employer and place of 
employment of every employee engaged in construction work of: 
 1.  New construction and building; 
 2.  Remodeling, alteration and repair; 
 3.  Decorating and painting; 
 4.  Demolition; and 
 5.  Transmission and distribution lines and equipment erection, 
alteration, conversion or improvement. 
 C.  Reporting Requirements. 
 1.  Each employer shall investigate or cause to be investigated 
all work-related injuries and occupational diseases and any sudden 
or unusual occurrence or change of conditions that pose an unsafe or 
unhealthful exposure to employees. 
 2.  Each employer shall within 12 hours of occurrence, notify 
the Division of Utah Occupational Safety and Health of the 
Commission of any work-related fatalities, of any disabling, serious, 
or significant injury and of any occupational disease incident. Call 
(801) 530-6901 or one of the individuals on the following personnel 
list. 
 

TABLE 1 
 
         LABOR COMMISSION 
         DIVISION OF OCCUPATIONAL SAFETY AND HEALTH 
         BAGLEY, Jay W. (Administrator) 
         Kaysville, Utah 84037 
         543-1369 
         ADAMS, William W. Jr. 
         Park City, Utah 84060 
         649-4309 
 
         BURNS, Tori L. 
         Salt Lake City, Utah 84102 
         364-6673 
 
         ANDERSON, Neil A. 
         Kaysville, Utah  84037 
         544-2791 
 
         KING, Daniel L. 
         Lake Point, Utah 84074 
         250-6781 

 
 3.  Each employer shall file a report with the Commission 
within seven days after the occurrence of an injury or occupational 
disease, after the employer's first knowledge of the occurrence, or 
after the employee's notification of the same, on forms prescribed by 
the Commission, of any work-related fatality or any work-related 
injury or occupational disease resulting in medical treatment, loss of 
consciousness or loss of work, restriction of work, or transfer to 
another job. Each employer shall file a subsequent report with the 
Commission of any previously reported injury or occupational 
disease that later resulted in death. The subsequent report shall be 

filed with the Commission within seven days following the death or 
the employer's first knowledge or notification of the death. No report 
is required for minor injuries, such as cuts or scratches that require 
first-aid treatment only, unless the treating physician files, or is 
required to file the physician's initial report of work injury or 
occupational disease with the Commission. Also, no report is 
required for occupational diseases which manifest after the 
employee is no longer employed by the employer with which the 
exposure occurred, or where the employer is not aware of an 
exposure occasioned by the employment which results in an 
occupational disease as defined by Section 34A-3-103. 
 4.  Each employer shall provide the employee with a copy of 
the report submitted to the Commission. The employer shall also 
provide the employee with a statement, as prepared by the 
Commission, of his rights and responsibilities related to the 
industrial injury or occupational disease. 
 5.  Each employer shall maintain a record in a manner 
prescribed by the Commission of all work-related injuries and all 
occupational diseases resulting in medical treatment, loss of 
consciousness, loss of work, restriction of work, or transfer to 
another job. 
 6.  Tools, equipment, materials or other evidence that might 
pertain to the cause of such accident shall not be removed or 
destroyed until so authorized by the Labor Commission or one of its 
Compliance Officers. 
 7.  No person shall remove, displace, destroy, or carry away 
any safety devices or safeguards provided for use in any place of 
employment, or interfere in any way with the use thereof by other 
persons, or interfere in any method or process adopted for the 
protection of employees. No employee shall refuse or neglect to 
follow and obey reasonable orders that are issued for the protection 
of health, life, safety, and welfare of employees. 
 D.  Employer, Employee Responsibility. 
 1.  It shall be the duty and responsibility of any employee upon 
entering his or her place of employment, to examine carefully such 
working place and ascertain if the place is safe, if the tools and 
equipment can be used with safety, and if the work can be performed 
safely.  After such examination, it shall be the duty of the employee 
to make the place, tools, or equipment safe.  If this cannot be done, 
then it becomes his or her duty to immediately report the unsafe 
place, tools, equipment, or conditions to the foreman or supervisor. 
 2.  Employees must comply with all safety rules of their 
employer and with all the Rules and Regulations promulgated by 
UOSH which are applicable to their type of employment. 
 3.  Management shall inspect or designate a competent person 
or persons to inspect frequently for unsafe conditions and practices, 
defective equipment and materials, and where such conditions are 
found to take appropriate action to correct such conditions 
immediately. 
 4.  Supervisory personnel shall enforce safety regulations and 
issue such rules as may be necessary to safeguard the health and 
lives of employees.  They shall warn all employees of any dangerous 
condition and permit no one to work in an unsafe place, except for 
the purpose of making it safe. 
 E.  General Safety Requirements. 
 1.  Where there is a risk of injury from hair entanglement in 
moving parts of machinery, employees shall confine their hair to 
eliminate the hazard. 
 2.  Body protection:  Clothing which is appropriate for the work 
being done should be worn.  Loose sleeves, tails, ties, lapels, cuffs, 
or similar garments which can become entangled in moving 
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machinery shall not be worn where an entanglement hazard exists.  
Clothing saturated or impregnated with flammable liquids, corrosive 
substances, irritant, oxidizing agents or other toxic materials shall be 
removed and shall not be worn until properly cleaned. 
 3.  General.  Wrist watches, rings, or other jewelry shall not be 
worn on the job where they constitute a safety hazard. 
 4.  Safety Committees.  It is recommended that a safety 
committee comprised of management and employee representatives 
be established.  The committee or the individual member of the 
committee shall not assume the responsibility of management to 
maintain and conduct a safe operation.  The duties of the committee 
should be outlined by management, and may include such items as 
reviewing the use of safety apparel, recommending action to correct 
unsafe conditions, etc. 
 5.  No intoxicated person shall be allowed to go into or loiter 
around any operation where workers are employed. 
 6.  No employee shall carry intoxicating liquor into a place of 
employment, except that the place of employment shall be engaged 
in liquor business and this is a part of his assigned duties. 
 7.  Employees who do not understand or speak the English 
language shall not be assigned to any duty or place where the lack or 
partial lack of understanding or speaking English might adversely 
affect their safety or that of other employees. 
 8.  Good housekeeping is the first law of accident prevention 
and shall be a primary concern of all supervisors and workers.  An 
excessively littered or dirty work area will not be tolerated as it 
constitutes an unsafe, hazardous condition of employment. 
 9.  Emergency Posting Required. 
 a.  Good communications are necessary if a fire or disaster 
situation is to be adequately coped with.  A system for alerting and 
directing employees to safety is an essential step in a safety 
program. 
 b.  A list of telephone numbers or addresses as may be 
applicable shall be posted in a conspicuous place so the necessary 
help can be obtained in case of emergency.  This list shall include: 
 (1)  Responsible supervision (superintendent or equivalent) 
 (2)  Doctor 
 (3)  Hospital 
 (4)  Ambulance 
 (5)  Fire Department 
 (6)  Sheriff or Police 
 10.  Lockouts and Tagging. 
 a.  Where there is any possibility of machinery being started or 
electrical circuits being energized while repairs or maintenance work 
is being done, the electrical circuits shall be locked open and/or 
tagged and the employee in charge (the one who places the lock) 
shall keep the key until the job is completed or he is relieved from 
the job, such as by shift change or other assignment.  If it is expected 
that the job may be assigned to other workers, he may remove his 
lock provided the supervisor or other workers apply their lock and 
tag immediately.  Where there is danger of machinery being started 
or of steam or air creating a hazard to workers while repairs on 
maintenance work is being done, the employee in charge shall 
disconnect the lines or lock and tag the main valve closed or blank 
the line on all steam driven machinery, pressurized lines or lines 
connected to such equipment if they could create a hazard to 
workers. 

 b.  After tagging and lockout procedures have been applied, 
machinery, lines, and equipment shall be checked to insure that they 
cannot be operated. 
 c.  If locks and tags cannot be applied, conspicuous tags made 
of nonconducting material and plainly lettered, "EMPLOYEES 
WORKING" followed by the other appropriate wording, such as 
"Do not close this switch" shall be used. 
 d.  When in doubt as to procedure, the worker shall consult his 
supervisor concerning safe procedure. 
 11.  Safety-Type hooks shall be used wherever possible. 
 12.  Emergency Showers, Bubblers, and Eye Washers. 
 a.  Readily accessible, well marked, rapid action safety showers 
and eye wash facilities must be available in areas where strong acid, 
caustic or highly oxidizing or irritating chemicals are being handled. 
 (This is not applicable where first aid practices specifically preclude 
flushing with running water.) 
 b.  Showers should have deluge type heads, easily accessible, 
plainly marked and controlled by quick opening valves of the type 
that stay open.  The valve handle should be equipped with a pull 
chain, rope, etc., so the blinded employee will be able to more easily 
locate the valve control.  In addition, it is recommended that the 
floor platform be so constructed to actuate the quick opening valve.  
The shower should be capable of supplying large quantities of water 
under moderately high pressure.  Blankets should be located so as to 
be reasonably accessible to the shower area. 
 c.  All safety equipment should be inspected and tested at 
regular intervals, preferably daily and especially during freezing 
weather, to make sure it is in good working condition at all times. 
 13.  Grizzlies Over Chutes, Bins and Tank Openings. 
 a.  Employees shall be furnished with and be required to use 
approved type safety harnesses and shall be tied off securely so as to 
suspend him above the level of the product before entering any bin, 
chute or storage place containing material that might cave or run.  
Cleaning and barring down in such places shall be started from the 
top using only bars blunt on one end or having a ring type or D 
handhold. 
 b.  Employees shall not work on top of material stored or piled 
above chutes, drawholes or conveyor systems while material is 
being withdrawn unless protected. 
 c.  Chutes, bins, drawholes and similar openings shall be 
equipped with grizzlies or other safety devices that will prevent 
employees from falling into the openings. 
 d.  Bars for grizzly grids shall be so fitted that they will not 
loosen and slip out of place, and the operator shall not remove a bar 
temporarily to let large rocks through rather than to break them. 
 F.  All requirements of PSM Standard 29 CFR 1910.119 are 
hereby extended to include the blister agents, HT, HD, H, Lewisite, 
and the nerve agents, GA, VX[ to be disposed of at the Tooele 
Chemical Agent Disposal Facility (TOCDF)]. 
 
KEY:  safety 
2002 
34A-6 
 
▼ ▼ 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 
(1998). 
  
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-11a 
Cosmetologist/Barber, Esthetician, 
Electrologist, and Nail Technician 

Licensing Act Rules 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  25077 
FILED:  07/11/2002, 14:04 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 58, Chapter 11a, 
provides for the licensure of cosmetologist/barbers, 
estheticians, electrologists, and nail technicians.  Subsection 
58-1-106(1) provides that the Division may adopt and enforce 
rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-11a-201(3) 
provides that the Cosmetology/Barbering, Esthetics, 
Electrology, and Nail Technology Licensing Board's duties 
and responsibilities shall be in accordance with Section 58-1-
202.  Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides that one of the 
duties of each board is to recommend appropriate rules to the 
division director.  This rule was enacted to clarify the 
provisions of Title 58, Chapter 11a, with respect to 
cosmetologists/barbers, estheticians, electrologists, and nail 
technicians. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was 
enacted in August 1997, it has been amended two times.  The 
rule was amended in December 2000 as a result of changes 
made to Title 58, Chapter 11a, during the 2000 legislative 
 
 
 
 

 session.  Following a December 4, 2000, rule hearing, 
additional changes were identified with respect to on-the-job 
training internship and a change in proposed rule filing was 
filed.  No written comments were received by the Division as a 
result of this rule filing.  The amendments in this rule filing 
were made effective on March 6, 2001.  The rule was again 
amended in August 2001 as a result of additional statutory 
amendments being made during the 2001 legislative session 
to Title 58, Chapter 11a.  During a rule hearing on August 20, 
2001, minor nonsubstantive changes were identified. The 
Division filed a nonsubstantive filing on September 17, 2001.   
No written comments were received by the Division as a result 
of this rule filing.  The amendments in this rule filing were 
made effective September 17, 2001. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued as it clarifies the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 11a, 
with respect to cosmetologist/barbers, estheticians, 
electrologists, and nail technicians. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Daniel T. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6767, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dantjones@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/11/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-64 
Deception Detection Examiners 

Licensing Act Rules 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  25078 
FILED:  07/11/2002, 14:15 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 58, Chapter 64, 
provides for the licensure of deception detection examiners 
and deception detection interns.  Subsection 58-1-106(1) 
provides that the Division may adopt and enforce rules to 
administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-64-201(3) provides that 
the Deception Detection Examiners Board's duties and 
responsibilities shall be in accordance with Section 58-1-202.  
Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides that one of the duties of 
each board is to recommend appropriate rules to the division 
director.  This rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 
58, Chapter 64, with respect to deception detection examiners 
and interns. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was 
originally enacted in August 1997, no amendments have been 
filed or made to the rule.  Prior to the enactment of this rule, 
an April 2, 1997, rule hearing was conducted.  The Division 
did receive two written comments regarding the proposed rule 
filing.  A March 7, 1997, memorandum from Sgt. David Ball, 
Department of Public Safety, and an April 2, 1997, 
handwritten facsimile transmission from Lt. Frank Wall were 
received regarding the proposed rules.  Following the April 
1997 rule hearing, a change in proposed rule filing was made 
as a result of comments received during the rule hearing and 
the written comments received by the Division.  The new 
proposed rule and amendments made in the change in 
proposed rule filing were made effective on August 15, 1997.  
The Division has received no other written comments with 
respect to this rule since it was originally enacted. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued as it clarifies the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 64, 
with respect to deception detection examiners and interns. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Clyde Ormond at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6254, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
cormond@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/11/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Health, Health Care Financing, Medical 

Assistance Program 

R420-1 
Utah Medical Assistance Program 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  25086 

FILED:  07/12/2002, 15:21 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule is authorized under 
Section 26-18-10 which requires Utah to develop a medical 
assistance program for low income persons who are not 
eligible under the state plan for Medicaid under Title XIX of the 
Social Security Act or Medicare under Title XVIII of that act. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The most recent revision 
of this rule was made effective on July 2, 2002.  It transferred 
much of the statutory responsibility for providing a low income, 
program for non-Medicaid/Medicare persons to the new 
Primary Care Network (PCN) which went into effect on July 1, 
2002.  This change is so new that the division has received no 
written comments.  There were no written comments received 
since the last five-year review. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The revised Utah Medical  
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Assistance Program rule covers specialty care that is received 
during an authorized and donated hospital stay.  Retaining 
this small complimentary piece for donated inpatient hospital 
care provides a great additional benefit for enrollees in the 
PCN and should be continued. Utah's hospitals are to be 
commended for their willingness to continue to provide this 
donated care. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
MEDICAL ASSISTANCE PROGRAM 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ross Martin at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6592, 
by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
rmartin@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Rod Betit, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/12/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-122 
Permissible Arbitration Provisions 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  25081 

FILED:  07/12/2002, 12:14 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 31A-2-201(3) 
allows the commissioner to make rules to implement the 
provisions of Title 31A.  The purpose of the rule is to define 
the term "permissible arbitration" and to set guidelines upon 
which disclosure of a contract arbitration provision is to be 
made.  This is done in Sections R590-122-3 and R590-122-4 
of this rule. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received by this department in the past five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  It is important that this rule 
be continued in force to provide guidance to insurance 
companies about the type of arbitration provisions they may 

put into their policies.  These provisions provide steps to be 
taken by insureds who disagree with the settlement of their 
claims and would like to involve a third party in the settlement 
of their claim.  The rule gives the department the authority to 
make sure these provisions are fair and nondiscriminatory. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/12/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-149 
ADA Complaint Procedure Rule 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  25082 

FILED:  07/12/2002, 12:26 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule implements the 
provisions of Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act 
(ADA), 42 USC 12201.  The rule defines and publishes 
complaint procedures providing for prompt and equitable 
resolution of complaints filed in accordance with Title II. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received regarding this rule within the past five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  It is important that this rule 
be continued in effect to provide that no qualified individual 
with a disability, by reason of such disability, be excluded from 
participation in or the benefits of the services, programs, and 
activities of the Insurance Department.  The rule needs to 
remain in force so that the department will remain in 
compliance with the federal ADA. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/12/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-173 
Credit for Reinsurance 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  25083 

FILED:  07/12/2002, 12:43 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 31A-2-201 provides 
the commissioner with the authority to make rules to 
implement the provisions of Title 31A.  In this case, it is to set 
forth requirements the commissioner feels are necessary to 
carry out the provisions of Section 31A-17-404. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The department has not 
received any written comments regarding this rule in the past 
five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The rule provides protection 
to the ceding insurers within the state of Utah and also 
provides for protection of the individuals insured and should 
be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/12/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Money Management Council, 
Administration 

R628-2 
Investment of Funds of Member 

Institutions of the State System of 
Higher Education and Public Education 
Foundations established under Section 

53A-4-205 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  25075 
FILED:  07/10/2002, 12:22 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule is enacted under 
Subsection 51-7-13(2) which says that rules established by 
the Money Management Council will govern how these types 
of funds are invested.  Subsection 51-7-18(2)(b) gives the 
Council their rulemaking authority. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  There have been no 
written comments received either supporting or opposing this 
rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The Council reviewed the 
rule in its last meeting in June 2002.  Two universities and one 
public education foundation were in attendance.  They 
discussed the rule in detail and agreed that the rule needs to 
be in place to provide guidelines to the higher education 
institutions and public education foundations for investing 
longer term "permanent" money.  These types of funds have 
different objectives from general fund monies and therefore 
need a different criteria than that provided in the Money 
Management Act (Title 51, Chapter 7) for other funds.  Having 
this criteria in rule format allows the Council to be flexible to 
the potential for any changing needs these institutions may 
have and the rule should be continued. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

MONEY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 215 STATE CAPITOL 
350 N STATE ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1103, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ann Pedroza at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
1883, by FAX at 801-538-1465, or by Internet E-mail at 
apedroza@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Larry Richardson, Chair 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/10/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-14 
Commercial Harvesting of Protected 

Aquatic Wildlife 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  25080 
FILED:  07/12/2002, 09:53 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Under Sections 23-14-3, 23-
14-18, and 23-14-19, the Wildlife Board is authorized and 
required to regulate and prescribe the means by which wildlife 
may be taken. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Division of Wildlife 
Resources (DWR) and the Wildlife Board have received 
written comments indicating that this rule has evolved to 
incorporate concerns about preservation and protection of the 
brine shrimp resource, and has balanced the needs of the 
various commercial competitors involved.  Written comments 
are generally supportive of the rule commending DWR and 
the Wildlife Board for imposing a moratorium on the number of 
Certificates of Registration issued to limit harvest pressure, 
establish a seasonal harvest limit, closing the season when 
the harvest limits are met, and the commitment for further 
research on the Great Salt Lake.  DWR and the Wildlife Board 
have received several verbal comments during public 
meetings, both in support and opposition to Rule R657-14.    
Verbal comment received during the last five-year review 
specifically regarded brine shrimp harvesting methods, 
concerns over the salinity of the south arm of the lake and to 
take some kind of action concerning the culverts on the north 

arm, the culverts in the current causeway need to be modified 
or breached to meet their intended purpose, and general 
agreement and support of the rule.  DWR intends to propose a 
new rule to the Regional Advisory Councils and the Wildlife 
Board to remove the provisions regarding commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs from Rule 
R657-14 and incorporate those provisions into a new rule due 
to the recommendations of the brine shrimp industry.  Both 
written and verbal comments received opposing the rule are 
resolved using existing policies and procedures or the issue is 
placed on the Regional Advisory Council's and Wildlife 
Board's agenda for review and discussion during the review 
process for taking public input.  The public is welcome to view 
the Regional Advisory Council minutes, Wildlife Board 
minutes, and administrative record for this rule at the DWR. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Rule R657-14 provides the 
procedures, standards, and requirements for:  harvesting 
protected aquatic wildlife for use as fish bait; commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs; and seining 
protected wildlife.  The provisions adopted in this rule are 
effective.  Continuation of this rule is necessary for continued 
success for allowing harvesting of protected aquatic wildlife for 
use as fish bait and seining protected wildlife.  DWR intends to 
amend Rule R657-14 to clarify the procedures, standards, and 
requirements for harvesting protected aquatic wildlife for use 
as fish bait, and seining protected wildlife, except brine 
shrimp.  DWR intends to create a separate rule for providing 
the procedures, standards, and requirements for commercially 
harvesting brine shrimp and brine shrimp eggs.  (DAR NOTE: 
 The proposed amendments to Rule R657-14 is under DAR 
No. 25091 in this Bulletin; and the proposed new rule which 
will be R657-52 is under DAR No. 25090 in this Bulletin.) 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/12/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 

R657-44 
Big Game Depredation 
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FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  25070 
FILED:  07/03/2002, 09:39 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Under Sections 23-16-2, 23-
16-3, 23-16-3.5, and 23-16-4, the Wildlife Board is authorized 
and required to regulate and prescribe the means for 
assessing big game depredation, and provide mitigation 
procedures for big game depredation. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  The Division of Wildlife 
Resources (DWR) and the Wildlife Board have not received 
written comments, either in support or opposition to Rule 
R657-44.  DWR and the Wildlife Board have received minimal 
verbal comments during the public meetings in support of 
Rule R657-44.  Verbal comment received during the last five-
year review was not specific, but generally supported Rule 
R657-44.  Both written and verbal comments received 
opposing the rule are resolved using existing policies and 
procedures or the issue is placed on the Regional Advisory 
Council's and Wildlife Board's agenda for review and 
discussion during the review process for taking public input.  
The public is welcome to view the Regional Advisory Council 

minutes, Wildlife Board minutes, and administrative record for 
this rule at the DWR. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Rule R657-44 provides the 
procedures, standards, requirements, and limits for assessing 
big game depredation and mitigation procedures for big game 
depredation.  The procedures adopted in this rule have 
provided an effective and efficient process.  Continuation of 
this rule is necessary for continued success of the big game 
depredation program. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
WILDLIFE RESOURCES 
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debbie Sundell at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4707, by FAX at 801-538-4745, or by Internet E-mail at 
debbiesundell@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Conway, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  07/03/2002 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF FIVE-YEAR REVIEW EXTENSIONS 
  
 
Rulewriting agencies are required by law to review each of their administrative rules within five years of the date of 
the rule's original enactment or the date of last review (Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 (1996)).  If the agency finds that 
it will not meet the deadline for review of the rule (the five-year anniversary date), it may file an extension with the 
Division of Administrative Rules.  The extension permits the agency to file the review up to 120 days beyond the 
anniversary date. 
 
Agencies have filed extensions for the rules listed below.  The "Extended Due Date" is 120 days after the 
anniversary date.  The five-year review extension is governed by Utah Code Subsection 63-46a-9(4) and (5) (1996). 
  
 
 
 
Commerce 
 Securities 
  No. 25068 (filed 07/02/2002 at 6:42 p.m.):  R164-13.  Definitions. 
  Enacted or Last Five-Year Review:  07/03/97  (No. 19259, filed 05/15/97 at 4:46 p.m., publised 06/01/97) 
  Extended Due Date:  10/01/2002 
 

 
 

End of the Notices of Five-Year Review Extensions Section 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  These effective dates are at least 31 days and not more than 120 days after the date the 
following rules were published.  
 
 
Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Administrative Services 

Finance 
No. 24844 (AMD): R25-6.  Relocation Reimbursement. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 
No. 24843 (AMD): R25-7.  Travel-Related 
Reimbursements for State Employees. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 
 

Commerce 
Administration 

No. 24860 (AMD): R151-2.  Government Records 
Access and Management Act Rules. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 
No. 24862 (AMD): R151-46b.  Department of 
Commerce Administrative Procedures Act Rules. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
No. 24818 (AMD): R156-26a-307.  Reinstatement of 
Licenses. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 3, 2002 
 
No. 24822 (AMD): R156-38.  Residence Lien 
Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Rules. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 3, 2002 
 
 

Corrections 
Administration 

No. 24826 (AMD): R251-305.  Visiting at Community 
Correctional Centers. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 8, 2002 
 
 

Environmental Quality 
Water Quality 

No. 24664 (AMD): R317-10.  Certification of 
Wastewater Work Operators. 
Published:  April 15, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24804 (AMD): R317-100.  Utah State Project 
Priority System for the Utah Wastewater Project 
Assistance Program. 
Published:  May 15, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
 

Health 
Children's Health Insurance Program 

No. 24488 (CPR): R382-10.  Eligibility. 
Published:  May 15, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 

Epidemiology and Laboratory Services, Epidemiology 
No. 24820 (AMD): R386-800.  Immunization 
Coordination. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 8, 2002 
 

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement 
Policy 

No. 24834 (AMD): R414-303.  Coverage Groups. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 
No. 24861 (AMD): R414-304.  Income and Budgeting. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 
No. 24864 (REP): R414-309.  Utah Medical Assistance 
Program (UMAP). 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 

Health Care Financing, Medical Assistance Program 
No. 24863 (AMD): R420-1.  Utah Medical Assistance 
Program. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
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Human Resource Management 
Administration 

No. 24845 (AMD): R477-1.  Definitions. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24846 (AMD): R477-2.  Administration. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24847 (REP): R477-3.  Control of Personal Service 
Expenditures. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24848 (AMD): R477-4  (Changed to R477-3).  
Classification. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24849 (AMD): R477-5 (Changed to R477-4).  
Filling Positions. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24850 (AMD): R477-6 (Changed to R477-5).  
Employee Status and Probation. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24858 (AMD): R477-7 (Changed to R477-6).  
Compensation. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24851 (NEW): R477-7.  Leave. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24852 (AMD): R477-8.  Working Conditions. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24853 (AMD): R477-9.  Employee Conduct. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24854 (AMD): R477-10.  Employee Development. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24855 (AMD): R477-11.  Discipline. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
No. 24856 (AMD): R477-12.  Separations. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 

No. 24857 (AMD): R477-14.  Substance Abuse and 
Drug-Free Workplace. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 5, 2002 
 
 

Human Services 
Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing 

No. 24519 (AMD): R501-12-8.  Safety. 
Published:  March 15, 2002 
Effective:  July 12, 2002 
 

Child and Family Services 
No. 24831 (AMD): R512-43.  Adoption Assistance. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 11, 2002 
 

Mental Health 
No. 24835 (AMD): R523-1-15.  Funding Formula. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 2, 2002 
 
 

Insurance 
Administration 

No. 24827 (AMD): R590-212.  Requirements for 
Interest Bearing Accounts Used by Title Insurance 
Agencies for Trust Fund Deposits. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 12, 2002 
 
 

Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 

No. 24839 (AMD): R657-2.  Adjudicative Proceedings. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 3, 2002 
 
No. 24838 (AMD): R657-5.  Taking Big Game. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 3, 2002 
 
No. 24837 (AMD): R657-29.  Government Records 
Access Management Act. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 3, 2002 
 
No. 24836 (AMD): R657-42.  Accepted Payment of 
Fees, Late Fees, Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 
Reallocation of Licenses, Certificates of Registration 
and Permits. 
Published:  June 1, 2002 
Effective:  July 3, 2002 
 
 

Regents (Board Of) 
University of Utah, Parking and Transportation Services 

No. 24505 (AMD): R810-2.  Parking Meters. 
Published:  March 15, 2002 
Effective:  July 10, 2002 
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RULES INDEX 
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 

AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)  

 
The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules.  The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 2, 2002, including notices of effective date received through July 
15, 2002, the effective dates of which are no later than August 1, 2002.  The Rules Index is published in the Utah 
State Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes.  Nonsubstantive changes, while not published in the Bulletin, do 
become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) 
rules that do not become part of the Code.  The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and Keyword 
(Subject). 
 
DAR NOTE:  Due to publication constraints, neither Index is included in this Bulletin. 
 
A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules  (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/). 
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