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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between January 16, 2004, 12:00 a.m., and February 2, 
2004, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the February 15, 2004, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · 
·) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the 
Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is 
available from the filing agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least March 16, 2004.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63-46a-5 
(1987) requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the publication date of the 
PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through June 14, 2004, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than 31 days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the 
Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-4 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-2, 
and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Commerce, Consumer Protection 

R152-34 
Postsecondary Proprietary School Act 

Rules 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26905 
FILED:  01/16/2004, 12:37 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the rule change is to correct omissions and 
mistakes made when the rule was drafted to replace Rule 
R765-171 when the legislature moved enforcement of the 
Postsecondary Proprietary School act from the State Board of 
Regents to Utah State Division of Consumer Protection.  The 
amendment also makes changes which will assist the Division 
in its enforcement duties of the Act.  (DAR NOTE:  The 
original proposed new rule of R152-34 was published in the 
July 1, 2002, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, and was 
effective August 26, 2002.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The change:  amends 
Section R152-34-4 by adding language which will insure that if 
an offered program is to prepare students for entry into fields 
of employment which require licensure by any licensing 
agency, the requirements of said agency will be met by the 
program; amends Subsection R152-34-6(1)(k) to delete 
unnecessary language to make subsection consistent with the 
rest of the amended rule; amends Subsection R152-34-7(1)(3) 
by adding language which was accidentally omitted when the 
rule was proposed which clarified issues regarding the 
operation and transfer of ownership of Proprietary Schools 
and renumbers subsections to make numbering consistent 
with amendments; amends Subsections R152-34-7(9) and 
(10), renumbered as (11) and (12), to increase the surety that 
the operator of a Postsecondary Proprietary School is 
required to file with the Division; amends Subsections R152-
34-8(3)(b),(c), and (f) to change and clarify allowed tuition 
payment plans; amends Subsection R152-34-8(7)(g) to clarify 
disclaimer statements required in a school's catalog, student 
information bulletin and enrollment agreements; and amends 
Subsection R152-34-9(3) by changing the time, and under 
what circumstances, the Division shall hold a surety after the 
date that the institution has terminated operations. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 13, Chapter 34 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  This change will have no anticipated 
impact on the State budget because it will not alter the 
Division's enforcement activities. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This change will cause no anticipated 
cost or savings to local governments because the activities 
regulated by the Statute have no impact on local 
governments. 

❖   OTHER PERSONS:  These amendments will increase the 
surety required under the Act, however there is no reliable 
way of determining how much more Proprietary School 
operators as a whole will be required to pay for the additional 
surety because the cost of a surety is figured based on each 
individual operator's financial strength and ability to secure an 
irrevocable line of credit.  For some operators, there will be no 
additional cost involved.  For others, the additional cost could 
be substantial. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  These 
amendments will increase the surety required under the Act, 
however there is no reliable way of determining how much 
more Proprietary School operators  will be required to pay for 
the additional surety because the cost of a surety is figured 
based on each individual operator's financial strength and 
ability to secure an irrevocable line of credit.  For some 
operators, there will be no additional cost involved.  For 
others, the additional cost could be substantial. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  These amendments will 
increase the surety required under the Act, however there is 
no reliable way of determining how much more Proprietary 
School operators as a whole will be required to pay for the 
additional surety because the cost of a surety is figured based 
on each individual operator's financial strength and ability to 
secure an irrevocable line of credit.  For some operators, there 
will be no additional cost involved.  For others, the additional 
cost could be substantial. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
CONSUMER PROTECTION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Douglas Haymore at the above address, by phone at 801-
530-6929, by FAX at 801-530-6001, or by Internet E-mail at 
dhaymore@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Francine Giani, Director 
 
 
 
R152.  Commerce, Consumer Protection. 
R152-34.  Postsecondary Proprietary School Act Rules. 
R152-34-4.  Rules Relating to the Responsibilities of Proprietary 
Schools as Outlined in Section 13-34-104. 
 (1)  In order to be able to award a degree or certificate, a 
proprietary school must meet the following general criteria: 
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 (a)  Its program must meet the following generally accepted 
minimum number of semester/quarter credit hours required to 
complete a standard college degree: associate, 60/90; bachelor's, 
120/180; master's, 150/225; and doctorate, approximately 200/300. 
 (b)  The areas of study, the methods of instruction, and the level 
of effort required of the student for a degree or certificate must be 
commensurate with reasonable standards established by recognized 
accrediting agencies and associations. 
 (c)  In order for the proprietary school to award a degree or 
certificate, the faculty must be academically prepared in the area of 
emphasis at the appropriate level, or as to vocational-technical 
programs, must have equivalent job expertise based on reasonable 
standards established by recognized accrediting agencies and 
associations.  This notwithstanding, credit may be awarded toward 
degree completion based on (1) transfer of credit from other 
accredited and recognized institutions, (2) recognized proficiency 
exams (CLEP, AP, etc.), and (3) in-service competencies as 
evaluated and recommended by recognized national associations 
such as the American Council on Education.  Such credit for 
personal experiences shall be limited to not more than one year's 
worth of work (30 semester credit hours/45 quarter credit hours). 
 (d)  In order to offer a program of study, either degree or non-
degree, it must be of such a nature and quality as to make reasonable 
the student's expectation of some advantage in enhancing or 
pursuing employment, as opposed to a general education or non-
vocational program which is excluded from registration under 13-
34-105(g). 
 (i)  If the purpose of an offered program of study is to prepare 
students for entry into fields of employment which require licensure 
by any licensing agency or to prepare students for entry into fields of 
employment for which it would be impracticable to have reasonable 
expectations of employment without accreditation and/or 
certification by any trade and/or industry association and/or 
accrediting and/or certifying body, the entity offering, or desiring to 
offer, the program of study must provide the Division: 
 (A)  information regarding the type of license, accreditation 
and/or certification that students completing the program of study 
must obtain in order to have a reasonable expectation of 
employment; 
 (B)  the name and contact information of the agency, trade 
and/or industry association and/or accrediting and/or certifying 
body; 
 (C)  evidence that the curriculum for the offered program of 
study has been reviewed by the appropriate entity from 
subsection(B) above; and, 
 (D)  evidence that the instructors teaching students enrolled in 
the program of study are licensed by the appropriate agency from 
subsection (B) above, or have earned the accreditation and/or 
certification from the appropriate entity from subsection (B) above 
to teach and/or practice in the field for which the students are being 
prepared. 
 (2)  The faculty member shall assign work, set standards of 
accomplishment, measure the student's ability to perform the 
assigned tasks, provide information back to the student as to his or 
her strengths and deficiencies, and as appropriate, provide 
counseling, advice, and further assignments to enhance the student's 
learning experience.  This requirement does not preclude the use of 
computer assisted instruction or programmed learning techniques 
when appropriately supervised by a qualified faculty member. 
 (3)  As appropriate to the program or course of study to be 
pursued, the proprietary school shall evaluate the prospective 

student's experience, background, and ability to succeed in that 
program through review of educational records and transcripts, tests 
or examinations, interviews, and counseling.  This evaluation shall 
include a finding that the prospective student (1) is beyond the age 
of compulsory high school attendance, as prescribed by Utah law; 
and (2) has received either a high school diploma or a General 
Education Development certificate, or has satisfactorily completed a 
national or industry developed competency-based test or an entrance 
examination that establishes the individual's ability to benefit.  
Based on this evaluation, before admitting the prospective student to 
the program, the institution must have a reasonable expectation that 
the student can successfully complete the program, and that if he or 
she does so complete, that there is a reasonable expectation that he 
or she will be qualified and be able to find appropriate employment 
based on the skills acquired through the program. 
 (4)  Each proprietary school shall prepare for the use of 
prospective students and other interested persons a catalog or 
general information bulletin that contains the following information: 
 (a)  The legal name, address, and telephone number of the 
institution, also any branches and/or extension locations; 
 (b)  The date of issue; 
 (c)  The names, titles, and qualifications of administrators and 
faculty; 
 (d)  The calendar, including scheduled state and federal 
holidays, recess periods, and dates for enrollment, registration, start 
of classes, withdrawal and completion; 
 (e)  The admission and enrollment prerequisites, both 
institutional and programmatic, as provided in R152-34-8(1); 
 (f)  The policies regarding student conduct, discipline, and 
probation for deficiencies in academics and behavior; 
 (g)  The policies regarding attendance and absence, and any 
provision for make-up of assignments; 
 (h)  The policies regarding dismissal and/or interruption of 
training and of reentry; 
 (i)  The policies explaining or describing the records that are to 
be maintained by the institution, including transcripts; 
 (j)  The policies explaining any credit granted for previous 
education and experience; 
 (k)  The policies explaining the grading system, including 
standards of progress required; 
 (l)  The policies explaining the provision to students of interim 
grade or performance reports; 
 (m)  The graduation requirements and the credential awarded 
upon satisfactory completion of a program; 
 (n)  The schedule of tuition, any other fees, books, supplies and 
tools; 
 (o)  The policies regarding refunds of any unused charges 
collected as provided in R152-34-8(3); 
 (p)  The student assistance available, including scholarships and 
loans. 
 (q)  The name, description, and length of each program offered, 
including a subject outline with course titles and approximate 
number of credit or clock hours devoted to each course; 
 (r)  The placement services available and any variation by 
program; 
 (s)  The facilities and equipment available; 
 (t)  An explanation of whether and to what extent that the credit 
hours earned by the student are transferable to other institutions; and 
 (u)  Such other information as the division may reasonable 
require from time to time. 
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R152-34-6.  Rules Relating to the Registration Statement 
Required under Section 13-34-106. 
 (1)  The registration statement application shall provide the 
following information and statements made under oath: 
 (a)  The institution's name, address, and telephone number; 
 (b)  The names of all persons involved in the operation of the 
institution and a stipulation that the resumes are on file at the 
institution and available to the students. 
 (c)  The name of the agent authorized to respond to students 
inquiries if the registrant is a branch institution whose parent is 
located outside of the state of Utah; 
 (d)  A statement that its articles of incorporation have been 
registered and accepted by the Utah Department of Commerce, 
Division of Corporations and Commercial Code and that it has a 
local business license, if required; 
 (e)  A statement that its facilities, equipment, and materials 
meet minimum standards for the training and assistance necessary to 
prepare students for employment; 
 (f)  A statement that it maintains accurate attendance records, 
progress and grade reports, and information on tuition and fee 
payments appropriately accessible to students; 
 (g)  A statement that its maintenance and operation is in 
compliance with all ordinances, laws, and codes relative to the 
safety and health of all persons upon the premises; 
 (h)  A statement that there is sufficient student interest in Utah 
for the courses that it provides and that there is reasonable 
employment potential in those areas of study in which credentials 
will be awarded; 
 (i)  If the registration statement is filed pursuant to Section 13-
34-107(3)(b), a detailed description of any material modifications to 
be made in the institution's operations, identification of those 
programs that are offered in whole or in part in Utah and a statement 
of whether the student can complete his or her program without 
having to take residence at the parent campus; and 
 (j)  A statement that it maintains adequate insurance 
continuously in force to protect its assets. 
 (k)  A [D]disclosure as required by R152-34-7(1).[ of whether 
the institution, or any owner, administrator, faculty, staff, or agent of 
the institution has violated laws, federal regulations or state rules as 
determined in a criminal, civil or administrative proceeding.] 
 (l)  If the registrant is a correspondence institution, whether 
located within or without the state of Utah, a demonstration that the 
institution's educational objectives can be achieved through home 
study; that its programs, instructional material, and methods are 
sufficiently comprehensive, accurate, and up-to-date to meet the 
announced institutional course and program objectives; that it 
provides adequate interaction between the student and instructor, 
through the submission and correction of lessons, assignments, 
examinations, and such other methods as are recognized as 
characteristic of this particular learning technique; and that any 
degrees and certificates earned through correspondence study meet 
the requirements and criteria of R152-34-4(1). 
 (2)  The institution shall provide with its registration statement 
application copies of the following documents: 
 (a)  A sample of the credential(s) awarded upon completion of a 
program; 
 (b)  A sample of current advertising including radio, television, 
newspaper and magazine advertisements, and listings in telephone 
directories; 
 (c)  A copy of the student enrollment agreement; and 

 (d)  A financial statement, as described in R152-34-7(5) and 
Section 13-34-107(6). 
 (3)  If any information contained in the registration statement 
application becomes incorrect or incomplete, the registrant shall, 
within thirty (30) days after the information becomes incorrect or 
incomplete, correct the application or file the complete information 
as required by the division. 
 (4)  An institution ceasing its operations shall immediately 
inform the division and provide the division with student records in 
accordance with Section 13-34-109. 
 
R152-34-7.  Rules Relating to the Operation of Proprietary 
Schools under Section 13-34-107. 
 (1)  An authorized officer of the institution to be registered 
under this chapter shall sign a disclosure as to whether the institution 
or an owner, administrator, faculty, staff, or agent of the institution 
has violated laws, federal regulations or state rules as determined in 
a criminal, civil or administrative proceeding. 
 (2)  The division shall refuse to register an institution when it 
determines that the institution or an owner, administrator, faculty, 
staff, or agent of the institution has violated laws, federal regulations 
or state rules, as determined in a criminal, civil or administrative 
proceeding, and the division determines the violation(s) to be 
relevant to the appropriate operation of the school and has a 
reasonable doubt that the institution will function in accordance with 
these laws and rules or provide students with an appropriate learning 
experience. 
 [(1)](3)  A change in the ownership of an institution, as defined 
in Section 13-34-103(8), occurs when there is a merger or change in 
the controlling interest of the entity or if there is a transfer of more 
than 50 percent of the its assets within a three-year period.  When 
this occurs the following information is submitted to the division for 
its review: 
 (a)  a copy of any new articles of incorporation; 
 (b)  a current financial statement, as outlined in section (8) 
below; 
 (c)  a listing of all institutional personnel that have changed as a 
result of the ownership transaction, together with complete resumes 
and qualifications; 
 (d)  a detailed description of any material modifications to be 
made in the operation of the institution; and 
 (e)  payment of the appropriate fee. 
 (i)  The division collects the following fees in accordance with 
U.C.A. Subsection 13-34-107(5): 
 (A)  Initial registration application fees will be based on the 
expected gross income of the registered program during the first 
year of operation.  The initial application fee shall be computed as 
one-half of one percent of the gross tuition income of the registered 
program(s) expected during the first year, but not less than $100 or 
more than $2,000.  The institution shall provide documentation to 
substantiate the amount of the fee, in a form specified by the 
division. 
 (B)  The division also collects annual registration fees 
computed as one-half of one percent of the gross tuition income of 
the registered program(s) during the previous year, but not less than 
$100 or more than $2,000.  The institution shall provide 
documentation to substantiate the amount of the fee, in a form 
specified by the division.  The annual registration fee is due on the 
anniversary date of the institution's certificate of registration. 
 (C)  All registration fees collected by the division will be used 
to enhance the administration of the Act and Rules. 
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 [(2)](4)  The institution shall submit to the division its renewal 
registration statement application, along with the appropriate fee, no 
later than thirty (30) days prior to the expiration date of the current 
certificate of registration. 
 [(3)](5)  In addition to the annual registration fee, an institution 
failing to file a renewal registration application by the due date or 
filing an incomplete registration application or renewal shall pay an 
additional fee of $25 for each month or part of a month after the date 
on which the registration statement application or renewal were due 
to be filed. 
 [(4)](6)  Within thirty (30) days after receipt of an initial or 
renewal registration statement application and its attachments, the 
division shall do one of the following:  (1) issue a certificate of 
registration; (2) request further information and, if needed, conduct a 
site visit to the institution as detailed in R152-34-11(1); or (3) refuse 
to accept the registration statement based on Sections 13-34-107 and 
113. 
 [(5)](7)  Although a certificate of registration is valid for two 
(2) years, the division may periodically request updates of financial 
statements, surety requirements and the following statistical 
information: 
 (a)  The number of students enrolled from September 1 through 
August 31; 
 (b)  The number of students who completed and received a 
credential; 
 (c)  The number of students who terminated or withdrew; 
 (d)  The number of administrators, faculty, supporting staff, and 
agents; and 
 (e)  The new catalog, information bulletin, or supplements. 
 [(6)](8)  The institution must have, in addition to other criteria 
contained in this rule, sufficient financial resources to fulfill its 
commitments to students and staff members, and to meet its other 
obligations as evidenced by the following financial statements: 
 (a)  A current financial statement prepared in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles including a balance sheet 
and an income statement for the most recent fiscal year with all 
applicable footnotes; 
 (b)  Pro forma financial statements until actual information is 
available when an institution has not operated long enough to 
complete a fiscal year; and/or 
 (c)  A certified fiscal audit of its operations or such other 
documentation of financial status as may be required by the 
[board]division. 
 [(7)](9)  A satisfactory bond, certificate of deposit, or 
irrevocable letter of credit must be provided by the institution before 
a certificate of registration will be issued by the division.  The 
obligation of the surety will be that the institution, its officers, 
agents, and employees will (1) faithfully perform the terms and 
conditions of contracts for tuition and other instructional fees 
entered into between the institution and persons enrolling as 
students, and (2) conform to the provisions of the Utah 
Postsecondary Proprietary School Act and Rules.  The bond, 
certificate of deposit, or letter of credit must be in a form approved 
by the division and issued by a company authorized to do such 
business in Utah.  The bond must be payable to the division to be 
used for creating teach-out opportunities or for refunding tuition, 
book fees, supply fees, equipment fees, and other instructional fees 
paid by a student or potential student, enrollee, or his or her parent 
or guardian. 
 [(8)](10)  The bond company may not be relieved of liability on 
the bond unless it gives the institution and the division ninety 

calendar days notice by certified mail of the company's intent to 
cancel the bond.  The cancellation or discontinuance of bond 
coverage after such notice does not discharge or otherwise affect any 
claim filed by a student, enrollee or his/her parent or guardian for 
damage resulting from any act of the institution alleged to have 
occurred while the bond was in effect, or for an institution's ceasing 
operations during the term for which tuition had been paid while the 
bond was in force.  If at any time the company that issued the bond 
cancels or discontinues the coverage, the institution's registration is 
revoked as a matter of law on the effective date of the cancellation 
or discontinuance of bond coverage unless a replacement bond is 
obtained and provided to the division. 
 [(9)](11)  Before an original registration is issued, the 
institution shall secure and submit to the division a bond, certificate 
of deposit or letter of credit in an amount of one hundred and eighty-
seven thousand, five-hundred[seventy-five thousand] dollars 
($187,500)[($75,000)] for schools expecting to enroll more than 100 
separate individual students (non-duplicated enrollments) during the 
first year of operation, one hundred and twenty-five[fifty] thousand 
dollars ($125,000)[($50,000)] for schools expecting to enroll 
between 50 and 99 separate individual students during the first year, 
and sixty-two thousand, five-hundred[twenty-five thousand] dollars 
($62,500)[($25,000)] for institutions expecting to enroll less than 50 
separate individual students during the first year.  Institutions that 
submit evidence acceptable to the division that the school's gross 
tuition income from any source during the first year will be less than 
twenty-five[ten] thousand dollars ($25,000)[($10,000)] may provide 
a bond of twelve thousand, five hundred[thousand] dollars 
($12,500)[($5,000)] for the first year of operation. 
 [(10)](12)  The minimum amount of the required surety to be 
submitted annually after the first year of operation will be based on 
twenty-five[ten] percent of the annual gross tuition income from 
registered program(s) for the previous year (rounded to the nearest 
$1,000[.00]), with a minimum bond amount of twelve thousand, five 
hundred[thousand] dollars ($12,500)[($5,000)] and a maximum 
bond amount of one hundred and eighty-seven thousand, five-
hundred[seventy-five thousand] dollars ($187,500)[($75,000)].  The 
surety must be renewed each year by the anniversary date of the 
school's certificate of registration, and also included as a part of each 
two-year application for registration renewal.  No additional 
programs may be offered without appropriate adjustment to the bond 
amount. 
 [(11)](13)  The institution shall provide a statement by a school 
official regarding the calculation of gross tuition income and written 
evidence confirming that the amount of the bond meets the 
requirements of this rule.  The division may require that such 
statement be verified by an independent certified public accountant 
if the division determines that the written evidence confirming the 
amount of the bond is questionable. 
 [(12)](14)  An institution with a total cost per program of five 
hundred dollars or less or a length of each such program of less than 
one month shall not be required to have a bond. 
 [(13)](15)  The division will not register a program at a 
proprietary school if it determines that the educational credential 
associated with the program may be interpreted by employers and 
the public to represent the undertaking or completion of educational 
achievement that has not been undertaken and earned. 
 [(14)](16)  Acceptance of registration statements and the 
issuing of certificates of registration to operate a school signifies that 
the legal requirements prescribed by statute and regulations have 
been satisfied.  It does not mean that the division supervises, 
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recommends, nor accredits institutions whose statements are on file 
and who have been issued certificates of registration to operate. 
 
R152-34-8.  Rules Relating to Fair and Ethical Practices Set 
Forth in Section 13-34-108. 
 (1)  An institution, as part of its assessment for enrollment, 
shall consider the applicant's basic skills, aptitude, and physical 
qualifications, as these relate to the choice of program and to 
anticipated employment and shall not admit a student to a program 
unless there is a reasonable expectation that the student will succeed, 
as prescribed by R152-34-4(3). 
 (2)  Financial dealings with students shall reflect standards of 
ethical practice. 
 (3)  The institution shall adopt a fair and equitable refund 
policy including: 
 (a)  A three-business-day cooling-off period, commencing with 
the day an enrollment agreement with the applicant is signed or an 
initial deposit or payment toward tuition and fees of the institution is 
made, until midnight of the third business day following such date or 
from the date that the student first visits the institution, whichever is 
later, shall be applicable and during this time the contract may be 
rescinded by the student and all money paid refunded. 
 (b)  A student enrolled in a correspondence institution[for non-
traditional instruction] may withdraw from enrollment following the 
cooling off period, prior to submission by the student of any lesson 
materials or [within a ten-day review period after]prior to receipt of 
course materials, whichever comes first, and effective upon deposit 
of a written statement of withdrawal for delivery by mail or other 
means, and the institution shall be entitled to retain no more than 
$200 in tuition or fees as registration charges or an alternative 
amount that the institution can demonstrate to have been expended 
in preparation for that particular student's enrollment. 
 (c)  A clear and unambiguous written statement of the 
institution's refund policy for student's who desire a refund  [A]after 
the three-business-day cooling-off period or after a student enrolled 
in a correspondence institution[for non-traditional instruction] has 
submitted lesson materials or been in receipt of course materials.[ 
for a period of ten days, the withdrawn or dismissed student shall be 
refunded, within thirty days of his/her discontinuing, a percentage of 
all tuition paid over and above a nonrefundable registration fee not 
to exceed $200 or an alternative amount that the institution can 
demonstrate to have been expended in undertaking that particular 
student's instruction.  The balance due the student, over and above 
the nonrefundable registration fee will be calculated using the 
following schedule: 
 

TABLE 
 
Date of Withdrawal as a Percent        Portion of Tuition and Fees 
of the Enrollment Period for           Obligated and Paid that are 
Which the Student was Obligated        Eligible to be Retained by 
                                       the Institution 
Within 1st 10%                                    10% 
Within 2nd 10%                                    25% 
Within 3rd 10%                                    40% 
Within 4th 10%                                    55% 
Within 5th 10%                                    70% 
Within 6th 10%                                   100% 

] 
 (d)  There shall be a written enrollment agreement, to be signed 
by the student and a representative of the institution, that clearly 
describes the cooling-off period, nonrefundable registration fee, and 
refund policy and schedule, including the rights of both the student 
and the institution, with copies provided to each, and 

 (e)  There shall be complete written information on repayment 
obligations to all applicants for financial assistance before an 
applicant student assumes such responsibilities. 
 (f)  A pay-as-you-learn payment schedule that limits a student's 
prospective contractual obligation(s),at any one time,to the 
institution for[the collection of prepaid or unearned ] tuition and fees 
to three[six] months of training, plus registration or start-up costs not 
to exceed $200 or an alternative amount that the institution can 
demonstrate to have spent in undertaking a student's instruction. 
 (4)  Following the satisfactory completion of his or her training 
and education, a student is provided with appropriate educational 
credentials that show the program in which he or she was enrolled, 
together with a transcript of courses completed and grades or other 
performance evaluations received. 
 (5)  No institution shall use the designation of 'college' nor 
'university' in its title nor in conjunction with its operation unless it 
actually confers a standard college degree as one of its credentials, 
unless the use of such designation had previously been approved by 
the Board of Regents prior to July 1, 2002. 
 (6)  The name of the institution shall not contain any reference 
that could mislead potential students or the general public as to the 
type or nature of its educational services, affiliations or structure. 
 (7)  Advertising standards consist of the following: 
 (a)  The institution's chief administrative officer assumes all 
responsibility for the content of public statements made on behalf of 
the institution and shall instruct all personnel, including agents, as to 
this rule and other appropriate laws regarding the ethics of 
advertisement and recruitment; 
 (b)  Advertising shall be clear, factual, supportable, and shall 
not include any false or misleading statements with respect to the 
institution, its personnel, its courses and programs, its services, nor 
the occupational opportunities for its graduates; 
 (c)  The institution shall not advertise in conjunction with any 
other business or establishment, nor advertise in "help wanted" nor 
in "employment opportunity" columns of newspapers, magazines or 
similar publications in such a way as to lead readers to believe that 
they are applying for employment rather than education and training. 
 It must disclose that it is primarily operated for educational 
purposes, if this is not apparent from its legal name; 
 (d)  An institution, its employees and agents, shall refrain from 
other forms of ambiguous or deceptive advertising, such as: 
 (i)  claims as to endorsement by manufacturers or businesses or 
organizations until and unless written evidence supporting this fact 
is on file; and 
 (ii)  representations that students completing a course or 
program may transfer either credits or credentials for acceptance by 
another institution, state agency, or business, unless written evidence 
supporting this fact is on file; 
 (e)  An institution shall maintain a file of all promotional 
information and related materials for a period of three (3) years; 
 (f)  The division may require an institution to submit its 
advertising prior to its use; and 
 (g)  An institution cannot advertise that it's organization or 
program is endorsed by the state of Utah other than to state that the 
school is 'Registered under the Utah Postsecondary Proprietary 
School Act'. 
 (i)  An institution shall include the following registration and 
disclaimer statements in its catalog, student information bulletin, and 
enrollment agreements: 



DAR File No. 26909 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 4 7 

 (A)  REGISTERED UNDER THE UTAH 
POSTSECONDARY PROPRIETARY SCHOOL ACT (Title 13, 
Chapter 34, Utah Code). 
 (B)  Registration under the Utah Postsecondary Proprietary 
School Act does not mean that the State of Utah supervises, 
recommends, nor accredits the institution. It is the student's 
responsibility to determine whether credits, degrees, or certificates 
from the institution will transfer to other institutions or meet 
employers' training requirements. This may be done by calling the 
prospective school or employer. 
 (C)  The institution is not accredited by a regional or national 
accrediting agency recognized by the United States Department of 
Education. 
 (8)  Recruitment standards include the following: 
 (a)  Recruiting efforts shall be conducted in a professional and 
ethical manner and free from 'high pressure' techniques; and 
 (b)  An institution shall not use loans, scholarships, discounts, 
or other such enrollment inducements, where such result in unfair or 
discriminatory practices. 
 (9)  An agent or sales representative may not be directly or 
indirectly be portrayed as 'counselor,' 'advisor,' or any other similar 
title to disguise his or her sales function. 
 (10)  An agent or representative is responsible to have a clear 
understanding and knowledge of the programs and courses, tuition, 
enrollment requirements, enrollment agreement, support services, 
and the general operational procedures thereof; 
 (11)  An institution shall indemnify any student from loss or 
other injury as a result of any fraud or other form of 
misrepresentation used by an agent in the recruitment process. 
 (12)  An institution operating in Utah but domiciled outside the 
state shall designate a Utah resident as its registered agent for 
purposes of service of legal process. 
 
R152-34-9.  Rules Relating to Discontinuance of Operations 
Pursuant to Section 13-34-109. 
 (1)  Institutional closure procedures consist of the following: 
 (a)  The chief administrative officer of each institution subject 
to the Postsecondary Proprietary Schools Act shall prepare a written 
plan for access to and the preservation of permanent records in the 
event the institution closes for whatever reason; and 
 (b)  In the event an institution closes with students enrolled who 
have not completed their programs, a list of such, including the 
amount of tuition paid and the proportion of their program 
completed, shall be submitted to the division, with all particulars. 
 (2)  School records consist of the following permanent 
scholastic records for all students who are admitted, even though 
withdrawn or terminated: 
 (a)  appropriate entrance and admission acceptance 
information; 
 (b)  attendance and performance information, including 
transcripts which consist of no less than the program for which he 
enrolled, each course attempted and the final grade earned; 
 (c)  graduation or termination dates of students; 
 (d)  enrollment agreements, tuition payments, refunds, and any 
other financial transactions.[;] 
 (3)  The division shall not release a surety required under R152-
34-7(11) and/or R152-34-7(12) until one year after the date that the 
institution has complied with the requirements of (1) and (2) above, 
or until such time as the institution provides documentation 
acceptable to the division to show that the institution has complied 
with (1) and (2) above and has satisfied all possible claims for 

refunds that may be made against the institution by students of the 
institution at the time the institution discontinued operations and by 
persons who were students of the institution within one year prior to 
the date that the institution discontinued operations, whichever is 
shorter. 
 
KEY:  education, postsecondary proprietary school, registration 
[August 26, 2002]2004 
13-2-5(1) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-203 
Changes to Residential Mortgage 

Registration Statement 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26909 
FILED:  01/23/2004, 09:59 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  A statutory 
amendment that became effective on January 1, 2004, 
changed "registrations" to "licenses." (H.B. 277, 2003 General 
Session.)  This amendment makes the rule consistent with the 
statute.  (DAR Note:  H.B. 277 is found at UT L 2003 Ch 243, 
and was effective January 1, 2004.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The words "licensure" and 
"licensed" are substituted for "registration" and "registered" 
throughout the rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  None--Any cost to the State budget that 
is incurred by changing residential mortgage "registrations" to 
"licenses" would be caused by the statutory change (H.B. 277, 
2003 General Session) and not by this rule change 
conforming the administrative rule to that statutory change. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Local governments are not 
affected by whether residential mortgage brokers are 
"registrants" or "licensees." 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  None--Any cost that other persons might 
incur as a result of the name change from mortgage 
"registrations" to "licenses" would be caused by the statutory 
change (H.B. 277, 2003 General Session) and not by this rule 
change conforming the administrative rule to that statutory 
change. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--Any costs 
that might be incurred by residential mortgage brokers as a 
result of the change from a "registration" to a "license" was 
caused by the statutory change itself (H.B. 277, 2003 General 
Session) and not by this rule change conforming the 
administrative rule to that statutory change. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 26908 

 
8 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 4 

COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There appears to be no fiscal 
impact to businesses as a result of this rule filing that was not 
already anticipated in recent legislative amendments to the 
Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Klare Bachman, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-203.  Changes to Residential Mortgage [Registration] 
Licensure Statement. 
R162-203-1.  Changes to Residential Mortgage [Registration] 
Licensure Statement. 
 An individual [registered]licensed under the Utah Residential 
Mortgage Practices Act must notify the Division on the form required 
by the Division of any entity for which that individual shall conduct 
residential mortgage lending before acting on behalf of that entity. 
 
KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination 
[December 24, 2001]2004 
61-2c-205(3) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-204 
Residential Mortgage Record Keeping 

Requirements 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26908 
FILED:  01/23/2004, 09:53 

 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  A statutory 
amendment that became effective on January 1, 2004, 
changed "registrations" to "licenses".  This amendment makes 
the rule consistent with the statute.  (DAR Note:  H.B. 277 is 
found at UT L 2003 Ch 243, and was effective January 1, 
2004.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The word "registered" is 
changed to "licensed" throughout the rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  None--Any impact on the State budget 
that is caused by changing residential mortgage "registrations" 
to "licenses" would be caused by the statutory change (H.B. 
277, 2003 General Session) and not by this rule change 
conforming the administrative rule to that statutory change. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Local governments are not 
affected by whether residential mortgage brokers are called 
"registrants" or "licensees." 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  None--Any impact on other persons that is 
caused by changing residential mortgage "registrations" to 
"licenses" would be caused by the statutory change (H.B. 277, 
2003 General Session) and not by this rule change 
conforming the administrative rule to that statutory change. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--Any costs 
that might be incurred by residential mortgage brokers as a 
result of the change from "registrations" to "licenses" was 
caused by the statutory change (H.B. 277, 2003 General 
Session) and not by this rule change conforming the 
administrative rule to that statutory change. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There appears to be no fiscal 
impact to businesses as a result of this rule filing that was not 
already anticipated in recent legislative amendments to the 
Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
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THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Klare Bachman, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-204.  Residential Mortgage Record Keeping Requirements. 
R162-204-1.  Residential Mortgage Record Keeping Requirements. 
 A person [registered]licensed under the Utah Residential 
Mortgage Practices Act must maintain for the period set forth in Utah 
Code Section 61-2c-302 the following records: 
 (a)  Application forms; 
 (b)  Disclosure forms; 
 (c)  Truth-in-Lending forms; 
 (d)  Credit reports and the explanations therefor; 
 (e)  Conversation logs; 
 (f)  Verifications of employment, paycheck stubs, and tax returns; 
 (g)  Proof of legal residency, if applicable; 
 (h)  Appraisals, appraisal addenda, and records of communications 
between the appraiser and the registrant or lender; 
 (i)  Underwriter denials; 
 (j)  Loan approval; and 
 (k)  All other records required by underwriters involved with the 
transaction. 
 
KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination 
[December 24, 2001]2004 
61-2c-302 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-205 
Residential Mortgage Unprofessional 

Conduct 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26907 
FILED:  01/23/2004, 09:20 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  A statutory 
amendment that became effective on January 1, 2004, 
changed "registrations" to "licenses." (H.B. 277, 2003 General 
Session.)  This amendment makes the rule consistent with the 
statute.  (DAR Note:  H.B. 277 is found at UT L 2003 Ch 243, 
and was effective January 1, 2004.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The word "registered" is 
changed to "licensed" throughout the rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  None--Any impact on the State budget 
that is caused by changing residential mortgage "registrations" 

to "licenses" would be caused by the statutory change (H.B. 
277, 2003 General Session) and not by this rule change 
conforming the administrative rule to that statutory change. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Local governments are not 
affected by whether residential mortgage brokers are called 
"registrants" or "licensees." 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  None--Any impact on other persons that is 
caused by changing residential mortgage "registrations" to 
"licenses" would be caused by the statutory change (H.B. 277, 
2003 General Session) and not by this rule change 
conforming the administrative rule to that statutory change. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--Any costs 
that might be incurred by residential mortgage brokers as a 
result of the change from "registrations" to "licenses" would be 
caused by the statutory change (H.B. 277, 2003 General 
Session) and not by this rule change conforming the 
administrative rule to that statutory change. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There appears to be no fiscal 
impact to businesses as a result of this rule filing that was not 
already anticipated in recent legislative amendments to the 
Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Klare Bachman, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-205.  Residential Mortgage Unprofessional Conduct. 
R162-205-1.  Residential Mortgage Unprofessional Conduct. 
 Unprofessional conduct includes the following acts: 
 (a)  conducting the business of residential mortgage lending under 
any name other than a name under which the entity or individual 
conducting such business is [registered]licensed with the Division; 
 (b)  Failing to remit to the appropriate third parties appraisal fees, 
inspection fees, credit reporting fees, insurance premiums, or similar 
fees which have been collected from a borrower; 
 (c)  Charging for services not actually performed; and 
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 (d)  Charging a borrower more for third party services than the 
actual cost of those services. 
 
KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination 
[December 24, 2001]2004 
61-2c-301(1)(i) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-209 
Administrative Proceedings 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26906 

FILED:  01/23/2004, 09:10 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  A statutory 
amendment that became effective on January 1, 2004, 
changed "registrations" to "licenses." (H.B. 277, 2003 General 
Session.)  This amendment makes the rule consistent with the 
statute.  (DAR Note:  H.B. 277 is found at UT L 2003 Ch 243, 
and was effective January 1, 2004.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  References to the word 
"registration" are changed to "license" throughout the rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 61-2c-103(3) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  None--Any impact on the State budget 
that is caused by changing residential mortgage "registrations" 
to "licenses" would be caused by the statutory change (H.B. 
277, 2003 General Session) and not by this rule change 
conforming the administrative rule to that statutory change. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Local governments are not 
affected by whether residential mortgage brokers are 
"registrants" or "licensees." 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  None--Any impact on other persons that is 
caused by changing residential mortgage "registrations" to 
"licenses" would be caused by the statutory change (H.B. 277, 
2003 General Session) and not by this rule change 
conforming the administrative rule to that statutory change. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--Any costs 
that might be incurred by residential mortgage brokers as a 
result of the change from  "registrations" to "licenses" would 
be caused by the statutory change (H.B. 277, 2003 General 
Session) and not by this rule change conforming the 
administrative rule to that statutory change. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There appears to be no fiscal 
impact to businesses as a result of this rule filing that was not 
already anticipated in recent legislative amendments to the 
Utah Residential Mortgage Practices Act. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Klare Bachman, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-209.  Administrative Proceedings. 
R162-209-1.  Formal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 Any adjudicative proceeding as to the following matters shall be 
conducted on a formal basis: 
 209.1.1.  A disciplinary action commenced by the Division 
following investigation of a complaint; and 
 209.1.2.  Any proceedings conducted subsequent to the issuance 
of a cease and desist order. 
 
R162-209-2.  Informal Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 209.2.1.  All adjudicative proceedings as to any other matters not 
specifically designated as formal adjudicative proceedings shall be 
conducted as informal adjudicative proceedings. 
 209.2.2.  A hearing will be held in an informal adjudicative 
proceeding only if required or permitted by the Utah Residential 
Mortgage Practices Act or by these rules. 
 209.2.3.  A party is not required to file a written answer to a notice 
of agency action from the Division in an informal adjudicative 
proceeding. 
 209.2.4.  All proceedings on original or renewal applications for 
[registration]a license will be conducted as informal adjudicative 
proceedings. 
 209.2.5.  Any application form which is filled out and submitted 
to the Division for [registration]a license or renewal of [registration]a 
license shall be deemed a request for agency action pursuant to the 
Utah Administrative Procedures Act, Section 64-46b-1, et seq. 
 209.2.6.  Within a reasonable time after receipt of an application, 
the Division shall: 
 (a)  issue and mail a [registration]license to the applicant, which 
shall be deemed notification that the application is granted 
conditionally subject to the outcome of the criminal background check; 
 (b)  notify the applicant that the application is incomplete or that 
further information is needed; 
 (c)  notify the applicant that a hearing shall be scheduled before 
the Utah Residential Mortgage Regulatory Commission; or 
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 (d)  notify the applicant that the application is denied, and, if the 
proceeding is one in which a hearing is permitted, that he may request a 
hearing to challenge the denial. 
 209.2.7.  Other Requests for Agency Action. All other requests for 
agency action shall be in writing and signed by the requestor, and shall 
contain the following: 
 (a)  the names and addresses of all persons to whom a copy of the 
request for agency action is being sent; 
 (b)  the agency's file number or other reference number, if known; 
 (c)  the date of mailing of the request for agency action; 
 (d)  a statement of the legal authority and jurisdiction under which 
the agency action is requested, if known; 
 (e)  a statement of the relief or action sought from the Division; 
and 
 (f)  a statement of the facts and reasons forming the basis for relief 
or agency action. 
 209.2.8.  Within a reasonable time after receipt of a request for 
agency action other than an application for an original or [renewal 
registration]renewed license, the Division shall: 
 (a)  notify the requestor in writing that the request is granted; 
 (b)  notify the requestor that the request is incomplete or that 
further information is needed before the Division is able to make a 
determination on the request; 
 (c)  notify the requestor that the Division does not have the legal 
authority or jurisdiction to grant the relief requested or the action 
sought; or 
 (d)  notify the requestor that the request is denied, and, if the 
proceeding is one in which a hearing is permitted, that he may request a 
hearing to challenge the denial. 
 209.2.9.  A complaint against a [registrant]licensee requesting that 
the Division commence an investigation or a disciplinary action is not a 
request for agency action pursuant to the Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act, Section 64-46-1, et seq. 
 
R162-209-3.  Hearings Not Required. 
 A hearing is not required and will not be held in the following 
informal adjudicative proceedings: 
 (a)  The issuance of an original or [renewal registration]renewed 
license when the application has been approved by the Division; 
 (b)  The issuance of any interpretation of statute, rule or order, or 
the issuance of any written opinion or declaratory order determining the 
applicability of a statute, rule or order, when enforcement or 
implementation of the statute, rule or order lies within the jurisdiction 
of the Division; or 
 (c)  The denial of an application for original or [renewal 
registration]renewed license on the ground that it is incomplete. 
 
R162-209-4.  Hearings Permitted. 
 209.4.1.  An informal post-revocation hearing following the 
revocation of a [registration]license pursuant to Utah Code Section 61-
2c-202(4)(d) for the failure of a person to accurately disclose his 
criminal history will be held only if requested in writing by the person 
within 30 days from the date the Division's order revoking the 
[registration]license was mailed. 
 
R162-209-5.  Procedures for Hearing in Informal Adjudicative 
Proceedings. 
 209.5.1.  Notice of hearing.  Upon the scheduling of a hearing by 
the Division on an application for [registration]a license or upon receipt 
of a timely request for a hearing where other hearings are permitted, the 

Division shall mail written notice of the date, time, and place scheduled 
for the hearing at least ten days prior to the hearing. 
 209.5.2.  Discovery is prohibited, but the Division may issue 
subpoenas or other orders to compel production of necessary evidence. 
 All parties shall have access to the Division's files and all materials and 
information gathered in any investigation to the extent permitted by 
law. 
 209.5.3.  Intervention is prohibited. 
 209.5.4.  Hearings shall be open to all parties, except that a 
hearing on an applicant's fitness for [registration]a license shall be 
conducted in a closed session which is not open to the public.  The 
parties named in the notice of agency action or the request for agency 
action may be represented by counsel and shall have the opportunity to 
testify, present witnesses and other evidence, and comment on the 
issues. 
 209.5.5.  Within a reasonable time after the hearing, the presiding 
officer shall cause to be issued and sent to the parties a signed order 
based on the facts appearing in the agency's files and on the facts 
presented in evidence at the hearing.  The order shall state the decision 
and the reasons therefor and a notice of the right of administrative 
review and judicial review available to the parties including applicable 
time limits. 
 
KEY:  residential mortgage loan origination 
[July 19, 2002]2004 
63-46b-4 
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Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 

R309-302 
Required Certification Rules for 

Backflow Technicians in the State of 
Utah 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26931 

FILED:  02/02/2004, 14:04 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the rule change is to update terminology, 
formatting and clarification of Class titles, technician 
responsibilities, and renewal criteria for a Class 3 technician. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The rule is being 
renumbered from Rule R309-302 to Rule R309-305.  In 
addition, the rule change clarifies the Class titles, the renewal 
criteria for a Class 3 backflow certification and updates the 
format to coincide with other Division of Drinking Water rules.  
The rule also lists the responsibilities of a backflow technician 
for which they will be held accountable and clarifies the 
required length for certification and recertification classes. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-4-104(4)(a) 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  No impact--The rule change clarifies and 
updates portions of the rule and does not add any additional 
requirements. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No impact--The rule change clarifies 
and updates portions of the rule and does not add any 
additional requirements. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  No impact--The rule change clarifies and 
updates portions of the rule and does not add any additional 
requirements. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The compliance 
costs for affected persons will not change as a result of this 
rule change. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The Department of 
Environmental Quality agrees with the comments listed under 
the Cost or Savings statements and the Compliance costs for 
affected persons above. Dianne R. Nielson, Ph.D., Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
DRINKING WATER 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ken Bousfield or Patti Fauver at the above address, by phone 
at 801-536-4207 or 801-536-4196, by FAX at 801-536-4211 or 
801-536-4211, or by Internet E-mail at kbousfield@utah.gov 
or pfauver@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Kevin Brown, Director 
 
 
 
R309.  Environmental Quality, Drinking Water. 
[R309-302.  Required ]R309-305.  Certification Rules for 
Backflow Technicians[ in the State of Utah]. 
[R309-302-1.  Objectives.]R309-305-1.  Purpose. 
 (1)  These certification rules are established in order to promote 
the use of trained, experienced professional personnel in protecting 
the public's health. 
 (2)  To establish standards for training, 
examination,[examining,] and certification of those personnel 
involved with cross connection control program administration, 
testing, maintenance, and repair of backflow prevention assemblies. 
 In addition to establishing standards for [, and] the instruction of 
Backflow Technicians. 
 

[R309-302-2.]R309-305-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the Drinking Water Board as 
authorized by Title 19, Environmental Quality Code, Chapter 4, Safe 
Drinking Water Act, Subsection 104(4)(a) of the Utah Code and in 
accordance with 63-46a of the same, known as the Administrative 
Rulemaking Act[The Backflow Technician certification program is 
authorized by Utah Code Annotated, Section 19-4-104(4)(a)]. 
 
[R309-302-3.]R309-305-3.  Extent of Coverage. 
 These rules shall apply to all personnel who will be: 
 (1)[a.]  directly involved with the administration or 
enforcement of any cross connection control program being 
administered by a drinking water system; 
 (2)[b.]  testing, maintaining and/or repairing any backflow 
prevention assembly; 
 (3)[c.]  instructors within the certification program, regardless 
of institution or program. 
 
[R309-302-4.]R309-305-4.  Definitions. 
 Definitions for certain terms used in this rule are given in 
R309-110 but may be further clarified herein.[Cross Connection 
Control Subcommittee - means the duly constituted advisory 
subcommittee appointed by the Safe Drinking Water Committee to 
advise the Safe Drinking Water Committee on Backflow Technician 
Certification and the Cross Connection Control Program of Utah.  
The Subcommittee will review the qualifications of applicants and 
make recommendations to the Safe Drinking Water Committee for 
certification of those individuals. 
 Bureau of Drinking Water/Sanitation - means that Bureau 
within the Department of Health which regulates public drinking 
water systems. 
 Cross Connection Control Program - means the program 
administered by the public water system in which cross connections 
are either eliminated or controlled. 
 Executive Secretary - means the Executive Secretary to the 
Utah Safe Drinking Water Committee. 
 Class - means the level of certification of Backflow Prevention 
Technician (Class I, II and III).] 
 (1)  Backflow Technician - An individual who has met the 
requirements and sucessfully completed the course of instruction 
and certification  requirements for Class I, II or III backflow 
technician certification as outlined herein. 
 (2)  Class - means the level of certification of a Backflow 
Technician (Class I, II or III). 
 (3)  Performance Examination - means a closed book hands on 
demonstration of an individuals ability to conduct a field test on 
backflow prevention assemblies. 
 (4)  Proctor - means a Class III Technician authorized to 
administer the written or the performance examination.[ 
 Public Drinking Water Supply - means a system, either publicly 
or privately owned, providing water for human consumption and 
other domestic uses which has at least 15 service connections, or 
regularly serves an average of at least 25 individuals daily for at 
least 60 days out of the year.] 
 (5)  Renewal Course - means a course of instruction, approved 
by the Commission[Subcommittee], which is a prerequisite to the 
renewal of a Backflow Technician's Certificate. 
 (6)  Secretary to the Commission[Subcommittee] - means that 
individual appointed by the Executive Secretary to conduct the 
business of the Commission and to make recommendations to the 
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Executive Secretary regarding backflow technician certification 
[Subcommittee]. 
 [Utah Safe Drinking Water Committee - means the duly 
constituted Committee appointed by the Governor, and responsible 
for the promulgation, interpretation and enforcement of public 
drinking water regulations within Utah.](7)  Written Examination - 
means the examination for record used to determine the competency 
and ability of applicants in understanding of the required course of 
instruction. 
 
[R309-302-5.]R309-305-5.  General Policies. 
 (1)[5.1]  Certification Application:  Any individual may apply 
for certification. 
 (2)[5.2]  Certification Classes:  The classes of certificates 
shall[will] be:  Class I, Class II, and Class III. 
 (a)  [5.2.1  ]Class I - [Backflow Technician]Cross Connection 
Control Program Administrator:  This certificate shall[will] be 
issued to those individuals who are directly involved in 
administering a cross connection control program, who have 
demonstrated their knowledge and ability by passing the 
certification examination. 
 (i)  These individuals may NOT test, maintain or repair any 
backflow prevention assembly for record (except to insure proper 
testing techniques are being utilized within their jurisdiction). 
 (ii)  These individuals may conduct plan/design reviews, hazard 
assessment investigations, compliance inspections, and enforce local 
laws, codes, [(including the  Utah Plumbing Code as it applies to 
cross connection control and backflow prevention), ]rules and 
regulations and policies within their jurisdictions, and offer technical 
assistance as needed. 
 (b)  [5.2.2  ]Class II - Backflow Assembly Tester[Technician]:  
This certificate shall[will]  be issued to those individuals who [meet 
the criteria for Class I]have demonstrated their knowledge and 
ability by passing the certification examination and in addition 
having proven qualified and competent to test, maintain, and/or 
repair (see R309-305-5(3)(b)[Section 5.3.3]) backflow prevention 
assemblies (commercially as well as within their jurisdiction) by 
passing the practical examination. 
 (c)  [5.2.3  ]Class III - [Backflow Technician]Backflow 
Instructor Trainer:  This certificate shall[will] be issued to those 
individuals who have successfully completed a 3 year renewal cycle 
as a[meet the criteria for] Class II Technician and in addition have 
proven qualified and competent to instruct approved Backflow 
Technician Certification classes by participating in and passing an 
approved Class III certification["Train The Trainers"] course. 
 (3)[5.3]  Certification Requirements:  Those individuals 
seeking certification as a Backflow Technician must participate in an 
approved Technician's course of instruction and pass the 
examination required per class of certification.[ 
 5.3.1  All individuals who hold a valid Backflow Technician's 
license issued prior to the initiation of these rules will be issued a 
Class II - Backflow Technician certificate.] 
 (a)[5.3.2]  All individuals who instruct Backflow Technician 
training courses must hold a current Class III - Backflow Technician 
certificate. 
 (b)[5.3.3]  The issuance of a Backflow Technician certificate 
(Class I, II or III) does NOT authorize that individual to install or 
replace any backflow prevention assembly.  The installation 
replacement or repair of assemblies must be made by a [licensed 
Journeyman Plumber (Title 58, Chapter 54, Utah Code 
Annotated)]tester having appropriate licensure from the Department 

of Commerce, Division of Professional Licensing, except when the 
Backflow Technician is an agent of the assembly owner. 
 
R309-305-6.  Technician Responsibilities. 
 (1)  All technicians shall notify the Division of Drinking Water, 
local health department and the appropriate public water system of 
any backflow incident as soon as possible, but within eight hours.  
The Division can be reached during business hours at 801-536-4200 
or after hours at 801-536-4123; 
 (2)  All technicians shall notify the appropriate public water 
system of a failing backflow prevention assembly within five days; 
 (3)  All technicians shall ensure that acceptable procedures are 
used for testing, repairing and maintaining any backflow prevention 
assembly; 
 (4)  All technicians shall report the backflow prevention 
assembly test results to the appropriate public water system; 
 (5)  All technicians shall include, on the test report form,  any 
materials or replacement parts used to effect a repair or to perform 
maintenance on a backflow  prevention assembly; 
 (6)  All technicians shall ensure that any replacement part is 
equal in quality to parts originally suppied within the backflow 
prevention assembly and are supplied only by the manufacturer or 
their agent; 
 (7)  All technicians shall not change the design, material, or 
operational characteristics of the assembly during any repair or 
maintenance; 
 (8)  All technicians shall perform each test and shall be 
responsible for the competency and accuracy of all testing and 
reports thereof; 
 (9)  All technicians shall ensure the status of their technician 
certification is current; and 
 (10)  All technicians shall be equipped with and competent in 
the use of all tools, gauges, and equipment necessary to properly 
test, repair and maintain a backflow prevention assembly. 
 
[R309-302-6.]R309-305-7.  Examinations. 
 (1)[6.1]  Exam Issuance:  The examination recognized by the 
Commission[Subcommittee] for certification shall[will] be issued 
through the Division of Drinking Water[Bureau of Drinking 
Water/Sanitation] for both initial certification and renewal of 
certification[renewals to those certified instructors teaching a course 
approved by the Cross Connection Control Subcommittee]. 
 If an individual fails an examination, he may file another 
application for reexamination on the next available test date. 
 (a)[6.1.1]  Examinations (both written and 
performance[practical]) that are used to determine competency and 
ability shall[will] be approved by the Cross Connection Control 
Commission[Subcommittee] prior to being issued. 
 (b)[6.1.2]  Oral examinations may be administered[, with 
approval from the Cross Connection Control Subcommittee, on a 
case-by-case basis.]to an individual who has failed to pass at least 
two consecutive written examinations.  The oral examination shall 
be administered by at least one Commission member and two Class 
III Backflow Technicians.  If the individual fails the examination, he 
shall be given written notification of those areas deficient. 
 (2)[6.2]  Exam Scoring:  Class I, Class II and Class III 
Technician's must successfully complete a written exam with a score 
of 70% or higher.  Class II Technician's must also successfully 
demonstrate competence and ability in the performance[practical] 
examination, for the testing of the a Pressure [Atmospheric ]Vacuum 
Breaker Assembly, a Spill-Resistant Pressure Vacuum Breaker 
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Assembly, a Double Check Valve Assembly, and a Reduced 
Pressure [Zone] Principal Backflow Prevention 
Assembly[Assemblies]. 
 (a)[6.2.1]  The performance[practical] examination shall[will] 
be conducted by a minimum of two Class III Technicians. 
 (b)[6.2.2]  Each candidate must demonstrate competence and 
shall[will] be evaluated by a proctor[all proctors] and assessed a 
pass or fail grade in each of the following areas. 
 (i)[1)]  Properly identify backflow assembly 
 (ii)[2)]  Properly identify test equipment needed 
 (iii)[3)]  Properly connect test equipment 
 (iv)[4)]  Test assembly 
 (v)[5)]  Identify inaccuracies 
 (vi)[6)]  Properly diagnose assembly problems 
 (vii)[7)]  Properly record test results 
 The candidate must receive a pass grade from the[each] proctor 
in all areas listed above for each assembly tested in order to pass the 
performance[practical] examination. 
 (c)[6.2.3]  An individual may apply for reexamination of either 
portion of the examination a maximum of two times.  After a third 
failing grade, the individual must register for and complete another 
technician's course prior to any further[the] reexamination. 
 (3)[6.3]  Class III Exam:  Class III Technicians must participate 
in, and pass, a Class 3 Certification["train the trainers"] course, 
approved by the Cross Connection Control 
[Subcommittee]Commission, in addition to the successful 
completion of the Class II Technician's certification course. 
 
[R309-302-7.]R309-305-8.  Certificates. 
 (1)[7.1]  Certificate Issuance:  For a certificate to be issued, the 
individual must complete a Technician's training course and pass 
with a minimum score of 70% the written examination.  For Class II 
and III certificates, passing marks on the performance[practical 
portion of the] examination shall[will] also be required. 
 (2)[7.2]  Certificate Renewal:  The Backflow Technician's 
certificate is issued by the Executive Secretary and shall[will] expire 
December 31, three years from the year of issuance. 
 (a)  Backflow Technician certificates shall[will] be issued by 
the Commission[Subcommittee's] Secretary, by delegated authority 
from the [Safe ]Drinking Water Board[Committee]. 
 (b)[7.2.1]  The Backflow Technician's certificate may be 
renewed up to six months in advance of the expiration date. 
 (c)[7.2.2]  To renew a Class I or II Technician[Technician's] 
certificate, the Technician must register and participate in an 
approved[a] backflow prevention renewal course, and pass the 
renewal examination (minimum score of 70%) which shall[will] 
include a performance[practical] portion for Class II[ and III] 
Certification. 
 (d)[7.2.3]  To renew a Class III Technician certificate, the 
following criteria shall be met: 
 (i)  In the 3 year certification period a total of three events from 
the following list shall be obtained in any combination: 
 (A)  Instruction at an Commission approved backflow 
technician certification or renewal course. 
 (B)  Serve as a proctor for the performance examination at a 
Commission approved backflow technician certification or renewal 
course. 
 (ii)  Attendance at a minimum of two of the annual Class III 
coordination meetings or receive a meeting update from 
Commission Secretary. 

 (iii)  Attendance and successful review at a Class III renewal 
course, as approved by the Cross Connection Control Commission.  
The course would consist of presentation of a randomly picked topic 
in backflow prevention before a peer group of other Class III 
technicians, and a demonstration of knowledge of all the testing 
equipment available by a random selection of test equipment for the 
technician to perform the performance exam.[ that was issued prior 
to December 31, 1989, the Technician must register and attend a one 
day renewal course and pass a renewal written exam (minimum 
70%) only.  (There will not be a practical portion included in the 
renewal courses until 1992.)] 
 (e)[7.2.4]  Should the applicant fail the renewal written 
examination (minimum score of 70%), renewal of that existing 
license shall[will] not be allowed until a passing score is obtained.  
If the applicant fails to pass the test after three attempts, the 
applicant shall[will] be required to participate in an approved 
Backflow Technician's course before retaking the written and 
[practical]performance examinations.  (Class I Technicians would 
only need to pass the written examination.) 
 (3)[7.3]  Certification Revocation:  The 
Executive[Subcommittee's Secretary is authorized to] may suspend 
or revoke a Backflow Technician's certification, for good cause, 
including any of the following:[ upon recommendation of the 
Subcommittee if, following a hearing of the Subcommittee, it is 
found that:] 
 (a)[a.]  The certified person has acted in disregard for[There is 
evidence that a disregard of] public health or safety;[ and safety has 
occurred.] 
 (b)[b.]  [There is evidence that a violation of]The certified 
person has engaged in activities beyond the scope of their licensure 
through the Department of Commerce, Division of Professional 
Licensing (i.e. installation, or replacement of assemblies);[ the 
Plumber's Law (Title 58 Chapter 54), that prohibits installation or 
replacement of assemblies, has occurred.] 
 (c)[c.]  [There is evidence that a misrepresentation or 
falsification of]The certified person has misrepresented or falsified 
figures or reports concerning backflow prevention assembly or test 
results;[ has occurred.] 
 (d)[d.]  [There is evidence that a failure to notify the proper 
authorities of a failing backflow prevention assembly within five 
days has occurred.]The certified person has failed to notify proper 
authorities of a failing backflow prevention assembly within five 
days, as required by R309-305-6(2); 
 (e)[e.]  [There is evidence that a failure to notify the proper 
authorities of a backflow incident for which the technician had 
personal knowledge has occurred.]The certified person has failed to 
notify proper authorities of a backflow incident for which the 
technician had personal knowledge, as required by R309-305-6(1); 
 (f)[f.]  [There is evidence that a]The certified person has 
implemented a change of the design, material or operational 
characteristics of a backflow prevention assembly that is in use, and 
which change has not been authorized by the Executive Secretary; 
or[has occurred.] 
 (g)  [7.3.1  Suspension or revocation of a Technician's 
certificate will be in writing and will state the reasons for such 
actions and available appeal procedures.]Disasters or "Acts of God", 
which could not be reasonably anticipated or prevented, shall[will] 
not be grounds for suspension or revocation actions.[ 
 7.4  Appeal Procedures:  Any individual who receives a notice 
of suspension or revocation may, within 30 days of receipt, make a 
written request for an appeal to the Executive Secretary of the Safe 
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Drinking Water Committee for a hearing before that Committee.  
The Committee shall follow the procedures for such a hearing as set 
forth in the Utah State Code.] 
 
[R309-302-8.]R309-305-9.  Fees. 
 (1)[8.1]  Fees:  The fees for certification shall[will] be 
submitted in accordance with Section 63-38-3.2[63-38-3]. 
 (2)  All fees shall[will] be deposited in a special account to 
defray the costs of administering the Cross Connection Control and 
Certification programs. 
 (3)[8.2]  Renewal Fees:  The renewal fee for all classes of 
Technicians shall[will] be in accordance with Section 63-38-3.2[63-
38-3]. 
 (4)[8.3]  All fees shall[will] be deposited in a special account to 
defray the cost of the program. 
 (5)[8.4]  All fees are non-refundable. 
 
[R309-302-9.]R309-305-10.  Training. 
 (1)[9.1]  Training:  Minimum training course curriculum, 
written tests and performance tests shall[will] be established by the 
Commission[Subcommittee] and implemented by the Secretary of 
the Commission[Subcommittee] for both the Technician 
courses[Technicians course] and the renewal courses[short course]. 
 (a)  The length of the initial certification course for a Class I 
cross connection control program administrator shall be a minimum 
of 32 hours including examination. 
 (b)  The length of the initial certification course for a Class II 
backflow assembly tester shall be a minimum of 32 hours excluding 
examination. 
 (c)[9.1.1]  The length of each[the] renewal course shall be a 
minimum of 16 hours[not exceed two days] including the renewal 
examination (both written and performance examinations["hands 
on"]). 
 
[R309-302-10.]R309-305-11.  Cross Connection Control 
Commission[Subcommittee]. 
 (1)[10.1]  Appointment of Members:  A Cross Connection 
Control Commission[Subcommittee] shall[will] be appointed by the 
[Safe ]Drinking Water Board[Committee] from nominations made 
by cooperating agencies. 
 (2)[10.2]  Responsibility:  The Commission[Subcommittee] is 
charged with the responsibility of conducting all work necessary to 
promote the cross connection program as well as recommending 
qualified individuals for certification, and overseeing the 
maintenance of necessary records. 
 (3)[10.3]  Representative Agencies:  The 
Commission[Subcommittee] shall consist of seven[five] members: 
 (a)[1.]  One member (nominated by the League of Cities and 
Towns) shall represent a community drinking water supply. 
 (b)[2.]  One member (nominated by the Utah Pipes Trades 
Education Program) shall represent the plumbing trade and must be 
a licensed Journeyman Plumber[ and Class II or III Backflow 
Technician]. 
 (c)[3.]  One member (nominated by the Utah Mechanical 
Contractors Association) shall represent the mechanical trade 
contractors. 
 (d)[4.]  One member (nominated by the [Safe ]Drinking Water 
Board[Committee]) shall represent the [Safe ]Drinking Water 
Board[Committee]. 
 (e)[5.]  One member (nominated by the Rural Water 
Association of Utah) shall represent small water systems. 

 (f)  One member (nominated by the Utah Chapter American 
Backflow Prevention Association) shall represent Class II Backflow 
Technicians and shall be a Class II or III Backflow Technician. 
 (g)  One member (nominated by the Utah  Association of 
Plumbing and Mechanical Officials) shall represent the plumbing 
inspection official and shall be a licensed plumbing inspector. 
 (4)[10.4]  Term:  Each member shall serve a two year term.  At 
the initial meeting of the Commission[Subcommittee], lots 
shall[will] be drawn corresponding to two one and three two year 
terms.  Thereafter, all Commission[Subcommittee] members' terms 
shall[will] be on a staggered basis. 
 (5)[10.5]  Nominations of Members:  All nominations of 
Commission[Subcommittee] members shall[will] be presented to the 
[Safe ]Drinking Water Board[Committee], which reserves the right 
to refuse any nomination. 
 (6)[10.6]  Unexpired Term:  An appointment to succeed a 
Commission[Subcommittee] member who is unable to complete his 
full term shall be for the unexpired term only, and shall be 
nominated to, and appointed by, the [Safe ]Drinking Water 
Board[Committee] in accordance with R309-305-11(1).[R309-302-
10.1.] 
 (7)[10.7]  Quorum:  At least four Commission[three 
Subcommittee] members shall be required to constitute a quorum to 
conduct the Commission's[Subcommittee's] business. 
 (8)[10.8]  Officers:  Each year the Commission[Subcommittee] 
shall[will] elect officers as needed to conduct its business. 
 (a)[10.8.1]  The Commission[Subcommittee] shall meet at least 
once a year. 
 (b)[10.8.2]  All actions taken by the 
Commission[Subcommittee] shall[will] require a minimum of 
four[three] affirmative votes. 
 
[R309-302-11.]R309-305-12.  Secretary of the 
Commission[Subcommittee]. 
 (1)[11.1]  Appointment:  The Executive Secretary of the [Safe 
]Drinking Water Board[Committee] shall[will] appoint, with the 
consent of the Commission[Subcommittee], a staff member to 
function as the Secretary to the Commission[Subcommittee].  This 
Secretary shall[will] serve to coordinate the business of the 
Commission[Subcommittee] and to bring issues before the 
Commission[Subcommittee]. 
 (2)[11.2]  Duties:  The Secretary's duties shall[will] be to: 
 (a)[a.]  act as a liaison between the 
Commission[Subcommittee], certified Technicians, public water 
suppliers, and the public at large; 
 (b)[b.]  maintain records necessary to implement and enforce 
these rules; 
 (c)[c.]  notify sponsor agencies of Commission[Subcommittee] 
nominations as needed; 
 (d)[d.]  coordinate and review all cross connection control 
programs, certification training and the certification of Backflow 
Technicians; 
 (e)[e.]  serve as a source of public information for Certified 
Technicians, water purveyors, and the public at large; 
 (f)[f.]  receive and process applications for certification; 
 (g)[g.]  investigate and verify all complaints against or 
concerning certified Backflow Prevention Technicians, and advise 
the Executive Secretary of the [Safe ]Drinking Water 
Board[Committee] regarding any enforcement actions that are being 
recommended by the Commission[Subcommittee as outlined in 
Section R309-302-7.4]; 
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 (h)[h.]  develop and administer examinations; 
 (i)[i.]  review and correct examinations. 
 (3)  The Secretary to the Commission is also responsible for 
making recommendations to the Executive Secretary regarding 
backflow technician certification as provided in these rules. 
 
KEY:  drinking water, cross connection control, backflow 
assembly tester[environmental protection, administrative 
procedure] 
[1990]2004 
Notice of Continuation April 10, 2000 
19-4-104(4)(a) 
63-46b-4 
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Core Standards 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26925 

FILED:  01/30/2004, 15:29 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose for the amendment to Rule R501-2 is to make the 
rule clearer and more easily understood and broaden the base 
on who is required to have a background screening completed 
and approved, which includes all staff, management, and 
board members that may have any contact with the clients. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The reorganization of Rule 
R501-2 is to make the content more easily understood, with a 
clarification of the terms used in the rule, the safety of the 
clients, and having documents posted properly and in plain 
view so the clients, their family, and visitors are aware of the 
standing of the facility with the Office of Licensing. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 62A-2-106 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  Other than for the cost of copying the 
revised rule, there will be no additional cost or savings to the 
State Budget. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments have no additional 
cost because the changes in the rule have been for 
clarification and broader definition of the already existing rule 
and other that the facilities complying with local government's 
regulations, there is no additional cost to local governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  The changes in this rule will produce no 
additional costs or savings to other persons because the rule 
changes are for clearer understanding and expanded 
definition and not for physical changes. 
 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because the 
changes made in this rule are more for clarification and better 
definition of terms, it was determined that there would be no 
additional cost or savings to the affected persons unless they 
opt to make changes. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  With the type of changes made 
with this rule, there will not be a fiscal impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
ADMINISTRATION, ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES, 
LICENSING 
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Bohi at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4153, by 
FAX at 801-538-4553, or by Internet E-mail at jbohi@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Ken Stettler, Director 
 
 
 
R501.  Human Services, Administration, Administrative 
Services, Licensing. 
R501-2.  Core [Standards.]Rules. 
R501-2-1.  Definition. 
 Core [Standards]Rules are required[the license requirements] 
for Human Service Programs, [as ]listed in R501-2-14. Where there 
is duplication of review by another oversight agency, the Office of 
Licensing, [hereinafter referred to as Office, ]shall accept that 
documentation as proof of compliance.  Pursuant to 62A-2-106, the 
Office of Licensing will not enforce rules for licensees under 
contract to a Division in the Department of Human Services in the 
following areas: 
 A.  the administration and maintenance of client and service 
records;[ and] 
 B.  staff qualifications; and 
 C.  staff to client ratios. 
 
R501-2-2.  Program Administration. 
 A.  The program shall have a written statement of purpose to 
include the following: 
 1.  program philosophy, 
 2.  description of long and short term goals, this does not apply 
to social detoxification or child placing adoption agencies, 
 3.  description of the services provided, 
 4.  the population to be served, 
 5.  fee policy, 
 6.  participation of consumers in activities unrelated to 
treatment plans, and 



DAR File No. 26925 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 4 17 

 7.  program policies and procedures which shall be submitted 
prior to issuance[at time] of an initial licensing. 
 B.  Copies of the above statements shall be available at all 
times to the Office of Licensing upon request.  General program 
information shall be available to the public. 
 C.  The program shall have a written quality assurance plan.  
Implementation of the plan shall be documented. 
 D.  The program shall have clearly stated guidelines and 
appropriate administrative procedures, to include the following: 
 1.  program management, 
 2.  maintenance of complete, accurate and accessible records, 
and 
 3.  record retention. 
 E.  The governing body, program operators, management, 
employees, consultants, volunteers, and interns shall read, 
understand, follow and sign a copy of the current Department of 
Human Services Provider Code of Conduct. 
 F.  The program shall comply with State and Federal laws 
regarding abuse reporting in accordance with 62A-4a-403 and 62A-
3-302, and shall post copies of these laws in a conspicuous place 
within the facility. 
 G.  All programs which serve minors or vulnerable adults shall 
submit identifying information for background screening [for]of all 
[staff]adult persons associated with the licensee and board members 
who have access to children and vulnerable adults in accordance 
with R501-14 and R501-18. 
 H.  The program shall comply with all applicable National 
Interstate Compact Laws. 
 I.  A licensed substance abuse treatment program shall 
complete the [Uniform Facility Data Set Survey]National Survey of 
Substance Abuse Treatment annually.  Substance abuse treatment 
programs shall also comply with Confidentiality of Alcohol and 
Drug [a]Abuse Patient Records, 42 CFR Part 2. 
 J.  The program's license shall be posted where it is easily read 
by consumers, staff and visitors[in a conspicuous place on the 
premises].  See also R501-1-5-F.  The program shall post Civil 
Rights License on Notice of Agency Action, abuse and neglect 
reporting and [Americans With Disabilities Act, referred to as 
ADA,]other notices as applicable. 
 K.  The program shall not handle the major personal business 
affairs of a consumer, without request in writing by the consumer 
and legal representative. 
 L.  Programs providing foster or proctor care services shall 
adhere to the following: 
 1.  approve homes that comply with Foster Care Rules, R501-
12.  The agency shall be required to recruit, train, and supervise 
foster parents as defined by R501-12. 
 2.  foster families meeting requirements shall be approved or 
certified by the agency.  The agency must maintain written records 
of annual home approval.  The approval process shall include a 
home study evaluation and training plan. 
 3.  the agency must have a procedure to revoke or deny home 
approval. 
 4.  the agency must have a written agreement with the foster 
parents which includes the expectations and responsibilities of the 
agency, staff, foster parents, the services to be provided, the 
financial arrangements for children placed in the home, the authority 
foster parents can exercise on children placed in the home, actions 
which require staff authorization. 
 5.  planning, with participation of the child's legal guardian for 
care and services to meet the child's individual needs. 

 6.  obtaining, coordinating and supervising any needed medical, 
remedial, or other specialized services or resources with the ongoing 
participation of the foster parents. 
 7.  providing ongoing supervision of foster parents to ensure the 
quality of the care they provide. 
 
R501-2-3.  Governance. 
 A.  The program shall have a governing body which is 
responsible for and has authority over the policies, training and 
monitoring of staff and consumer activities for all phases of the 
program.  The[ir] governing body's responsibilities shall include the 
following: 
 1.  to ensure program policy and procedures compliance, 
 2.  to ensure continual compliance with relevant local, state and 
federal requirements, 
 3.  to notify the Office of Licensing within 30 days of changes 
in program administration and purpose,[ according to R501-2-2.] 
 4.  to ensure that the program is fiscally and operationally 
sound, by providing documentation by a financial professional that 
the program is a "going concern", 
 5.  to ensure that the program has adequate staffing as identified 
on the organizational chart, 
 6. to ensure that the program has general liability insurance, 
professional liability insurance as appropriate, vehicle insurance for 
transport of consumers, and fire insurance, and 
 7.  for programs serving youth, the program director or 
designee shall meet with the Superintendent or designee of the local 
school district at the time of initial licensure, and then again each 
year as the programs renews it's license to complete the necessary 
student forms including youth education forms. 
 B.  The governing body shall be one of the following: 
 1.  a Board of Directors in a non-profit organization; or 
 2.  commissioners or appointed officials of a governmental 
unit; or 
 3.  Board of Directors or individual owner or owners of a for-
profit organization[, and 
 4.  for Child Placing Adoption Agencies, a Board of Directors.  
The Board members shall not be owners, employees, or paid 
consultants of the agency]. 
 C.  The program shall have a list of members of the governing 
body, indicating name, address and term of membership. 
 D.  The program shall have an organization chart which 
identifies operating units of the program and their inter-
relationships.  The chart shall define lines of authority and 
responsibility for all program staff and identifies by name the staff 
person who fills each position on the chart. 
 E.  When the governing body is composed of more than one 
person, the governing body shall establish written by-laws, and shall 
hold formal meetings at least twice a year, Child Placing Agencies 
must meet at least quarterly, maintain written minutes, which shall 
be available for review by the Office of  Licensing, to include the 
following: 
 1.  attendance, 
 2.  date, 
 3.  agenda items, and 
 4.  actions. 
 
R501-2-4.  Statutory Authority. 
 A.  A publicly operated program shall document the statutory 
basis for existence. 
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 B.  A privately operated program shall document its ownership 
and incorporation. 
 
R501-2-5.  Record Keeping. 
 The program shall have, [if available and appropriate, ]a written 
record for each consumer to include the following: 
 A.  [d]Demographic information to include Medicaid number 
as required, 
 B.  [b]Biographical information, 
 C.  [p]Pertinent background information, including the 
following; 
1.  personal history, including social, emotional, psychological and 
physical development, 
 2.  legal status, 
 3.  emergency contact with name, address and telephone 
number, and 
 4.  photo as needed.[,] 
 D. [h]Health records of a consumer including the following: 
 1.  immunizations, [this is not applicable to adult programs]for 
children only, 
 2.  medication, 
 3.  [records of ]physical examinations, dental, and visual 
examinations, and 
 4.  other pertinent health records and information[,]. 
 E.  [s]Signed consent forms for treatment and signed Release of 
Information form, 
 F.  [c]Copy of consumer's individual treatment or service plan, 
 G.  [a]A summary of family visits and contacts, and 
 H.  [a]A summary of attendance and [leaves]absences. 
 
R501-2-6.  Direct Service Management. 
 A.  Direct service management, as described herein, is not 
applicable to social detoxification[, residential support or child 
placing adoption agencies].  The program shall have on file for 
public inspection a written eligibility policy and procedure, 
approved by a licensed clinical professional to include the following: 
 1.  legal status[ according to State law], 
 2.  age and sex of consumer, 
 3.  consumer needs or problems best addressed by program, 
 4.  program limitations, and 
 5.  appropriate placement. 
 B.  The program shall have a written admission policy and 
procedure to include the following: 
 1.  appropriate intake process, 
 2.  age groupings as approved by the Office of Licensing, 
 [2]3.  pre-placement requirements, 
 [3]4.  self-admission, 
 [4]5.  notification of legally responsible person, and 
 [5]6.  reason for refusal of admission, to include a written, 
signed statement. 
 C.  Intake evaluation. 
 1. At the time of intake an assessment shall be conducted to 
evaluate health and family history, medical, social, psychological 
and, as appropriate, developmental, vocational and educational 
factors. 
 2.  In emergency situations which necessitate immediate 
placement, the intake evaluation shall be completed within seven 
days of admission. 
 3.  All methods used in evaluating a consumer shall consider 
age, cultural background, dominant language, and mode of 
communication. 

 D.  A written agreement, developed with the consumer, and the 
legally responsible person if applicable, shall be completed, signed 
by all parties, and kept in the consumer's record, with copies 
available to involved persons.  It shall include the following: 
 1.  rules of program, 
 2.  consumer and family expectations, 
 3.  services to be provided and cost of service, 
 4.  authorization to serve and to obtain emergency care for 
consumer, 
 5.  arrangements regarding absenteeism, visits, vacation, mail, 
gifts, and telephone calls, when appropriate, and 
 6.  sanctions and consequences. 
 E.  Consumer treatment plan shall be individualized, as 
applicable according to the following. 
 1.  A staff member shall be assigned to each consumer having 
responsibility and authority for development, implementation, and 
review of the plan. 
 2.  The plan shall include the following: 
 a.  findings of intake evaluation and assessment, 
 b.  measurable long and short term goals and objectives, 
 1)  goals or objectives clearly derived from assessment 
information, 
 2)  goals or objectives stated in terms of specific observable 
changes in behavior, skills, attitudes or circumstances, 
 3)  evidence that consumer input was integrated where 
appropriate in identifying goals and objectives, and 
 4)  evidence of family involvement in treatment plan, unless 
clinically contraindicated, 
 c.  specification of daily activities, services, and treatment, and 
 d.  methods for evaluation, 
 3.  Treatment plans[:] 
 a.  [P]plans shall be developed within 30 days of consumer's 
admission by a treatment team and reviewed by a [licensed ]clinical 
professional if applicable.  Thereafter[,] treatment plans shall be 
reviewed by the licensed clinical professional if applicable as often 
as stated in the treatment plan.[  Plans for non-Medicaid consumers 
shall be clinically reviewed within six months of admission and at 
least annually thereafter. 
 b.  Where applicable, treatment or program plans shall be 
written to include the required components of Division of Services 
for People With Disabilities program plan.] 
 4.  All persons working directly with the consumer shall be 
appropriately informed of the individual treatment plan. 
 5.  Reports on the progress of the consumer shall be available to 
the applicable Division, the consumer, or the legally responsible 
person. 
 6.  Treatment record entries shall include the following: 
 a.  identification of program, 
 b.  date and duration of services provided, 
 c.  description of service provided, 
 d.  a description of consumer progress or lack of progress in the 
achievement of treatment goals or objectives as often as stated in the 
treatment plan, and 
 e.  documentation of review of consumer's record to include the 
following: 
 1)  signature, 
 2)  title, 
 3)  date, and 
 4)  reason for review. 
 7.  Transfer and Discharge 
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 a.  [A]a discharge plan shall identify resources available to 
consumer. 
 b.  [T]the plan shall be written so it can be understood by the 
consumer or legally responsible party. 
 c.  [W]whenever possible the plan shall be developed with 
consumers participation, or legally responsible party if necessary.  
The plan shall include the following: 
 1)  reason for discharge or transfer, 
 2)  adequate discharge plan, including aftercare planning, 
 3)  summary of services provided, 
 4)  evaluation of achievement of treatment goals or objectives, 
 5)  signature and title of staff preparing summary, and 
 6)  date of discharge or transfer. 
 d.  The program shall have a written policy concerning 
unplanned discharge. 
 8.  Incident or Crisis Intervention records 
 a.  The program shall have written policies and procedures 
which includes: reporting to program manager, documentation, and 
management review of incidents such as deaths of consumers, 
serious injuries, fights, or physical confrontations, situations 
requiring the use of passive physical restraints, suspected incidents 
of abuse or neglect, unusual incidents, strip searches [for the 
reporting and documentation of deaths of consumers, injuries, fights, 
or physical confrontations, situations requiring the use of passive 
physical restraints, suspected incidents of abuse or neglect, unusual 
incidents,] and other situations or circumstances affecting the health, 
safety, or well-being of consumers. 
 b.  [R]records shall include the following: 
 1)  summary information, 
 2)  date, time of emergency intervention, 
 3)  action taken, 
 4)  employees and management responsible and involved, 
 5)  follow up information, 
 6)  list of referrals, 
 7)  signature and title of staff preparing report, and 
 8)  records shall be signed by management staff. 
 c.  [T]the report shall be maintained in individual consumer 
records. 
 d.  [W]when an incident involves abuse, [or ]neglect, serious 
illness, violations of the Provider Code of Conduct [of a consumer,] 
or death of a consumer, a program shall: 
 1)  [prepare a preliminary written report within 24 hours of the 
incident, and]notify the Office of Licensing, legally responsible 
person and any applicable agency which may include law 
enforcement. 
 2)  [notify the Office, the legally responsible person, and the 
appropriate law enforcement authority]a preliminary written report 
shall be submitted to the Office of Licensing within 24 hours of the 
incident.[ 
 F.  Intensive Supervision and Tracking: For those programs 
providing intensive supervision services, a designated staff member 
shall provide services to the consumer as frequently as determined in 
the treatment plan or contract.  A consumer's record shall document, 
in activity logs, the date, amount of time spent, and the specific 
activity provided to the consumer.  If any one consumer has more 
than one staff assigned to provide intensive supervision, this action 
shall be justified in the consumer's record and cleared by the 
licensed clinical supervisor.] 
 

R501-2-7.  Behavior Management. 
 A.  [Behavior management methods, as described herein, are 
not applicable to child placing adoption agencies.  ]The program 
shall have on file for public inspection, a written policy and 
procedure for the methods of behavior management.  These shall 
include the following: 
 1.  definition of appropriate and inappropriate behaviors of 
consumers, 
 2.  acceptable staff responses to inappropriate behaviors, and 
 3.  consequences. 
 B.  The policy shall be provided to all staff, and staff shall 
receive training relative to behavior management at least annually[, 
or more often if needed]. 
 C.  No management person shall authorize or use, and no staff 
member shall use, any method designed to humiliate or frighten a 
consumer. 
 D.  No management person shall authorize or use, and no staff 
member shall use nor permit the use of physical restraint with the 
exception of passive physical restraint.  Passive physical restraint 
shall be used only as a temporary means of physical containment to 
protect the consumer, other persons, or property from harm.  Passive 
physical restraint shall not be associated with punishment in any 
way. 
 E.  [Staff who shall be responsible for the design and 
supervision of the behavior management procedure shall be at least 
21 years of age.]Staff involved in an emergency safety intervention 
that results in an injury to a resident or staff must meet with the 
clinical professional to evaluate the circumstances that caused the 
injury and develop a plan to prevent future injuries. 
 F.  Programs using time out or seclusion methods shall comply 
with the following: 
 1.  The program will have a written policy and procedure which 
has been approved by the Office of Licensing to include: 
 a.  Time-out or seclusion is only used when a child's behavior is 
disruptive to the child's ability to learn to participate appropriately, 
or to function appropriately with other children or the activity.  It 
shall not be used for punishment or as a substitute for other 
developmentally appropriate positive methods of behavior 
management. 
 b.  Time-out or seclusion shall be documented in detail and 
provide a clear understanding of the incident which resulted in the 
child being placed in that time-out or seclusion. 
 c.  If a child is placed in time out or seclusion more than twice 
in any twenty-four hour period, a review is conducted by the clinical 
professional to determine the suitability of the child remaining in the 
program. 
 d.  Any one time-out or seclusion shall not exceed 4 hours in 
duration. 
 e.  Staff is required to maintain a visual contact with a child in 
time-out or seclusion at all times. 
 f.  If there is any type of emergency such as a fire alarm, or 
evacuation notification, children in time-out or seclusion shall 
follow the safety plan. 
 g.  A child placed in time-out or seclusion shall not be in 
possession of belts, matches, weapons, or any other potentially 
harmful objects or materials that could present a risk or harm to the 
child. 
 2.  Time-out or seclusion areas shall comply with the following: 
 a.  Time-out or seclusion rooms shall not have locking 
capability. 
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 b.  Time-out or seclusion rooms shall not be located in closets, 
bathrooms, or unfurnished basements, attic's or locked boxes. 
 c.  A time-out or seclusion room is not a bedroom, and 
temporary beds, or mattresses in these areas are not allowed.  Time-
out and seclusion shall not preclude a child's need for sleep, or 
normal scheduled sleep period. 
 d.  All time-out or seclusion rooms shall measure at least 75 
square feet with a ceiling height of at least 7 feet.  They shall have 
either natural or mechanical ventilation and be equipped with a 
break resistant window, mirror or camera that allows for full 
observation of the room.  Seclusion rooms shall have no hardware, 
equipment, or furnishings that obstruct observation of the child, or 
that present a physical hazard or a suicide risk.  Rooms used for time 
out or seclusion shall be inspected and approved by the local fire 
department 
 G.  The program's licensed clinical professional shall be 
responsible for supervision of the behavior management procedure. 
 
R501-2-8.  Rights of Consumers. 
 A.  The program shall have a written policy for consumer rights 
to include the following:[, numbers 10-13 do not apply to child 
placing adoption agencies:] 
 1.  privacy of information and privacy for both current and 
closed records, 
 2.  reasons for involuntary termination and criteria for re-
admission to the program, 
 3.  freedom from potential harm or acts of violence to consumer 
or others, 
 4.  consumer responsibilities, including household tasks, 
privileges, and rules of conduct, 
 5.  service fees and other costs, 
 6.  grievance and complaint procedures, 
 7.  freedom from discrimination, 
 8.  the right to be treated with dignity, 
 9.  the right to communicate by telephone or in writing with 
family, attorney, physician, clergyman, and counselor or case 
manager except when contraindicated by the licensed clinical 
professional[ or supervisory personnel], 
 10.   a list of people, whose visitation rights have been 
restricted through the courts, 
 11.  the right to send and receive mail providing that security 
and general health and safety requirements are met, 
 12.  defined smoking policy in accordance with the Utah Clean 
Air Act, and 
 13.  statement of maximum sanctions and consequences, 
reviewed and approved by the Office of Licensing. 
 B.  The consumer shall be informed of this policy to his or her 
understanding verbally and in writing.  A signed copy shall be 
maintained in the consumer record. 
 
R501-2-9.  Personnel Administration. 
 A.  The program shall have written personnel policies and 
procedures to include the following: 
 1.  employee grievances, 
 2.  lines of authority, 
 3.  orientation and on-going training, 
 4.  performance appraisals, 
 5.  rules of conduct, and 
 6.  sexual and personal harassment. 
 B.  The program shall have a director, appointed by the 
governing body, who shall be responsible for management of the 

program and facility.  The director or [a responsible staff member]or 
designated management person shall be available at all times during 
operation of program. 
 C.  The program shall have a personnel file for each employee 
to include the following: 
 1.  application for employment, 
 2.  applicable credentials and certifications, 
 3.  initial medical history if directed by the governing body, 
 4.  tuberculin test if directed by the governing body, 
 5.  food handler permit, where required by local health 
authority, 
 6.  training record, 
 7.  annual performance evaluations, 
 8.  I-9 Form completed as applicable, 
 9.  comply with the provisions of R501-14 and R501-[15]18 for 
background screening, and 
 10.  a signed copy of the current Department of Human 
Services Provider Code of Conduct. 
 [D.  Staff shall have access to his or her personnel file in 
accordance with State and Federal law. 
 E]D.  The program shall follow a written staff to consumer 
ratio, which shall meet specific consumer and program needs.  The 
staff to consumer ratio shall meet or exceed the requirements set 
forth in the applicable categorical rules as found in R501-3, R501-7, 
R501-8, R501-11, and R501-16. 
 [F]E.  The program shall employ or contract with trained or 
qualified staff to perform the following functions: 
 1.  administrative, 
 2.  fiscal, 
 3.  clerical, 
 4.  housekeeping, maintenance, and food service, 
 5.  direct consumer service, and 
 6.  supervisory. 
 [G]F.  The program shall have a written job description for 
each position, which includes a specific statement of duties and 
responsibilities and the minimum level of education, training and 
work experience required. 
 [H]G.  Treatment shall be provided or supervised by 
professional staff, whose qualifications are determined or approved 
by the governing body, in accordance with State law. 
 [I]H.  The governing body shall ensure that all staff are 
certified and licensed as legally required. 
 [J]I.  The program shall have access to a medical clinic or a 
physician licensed to practice medicine in the State of Utah. 
 [K.  Nursing services, when provided, shall be in accordance 
with technical skills defined in the Utah Nurse Practice Act. 
 L]J.  The program shall provide interpreters for consumers[;] or 
refer consumers to appropriate resources as necessary to 
communicate with consumers whose primary language is not 
English. 
 [M]K.  The program shall retain the personnel file of an 
employee after termination of employment, in accordance with 
accepted personnel practices. 
 [N]L.  A program using volunteers, substitutes, or student 
interns, shall have a written plan to include the following: 
 1.  direct supervision by a program staff, 
 2.  orientation and training in the philosophy of the program, 
the needs of consumers, and methods of meeting those needs, 
 3.  background screening, 
 4.  a record maintained with demographic information, and 
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 5.  signed copy of the current Department of Human Services 
Provider Code of Conduct. 
 [O]M.  Staff Training 
 1.  Staff members shall be trained in all policies of the program, 
including the following: 
 a.  orientation in philosophy, objectives, and services, 
 b.  emergency procedures, 
 c.  behavior management, 
 [d.  statutory responsibilities of the program, including rights 
for people with disabilities according to the Americans With 
Disabilities Act, 
 e]d.  current program policy and procedures, and 
 [f]e.  other relevant subjects. 
 2.  Staff shall have completed and remain current in a certified 
first aid and CPR, such as or comparable to American Red Cross[ 
program as required]. 
 3.  Staff shall have current food handlers permit as required by 
local health authority. 
 4.  Training shall be documented and maintained [in individual 
personnel files]on-site. 
 
R501-2-10.  Infectious Disease. 
 The program shall have policies and procedures designed to 
prevent or control infectious and communicable diseases in the 
facility in accordance with local, state and federal health standards. 
 
R501-2-11.  Emergency Plans. 
 A.  The program shall have a written plan of action for disaster 
and casualties to include the following: 
 1.  designation of authority and staff assignments, 
 2.  plan for evacuation, 
 3.  transportation and relocation of consumers when necessary, 
and 
 4.  supervision of consumers after evacuation or relocation. 
 B.  The program shall [inform]educate consumers on how to 
respond to fire warnings and other instructions for life safety 
including evacuation. 
 C.  The program shall have a written plan which personnel 
follow in medical emergencies and arrangements for medical care, 
including notification of consumer's physician and nearest relative or 
guardian.[ 
 D.  Death, serious illness, or injury of a consumer or staff at the 
program shall be reported within 24 hours to a guardian and to the 
Office.] 
 
R501-2-12.  Safety. 
 A.  Fire drills in non-outpatient programs, shall be conducted at 
least quarterly and documented.  Notation of inadequate response 
shall be documented. 
 B.  The program shall provide access to an operable 24-hour 
telephone service.  Telephone numbers for emergency assistance, 
i.e., 911 and poison control, shall be posted. 
 C.  The program shall have an adequately supplied first aid kit 
in the facility such as recommended by American Red Cross. 
 D.  [Programs maintaining weapons at the facility shall assure 
that the weapons and ammunition are securely locked.  Weapons 
kept at the facility and on the premises will be inaccessible to 
consumers at all times and rendered inoperable if possible]All 
persons associated with the program having access to children or 
vulnerable adults who have firearms or ammunition shall assure that 
they are inaccessible to consumers at all times.  Firearms and 

ammunition that are stored together shall be kept securely locked in 
security vaults or locked cases, not in glass fronted display cases.  
Firearms that are stored in display cases shall be rendered inoperable 
with trigger locks, bolts removed, or other disabling methods.  
Ammunition for those firearms shall be kept securely locked in a 
separate location.  This does not restrict constitution or statutory 
rights regarding concealed weapons permits, pursuant to UCA 53-5-
701 et seq. 
 
R501-2-13.  Transportation. 
 A.  The program shall have written policy and procedures for 
transporting consumers. 
 B.  In each program or staff vehicle, used to transport 
consumers, there shall be emergency information which includes at 
a minimum, the name, address and phone number of the program 
[or]and an emergency telephone number. 
 C.  The program shall have means, or make arrangement for, 
transportation in case of emergency. 
 D.  Drivers of vehicles shall have a valid drivers license and 
follow safety requirements of the State. 
 E.  Each vehicle shall be equipped with an adequately supplied 
first aid kit such as recommended by American Red Cross. 
 
R501-2-14.  Categorical [Standards]Rules. 
 In addition to Core [Standards]Rules, Categorical 
[Standards]Rules are specific regulations which must be met for the 
following: 
 A.  Child Placing Adoption Agencies R501-7, 
 B.  Day Treatment R501-20, 
 C.  Intermediate Secure Treatment Programs for Minors R501-
16, 
 D.  Outdoor Youth Programs R501-8, 
 E.  Outpatient Treatment R501-21, 
 F.  [Outpatient Domestic Violence Perpetrator 
Treatment]Foster Care R501-12, 
 G.  Residential Treatment R501-19, 
 H.  Residential Support R501-22,[ and] 
 I.  Social Detoxification R501-11[.] and 
 J.  Assisted Living for DSPD Residential R710. 
 
R501-2-15.  Single Service Program [Standards]Rules. 
 Core [Standards]Rules of the Office of Licensing do not apply 
to single service programs. 
 Single services program [standards]Rules are the regulations 
which must be met for the following: 
 A.  Adult Day Care, which [standards]Rules are found in R501-
13, 
 B.  Adult Foster Care, which [standards]Rules are found in 
R501-17.[, and 
 C.  Child Foster Care, which standards are found in R501-12.] 
 
KEY:  licensing, human services 
[May 6, 2003]2004 
Notice of Continuation November 25, 2002 
62A-2-101 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
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R501-7 
Child Placing Agencies 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26904 

FILED:  01/16/2004, 12:32 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
amendments to Rule R501-7 have been made to make the 
rule cleaner in language and the expansion of changes 
necessary for the licensing of Child Placing Adoption 
Agencies. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The changes have been 
made to create better definitions of the responsibilities of 
agencies for the protection of the child/birth parent/and 
adoptive parents. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 62A-2-106 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  It is anticipated that the cost for printing 
the updated rule will be absorbed by the Office of Licensing. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local governments have no additional 
costs because the changes in this rule have been more for 
clarification and broader definition of an already existing rule 
and other than the agencies meeting local government 
regulations, there will be no additional cost to local 
governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  The changes in this rule will not produce 
additional costs or savings to other persons because the rule 
changes are more for clarification and expanded definitions 
and not new physical changes. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because the 
changes made in this rule are more for clarification and better 
definition of terms, it was determined that there would be no 
additional cost or savings to the affected persons unless they 
re-write the policy manual. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  With the type of changes made 
in this rule, there will not be any fiscal impact on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
ADMINISTRATION, ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES, 
LICENSING 
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Bohi at the above address, by phone at 801-538-4153, by 
FAX at 801-538-4553, or by Internet E-mail at jbohi@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Ken Stettler, Director 
 
 
 
R501.  Human Services, Administration, Administrative 
Services, Licensing. 
R501-7.  Child Placing Adoption Agencies. 
R501-7-1.  Authority and Purpose. 
 [Pursuant to 62A-2-101 et seq., the purpose of this rule is to 
define standards and procedures by which the office of Licensing 
shall license child placing agencies.]A.  This rule is authorized under 
Section 62A-2-106. 
 B.  This rule establishes standards for licensing agencies to 
provide child placing adoption services. 
 
[R501-7-2.  Objective. 
 Pursuant to Section 62A-4a-205.6, the primary objective of a 
child placing agency shall be to place children permanently in 
adoptive homes.  Whenever that is unachievable, foster home 
placements shall become an acceptable secondary objective. 
] 
R501-7-[3]2.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Adoption" is defined in Section 78-30-16. 
 B.  "Child placing adoption agency" means an individual, 
agency, firm, corporation, association or group children's home that 
engages in child placing. 
 C.  "Adoption Services" is defined in Section 62A-4a-101. 
 D.  "Birth Parent" is defined in Section 78-30-16. 
 E.  "Child placing" means [the ]receiving, accepting, or 
providing [of] custody or care for a child [under 18 years of age.  
Where possible, this shall be done permanently in accordance with 
62A-2-101(2), or on a temporary basis.]for the purpose of finding a 
person to adopt the child or placing a child in a home for adoption. 
 F.  "Confinement" means the time period when a woman is 
hospitalized or medically restricted due to her pregnancy and 
childbirth. 
 G.  "Disruption" means the termination of an adoptive 
placement prior to the issuance of a final decree of adoption. 
 H.  "Foster Care" means family care in the residence of a foster 
parent who is licensed or certified pursuant to R501-12. 
 I.  "Genetic and Social History is defined in Section 78-30-16. 
 J.  "Health History" is defined in Section 78-30-16. 
 K.  "Intercountry Adoption" means the adoption of a child from 
a foreign country, whether the adoption is completed in the child's 
native country or in this State. 
 L.  "Mental Health Therapist" is defined in Section 58-60-102. 
 M.  "Sliding Scale" means an established fee schedule that 
varies according to an individual's annual income. 
 N.  "Special needs" means a child who is three years of age or 
older, a sibling group, a child with mental, physical, medical or 
emotional disabilities, or a child who has a biological family history 
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likely to result in temporary or permanent mental, physical, or 
emotional disabilities. 
 O.  "Unmarried biological father" is defined in Section 78-30-
4.11. 
 
R501-7-[4]3.  Legal Requirements[ for Organizations 
Administration of Child Placing Agencies]. 
 [A.  Administration 
 1]A.  In addition to [the]this rule[s][ contained herein], all 
[C]child [P]placing adoption [A]agencies [will]shall comply with 
R495-876, R501-1, R501-2-1 through 501-2-5, R501-2-8 through 
R501-2-14, R501-14, R501-18[,]; Title 58, Chapter 60; title 62A, 
Chapters 2 and 4a: Section 76-7-203; Title 78; Chapters 3a, 30, 45a, 
and 45e; and other applicable local, State and Federal laws[Core 
Standards]. 
 [2]B.  [Multiple-Service Agency:  When services for birth 
parents are provided in the same agency that provides adoption 
services, it is necessary to ensure that full consideration is given to 
the needs of birth parents, as well as to those of the child.  Moreover, 
the agency shall advertise to the public that it does provide services 
for birth parents who are not considering adoption, refer to R501-7-
6]Child placing adoption agencies that do not provide housing for 
birth mothers are exempt from R501-2-5, 10, 11, and 12. 
 [3]C.  [Selection and Placement:  ]A child placing adoption 
agency [for adoption or foster care] shall not[:][ 
 a.  deny to any person the opportunity to become an adoptive or 
a foster parent on the basis of race, color, or national origin of the 
person, or of a child, involved; or 
 b. ] delay or deny the placement of a child or the opportunity to 
become an adoptive parent[for adoption or into foster care] on the 
basis of [the ]race, color, ethnicity, cultural heritage, or national 
origin[ of the adoptive or foster parent, or of a child, involved].  A 
child placing adoption agency shall comply with all State and 
Federal laws regarding discrimination. 
 [4]D.  [Legal Responsibility for Child:  The ]A child placing 
adoption agency shall be legally responsible for [the well-being of 
]the child following relinquishment of the child to the adoption 
agency until the adoption is finalized, [or ]unless [the]a court of 
competent jurisdiction places legal responsibility with another 
party.[  If the child cannot be adopted, the agency shall continue to 
be legally responsible for the child, i.e., for making referrals to the 
appropriate service for continuing care until the agency is 
discharged.] 
 [5.  Legal and Other Documents:  The agency shall have 
available and keep in a confidential file all pertinent legal and other 
documents as available and appropriate, including but not limited to 
the following: 
 a.  birth records, 
 b.  baptismal certificates, 
 c.  an original of the transfer of parental rights or 
relinquishment, 
 d.  decree of termination of parental rights, 
 e.  copies of divorce papers, 
 f.  death certificates of adoptive family members or birth 
parents, 
 g.  affidavits in cases where a husband is not the father of the 
child, 
 h.  statement of the birth parents to release information to 
mutually agreed upon individuals, or waiver of confidentiality, 

 i.  statements of birth and adoptive parents regarding their 
agreement to exchange information and the conditions, if any, 
pursuant to contact following placement and legal adoption, and 
 j.  copy of the order of adoption.]E.  A child placing adoption 
agency shall sign and comply with written agreements regarding 
confidentiality and the exchange of information between birth 
parents and adoptive families. 
 F  A child placing adoption agency which serves Indian 
children shall comply with the Indian Child Welfare Act. 
 G  A child placing adoption agency that provides foster care 
shall comply with R501-12. 
 H  A child placing adoption Agency shall comply with the 
Interstate Compact for Placement of Children. 
 
R501-7-4.  Administrative Requirements. 
 [6.  Minimum Qualifications of Staff:  The Executive Director 
and other staff of the agency shall meet the standards listed below.  
Department of Human Services Offices staff will be required to 
meet the personnel and administrative standards as set by State 
Personnel Policy. 
 7.  Executive Director: 
 a.  The Board of a private agency shall select the Executive 
Director and delegate to the Executive Director the responsibility for 
administration of the agency within the general policies of the 
Board. 
 b.  The Executive Director of a licensed child-placing agency 
shall be graduated from an accredited four-year college or 
university, have a master's degree in social work and shall be 
licensed in accordance with 58-60-204,105 and 58-60-404,405 as a 
clinical social worker, certified social worker, or professional 
counselor.  In agencies where the Executive Director does not have 
the appropriate professional license, there shall be a staff member 
with the appropriate licensure designated as Social Services Director 
for the agency. 
 c.  In addition, staff identified shall have had two years of full-
time paid professional employment in services to children, in a 
social service setting; one of which must have been in a supervisory 
or administrative capacity.]A.  A child placing adoption agency shall 
have at least one social work supervisor responsible for directly 
supervising all staff and volunteers who have direct contact with 
clients. 
 1  Each social work supervisor shall be licensed in this state as 
a mental health therapist and have at least two years of full time, 
paid, professional experience in a licensed child placing adoption 
agency. 
 2.  A social work supervisor may not supervise more than eight 
staff and volunteers who have direct contact with clients. 
 3.  An Executive Director who is licensed in this state as a 
mental health therapist and has at least two years of full time, paid, 
professional experience in a licensed child placing agency may serve 
as a social work supervisor, and may not supervise more than four 
staff and volunteers who have direct contact with clients. 
 [8.  Casework Supervisor:  If an agency has six or more 
professional staff besides the Executive Director, provisions shall be 
made for a certified social worker or professional counselor to 
supervise the additional staff.  The certified social worker or 
professional counselor must have at least one year of full-time paid 
professional experience in social work.  In general, the ratio shall not 
exceed one certified social worker or professional counselor to eight 
caseworkers. 
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 9.  Social Service Worker:  All service workers shall be 
licensed to practice social work under the laws of the State of 
Utah.]B.  Individuals who provide services to birth parents, children, 
or adoptive applicants shall maintain a current professional license 
as required by the Utah Mental Health Professional Practice Act. 
 [10.  Workloads:  The agency shall establish full time workload 
standards for staff, taking into consideration average time for 
satisfactory completion of intake; assessment and preparation of 
adoptive applicants; and post placement and post legal adoptive 
services to the birth, adoptive parents and adoptive persons.  Under 
no circumstance shall the workload for social work staff working 
with children under the age of five exceed 20 active cases; for staff 
working with prospective adoptive parents prior to approval of the 
family exceed 30 active cases; for staff working with prospective 
adoptive parents, following approval exceed 60 active cases; for 
staff working with birth parents exceed 25 active cases; and for staff 
working with older or special needs children exceed 15 active cases. 
 11.  Staff Development:  The agency shall provide 
opportunities for staff to enhance professional growth through 
supervision, in-service training and educational leave.  The agency 
shall maintain current adoption literature.]C.  A child placing 
adoption agency shall notify the Office Of Licensing of any changes 
it makes to its policies or procedures and shall provide a written 
copy of any changes within five business days. 
 D.  A child placing adoption agency shall provide at least 
30 days' written notice to the Office of Licensing that the agency is: 
 1.  dissolving or ceasing to provide child placing services, 
 2.  adding or eliminating in-state, out-of-state, special needs, or 
international services, 
 3  changing ownership or name, or 
 4  transferring its cases to another agency, person, or records 
archive. 
 
R501-7-5.  Ethical Conduct. 
 [12]A.  [Ethical Conduct:  ]A child placing adoption agency 
shall [operate in an ethical manner, including the following: 
 a.  Its governing body, voluntary board, staff and consultants 
are not favored in applying for or receiving the services of the 
agency. 
 b.  It receives no payment or other considerations for the 
referral of any applicant or client. 
 c.  It provides no payment or other considerations to any 
services provider or other organization or individual for any referral 
of any applicant for the agency's services.] 
 1.  not give preferential treatment to its board members, 
employees, volunteers, agents, consultants, independent contractors, 
or their respective families with regard to child placing decisions; 
 2.  not provide or accept any payment or other considerations 
for any referral; 
 3.  work only with agencies, entities or individuals that are 
authorized to provide child placing adoption services by the 
jurisdiction in which that agency, entity or individual performs child 
placing adoption services; 
 4.  not permit its employees, volunteers, agents, consultants, or 
independent contractors to provide services to both the birth parents 
and the adoptive parents unless all parties are first offered the 
opportunity to work with separate employees, volunteers, agents, 
consultants, or independent contractors; are made aware of potential 
conflicts of interest; and sign a voluntary consent; 
 5.  not require its clients to use or pay for specified attorneys or 
other service providers, shall inform clients that they are free to 

select independent attorneys and other service providers, and shall 
not charge clients fees for services that clients obtain independently; 
and 
 6.  [d.  It prohibits the directed]not refer[ral,] or steer[ing, of its 
applicants, clients, and their families]any individual to any private 
practice in which [it's ]the agency's board members, volunteers, 
employees, agents, consultants, independent contractors, or their 
respective families [staff or consultants may be ]are engaged. 
 [e.  It maintains a record of the ownership of all its properties 
and of all financial transactions it enters into with respect to such 
properties. 
 f]B.  The members of the governing body of [a private or 
public]a child placing adoption agency shall disclose, in writing, 
any[have no] direct or indirect financial interest in [the assets or 
leases of ]the agency[; any member who individually or as part of 
business or professional firm is involved in the business transactions 
or current professional services of the agency shall disclose this 
relationship and shall not participate in any vote taken in respect to 
such transactions or services]. 
 C.  The child placing adoption agency, its board members, 
volunteers, employees, or agents shall not solicit or accept donations 
from adoptive families while a family is under consideration for 
placement of a child. 
 
R501-7-6  Fees. 
 A.  A child placing adoption agency shall provide a written 
disclosure of all fees and expenses prospective adoptive parents may 
incur before the agency accepts any payments or processes any 
application from, or enters any agreement with, the prospective 
adoptive parents.  A child placing adoption agency shall not charge 
adoptive parents for any fees or expenses that were not included in 
the written disclosure.  A child placing adoption agency shall 
identify which fees may be non-refundable. 
 B.  A child placing adoption agency may charge adoptive 
parents an agency fee, which shall be a sliding scale or flat fee, and 
shall include all administrative and professional services provided 
on behalf of the adoptive parents, including but not limited to pre-
adoption evaluations, home studies, personnel, counseling, 
overhead, and training, and which may include birth mothers' travel 
or postnatal expenses. 
 C.  A child placing adoption agency may charge adoptive 
parents for the actual and reasonable costs of maternity, medical, 
and necessary pre-natal living expenses of the birth mother in 
accordance with Section 76-7-203. 
 1.  The agency shall retain receipts documenting the actual 
costs of goods and services provided. 
 2.  A child placing adoption agency shall not directly charge 
adoptive parents for the birth mother's travel or postnatal expenses. 
 3.  A child placing adoption agency shall not charge the 
adoptive parents for the travel or living expenses of any person other 
than the birth mother. 
 D.  The agency shall maintain an itemized accounting of the 
actual expenditures made on behalf of a birth mother, which shall be 
verified and signed by the birth mother and adoptive applicant, and 
filed with the court in accordance with Section 78-30-15.5. 
 E.  The agency may delegate the responsibility for a child's 
care, maintenance, and support to the adoptive applicant only when 
the applicant has received the child into the applicant's home, in 
accordance with Section 78-30-4.22. 
 F.  A birth mother who decides not to place her child shall not 
be responsible for reimbursing the costs of any goods or services 
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provided to her by the prospective adoptive parents or the child 
placing adoption agency during her pregnancy. 
 
R501-7-7  Documentation. 
 A.  A child placing adoption agency shall maintain a policy and 
procedure manual describing how it shall comply with all licensing 
rules and local, state and federal laws applicable to the type of 
services offered. 
 B.  A child placing adoption agency shall maintain a policy and 
procedure manual demonstrating how it shall: 
 1.  train and supervise employees and volunteers; 
 2.  identify a child who may be available for adoption; 
 3.  identify or refer a person who is considering relinquishing a 
child for adoption; 
 4.  provide services in cases where the agency does not obtain 
legal custody of a child; 
 5.  verify the credentials of other individuals and agencies it 
works with to obtain relinquishments and place a child; 
 6.  offer counseling services by a licensed mental health 
therapist to a person who is considering relinquishing a child for 
adoption or adopting a child; 
 7.  inform birth parents and adoptive parents of their rights and 
responsibilities  in writing; 
 8.  monitor who has legal and physical responsibility for the 
child at all times; 
 9.  secure the necessary relinquishments and facilitate the 
termination of parental rights; 
 10. recruit and assist adoptive families to meet the needs of 
available children, including but not limited to special needs 
children; 
 11.  obtain a background study on a child or a home study on a 
prospective adoptive parent; 
 12.  evaluate prospective adoptive parents; 
 13.  process appeals of home study denials; 
 14.  assess the best interests of a child and the appropriate 
adoptive placement for the child; 
 15.  monitor a case post-placement until the adoption is final; 
 16.  ensure the child is receiving all necessary services prior to 
finalization of adoption; 
 17.  assume custody and provide any needed services for the 
child when necessary because of disruption; 
 18.  arrange to provide foster care prior to placing the child in 
an adoptive home; 
 19.  preserve the confidentiality of client files; 
 20.  respond to requests for information from birth families, 
adoptees, adoptive families, and others; 
 21.  preserve client records when a case is closed and in the 
event that the agency changes ownership or ceases to provide child 
placement adoption services, and notify each client where the 
records shall be stored; and 
 22.  enable record retrieval by individuals with a right to access 
them; 
 C.   A child placing adoption agency shall provide 
documentation demonstrating its compliance with each subsection in 
R501-7-7(B). 
 [13]D.  [Case Records:  The]A child placing adoption agency 
shall maintain a case [record of]file for each child, birth parent, and 
prospective adoptive parent.  Each case file shall cross-reference 
related files.[ accepted for care, of the family, and of each adoptive 
applicant, from the time of the application for service through the 
completed legal adoption and termination of the agency's service.  

As a minimum, the record shall contain the following 
information]Each case file shall include: 
 [a]1.  application [and reason ]for service, 
 [b]2.  all [social study,]studies and evaluations, whether or not 
finalized, including but not limited to those required by Section 78-
30-3.5; 
[ c.  problems and service of the client to these services, 
] [d]3.  needs assessment; 
 4.  [progress report, at least quarterly, to include the 
following,]case notes 
 [1)] describing  services provided[,]; 
 [2)  response of the client to these services, and 
 3)  results,] 
 [e.  closure, a brief summary of what was accomplished and 
reason for closure, and 
] [f]5.  [dates, places and other pertinent information.]the 
individual's adjustments, interactions and relationships; 
 6.  original or certified copies of government and religious birth 
records; 
 7.  original or certified copies of relinquishment or transfer of 
birth mother's and birth father's rights; 
 8.  original or certified copies of decree of termination of birth 
mother's and birth father's rights; 
 9.  certified copies of marriage certificates, divorce papers, 
custody and visitation orders, if any; 
 10.  certified copies of death certificates, if any, of birth 
parents; 
 11.  original or certified copy of affidavit that birth mother's 
husband is not the child's father, if applicable; 
 12.  waiver of confidentiality or release of information 
authorization, if applicable; 
 13.  statements of birth and adoptive parents regarding any 
agreements to exchange information or maintain contact; 
 14.  current and historical physical, psychological, genetic and 
developmental health information; 
 15.  original or certified copy of the order of adoption; and 
 16.  in the event that any records identified in this rule are not 
obtained, the child placing adoption agency shall provide 
documentation of its efforts to obtain those records. 
 [g.  Adoptive parents, adoptees, and birth parents shall be 
encouraged to provide updated information to be added to the file at 
any time prior to and following finalization proceedings.  This 
updated information may include medical, psychological and social 
information. 
 h.  Case records shall be continuous records of adjustment, 
interaction, relationships, physical and mental conditions, growth 
and development.  All records and information shall be 
confidential.]E.  A child placing adoption agency shall maintain 
current health, fire, zoning, business, and other permits, certificates, 
or licenses at each facility it operates, as required by state or local 
law; 
 [14]F.  [Record Retention:  At the completion of the adoption 
all records pertaining to the adoption must]All cases files shall be 
retained for a minimum of 100 years from the date the case is 
closed. 
 [15]G.  [Confidentiality of Records:  ]All adoption records  
shall be [treated as ]confidential and shall be [retained]maintained in 
a locked[,] [metal ]file[,]when not in active use.  Adoption records 
shall be accessible only by authorized agency employees[to 
designated personnel only].  No information shall be shared with any 
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person without the appropriate consent forms, except as required by 
law. 
 [16.  Location and Housing:  The agency shall be located in an 
area convenient to the clients it expects to serve.  It shall be housed 
in a setting that is attractive, well maintained and comfortable. 
 17.  Office Space:  The facility shall maintain offices to meet 
the needs of clients being served. 
 18.  Resources:  The agency shall have financial resources to 
support the services offered. 
 19.  Payment of Fees:  The agency may charge birth parents 
and adoptive parents for cost of services provided.  However, under 
no circumstance shall the provision of services to birth parents be 
contingent upon the ability to pay.  A signed fee schedule shall be on 
file indicating cost of each service.  Fees may be charged according 
to a sliding scale, based upon ability to pay in relation to income or 
can be set at a uniform amount with a provision in agency policy for 
reducing or waiving the fee when indicated. 
 20.  Itemization of Expenditures: 
 An itemization of all allowable expenditures on behalf of birth 
parents shall be on file.  The itemization shall be signed by birth 
parents and adoptive applicant.  If any cost appears to be greater 
than the ordinary or usual costs, the agency must show that the 
expenditure was fit and appropriate.  The agency may pay 
reasonable costs for the following: 
 a.  legal services related to the adoption, 
 b.  medical services related to pregnancy, birth, and post-natal 
care for the birth mother and medical care for the child, 
 c.  emergency health related services for the birth mother 
needed to protect the health and well-being of the fetus, 
 d.  housing, including utilities and basic telephone service, 
 e.  necessary transportation, including gasoline or public 
transportation, 
 f.  purchase of food, necessary household supplies, and 
personal hygiene or grooming products, 
 g.  clothing for the birth mother, and 
 h.  necessary mental health services for the birth mother during 
the pre and post-natal period. 
 i.  For other expenses the agency must show that the 
expenditure was fit and appropriate for the birth parents beyond six 
weeks postpartum. 
 21.  Itemization of Fees for Adoption: 
 An itemization of all adoption related expenses shall be filed 
with the court prior to the final decree of adoption. 
 22]H.  [Statistics:  The]A child placing adoption agency shall 
maintain and provide accurate annual statistics [on persons served, 
applications, and dispositions as a minimum]describing the number 
of applications received, services provided, the number of children, 
birth parents, and adoptive parents served, and the number of 
adoptions and disruptions, and the number of children in agency 
custody.[ 
 B.  Indian Child Welfare Act:  An agency which serves Indian 
children must have standards and procedures which also conform to 
the Indian Child Welfare Act, refer to pl 95-600. 
 
R501-7-5.  Services for Foster Care Program. 
 An agency's foster care program must meet the following 
requirements: 
 A.  Best Interests of Child:  Foster family care is provided for 
and in behalf of the child under a plan that includes services for the 
child, the child's family, and supervision of, and support services for 
the foster family. 

 B.  Permanent Plans: Agency staff must work actively in 
coordinating services for children in DHS custody, their families, 
and foster families to return children to their own homes or to 
achieve permanent arrangements for their care.  The agency must 
maintain written records which meet requirements of 42U.S.C.675, 
including a plan for the child's permanent placement within 60 days 
of placement. 
 C.  Intake Services: The agency must have a formal procedure 
for intake, including a procedure to establish the permanent plan for 
each child in DHS custody. 
 D.  Requirements for Foster Home Approval: 
 1.  Licensed agencies that provide foster or proctor care shall 
only approve homes that comply with Foster Care Licensing Rules, 
R501-12.  The agency shall be required to recruit, train, and 
supervise foster parents as defined by R501-12. 
 2.  Foster families meeting requirements shall be approved or 
certified by the agency.  The agency must maintain written records 
of annual home approval.  The approval process shall include a 
home study evaluation and a training plan. 
 3.  The agency must have a procedure to revoke or deny home 
approval. 
 4.  The agency must have a procedure for a foster parent to 
apply for a waiver of requirements. 
 5.  The agency must have a written agreement with the foster 
parents which includes the expectations and responsibilities of the 
agency, staff, foster parents, the services to be provided, the 
financial arrangements for children placed in the home, the authority 
foster parents can exercise on children placed in the home, actions 
which require staff authorization. 
 E.  Payments: The agency must have a written policy stating 
the amount and schedule of payment to foster parents for cost of 
care and services.  If the agency makes no payment, the agency shall 
have a written agreement stating the reasons. 
 F.  Requirements for Placement: The first consideration in 
placing a child in care shall be the welfare of the child.  In 
determining where a child is placed the agency shall consider 
proximity to the child's home, placement in the least restrictive 
setting possible, the ability of the parents to visit; however, the 
welfare of the child shall override any of these considerations. 
 G.  Foster Care Services: The foster care services provided by 
an agency shall include: 
 1.  Planning, with participation of the child's biological parents, 
for care and services to meet the child's individual needs. 
 2.  Planning with biological parents, and with participation of 
the child where feasible, for stability and permanence in the care of 
the child.  This must include a plan for the parental visits with the 
child. 
 3.  Providing services to help the child's parents reestablish 
parental care, maintain parental rights, or where in the best interest 
of the child, terminate parental rights. 
 4.  Providing a suitable foster family home for the child and 
planning, with foster parents for the child's supervision, education, 
health, recreation, and other needs and services.  Placement of any 
child should consider the child's age, behavior, sex, the composition 
of the foster family, and skills of the foster parents. 
 5.  Obtaining, coordinating, and supervising any needed 
medical, remedial, or other specialized services or resources with the 
ongoing participation of the foster parents. 
 6.  Providing ongoing supervision of foster parents to ensure 
the quality of the care they provide. 
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 H.  Termination of Supervision:  Supervision of a child by a 
Division of DHS may only be terminated by court order, unless: 
 1.  The child has been returned to his or her own home and has 
remained there for a period sufficient to indicate he or she has 
satisfactorily adjusted to that home; 
 2.  The child has been legally adopted; 
 3.  The child reaches the age of 18, unless the Juvenile Court 
retains jurisdiction up to age 21; or 
 4.  The Division of DHS transfers responsibility for services to 
another agency.] 
 
R501-7-[6]8.  Services for Birth Parents. 
 [A.  To ensure that adoption is a suitable plan for the child, and 
that the interests of children, birth parents, and adoptive parents are 
protected, comprehensive services must be made available for birth 
parents, both married and single. 
 B.  Comprehensive services or referral for services, for birth 
parents shall be provided not as part of an adoption service, but as a 
separate service geared to the needs of birth parents, including those 
who are not considering adoption. 
 C.  Support in Planning for the Child: 
 1.  Birth parents shall be supported in making a decision for 
their child, based on complete and accurate information and without 
undue delay, including two face-to-face counseling sessions prior to 
relinquishment. 
 2.  Birth parents shall be informed of their legal rights, 
obligations, and responsibilities during face-to-face counseling 
sessions; they should also receive support in considering what their 
decision will mean to them and to their child.]A.  Child placing 
adoption agencies shall provide a minimum of two face-to-face 
counseling sessions prior to relinquishment to assure that: 
 1.  birth parents' decisions to sign the relinquishment is 
voluntary; and 
 2.  birth parents understand their decision is permanent, and 
that their parental rights and responsibilities shall end when a 
licensed child placing adoption agency accepts their relinquishment 
of parental rights or their parental rights are otherwise terminated in 
accordance with Title 78, Chapter 3a, Part 4, and Section 78-30-11. 
 B.  Birth parents shall be provided complete and accurate 
information and their decision to relinquish or not relinquish their 
child shall be supported.  Child placing adoption agencies shall not 
encourage or attempt to persuade a birth parent to relinquish a child. 
 [3]C.  [A birth mother]A child placing adoption agency shall 
wait at least 24 hours after the birth of [her]a child before taking the 
birth mother's relinquishment of parental rights and[she may give] 
legal consent to the adoption of her child, in accordance with 
Section 78-30-4.19. 
 D.  Child placing adoption agencies shall provide notice of 
adoption proceedings in compliance with Section 78-30-4.13.[ 
 4.  Birth parents shall be treated with respect, consideration, 
fairness, and given full recognition of personal dignity and 
individuality.] 
 E.  Birth parents shall be assisted in consider[ation]ing [and 
determination of ]whether they want to disclose their identity[,] to 
the adoptee or the adoptive family, or hear about or from the child, 
directly or indirectly, in the future. 
 [D.  Agencies cannot guarantee confidentiality in any adoption, 
nor can the agency guarantee any arrangements for contact and 
exchanges of information between birth parents and adoptive 
parents.  Birth parents and adoptive parents shall be so advised. 
 E.  Social Services to Birth Parents After Termination or 

Transfer of Parental Rights:  Services shall be available to birth 
parents after their rights and responsibilities are terminated, as well 
as after the adoption is finalized.  The following services shall be 
provided to birth parents: 
 1.  Help with the relinquishment process and immediate plans 
for their own lives. 
 2.  A process where newly learned medical or genetic 
information that is important to the adopted child, birth parents, or 
adoptive family can be exchanged.] 
 [3]F.  [Providing]Birth parents shall be offered non-identifying 
information on the potential adoptive [family]parents, such as age, 
physical characteristics, educational achievement, family 
[constellation]members, profession, nationality, health, [other non-
identifying information, ]and reason for adopting. 
 G.  A child placing adoption agency shall inform birth parents 
that a detailed, non-identifying health history and a genetic and 
social history of the child shall be provided to the  adoptive parents 
in accordance with Section 78-30-17, and shall inform birth parents 
of Utah's Mutual Consent Voluntary Adoption Registry, Section 78-
30-18. 
 [4.  Information shall be shared regarding Utah's Mutual 
Consent Voluntary Adoption Registry. 
 F.  Agency Records:  Birth parents shall sign documents of 
services received during counseling and relinquishment. 
 G.  Determination of Religion in Which the Child is to be 
Reared: 
 1]H.  The A child placing adoption agency's policies regarding 
the consideration of religion in the selection of adoptive families 
shall be [made ]clearly stated in its initial communication with[ to] 
birth parents and in writing. 
 [2]I.  [Children]A child who has[ve] already established some 
identification with a particular religious faith [of their own ]shall 
have the right to have such identification respected in any adoptive 
placement.  Efforts shall be made to place the child within that 
religious faith.  This information shall be documented. 
 [3.  Agencies under religious auspices may choose to establish 
policies and practices that are consistent with their particular 
religious faith. 
 H]J.  [Involuntary termination of Parental Rights:  The agency 
shall have the responsibility to]A child placing adoption agency 
shall initiate termination of parental rights proceedings [consistent 
with the applicable Utah statutes]in accordance with Title 78, 
Chapter 3a, Part 4. 
 [I.  Relinquishment of Parental Rights for Adoption: 
Counseling shall be provided to the birth parents who are planning 
to place their child for adoption so the decision can be made as early 
as possible.  In the case of parents who voluntarily relinquish their 
parental rights to an authorized child welfare agency, proper legal 
procedures for the termination of parental rights should be ensured. 
 J.  Emotional Readiness to Relinquish Parental Rights: 
Documents indicating parental willingness to place the child for 
adoption shall be signed in accordance with the parents' emotional 
readiness to make the definitive decision, and not in accordance with 
the immediate needs of an adoptive family. 
 K.  Duration of Parental Responsibility: Parental legal 
responsibility shall end when an authorized child welfare agency 
accepts the relinquishment of parental rights and the parental rights 
are terminated. 
 L.  Establishment of Paternity: Legal paternity proceedings 
shall not be required as a condition for adoption services.]K.  Child 
placing adoption agencies that provide housing for expectant birth 
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mothers shall assure that such housing complies with the following 
minimum standards: 
 1.  housing is in compliance with health, fire, zoning, and other 
applicable laws and regulations; 
 2.  housing is clean, well-maintained and adequately furnished; 
 3.  birth mothers shall have private bedrooms; 
 4.  laundry equipment and supplies shall be available; and 
 5.  adequate nutritious food, or resources to obtain food, is 
available. 
 L.  Child placing adoption agencies that provide or pay for birth 
parents' transportation to the State of Utah shall also ensure that the 
birth parents' return transportation to their home state is provided, 
regardless of whether the birth parent decides to relinquish parental 
rights. 
 M.  The placement decision shall be in writing, signed by the 
child placing adoption agency and the birth parents, and a copy shall 
be maintained in the case record of the birth parents, the adoptive 
parents, and the child. 
 
R501-7-[7]9.  Services for Children. 
 A.  [Assessment of Children:  When it has been]After the birth 
parents determine[d] that adoption is the best plan for [a]their child, 
an assessment shall be made within 30 days, or within the timeframe 
ordered by the court, to obtain information to assist in the placement 
process. 
 [1]B.  [Determine whether the child's needs can best be met in 
adoptive placement, and if so,]A determination shall be made 
regarding what kind of adoptive family should be selected for the 
child.  The selection of the adoptive family for a specific child shall 
be based on the family's ability to meet the individual needs of the 
child.  The wishes of the birth parents, the adoptive parents, and 
when applicable, the child, shall be considered. 
 [2]C.  The [evaluation]assessment shall be used to assist 
prospective adoptive families to make their decision about the child 
and birth family. 
 [3.  Provide the child with needed information concerning the 
birth family when appropriate. 
 B]D.  [Developmental History:  ]A complete developmental 
history of the child [that is as complete as possible, ]shall be 
obtained from the birth parent.  If the child has been in an out-of-
home placement prior to being placed in an adoptive home, 
information obtained from caseworker observation, pediatrician, 
foster parents, [and if indicated, from ]nurses, psychologists, and 
other consultants shall be included.  The developmental history shall 
include[ the following]: 
 1.  birth and health history, and all evaluations; 
 2.  [early development, particularly indications of the way the 
child has taken to like, i.e., locomotor development, feeding 
experiences, temperament, etc.,]descriptions of fine and gross motor 
skills, social, emotional, and cognitive development; 
 3.  the child's adaptation to previous living experiences and 
situations[,]; 
 4.  the child's experience prior to adoptive placement, 
particularly maternal attitudes during the pregnancy and early 
infancy, continuity of care and affection, foster placements, 
description of the child's behavior and separation experiences[,]; 
 5.  [determination]a description of the child's cultural and 
ethnic background;[ and its impact on values and morals, and] 
 6.  the child's language skills, [including second language 
capabilities and other]educational records, talents and interests. 

 [C]E.  [Medical Examination:  ]A medical examination by a 
qualified physician shall be conducted to determine the state of the 
child's health, and any known or potentially significant factors that 
may interfere with normal development or may signal any potential 
medical problems.  At a minimum, the following shall be 
documented and shared with parents, potential adoptive parents, and 
the assigned agency caseworker prior to placement: 
 1.  [E]evaluation of the [infant]child that includes a correlation 
and interpretation of all available information, [such as,]including 
but not limited to genetic[,] and laboratory, test results; [etc.] 
 2.  the [M]medical care and immunizations received to date;[.] 
 3.  [T]the nature and degree of any [existing handicap, 
complete information about the type of handicap and the 
concomitant]disability, 
 4.  treatment and support programs that should be provided to 
the child and adoptive parents, extra costs of medical care that can 
be anticipated, and plans to subsidize the health care[, if so 
indicated]. 
 [D]F.  [Psychological Testing:  ]Psychological testing for 
children should be used selectively and as a tool for observation and 
diagnosis[ of current developments, if warranted]. 
 [E]G.  [Family History:  Information should be]A child placing 
adoption agency shall obtain[ed] information about[from] the birth 
parents [about]and their family backgrounds to: 
 1.  [Determine whether there are any significant hereditary 
factors or pathology, including illnesses of the birth mother or 
father, that may affect the child's development.]provide the adoptive 
family with the birth family's medical, genetic, social, and mental 
health history; 
 2.  [Assist the adoptive parents and, eventually, the child to 
understand the family situation, the reasons for adoption, and the 
birth family histories.]provide the adoptive family with information 
about the talents, interests, and education of the birth parents; 
 3.  provide the adoptive family with non-identifying 
information about other children born to either of the birth parents; 
and 
 [3]4.  [Decide, in the case of older children who have lived with 
their birth families, which]identify characteristics which should be 
given consideration in selecting and preparing a child for an[ new] 
adoptive family. 
 [F]H.  [Evaluation of Children:  ]An interdisciplinary approach 
based upon the needs of the child is to be used in the selection 
[process]of a placement either by asking other professionals to 
submit written recommendations or by inviting them to participate 
as a member of the placement committee.  A child placing adoption 
agency shall attempt to place siblings together. 
 [G]I.  [Timing of Adoptive Placement:  Infants under the age of 
two should]A child shall be placed with the[ir] adoptive family[ies] 
at the earliest time possible after being freed for adoption[ and 
directly upon release from the hospital in the case of newborns]. 
 [H]J.  [Placement of Children Over Five Years of Age:  When 
placing children over the age of five, care shall be taken to ensure 
that an adequate]A child's needs shall be assessed[ment] [of their 
needs is made, that they and the adoptive family are prepared for the 
placement,] and a written plan [is]shall be developed to ensure that 
the adoptive parents are prepared to meet the child's needs 
and[needed] necessary services are provided[ after placement]. 
 [I]K.  [Temporary Care Before Placement for Adoption:  ]A 
child [that has been freed for adoption and is ]awaiting placement 
with an adoptive family shall be placed in a licensed foster or 
residential home or facility.[foster home where his or her needs can 
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be met and which can assist in preparing the child for placement in a 
prospective adoptive home Children] 
 1.  A child placing adoption agency shall contract with a 
licensed foster care program or obtain a license to provide foster 
care services for children in its custody, in accordance with R501-
12. 
 2.  A child awaiting adoptive placement shall [only ]be placed 
in a licensed group or residential treatment program[s] when the 
child's needs [are such that they ]can [only ]be met only in such a 
setting. 
 3.  A child placing adoption agency shall obtain a copy of the 
home or facility license prior to placing a child, and shall retain the 
license in the child's case file. 
 [J]L.  [Responsibility for a Different Permanency Plan:  
Children that have been accepted for adoptive placement will have a 
permanency treatment plan developed with a goal of] A child 
placing adoption agency shall have an individualized written 
adoptive placement plan for each child, [and finalization, and 
objectives that focus on assisting] which shall include: 
 1.  providing the family and child services or service referrals 
after the adoption is finalized; [during the transition phase to ensure 
that ongoing services required are obtained.]and 
 2.  the financial and social service responsibilities of each 
agency and individual. 
 [K]M.  [Supervisory Visits:  After a child has been placed in 
the adoptive home, a] A social worker shall supervise the child's 
placement until finalization of the adoption to assist with the 
transition and assist the family in obtaining any needed services. 
 1.  A[t a] minimum[,] of three supervisory visits shall be made 
[so the agency can have sufficient information to make a 
recommendation regarding]prior to finalization of the adoption. 
 [L]N.  [Listing with the Adoption Exchanges:  Agencies]A 
child placing adoption agency having a child available for adoption 
who has not been placed within [60]30 days [of being freed,]after 
relinquishment or after being determined to be available for adoption 
by the court shall document [all]its efforts to screen the child with 
other [C]child [P]placing [A]agencies and shall list the child with 
local, regional, and inter-state [A]adoption [E]exchanges[ to help 
find an appropriate placement]. 
 [M]O.  [Preparation of the Child for Placement:  Sufficient time 
and planning must be provided according to ][t]The needs of the 
child shall determine the amount of time taken to prepare the child 
for placement.  The child [should]shall be [helped to 
accept]counseled regarding the adoptive placement and 
[should]shall be protected [insofar as possible ]from emotional 
disturbances associated with sudden separation from a known 
situation. 
 P.  A child placing adoption agency shall develop a written plan 
with the child's current caregivers, the adoptive parents, and the 
child, to facilitate the child's transition into the adoptive family.  The 
child's stated preferences shall be considered and if possible, 
honored. 
 [1.  The child who is old enough to comprehend and take some 
responsibility should have a part in the decision that adoption is the 
best plan.  The child must know that his or her own parents cannot 
continue to provide care and must accept separation from them in 
order to become a part of another family. 
 2.  Before meeting with the adoptive parents, the child should 
know that placement is under consideration.  Should the adoptive 
family decide not to proceed with placement, the worker will help 

the child to understand the situation in a manner that will minimize 
any damage to the child. 
 3.  The child should have the opportunity to become acquainted 
with the new parents gradually.  A series of short visits to the 
adoptive home before placement can be particularly helpful.  Such 
visits should not take place until after adoptive parents have 
expressed interest in adopting the child. 
 4.  The number and place of visits with adoptive parents, and 
the time of placement should be determined by the age and the 
particular needs of the child and the family. 
 N.  Retention of Records: In an effort to prepare for possible 
requests for information pertinent to a significant medical or 
hereditary concern on the part of the adoptive family or adult 
adoptee, the agency shall maintain in the file, medical, historical and 
developmental information and records about the child and the birth 
parents, received prior to finalization.] 
 
R501-7-[8]10.  Services to Adoptive Parents. 
 A.  [Services for Adoptive Parents:]Child placing adoption 
agencies shall provide prospective adoptive parents with a written 
description of their services, policies and procedures. 
 [1]B.  [Discussion of]A child placing adoption agency shall 
explain the adoption process and the birth parent[']s' rights, 
including the status[legal rights] of the putative father to the 
prospective adoptive parents. 
 C.  A child placing adoption agency shall provide all 
available[Provisions shall be made for accessibility to] non-
identifying information on children who may be available for 
adoptive placement and their [child's ]birth famil[y]ies, including 
but not limited to physical descriptions, special abilities, 
developmental and behavioral history, personality and temperament, 
medical and genetic history, ethnic and cultural background, and 
prior placement history. 
 D.  A child placing adoption agency shall inform prospective 
adoptive parents of the availability of non-identifying health, genetic 
and social histories in accordance with Section 78-30-17, 
and[Information shall be made available about] Utah's Mutual 
Consent Voluntary Adoption Registry, [through the Utah Bureau of 
Vital Records]Section 78-30-18. 
 [2]E.  A child placing adoption agency shall provide 
[I]individual [and]or group [social work ]counseling [shall be 
provided ]to help the prospective adoptive parents evaluate and 
develop their capacities to meet the ongoing needs of the child.[ren 
added to the family.  This support should continue into the post-
placement period when it is necessary and deemed appropriate.  If 
an agency cannot provide this preparation and support, they are 
responsible for offering another support for the family.] 
 [3]F.  A child placing adoption agency shall review all 
available information about the birth parents and child with the 
prospective adoptive parents and encourage[Assistance in] the 
selection of a child whose needs the adoptive parents will be able to 
meet. 
 [4]G.  A child placing adoption agency shall 
prepare[Preparation of both] the child and adoptive family for the 
placement of the child in the home[,]. 
 H.  A child placing adoption agency shall inform each 
prospective adoptive parent that information about individual 
children in the custody of the state who are available for adoption 
may be obtained by contacting the Division of Child and Family 
Services or its internet site and shall provide a pamphlet prepared by 
the Division of Child and Family Services regarding adoption of 
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children in the State's custody.[including discussion and approval of 
a subsidy when appropriate.]The agency shall inform each 
prospective adoptive parent that assistance may be available when 
adopting children in the custody of the state, including: 
 1.  Medicaid coverage for medical, dental, and mental health 
services; 
 2.  tax benefits, adoption subsidies, or other financial assistance 
to defray the costs of adoption; and 
 3.  training and ongoing support for the adoptive parents. 
 [5.  If an agency places a child for adoption, that agency is 
responsible for the supervision of the placement and continued 
support to the child and family.  The agency shall assist with 
finalization. 
 B.  Basis for Selection of Adoptive Parents:]I.  A child placing 
adoption agency shall inform adoptive parents when a child may be 
eligible for an adoption subsidy or benefit, including but not limited 
to SSI, and shall coordinate with the applicable state agency to apply 
for the subsidy or benefit. 
 [1]J.  A child placing adoption agency shall[The agency must] 
have [a ]written [process]procedures and standards for the 
evaluation and approval or denial of applications from prospective 
adoptive [homes]parents. 
 K.  The [pre-adoptive evaluation]home study shall include: 
 1.  [a series of] interviews with the adoptive applicants, their [in 
the office and at home.  If the family has] children, [or]and other 
individuals living in the home[,] [they shall be part of the pre and 
post adoption evaluation and application process.]; 
 2.  criminal background and child abuse screening of adoptive 
applicants and other adults living in the home in accordance with 
R501-14, R501-18, and Section 78-30-3.5 
 3.  written statements from references identified by the 
applicants.  The applicants shall supply names of at least [three]two 
non-related and one related individuals[references] who shall 
provide information directly to the agency regarding the applicant's 
qualifications for parenting an adoptive child;[.] 
 4.  a medical history and a doctor's report, based upon a doctor's 
physical examination of each applicant, made within six months 
prior to the date of the application, and indicating whether the doctor 
believes each applicant is able to fulfill the responsibilities of 
parenthood; and 
 5.  inspections of the home, to determine whether sufficient 
space and facilities to meet the needs of the child exist and whether 
basic health and safety standards are maintained. 
 L.  The adoptive applicants [must]shall be informed, in writing, 
and within five business days, as to the acceptance or the reasons for 
the denial of their home study.[application.  This notice must be 
given in a timely manner with] The agency shall provide applicants 
with a written copy of the agency's appeal process[.], which shall 
include the right to submit a written appeal and request for 
reconsideration, and the right to request an additional evaluation, 
upon order of the court in accordance with Section 78-30-3.5. 
 [2]M.  [The]A child placing adoption agency shall select 
applicants who: 
 1.  are able to[: a.]  provide the continuity of a caring 
relationship[,] 
 [b.  provide non-identifying or open linkages to the child's birth 
family if and when appropriate,] 
 [c]2.  [be]are informed [and sensitive]with regard to a child's 
ethnic, religious, cultural, and racial heritage[,]; and 
 [d]3.  [demonstrate an ability to ]understand the needs of a 
child at various developmental [states]stages. 

 [3.  Agencies shall assess each applicant from the perspective 
of what would be in the best interest of a child. 
 4.  No single factor should be decisive in and of itself. 
 C.  Criteria of Capacity for Adoptive Parenthood, Contents of 
Home Study Evaluation or Pre-Adoptive Evaluation Eligibility: 
 1.  Assessment of adoptive applicants should be designed to 
provide the best indication of an applicant's capacity for adoptive 
parenthood; total personality functioning; emotional maturity; 
quality of spousal relationship, when applicable; capacity to parent 
children; attitude toward childlessness and readiness to adopt; and 
reasons for adoption. 
 2.  The agency must have written standards for approval of 
adoptive families.  These standards must include the following items 
plus other aspects of lifestyle and behavior which reflect the ability 
to protect, nurture, and care for the child.  Agencies shall provide 
adoptive applicants with a realistic description of their services and 
procedures. 
 a.  Residence:  Adoptive applicants shall reside either within 
the area that the agency can serve directly, or in an area where the 
agency can procure services through another agency with acceptable 
standards. 
 b.  Age:  Chronological age alone should not be the 
determining factor for the selection of adoptive applicants.  Utah 
statutes require that the adoptive parents be at least ten years older 
than the child placed for adoption.  Physical condition and life 
expectancy of the applicants should be taken into consideration to 
protect the child against a repeated, foreseeable loss of parents 
through death or incapacitating illness.  Also, it is important for 
applicants to be physically and emotionally capable of meeting the 
needs of the children as they grow and develop.] 
 N. [c.  Marital Status:  When] A child placing adoption agency 
shall not reject an applicant solely based upon the applicant's marital 
status.  Married applicants [are married, husband and wife ]shall 
maintain a residence together and the relationship shall be stable.[be 
of sufficient duration to give evidence of its stability.  Single parents 
shall be considered in accordance with their ability to meet the needs 
of available children. 
 d.  Health of Applicant:  A medical history and recent physical 
examination shall be required as evidence that the applicants have 
reasonable health and life expectancy, and that the applicants have 
the physical and emotional ability to fulfill the responsibilities of 
parenthood.] 
 [e]O.  [Family Income:  Adoptive]A child placing adoption 
agency shall verify that an applicant's income [shall be]is  sufficient 
[in order ]to provide [financial stability and security] for a child's 
needs.[  Income alone shall not be the determining factor for the 
selection of adoptive applicants. 
 f.  Housing:  Housing and neighborhood shall provide space 
and living conditions necessary for health, safety, emotional well-
being, and self-respect of the family and the adoptive child.  Strict 
space requirements should not be a deterrent to placement if 
relationships in the family are satisfactory. 
 g.  Religion:  Lack of religious affiliation or of a religious faith 
should not be a bar to consideration of any applicant to meet the 
specific needs of a child. 
 h.  Applicant Abilities:  Consideration shall be given to the 
ability of the applicant to meet the specific needs of the individual 
child.] 
 [i]P.  [Working Parents:  ]A child placing adoption agency shall 
not reject an applicant solely based upon the applicant's choice to 
[Applicants who ]work outside the home. [shall not be excluded 
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from consideration as adoptive parents.  Consideration]Applicants 
who work outside the home shall [be given to]provide a written plan 
[to]describing how they shall provide security and responsible child 
care [adequate ]to meet the individual child's needs. 
 [j.  Provisions of R501-14 and R501-18 shall be met. 
 D.  Use of Committee in Placement:  The final decision to 
approve a family for the placement of a child should be the 
responsibility of the professional staff.  The decision shall be made 
by more than one person.  The applicants shall be informed in 
writing of the decision of the committee.  If the agency disapproves 
the applicants for placement, the applicants are entitled tp be 
informed of this in person and to be given the reasons for the agency 
decision.  They are also entitled to the opportunity to appeal the 
decision and should be informed of this process in writing.  The 
agency shall maintain a written record of any appeals.]Q.  A child 
placing adoption agency shall not make a legal risk placement unless 
the prospective adoptive parents have given written consent, 
indicating that they are fully informed of the risks involved. 
 R.  A child placing adoption agency shall not place a child in an 
adoptive home until the home study and each adult's criminal and 
abuse background screenings have been approved. 
 S.  A child placing adoption agency shall provide continuing 
support to the child and the adoptive family after placement, before 
and following the finalization of the adoption including but not 
limited to: 
 1.  providing or making referrals to service such as counseling, 
crisis intervention, respite care, and support groups; 
 2.  monitoring the child's adjustment and development; 
 3.  assisting the family in helping the child, friends, family 
members, extended family members, neighbors, schools, and others 
understand the adoption process; and 
 4.  assisting the family in understanding their feelings, 
understanding the child, and adjusting to the family composition. 
 T.  The frequency of home visits, office contacts, telephone 
calls, and other contacts by the child placing adoption agency shall 
depend on the needs of the child and the adoptive family and may 
vary depending whether the child is an infant, an older child, or a 
child with medical or other difficulties, and whether the adoptive 
parents are faced with unanticipated problems. 
 1.  The first contact after placement shall take place within two 
weeks of placement. 
 2.  A minimum of three fact-to-face supervisory visits shall take 
place before finalization, with at least two visits in the home. 
 U.  A child placing adoption agency shall provide assistance in 
finalizing the adoption, unless the agency removes the child due to 
circumstances that may impair the child's security in the family or 
jeopardize the child's physical and emotional development, 
including but not limited to incompatibility; mental illness; seriously 
incapacitating illness; the death of one of the adoptive parents; the 
separation or divorce of the adoptive parents; the abuse, neglect, or 
rejection of the child; the lack of attachment to the child; or a request 
by the adopting parents to remove the child. 
 
[R501-7-9.  Services During and After Adoption Placement. 
 A.  Selection of Adoptive Family for Specific Child: 
 1.  The selection of the adoptive family for a specific child shall 
be made through the use of a multi-disciplinary committee as needed 
and the final decision shall be based on the family's and the child's 
suitability for each other.  Suitability is determined by the family's 
ability to meet the individual needs of the child and the capacity of 
the child to benefit from the family. 

 2.  Consideration for the wishes of the birth parents, the 
adoptive parents, and the adoptee, when applicable. shall be a part of 
the selection process. 
 3.  The decision of the committee shall be in writing, signed by 
all members of the committee, and filed in the case record. 
 B.  Information to Adoptive Parents: 
 1.  Agency adoption fees shall be discussed with the adoptive 
family prior to starting the application process.  A flat fee may be 
charged for processing application materials, which is not 
refundable, regardless of whether the family is accepted or not, and 
an itemized account of the charges shall be made available to the 
family.  Placement fees shall also be discussed with the family prior 
to applying along with payment schedules, and these fees shall 
reflect a reasonable cost based on the expenses incurred by the 
agency. 
 2.  Adoptive parents shall be provided information about the 
children they adopt and their birth parents, when available, that will 
help them to: 
 a.  Understand their child, including talents, special needs or 
problems. 
 b.  Decide whether or not they can accept the child. 
 c.  Feel comfortable about the birth parents and the reasons for 
placement. 
 d.  Understand their child's heredity, maturation process, and 
developmental issues related to adoption. 
 e.  Talk to their child about their biological origins. 
 3.  Adoptive parents shall be given full disclosure of 
information about the birth parents and child with the exception of 
information deemed by law to be identifying.  The information to be 
shared shall include the following: 
 a.  developmental and behavioral history, 
 b.  level of current development, 
 c.  personality and temperament traits, 
 d.  medical information, 
 e.  ethnic background, 
 f.  cultural hereditary conditions, 
 g.  prior placement history, 
 h.  information about the birth parents that would be helpful for 
the child to know while growing up, such as physical descriptions, 
special abilities, and personality traits. 
 i.  Agency staff shall be prepared to review with the adoptive 
family the above information and to help them relate it to present 
day and placement consideration for their family. 
 5.  When a Child Placing Agency has a child who requires an 
adoption subsidy, the agency shall coordinate with the state agency 
to establish the subsidy.  Subsidies shall be paid by the state agency 
based on state policy.  The Child Placing Agency shall discuss the 
subsidy with the family. 
 C.  Pre and Post Placement Services: The Child Placing Agency 
shall provide continuing support and help to the child and his or her 
adoptive family as needed during the time after placement both 
before and following the legal adoption.  These services shall be 
recorded and include: 
 1.  The agency shall inform the adoptive family, prior to 
placement, of the available services, so that the family shall view the 
services as a source of help and security. 
 2.  The agency has a protective function when the child's 
custody remains with the agency during the placement prior to 
finalization, and is responsible for determining that the child's 
adjustment and development is satisfactory and that the family is 
able to cope with any difficulties.  This may be accomplished 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 26904 

 
32 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 4 

through direct services and, when necessary, referring to specialized 
services. 
 3.  The agency shall provide assistance to the family in helping 
their child, friends, family members, extended family members, 
neighbors, schools, etc., understand the adoption process.  This shall 
be accomplished through individual interviews, family counseling 
services, selected literature, and consultation. 
 4.  The agency shall provide services to the adoptive family that 
will assist them in understanding their own feelings, the adjustments 
of adding a child to their family, understanding the complicated 
feelings of the child, the specialized services that their child may 
need in the home and out of the home.  This shall be accomplished 
through individual sessions and family support groups. 
 5.  The frequency of home visits, office contacts, telephone 
calls, and other contacts shall depend on whether the child is an 
infant, an older child, or a child with medical or other difficulties, 
and whether the adoptive parents are faced with unanticipated 
problems.  Early placement visits shall convey the agency's support 
and readiness to help.  A contact soon after placement is essential in 
building the relationship and shall take place within two weeks of 
placement.  A minimum of three supervisory visits shall take place 
before finalization, with at least two visits in the home. 
 6.  The length of time between placement and finalization shall 
be determined by Utah State Law.  Finalization shall not take place 
until the family and the agency have determined that they are ready. 
 The post-placement period, however, shall not go on indefinitely.  
In each case, a plan shall be made for the time likely to be needed, 
with an outer limit set. 
 7.  The agency shall consider removal of children before legal 
adoption only if circumstances impair their security in the family or 
jeopardize their physical and emotional development.  These 
circumstances might include incompatibility, mental illness, 
seriously incapacitating illness, or the death of one of the adoptive 
parents, separation of adoptive parents, abuse, neglect, or rejection 
of the child, lack of attachment to the child, an unanticipated 
physical or mental problem of the child, or request by the adopting 
parents for the removal of the child. 
 8.  The agency shall offer supportive services to maintain the 
family and document this support.  Services may include the 
following: 
 a.  respite care for the child, 
 b.  counseling services, and 
 c.  family and adoption committee review of placement and 
planning. 
 D.  Post Adoption Services:  Adoption services shall be made 
available to birth and adoptive parents and adopted persons after the 
legal adoption.  These services shall respond to matters related to the 
adoption, and will include the following: 
 1.  Information, counseling services within the agency or 
referral to proper resources for counseling, crisis intervention, 
respite care, and specialized support groups. 
 2.  Adoptees shall be offered post-legal adoption services that 
assist them in exploring their attitudes toward themselves as adopted 
persons. 
 3.  Within the relevant statutes, child welfare agencies shall 
assist adopted persons who have reached the age of majority in their 
search for information about, or their wish to establish contact with 
birth parents, siblings, or other members of their birth family, 
provided that these persons are willing. 
 

R501-7-10.  Adoption and the Community. 
 A.  Adoptions in Relation to Community Child Welfare 
Programs:  Private and public agencies shall: 
 1.  List waiting children with local and regional exchanges. 
 2.  Be active in interpreting child welfare programs and 
adoption services to assure widest utilization by persons needing the 
services, and to ensure realistic understanding of services by the 
public. 
 3.  Participate in any joint inter-agency planning and 
coordination to maximize programs so that birth parents and 
adoptive applicants will have freedom of choice and equal 
opportunity to apply for services, regardless of racial, ethnic, 
religious group, or ability to pay a fee. 
 B.  Promotion of Adoption Services: 
 1.  Adoption agencies shall inform each potential adoptive 
parent that children in the custody of the state are available for 
adoption, and that parents may request the following: 
 a.  Medicaid coverage for medical, dental, and mental health 
services; 
 b.  Tax benefits or financial assistance to defray the costs of 
adopting these children; 
 c.  Training and ongoing support for the adoptive parents of 
these children, and 
 d.  Information about individual children, which may be 
obtained by contacting the Division offices or its internet site. 
 2.  Adoption agencies shall provide the following information 
to adopting parents: 
 a.  Notice about children in state's custody; 
 b.  A copy of a pamphlet prepared by the Division of Child and 
Family Services that explains about adoption of children in the 
State's custody; 
 3.  Adoption agencies shall establish a method to determine 
unmet placement needs and a plan to recruit adoptive families when 
needs are identified. 
 4.  Recruitment efforts shall involve adoptive parents and shall 
include persons of similar ethnic or racial groups whenever children 
need to be placed with families of similar ethnic origin.  Recruitment 
efforts shall seek to enlist the involvement of ethnic and cultural 
minority groups, religious, and other civic groups as needed. 
 C.  Legal Protection Required for Adoption Services:  Adoption 
agency mission statements, policies, and procedures shall assure that 
the following legal protections are met: 
 1.  The best interests of the child are paramount. 
 2.  Parental rights and responsibilities are safeguarded. 
 3.  Children are not deprived unnecessarily of either birth 
parents or a permanent family. 
 4.  Legal responsibility for the child will be clearly established 
at all times. 
 5.  Children will not be placed in unsuitable families or families 
detrimental to the child's growth and development. 
 D.  Transfer of Parental Rights: 
 1.  Adoption agency policies and procedures shall assure an 
orderly adoption process for the following: 
 a.  The legal separation of the child from birth parents. 
 b.  Transfer of custody and guardianship of the child. 
 c.  Consent to a specific adoption. 
 d.  Final transfer of parental rights and duties to the adoptive 
parents. 
 2.  Agencies shall follow Utah State Statutes regarding the 
relinquishment of children, termination of parental rights, 
placement, and finalization procedures. 
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 3.  Legal risk adoptions shall be made only when: 
 a.  The child's best interests are served. 
 b.  Adoption is clearly the goal. 
 c.  Termination is likely and able to be obtained in a reasonable 
time period. 
 d.  Adoptive parents have given written consent, indicating that 
they are fully informed of the risks involved.] 
 
R501-7-11.  Inter[state or Out-of-C]country Adoptions. 
 [A.  For interstate placements, adoption agencies shall comply 
with requirements of the Interstate Compact for Placement of 
Children. 
 B.  Prior to an adoption or placement with a family out of the 
state, the agency shall complete a plan with the other agency which 
defines financial and social services responsibilities. 
 C]A.  In addition to complying with all other rules regarding 
adoption, a child placing adoption agency that 
provides[International] inter-country adoption [agencies]services  
shall [abide by]document that it has complied with all applicable 
[Federal, State, and Immigration ]laws and regulations of the United 
States and the child's country of origin, and shall document that: 
 1.  [T]the child is legally freed for adoption in the country of 
origin[.]; 
 [2.  Information was provided about the physical or mental 
health of the orphan or abandoned child. 
 3]2.  [Referral ]information was [given]provided to the 
adopting parents about naturalization proceedings[.]; 
 [4.  The country of origin was provided all follow-up 
information as that country requires prior to final adoption. 
 5.  Agencies which place children in inter-country adoptions 
shall ensure that the following legal processes occur properly: 
 a.  consent to adoption and transfer of parental rights, 
 b.  legal responsibility for the child in the new country, 
 c.  validity of the adoption in the country of origin, if they are 
adopted in that country, and 
 d.  application to adopt or re-adopt the child or children in the 
United States, as applicable. 
 D.  The same standards shall apply to home studies for out-of-
country children as for all adoption services. 
 E.  International Adoption Agencies shall do the following:]B.  
A child placing adoption agency that provides intercountry adoption 
services shall: 
 1.  establish an official and recorded method of fund transfers 
to avoid, when possible, the use of direct cash transactions to pay for 
adoption services in other countries; 
 2.  identify, in writing and in advance of accepting any payment 
or signing any agreement, the total cost of providing adoption 
services in the child's country, including but not limited to the cost 
of care for the child, personnel, overhead, training, communication, 
obtaining any necessary documents, translation, the child's passport, 
notarizations and certifications, with disclosure of whether the 
prospective adoptive parents shall pay such costs directly in the 
child's country or indirectly through the child placing adoption 
agency; 
 3.  itemize the costs, if any, of mandatory payments to child 
protection or child welfare programs in the child's country of origin, 
including but not limited to a description of: 
 a.  a fixed contribution amount identified in advance and in 
writing to the prospective adoptive parents; 
 b.  the intended use of the payment; and 

 c.  the manner in which the transaction will be recorded and 
accounted for; 
 [1.]4.  [P]provide all applicants with written policies governing 
refunds.[ when adoption services that have been promised are not 
rendered or when there is a disruption of services that may nullify an 
adoption.] 
 [2.]C.  A child placing adoption agency that provides 
intercountry adoption services shall [N]notify adoptive applicants 
within [five working]ten business days when[ever it receives] 
information is received that a foreign country is suspending its 
adoption program. 
 [3]D.  A child placing adoption agency that provides 
intercountry adoption services shall [V]verify and maintain 
documentation regarding the credentials and qualifications of agents 
[in foreign countries] working in their behalf in foreign countries[on 
adoption matters. 
 4.  Disclose data to adoptive applicants on their rates of 
successful adoptions and requests.] 
 
KEY:  licensing, human services, child placing 
[January 16, 2001]2004 
Notice of Continuation November 25, 2002 
62A-2-101 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
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R986-100-134 
Payments of Assistance Pending the 

Hearing 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26932 
FILED:  02/02/2004, 14:18 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
proposed amendment makes clients eligible for continuing 
benefits pending a decision on good cause for not cooperating 
in the establishment of paternity. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Department recently 
changed the process for determining good cause for not 
cooperating in the establishment of paternity.  Some of the 
reasons for good cause can only be established at the 
Administrative Law Judge level.  A client should be eligible to 
receive child care until that decision is made.  If good cause is 
not found, the client will be liable for the overpayment. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 35A-3-101 et seq., 35A-3-301 et seq., and 
35A-3-401 et seq. 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
state budget as decisions regarding good cause were 
previously made at the Department level.  If there is an 
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overpayment, the client will be liable to pay back the 
Department.  Child care is a federally-funded program. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be no costs or savings to 
local government as this is a federally-funded program 
administered at the state level. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs of savings to any 
person as this is a federally-funded program. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs associated with this rule change.  This 
program is funded by federal grant monies.  There are no fees 
charged to any person.  The Department changed the 
decision making process from the employment counselor to 
the Administrative Law Judge.  Because it will now take longer 
for the decision to be made, the Department wants to insure 
clients do not lose their employment pending a decision.  If 
there is an overpayment, the client will be responsible for 
repayment making the change fiscally neutral. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no fiscal impact 
on any business as this is a federally-funded program. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-100.  Employment Support Programs. 
R986-100-134.  Payments of Assistance Pending the Hearing. 
 (1)  A client is entitled to receive continued assistance pending 
a hearing contesting a Department decision to reduce or terminate 
food stamps, RRP, FEPTP, or FEP financial assistance if the client's 
request for a hearing is received no later than 10 days after the date 
of the notice of the reduction, or termination.  The assistance will 
continue unless the certification period expires until a decision is 
issued by the ALJ.  If the certification period expires while the 
hearing or decision is pending, assistance will be terminated.  If a 
client becomes ineligible or the assistance amount is reduced for 
another reason pending a hearing, assistance will be terminated or 
reduced for the new reason unless a hearing is requested on the new 
action. 

 (2)  If the client is otherwise eligible, Employment Support 
Child Care (ES CC) can be paid pending an appeal of a decision 
from ORS that the client is not cooperating in the establishment of 
paternity or if the Department denies good cause.  The client's 
request for a hearing must be received no later than 10 days after the 
date of the notice of denial or termination.  The ES CC assistance 
will continue until a decision is issued by an ALJ regardless of when 
the certification period expires.  If a client becomes ineligible or the 
assistance amount is reduced for another reason pending a hearing, 
assistance will be terminated or reduced for the new reason.  If a 
client files a new application after a decision by an ALJ denying 
assistance, the new application will be denied and the client will 
have no right to appeal that denial unless there has been a change in 
circumstances. 
 (3)  If the client can show good cause for not requesting the 
hearing within 10 days of the notice, assistance may be continued if 
the client can show good cause for failing to file in a timely fashion. 
 Good cause in this paragraph means that the delay in filing was due 
to circumstances beyond the client's control or for circumstances 
which were compelling and reasonable.  Because the Department 
allows a client to request a hearing by telephone or mail, good cause 
does not mean illness, lack of transportation or temporary absence. 
 (4)  A client can request that payment of assistance not be 
continued pending a hearing but the request must be in writing. 
 (5)  If payments are continued pending a hearing, the client is 
responsible for any overpayment in the event of an adverse decision. 
 (6)  If the decision of the ALJ is adverse to the client, the client 
is not eligible for continued assistance pending any appeal of that 
decision. 
 (7)  If a decision favorable to the client is rendered after a 
hearing, and payments were not made pending the decision, 
retroactive payment will be paid back to the date of the adverse 
action if the client is otherwise eligible. 
 (8)  Financial assistance payments under GA or WTE, and CC 
subsidies, except as provided in paragraph (2) above will not 
continue during the hearing process regardless of when the appeal is 
filed. 
 (9)  Financial assistance under the RRP will not extend for 
longer than the eight-month time limit for that program under any 
circumstances. 
 (10)  Clients receiving financial assistance under the FEPTP 
program must continue to participate to receive financial assistance 
during the hearing process. 
 (11)  Financial assistance under the FEPTP program will not 
extend for longer than the seven-month time limit for that program 
under any circumstance. 
 (12)  Assistance is not allowed pending a hearing from a denial 
of an application for assistance. 
 
KEY:  employment support procedures 
[2003]2004 
35A-3-101 et seq. 
35A-3-301 et seq. 
35A-3-401 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 
R986-200 

Family Employment Program 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26934 
FILED:  02/02/2004, 15:50 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
proposed amendment more clearly defines "home" and 
requires clients repay child care to the Department from the 
proceeds of property. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The current rule does not 
define home as a residence.  The current rule requires that a 
client sell nonexempt real property and repay the Department 
for financial assistance.  This amendment provides that the 
client will be required to repay the Department for child care 
also. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-3-301 et seq. 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  This proposed amendment affects the 
family employment program and child care which are both 
federally-funded programs.  There will be no costs or savings 
to the state budget. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In addition to the reasons stated in 
relation to state budget cost or savings, both programs are 
state run and these proposed changes will have no affect on 
local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There are no costs or savings to other 
persons as a result of this rule change.  The issue of the sale 
of real estate in the child care context has not come up.  If it 
does, the client will only have to pay back the amount actually 
received. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs associated with this rule change.  There are 
no compliance costs or fees charged for child care as it is 
funded entirely by federal dollars.  A client is currently required 
to sell property to meet eligibility standards for child care but 
the current rule did not require the client to repay the 
Department from the net proceeds if any.  The repayment is 
not a compliance cost but an agreement to repay the 
overpayment on the sell of property. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change will have no 
fiscal impact on any business. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT 

140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-200.  Family Employment Program. 
R986-200-231.  Assets That Are Not Counted (Exempt) for 
Eligibility Purposes. 
 The following are not counted as an asset when determining 
eligibility for financial assistance: 
 (1)  the home in which the family lives, and its contents, unless 
any single item of personal property has a value over $1,000, then 
only that item is counted toward the $2,000 limit.  If the family owns 
more than one home, only the primary residence is exempt and the 
equity value of the other home is counted; 
 (2)  the value of the lot on which the home stands is exempt if it 
does not exceed the average size of residential lots for the 
community in which it is located.  The value of the property in 
excess of an average size lot is counted if marketable; 
 (3)  Water rights attached to the home property are exempt; 
 (4)  a maximum of $8,000 equity value of one vehicle.  The 
entire equity value of one vehicle equipped to transport a disabled 
individual is exempt from the asset limit even if the vehicle has a 
value in excess of $8,000; 
 (5)  with the exception of real property, the value of income 
producing property necessary for employment; 
 (6)  the value of any reasonable assistance received for post-
secondary education; 
 (7)  bona fide loans, including reverse equity loans; 
 (8)  per capita payments or any asset purchased with per capita 
payments made to tribal members by the Secretary of the Interior or 
the tribe; 
 (9)  maintenance items essential to day-to-day living; 
 (10)  life estates; 
 (11)  an irrevocable trust where neither the corpus nor income 
can be used for basic living expenses; 
 (12)  For refugees, as defined under R986-300-303(1), assets 
that remain in the refugee's country of origin are not counted; 
 (13)  one burial plot per member of the household.  A burial 
plot is a burial space and any item related to repositories used for the 
remains of the deceased.  This includes caskets, concrete vaults, 
urns, crypts, grave markers, etc.  If the individual owns a grave site, 
the value of which includes opening and closing, the opening and 
closing is also exempt; 
 (14)  a burial/funeral fund up to a maximum of $1,500 per 
member of the household; 
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 (a)  The value of any irrevocable burial trust is subtracted from 
the $1,500 burial/funeral fund exemption.  If the irrevocable burial 
trust is valued at $1,500 or more, it reduces the burial/funeral fund 
exemption to zero. 
 (b)  After deducting any irrevocable burial trust, if there is still 
a balance in the burial/funeral fund exemption amount, the 
remaining exemption is reduced by the cash value of any burial 
contract, funeral plan, or funds set aside for burial up to a maximum 
of $1,500.  Any amount over $1,500 is considered an asset; 
 (15)  Any interest which is accrued on an exempt burial 
contract, funeral plan, or funds set aside for burial is exempt as 
income or assets.  If an individual removes the principal or interest 
and uses the money for a purpose other than the individual's burial 
expenses, the amount withdrawn is countable income; and 
 (16)  any other property exempt under federal law. 
 
R986-200-232.  Considerations in Evaluating Real Property. 
 (1)  Any nonexempt real property that an applicant or client is 
making a bona fide effort to sell is exempt for a nine-month period 
provided the applicant or client agrees to repay, from the proceeds of 
the sale, the amount of financial and/or child care assistance 
received.  Bona fide effort to sell means placing the property up for 
sale at a price no greater than the current market value.  
Additionally, to qualify for this exemption, the applicant or client 
must assign, to the state of Utah, a lien against the real property 
under consideration.  If the property is not sold during the period of 
time the client was receiving financial and/or child care assistance or 
if the client loses eligibility for any reason during the nine-month 
period, the lien will not be released until repayment of all financial 
and/or child care assistance is made. 
 (2)  Payments received on a sales contract for the sale of an 
exempt home are not counted if the entire proceeds are committed to 
replacement of the property sold within 30 days of receipt and the 
purchase is completed within 90 days.  If more than 90 days is 
needed to complete the actual purchase, one 90-day extension may 
be granted.  Proceeds are defined as all payments made on the 
principal of the contract.  Proceeds do not include interest earned on 
the principal which is counted as income. 
 
KEY:  family employment program 
[2003]2004 
35A-3-301 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 
R986-700 

Child Care Assistance 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26933 
FILED:  02/02/2004, 14:52 

 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
proposed amendment aligns child care rules more closely to 
food stamp regulations and reflect current Department 
practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The child care rules did not 
reflect that some of the provisions in Rule R986-200 to which 
the child care rules referred, do not apply to child care.  The 
Department is bringing child care rules, where appropriate, 
into line with food stamp regulations for ease of 
administration.  The changes do provide that if a child care 
provider is responsible for an overpayment, the provider will 
be liable, not the client.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R986-200 is under DAR No. 26934 in this 
issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-3-310 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs of savings to the 
state budget as child care is a federally-funded program.  This 
current amendments reflect current Department practice and 
bring the rules into line with food stamp regulations. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This is a state-run, federally-funded 
program and there will be no costs or savings to local 
government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs of savings to any 
person.  This is a federally-funded program.  The changes 
reflect current Department practice. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs associated with this rule change.  Child care 
is funded entirely with federal dollars.  No fees or compliance 
costs are charged to any person.  There will be no shift in 
eligibility standards as the Department currently applies these 
standards. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no fiscal impact 
on any business as a result of these rule changes. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
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THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-700.  Child Care Assistance. 
R986-700-705.  Eligible Providers and Provider Settings. 
 (1)  The Department will only pay CC to clients who select 
eligible providers.  The only eligible providers are: 
 (a)  licensed and accredited providers: 
 (i)  licensed homes; 
 (ii)  licensed family group homes; and 
 (iii)  licensed child care centers. 
 (b)  license exempt providers who are not required by law to be 
licensed and are either; 
 (i)  license exempt centers; or 
 (ii)  related to the client and/or the child. Related under this 
paragraph means: siblings who are at least 18 years of age and who 
live in a different residence than the parent, grandparents, step 
grandparents, aunts, step aunts, uncles, step uncles or people of prior 
generations of grandparents, aunts, or uncles, as designated by the 
prefix grand, great, great-great, or great-great-great. 
 (c)  homes with a Residential Certificate obtained from the 
Bureau of Licensing. 
 (2)  All clients who were receiving child care prior to January 
1, 2001, will be granted a grace period in which to find an eligible 
provider.  The length of the grace period will be determined by the 
Department but in no event will it extend later than June 30, 2001. 
 (3)  If a new client has a provider who is providing child care at 
the time the client applies for child care assistance or has provided 
child care in the past and has an established relationship with the 
child(ren), but the provider is not currently eligible, the client may 
receive child care assistance for a period not to exceed three months 
if the provider is willing to become an eligible provider and actively 
pursues eligibility. 
 (4)  The Department may, on a case by case basis, grant an 
exception and pay for CC when an eligible provider is not available: 
 (a)  within a reasonable distance from the client's home.  A 
reasonable distance, for the purpose of this exception only, will be 
determined by the transportation situation of the parent and child 
care availability in the community where the parent resides; or 
 (b)  because a child in the home has special needs which cannot 
be otherwise accommodated; or 
 (c)  which will accommodate the hours when the client needs 
child care; or 
 (d)  if the provider lives in an area where the Department of 
Health lacks jurisdiction, which includes tribal lands, to provide 
licensing or certification; or 
 (5)  If an eligible provider is available, an exception may be 
granted in the event of unusual or extraordinary circumstances but 
only with the approval of a Department supervisor. 
 (6)  If an exception is granted under paragraph (4) or (5) above, 
the exception will be reviewed at each of the client's review dates to 
determine if an exception is still appropriate. 
 (7)  License exempt providers must register with the 
Department and agree to maintain minimal health and safety criteria 
by signing a certification before payment to the client can be 
approved.  The minimum criteria are that: 

 (a)  the provider be at least 18 years of age and physically and 
mentally capable of providing care to children; 
 (b)  the provider's home is equipped with hot and cold running 
water, toilet facilities, and is clean and safe from hazardous items 
which could cause injury to a child.  This applies to outdoor areas as 
well; 
 (c)  there are working smoke detectors and fire extinguishers on 
all floors of the house where children are provided care; 
 (d)  there are no individuals residing in the home who have a 
conviction for a misdemeanor which is an offense against a person, 
or any felony conviction, or have been subject to a 
[substantiated]supported finding of child abuse or neglect by the 
Utah Department of Human Services, Division of Child and Family 
Services or a court; 
 (e)  there is a telephone in operating condition with a list of 
emergency numbers located next to the phone which includes the 
phone numbers for poison control and for the parents of each child 
in care; 
 (f)  food will be provided to the child in care of sufficient 
amount and nutritional value to provide the average daily nutrient 
intake required.  Food supplies will be maintained to prevent 
spoilage or contamination.  Any allergies will be noted and care 
given to ensure that the child in care is protected from exposure to 
those items; and 
 (g)  the child in care will be immunized as required by the Utah 
Immunization Act and; 
 (h)  good hand washing practices will be maintained to 
discourage infection and contamination. 
 (8)  The following providers are not eligible for receipt of a CC 
payment: 
 (a)  a member of household assistance unit who is receiving one 
or more of the following assistance payments: FEP, FEPTP, 
diversion assistance or food stamps for any child in that household 
assistance unit.  The person may, however, be paid as a provider for 
a child in a different household assistance unit; 
 (b)  a sibling of the child living in the home; 
 (c)  household members whose income must be counted in 
determining eligibility for CC; 
 (d)  a parent, foster care parent, stepparent or former stepparent, 
even if living in another residence; 
 (e)  illegal aliens; 
 (f)  persons under age 18; 
 (g)  a provider providing care for the child in another state; and 
 (h)  a provider who has committed fraud as a provider, as 
determined by the Department or by a court. 
 
R986-700-706.  Provider Rights and Responsibilities. 
 (1)  Providers assume the responsibility to collect payment for 
child care services rendered.  Neither the Department nor the State 
of Utah assumes responsibility for payment to providers. 
 (2)  A provider may not charge clients receiving a CC subsidy a 
higher rate than their customers who do not receive a CC subsidy. 
 (3) Providers must keep accurate records of subsidized child 
care payments, time and attendance.  The Department has the right 
to investigate child care providers and audit their records. 
 (4)  The provider is entitled to know the date on which payment 
for CC was made to the parent and the amount of the payment. 
 (5)  If a provider accepts payment from funds provided by the 
Department for services which were not provided, the provider may 
be referred for criminal prosecution and will no longer be an 
approved provider.  A provider cannot require that a client give the 
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provider the client's Horizon card and/or the client's PIN or 
otherwise obtain the card and/or PIN. 
 (6)  If an overpayment is established and it is determined that 
the provider was at fault in the creation of the overpayment, the 
provider is responsible for repayment of the overpayment. 
 ([6]7)  Records will be kept by the Department for individuals 
who are not approved providers and against whom a referral or 
complaint is received.  Provider case records will be maintained 
according to Office of Licensing standards. 
 
R986-700-710.  Income and Asset Limits for ES CC. 
 (1)  Rule R986-200 is used to determine: 
 (a)  who must be included in the household assistance unit for 
determining whose income and assets must be counted to establish 
eligibility.  In some circumstances, determining household 
composition for a ES CC household is different from determining 
household composition for a FEP or FEPTP household as defined by 
policy.  ES CC follows the parent and the child, not just the child so, 
for example, if a parent in the household is ineligible, the [child 
cannot be eligible]entire ES CC household is ineligible.  A specified 
relative may not opt out of the household assistance unit when 
determining eligibility for CC.  The income and assets of the 
specified relatives in the household must be counted.  The income 
and assets of some household members in multi-generational 
households is counted in full instead of being deemed as in FEP or 
FEPTP; 
 (b)  what is counted as income and assets except: 
 (i)  one automobile is exempt for each household member 
participating in work and/or training if it is needed for employment, 
used for transportation to and from that work and/or training or if the 
client is living in the automobile; 
 (ii)  the asset limit for ES CC is $8,000 after allowable 
deductions; 
 (iii)  the earned income of an minor child who is not a parent is 
not counted;[ and] 
 (iv)  child support, including in kind child support payments are 
counted as unearned income if the payments are made directly to the 
client.  If the child support payments are paid to a third party, only 
the amount up to the court or ORS ordered child support amount is 
counted.[even if the value is more than the court or ORS ordered 
child support]; 
 (v)  the value of the lot on which the exempt home, referenced 
in R996-200-231, stands is exempt even if it exceeds the average 
size of residential lots for the community in which it is located; 
 (vi)  all irrevocable burial plans are exempt.  A revocable burial 
plan is exempt up to $1500 per household member; and 
 (vii)  real and personal income producing property, including 
rental property, is exempt as an asset if the property produces a 
reasonable return for its fair market value. 
 (c)  how to estimate income. 
 (2)  The following income deductions are the only deductions 
allowed on a monthly basis: 
 (a)  the first $50 of child support received by the family; 
 (b)  court ordered and verified child support and alimony paid 
out by the household; 
 (c)  $100 for each person with countable earned income; and 
 (d)  a $100 medical deduction.  The medical deduction is 
automatic and does not require proof of expenditure. 
 (3)  The household's countable income, less applicable 
deductions in paragraph (2) above, must be at, or below, a 
percentage of the state median income as determined by the 

Department.  The Department will make adjustments to the 
percentage of the state median income as funding permits.  The 
percentage currently in use is available at the Department's 
administrative office. 
 (4)  Charts establishing income limits and the subsidy 
deduction amounts are available at all local Department offices. 
 (5)  An independent living grant paid by DHS to a minor parent 
is not counted as income. 
 
KEY:  child care 
[2003]2004 
35A-3-310 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-102 
Purpose of Employment Security Act 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26921 

FILED:  01/28/2004, 14:52 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
unemployment rules are being rewritten to ensure that they 
comply with current law and practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In order to keep all 
procedural rules together, some provisions of this rule have 
been moved to Rule R994-508.  Rule R994-508 is a proposed 
rule that is being repealed and reenacted and that is being 
filed with this amendment.  Language from the rule which is 
currently contained in statute is being removed as not being 
appropriate for rule.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed repeal and 
reenact of Rule R994-508 is under DAR No. 26929 in this 
issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-4-102 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
State budget because this is a federally-funded program and 
there are no substantive changes being made to this rule.  
These changes reflect current Department practices. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In addition to the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget, there will be no costs or savings 
to local government as this is a federally-funded, state-wide 
program that does not affect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs or savings to any 
person for the reasons stated in relation to the State budget.  
This amendment does not make any substantive changes to 
current law or rule. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs to any person for the reasons stated in 
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relation to the State budget.  This amendment does not make 
any substantive changes to current law or rule. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no compliance costs 
associated with this change. There are no fees associated 
with this change.  It will not cost anyone any sum to comply 
with these changes. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION AND 
PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and Payment 
Services. 
R994-102.  [Purpose of ]Employment Security Act, Public Policy 
and Authority. 
R994-102-101.  [Preamble.]Authority and Statement of the Rules. 
 (1)  One of the purposes of the Employment Security Act, Utah 
Code Section 35A-4-101 et seq., the Act, is to lighten the burdens of 
persons unemployed through no fault of their own by maintaining their 
purchasing power in the economy.  The legislature, in establishing this 
program, recognized the substantial social ills associated with 
unemployment and sought to ameliorate these problems with a program 
to pay workers for a limited time while they seek other employment.[  
It is because of these reasons that it is in the public interest to liberally 
construe and administer the Act.  It is important that both the worker 
seeking benefits and the employer who will ultimately pay for the 
worker's benefits understand the process by which contributions are 
assessed and benefits are paid.  The following rules are written to 
explain and clarify the application of the Act.  In applying these rules to 
individual cases the Department will consider the reasonableness of 
claimant's action, the totality of the employment situation, and whether 
the claimant has a genuine continuing attachment to the labor market.] 
 (2)  The Department of Workforce Services (Department) [has an 
obligation to be unbiased in administration of the Act.  Therefore, the 
Department must allow all parties due process before dispensing the 
revenues provided by the Employment Security Act in order to 
protect]is responsible for protecting the investment of employers who 
contributed to the unemployment insurance fund, the interests of the 
unemployed workers who may be eligible for the dollars provided by 

the fund, and the community which benefits from a stable workforce 
through the maintenance of purchasing power.[  Due process requires 
that employers will not be charged contributions for benefits, and 
workers will not be denied benefits, without the opportunity to provide 
information and contest or refute the information considered in the 
decision making process.] 
 (3)  [When an eligible worker has no work available and there 
exists no dispute among the worker, the employer, or the Department 
benefits must be paid promptly.  However, when a worker quits, is 
fired, or has any other issue under the law an investigation of the 
circumstances must take place to determine if benefits can be paid.  In 
determining whether or not the worker is eligible for benefits, his 
actions are measured against the standards of just cause following a 
discharge in accordance with Section R994-405-202, and good cause in 
accordance with Section R994-405-102 and equity and good 
conscience in accordance with Section R994-405-103 following a 
voluntary separation from employment.  When one party fails to 
provide information or when that information is less credible, the result 
is that the party who has the responsibility to provide information may 
not prevail in its position.]The legal authority for these rules and for the 
Department to carry out its responsibilities is found in Utah Code 
Sections 34A-1-104 and 35A-4-101 et seq. 
 (4)  These rules are to be liberally construed and administered and 
doubts should be resolved in favor of finding coverage of the employee 
and assisting those who are attached to the work force.[ 
 
R994-102-102.  Evidentiary Requirements. 
 (1)  The evidentiary requirement for Department decisions is a 
preponderance of the evidence.  It is not necessary to meet criminal 
court standards of beyond reasonable doubt or overwhelming evidence. 
 Preponderance means evidence which is of greater weight or more 
convincing than the evidence which is offered in opposition to it; that 
is, evidence which as a whole shows that the fact sought to be proved is 
more probable than not.  Although the evidence that is required for an 
appeal decision must be of probative value, an initial determination 
must be made based on the best or most logical information available.  
Sworn testimony or first-hand statements have greater believability 
than unsworn statements or hearsay.  A great deal of information is 
provided to the Department through telephone conversations and 
written reports.  While the information provided in this manner will 
always be considered by the Department, it cannot be relied upon more 
than credible sworn testimony when the parties have been given an 
opportunity to present evidence in person. 
 (2)  Hearsay, which is information provided by a source whose 
credibility cannot be tested through cross-examination, has inherent 
infirmities which make it unreliable.  The failure of one party to 
provide information either initially or at the appeals hearing severely 
limits the amount and quality of information upon which to base a good 
decision.  Therefore, it is necessary for all parties to actively participate 
in the decision making process by providing accurate and complete 
information in a timely manner to assure the protection of the interests 
of each party and preserve the social integrity of the unemployment 
insurance system.] 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation 
[1987]2004 
Notice of Continuation May 23, 2002 
35A-4-102 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-103 
Approval of Counsel Fees 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26922 

FILED:  01/28/2004, 15:23 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
unemployment rules are being rewritten to ensure that they 
comply with current law and practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In order to keep all 
procedural rules together, the provisions of this rule have 
been moved to Rule R994-508.  Rule R994-508 is a proposed 
rule that is being repealed and reenacted and that is being 
filed with this amendment.  This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 (DAR NOTE:  The proposed repeal and reenact of Rule 
R994-508 is under DAR No. 26929 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 34A-4-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
State budget because this is a federally-funded program and 
there are no substantive changes being made by these 
changes.  These changes reflect current Department 
practices. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In addition to the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget, there will be no costs or savings 
to local government as this is a federally-funded, state-wide 
program that does not affect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs to any person for 
the reasons stated in relation to the State budget. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs to any person for the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change will have no 
impact on business. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and Payment 
Services. 
[R994-103.  Approval of Counsel Fees. 
R994-103-301.  General Definition. 
 The intent of Subsection 35A-4-103(3) is to protect the interests of 
the claimant who is dependent on his benefits as a means of livelihood 
during his period of unemployment.  The Act does not address fees 
charged to employers by their representatives as employers are deemed 
to be more knowledgeable in the marketplace and generally not in need 
of such safeguards. 
 
R994-103-302.  Procedure. 
 If a fee is to be charged a written petition for approval of fee must 
be submitted by the claimant's representative to the Administrative Law 
Judge before whom the representative appeared, or to the Chief 
Administrative Law Judge if no hearing was scheduled.  An approval 
form can be obtained through the appeals office.  The fee may be 
approved as requested or a lesser amount may be approved depending 
upon the appropriateness and justification of the request. 
 
R994-103-303.  Criteria for Evaluation of Fee Petition. 
 (1)  The appropriateness of the fee will be determined based on 
the following criteria: 
 (a)  Complexity of Issues Involved. 
 A case involving several complex issues would obviously require 
greater preparation.  However, services performed which add nothing 
to the presentation of the case are to be avoided.  For example: A 
simple case having only one legal issue such as a voluntary quit would 
not normally require more than two hours of preparation time. 
 (b)  Time actually spent in: 
 (i)  preparation of the case; 
 (ii)  attending the hearing; 
 (iii)  preparation of a brief, if required (A brief should be 
submitted only when requested or approved by the Administrative Law 
Judge.  If a brief is submitted which is not requested or necessary, the 
approved fee may be reduced by the charges for time spent on the 
brief.); 
 (iv)  further appeal to the Workforce Appeals Board or the 
Supreme Court. 
 (c)  Quality of service rendered including:. 
 (i)  preparedness of the representative; 
 (ii)  organization and presentation of the case; 
 (iii)  avoidance of undue delays.  Documents and witnesses should 
be made available at the time scheduled for the hearing and 
postponements should not be required except in unusual circumstances. 
 Every effort should be made to go forward with the hearing when it is 
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originally scheduled especially in benefit cases as claimants are 
frequently entirely without income during the course of the appeal 
processes if benefits have been denied or if benefits have been allowed, 
excessive overpayments may be created.  In recognition of the due 
process right for payment when due, the Department of Labor has 
established a federal standard requiring that 60% of all appeals 
decisions be issued within 30 days of the date the appeal is filed.  
Therefore, unnecessary delays justify a reduction in the approved fee to 
the representative. 
 (iv)  Necessity of Representation. 
 If it is clearly demonstrated that the claimant was not in need of 
representation because of the simplicity of the case or the lack of 
preparation on the part of the representative only a minimal fee may be 
approved. 
 (d)  Prevailing Fee. 
 The prevailing fee is the rate charged by others for the same type 
of service.  In determining the prevailing fee for the service rendered, 
credence will be given to information obtained from the Utah State Bar 
Association, Lawyer's Referral Service, or other similar organizations 
as well as determinations previously rendered by the Appeals Tribunal. 
 (e)  Limitation on Amount of the Fee. 
 Fees will not be approved in excess of 25% of the claimant's 
maximum unemployment benefit entitlement unless such a limitation 
would preclude the claimant from pursuing an appeal to the Supreme 
Court or would preclude in some other way an opportunity for due 
process. 
 
R994-103-304.  Appeal Rights. 
 Should the representative disagree with the ruling of the 
Administrative Law Judge, a written appeal may be made to the 
Workforce Appeals Board within 30 days from the date of issuance of 
the decision.  This appeal must set forth the grounds upon which the 
complaint is made. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, counselors 
1987 
Notice of Continuation May 23, 2002 
35A-4-103(3)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-104 
Prosecution 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26923 

FILED:  01/28/2004, 15:46 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
unemployment rules are being rewritten to ensure that they 
comply with current law and practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule is being repealed 
as inappropriate subject matter for rules and the Department 

no longer follows these procedures.  This rule is repealed in 
its entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-4-104 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
State budget because this is a federally-funded program and 
there are no substantive changes being made to this rule.  
The Department still makes referrals for criminal prosecution 
but follows a different procedure, working more closely with 
the prosecutorial authorities to determine which cases to 
prosecute.  How those decisions are made should be in 
Department procedures and not in rule. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In addition to the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget, there will be no costs or savings 
to local government as this is a federally-funded, state-wide 
program that does not affect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no compliance costs to any 
person for the reasons stated in relation to the State budget. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs associated with the repeal of this rule. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no fiscal impact 
on businesses.  Fraud will still be prosecuted but the decision 
making process relies on more input from the prosecutorial 
agencies. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and Payment 
Services. 
[R994-104.  Prosecution. 
R994-104-101.  General Definition. 
 The intent of Section 35A-4-104 is to assess penalties beyond 
those administered by the Department as provided by Subsection 35A-
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4-405(5).  As it would be impractical and beyond the intent of the law 
to prosecute all cases of fraud in the courts, it is left to the Department 
to determine which cases will be presented to the courts for additional 
civil penalties.  A board for reviewing prosecution will be established 
within the Department.  The board must approve all recommendations 
for the prosecution of fraudulent claims. 
 
R994-104-102.  Guidelines for Referring Cases of Fraud to the 
Courts. 
 (1)  Acts of fraud which may be considered for prosecution 
include those committed by Utah residents against the Utah 
unemployment insurance program or Utah residents who have 
committed fraud against another state or federal unemployment 
compensation program and non-claimants who fraudulently attempted 
to obtain benefits or payments from an unemployment compensation 
program.  Prosecution is appropriate if the individual has made a false 
statement or representation knowing it to be false or knowingly failed 
to disclose a material fact to obtain or increase any payment under any 
state or federal unemployment compensation program, or has been 
found in violation of Subsection 35A-4-405(5).  The Prosecution Board 
will determine what cases or categories of cases will be pursued for 
prosecution in cooperation with County Attorneys.  Employers may 
also be prosecuted under Subsection 35A-4-104 or under Subsection 
35A-4-405(5).  The Prosecution Board will determine what cases or 
categories of cases will be pursued for prosecution in cooperation with 
County Attorneys.  Employers may also be prosecuted under 
Subsection 35A-4-104 or under Subsection 35A-4-104(1) for collusion 
with others in an attempt to fraudulently obtain benefits.  The following 
are examples of some types of cases which may be referred to local 
county attorneys for recommendation of prosecution: 
 (a)  fraudulent claims involving numerous weeks of benefits 
where the loss or potential loss to the fund is substantial, or 
 (b)  flagrant violations involving reckless abuse of the 
unemployment insurance program, or 
 (c)  cases having strong evidence of intent to repeatedly abuse the 
program, or 
 (d)  any cases which would contribute to public awareness, such 
as cases where the potential for education of the public outweighs the 
monetary concerns of the Department. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, prosecution* 
1987 
Notice of Continuation May 23, 2002 
35A-4-104(1)] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-201 
Definition of Terms in Employment 

Security Act 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26928 
FILED:  02/02/2004, 12:41 

 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
unemployment rules are being rewritten to ensure they comply 
with current law and practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This proposed amendment 
adds definitions and acronyms used in other proposed 
amendments filed concurrently.  (DAR NOTE:  The other 
proposed amendments are R994-102, DAR No. 26921; R994-
406, DAR No. 26924; and the proposed repeal and reenacts 
of Rules R994-508, DAR No. 26929; and Rule R994-404, 
DAR No. 26930 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-4-201 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
State budget because this is a federally-funded program and 
there are no substantive changes being made to this rule.  
These changes reflect current Department practices. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In addition to the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget, there will be no costs or savings 
to local government as this is a federally-funded, state-wide 
program that does not affect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs or savings to any 
person for the reasons stated in relation to the State budget.  
This amendment does not make any substantive changes to 
current law or rule. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs to any person for the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget.  This amendment does not make 
any substantive changes to current law or rule. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no fiscal impact 
on businesses as there are no substantive changes being 
made to the rules. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
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AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and 
Payment Services. 
R994-201.  Definition of Terms in Employment Security Act. 
R994-201-101.  General Definitions and Acronyms. 
 These definitions are in addition to those defined in Section 
35A-4-201. 
 (1)  [Act. 
 ]"Act" means the Utah Employment Security Act, and 
amendments thereto. 
 (2)  "ALJ" means Administrative Law Judge. 
 (3)  "Appeals Unit" means the Division of Adjudication. 
 (4)  "Board" means the Workforce Appeals Board. 
 ([2]5)  Burden of Proof. 
 The person or party with the burden of proof has the initial 
responsibility to show that the fact at issue is worthy of belief.  
Burden of proof requires proof by a preponderance of the evidence. 
 ([3]6)  Bona Fide Employment. 
 "Bona fide employment" is work that was an authentic 
employer-employee relationship entered into in good faith without 
fraud or deceit rather than an arrangement or report of non-existent 
work calculated to overcome a disqualification. 
 ([4]7)  Claimant. 
 "Claimant" is an individual who has filed the necessary 
documents to apply for unemployment insurance benefits. 
 ([5]8)  Covered Employment. 
 "Covered employment" is [that work]employment subject to a 
state or federal unemployment insurance laws[program], including 
laws pertaining to railroad unemployment and active military duty, 
which can be used to establish monetary eligibility for 
unemployment insurance benefits.  Active military duty in a full 
time branch of the US military service can be used, even if the duty 
was for less than 90 days, if the claimant was released under 
honorable conditions.  National Guard or Reserve wages may be 
used only if the claimant has completed 90 consecutive days of 
active duty and if the claimant was released under honorable 
conditions. 
 ([6]9)  Department. 
 "Department" means the Department of Workforce Services. 
 ([7]10)  Employment Center. 
 "Employment Center" means an office operated by the 
Department of Workforce Services. 
 ([8]11)  Itinerant Service. 
 "Itinerant service" means a service maintained by the 
Department of Workforce Services at specified intervals and at 
designated outlying points within the jurisdiction of an Employment 
Center. 
 ([9]12)  Local Office. 
 "Local office" means the Employment Center of any 
geographical area. 
 ([10]13)  Person. 
 "Person" includes any governmental entity, individual, 
corporation, partnership, or association, 
 ([11]14)  Preponderance of Evidence. 
 A "preponderance of evidence" is evidence which is of greater 
weight or more convincing than the evidence which is offered in 
opposition to it, more convincing to the mind, evidence that best 
accords with reason or probability.  Preponderance means more than 

weight; it denotes a superiority of reliability.  Opportunity for 
knowledge, information possessed and manner of testifying 
determines the weight of testimony. 
 ([12]15)  Separation. 
 "Separation" means curtailment of employment to the extent 
that the individual meets the definition of "unemployed" as stated in 
Subsection 35A-4-207(1) with respect to any week. 
 ([13]16) Transitional Claim. 
 A claim that is filed effective the day after the prior claim ends 
provided an eligible weekly claim was filed for the last week of the 
prior claim. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, definitions[*] 
[1987]2004 
Notice of Continuation May 23, 2003 
35A-4-201 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-404 
Wage Freeze Following Workers' 

Compensation 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal and Reenact) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26930 

FILED:  02/02/2004, 13:57 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
unemployment rules are being rewritten to ensure that they 
comply with current law and practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The current rule does not 
define how long a person must be off work due to a work -
related injury or illness before the provisions take effect.  The 
reenacted rule defines that period to be seven weeks.  Other 
changes were made to bring the rule into compliance with 
current Department practice and law and stylistic and 
nonsubstantive changes were made. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-4-401 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
State budget because this is a federally-funded program and 
there are no substantive changes being made to this rule.  
These changes reflect current Department practices. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In addition to the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget, there will be no costs or savings 
to local government as this is a federally-funded, state-wide 
program that does not affect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs or savings to any 
person for the reasons stated in relation to the State budget.  
This amendment does not make any substantive changes to 
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current law or rule but rather defines current Department 
practice. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs to any person for the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget.  This amendment does not make 
any substantive changes to current law or rule apart from 
defining current Department practice. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change will have no 
fiscal impact on any business.  There are no compliance costs 
and the change reflects current law and Department practice. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and 
Payment Services. 
[R994-404.  Wage Freeze Following Workers' Compensation. 
R994-404-101.  General Definition. 
 The purpose of this provision is to extend the protection of the 
unemployment insurance program to individuals who, because of the 
period of illness or injury that was the result of a work related 
incident insured by a Workers' Compensation and Occupational 
Disease Program, may not have qualifying wages in the calendar 
quarters designated by the statute as the base period.  The term 
"freezing of base period wages" comes from the ability to use 
employment and earnings from an earlier base period. 
 
R994-404-102.  Qualifying Elements to Use Wages Outside 
Normal Base Period. 
 (1)  To be eligible to use wages from calendar quarters that 
began prior to the normal base period, all of the following elements 
must exist: 
 (a)  the claimant must have been off work due to a job related 
illness or injury, 
 (b)  the claimant must have filed for and been determined 
eligible to receive compensation for the illness or injury under a 

qualifying Workers' Compensation or Occupational Disease 
Program of the State of Utah or a Federal Program. 
 (c)  the initial claim for unemployment insurance benefits must 
have been filed within 90 days after he was released: 
 (i)  by his medical consultant to return to full time work (this 
does not include release to limited or light duty work), and 
 (ii)  following a continuous period of sickness or injury; and 
 (d)  the unemployment insurance claim must have been filed 
within 36 months of the week the covered injury or illness occurred. 
 (2)  At the time the claimant is released from the doctor and 
reports to the Department to file an unemployment insurance claim, 
the claimant may elect to continue an existing claim or cancel the 
existing claim.  If he cancels the existing claim, he may file a new 
claim using wages paid during the first four of the last five 
completed calendar quarters prior to the date of his illness or injury 
that caused the claimant to leave work and file for worker's 
compensation.  If the claimant elects to continue the existing claim, 
it cannot later be canceled in favor of the wage freezing provisions 
even within the 90 days, nor will the wage freeze provisions apply to 
any subsequent claim.  If a prior claim is canceled, no overpayment 
will be established even if payments have been made. 
 
R994-404-103.  90-Day Filing Limitation. 
 (1)  The 90 day time limitation for filing an unemployment 
insurance claim following an insured illness or injury means 90 
calendar days after the claimant was released for full-time work by 
his doctor, not the end of the period of coverage under workers' 
compensation.  Regardless of the day the claimant contacts the 
Department to file a claim, the effective date of the eligible claim 
must be within the 90 days.  For example, if the 90th day falls on 
Wednesday and the claimant files a claim on Thursday, the effective 
date of the claim would be Sunday of that calendar week and would 
fall within the 90 day time limitation. 
 (2)  Good Cause for Filing Beyond 90 Days. 
 Good cause may be established for filing beyond the 90 day 
period if there is substantial confusion as to the date the individual 
was released to return to work or the claimant was prevented from 
filing due to circumstances beyond his control.  Returning to work 
immediately subsequent to receiving a medical release may establish 
good cause for filing beyond the 90 day period if there is no 
substantial delay between the time the employment ended and the 
filing of the claim.  A lack of knowledge about the wage freeze 
provisions due to the claimant's failure to inquire or the employer's 
failure to provide information does not establish good cause for 
failure to file within the 90 day period. 
 
R994-404-104.  The Effective Date of the Claim. 
 The effective date of the claim for benefits shall be the Sunday 
of the week in which the claimant makes application for benefits.  
Although the Act provides for the protection of the benefit year, it 
does not extend coverage to the weeks that were not filed timely, in 
accordance with provisions of Subsection 35A-4-403(1)(a). 
 
R994-404-105.  Base Period Wages. 
 The claimant has only two options.  He can file a claim using 
wages paid during the first four of the last five completed calendar 
quarters prior to the week he files a valid claim, or he can use those 
wages paid during the first four of the last five completed calendar 
quarters prior to the date of his illness or injury that caused the 
claimant to leave his work and file for workers' compensation. 
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KEY:  unemployment compensation, workers' compensation 
October 29, 2001 
Notice of Continuation May 23, 2002 
35A-4-404]R994-404.  Payments Following Workers' 
Compensation. 
R994-404-101.  Claimants Who Qualify for an Adjustment to the 
Base Period. 
 (1)  A claimant who does not have sufficient qualifying wages 
in the base period because he or she was off work due to a work 
related illness or injury may qualify for an adjusted base period if all 
of the following elements are satisfied: 
 (a)  the claimant must have been off work for at least seven 
weeks during the normal base period due to a work related illness or 
injury. The weeks need not be consecutive; 
 (b)  the claimant must have received temporary total disability 
(TTD) compensation for the illness or injury under the worker's 
compensation or occupational disease laws of this state or under 
federal law; 
 (c)  the initial claim for unemployment insurance benefits must 
have been filed no later than 90 calendar days after the claimant was 
released by his or her health care provider to return to full-time 
work. This does not include release to limited or light duty work.   
The effective date of the eligible claim must be within the 90 days 
regardless of the date on which the claimant contacts the Department 
to file a claim.  For example, if the 90th day falls on Wednesday and 
the claimant files a claim on Thursday, the effective date of the 
claim would be Sunday of that calendar week and would fall within 
the 90 day time limitation; 
 (d)  the initial claim for unemployment insurance benefits must 
have been filed within 36 months of the week the covered injury or 
illness occurred. 
 (3)  Wages previously used to establish a benefit year cannot be 
re-used. 
 
R994-404-102.  Good Cause for Late Filing. 
 (1)  Good cause for not filing within the 90 day period can be 
established if: 
 (a)  the claimant contested the release to work date by filing for 
a hearing with the appropriate administrative agency and there was 
no substantial delay between the date of the decision of the agency 
and the filing of the claim; 
 (b)  the delay in filing was due to circumstances beyond the 
claimant's control; 
 (c)  the claimant delayed filing due to circumstances which 
were compelling and reasonable; or 
 (d)  the claimant returned to work immediately after receiving a 
release from his health care provider and there was no substantial 
delay between the time the employment ended and the filing of the 
claim. 
 (2)  A lack of knowledge about the wage freeze provisions due 
to the claimant's failure to inquire or the employer's failure to 
provide information does not establish good cause for failure to file 
within the 90 day period. 
 
R994-404-103.  The Effective Date of the Claim. 
 The effective date of the claim for benefits shall be the Sunday 
of the week in which the claimant makes application for benefits.  
Although the Act provides for the use of an alternate benefit year, it 
does not extend coverage to the weeks that were not filed timely in 
accordance with provisions of Subsection 35A-4-403(1)(a). 
 

R994-404-104.  Adjustment of the Base Period. 
 The claimant can file a claim using wages paid during the first 
four of the last five completed calendar quarters immediately 
preceding the week the claim was filed (normal base period) or the 
first four of the last five completed calendar quarters prior to the 
date the claimant left work due to the illness or injury. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, workers' compensation 
2004 
Notice of Continuation May 23, 2002 
35A-4-404 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-406 
Appeal Procedures 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26924 

FILED:  01/28/2004, 16:08 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
unemployment rules are being rewritten to ensure that they 
comply with current law and practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In order to keep all 
procedural rules together, some provisions of this rule have 
been moved to Rule R994-508.  Rule R994-508 is a proposed 
rule that is being repealed and reenacted and that is being 
filed with this amendment.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
repeal and reenact of Rule R994-508 is under DAR No. 26929 
in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-4-406 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
State budget because this is a federally-funded program and 
there are no substantive changes being made to this rule.  
These changes reflect current Department practices. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In addition to the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget, there will be no costs or savings 
to local government as this is a federally-funded, state-wide 
program that does not affect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs to any person for 
the reasons stated in relation to the State budget.  This 
amendment does not make any substantive changes to 
current law or rule. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs to any person.  This amendment does not 
make any substantive changes to current law or rule but 
rather moves provisions to a different rule number (Rule 
R994-508). 
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COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no fiscal impact 
on businesses as a result of these rule changes. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and Payment 
Services. 
R994-406.  [Appeal Procedures.]Fraud and Fault. 
[R994-406-201.  Continuing Jurisdiction - General Definition. 
 Subsection 35A-4-406(2) specifies the conditions under which the 
Workforce Information and Payment Services Division, as the agent of 
the Department, has the authority to reconsider decisions made with 
regard to claims for benefits after they have become final.  A decision 
is not final until the time permitted for the filing of an appeal has 
elapsed.  There are no limitations on the review of decisions during the 
appeal period.  Subsection 35A-4-406(2) establishes the guidelines for 
the Department's exercise of discretion in reviewing decisions. 
 
R994-406-202.  Limited Jurisdiction. 
 (1)  The Department has no jurisdiction to review or reconsider 
final decisions with regard to benefits beyond one year from the date of 
the decision unless the claimant was at fault in creation of an 
overpayment.  Jurisdiction may be taken for up to one year after the 
original determination was made provided there was either a change in 
conditions or a mistake as to facts.  When a decision is made on an 
issue, the date shown by the Department Representative on the notice 
provided to the parties or the date the decision is recorded in the 
Department's records is the date of the decision.  If a decision was not 
made, the date the Department was on notice of an issue but failed to 
act is the date of the decision. 
 (a)  Change of Conditions. 
 A change of conditions may include a change in the law which 
would make a reconsideration necessary in fairness to the parties who 
were adversely affected by a law change.  A change in conditions may 
also include personal circumstances of the claimant or employer which 
would have made it reasonable not to file an appeal, provided those 
circumstances have subsequently and unforeseeably changed. 
 (b)  Mistake as to Facts. 

 A mistake as to facts is limited to material information which was 
the basis for the decision.  A mistake as to facts may include 
information which is misunderstood or misinterpreted, but does not 
include an error in the application of the Act or the Rules provided the 
decision is made under the correct section of the Act.  A "mistake" is 
inadvertent rather than wrong information intentionally provided by the 
party subsequently alleging the mistake. 
 
R994-406-203.  Unlimited Jurisdiction. 
 There is no time limitation on exercising jurisdiction if there was 
fraud or an overpayment as the result of fault by the claimant.  There 
must be an overpayment which is charged to the claimant in 
accordance with provisions of Subsection 35A-4-406(4) before 
jurisdiction can be taken beyond one year after the original 
determination. 
 
R994-406-204.  Discretion. 
 Section 35A-4-406 does not require the Department to take 
jurisdiction in all cases where there is a change in conditions or a 
mistake as to facts; the statute merely permits the Department to take 
jurisdiction.  The claimant and employer may request a reconsideration 
of a decision, but they cannot compel the Department to exercise 
continuing jurisdiction.  The Department will exercise continuing 
jurisdiction if it is necessary in fairness to an interested party who did 
not have access to material information or could not reasonably have 
filed an appeal provided there was a mistake as to facts or a change in 
conditions.  However, jurisdiction may not be taken if the 
redetermination would have little or no effect.  The Department will 
weigh the administrative burden of making a redetermination against 
the requirements of fairness and the opportunities of the parties affected 
to file an appeal.  Jurisdiction will be taken in all cases where the 
Department is aware of a claimant fault overpayment which is large 
enough to be "set up" as provided by R994-406-404.] 
 
R994-406-205.  Obligation of Department Employees. 
 Employees of the Department are obligated, regardless of when 
the information is discovered, to bring to the attention of the proper 
Department representatives any information that may affect an 
individual's eligibility for unemployment insurance benefits or 
information affecting the employer's contributions. 
 
[R994-406-206.  Notice. 
 Any time a decision is reconsidered all interested parties will be 
notified of the new information and provided an opportunity to attend 
hearings held in conjunction with the review.  All interested parties will 
receive notification of the redetermination and given the right to appeal. 
 
R994-406-301.  Provisions for Filing an Appeal - General 
Definition. 
 Subsection 35A-4-406(3) provides the opportunity for any parties 
affected by decisions made by the Department to file an appeal.  The 
time limitations for filing appeals, which includes protests, requests for 
hearings, petitions and other requests or applications, and the 
exceptions to those time limitations are explained in Section R994-406-
301 through R994-406-314.  Subsection 35A-4-406(3) also provides 
provisions for withdrawing appeals, explains the opportunities which 
must be provided to parties to assure a fair hearing; identifies the 
commission as a party to the hearing; specifies the requirements of 
notification of the referee's decisions; and explains the further rights of 
appeal. 
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R994-406-302.  Issuance of Determinations. 
 A notice of determination is not considered to have been issued 
unless it is sent through the U. S. mail or served in person. 
 
R994-406-303.  Appeal Time Limitation for Decisions that are Not 
Mailed. 
 If a decision issued by the Department is personally given to a 
party rather than sent through the mail, the amount of time permitted 
for an appeal is ten calendar days unless otherwise specified on the 
decision or by the Act. 
 
R994-406-304.  Appeal Time Limitation for Decisions Which are 
Mailed. 
 If a decision issued by the Department is mailed, five days are 
added to the time prescribed by the Act for filing the appeal.  Therefore, 
the amount of time permitted for filing an appeal from any decision that 
is mailed by the Department is fifteen calendar days unless otherwise 
specified on the decision or by the Act. 
 
R994-406-305.  Computation of Time Limitations. 
 In computing the period of time allowed by the Act for filing 
appeals under Subsection 35A-4-406(3), the day the decision is mailed 
or handed to a party is not to be included.  The last day of the appeal 
period that follows is to be included in the computation unless it is a 
Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday when the offices of the Department 
are closed.  If the last day permitted for filing an appeal falls on a 
Saturday, Sunday or legal holiday, the time permitted for filing a timely 
appeal will be extended to the next day when the offices of the 
Department are open. 
 
R994-406-306.  Date of Receipt. 
 Any appeal which has been sent through the U.S. Mail, is 
considered filed and received by the Department on the date shown by 
the post office cancellation mark.  When the post mark date cannot be 
established because it is illegible, erroneous or omitted, the appeal will 
be considered filed on the date it was mailed if the sender establishes 
that date by competent evidence and can show that it was mailed prior 
to the date of actual receipt.  If the date of mailing cannot be established 
by competent evidence, the document will be considered filed on the 
date it is actually received by the Department as shown by the 
Department's date stamp on the document or other credible evidence 
such as a written notation of the date of receipt. 
 
R994-406-307.  Limitation of Jurisdiction. 
 When it appears that an appeal may not have been filed within the 
time allowed by the Act or these Rules, the appellant will be notified 
and given an opportunity to show that the appeal was timely or was 
delayed for good cause.  If it is found that the appeal was not filed 
within the applicable time limit and the delay was without good cause, 
the Administrative Law Judge will not have jurisdiction to consider the 
merits unless jurisdiction is established in accordance with provisions 
of Subsection 35A-4-406(2).  Any decision with regard to jurisdictional 
issues will be issued in writing and given or mailed to all interested 
parties with a clear statement of the right of further appeal or judicial 
review. 
 
R994-406-308.  Good Cause for Not Filing Within Time 
Limitations. 
 (1)  A late appeal may be considered on its merits if it is 
determined that the appeal was delayed for good cause.  Good cause is 
limited to circumstances where it is shown that: 

 (a)  the appeal was filed within 10 days of actual receipt of the 
decision if such receipt was beyond the original appeal period and not 
the result of willful neglect; or 
 (b)  the delay in filing the appeal was due to circumstances beyond 
the control of the appellant; or 
 (c)  the appellant delayed filing the appeal for circumstances 
which were compelling and reasonable. 
 
R994-406-309.  Procedure for Filing an Appeal. 
 An appeal must be filed in writing by mailing a signed letter to the 
mailing address of the Appeals Tribunal as shown on the notice of 
decision, or submitting a written statement at an employment center.  
The appeal must be signed by an interested party who has a right to 
notice of a determination unless it can be shown that the interested 
party has conveyed in writing the authority to another person to act in 
his behalf, or he is physically or mentally incapable of acting in his own 
behalf.  The statement of appeal should give the date and issue of the 
decision being appealed, the social security number of any claimant 
involved, the employer number or case number of the decision, a 
statement of the intent of the appeal and the facts or reasons which 
support the request.  However, the failure of an appellant to include 
such information will not preclude the acceptance of an appeal.  The 
scope of review will not be limited to the issues or contentions stated in 
the appeal.  If the Department has begun payment of benefits to a 
claimant, such payments will not be discontinued pending the outcome 
of an appeal even if the claimant is willing to waive his right to 
payment.  However, if benefits are denied as a result of the appeal an 
overpayment may be established in accordance with provisions of 
either Subsection 35A-4-406(4) or 35A-4-406(5). 
 
R994-406-310.  Reasonable Opportunity for Fair Hearing. 
 (1)  Notice. 
 (a)  All interested parties will be notified by mail at least seven 
days prior to the hearing of: 
 (i)  the time and place, or conditions of the hearing, 
 (ii)  the legal issues, 
 (iii)  the consequences of not appearing, and 
 (iv)  the procedures and limitations for requesting rescheduling. 
 (b)  When a new issue arises during the hearing or under other 
unusual circumstances, advance written notice may be waived by the 
parties after a full verbal explanation of the issues and potential results. 
 (c)  It is the responsibility of the parties to a hearing to notify any 
representatives or witnesses of the time and place of the hearing and to 
make necessary arrangements for their participation. 
 (d)  If a party has designated a person or professional organization 
as his agent, notice of hearings will be sent to that agent and when such 
notice is sent, it will be considered that the party has been given notice. 
 (e)  If an interpreter is needed by any parties or their witnesses, the 
party should arrange for an interpreter who is an adult with fluent 
ability to understand and speak English and the language of the person 
testifying, or notify the Appeals Office at the time the appeal is filed (or 
when notification is given that an appeal has been filed) that assistance 
is required in arranging for an interpreter. 
 (2)  Hearing of Appeal. 
 (a)  All hearings will be conducted informally and in such manner 
as to protect the rights of the parties.  All issues relevant to the appeal 
will be considered and passed upon.  The decision of the Appeals 
Referee hereafter referred to as Administrative Law Judge, will be 
based solely on the testimony and evidence presented at the hearing. 
 (b)  All testimony of witnesses will be given under oath.  Any 
party to an appeal will be given an adequate opportunity to be heard 
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and present any pertinent evidence of probative value and to know and 
rebut by cross-examination or otherwise any other evidence submitted. 
 The Administrative Law Judge will direct the order of testimony and 
rule on the admissibility of evidence.  Oral or written evidence of any 
nature, whether or not conforming to the legal rules of evidence, may 
be accepted and will be given its proper weight.  However, no finding 
of fact will be based solely on contested hearsay.  Any official records 
of the Department, including reports submitted in connection with the 
administration of the Employment Security Act may be included in the 
record.  The Administrative Law Judge may take such additional 
evidence as is deemed necessary. 
 (c)  The parties to an appeal, with consent of the Administrative 
Law Judge, may stipulate to the facts involved.  The Administrative 
Law Judge may decide the appeal on the basis of such facts, or in his 
discretion, may set the appeal for hearing and take such further 
evidence as deemed necessary to determine the appeal. 
 (d)  The Administrative Law Judge may require portions of the 
evidence to be transcribed as necessary for rendering a decision. 
 
R994-406-311.  Rescheduling, Continuing and Reopening a 
Hearing and Decisions when a Party Fails to Participate. 
 (1)  If a party knows in advance of the hearing that they will be 
unable to participate in the hearing on the date or time scheduled, the 
party must request that the hearing be rescheduled or continued to 
another day or time. 
 (a)  The request must be made prior to the hearing.  If the request 
is not made prior to the hearing, the party must show cause for failing 
to make a timely request. 
 (b)  The request must be made orally or in writing to the ALJ 
scheduled to hear the case or the ALJ's supervisor. 
 (c)  The party making the request must show cause for the request. 
 (d)  Normally, a party will not be granted more than one request 
for a continuance. 
 (2)  If a party fails to appear for or participate in the hearing, either 
personally or through a representative, the ALJ will issue a decision 
based on the available evidence. 
 (3)  Any party failing to participate, personally or by authorized 
representative, in a hearing may request that the hearing be reopened. 
 (a)  The request will be granted if the party was prevented from 
appearing at the hearing due to circumstances beyond the party's 
control. 
 (b)  The request may be granted upon such terms as are just for 
any of the following reasons: mistake, inadvertence, surprise, excusable 
neglect or any other reason justifying relief from the operation of the 
decision.  The determination of what sorts of neglect will be considered 
excusable is an equitable one, taking into account all of the relevant 
circumstances including: 
 (i)  the danger that the party not requesting reopening will be 
harmed by reopening, 
 (ii)  the length of the delay caused by the party's failure to 
participate including the length of time to request reopening, 
 (iii)  the reason for the request including whether it was within the 
reasonable control of the party requesting reopening, 
 (iv)  whether the party requesting reopening acted in good faith, 
and 
 (v)  whether the party was represented by another at the time of 
the hearing.  Attorneys and representatives are held to a higher 
standard, and 
 (vi)  whether based on the evidence of record and the parties 
arguments or statements, taking additional evidence might effect the 
outcome of the case. 

 (c)  Requests to reopen are remedial in nature and thus must be 
liberally construed in favor of providing parties with an opportunity to 
be heard and present their case.  Any doubt must be resolved in favor of 
granting reopening. 
 (d)  Excusable neglect is not limited to cases where the failure to 
act was due to circumstances beyond the party's control. 
 (e)  The request must be in writing, must set forth the reason for 
the request and must be mailed, faxed or delivered to the Division of 
Adjudication within ten days of the issuance of the decision made 
pursuant to paragraph (2) above.  If the request is made after the 
expiration of the time limit, the party requesting reopening must show 
good cause for not making the request within ten days. 
 (f)  The ALJ has the discretion to schedule a hearing to determine 
if a party requesting reopening satisfied the requirements of this rule or 
may, after giving the other party an opportunity to respond to the 
request, grant or deny the request on the basis of the official record in 
the case. 
 (4)  The ALJ may, on the ALJs own motion, reschedule, continue 
or reopen a case if it appears necessary to take continuing jurisdiction 
based on a mistake as to facts or if the denial of a hearing would be an 
affront to fairness. 
 
R994-406-312.  Withdrawal of Appeal. 
 Any party who has filed an appeal from a decision of the 
Department may request withdrawal of the appeal by making a request 
to an Administrative Law Judge, explaining the reasons for the 
withdrawal.  The Administrative Law Judge may deny such a request if 
the withdrawal of the appeal could result in a disservice to any of the 
parties, including the Department. 
 
R994-406-313.  Division a Party to Proceedings. 
 The Division is the authorized agent of the Department.  The Act 
requires that the Department be given notice of the pendency of an 
appeal and that the Department will be a party to the proceedings.  
Unless the Department designates a representative who is authorized to 
represent the Department in appeals, notification of appeals will be sent 
to the Division of Workforce Information and Payment Services which 
rendered the initial determination.  As a party to the hearing the 
Department or its representatives have all rights and responsibilities of 
other interested parties to present evidence, bring witnesses, cross-
examine witnesses, give rebuttal evidence, and appeal decisions of the 
Administrative Law Judge.  Where the burden of proof is with the 
Department, the failure of the Department to meet that burden may 
result in an unfavorable ruling for the Department.  The Administrative 
Law Judge cannot act as the agent for the Department and therefore is 
limited to including in the record only that evidence which is in the 
Department files or submitted by Department representatives.  
Witnesses for the Department may be called on the motion of the 
Administrative Law Judge when the need for such testimony is 
necessary to clarify rather than impeach the testimony or evidence 
presented by the other parties, or the need for such witnesses or 
evidence could not have been anticipated by the Department prior to 
the hearing. 
 
R994-406-314.  Prompt Notification of Decision. 
 All decisions by Administrative Law Judges which affect the 
rights of any party with regard to benefits, tax liability, or jurisdictional 
issues will be mailed to the last known address of the parties or 
delivered in person.  Each decision issued will be in writing with a 
complete statement of the findings of fact, reasoning and conclusions of 
law and will include or be accompanied by a notice specifying the 
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further appeal rights of the parties.  The notice of appeal rights shall 
state clearly the place and manner for taking an appeal from the 
decision and the period within which an appeal may be taken. 
 
R994-406-315.  Finality of Decision. 
 Decisions of the Administrative Law Judge are binding on all 
parties and are the final decision of the Department as provided by 
Subsection 35A-4-508(7) unless appealed within 30 days of mailing or 
delivery of the decision.] 
 
R994-406-401.  Fault Overpayments - General Definition. 
 Subsection 35A-4-406(4) identifies the repayment requirements of 
individuals who have been overpaid due to fraud, or due to claimant 
fault not constituting fraud. 
 
R994-406-402.  Fraud. 
 (1)  When the Department has evidence of an overpayment 
resulting from the claimant's failure to properly report material 
information, the claimant will be notified of the issue, given an 
opportunity to provide information concerning the issue, and told that 
payments are being held pending a decision.  In such circumstances, 
payment of benefits for claims currently in process may be held for up 
to two weeks pending the issuance of a fraud or overpayment decision. 
 Benefit payments which have not been paid for eligible weeks prior to 
the disqualification period under Subsection 35A-4-405(5), shall be 
used to reduce such an overpayment.  100% of the benefit check to 
which he is entitled will be used to reduce the overpayment. 
 (2)  The overpayment and penalties for fraud are established only 
when benefits have been denied under Subsection 35A-4-405(5).  The 
repayment amount is determined by Subsection 35A-4-405(5) and, 
following a decision, repayment must be made in cash before the 
claimant will be eligible to establish a waiting week credit or receive 
future benefit payments.  Therefore, the overpayment and penalties 
cannot be offset. 
 
R994-406-403.  Claimant Fault. 
 (1)  Elements of Fault. 
 Fault is established if all three of the following elements are 
present.  If one or more element cannot be established, the overpayment 
does not fall under the provisions of Subsection 35A-4-405(5). 
 (a)  Materiality. 
 Benefits were paid to which the claimant was not entitled. 
 (b)  Control. 
 Benefits were paid based on incorrect information or an absence 
of information which the claimant reasonably could have provided. 
 (c)  Knowledge. 
 The claimant had sufficient notice that the information might be 
reportable. 
 (2)  Claimant Responsibility. 
 The claimant is responsible for providing all of the information 
requested of him in written documents regarding his Unemployment 
Insurance claim, as well as any verbal instructions given by a 
Department representative.  Before certifying that he is eligible for 
benefits, he is under obligation to make proper inquiry if he has any 
questions to determine definitely what is required.  Therefore, when a 
claimant has knowledge that certain information may affect his claim, 
but makes his own determination that the information is not material or 
if he ignores it, he is at fault. 
 (3)  Receipt of Settlement or Back-Pay. 

 (a)  A claimant is "at fault" for an overpayment created if he fails 
to advise the Department that grievance procedures are being pursued 
which may result in payment of wages for weeks he claims benefits. 
 (b)  When the claimant advises the Department prior to receiving 
a settlement that he has filed a grievance with his employer, and he 
makes an assignment directing the employer to pay to the Department 
that portion of the settlement equivalent to the amount of 
unemployment compensation he receives, he will not be "at fault" if an 
overpayment is created due to payment of wages attributable to weeks 
for which he receives benefits.  If the grievance is resolved in favor of 
the claimant and the employer was properly notified of the wage 
assignment, the employer is liable to immediately reimburse the 
Unemployment Insurance Fund upon settlement of the grievance.  If 
reimbursement is not made to the Department consistent with the 
provisions of the Assignment, collection procedures will be initiated 
against the employer. 
 (c)  If the claimant refuses to make an assignment of the wages he 
is claiming in a grievance proceeding, benefits will be withheld on the 
basis that he is not unemployed because he anticipates receipt of wages. 
 In this case, the claimant should file weekly claims and if he does not 
receive back wages when the grievance is resolved, benefits will be 
paid for weeks properly claimed provided he is otherwise eligible. 
 
R994-406-404.  Method of Repayment of Fault Overpayments. 
 (1)  When the claimant has been determined to be "at fault" in the 
creation of an overpayment, the overpayment must be repaid.  If 
payment is made by personal check, no benefit checks will be released 
until the personal check has been honored by the bank.  If the claimant 
is otherwise eligible and files for additional benefits during the same or 
any subsequent benefit year, 50% of the benefit check to which he is 
entitled will be used to reduce the overpayment. 
 (2)  Discretion for Repayment. 
 (a)  Full restitution is required of all overpayments established 
under Subsection 35A-4-405(5).  At the discretion of the Department, 
however, the claimant may not be required to make payments and legal 
collection proceedings may be held in abeyance.  The overpayment will 
be deducted from future benefits payable during the current or 
subsequent benefit years.  Discretion may be exercised: 
 (i)  if the Department or the employer share fault in the creation of 
the overpayment, or 
 (ii)  if installment payments would impose unreasonable hardship 
such as in the case of an individual with an income which does not 
provide for additional money beyond minimum living requirements. 
 (b)  The Department cannot exercise repayment discretion for 
fraud overpayments and these amounts are subject to all collection 
procedures. 
 (3)  Installment Payments. 
 (a)  If repayment in full has not been made within 90 days of the 
first billing the Department shall enter into an agreement with the 
claimant whereby repayment of the money owed is collectible by 
monthly installments.  The Department shall notify the claimant in 
writing of the minimum installment payment which the claimant is 
required to make.  If the claimant is unable to make the minimum 
installment payments, he may request a review within ten days of the 
date written notice is mailed or delivered. 
 (b)  Installment agreements shall be established as follows: 
 Overpayments Equaling Minimum Monthly Payment 
 $3,000 or less 50% of claimant's weekly benefit entitlement 
 3,001 to 5,000 100% of claimant's weekly benefit entitlement 
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 5,001 to 10,000 125% of claimant's weekly benefit entitlement 
 10,001 or more 150% of claimant's weekly benefit entitlement 
 (c)  Installment agreements will not be approved in amounts less 
than those established above except in cases of extreme hardship.  An 
ability to make a minimal payment is presumed if the claimant has a 
household income which is in excess of the poverty level guidelines as 
established by the federal government and used to grant waivers of 
overpayments under Subsection 35A-4-406(5).  The installment 
agreement will be reviewed periodically and adjustments made based 
upon changes in the claimant's income or circumstance.  A due date 
will be established for each installment agreement which is mutually 
agreed upon by the claimant and the Department. 
 (4)  Collection Procedures. 
 (a)  Billings are sent to claimants with overpayments on a monthly 
basis.  After 30 days, if payment is not made, the account is considered 
delinquent.  If no payment has been received in 90 days the individual 
is notified that a warrant will be filed unless a payment is received 
within 10 days.  However, there may be other circumstances under 
which a warrant may be filed on any outstanding overpayment.  A 
warrant attaches a lien to any personal or real property and establishes a 
judgment that is collectible under Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 (b)  All outstanding overpayments are reported to the State 
Auditor for collection whereby any refunds due to the individual from 
State income tax or any such rebates, refunds, or other amounts owed 
by the state and subject to legal attachment may be applied against the 
overpayment. 
 (5)  Offset In Time. 
 Offset in time occurs when the claimant files valid weekly claims 
to replace weeks of benefits which were overpaid.  When an 
overpayment is established after the claimant has exhausted all benefits, 
the claimant may file claims for additional weeks during the same 
benefit year provided he is otherwise eligible.  Offset in time will be 
allowed on claims that have expired if a written request is made within 
30 days of the notification of the overpayment.  No offset in time will 
be allowed on overpayments established under Subsection 35A-4-
405(5).  One hundred percent (100%) of the weekly benefit amount for 
the weeks claimed will be credited against the established overpayment 
up to the amount of the balance owed to the Department.  No penalty 
for late filing will be assessed when a claimant is otherwise eligible to 
file claims to offset in time. 
 
R994-406-501.  Non-Fault Overpayments - General Definition. 
 Subsection 35A-4-406(5) identifies the repayment requirements of 
individuals who have received an overpayment of benefits through no 
fault of their own.  Such overpayments are referred to as "accounts not 
receivable" (ANR). 
 
R994-406-502.  Responsibility. 
 (1)  The claimant is responsible for providing all of the 
information requested in written documents as well as any verbal 
request from a Department representative.  If the claimant has provided 
such information, and then receives benefits to which he is not entitled 
through an error of the Department or an employer, he is not at fault for 
the overpayment. 
 (2)  "Through no fault of his own" does not mean the claimant can 
shift responsibility for providing correct information to another person 
such as a spouse, parent, or friend.  The claimant is responsible for all 
information required on his claim. 
 

R994-406-503.  Method of Repayment. 
 Even though the claimant is without fault in the creation of the 
overpayment, 50 percent of the claimant's weekly benefit amount will 
be deducted from any future benefits payable to him until the 
overpayment is repaid.  No billings will be made and no collection 
procedures will be initiated. 
 
R994-406-504.  Waiver of Recovery of Overpayment. 
 (1)  If waiver of recovery of overpayment is granted under 
Subsection 35A-4-406(5), the amount of the overpayment owing at the 
time the request is granted is withdrawn, forgiven or forgotten and the 
claimant has no further repayment obligation.  Granting of a waiver 
will not be retroactive for any of the overpayment which has already 
been offset except if the offset was made pending a decision on a 
timely waiver request. 
 (a)  Time Limitation for Requesting Waiver. 
 A waiver must be requested within 10 days of the notification of 
opportunity to request a waiver or within 10 days of the first offset of 
benefits following a reopening or upon a showing of a significant 
change of the claimant's financial circumstances.  Good cause will be 
considered if the claimant can show the failure to request a waiver 
within these time limitations was due to circumstances which were 
reasonable or beyond his control. 
 (b)  Basic Needs of Survival. 
 The claimant may be granted a waiver of the overpayment if 
recovery by 50 percent offset would create an inability to pay for the 
basic needs of survival for the immediate family, dependents and other 
household members.  In making this waiver determination, the 
Department shall take into consideration all the potential resources of 
the claimant, the claimant's family, dependents and other household 
members.  The claimant will be required to provide documentation of 
claimed resources.  The claimant must also provide social security 
numbers of family members, dependents and household members.  
"Economically disadvantaged" for federal programs is defined as 70 
percent of the Lower Living Standard Income Level (LLSIL).  
"Inability to meet the basic needs of survival" is defined consistent with 
"economically disadvantaged."  Therefore, if the claimant's total family 
resources in relation to family size are not in excess of 70 percent of the 
LLSIL, the waiver will be granted provided the economic 
circumstances are not expected to change within an indefinite period of 
time.  Individual expenses will not be considered. 
 (c)  Indefinite Period. 
 An indefinite period of time is defined as the current month and at 
least the next two months.  Therefore, the duration of the financial 
hardship must be expected to last at least three months.  If the claimant 
or household members expect to return to work within the three months 
the anticipated income will be included in determining if he lacks basic 
needs of survival for an indefinite period of time.  Available resources 
will be averaged for the three months. 
 
R994-406-505.  Overpayments Not Set Up (NSU). 
 The minimum overpayment amount which will be established is 
determined by multiplying the state maximum weekly benefit amount 
by 15% and rounding the result to the next highest $5.  Overpayments 
of ($10 or less) less than this amount do not justify the expense of 
collection and will not be (established) set up (NSU).  Accumulations 
of overpaid benefits, accruing (from) for more than one week, which 
equal more than ($10) the minimum overpayment amount will be 
established. 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
unemployment rules are being rewritten to ensure that they 
comply with current law and practice. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Department has taken 
all its provisions relating to appeal procedures out of other 
rules and put them in this rule.  The rule was also rewritten to 
remove references to antiquated procedures.  Under Utah 
code, if a party does not provide information to the 
Department when requested regarding a separation, the party 
is no longer a party in interest.  Under this rule, when that 
penalty will apply has been defined.  It is in the best interest of 
all parties that accurate and complete information be obtained 
before a decision on benefits is made.  Some employers have 
refused to provide information until the hearing level which 
has resulted in benefits being improperly awarded.  If an 
employer does not provide the information, the Department 
will follow the statute and make them ineligible for relief of 
charges but it will only be done in situations where the 
employer is aware of the rules and understands Department 
procedures.  It is the Department's position that a small 
business unfamiliar with Department rules should not be held 
to the same standard as an employer, or the employer 
representative answering claims on a regular basis.  The 
costs have previously been paid by all employers instead of 
the offending employers.  All other changes to the rule are 
nonsubstantive in nature. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 35A, Chapter 103; Title 35A, Chapter 406; and 
Title 35A, Chapter 508 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no costs or savings to the 
State budget because this is a federally-funded program and 
 
 

there are no substantive changes being made to this rule.  
These changes reflect current Department practices 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  In addition to the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget, there will be no costs or savings 
to local government as this is a federally-funded, state-wide 
program that does not affect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no costs or savings to any 
person for the reasons stated in relation to the State budget.  
This amendment does not make any substantive changes to 
current law or rule. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs to any person for the reasons stated in 
relation to the State budget.  This amendment does not make 
any substantive changes to current law or rule. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This proposed repeal and 
reenactment will have no fiscal impact on business as there 
are no compliance costs and the rule merely reflects current 
statutory authority. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION 
AND PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/19/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/22/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Raylene G. Ireland, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and 
Payment Services. 
[R994-508.  Appeal Procedures. 
R994-508-201.  Appeal of Contribution Decisions - General 
Definition. 
 Section 35A-4-508(2) provides the opportunity to appeal a 
contribution decision.  Examples of decisions which may be 
appealed include, but are not limited to:  whether an employing unit 
is an employer, whether services performed are employment, and 
determinations involving contribution liability.  The Department will 
also require compliance with Sections R994-406-301 through R994-
406-315 which relates to appeals of benefit decisions and therefore 
applies to appeals of contribution decisions. 
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R994-508-501.  Review by Workforce Appeals Board - General 
Definition. 
 Subsection 35A-4-508(5) explains the procedure under which 
the Workforce Appeals Board will accept or reject cases appealed 
from decisions of Administrative Law Judges and provides for 
sending the disputed matters for further judicial review.  Subsection 
35A-1-304(2) explains conditions under which new evidence will be 
accepted by the Board for review. 
 
R994-508-502.  Appeals to the Board. 
 (1)  Appeals as of Right. 
 If the Administrative Law Judge's decision did not affirm a 
prior decision, the Board will accept a timely appeal from any party 
to that decision. 
 (2)  Appeals Not Accepted by the Board. 
 The Workforce Appeals Board has the discretion not to accept 
an appeal if the decision of the Administrative Law Judge affirms a 
prior decision of the Department.  Prior to making a determination 
not to accept an appeal, a review will be made of the record by an 
individual designated by the Board. 
 (3)  Filing an Appeal. 
 (a)  An appeal to the Workforce Appeals Board from a decision 
of an Administrative Law Judge must be on an appeal form provided 
by the Department, or a written statement which includes: 
 (i)  the name of the appellant, 
 (ii)  the name and social security number of the claimant in 
cases involving benefit rights, 
 (iii)  the identification of the case on which the appeal is being 
made, and 
 (iv)  the grounds upon which the appeal is made.  However, the 
issues presented in the appeal are not limited to the issues presented 
at the hearing.  Further, the review by the Board will not be limited 
to the issues raised by the appeal.  The appeal may be accompanied 
by references to or excerpts from the record made before the 
Administrative Law Judge. 
 
R994-508-503.  Workforce Appeals Board of Administrative 
Law Judge Decisions. 
 (1)  Notice that An Appeal Has Been Filed. 
 All parties entitled to receive the decision of the Administrative 
Law Judge will receive notice from the Department that an appeal 
has been filed with the Workforce Appeals Board. 
 (2)  Presentation of Argument. 
 In its review of an appeal, the Workforce Appeals Board may 
in its discretion allow the parties to file written arguments.  When 
written arguments are allowed, the parties will be granted 15 days 
from the date of notification to submit their arguments.  No other 
argument will be allowed, unless the Board determines that 
additional written argument is necessary to a proper understanding 
of the appeal. 
 
R994-508-504.  Notice of Decisions from the Workforce Appeals 
Board. 
 (1)  A copy of the decision of the Workforce Appeals Board, 
including an explanation of the right to judicial review, will be 
promptly delivered or mailed to each interested party. 
 (2)  In each case where the Workforce Appeals Board declines 
to accept an appeal, the findings of fact and decision of the 
Administrative Law Judge will be deemed to be the findings and 
decision of the Workforce Appeals Board and will be subject to 
judicial review upon action commenced within ten days after the 

decision of the Workforce Appeals Board declining acceptance of 
the appeal has become final. 
 
R994-508-505.  Withdrawals. 
 Any party who has filed an appeal from a decision of an 
Administrative Law Judge may request withdrawal of the appeal by 
making a written statement to the Workforce Appeals Board 
explaining the reasons for the withdrawal.  The Workforce Appeals 
Board may deny such a request if it could result in a disservice to 
any of the parties, including the Department. 
 
R994-508-506.  Postponements and Untimely Appeals. 
 The Workforce Appeals Board will consider and dispose of 
untimely appeals and requests for postponement in the same manner 
provided in the regulations pertaining to Subsection 35A-4-406(3). 
 
R994-508-601.  Appeals Hearings. 
 These rules govern procedures in administrative hearings 
before the Appeals Tribunal of the Utah Department of Workforce 
Services and shall be construed to secure the just, speedy and 
inexpensive determination of every appeal proceeding. 
 
R994-508-602.  Appeal Hearings Designated As Formal 
Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 All initial decisions made by the Department of Workforce 
Services are exempt from the provisions of the Utah Administrative 
Procedures Act (UAPA).  Appeals from initial decisions must be 
filed within 10 calendar days of the date of issuance, plus five days 
if the initial decision is mailed, and must meet the requirements of 
Subsections 63-46b-3(1)(a) and 63-46b-3(1)(b) of the UAPA.  
Proceedings on such appeals will be conducted consistent with the 
provisions of the UAPA governing formal adjudicative proceedings. 
 
R994-508-603.  Pleadings. 
 (1)  Generally, the factual and legal issues are defined by the 
parties during the exempt initial proceeding.  Therefore, further 
written statements, such as a response from the respondent party, 
will not usually be required.  However, respondent parties may file a 
response if they want to raise additional issues or respond to issues 
raised in the appeal.  Such a response must be filed within 14 
calendar days from the date of notification that an appeal has been 
filed and the respondent party must send a copy by mail to the 
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ) and all known parties.  An 
extension of the response time may be granted at the discretion of 
the ALJ. (2)  Occasionally, the Administrative Law Judge may 
require an appellant party to file a supplemental statement of appeal 
or a respondent party to file a response when, in the discretion of the 
ALJ, this additional information is necessary for the parties to 
properly prepare for the hearing.  Such additional statements must be 
filed within the time limitation established by the ALJ, and a copy 
must be sent by mail to all known parties. 
 
R994-508-604.  Default for Failure to Make an Adequate 
Response. 
 The respondent will not be held in default for failure to make 
an adequate written response unless it is shown that the lack of the 
response, or omissions in the response, adversely affected the ability 
to prepare for the hearing.  If there is reasonable cause for failure to 
make an adequate response, the hearing may be continued. 
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R994-508-605.  Department to Provide Information. 
 The information which the Department used to make an initial 
decision and the reasoning upon which that decision was based will 
generally be provided to the parties.  If the Department fails to 
provide information to the parties necessary for the preparation of 
the hearing, the ALJ shall not become an advocate for the 
Department, but shall take reasonable steps to obtain such 
information, either prior to or during the hearing.  If a party is 
prejudiced in his preparation for the hearing by the Department's 
failure to provide the information, the ALJ may reschedule the 
hearing.  If the Department's initial decision failed to state 
adequately the facts or reasoning on which it was based, the ALJ 
may vacate the decision and remand it to the Department for a new 
decision which must include specific findings of fact and reasoning. 
 
R994-508-606.  Discovery. 
 (1)  Discovery is a procedure for obtaining information which 
is necessary for the preparation of a hearing.  In most unemployment 
insurance hearings, informal methods of discovery are sufficient.  
Informal discovery is the voluntary exchange of information 
regarding evidence or witnesses to be presented at the hearing.  
Usually a telephone call to the other party requesting the needed 
information is adequate.  Parties are encouraged to cooperate in 
providing information.  If this information is not voluntarily 
provided, the party requesting the information may request that the 
ALJ compel the information through a verbal or written order or 
issuance of a subpoena.  In deciding such requests, the ALJ shall 
balance the need for such information with the burden such requests 
place upon the opposing party and the need to promptly decide the 
appeal. (2)  The use of formal discovery procedures in 
unemployment insurance appeals proceedings are rarely necessary 
and tend to increase costs while delaying decisions.  Formal 
discovery may be allowed for unemployment insurance hearings 
only if so directed by the ALJ and when: 
 (a)  informal discovery was inadequate to provide the 
information required, 
 (b)  there is no other available alternative that would be less 
costly or less intimidating, 
 (c)  it is not unduly burdensome, 
 (d)  it is necessary for the parties to properly prepare for the 
hearing, and 
 (e)  it does not cause unreasonable delays.  Formal discovery 
includes requests for admissions, interrogatories and other methods 
of discovery as provided by the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 
R994-508-607.  Telephone Hearings. 
 (1)  At the discretion of the ALJ, any party may be permitted to 
testify by telephone.  Parties who do not reside within 50 miles or 
approximately one hour of commuting distance from the location of 
a scheduled hearing will be notified of the opportunity to testify by 
telephone.  A party or a witness scheduled to testify by telephone 
may participate in person by reporting to the place of hearing.  
Telephone participation will be permitted only if adequate telephone 
facilities exist. 
 (2)  Documents to be offered into evidence in a telephone 
hearing will be mailed to all parties prior to the hearing when 
possible.  If parties do not receive the documents prior to the 
hearing, they will be given an opportunity to request that the hearing 
be reopened to make comments on the documents after they are 
received. 

 (3)  The appeals office will permit collect calls from parties 
participating in telephone hearings and their witnesses; however, 
professional representatives not at the physical location of their 
client must pay their own telephone charges.  If a party or witness 
has a physical impairment precluding effective participation by 
telephone, has numerous witnesses, large amounts of documentary 
evidence, or any other established hinderance or legitimate 
disadvantage to a telephonic hearing, an in-person hearing will be 
scheduled. 
 
R994-508-608.  Ex Parte Communications. 
 No parties will be permitted to discuss the merits or facts of any 
pending case with the ALJ assigned to that case either before or after 
the hearing, prior to the issuance of the decision, unless all other 
parties to the case have been given notice and opportunity to be 
present.  Any discussions between the parties and the ALJ on 
procedural issues or inadvertent ex parte information regarding the 
merits of the case will be reported to the parties at the time of the 
hearing and made a part of the record.  Discussions with Department 
employees who are not designated to represent the Department on 
the issue or who do not provide factual information and are not 
expected to participate in the hearing of the case, are not ex parte 
communications and do not need to be made a part of the record. 
 
R994-508-609.  Correction of Error and Augmentation of the 
Record. 
 Any party may request correction of an ALJ decision if the 
request is made in writing and filed or mailed within 30 calendar 
days of the date of the decision.  The ALJ retains jurisdiction to 
reopen the hearing, amend or correct any decision which is not final, 
or exercise continuing jurisdiction as provided by the rules 
pertaining to Subsections 35A-4-406(2) and 35A-4-406(3) unless the 
Workforce Appeals Board has accepted an appeal.  Whenever a 
request for correction is submitted to the ALJ, a decision will be 
issued and new appeal rights to the Workforce Appeals Board will 
be established. 
 
R994-508-610.  Requests for Removal of an ALJ from a Case. 
 A party may request that an ALJ remove himself from a case 
on the basis of partiality, interest or prejudice.  The request for 
removal must be made in writing prior to the hearing, unless the 
reason for the request was not or could not have been known prior to 
the hearing.  The request must state specific facts which are alleged 
to establish cause for removal.  If the ALJ agrees that he should be 
reassigned, another ALJ will be assigned to the case.  However, if 
the ALJ finds no reason to remove himself, he will rule on the 
request verbally during the hearing and explain the basis for the 
ruling.  Challenges to the partiality of the ALJ will not result in a 
delay of the hearing.  Appeals pertaining to the partiality of the ALJ 
may be filed consistent with the time limitations for appealing the 
decision. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, appellate procedures 
1994 
Notice of Continuation June 11, 2003 
35A-4-508(2) 
35A-4-508(5) 
35A-4-508(6)] 
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R994-508.  Appeal Procedures. 
R994-508-101.  Right to Appeal an Initial Department 
Determination. 
 (1)  An interested party has the right to appeal an initial 
Department determination on unemployment benefits or 
unemployment tax liability (contributions) by filing an appeal with 
the Appeals Unit or at any DWS Employment Center. 
 (2)  The appeal must be in writing and either sent through the 
U.S. Mail, faxed, or delivered to the Appeals Unit, or submitted 
electronically through the Department's website. 
 (3)  The appeal must be signed by an interested party unless it 
can be shown that the interested party has conveyed, in writing, the 
authority to another person or is physically or mentally incapable of 
acting on his or her own behalf.  Providing the correct Personal 
Identification Number (PIN) when filing an appeal through the 
Department's website will be considered a signed appeal. 
 (4)  The appeal should give the date of the determination being 
appealed, the social security number of any claimant involved, the 
employer number, a statement of the reason for the appeal, and any 
and all information which supports the appeal.  The failure of an 
appellant to provide the information in this subsection will not 
preclude the acceptance of an appeal. 
 (5)  The scope of the appeal is not limited to the issues stated in 
the appeal. 
 (6)  If the claimant is receiving benefits at the time the appeal is 
filed, payments will continue pending the written decision of the 
ALJ even if the claimant is willing to waive payment.  If benefits are 
denied as a result of the appeal, an overpayment will be established. 
 
R994-508-102.  Time Limits for Filing an Appeal from an Initial 
Department Determination. 
 (1)  If the initial Department determination was delivered to the 
party, the time permitted for an appeal is ten calendar days.  
"Delivered to the party" means personally handed, faxed, or sent 
electronically to the party.  If the determination was sent through the 
U.S. Mail, an additional five calendar days will be added to the time 
allowed for an appeal from the initial Department determination.  
Therefore, the amount of time permitted for filing an appeal from 
any initial Department determination sent through the U.S. Mail is 
fifteen calendar days unless otherwise specified on the decision. 
 (2)  In computing the period of time allowed for filing an 
appeal, the date as it appears in the determination is not included.  
The last day of the appeal period is included in the computation 
unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday when Department 
offices are closed.  If the last day permitted for filing an appeal falls 
on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the time permitted for filing 
a timely appeal will be extended to the next day when Department 
offices are open. 
 (3)  An appeal sent through the U.S. Mail is considered filed on 
the date shown by the post mark.  If the postmark date cannot be 
established because it is illegible, erroneous, or omitted, the appeal 
will be considered filed on the date it was mailed if the sender can 
establish that date by competent evidence and can show that it was 
mailed prior to the date of actual receipt.  If the date of mailing 
cannot be established by competent evidence, the appeal will be 
considered filed on the date it is actually received by the Appeals 
Unit as shown by the Appeals Unit's date stamp on the document or 
other credible evidence such as a written notation of the date of 
receipt.  "Mailed" in this subsection means taken to the post office or 
placed in a receptacle which is designated for pick up by an 

employee who has the responsibility of delivering it to the post 
office. 
 
R994-508-103.  Untimely Appeal. 
 If it appears that an appeal was not filed in a timely manner, the 
appellant will be notified and given an opportunity to show that the 
appeal was timely or that it was delayed for good cause.  If it is 
found that the appeal was not timely and the delay was without good 
cause, the ALJ or the Board will not have jurisdiction to consider the 
merits unless jurisdiction is established in accordance with 
provisions of Subsection 35A-4-406(2).  Any decision with regard to 
jurisdictional issues will be issued in writing and delivered or mailed 
to all interested parties with a clear statement of the right of further 
appeal or judicial review. 
 
R994-508-104.  Good Cause for Not Filing Within Time 
Limitations. 
 A late appeal may be considered on its merits if it is determined 
that the appeal was delayed for good cause.  Good cause is limited to 
circumstances where it is shown that: 
 (1)  the appellant received the decision after the expiration of 
the time limit for filing the appeal, the appeal was filed within ten 
days of actual receipt of the decision and the delay was not the result 
of willful neglect; 
 (2)  the delay in filing the appeal was due to circumstances 
beyond the appellant's control; or 
 (3)  the appellant delayed filing the appeal for circumstances 
which were compelling and reasonable. 
 
R994-508-105.  Response to an Appeal. 
 A respondent is not required to file a written response to an 
appeal.  A respondent may file a response if it does not delay the 
proceedings. 
 
R994-508-106.  Notice of the Hearing. 
 (1)  All interested parties will be notified by mail, at least seven 
days prior to the hearing, of: 
 (a)  the time and place of the hearing; 
 (b)  the right to be represented at the hearing; 
 (c)  the right to request an in-person hearing; 
 (d)  the legal issues to be considered at the hearing; 
 (e)  the procedure for submitting written documents; 
 (f)  the consequences of not participating; 
 (g)  the procedures and limitations for requesting a continuance 
or rescheduling; and 
 (h)  the procedure for requesting an interpreter for the hearing, 
if necessary. 
 (2)  When a new issue arises during the hearing, advance 
written notice may be waived by the parties after a full explanation 
by the ALJ of the issues and potential consequences. 
 (3)  It is the responsibility of a party to notify and make 
arrangements for the participation of the party's representative 
and/or witnesses, if any. 
 (4)  If a party has designated a person or professional 
organization as its agent, notice will be sent to the agent which will 
satisfy the requirement to give notice to the party. 
 
R994-508-107.  Department to Provide Documents. 
 The Appeals Unit will obtain the information which the 
Department used to make its initial determination and the reasoning 
upon which that decision was based and will send all of the 
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Department's relevant documentary information to the parties with 
the notice of hearing. 
 
R994-508-108.  Discovery. 
 (1)  Discovery is a legal process to obtain information which is 
necessary to prepare for a hearing.  In most unemployment insurance 
hearings, informal methods of discovery are sufficient.  Informal 
discovery is the voluntary exchange of information regarding 
evidence to be presented at the hearing, and witnesses who will 
testify at the hearing.  Usually a telephone call to the other party 
requesting the needed information is adequate.  Parties are 
encouraged to cooperate in providing information.  If this 
information is not provided voluntarily, the party requesting the 
information may request that the ALJ compel a party to produce the 
information through a verbal or written order or issuance of a 
subpoena.  In considering the requests, the ALJ will balance the 
need for the information with the burden the requests place upon the 
opposing party and the need to promptly decide the appeal. 
 (2)  The use of formal discovery procedures in unemployment 
insurance appeals proceedings are rarely necessary and tend to 
increase costs while delaying decisions.  Formal discovery may be 
allowed for unemployment insurance hearings only if so directed by 
the ALJ and when each of the following elements is present: 
 (a)  informal discovery is inadequate to obtain the information 
required; 
 (b)  there is no other available alternative that would be less 
costly or less intimidating; 
 (c)  it is not unduly burdensome; 
 (d)  it is necessary for the parties to properly prepare for the 
hearing; and 
 (e)  it does not cause unreasonable delays. 
 (3)  Formal discovery includes requests for admissions, 
interrogatories, and other methods of discovery as provided by the 
Utah Rules of Civil Procedure. 
 
R994-508-109.  Hearing Procedure. 
 (1)  All hearings will be conducted before an ALJ in such 
manner as to provide due process and protect the rights of the 
parties. 
 (2)  The hearing will be recorded. 
 (3)  The ALJ will regulate the course of the hearing to obtain 
full disclosure of relevant facts and to afford the parties a reasonable 
opportunity to present their positions. 
 (4)  The decision of the ALJ will be based solely on the 
testimony and evidence presented at the hearing. 
 (5)  All testimony of the parties and witnesses will be given 
under oath or affirmation. 
 (6)  All parties will be given the opportunity to provide 
testimony, present relevant evidence which has probative value, 
cross-examine any other party and/or other party's witnesses, 
examine or be provided with a copy of all exhibits, respond, argue, 
submit rebuttal evidence and/or provide statements orally or in 
writing, and/or comment on the issues. 
 (7)  The evidentiary standard for ALJ decisions is a 
preponderance of the evidence.  Preponderance means evidence 
which is of greater weight or more convincing than the evidence 
which is offered in opposition to it; that is, evidence which as a 
whole shows that the fact sought to be proved is more probable than 
not. 
 (8)  The ALJ will direct the order of testimony and rule on the 
admissibility of evidence.  The ALJ may, on the ALJ's own motion 

or the motion of a party, exclude evidence that is irrelevant, 
immaterial, or unduly repetitious. 
 (9)  Oral or written evidence of any nature, whether or not 
conforming to the rules of evidence, may be accepted and will be 
given its proper weight.  A party has the responsibility to present all 
relevant evidence in its possession. When a party is in possession of 
evidence but fails to introduce the evidence, an inference may be 
drawn that the evidence does not support the party's position. 
 (10)  Official Department records, including reports submitted 
in connection with the administration of the Employment Security 
Act, may be considered at any time in the appeals process including 
after the hearing. 
 (11)  Parties may introduce relevant documents into evidence.  
Parties must mail, fax, or deliver copies of those documents to the 
ALJ assigned to hear the case and all other interested parties so that 
the documents are received prior to the hearing.  Failure to prefile 
documents may result in a delay of the proceedings.  If a party has 
good cause for not submitting the documents prior to the hearing or 
if a party does not receive the documents sent by the Appeals Unit or 
another party prior to the hearing, the documents will be admitted 
after provisions are made to insure due process is satisfied.  At his or 
her discretion, the ALJ can either: 
 (a)  reschedule the hearing to another time; 
 (b)  allow the parties time to review the documents at an in-
person hearing; 
 (c)  request that the documents be faxed during the hearing, if 
possible, or read the material into the record in case of telephone 
hearing; or 
 (d)  leave the record of the hearing open, send the documents to 
the party or parties who did not receive them, and give the party or 
parties an opportunity to submit additional evidence after they are 
received and reviewed. 
 (12)  The ALJ may, on his or her own motion, take additional 
evidence as is deemed necessary. 
 (13) With the consent of the ALJ, the parties to an appeal may 
stipulate to the facts involved.  The ALJ may decide the appeal on 
the basis of those facts, or may set the matter for hearing and take 
further evidence as deemed necessary to decide the appeal. 
 (14)  The ALJ may require portions of the testimony be 
transcribed as necessary for rendering a decision. 
 (15)  All initial determinations made by the Department are 
exempt from the provisions of the Utah Administrative Procedures 
Act (UAPA).  Appeals from initial determinations will be conducted 
as formal adjudicative proceedings under UAPA. 
 
R994-508-110.  Telephone Hearings. 
 (1)  Hearings are usually scheduled as telephonic hearings.  
Every party wishing to participate in the telephone hearing must call 
the Appeals Unit before the hearing and provide a telephone number 
where the party can be reached at the time of the hearing. 
 (2)  If a party prefers an in-person hearing, the party must 
contact the ALJ assigned to hear the case and request that the 
hearing be scheduled as an in-person hearing.  The request should be 
made sufficiently in advance of the hearing so that all other parties 
may be given notice of the change in hearing type and the 
opportunity to appear in person also.  If the ALJ grants the request, 
all parties will be informed that the hearing will be conducted in 
person.  Even if the hearing is scheduled as an in-person hearing, a 
party may elect to participate by telephone.  In-person hearings are 
held in the office of the Appeals Unit unless the ALJ determines that 
another location is more appropriate.  The Department is not 
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responsible for any travel costs incurred by attending an in-person 
hearing. 
 (3)  The Appeals Unit will permit collect calls from parties and 
their witnesses participating in telephone hearings; however, 
professional representatives not at the physical location of their 
client must pay their own telephone charges. 
 
R994-508-111.  Evidence, Including Hearsay Evidence. 
 (1)  The failure of one party to provide information either to the 
Department initially or at the appeals hearing severely limits the 
facts available upon which to base a good decision.  Therefore, it is 
necessary for all parties to actively participate in the hearing by 
providing accurate and complete information in a timely manner to 
assure the protection of the interests of each party and preserve the 
integrity of the unemployment insurance system. 
 (2)  Hearsay, which is information provided by a source whose 
credibility cannot be tested through cross-examination, has inherent 
infirmities which make it unreliable. 
 (3)  Evidence will not be excluded solely because it is hearsay. 
Hearsay, including information provided to the Department through 
telephone conversations and written statements will be considered, 
but greater weight will be given to credible sworn testimony from a 
party or a witness with personal knowledge of the facts. 
 (4)  Findings of fact cannot be based exclusively on hearsay 
evidence unless that evidence is admissible under the Utah Rules of 
Evidence.  All findings must be supported by a residuum of legal 
evidence competent in a court of law. 
 
R986-508-112.  Procedure For Use of an Interpreter at the 
Hearing. 
 (1)  If a party notifies the Appeals Unit that an interpreter is 
needed, the Unit will arrange for an interpreter at no cost to the 
party. 
 (2)  The ALJ must be assured that the interpreter understands 
the English language and understands the language of the person for 
whom the interpreter will interpret. 
 (3)  The ALJ will instruct the interpreter to interpret, word for 
word, and not summarize, add, change, or delete any of the 
testimony or questions. 
 (4)  The interpreter will be sworn to truthfully and accurately 
translate all statements made, all questions asked, and all answers 
given. 
 
R994-508-113.  Department a Party to Proceedings. 
 As a party to the hearing, the Department or its representatives 
have the same rights and responsibilities as other interested parties 
to present evidence, bring witnesses, cross-examine witnesses, give 
rebuttal evidence, and appeal decisions.  The ALJ cannot act as the 
agent for the Department and therefore is limited to including in the 
record only that relevant evidence which is in the Department files, 
including electronically kept records or records submitted by 
Department representatives.  The ALJ will, on his or her own 
motion, call witnesses for the Department when the testimony is 
necessary and the need for such witnesses or evidence could not 
have been reasonably anticipated by the Department prior to the 
hearing.  If the witness is not available, the ALJ will, on his or her 
own motion, continue the hearing until the witness is available. 
 
R994-508-114.  Ex Parte Communications. 
 Parties are not permitted to discuss the merits or facts of any 
pending case with the ALJ assigned to that case or with a member of 

the Board prior to the issuance of the decision, unless all other 
parties to the case have been given notice and opportunity to be 
present.  Any ex parte discussions between a party and the ALJ or a 
Board member will be reported to the parties at the time of the 
hearing and made a part of the record.  Discussions with Department 
employees who are not designated to represent the Department on 
the issue and are not expected to participate in the hearing of the 
case are not ex parte communications and do not need to be made a 
part of the record. 
 
R994-508-115.  Requests for Removal of an ALJ from a Case. 
 A party may request that an ALJ be removed from a case on the 
basis of partiality, interest, or prejudice.  The request for removal 
must be made to the ALJ assigned to hear the case.  The request 
must be made prior to the hearing unless the reason for the request 
was not, or could not have been known prior to the hearing.  The 
request must state specific facts which are alleged to establish cause 
for removal.  If the ALJ agrees to the removal, the case will be 
assigned to a different ALJ.  If the ALJ finds no legitimate grounds 
for the removal, the request will be denied and the ALJ will explain 
the reasons for the denial during the hearing.  Appeals pertaining to 
the partiality, interest, or prejudice of the ALJ may be filed 
consistent with the time limitations for appealing any other decision. 
 
R986-508-116.  Rescheduling or Continuance of Hearing. 
 (1)  The ALJ may adjourn, reschedule, continue, or reopen a 
hearing on the ALJ's own motion or on the motion of a party. 
 (2)  If a party knows in advance of the hearing that they will be 
unable to proceed with or participate in the hearing on the date or 
time scheduled, the party must request that the hearing be 
rescheduled or continued to another day or time. 
 (a)  The request must be received prior to the hearing. 
 (b)  The request must be made orally or in writing to the ALJ 
who is scheduled to hear the case.  If the request is not received prior 
to the hearing, the party must show cause for failing to make a 
timely request. 
 (c)  The party making the request must provide evidence of 
cause for the request. 
 (3)  Unless compelling reasons exist, a party will not normally 
be granted more than one request for a continuance. 
 
R986-508-117.  Failure to Participate in the Hearing and 
Reopening the Hearing After the Hearing Has Been Concluded. 
 (1)  If a party fails to appear for or participate in the hearing, 
either personally or through a representative, the ALJ may take 
evidence from participating parties and will issue a decision based 
on the best available evidence. 
 (2)  Any party failing to participate, personally or through a 
representative, may request that the hearing be reopened. 
 (3)  The request must be in writing, must set forth the reason 
for the request, and must be mailed, faxed, or delivered to the 
Appeals Unit within ten days of the issuance of the decision issued 
under Subsection (1).  If the request is made after the expiration of 
the ten-day time limit, the party requesting reopening must show 
good cause for not making the request within ten days.  If no 
decision has yet been issued, the request should be made without 
unnecessary delay. 
 (4)  If a request to reopen is not granted, the ALJ will issue a 
decision denying the request.  A party may appeal a denial of the 
request to reopen to the Board within 30 days of the date of issuance 
of the decision.  The appeal must be in writing and set forth the 
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reason or reasons for the appeal.  The appeal can only contest the 
denial of the request to set aside the default and not the underlying 
merits of the case. 
 (5)  The ALJ may reopen a hearing on his or her own motion if 
it appears necessary to take continuing jurisdiction or if the failure to 
reopen would be an affront to fairness. 
 (6)  If the request to reopen is made more than 30 days after the 
issuance of the ALJ's decision, the ALJ may consider the request or 
refer it to the Board to be treated as an appeal to the Board. 
 
R986-508-118.  What Constitutes Grounds to Reopen a Hearing. 
 (1)  The request to reopen will be granted if the party was 
prevented from appearing at the hearing due to circumstances 
beyond the party's control. 
 (2)  The request may be granted upon such terms as are just for 
any of the following reasons: mistake, inadvertence, surprise, 
excusable neglect, or any other reason justifying relief from the 
operation of the decision.  The determination of what sorts of 
neglect will be considered excusable is an equitable one, taking into 
account all of the relevant circumstances including: 
 (a)  the danger that the party not requesting reopening will be 
harmed by reopening; 
 (b)  the length of the delay caused by the party's failure to 
participate including the length of time to request reopening; 
 (c)  the reason for the request including whether it was within 
the reasonable control of the party requesting reopening; 
 (d)  whether the party requesting reopening acted in good faith; 
 (e)  whether the party was represented at the time of the 
hearing.  Attorneys and professional representatives are expected to 
have greater knowledge of Department procedures and rules and are 
therefore held to a higher standard; and 
 (f)  whether based on the evidence of record and the parties' 
arguments or statements, taking additional evidence might effect the 
outcome of the case. 
 (3)  Requests to reopen are remedial in nature and thus must be 
liberally construed in favor of providing parties with an opportunity 
to be heard and present their case.  Any doubt must be resolved in 
favor of granting reopening. 
 (4)  Excusable neglect is not limited to cases where the failure 
to act was due to circumstances beyond the party's control. 
 (5)  The ALJ has the discretion to schedule a hearing to 
determine if a party requesting reopening satisfied the requirements 
of this rule or may, after giving the other parties an opportunity to 
respond to the request, grant or deny the request on the basis of the 
record in the case. 
 
R994-508-120.  Withdrawal of Appeal. 
 A party who has filed an appeal with the Appeals Unit may 
request that the appeal be withdrawn.  The request must explain the 
reasons for the withdrawal and be made to the ALJ assigned to hear 
the case, or the supervising ALJ if no ALJ has yet been assigned.  
The ALJ may deny the request if the withdrawal of the appeal would 
jeopardize the due process rights of any party.  If the ALJ grants the 
request, the ALJ will issue a decision dismissing the appeal and the 
initial Department determination will remain in effect.  The decision 
will inform the parties of the right to reinstate the appeal and the 
procedure for reinstating the appeal.  A request to reinstate an appeal 
must be made within ten calendar days of the decision dismissing 
the appeal, must be in writing, and must show cause for the request.  
A request to reinstate made more than ten days after the dismissal 
will be treated as a late appeal. 

R994-508-121.  Prompt Notification of Decision. 
 Any decision by an ALJ or the Board which affects the rights 
of any party with regard to benefits, tax liability, or jurisdictional 
issues will be mailed to the last known address of the parties or 
delivered in person.  Each decision issued will be in writing with a 
complete statement of the findings of fact, reasoning and 
conclusions of law, and will include or be accompanied by a notice 
specifying the further appeal rights of the parties.  The notice of 
appeal rights shall state clearly the place and manner for filing an 
appeal from the decision and the period within which a timely 
appeal may be filed. 
 
R994-508-122.  Correction of Error and Augmentation of the 
Record. 
 A party may request correction of an ALJ decision if the 
request is made in writing and filed within 30 calendar days of the 
date of the decision.  The ALJ retains jurisdiction to reopen the 
hearing, amend or correct any decision which is not final, or exercise 
continuing jurisdiction as provided by the rules pertaining to Utah 
Code Subsections 35A-4-406(2) and 35A-4-406(3) unless the Board 
has accepted an appeal.  If the ALJ agrees to grant the request for 
correction, a new decision will be issued and new appeal rights to 
the Board will be established.  If the ALJ denies the request, the 
request will be treated as an appeal to the Board. 
 
R994-508-123.  Finality of Decision. 
 The ALJ's decision is binding on all parties and is the final 
decision of the Department unless appealed within 30 days of date 
the decision was issued. 
 
R994-508-201.  Attorney Fees. 
 (1)  An attorney or other authorized representative may not 
charge or receive a fee for representing a claimant in an action 
before the Department without prior approval by an ALJ or the 
Board.  The Department is not responsible for the payment of the 
fee, only the regulation and approval of the fee.  The Department 
does not regulate fees charged to employers. 
 (2)  Fees will not be approved in excess of 25 percent of the 
claimant's maximum potential regular benefit entitlement unless 
such a limitation would preclude the claimant from pursuing an 
appeal to the Court of Appeals and/or the Supreme Court or would 
deprive the client of the right to representation. 
 
R994-508-202.  Petition for Approval of Fee. 
 (1)  If a fee is to be charged, a written petition for approval 
must be submitted by the claimant's representative to the ALJ before 
whom the representative appeared, or to the supervising ALJ if no 
hearing was scheduled.  An approval form can be obtained through 
the Appeals Unit.  Prior to approving the fee, a copy of the petition 
will be sent to the claimant and the claimant will be allowed ten days 
from the date of mailing to object to the fee.  At the discretion of the 
ALJ, the fee may be approved as requested, adjusted to a lower 
amount, or disallowed in its entirety. 
 (2)  If the case is appealed to the Board level, the claimant's 
representative must file a new petition with the Board if additional 
fees are requested. 
 
R994-508-203.  Criteria for Evaluation of Fee Petition. 
 The appropriateness of the fee will be determined using the 
following criteria: 
 (1)  the complexity of the issues involved; 
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 (2)  the amount of time actually spent in; 
 (a)  preparation of the case; 
 (b)  attending the hearing; 
 (c)  preparation of a brief, if required.  Unless an appeal is taken 
to the Court of Appeals, fees charged for preparation of briefs or 
memoranda will not ordinarily be approved unless the ALJ 
requested or preapproved the filing of the brief or memoranda; and 
 (d)  further appeal to the Board, the Court of Appeals, and/or 
the Supreme Court. 
 (3)  The quality of service rendered including: 
 (a)  preparedness of the representative; 
 (b)  organization and presentation of the case; 
 (c)  avoidance of undue delays.  An attorney or representative 
should make every effort to go forward with the hearing when it is 
originally scheduled to avoid leaving the claimant without income or 
an unnecessary overpayment; and, 
 (d)  the necessity of representation.  If the ALJ or the Board 
determines that the claimant was not in need of representation 
because of the simplicity of the case or the lack of preparation on the 
part of the representative, only a minimal fee may be approved or, in 
unusual circumstances, a fee may be disallowed. 
 (4)  The prevailing fee in the community.  The prevailing fee is 
the rate charged by peers for the same type of service.  In 
determining the prevailing fee for the service rendered, the 
Department may consider information obtained from the Utah State 
Bar Association, Lawyer's Referral Service, or other similar 
organizations as well as similar cases before the Appeals Unit. 
 
R994-508-204.  Appeal of Attorney's Fee. 
 The claimant or the authorized representative may appeal the 
fee award to the Board within 30 days of the date of issuance of the 
ALJ's decision.  The appeal must be in writing and set forth the 
reason or reasons for the appeal. 
 
R994-508-301.  Appeal From a Decision of an ALJ. 
 If the ALJ's decision did not affirm the initial Department 
determination, the Board will accept a timely appeal from that 
decision if filed by an interested party.  If the decision of the ALJ 
affirmed the initial Department determination, the Board has the 
discretion to refuse to accept the appeal or request a review of the 
record by an individual designated by the Board.  If the Board 
refuses to accept the appeal or requests a review of the record as 
provided in statute, the Board will issue a written decision declining 
the appeal and containing appeal rights. 
 
R994-508-302.  Time Limit for Filing an Appeal to the Board. 
 (1)  The appeal from a decision of an ALJ must be filed within 
30 calendar days from the date the decision was issued by the ALJ.  
This time limit applies regardless of whether the decision of the ALJ 
was sent through the U.S. Mail or personally delivered to the party.  
"Delivered to the party" means personally handed, faxed, or sent 
electronically to the party.  No additional time for mailing is 
allowed. 
 (2)  In computing the period of time allowed for filing a timely 
appeal, the date as it appears in the ALJ's decision is not included.  
The last day of the appeal period is included in the computation 
unless it is a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday when the offices of 
the Department are closed.  If the last day permitted for filing an 
appeal falls on a Saturday, Sunday, or legal holiday, the time 
permitted for filing a timely appeal will be extended to the next day 
when the Department offices are open. 

 (3)  The date of receipt of an appeal to the Board is the date the 
appeal is actually received by the Board, as shown by the 
Department's date stamp on the document or other credible evidence 
such as a written or electronic notation of the date of receipt, and not 
the post mark date from the post office.  If the appeal is faxed to the 
Board, the date of receipt is the date recorded on the fax. 
 (4)  Appeals to the Board which appear to be untimely will be 
handled in the same way as untimely appeals to the ALJ in rules 
R994-508-103 and R994-508-104. 
 
R994-508-303.  Procedure for Filing an Appeal to the Board. 
 (1)  An appeal to the Board from a decision of an ALJ must be 
in writing and include: 
 (a)  the name and signature of the party filing the appeal.  
Accessing the Department's website for the purpose of filing an 
appeal and providing a correct PIN will be considered a signed 
appeal; 
 (b)  the name and social security number of the claimant in 
cases involving claims for unemployment benefits; 
 (d)  the grounds for appeal; and 
 (e)  the date when the appeal was mailed or sent to the Board. 
 (2)  The appeal must be mailed, faxed, delivered to, or filed 
electronically with the Board. 
 (3)  An appeal which does not state adequate grounds, or 
specify alleged errors in the decision of the ALJ, may be summarily 
dismissed. 
 
R994-508-304.  Response to an Appeal to the Board. 
 Interested parties will receive notice that an appeal has been 
filed and a copy of the appeal and will be given 15 days from the 
date the appeal was mailed to the party to file a response.  Parties are 
not required to file a response.  A party filing a response should mail 
a copy to all other parties and the Board. 
 
R994-508-305.  Decisions of the Board. 
 (1)  The Board has the discretion to consider and render a 
decision on any issue in the case even if it was not presented at the 
hearing or raised by the parties on appeal. 
 (2)  Absent a showing of unusual or extraordinary 
circumstances, the Board will not consider new evidence on appeal 
if the evidence was reasonably available and accessible at the time 
of the hearing before the ALJ. 
 (3)  The Board has the authority to request additional 
information or evidence, if necessary. 
 (4)  The Board my remand the case to the Department or the 
ALJ when appropriate. (5)  A copy of the decision of the Board, 
including an explanation of the right to judicial review, will be 
delivered or mailed to the interested parties. 
 
R994-508-306.  Reconsideration of a decision of the Board. 
 A party may request reconsideration of a decision of the Board 
in accordance with Utah Code Subsection 63-46b-13. 
 
R994-508-307.  Withdrawal of Appeal to the Board. 
 If the ALJ grants the request, the ALJ will issue a decision 
dismissing the appeal and the initial Department determination will 
remain in effect.  The decision will inform the parties of the right to 
reinstate the appeal and the procedure for reinstating the appeal.  A 
request to reinstate an appeal must be made within ten calendar days 
of the decision dismissing the appeal, must be in writing, and must 
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show cause for the request.  A request to reinstate made more than 
ten days after the dismissal will be treated as a late appeal. 
 A party who has filed an appeal from a decision of an ALJ may 
request that the appeal be withdrawn.  The request must explain the 
reasons for the withdrawal by making a written statement to the 
Board explaining the reasons for the withdrawal.  The Board may 
deny such a request if the withdrawal of the appeal jeopardizes the 
due process rights of any party.  If the Board grants the request, a 
decision dismissing the appeal will be issued and the underlying 
decision will remain in effect.  The decision will inform the party of 
the right to reinstate the appeal and the procedure for reinstating the 
appeal.  A request to reinstate an appeal under this subsection must 
be made within 30 days of the decision dismissing the appeal, must 
be in writing, and must show cause for the request.  A request to 
reinstate made more than ten days after the dismissal will be treated 
as a late appeal. 
 
R994-508-401.  Jurisdiction and Reconsideration of Decisions. 
 (1)  An initial Department determination or a decision of an 
ALJ or the Board is not final until the time permitted for the filing of 
an appeal has elapsed.  There are no limitations on the review of 
decisions until the appeal time has elapsed. 
 (2)  After a determination or decision has become final, the 
Department may, on its own initiative or upon the request of any 
interested party, review a determination or decision and issue a new 
decision or determination, if appropriate, if there has been a change 
of conditions or a mistake as to facts. The reconsideration must be 
made at, or with the approval of, the level where the last decision on 
the case was made or is currently pending. 
 (a)  A change in conditions may include a change in the law 
which would make reconsideration necessary in fairness to the 
parties who were adversely affected by the law change.  A change in 
conditions may also include an unforeseeable change in the personal 
circumstances of the claimant or employer which would have made 
it reasonable not to file a timely appeal. 
 (b)  A mistake as to facts is limited to material information 
which was the basis for the decision.  A mistake as to facts may 
include information which is misunderstood or misinterpreted, but 

does not include an error in the application of the act or the rules 
provided the decision is made under the correct section of the act.  A 
mistake as to facts can only be found if it was inadvertent.  If the 
party alleging the mistake intentionally provided the wrong 
information or intentionally withheld information, the Department 
will not exercise jurisdiction under this paragraph. 
 (3)  The Department is not required to take jurisdiction in all 
cases where there is a change in conditions or a mistake as to facts.  
The Department will weigh the administrative burden of making a 
redetermination against the requirements of fairness and the 
opportunities of the parties affected to file an appeal.  The 
Department may decline to take jurisdiction if the redetermination 
would have little or no effect. 
 (4)  Any time a decision or determination is reconsidered, all 
interested parties will be notified of the new information and 
provided with an opportunity to participate in the hearing, if any, 
held in conjunction with the review.  All interested parties will 
receive notification of the redetermination and be given the right to 
appeal. 
 (5)  A review cannot be made after one year from the date of 
the original determination except in cases of fraud or claimant fault. 
 In cases of fault or fraud, the Department has continuing 
jurisdiction as to overpayments.  In cases of fraud, the Department 
only has jurisdiction to assess the penalty provided in Utah Code 
Subsection 35A-4-406 for a period of one year after the discovery of 
the fraud. 
 
KEY:  unemployment compensation, appellate procedures 
2004 
Notice of Continuation June 11, 2003 
35A-4-508(2) 
35A-4-508(5) 
35A-4-508(6) 
35A-4-406 
35A-4-103 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency 
to respond to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only 
those changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  
Additions made to the rule appear underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with 
brackets surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · ·) indicates that unaffected text was 
removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules 
will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print is available from the agency or from the 
Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
While a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE does not have a formal comment period, there is a 30-day waiting period during 
which interested parties may submit comments.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 
published in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends March 16, 2004.  At its option, the agency may hold public 
hearings. 
 
From the end of the waiting period through June 14, 2004, the agency may notify the Division of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor 
more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may 
file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Division of 
Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the 
process over. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-6 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code 
Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-5, R15-4-7, and R15-4-9. 
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Insurance, Administration 

R590-220 
Submission of Accident and Health 

Insurance Filings 
 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
DAR File No.:  26806 

Filed:  01/29/2004, 10:45 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
is being changed to implement suggestions made by the 
insurance industry during the recently completed comment 
period. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed changes to 
this rule correct grammar; add a new definition for the term 
"issue age;" remove a requirement for endorsements; and 
adds a rule reference for clarification purposes.  (DAR NOTE: 
 This change in proposed rule has been filed to make 
additional changes to a proposed new rule that was published 
in the December 15, 2003, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on 
page 33.  Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has 
been added since the publication of the proposed rule 
mentioned above; strike-out indicates text that has been 
deleted.  You must view the change in proposed rule and the 
proposed new rule together to understand all of the changes 
that will be enforceable should the agency make this rule 
effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-201.1, 31A-2-202, 31A-
22-605, 31A-22-620, and 31A-30-106 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The proposed changes to this rule will 
not create nor reduce the departments workload nor will it 
impact the revenues of the department. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the relationship 
between the department and its licensees.  It will have no 
affect on cities, counties, or any other local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  The proposed changes to this rule will 
have no fiscal impact on Utah's health insurance industry nor 
the public.  It will not create nor reduce the industries workload 
nor the cost of doing business. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The proposed 
changes to this rule will have no fiscal impact on Utah's health 
insurance industry nor the public.  It will not create nor reduce 
the industries workload nor the cost of doing business. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The proposed changes to this 
rule will have no fiscal impact on Utah businesses. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-220.  Submission of Accident and Health Insurance 
Filings. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
R590-220-5.  General Filing Information. 
 (1)  Each filing submitted must be accurate, consistent, 
complete and contain all required documents in order for the filing 
to be processed in a timely and efficient manner.  The commissioner 
may request any additional information deemed necessary. 
 (2)  An insurer and filer [is]are responsible for assuring 
compliance with Utah laws and rules.  A filing not in compliance 
with Utah laws and rules is subject to regulatory action under 
Section 31A-2-308. 
 (3)  A filing that does not comply with this rule will be rejected 
and returned to the filer.  A rejected filing is not considered filed 
with the department. 
 (4)  Prior filings will not be researched to determine the 
purpose of the current filing. 
 (5)  The department does not review or proofread every filing. 
 (a)  A filing may be reviewed: 
 (i)  when submitted; 
 (ii)  as a result of a complaint; 
 (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or 
 (iv)  at any other time the department deems necessary. 
 (b)  If a filing is reviewed and is not in compliance with Utah 
laws and rules, an Order To Prohibit Use will be issued to the filer.  
The commissioner may require the insurer to disclose deficiencies in 
forms or rating practices to affected insureds. 
 (6)  Filing correction. 
 (a)  No filing transmittal is required when clerical or 
typographical corrections are made to a filing previously filed if the 
corrected filing is submitted within 30 days of the date "Fled" with 
the department. The filer will need to reference the original filing. 
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 (b)  A new filing is required if the clerical or typographical 
corrections are made more than 30 days after the filed date of the 
original filing. The filer will need to reference the original filing. 
 (7)  Filing withdrawal. A filer must notify the department when 
the filer withdraws a previously filed form, rate, or supplementary 
information. 
 
R590-220-6.  Filing Submission Requirements. 
 A filing must be submitted by market type and type of 
insurance.  A filing may not include more than one type of 
insurance, or request filing for more than one insurer.  A complete 
filing consists of the following documents submitted in the 
following order: 
 (1)  Transmittal.  A transmittal, as provided in R590-220-3(2), 
must be on the top of the filing.  The transmittal form must be 
properly completed. 
 (2)  Filing Description.  The following information must be 
included in a cover letter or in the Filing Description on the NAIC 
transmittal and presented in the order shown below.  If using a cover 
letter, the letter must be on company letterhead and properly identify 
the insurer. 
 (a)  List of Forms.  All form numbers being filed or affected by 
the filing must be listed in the "Regarding" line of the cover letter, or 
on an attached list, which includes the form number, and title or 
name.  This information does not need to be included if submitting 
the NAIC transmittal form. 
 (b)  Description of Filing. 
 (i)  Indicate if the filing is new, replacing a previous filing, or 
contains forms that have been previously filed and are included for 
informational purposes. 
 (ii)  Provide a brief description of each component's purpose, 
benefits and provisions. 
 (iii)  Identify any new, unusual, or controversial provision. 
 (iv)  Identify any unresolved previously prohibited provision 
and explain why the provision is included in the filing. 
 (v)  Explain any change in benefits or premiums that may occur 
while the contract is in force. 
 (vi)  If the filing is replacing or modifying a previous 
submission, provide information that identifies the filing being 
replaced or modified, the Utah filed date, and a detailed description 
of the changes made. 
 (vii)  If the filing includes forms for informational purposes, 
provide the dates the forms were filed. 
 (viii)  If filing a certificate, outline of coverage, application, or 
endorsements, and the filing does not contain a policy, identify the 
affected policy form number, the Utah filed date, and describe the 
effect of the submitted forms on the base policy. 
 (c)  Marketing Facts.  If the NAIC transmittal is used, the 
company must: 
 (i)  list the issue ages, which means the range of minimum and 
maximum ages for which a policy will be issued; 
 (ii)  identify the intended market, such as senior citizens, 
nonprofit organizations, association members, etc; and 
 (iii)  describe marketing and advertising in detail, i.e., through a 
marketing association, mass solicitation, electronic media, financial 
institutions, internet, telemarketing, or individually through licensed 
producers. 
 (d)  Underwriting Methods.  Provide a general explanation of 
the underwriting applicable to the filing. 
 (3)  Certification.   The Utah Accident and Health Insurance 
Filing Certification must be properly completed and signed.  A filing 

will be rejected if the certification is missing or incomplete.  A 
certification that is inaccurate may subject the filer to administrative 
action.  If the NAIC transmittal is being submitted, the Utah 
Accident and Health Insurance Filing Certification must also be 
included. 
 (4)  Domicile Approval.  A foreign insurer and filer must first 
submit filings to their domicile state. 
 (i)  If a filing was submitted to the domicile state, provide a 
stamped copy of the approval letter from the domicile state for the 
exact same filing. 
 (ii)  If a filing was not submitted to the domicile state, or the 
domicile state did not provide specific approval for the filing, then 
alternate information must be provided. 
 (5)  Group Questionnaire or Discretionary Group Authorization 
Letter.  A group filing must identify the type of group, and include 
either a completed "Utah Accident and Health Insurance Group 
Questionnaire," or a copy of the "Utah Accident and Health 
Insurance Discretionary Group Authorization" letter. 
 (6)  Letter of Authorization.  When the filer is not the insurer, a 
letter of authorization from the insurer must be included.  The 
insurer remains responsible for the filing being in compliance with 
Utah laws and rules. 
 (7)  Items being submitted for filing.  Refer to each applicable 
subsection of this rule for general procedures and additional 
procedures on how to submit forms, rates, and reports. 
 (8)  Return Notification Materials. 
 (a)  Return notification materials are limited to: 
 (i)  a copy of the cover letter if submitted; 
 (ii)  a copy of the transmittal; and 
 (iii)  a self addressed, stamped envelope. 
 (b)  Any additional documents submitted for return will be 
discarded. 
 (c)  Notice of filing will not be provided unless return 
notification materials are submitted. 
 
R590-220-7.  Procedures for Form Filings. 
 (1)  Forms in General. 
 (a)  Forms are "File and Use" filings. 
 (b)  Each form must be identified by a unique form number.  
The form number may not be variable. 
 (c)  A form must be in final printed form or printer's proof 
format.  A draft may not be submitted. 
 (d)  Specific sections may be filed with variable data by placing 
brackets around affected information.  Variable data must be 
identified within the specific section, or on a separate sheet included 
with the submission. 
 (e)  Blank spaces within the forms must be completed in John 
Doe fashion to accurately represent the intended market, purpose, 
and use. 
 (2)  Application Filing.  Each application or enrollment form 
may be submitted as a separate filing or may be filed with its related 
policy or certificate filing.  If an application has been previously 
filed or is filed separately, an informational copy of the application 
must be included with the policy or certificate filing. 
 (3)  Policy Filing.  Each type of insurance must be filed 
separately.  A policy filing consists of one policy form, including its 
related forms, such as outline of coverage, certificate or 
endorsement, and an actuarial memorandum. 
 (a)  Only one policy filing for a single type of insurance may be 
filed, except as stated in subsection (b). 
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 (b)  A Medicare supplement filing may include more than one 
policy filing but each filing is limited to only one of each of the 
Medicare supplement plans A through J. 
 (4)  Endorsement Only Filing. 
 (a)  Up to three related endorsements may be filed together. 
 (b)  A single endorsement that affects multiple forms may be 
filed if the Filing Description references all affected forms. 
 (c)  The filing must include: 
 (i)  A listing of all base policy form numbers, title and dates 
filed with the department; and 
 (ii)  a description of how each filed endorsement affects the 
base policy. 
 (d)  [An endorsement may not be used to change a basic feature 
of the policy form. 
 (e)  ]Unrelated endorsements may not be filed together. 
 (5)  Outline of Coverage.  If an outline of coverage is required 
to be issued with a policy, the outline of coverage must be filed 
when the policy is filed. 
 
R590-220-8.  Additional Procedures for Individual Market 
Filings. 
 (1)  This section does not apply to filings for individual health 
benefit plans that are subject to 31A-30 and Rule R590-167.  Health 
benefit plan filings are discussed in R590-220-10. 
 (2)  A rate filing addressed in this section is a "File for 
Acceptance" filing. 
 (3)  A filer submitting an individual accident and health filing is 
advised to review 31A-22, Part VI, and Rules R590-85, R590-126, 
and R590-131. 
 (4)  Every individual accident and health policy, or 
endorsement [effecting]affecting benefits shall be accompanied by a 
rate filing with an actuarial memorandum signed by a qualified 
actuary.  A rate filing need not be submitted if the filing does not 
require a change in premiums, however the reason why there is not a 
change in premium must be explained in the Filing Description.  
Rates must be filed in accordance with the requirements of Section 
31A-22-602, Rule R590-85, and this rule. 
 (5)  A filer submitting a long term care filing, including an 
endorsement attached to a life insurance policy, is advised to review 
31A-22 Part XIV and Rule R590-148. 
 (6)  A filer submitting a Medicare supplement filing is advised 
to review Section 31A-22-620 and Rule R590-146. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
R590-220-10.  Additional Procedures for Individual, Small 
Employer, and Group Health Benefit Plan Filings. 
 This section contains instructions for filings subject to 31A-30. 
 A filer submitting health benefit plan filings that are subject to 31A-
30 [are]is advised to review 31A-8, 31A-22 Parts VI and VII, 31A-
30, Rules R590-76, R590-131, R590-167, [and ]R590-175 and 
R590-176. 
 (1)  General requirements. 
 (a)  Letter of Intent.  A filing must include a copy of the letter 
filed with the commissioner declaring the carrier's intention as 
required by R590-167-10. 
 (b)  Class of Business. The Filing Description must describe the 
class of business, as provided in Section 31A-30-105. 
 (c)  Rate Manual.  A health benefit plan form filing must 
include a rate manual.  If the rate manual was previously filed, 

provide a copy of the transmittal and documentation indicating the 
department's receipt. 
 (2)  Rate Manual Filing. 
 (a)  A rate manual that does not request a change in rating 
methodology is a "File Before Use" filing. 
 (b)  A change in rating methodology filing is a "File for 
Approval" filing. 
 (c)  A new and revised rate manual. 
 (i)  A filing must include an actuarial certification signed by a 
qualified actuary. 
 (ii)  A rate manual and subsequent change must be filed 30 
days prior to use. 
 (iii)  A rate manual must list the case characteristics and rate 
factors to be used. A rating manual must be applied in the same 
manner for all health benefit plans in a class. The area factor and 
industry factor must contain the specific schedules applicable in 
Utah.  Any case characteristic not listed in Subsection 31A-30-
106(1)(h) requires prior approval of the commissioner. 
 (iv)  The rating manual shall describe the method of calculating 
the risk load, including the method used to determine any experience 
factors.  The rating manual must clearly describe how the overall 
rate is reviewed for compliance with the rate restrictions. 
 (3)  Health Benefit Plan Report.  A report must be filed 
separately and be properly identified. 
 (a)  Reports due April 1 each year: 
 (i)  "Actuarial Certification"  An actuarial certification as 
described in Section 31A-30-106 and Rule R590-167-11.A. 
 (ii)  "List of Health Benefit Plan Policy Forms."  A list of every 
health benefit plan policy form to which 31A-30 applies and a 
description of how to find each form in the rating manual, as 
required by R590-167-11.C. 
 (iii)  "Statistical Report."  The statistical report, as required by 
R590-167-11.D, in the required format provided in Appendix I of 
that rule. 
 (iv)  "Small Employer Index Rates."  All small employer 
carriers must file their index rates as of March 1 of the current year 
and preceding year, as required by Subsection 31A-29-117(2).  The 
report must include the actual index rates and calculate the 
percentage change in these rates between the two years. 
 (b)  Report due August 15 each year, "Covered Lives Counts as 
of June 30."  Carriers must submit the number of natural lives 
covered under individual market health benefit plans and small 
employer market health benefit plans, as required by R590-167-
11.E. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
R590-220-12.  Additional Procedures for Combination Policies 
or Endorsements Providing Life and Accident and Health 
Benefits. 
 (1)  A combination filing is a policy or endorsement, which 
[create]creates a product that provides both life and accident and 
health insurance benefits.  The two types of acceptable filings [is]are 
an endorsement or an integrated policy.  Combination filings take 
considerable time to process, and will be processed by both the Life 
Insurance Division and the Health Insurance Division. 
 (2)  A combination filing must include transmittals for both the 
Life Insurance Division and the Health Insurance Division[s]. 
 (3)  (a) For an integrated policy, the filing must be submitted to 
the appropriate division based on benefits provided in the base 
policy. 
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 (b)  For an endorsement, the filing must be submitted to the 
appropriate division based on benefits provided in the endorsement. 
 (4)  The Filing Description must identify the filing as having a 
combination of insurance types, such as: 
 (a)  term policy with a long-term care benefit rider; or 
 (b)  major medical policy that includes a life insurance benefit. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
KEY:  health insurance filings 
2004 
l31A-2-201 
31A-2-201.1 
31A-2-202 
31A-22-605 
31A-22-620 
31A-30-106 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-225 
Submission of Property Casualty Rate 

and Form Filings 
 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
DAR File No.:  26821 

Filed:  01/28/2004, 10:52 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This rule 
is being changed to implement suggestions made by the 
insurance industry during the recently completed comment 
period. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R590-225-6, the 
multiple company filing instruction is being reworded to be 
more clear.  Subsection R590-225-6(3)(b) requires benefits 
and features to be described for rates and supplementary 
information as well as forms.  Subsection R590-225-6(4) has 
been reworded to clarify that the certification does not need a 
separate signature.  (DAR NOTE:  This change in proposed 
rule has been filed to make additional changes to a proposed 
new rule that was published in the December 15, 2003, issue 
of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 38.  Underlining in the rule 
below indicates text that has been added since the publication 
of the proposed rule mentioned above; strike-out indicates text 
that has been deleted.  You must view the change in 
proposed rule and the proposed new rule together to 
understand all of the changes that will be enforceable should 
the agency make this rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-201.1, 31A-2-202, and 
31A-19a-203 
 

ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The proposed changes to this rule will 
not create nor reduce the departments workload nor will it 
impact the revenues of the department. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule only affects the relationship 
between the department and its licensees.  It will have no 
affect on cities, counties, or any other local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  It has been reported to the department that 
the changes to this rule will increase the clerical workload of 
one of the property and casualty carriers licensed to sell 
insurance in Utah.  This increased workload will not 
necessitate the hiring of additional personnel.  These changes 
have been made for clarification purposes and should have no 
fiscal impact on insurance companies, agents, or consumers. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It has been 
reported to the department that the changes to this rule will 
increase the clerical workload of one of the property and 
casualty carriers licensed to sell insurance in Utah.  This 
increased workload will not necessitate the hiring of additional 
personnel.  These changes have been made for clarification 
purposes and should have no fiscal impact on insurance 
companies, agents, or consumers. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The proposed changes to this 
rule will have very little fiscal impact on the property and 
casualty insurance industry doing business in Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/16/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  03/17/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-225.  Submission of Property and Casualty Rate and Form 
Filings. 
 

. . . . . . . 
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R590-225-6.  Filing Submission Requirements. 
 A filing must be submitted by market type and type of 
insurance, not by annual statement line number. A filing may not 
include more than one type of insurance, unless the filing is a 
commercial or personal inter-line form filing.  The inter-line use of a 
form must be explained in the Filing Description.  A filer may 
submit a filing for more than one insurer if all applicable companies 
are listed on the transmittal and a copy of the transmittal is 
submitted for each company[filer may not request a filing for more 
than one insurer unless the filing contains a separate transmittal for 
each insurer to whom the filing applies].  A complete filing consists 
of the following documents submitted in the following order: 
 (1)  "NAIC Uniform Property and Casualty Transmittal 
Document."  COMPLETE THE TRANSMITTAL BY USING THE 
FOLLOWING: 
 (a)  "NAIC Coding Matrix;" 
 (b)  "NAIC Instruction Sheet;" and 
 (c)  "Utah Property and Casualty Content Standards." 
 (2)  Do not submit the documents described in (1)(a),(b), and 
(c) with a filing. 
 (3)  Filing Description. The following information must be 
included in the Filing Description on the transmittal and presented in 
the order shown below: 
 (a)  Provide a detailed description of the purpose of the filing. 
 (b)  Describe the benefits and features of each form, rate or 
supplementary information contained in the filing, including specific 
features and options; 
 (c)  Identify any new, unusual or controversial provision. 
 (d)  Identify any unresolved previously prohibited provision 
and explain why the provision is included in the filing; 
 (e)  If the filing is replacing or modifying a previous 
submission, provide information that identifies the filing being 
replaced or modified, the Utah filed date, and a detailed description 
of the changes made; 
 (f)  If filing an application, or endorsement, and the filing does 
not contain a policy, identify the affected policy form number, the 
Utah filed date, and describe the effect of the submitted forms on the 
base policy. 

 (4)  Certification. The filer must certify that a filing has been 
properly completed AND is in compliance with Utah laws and rules. 
Section 21 must contain this statement: 
 "BY SIGNING THE TRANSMITTAL I CERTIFY[(YOUR 
NAME) CERTIFIES] THAT THE ATTACHED FILING HAS 
BEEN COMPLETED IN ACCORDANCE WITH [THIS 
RULE]UTAH ADMINISTRATIVE RULE R590-225 AND IS IN 
COMPLIANCE WITH APPLICABLE UTAH LAWS AND 
RULES". 
 A filing will be rejected if the certification is missing or 
incomplete. A certification that is inaccurate may subject the filer to 
administrative action. 
 (5)  Letter of Authorization. When the filer is not the insurer, a 
letter of authorization from the insurer must be included.  The 
insurer remains responsible for the filing being in compliance with 
Utah laws and rules. 
 (6)  Items being submitted for filing. Refer to each applicable 
subsection of this rule for general procedures and additional 
procedures on how to submit forms, rates, and supplementary 
information. 
 (7)  Return Notification Materials. 
 (a)  Return notification materials are limited to: 
 (i)  a copy of the transmittal; and 
 (ii)  a self-addressed, stamped envelope. 
 (b)  Additional documents submitted for return will be 
discarded. 
 (c)  Notice of filing will not be provided unless return 
notification materials are submitted. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
KEY:  property casualty insurance filing 
2004 
31A-2-201 
31A-2-201.1 
31A-2-202 
31A-19a-203 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF 
120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULES  

 
An agency may file a 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE when it finds that the regular rulemaking procedures would: 
 

(a) cause an imminent peril to the public health, safety, or welfare; 
(b) cause an imminent budget reduction because of budget restraints or federal requirements; or 
(c) place the agency in violation of federal or state law (Utah Code Subsection 63-46a-7(1) (2001)). 

 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a 120-DAY RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the 120-DAY RULE including the name of a contact person, justification for filing a 120-DAY RULE, 
anticipated cost impact of the rule, and legal cross-references.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · ·) indicates that 
unaffected text was removed to conserve space.   
 
A 120-DAY RULE is effective at the moment the Division of Administrative Rules receives the filing, or on a later date 
designated by the agency.  A 120-DAY RULE is effective for 120 days or until it is superseded by a permanent rule. 
 
Because 120-DAY RULES are effective immediately, the law does not require a public comment period.  However, 
when an agency files a 120-DAY RULE, it usually files a PROPOSED RULE at the same time, to make the requirements 
permanent.  Comment may be made on the proposed rule.  Emergency or 120-DAY RULES are governed by Utah 
Code Section 63-46a-7 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Section R15-4-8. 
  
 

Public Safety, Fire Marshal 
R710-4 

Buildings Under the Jurisdiction of the 
State Fire Prevention Board 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  26920 
FILED:  01/27/2004, 18:52 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Utah 
Fire Prevention Board met and determined that a 120-Day 
(emergency) Rule amendment was in order to correct some 
errors made in the adoption of Rule R710-4 that went into 
effect on January 2, 2004.  It was noted that the International 
Fire Code, 2003 edition, was adopted referencing the usage 
of an incorporated reference that was not adopted by the 
administrative rule or statute.  The Board voted to make 
immediate amendments to the existing rule to correct this 
error.  The Board will finalize these changes after complete 
and proper notice to all affected at the next scheduled Board 
meeting on March 9, 2004. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed amendments 
to Rule R710-4 are as follows:  1) in Section R710-4-2, it is 
proposed to add the definition for "Appreciable Depth"; and 2) 
in Subsections R710-4-3(3.1.1) through (3.1.3), it is proposed 
to eliminate the reference to the International Existing Building 
Code and add definitions to all three sections that ensure that 
changes to the structure maintains a reasonable level of fire 
and life safety and does not create a distinct hazard to life or 
property without referencing the International Existing Building 
Code. 
 

STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53-7-204 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no aggregate anticipated cost 
or savings to the state budget because these proposed 
changes do not effect the state. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no aggregate anticipated 
cost or savings to local government because these proposed 
changes do not effect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There is also no aggregate anticipated 
cost or savings to other persons because these proposed 
changes do not affect other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Three is no 
compliance cost for affected persons with the enactment of 
this rule amendment. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There is no fiscal impact on 
businesses for the enactment of these rule amendments. 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD place the agency in violation 
of federal or state law. 

The 2003 edition of the International Fire Code was 
adopted by administrative rule on January 2, 2004.  It is noted 
that the International Fire Code referenced the usage of the 
International Existing Building Code in three sections in 
Chapter 1.  The International Existing Building Code was not 
adopted as an incorporated reference by the Utah Building 
Codes Commission or the Utah Fire Prevention Board for the 
State of Utah.  The error of leaving this referenced code in the 
International Fire Code places the user in violation of the 
adopted standards of the State of Utah. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
FIRE MARSHAL 
Room 302  
5272 S COLLEGE DR 
MURRAY UT 84123-2611, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Brent Halladay at the above address, by phone at 801-284-
6352, by FAX at 801-284-6351, or by Internet E-mail at 
bhallada@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  01/28/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Gary A. Wise, State Fire Marshal 
 
 
 
R710.  Public Safety, Fire Marshal. 
R710-4.  Buildings Under the Jurisdiction of the State Fire 
Prevention Board. 
R710-4-1.  Adoption of Fire Codes. 
 Pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 7, Section 204, of the Utah Code 
Annotated 1953, the Utah Fire Prevention Board adopts minimum 
rules for the prevention of fire and for the protection of life and 
property against fire and panic in any publicly owned building, 
including all public and private schools, colleges, and university 
buildings, and in any building or structure used or intended for use, 
as an asylum, hospital, mental hospital, sanitarium, home for the 
aged, assisted living facility, children's home or day care center, or 
any similar institutional type occupancy of any capacity; and in any 
place of assemblage where fifty (50) or more persons may gather 
together in a building, structure, tent, or room, for the purpose of 
amusement, entertainment, instruction, or education. 
 There is further adopted as part of these rules the following 
codes which are incorporated by reference: 
 1.1  National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 
101, Life Safety Code (LSC), 2003 edition, except as amended by 
provisions listed in R710-4-3, et seq.  The following chapters from 
NFPA, Standard 101 are the only chapters adopted: Chapter 18 - 
New Health Care Occupancies; Chapter 19 - Existing Health Care 
Occupancies; Chapter 20 - New Ambulatory Health Care 
Occupancies; Chapter 21 - Existing Ambulatory Health Care 
Occupancies; Chapter 22 - New Detention and Correctional 
Occupancies; Chapter 23 - Existing Detention and Correctional 
Occupancies; and other sections referenced within and pertaining to 
these chapters only.  Wherever there is a section, figure or table in 
NFPA 101 that references "NFPA 5000 - Building Construction and 
Safety Code", that reference shall be replaced with the "International 
Building Code". 
 1.2  National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 13, 
Installation of Sprinkler Systems, 2002 edition, except as amended 
by provisions listed in R710-4-3, et seq. 
 1.3  National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 
13R, Installation of Sprinkler Systems - Residential Occupancies up 
to and Including Four Stories in Height, 2002 edition, except as 
amended by provisions listed in R710-4-3, et seq. 

 1.4  National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 72, 
National Fire Alarm Code, 2002 edition, except as amended by 
provisions listed in R710-4-3, et seq. 
 1.5  National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 70, 
National Electric Code (NEC), 2002 edition, as adopted by the 
Uniform Building Standards Act, Title 58, Chapter 56, Section 4,  
Utah Code Annotated 1953.  Wherever there are sections or tables in 
the International Fire Code (IFC) that reference "ICC Electrical 
Standard", the reference to "ICC Electrical Standard" shall be 
replaced with "National Electric Code". 
 1.6  International Building Code (IBC), 2003 edition, as 
published by the International Code Council, Inc. (ICC), and as 
adopted under the authority of the Uniform Building Standards Act, 
 Title 58, Chapter 56, Section 4, Utah Code Annotated 1953 and the 
Utah Administrative Code, R156-56-701. 
 1.7  International Fire Code (IFC), 2003 edition, as published 
by the International Code Council, Inc. (ICC), except as amended by 
provisions listed in R710-4-3, et seq. 
 1.8  International Mechanical Code (IMC), 2003 edition, as 
published by the International Code Council, Inc., and as adopted 
under the authority of the Uniform Building Standards Act, Title 58, 
Chapter 56, Section 4, Utah Code Annotated 1953 and the Utah 
Administrative Code, R156-56-701. 
 1.9  International Fuel Gas Code (IFGC), 2003 edition, as 
published by the International Code Council, and as adopted under 
the authority of the Uniform Building Standards Act, Title 58, 
Chapter 56, Section 4, Utah Code Annotated 1953 and the Utah 
Administrative Code, R156-56-701. 
 1.10  International Plumbing Code (IPC), 2003 edition, as 
published by the International Code Council, Inc., and as adopted 
under the authority of the Uniform Building Standards Act, Title 58, 
Chapter 56, Section 4, Utah Code Annotated 1953 and the Utah 
Administrative Code, R156-56-701. 
 1.11  Copies of the above codes are on file in the Office of 
Administrative Rules and the State Fire Marshal. 
 
R710-4-2.  Definitions. 
 2.1  "Appreciable Depth" means a depth greater that 1/4 inch. 
 2.[1]2  "Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ)" means the State 
Fire Marshal, his authorized deputies, or the local fire enforcement 
authority. 
 2.[2]3  "AWWA" means American Water Works Association. 
 2.[3]4  "Board" means Utah Fire Prevention Board. 
 2.[4]5  "Bureau of Fire Prevention or Fire Prevention Bureau" 
means the AHJ. 
 2.[5]6  "Fire Chief or Chief of the Department" means the AHJ. 
 2.[6]7  "Fire Department" means the AHJ. 
 2.[7]8  "Fire Marshal" means the AHJ. 
 2.[8]9  "Fire Officer" means the State Fire Marshal, the state 
fire marshal's deputies, the fire chief or fire marshal of any county, 
city, or town fire department, the fire officer of any fire district or 
special service district organized for fire protection purposes is the 
AHJ. 
 2.[9]10  "IBC" means International Building Code. 
 2.[10]11  "ICC" means International Code Council, Inc. 
 2.[11]12  "IFC" means International Fire Code. 
 2.[12]13  "IFGC" means International Fuel Gas Code. 
 2.[13]14  "IMC" means International Mechanical Code. 
 2.[14]15  "IPC" means International Plumbing Code. 
 2.[15]16  "LSC" means Life Safety Code. 
 2.[16]17  "NEC" means National Electric Code. 
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 2.[17]18  "NFPA" means National Fire Protection Association. 
 2.[18]19  "SFM" means State Fire Marshal. 
 2.[19]20  "UCA" means Utah State Code Annotated 1953 as 
amended. 
 
R710-4-3.  Amendments and Additions. 
 3.1  Administration 
 3.1.1  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.3 is deleted and rewritten 
and follows:  No change shall be made in the use or occupancy of 
any structure that would place the structure in a different division of 
the same group or occupancy or in a different group of occupancies, 
unless such structure maintains a reasonable level of fire and life 
safety and the change to use or occupancy does not create a distinct 
hazard to life or property as determined by the AHJ. 
 3.1.2  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.4 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows:  The design and construction of new structures shall comply 
with the International Building Code.  Repairs, alterations and 
additions to existing structures are allowed when such structure 
maintains a reasonable level of fire and life safety and the change 
does not create a distinct hazard to life or property as determined by 
the AHJ. 
 3.1.3  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.5 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows:  The construction, alteration, repair, enlargement, 
restoration, relocation or movement of existing buildings or 
structures that are designated as historic buildings are allowed when 
such historic structures maintains a reasonable level of fire and life 
safety and the change does not create a distinct hazard to life or 
property as determined by the AHJ. 
 3.[1]2  Definitions 
 3.[1]2.1  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Educational Group E, 
Day care is amended as follows:  On line three delete the word 
"five" and replace it with the word "four". 
 3.[1]2.2  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Institutional Group I-1 is 
amended to add the following: 
 On line nine add "type 1" in front of the words "assisted living 
facilities". 
 3.[1]2.3  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Institutional Group I-2 is 
amended as follows: On line three delete the word "five" and replace 
it with the word "three".  On line eight after the words 
"detoxification facilities" delete the rest of the paragraph, and add 
the following: "ambulatory surgical centers with two or more 
operating rooms where care is less than 24 hours and type 2 assisted 
living facilities.  Type 2 assisted living facilities with five or fewer 
persons shall be classified as a Group R-4.  Type 2 assisted living 
facilities with at least six and not more than 16 residents shall be 
classified as a Group I-1 facility. 
 3.[1]2.4  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Institutional Group I-2, 
Child care facility is amended as follows: On line two delete the 
word "five" and replace it with the word "four". 
 3.[1]2.5  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Institutional Group I-4 
day care facilities, Child care facility is amended as follows: On line 
three delete the word "five" and replace it with the word "four".  
Also on line two of the Exception delete the word "five" and replace 
it with the word "four". 
 3.[2]3  Fire Drills 
 3.[2]3.1 IFC, Chapter 4, Section 405.2, Table 405.2, is 
amended to add the following footnotes: 
 c.  Secondary schools in Group E occupancies shall have a fire 
drill conducted at least every two months, to a total of four fire drills 
during the nine-month school year.  The first fire drill shall be 
conducted within the first two weeks of the school year. 

 d.  A-3 occupancies in academic buildings of institutions of 
higher learning are required to have one fire drill per year, provided 
the following conditions are met: 
 1.  The building has a fire alarm system in accordance with 
Section 907.2. 
 2.  The rooms classified as assembly, shall have fire safety floor 
plans as required in Section 404.3.2(4) posted. 
 3.  The building is not classified a high-rise building. 
 4.  The building does not contain hazardous materials over the 
allowable quantities by code. 
 3.[3]4  Door Closures 
 3.[3]4.1 IFC, Chapter 7, Section 703.2.  Add the following 
Exception.  In Group E Occupancies, where the corridor serves an 
occupant load greater than 30 and the building does not have an 
automatic fire sprinkler system installed, the door closures may be of 
the friction hold-open type on classrooms doors with a rating of 20 
minutes or less only. 
 3.[4]5 Automatic Fire Sprinkler Systems and Commercial 
Cooking Operations 
 3.[4]5.1  Inspection and Testing of Automatic Fire Sprinkler 
Systems 
 The owner or administrator of each building shall insure the 
inspection and testing of water based fire protection systems as 
required in IFC, Chapter 9, Section 901.6. 
 3.[4]5.2  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.2.9 is amended to add the 
following: Exception: Group R-4 fire areas not more than 4500 
gross square feet and not containing more than 16 residents, 
provided the building is equipped throughout with an approved fire 
alarm system that is interconnected and receives its primary power 
from the building wiring and a commercial power system. 
 3.[4]5.3  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection: 903.6.2  Commercial cooking operation 
suppression.  Automatic fire sprinkler systems protecting 
commercial kitchen exhaust hood and duct systems with appliances 
that generate appreciable depth of cooking oils shall be replaced 
with a UL300 listed system by May 1, 2004. 
 3.[4]5.4  Water Supply Analysis 
 3.[4]5.4.1  For proposed construction in both sprinklered and 
unsprinklered occupancies, the owner or architect shall provide an 
engineer's water supply analysis evaluating the available water 
supply. 
 3.[4]5.4.2  The owner or architect shall provide the water 
supply analysis during the preliminary design phase of the proposed 
construction. 
 3.[4]5.4.3  The water analysis shall be representative of the 
supply that may be available at the time of a fire as required in 
NFPA, Standard 13, Appendix A-9-2.1. 
 3.[5]6  Alternative Automatic Fire-Extinguishing Systems 
 3.[5]6.1  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection: 903.6.3  Dry chemical hood system 
suppression.  Existing automatic fire-extinguishing systems using 
dry chemical that protect commercial kitchen exhaust hood and duct 
systems shall be removed and replaced with a UL300 listed system 
by January 1, 2006 or before that date when any of the following 
occurs: 1) Six year internal maintenance service; 2) Recharge; 3) 
Hydrostatic test date as indicated on the manufacturers date of the 
cylinders; or 4) Reconfiguring of the system piping. 
 3.[5]6.2  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection:  903.6.4  Wet chemical hood system 
suppression.  Existing wet chemical fire-extinguishing systems not 
UL300 listed and protecting commercial kitchen exhaust hood and 
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duct systems shall be removed, replaced or upgraded to a UL300 
listed system by January 1, 2006 or before that date when any of the 
following occurs: 1) Six year internal maintenance service; 2) 
Recharge; 3) Hydrostatic test date as indicated on the manufacturers 
date of the cylinder; or 4) Reconfiguration of the system piping. 
 3.[6]7  Fire Alarm Systems 
 3.[6]7.1  General Provisions 
 3.[6]7.1.1 Fire alarm system construction documents submitted 
to the AHJ shall include those items required in IFC, Chapter 9, 
Section 907.1.1. 
 3.[6]7.2  Required Installations 
 3.[6]7.2.1  Fire alarm systems shall be provided as required in 
IFC, Chapter 9, Section 907, and LSC Chapters as adopted, and in 
other rules promulgated by the Board. 
 3.[6]7.2.2  All state-owned buildings, college and university 
buildings, other than institutional, with an occupant load of 100 or 
more, all schools with an occupant load of 50 or more, shall have an 
approved fire alarm system with the following features: 
 3.[6]7.2.2.1  Products-of-combustion smoke detectors shall be 
installed throughout all corridors and spaces open to the corridor at 
the maximum prescribed spacing of thirty feet on center and no 
more than fifteen feet from the walls or as required in NFPA, 
Standard 72, Section 5.3. 
 3.[6]7.2.2.2  In other than fully sprinklered buildings, automatic 
detectors shall be installed in each enclosed space, other than 
corridors, at maximum prescribed spacing as specified in NFPA, 
Standard 72, or by their listing. 
 3.[6]7.2.2.3 Manual fire alarm boxes shall be provided as 
required.  In public and private elementary and secondary schools, 
manual fire alarm boxes shall be provided in the boiler room, 
kitchen, and main administrative office of each building, and any 
other areas as determined by the AHJ. 
 3.[6]7.2.2.4  The fire alarm system shall be connected to a 
proprietary panel, where provided within the complex. 
 3.[6]7.3  Main Panel 
 3.[6]7.3.1  An approved key plan drawing and operating 
instructions shall be posted at the main fire alarm panel which 
displays the location of all alarm zones and if applicable, device 
addresses. 
 3.[6]7.3.2  The main panel shall be located in a normally 
attended area such as the main office or lobby. Location of the Main 
Panel other than as stated above, shall require the review and 
authorization of the SFM.  Where location as required above is not 
possible, an electronically supervised remote annunciator from the 
main panel shall be located in a supervised area of the building.  The 
remote annunciator shall visually indicate system power status, 
alarms for each zone, and give both a visual and audible indication 
of trouble conditions in the system.  All indicators on both the main 
panel and remote annunciator shall be adequately labeled. 
 3.[6]7.4  System Wiring 
 3.[6]7.4.1  System Wiring shall be in accordance with the 
following: 
 3.[6]7.4.1.1  The Initiating Device circuits (IDC) shall be Style 
D as defined in NFPA, Standard 72. 
 3.[6]7.4.1.2  The Indicating Appliance circuits (IAC) shall be 
Style Z as defined in NFPA, Standard 72. 
 3.[6]7.4.1.3  Signaling line circuits shall be Style 6 or 7 as 
defined in NFPA, Standard 72. 
 3.[6]7.4.2  All junction boxes shall be adequately identified as 
part of the fire alarm system.  Covers for the concealed boxes shall 
be painted red. 

 3.[6]7.5  System Devices 
 All equipment and devices shall be listed and/or labeled by a 
nationally recognized testing laboratory for fire alarm use. 
 3.[6]7.6  Fan Shut Down 
 3.[6]7.6.1  The fan shut down relay(s) in the air handling 
equipment shall be normally energized, and connected through and 
controlled by a normally closed contact in the fire alarm panel, or a 
normally closed contact of a remote relay under supervision by the 
main panel.  The relays will transfer on alarm, and shall not restore 
until the panel is reset. 
 3.[6]7.6.2  Duct detectors required by the IMC, shall be 
interconnected, and compatible with the fire alarm system. 
 3.[6]7.7  Inspection and Testing 
 The owner or administrator of each building shall insure 
maintenance and testing of fire alarm systems as required in IFC, 
Chapter 9, Section 901.6.  A written log, verifying these tests, shall 
be kept on file for inspection by the AHJ. 
 3.[7]8  Retroactive Installation of Automatic Fire Alarm 
Systems 
 3.[7]8.1  IFC, Chapter 9, Sections 907.3.1.1, 907.3.1.2, 
907.3.1.3, 907.3.1.4 and 907.3.1.9 is deleted. 
 3.[8]9  Fireworks 
 3.[8]9.1 IFC, Chapter 33, Section 3301.1.3, Exception 4 is 
amended to add the following sentence: Fireworks are permitted as 
allowed in UCA 53-7-220 and UCA 11-3-1. 
 3.[9]10  Flammable and Combustible Liquids 
 3.[9]10.1  IFC, Chapter 34, Section 3406.1 is amended to add 
the following special operation: 8. Sites approved by the AHJ. 
 3.[9]10.2  IFC, Chapter 34, Section 3406.2 is amended to add 
the following:  On line two after the word "sites" add the words "and 
sites approved by the AHJ".  On line five after the words "borrow 
pits" add the words "and sites approved by the AHJ". 
 3.[10]11  Health Care Facilities 
 3.[10]11.1  LSC Chapters 18, 19, 20 and 21, Sections 18.1.2.4, 
19.1.2.4, 20.1.2.2  and 21.1.2.2 (Exiting Through Adjoining 
Occupancies) exception is deleted. 
 3.[10]11.2  LSC Chapter 19, Section 19.3.6.1, (Rooms Allowed 
open to Corridor) exceptions No. 1,  No. 5, No. 6, and No. 8 are 
deleted. 
 3.[11]12  Time Out and Seclusion Rooms 
 3.[11]12.1  Time Out and Seclusion Rooms are allowed in 
occupancies fully protected by an automatic fire sprinkler system 
and fire alarm system. 
 3.[11]12.2  A vision panel shall be provided in the room door 
for observation purposes. 
 3.[11]12.3  Time Out and Seclusion Room doors may be fitted 
with a lock which is not releasable from the inside provided the lock 
automatically releases by the operation of the fire alarm system or 
power outage. 
 3.[11]12.4  Time Out and Seclusion Rooms shall be located 
where a responsible adult can maintain visual monitoring of the 
person and room. 
 
R710-4-4.  Repeal of Conflicting Board Actions. 
 All former Board actions, or parts thereof, conflicting or 
inconsistent with the provisions of this Board action or of the codes 
hereby adopted, are hereby repealed. 
 
R710-4-5.  Validity. 
 The Board hereby declares that should any section, paragraph, 
sentence, or word of this Board action, or of the codes hereby 
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adopted, be declared, for any reason, to be invalid, it is the intent of 
the Board that it would have passed all other portions of this Board 
action, independent of the elimination here from of any such portion 
as may be declared invalid. 
 
R710-4-6.  Conflicts. 
 In the event where separate requirements pertain to the same 
situation in the same code, or between different codes as adopted, 
the more restrictive requirement shall govern, as determined by the 
AHJ, or his authorized representative. 
 
R710-4-7.  Adjudicative Proceedings. 
 7.1  All adjudicative proceedings performed by the agency shall 
proceed informally as set forth herein and as authorized by UCA, 
Sections 63-46b-4 and 63-46b-5. 
 7.2  A person may request a hearing on a decision made by the 
AHJ, by filing an appeal to the Board within 20 days after receiving 
final decision from the AHJ. 
 7.3  All adjudicative proceedings, other than criminal 
prosecution, taken by the AHJ to enforce the Utah Fire Prevention 
and Safety Act, and these rules, shall commence in accordance with 
UCA, Section 63-46b-3. 
 7.4  The Board shall act as the hearing authority, and shall 
convene as an appeals board after timely notice to all parties 
involved. 
 7.5  The Board shall direct the SFM to issue a signed order to 
the parties involved giving the decision of the Board within a 
reasonable time of the hearing pursuant to UCA, Section 63-46b-
5(i). 
 7.6  Reconsideration of the Board's decision may be requested 
in writing within 20 days of the date of the decision pursuant to 
UCA, Section 63-46b-13. 
 7.7  Judicial review of all final Board actions resulting from 
informal adjudicative proceedings is available pursuant to UCA, 
Section 63-46b-15. 
 
KEY:  fire prevention, public buildings 
January 28, 2004 
Notice of Continuation June 12, 2002 
53-7-204 
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Public Safety, Fire Marshal 
R710-9 

Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire 
Prevention Law 

 
NOTICE OF 120-DAY (EMERGENCY) RULE 

DAR FILE NO.:  26919 
FILED:  01/27/2004, 17:23 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Utah 
Fire Prevention Board met and determined that a 120-day 
(emergency) Rule amendment was in order to correct some 
errors made in the adoption of Rule R710-9 that went into 
effect on January 2, 2004.  It was noted that the International 
Fire Code, 2003 edition, was adopted referencing the usage 

of an incorporated reference that was not adopted by the 
administrative rule or statute.  The Board voted to make 
immediate amendments to the existing rule to correct this 
error.  The Board will finalize these changes after complete 
and proper notice to all affected at the next scheduled Board 
meeting on March 9, 2004. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed amendments 
to Rule R710-9 are as follows:  1) in Section R710-9-2, it is 
proposed to add two definitions, "Appreciable Depth" and 
"Authority Having Jurisdiction", to the rule; and 2) in 
Subsections R710-9-6(6.1.1) through (6.1.3), it is proposed to 
eliminate the reference to the International Existing Building 
Code and add definitions to all three sections that ensure that 
changes to the structure maintains a reasonable level of fire 
and life safety and does not create and distinct hazard to life 
or property without referencing the International Existing 
Building Code. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53-7-204 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no aggregate anticipated cost 
or savings to the state budget because these proposed 
changes do not effect the state. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no aggregate anticipated 
cost or savings to local government because these proposed 
changes do not effect local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There is also no aggregate anticipated 
cost or savings to other persons because these proposed 
changes do not affect other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There is no 
compliance cost for affected persons with the enactment of 
this rule amendment. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There is no fiscal impact on 
businesses for the enactment of these rule amendments. 
 
EMERGENCY RULE REASON AND JUSTIFICATION:  REGULAR 
RULEMAKING PROCEDURES WOULD place the agency in violation 
of federal or state law. 

The 2003 edition of the International Fire Code was 
adopted by administrative rule on January 2, 2004.  It was 
noted that the International Fire Code referenced the usage of 
the International Existing Building Code in three sections in 
Chapter 1.  The International Existing Building Code was not 
adopted as an incorporated reference by the Utah Building 
Codes Commission or the Utah Fire Prevention Board for the 
State of Utah.  The error of leaving this referenced code in the 
International Fire Code places the user in violation of the 
adopted standards of the State of Utah. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
FIRE MARSHAL 
Room 302  
5272 S COLLEGE DR 
MURRAY UT 84123-2611, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Brent Halladay at the above address, by phone at 801-284-
6352, by FAX at 801-284-6351, or by Internet E-mail at 
bhallada@utah.gov 
 
THIS RULE IS EFFECTIVE ON:  01/28/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Gary A. Wise, State Fire Marshal 
 
 
 
R710.  Public Safety, Fire Marshal. 
R710-9.  Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention Law. 
R710-9-2.  Definitions. 
 2.1  "Academy" means Utah Fire and Rescue Academy. 
 2.2  "Academy Director" means the Director of the Utah Fire 
and Rescue Academy. 
 2.3  "Administrator" means Fire Service Education 
Administrator. 
 2.4  "Appreciable Depth" means a depth greater than 1/4 inch. 
 2.5  "Authority Having Jurisdiction (AHJ)" means the State 
Fire Marshal, his authorized deputies, or the local fire enforcement 
authority. 
 2.[4]6  "Board" means Utah Fire Prevention Board. 
 2.[5]7  "Certification Council" means Utah Fire Service 
Certification Council. 
 2.[6]8  "Coordinator" means Fire Education Program 
Coordinator. 
 2.[7]9  "Division" means State Fire Marshal. 
 2.[8]10  "ICC" means International Code Council, Inc. 
 2.[9]11  "IFC" means International Fire Code. 
 2.[10]12  "Institutional occupancy" means asylums, mental 
hospitals, hospitals, sanitariums, homes for the aged, residential 
health care facilities, children's  homes or institutions, or any similar 
institutional occupancy. 
 2.[11]13  "LFA" means Local Fire Authority. 
 2.[12]14  "NFPA" means National Fire Protection Association. 
 2.[13]15 "Place of assembly" means where 50 or more people 
gather together in a building, structure, tent, or room for the purpose 
of amusement, entertainment, instruction, or education. 
 2.[14]16  "Plan" means Fire Academy Strategic Plan. 
 2.[15]17  "SFM" means State Fire Marshal or authorized 
deputy. 
 2.[16]18  "Standards Council" means Fire Service Standards 
and Training Council. 
 2.[17]19  "Sub-Committee" means Fire Prevention Board 
Budget Sub-Committee or Amendment Sub-Committee. 
 2.[18]20  "UCA" means Utah Code Annotated, 1953. 
 
R710-9-6.  Amendments and Additions. 
 The following amendments and additions are hereby adopted 
by the Board for application statewide: 

 6.1  Administration 
 6.1.1  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.3 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows: No change shall be made in the use or occupancy of any 
structure that would place the structure in a different division of the 
same group or occupancy or in a different group of occupancies, 
unless such structure maintains a reasonable level of fire and life 
safety and the change to use or occupancy does not create a distinct 
hazard to life or property as determined by the AHJ. 
 6.1.2  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.4 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows: The design and construction of new structures shall comply 
with the International Building Code.  Repairs, alterations and 
additions to existing structures are allowed when such structure 
maintains a reasonable level of fire and life safety and the change 
does not create a distinct hazard to life or property as determined by 
the AHJ. 
 6.1.3  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.5 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows: The construction, alteration, repair, enlargement, 
restoration, relocation or movement of existing buildings or 
structures that are designated as historic buildings are allowed when 
such historic structures maintains a reasonable level of fire and life 
safety and the change does not create a distinct hazard to life or 
property as determined by the AHJ. 
 6.1.[1]4  IFC, Chapter, 1, Section 102.4 is amended as follows: 
 On line three after the words "Building Code." add the following 
sentence: "The design and construction of detached one- and two-
family dwellings and multiple single-family dwellings (town houses) 
not more than three stories above grade plane in height with a 
separate means of egress and their accessory structures shall comply 
with the International Residential Code." 
 6.1.[2]5  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 109.2 is amended as follows:  
On line three after the words "is in violation of this code," add the 
following "or other pertinent laws or ordinances". 
 6.2  Definitions 
 6.2.1  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Educational Group E, Day 
care is amended as follows: On line three delete the word "five" and 
replace it with the word "four".  
 6.2.2  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Institutional Group I, Group 
I-1 is amended to add the following:  Add "Type 1" in front of the 
words "Assisted living facilities". 
 6.2.3  IFC, Chapter 2 Section 202, Institutional Group I, Group 
I-2 is amended as follows: On line three delete the word "five" and 
replace it with the word "three".  After "Detoxification facilities" 
delete the rest of the paragraph, and add the following: "Ambulatory 
surgical centers with two or more operating rooms where care is less 
than 24 hours, Outpatient medical care facilities for ambulatory 
patients (accommodating more than five such patients in each tenant 
space) which may render the patient incapable of unassisted self-
preservation, and Type 2 assisted living facilities.  Type 2 assisted 
living facilities with five or fewer persons shall be classified as a 
Group R-4.  Type 2 assisted living facilities with at least six and not 
more than 16 residents shall be classified as a Group I-1 facility. 
 6.2.4  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Institutional Group I, Group 
I-4, day care facilities, Child care facility is amended as follows: On 
line three delete the word "five" and replace it with the word "four". 
 Also on line two of the Exception after Child care facility delete the 
word "five" and replace it with the word "four". 
 6.2.5  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202 General Definitions, 
Occupancy Classification, Residential Group R-1 is amended to add 
the following:  Exception:  Boarding houses accommodating 10 
persons or less shall be classified as Residential Group R-3. 
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 6.2.6  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202 General Definitions, 
Occupancy Classification, Residential Group R-2 is amended to add 
the following:  Exception:  Boarding houses accommodating 10 
persons or less shall be classified as Residential Group R-3. 
 6.3  General Precautions Against Fire 
 6.3.1  IFC, Chapter 3, Section 304.1.2 is amended to delete the 
following sentence: "Vegetation clearance requirements in urban-
wildland interface areas shall be in accordance with the International 
Urban/Wildland Interface Code." 
 6.3.2  IFC, Chapter 3, Section 311.1.1 is amended as follows: 
On line ten delete the words "International Property Maintenance 
Code and the" from this section. 
 6.4  Elevator Recall and Maintenance 
 6.4.1  IFC, Chapter 6, Section 607.3 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows:  Firefighter service keys shall be kept in a "Supra - Stor-a-
key" elevator key box or similar box with corresponding key system 
that is adjacent to the elevator for immediate use by the fire 
department.  The key box shall contain one key for each elevator and 
one key for lobby control. 
 6.5  Building Services and Systems 
 6.5.1  IFC, Chapter 6, Section 610.1 is amended to add the 
following: On line three after the word "Code" add the words "and 
NFPA 96". 
 6.6  Record Drawings 
 6.6.1  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 901.2.1 is amended to add the 
following: The code official has the authority to request record 
drawings ("as builts") to verify any modifications to the previously 
approved construction documents. 
 6.6.2  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 902.1 Definitions, RECORD 
DRAWINGS is deleted and rewritten as follows: Drawings ("as 
builts") that document all aspects of a fire protection system as 
installed. 
 6.7  Fire Protection Systems 
 6.7.1  Inspection and Testing of Automatic Fire Sprinkler 
Systems 
The owner or administrator of each building shall insure the 
inspection and testing of water based fire protection systems as 
required in IFC, Chapter 9, Section 901.6. 
 6.7.2  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.2.7 Group R, is amended to 
add the following: Exception: Detached one- and two-family 
dwellings and multiple single-family dwellings (townhouses) 
constructed in accordance with the International Residential Code 
for one- and two-family dwellings. 
 6.7.3 IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.2.7 is amended to add the 
following: Exception: Group R-4 fire areas not more than 4500 
gross square feet and not containing more than 16 residents, 
provided the building is equipped throughout with an approved fire 
alarm system that is interconnected and receives its primary power 
from the building wiring and a commercial power system. 
 6.7.4  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection: 903.6.2  Commercial cooking operation 
suppression.  Automatic fire sprinkler systems protecting 
commercial kitchen exhaust hood and duct systems with appliances 
that generate appreciable depth of cooking oils shall be replaced 
with a UL300 listed system by May 1, 2004. 
 6.7.5  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection: 903.6.3  Dry chemical hood system 
suppression.  Existing automatic fire-extinguishing systems using 
dry chemical that protect commercial kitchen exhaust hood and duct 
systems shall be removed and replaced with a UL300 listed system 
by January 1, 2006 or before that date when any of the following 

occurs: 1) Six year internal maintenance service; 2) Recharge; 3) 
Hydrostatic test date as indicated on the manufacturers date of the 
cylinders; or 4) Reconfiguration of the system piping. 
 6.7.6  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection: 903.6.4  Wet chemical hood system 
suppression.  Existing wet chemical fire-extinguishing systems not 
UL300 listed and protecting commercial kitchen exhaust hood and 
duct systems shall be removed, replaced or upgraded to a UL300 
listed system by January 1, 2006 or before that date when any of the 
following occurs: 1) Six year internal maintenance service; 2) 
Recharge; 3) Hydrostatic test date as indicated on the manufacturer 
date of the cylinder; or 4) Reconfiguration of the system piping. 
 6.7.7  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection:  903.6.5 Group A-2 occupancies.  An 
automatic fire sprinkler system shall be provided throughout Group 
A-2 occupancies where indoor pyrotechnics are used. 
 6.8  Backflow Protection 
 6.8.1  The potable water supply to automatic fire sprinkler 
systems and standpipe systems shall be protected against backflow 
in accordance with the International Plumbing Code as amended in 
the Utah Administrative Code, R156-56-707. 
 6.9 Retroactive Installations of Automatic Fire Alarm Systems 
in Existing Buildings 
 6.9.1 IFC, Chapter 9, Sections 907.3.1.1, 907.3.1.2, 907.3.1.3, 
907.3.1.4, 907.3.1.5, 907.3.1.6, 907.3.1.7, and 907.3.1.8 are deleted. 
 6.10  Smoke Alarms 
 6.10.1  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 907.3.2 is amended to add the 
following: On line three after the word "occupancies" add "and 
detached one- and two-family dwellings and multiple single-family 
dwellings (townhouses)". 
 6.10.2  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 907.3.2.3 is amended to add the 
following: On line one after the word "occupancies" add "and 
detached one- and two-family dwellings and multiple single-family 
dwellings (townhouses)". 
 6.11  Means of Egress 
 6.11.1  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1009.3 is amended as follows: 
On line six of Exception 5 delete "7.75" and replace it with "8".  On 
line seven of Exception 5 delete "10" and replace it with "9". 
 6.11.2  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1009.11, Exception 4 is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 4. In occupancies in Group 
R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2 and in occupancies in Group U, 
which are accessory to an occupancy in Group R-3, as applicable in 
Section 101.2, handrails shall be provided on at least one side of 
stairways consisting of four or more risers. 
 6.11.3  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1009.11.3 is amended to add 
the following:  Exception: Non-circular handrails serving an 
individual unit in a Group R-1, Group R-2 or Group R-3 occupancy 
shall be permitted to have a maximum cross sectional dimension of 
3.25 inches (83 mm) measured 2 inches (51mm) down from the top 
of the crown.  Such handrail is required to have an indention on both 
sides between 0.625 inch (16mm) and 1.5 inches (38mm) down 
from the top or crown of the cross section.  The indentation shall be 
a minimum of 0.25 inch (6mm) deep on each side and shall be at 
least 0.5 (13mm) high.  Edges within the handgrip shall have a 
minimum radius of 0.0625 inch (2mm).  The handrail surface shall 
be smooth with no cusps so as to avoid catching clothing or skin. 
 6.11.4  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1012.2 is amended to add the 
following exception: 3.  For occupancies in Group R-3 and within 
individual dwelling units in occupancies in Grouop R-2, as 
applicable in Section 101.2, guards shall form a protective barrier 
not less than 36 inches (914mm). 
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 6.11.5  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1027.2 is amended to add the 
following:  On line five after the word "fire" add the words "and 
building". 
 6.12  Fireworks 
 6.12.1  IFC, Chapter 33, Section 3301.1.3 is amended to add 
the following Exception: 10.  The use of fireworks for display and 
retail sales is allowed as set forth in UCA 53-7-220 and UCA 11-3-
1. 
 6.13  Flammable and Combustible Liquids 
 6.13.1  IFC, Chapter 34, Section 3404.4.3 is amended as 
follows: Delete 3403.6 on line three and replace it with 3403.4. 
 6.14  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
 6.14.1  IFC, Chapter 38, Section 3809.12, is amended as 
follows: Delete 20 from line three and replace it with 10. 
 
R710-9-13.  Utah Fire and Rescue Academy. 
 13.1  The fire service training school shall be known as the 
Utah Fire and Rescue Academy. 
 13.2  The Director of the Utah Fire and Rescue Academy shall 
report to the Administrator the activities of the Academy with regard 
to  completion of the agreed academy contract. 
 13.3  The Academy Director may recommend to the 
Administrator or Coordinator new or expanded standards regarding 
fire suppression, fire prevention, public fire education, safety, 
certification, and any other items of necessary interest about the 
Academy. 
 13.4  The Academy shall receive approval from the 
Administrator, after being presented to the Standards and Training 
Council, any substantial changes in Academy training programs that 
vary from the agreed contract. 
 13.5  The Academy Director shall provide to the Coordinator 
by October 1st of each year, a numerical summary of those students 
attending the Academy in the following categories: 

 13.5.1  Those participating in the certification process and those 
who have received certification during the previous contract period. 
 13.5.2  Those working towards  and those who have received 
an Associate in Fire Science in the previous contract period. 
 13.5.3 Those who have completed other Academy classes 
during the previous contract period. 
 13.6  The Academy Director shall provide to the Coordinator 
by October 1st of each year, a numerical comparison of the 
categories required in Section 13.5, comparing attendance in the 
previous contract period. 
 13.7  The Academy Director shall provide to the Coordinator 
by October 1st of each year, in accepted budgeting practices, a cost 
analysis of classes provided by the Academy, and the cost per 
student to the Academy to provide those classes. 
 13.8  The Academy Director shall provide to the Coordinator 
by October 1st of each year, a numerical summary of those students 
attending Academy courses in the following categories: 
 13.8.1  Non-fire service personnel enrolled in college courses. 
 13.8.2  Volunteer or career fire service personnel enrolled in 
college credit courses. 
 13.8.3  Volunteer or career fire service personnel enrolled in 
non-credit continuing education courses. 
 13.9  The Academy Director shall present to the Coordinator by 
January of each year, proposals to be incorporated in the Academy 
contract for the next fiscal year. 
 
KEY:  fire prevention, law 
January 28, 2004 
Notice of Continuation June 12,2002 
53-7-204 
 
▼ ▼ 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 
(1998). 
  
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-5a 
Podiatric Physician Licensing Act Rules 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26917 

FILED:  01/27/2004, 12:03 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 58, Chapter 5a, 
provides for the licensure of podiatric physicians.  Subsection 
58-1-106(1)(a) provides that the Division may adopt and 
enforce rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-5a-201(3) 
provides that the Podiatric Physician Board's duties and 
responsibilities shall be in accordance with Section 58-1-202.  
Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides that one of the duties of 
each board is to recommend appropriate rules to the division 
director.  This rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 
58, Chapter 5a, with respect to podiatric physicians. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was last 
reviewed in March 1999, changes were made in 2001 to bring 
the Division into compliance with the Podiatric Medicine 
Licensing (PMLexis) examination requirements and to add a 
section regarding radiology course requirements for 
unlicensed assistants to take podiatric x-rays.  No written 
comments have been received by the Division with respect to 
the above rule change or with respect to this rule since it was 
last reviewed in March 1999. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued as it clarifies the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 5a, 
with respect to podiatric physicians. 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Daniel T. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6767, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dantjones@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/27/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-37c 
Utah Controlled Substance Precursor 

Act Rules 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26916 
FILED:  01/27/2004, 12:01 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 58, Chapter 37c, 
provides for the licensure of controlled substance precursor 
distributors and purchasers.  Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) 
provides that the Division may adopt and enforce rules to 
administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-37c-4(3) provides that the 
Controlled Substance Precursor Advisory Board's duties and 
responsibilities shall be in accordance with Section 58-1-202.  
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Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides that one of the duties of 
each board is to recommend appropriate rules to the division 
director.  This rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 
58, Chapter 37c, with respect to controlled substance 
precursor distributors and purchasers. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was last 
reviewed in March 1999, no changes have been made to the 
rule.  The Division has received no written comments with 
respect to this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued as it clarifies the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 37c, 
with respect to controlled substance precursor distributors and 
purchasers. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Clyde Ormond at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6254, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
cormond@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/27/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-39a 
Alternative Dispute Resolution 

Providers Certification Act Rules 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26915 
FILED:  01/27/2004, 11:59 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 58, Chapter 39a, 
provides for the certification of alternative dispute resolution 
providers.  Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) provides that the 
Division may adopt and enforce rules to administer Title 58.  

Subsection 58-39a-3(3) provides that the Alternative Dispute 
Resolution Providers Certification Board's duties and 
responsibilities shall be in accordance with Section 58-1-202.  
Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides that one of the duties of 
each board is to recommend appropriate rules to the division 
director.  This rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 
58, Chapter 39a, with respect to alternative dispute resolution 
providers. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since the rule was 
originally enacted in June 1994 and since it was last reviewed 
in March 1999, no changes have been made to the rule.  
Therefore, the Division has received no written comments. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued as it clarifies the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 39a, 
with respect to alternative dispute resolution providers. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dan S. Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6720, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
dsjones@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/27/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-74 
Certified Shorthand Reporters 

Licensing Act Rules 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26927 
FILED:  02/02/2004, 11:35 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 58, Chapter 74, 
provides for the licensure of certified shorthand reporters.  
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Subsection 58-1-106(1)(a) provides that the Division may 
adopt and enforce rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-
74-201(3) provides that the Certified Shorthand Reporters 
Licensing Board's duties and responsibilities shall be in 
accordance with Section 58-1-202.  Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) 
provides that one of the duties of each board is to recommend 
appropriate rules to the division director.  This rule was 
enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 74, with 
respect to certified shorthand reporters. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was 
enacted in March 1999, no additional changes have been 
made and the Division has not received any written comments 
with respect to this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued as it clarifies the provisions of Title 58, Chapter 74, 
with respect to certified shorthand reporters. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Clyde Ormond at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6254, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
cormond@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/02/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Public Safety, Driver License 

R708-30 
Motorcycle Rider Training Schools 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26918 

FILED:  01/27/2004, 14:48 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 53-3-903 says, "The 
division shall develop standards for and administer the 
Motorcycle Rider Education Program.  The division shall make 

rules in accordance with Title 63, Chapter 46a. Utah 
Administrative Rulemaking Act, to implement this chapter". 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The rule needs to be 
continued as per statute to allow someone, who has a desire, 
to start and be authorized to run a Motorcycle Rider Training 
School.  The rule specifies what the application process is, 
how to execute an agreement with the division, what 
standards a school must follow, what constitutes a course 
curriculum, insurance coverage, instructor information, 
advertisement, revocation process, and inspection 
requirements for the division. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
DRIVER LICENSE 
CALVIN L RAMPTON COMPLEX 
4501 S 2700 W 3RD FL 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84119-5595, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Vinn Roos at the above address, by phone at 801-965-4456, 
by FAX at 801-964-4482, or by Internet E-mail at 
vroos@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Judy Hamaker Mann, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/27/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 

Administration 

R805-1 
Operating Regulations for Bicycles, 

Skateboards and Scooters 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26914 
FILED:  01/27/2004, 11:02 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 53B-2-106 
authorizes Rule R805-1 by authorizing the president of each 
higher educational institution, with approval of that institution's 
board of trustees, to enact rules for administration and 
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operation of the institution.  Subsection 53B-3-101 also 
authorizes Rule R805-1 by allowing the board of regents to 
pass rules and regulations governing parking and traffic on 
campuses and related facilities and to enforce the rules and 
regulations by all appropriate methods; Subsection 53B-3-101 
further allows the board of regents to delegate this same 
authority to the president of each institution so long as the 
rules and regulations are approved by the institution's board of 
trustees. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The University of Utah's 
ability to ensure the safety of all persons on campus has been 
facilitated by Rule R805-1.  Rule R805-1 regulates the 
operation of bicycles, skateboards, and scooters on campus 
and provides clear standards on the proper operation of such 
means of transportation.  Rule R805-1 further gives the 
University of Utah the ability to sanction students, staff, and 
faculty who are in violation of this rule and therefore this rule 
should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

REGENTS (BOARD OF) 
UNIVERSITY OF UTAH, ADMINISTRATION 
Room 309 PARK BLDG 
201 S PRESIDENTS CIR 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84112-9009, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Scott Smith at the above address, by phone at 801-585-7002, 
by FAX at 801-585-7007, or by Internet E-mail at 
scott.smith@legal.utah.edu 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Phil Johnson 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/27/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 

Museum of Natural History (Utah) 

R807-1 
Curation of Collections from State 

Lands 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26913 
FILED:  01/26/2004, 17:28 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 9-8-305(1)(c) 
authorizes Rule R807-1 by allowing and requiring the Division 
of State History to make rules for the issuance of permits 
related to surveying or excavating state lands, including rules 
that require proof of consultation with the Utah Museum of 
Natural History regarding curation of collections.  Rule R807-1 
is also required by Subsections 53B-17-603(2) and (4)(a), 
which require the Utah Museum of Natural History to make 
rules to ensure the adequate curation of all collections from 
lands owned or controlled by the state or its subdivisions and 
which require all collections recovered from state lands to be 
deposited at the Utah Museum of Natural History or a curation 
facility or repository. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Rule R807-1 is necessary 
to the Utah Museum of Natural History and as part of the 
statewide process for protecting archaeological resources 
recovered from state lands.  Among other things, Rule R807-1 
establishes standards for curation and the obligations of 
repositories and curation facilities and therefore should be 
continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

REGENTS (BOARD OF) 
UNIVERSITY OF UTAH, 
MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY (UTAH) 
Room 302 GEORGE THOMAS BLDG 
1390 E PRESIDENTS CIR 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84112-0050, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Scott Smith at the above address, by phone at 801-585-7002, 
by FAX at 801-585-7007, or by Internet E-mail at 
scott.smith@legal.utah.edu 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Ann Hanniball, Assistant Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  01/26/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  These effective dates are at least 31 days and not more than 120 days after the date the 
following rules were published.  
 
 

Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Commerce 

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
No. 26805 (AMD): R156-1-106.  Division - Duties, 
Functions, and Responsibilities. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 20, 2004 
 
No. 26580 (CPR): R156-54-302b.  Examination 
Requirements - Radiology Practical Technician. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 20, 2004 
 
No. 26777 (AMD): R156-76-102.  Definitions. 
Published:  December 1, 2003 
Effective:  January 20, 2004 
 
 

Health 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement 
Policy 

No. 26802 (AMD): R414-50.  Dental, Oral and 
Maxillofacial Surgeons. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 28, 2004 
 
No. 26782 (AMD): R414-51.  Dental, Orthodontia. 
Published:  December 1, 2003 
Effective:  January 28, 2004 
 
No. 26783 (AMD): R414-53.  Eyeglasses Services. 
Published:  December 1, 2003 
Effective:  January 28, 2004 
 
No. 26803 (AMD): R414-54.  Speech-Language 
Pathology Services. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 28, 2004 
 
 

Human Services 
Administration 

No. 26822 (AMD): R495-879.  Parental Support for 
Children in Care. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 26, 2004 
 
 

Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 

No. 26817 (AMD): R657-5.  Taking Big Game. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 21, 2004 
 
No. 26818 (AMD): R657-17-4.  General Deer Permits 
and Tags. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 21, 2004 
 
No. 26819 (AMD): R657-38.  Dedicated Hunter Program. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 21, 2004 
 
No. 26820 (AMD): R657-42.  Accepted Payment of Fees, 
Late Fees, Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 
Reallocation of Licenses, Certificates of Registration and 
Permits. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 21, 2004 
 
 

Public Safety 
Fire Marshal 

No. 26801 (AMD): R710-6.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
Rules. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  January 16, 2004 
 
 

Workforce Services 
Employment Development 

No. 26704 (AMD): R986-200.  Family Employment 
Program (FEP). 
Published:  November 1, 2003 
Effective:  February 2, 2004 
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 RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
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Commerce 

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
R156-1-106  Division - Duties, Functions, and 

Responsibilities 
26805 AMD 01/20/2004 2003-24/4  

R156-5a Podiatric Physician Licensing Act Rules 26917 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

R156-26a-
303b  

Renewal and Reinstatement Requirements - 
Continuing Professional Education (CPE) 

26786 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

R156-37c Utah Controlled Substance Precursor Act 
Rules 

26916 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

R156-38 Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery 
Fund Rules 

26834 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/5  

R156-39a Alternative Dispute Resolution Providers 
Certification Act Rules 

26915 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

R156-54-302b  Examination Requirements - Radiology 
Practical Technician 

26580 AMD 01/20/2004 2003-18/4  

R156-54-302b  Examination Requirements - Radiology 
Practical Technician 

26580 CPR 01/20/2004 2003-24/70  
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R156-56 Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules 26693 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

R156-56-707  Statewide Amendments to the IPC 26692 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

R156-74 Certified Shorthand Reporters Licensing Act 
Rules 

26927 5YR 02/02/2004 2004-4/76  

R156-76-102  Definitions 26777 AMD 01/20/2004 2003-23/14  

Real Estate 
R162-3 License Status Changes 26838 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/7  

R162-105 Scope of Authority 26890 5YR 01/13/2004 2004-3/43  

R162-202 Residential Mortgage Renewal Period 26837 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/10  

R162-206 Licensing Examination 26840 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/12  

R162-207 License Renewal 26839 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/13  

R162-208 Continuing Education 26836 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/14  

Securities 
R164-11-2  Hearings for Certain Exchanges of Securities 26481 CPR 01/05/2004 2003-23/83  

R164-11-2  Hearings for Certain Exchanges of Securities 26481 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-15/17  

 
Education 

Administration 
R277-437 Student Enrollment Options 26871 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

R277-462 Comprehensive Guidance Program 26850 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/16  

R277-486 Professional Staff Cost Program 26828 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/5  

R277-502 Educator Licensing and Data Retention 26827 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/6  

R277-517 Athletic Coaching Certification 26852 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/18  

R277-520 Appropriate Licensing and Assignment of 
Teachers 

26851 R&R 02/05/2004 2004-1/20  

R277-524 Paraprofessional Qualifications 26853 NEW 02/05/2004 2004-1/25  

R277-720 Child Nutrition Programs 26830 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/10  

R277-724 Criteria for Sponsors Recruiting Day Care 
Facilities in the Child and Adult Care Food 
Program 

26829 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/11  

R277-735 Standards and Procedures for Corrections 
Education Programs Serving Inmates of the 
Utah Department of Corrections 

26870 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

Rehabilitation 
R280-201 USOR ADA Complaint Procedure 26872 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

R280-202 USOR Procedures for Individuals with the Most 
Severe Disabilities 

26873 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

 
Environmental Quality 

Air Quality 
R307-150 Emission Inventories. 26942 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

R307-214 National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants. 

26939 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

R307-415 Permits:  Operating Permit Requirements. 26940 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

R307-417 Permits:  Acid Rain Sources. 26941 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

Drinking Water 
R309-705 Financial Assistance:  Federal Drinking Water 

Project Revolving Loan Program 
26760 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-22/19  

Water Quality 
R317-2 Standards of Quality for Waters of the State 26242 CPR 01/06/2004 2003-18/35  

R317-2 Standards of Quality for Waters of the State 26242 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-10/27  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 4 81 

CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Health 

Children's Health Insurance Program 
R382-10 Eligibility 26757 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-22/21  

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
R414-9 Federally Qualified Health Centers 26854 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/26  

R414-50 Dental, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons 26802 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-24/13  

R414-51 Dental, Orthodontia 26782 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/25  

R414-52 Optometry Services 26798 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/27  

R414-53 Eyeglasses Services 26783 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/28  

R414-54 Speech-Language Pathology Services 26803 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-24/14  

R414-58 Children's Organ Transplants 26935 5YR 02/03/2004 Not Printed 

R414-300 Primary Care Network, Covered-at-Work 
Demonstration Waiver 

26811 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-24/17  

R414-304 Income and Budgeting 26781 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

R414-310 Medicaid Primary Care Network Demonstration 
Waiver 

26810 AMD 02/10/2004 2003-24/18  

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services 
R426-13 Emergency Medical Services Provider 

Designations 
26669 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/7  

R426-14 Ambulance Service and Paramedic Service 
Licensure 

26670 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/10  

R426-15 Licensed and Designated Provider Operations 26671 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/14  

Health Systems Improvement, Licensing 
R432-1 General Health Care Facility Rules 26868 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

R432-2 General Licensing Provisions 26876 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/46  

R432-3 General Health Care Facility Rules Inspection 
and Enforcement 

26875 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/46  

R432-4 General Construction 26869 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/47  

R432-5 Nursing Facility Construction 26877 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/48  

R432-6 Assisted Living Facility General Construction 26886 5YR 01/08/2004 2004-3/48  

R432-100-16  Emergency Care Services 26755 AMD 01/09/2004 2003-22/24  

 
Human Services 

Administration 
R495-879 Parental Support for Children in Care 26822 AMD 01/26/2004 2003-24/27  

Recovery Services 
R527-210 Guidelines for Setting Child Support Awards 26889 5YR 01/13/2004 2004-3/49  

 
Insurance 

Administration 
R590-102 Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule 26787 AMD 01/08/2004 2003-23/39  

R590-187 Assessment of Title Insurance Agencies and 
Title Insurers for Costs Related to Regulation 
of Title Insurance 

26792 AMD 01/08/2004 2003-23/44  

 
Labor Commission 

Adjudication 
R602-1 General Provisions 26772 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

R602-2-1  Pleadings and Discovery 26773 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  
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Industrial Accidents 
R612-4-2  Premium Rates for the Uninsured Employers' 

Fund and the Employers' Reinsurance Fund. 
26697 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/64  

Safety 
R616-2-3  Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 

Pressure Vessels 
26674 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/25  

 
Money Management Council 

Administration 
R628-19 Requirements for the Use of Investment 

Advisers by Public Treasurers 
26676 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-20/27  

R628-19 Requirements for the Use of Investment 
Advisers by Public Treasurers 

26676 CPR 02/10/2004 2004-1/38  

 
Natural Resources 

Oil, Gas and Mining; Coal 
R645-301-100  General Contents 26710 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/34  

R645-301-500  Engineering 26711 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/35  

R645-303-200  Permit Review, Change and Renewal 26712 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/36  

R645-401 Inspection and Enforcement: Civil Penalties 26713 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/38  

Parks and Recreation 
R651-611 Fee Schedule 26776 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/52  

Water Resources 
R653-2 Financial Assistance from the Board of Water 

Resources 
26779 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/56  

R653-5 Cloud Seeding 26784 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/59  

Wildlife Resources 
R657-5 Taking Big Game 26817 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/46  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 26659 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

R657-17-4  General Deer Permits and Tags 26818 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/55  

R657-38 Dedicated Hunter Program 26819 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

R657-41 Conservation and Sportsman Permits 26778 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-23/61  

R657-42 Accepted Payment of Fees, Late Fees, 
Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 
Reallocation of Licenses, Certificates of 
Registration and Permits 

26820 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/61  

 
Public Safety 

Driver License 
R708-30 Motorcycle Rider Training Schools 26918 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/77  

Fire Marshal 
R710-2 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fireworks Act 26795 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/65  

R710-4 Buildings Under the Jurisdiction of the State 
Fire Prevention Board 

26793 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/67  

R710-4 Buildings Under the Jurisdiction of the State 
Fire Prevention Board 

26920 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/67  

R710-6 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Rules 26801 AMD 01/16/2004 2003-24/63  

R710-9 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention 
Law 

26788 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/72  

R710-9 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention 
Law 

26919 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/71  

Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal Identification 
R722-900 Review and Challenge of Criminal Record 26895 5YR 01/15/2004 2004-3/50  
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R722-900 Review and Challenge of Criminal Record  
(5YR EXTENSION) 

26858 NSC 01/15/2004 Not Printed 

 
Public Service Commission 

Administration 
R746-200-6  Termination of Service 26780 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/76  

R746-350 Application to Discontinue or Curtail 
Telecommunications Services 

26785 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

R746-365 Intercarrier Service Quality 26883 5YR 01/06/2004 2004-3/50  

 
Regents (Board Of) 

University of Utah, Administration 
R805-1 Operating Regulations for Bicycles, 

Skateboards and Scooters 
26914 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/78  

University of Utah, Museum of Natural History (Utah) 
R807-1 Curation of Collections from State Lands 26913 5YR 01/26/2004 2004-4/78  

 
Tax Commission 

Property Tax 
R884-24P-24  Form for Notice of Property Valuation and Tax 

Changes Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 
59-2-918 through 59-2-924 

26910 NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 

 
Transportation 

Administration 
R907-64 Longitudinal and Wireless Access to Interstate 

Highway Rights-of-Way for Installation of 
Telecommunications Facilities 

26878 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  

R907-65 Compensation Schedule for Longitudinal 
Access to Interstate Highway Rights-of-Way for 
Installation of Telecommunications Facilities 

26879 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  

R907-67 Suspension of Contractors from Work on 
Department Projects -- Reasons 

26720 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

Motor Carrier 
R909-3 Standards for Utah School Buses 26880 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/52  

Motor Carrier, Ports of Entry 
R912-14 Changes in Utah's Oversize/Overweight Permit 

Program - Semitrailer Exceeding 48 Feet 
Length 

26881 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/52  

Preconstruction, Right-of-Way Acquisition 
R933-2-3  Definitions 26892 EMR 01/14/2004 2004-3/40  

 
Workforce Services 

Employment Development 
R986-100 Employment Support Programs 26705 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/75  

R986-200 Family Employment Program (FEP) 26704 AMD 02/02/2004 2003-21/77  

R986-400 General Assistance and Working Toward 
Employment 

26706 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/81  

R986-700 Child Care Assistance 26707 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/83  
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 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
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accountants 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26786 R156-26a-303b  AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

 
acid rain 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26941 R307-417 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
administrative procedures 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26772 R602-1 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

 26773 R602-2-1  AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

 
air pollution 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26942 R307-150 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 26939 R307-214 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 26940 R307-415 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
air quality 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26941 R307-417 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
alternative dispute resolution 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26915 R156-39a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

 
appraisals 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 26910 R884-24P-24  NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 

 
arbitration 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26915 R156-39a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

 
archaelogical resources 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Museum of Natural History (Utah) 

26913 R807-1 5YR 01/26/2004 2004-4/78  

 
assignment 
Education, Administration 26851 R277-520 R&R 02/05/2004 2004-1/20  

 
athletics 
Education, Administration 26852 R277-517 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/18  

 
bicycles 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

26914 R805-1 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/78  

 
big game seasons 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26817 R657-5 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/46  
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boilers 
Labor Commission, Safety 26674 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/25  

 
budgeting 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26781 R414-304 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

 
building codes 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26693 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

 26692 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

 
building inspection 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26693 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

 26692 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

 
certification 
Labor Commission, Safety 26674 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/25  

 
child care 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26707 R986-700 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/83  

 
child support 
Human Services, Administration 26822 R495-879 AMD 01/26/2004 2003-24/27  

Human Services, Recovery Services 26889 R527-210 5YR 01/13/2004 2004-3/49  

 
children's health benefits 
Health, Children's Health Insurance 
Program 

26757 R382-10 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-22/21  

 
coaching certification 
Education, Administration 26852 R277-517 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/18  

 
coal mines 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

26710 R645-301-100  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/34  

 26711 R645-301-500  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/35  

 26712 R645-303-200  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/36  

 26713 R645-401 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/38  

 
complaints 
Education, Rehabilitation 26872 R280-201 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 
continuing professional education 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26786 R156-26a-303b  AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

 
contractors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26834 R156-38 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/5  

 26693 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

 26692 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

Transportation, Administration 26720 R907-67 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

 
controlled substances 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26916 R156-37c 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  
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counselors 
Education, Administration 26850 R277-462 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/16  

 
court reporting 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26927 R156-74 5YR 02/02/2004 2004-4/76  

 
covered-at-work benefits 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26811 R414-300 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-24/17  

 
criminal records 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

26895 R722-900 5YR 01/15/2004 2004-3/50  

 26858 R722-900 NSC 01/15/2004 Not Printed 

 
curation 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Museum of Natural History (Utah) 

26913 R807-1 5YR 01/26/2004 2004-4/78  

 
custody 
Education, Administration 26870 R277-735 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 
custody of children 
Human Services, Administration 26822 R495-879 AMD 01/26/2004 2003-24/27  

 
demonstration 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26810 R414-310 AMD 02/10/2004 2003-24/18  

 
dental 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26782 R414-51 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/25  

 
disabled persons 
Education, Rehabilitation 26872 R280-201 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 26873 R280-202 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

 
diversion programs 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26805 R156-1-106  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-24/4  

 
educator 
Education, Administration 26851 R277-520 R&R 02/05/2004 2004-1/20  

 
educator licensing 
Education, Administration 26827 R277-502 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/6  

 
emergency medical services 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

26669 R426-13 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/7  

 26670 R426-14 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/10  

 26671 R426-15 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/14  

 
emission fee* 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26940 R307-415 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
employment support procedures 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26705 R986-100 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/75  
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enrollment options 
Education, Administration 26871 R277-437 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

 
environmental protection 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26940 R307-415 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
exiting providers 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26785 R746-350 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

 
eyeglasses 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26783 R414-53 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/28  

 
facilities 
Education, Administration 26829 R277-724 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/11  

 
facility 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26854 R414-9 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/26  

 
family employment program 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26704 R986-200 AMD 02/02/2004 2003-21/77  

 
fees 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26776 R651-611 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/52  

 
filing deadlines 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26772 R602-1 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

 
financial assistance 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 26760 R309-705 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-22/19  

 
financial disclosures 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26781 R414-304 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

 
fire prevention 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26793 R710-4 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/67  

 26920 R710-4 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/67  

 26919 R710-9 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/71  

 26788 R710-9 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/72  

 
fireworks 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26795 R710-2 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/65  

 
fish 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26659 R657-13 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

 
fishing 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26659 R657-13 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

 
food programs 
Education, Administration 26829 R277-724 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/11  

 
game laws 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26817 R657-5 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/46  

 26818 R657-17-4  AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/55  



RULES INDEX 
 

  
88 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, February 15, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 4 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
general assistance 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26706 R986-400 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/81  

 
geology 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26777 R156-76-102  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-23/14  

 
hazardous air pollutant 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26939 R307-214 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
health facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

26868 R432-1 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

 26876 R432-2 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/46  

 26875 R432-3 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/46  

 26886 R432-6 5YR 01/08/2004 2004-3/48  

 26755 R432-100-16  AMD 01/09/2004 2003-22/24  

 
health facility 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

26877 R432-5 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/48  

 
health facilties 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

26869 R432-4 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/47  

 
hearings 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26773 R602-2-1  AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

 
highways 
Transportation, Administration 26720 R907-67 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

 
hunting 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26819 R657-38 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

 
hunting and fishing licenses 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26818 R657-17-4  AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/55  

 
income 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26781 R414-304 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

 
informal review 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26780 R746-200-6  AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/76  

 
inmates 
Education, Administration 26870 R277-735 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 
insurance 
Insurance, Administration 26787 R590-102 AMD 01/08/2004 2003-23/39  

 
interconnection 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26883 R746-365 5YR 01/06/2004 2004-3/50  

 
interstate highway system 
Transportation, Administration 26878 R907-64 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  

 26879 R907-65 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  
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inventories 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26942 R307-150 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
investment advisers 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

26676 R628-19 CPR 02/10/2004 2004-1/38  

 26676 R628-19 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-20/27  

 
law 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26919 R710-9 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/71  

 26788 R710-9 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/72  

 
license 
Education, Administration 26851 R277-520 R&R 02/05/2004 2004-1/20  

 
licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26805 R156-1-106  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-24/4  

 26917 R156-5a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 26786 R156-26a-303b  AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

 26916 R156-37c 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 26834 R156-38 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/5  

 26915 R156-39a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

 26580 R156-54-302b  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-18/4  

 26580 R156-54-302b  CPR 01/20/2004 2003-24/70  

 26693 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

 26692 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

 26927 R156-74 5YR 02/02/2004 2004-4/76  

 26777 R156-76-102  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-23/14  

 
liens 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26834 R156-38 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/5  

 
liquefied petroleum gas 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26801 R710-6 AMD 01/16/2004 2003-24/63  

 
loans 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 26760 R309-705 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-22/19  

 
MACT 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26939 R307-214 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
mediation 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26915 R156-39a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

 
Medicaid 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26854 R414-9 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/26  

 26802 R414-50 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-24/13  

 26782 R414-51 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/25  

 26798 R414-52 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/27  

 26783 R414-53 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/28  

 26803 R414-54 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-24/14  
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 26935 R414-58 5YR 02/03/2004 Not Printed 

 26811 R414-300 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-24/17  

 26781 R414-304 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

 26810 R414-310 AMD 02/10/2004 2003-24/18  

 
motorcycle rider training schools 
Public Safety, Driver License 26918 R708-30 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/77  

 
NCLB 
Education, Administration 26853 R277-524 NEW 02/05/2004 2004-1/25  

 
nutrition 
Education, Administration 26830 R277-720 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/10  

 
occupational licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26805 R156-1-106  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-24/4  

 
operating permit* 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26940 R307-415 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 26941 R307-417 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
optometry 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26798 R414-52 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/27  

 
orthodontia 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26782 R414-51 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/25  

 
paleontological resources 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Museum of Natural History (Utah) 

26913 R807-1 5YR 01/26/2004 2004-4/78  

 
paraprofessional qualifications 
Education, Administration 26853 R277-524 NEW 02/05/2004 2004-1/25  

 
parks 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26776 R651-611 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/52  

 
pedestrians 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

26914 R805-1 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/78  

 
peer review 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26786 R156-26a-303b  AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

 
permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26820 R657-42 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/61  

Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 
Entry 

26881 R912-14 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/52  

 
permitting authority* 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26941 R307-417 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
personal property 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 26910 R884-24P-24  NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 
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podiatric physician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26917 R156-5a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 
podiatrists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26917 R156-5a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 
precursor 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26916 R156-37c 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 
primary care 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26810 R414-310 AMD 02/10/2004 2003-24/18  

 
primary care network 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26811 R414-300 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-24/17  

 
professional competency 
Education, Administration 26827 R277-502 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/6  

 
professional geologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26777 R156-76-102  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-23/14  

 
professional staff 
Education, Administration 26828 R277-486 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/5  

 
property tax 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 26910 R884-24P-24  NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 

 
public buildings 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26793 R710-4 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/67  

 26920 R710-4 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/67  

 
public education 
Education, Administration 26871 R277-437 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

 26850 R277-462 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/16  

 26870 R277-735 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 
public funds 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

26676 R628-19 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-20/27  

 26676 R628-19 CPR 02/10/2004 2004-1/38  

 
public utilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26883 R746-365 5YR 01/06/2004 2004-3/50  

 
radiology practical technician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26580 R156-54-302b  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-18/4  

 
radiology practical technicians 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26580 R156-54-302b  CPR 01/20/2004 2003-24/70  

 
radiology technologist 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26580 R156-54-302b  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-18/4  
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radiology technologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26580 R156-54-302b  CPR 01/20/2004 2003-24/70  

 
rates 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 26697 R612-4-2  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/64  

 
real estate appraisals 
Commerce, Real Estate 26890 R162-105 5YR 01/13/2004 2004-3/43  

 
real estate business 
Commerce, Real Estate 26838 R162-3 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/7  

 
reclamation 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

26710 R645-301-100  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/34  

 26711 R645-301-500  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/35  

 26712 R645-303-200  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/36  

 26713 R645-401 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/38  

 
recreation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26819 R657-38 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

 
rehabilitation 
Education, Rehabilitation 26873 R280-202 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

 
reimbursement 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26854 R414-9 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/26  

 
replacement providers 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26785 R746-350 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

 
reports 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26942 R307-150 5YR 02/09/2004 Not Printed 

 
residential mortgage loan origination 
Commerce, Real Estate 26837 R162-202 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/10  

 26840 R162-206 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/12  

 26839 R162-207 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/13  

 26836 R162-208 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/14  

 
rights-of-way 
Transportation, Administration 26878 R907-64 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  

 26879 R907-65 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  

 
rules and procedures 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26780 R746-200-6  AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/76  

 
safety 
Labor Commission, Safety 26674 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/25  

Transportation, Motor Carrier 26880 R909-3 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/52  

 
school buses 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 26880 R909-3 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/52  
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school lunch program 
Education, Administration 26830 R277-720 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/10  

 
SDWA 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 26760 R309-705 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-22/19  

 
securities 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

26676 R628-19 CPR 02/10/2004 2004-1/38  

 26676 R628-19 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-20/27  

 
securities regulation 
Commerce, Securities 26481 R164-11-2  AMD 01/05/2004 2003-15/17  

 26481 R164-11-2  CPR 01/05/2004 2003-23/83  

 
services 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26785 R746-350 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

 
settlement 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26773 R602-2-1  AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

 
shorthand reporter 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26927 R156-74 5YR 02/02/2004 2004-4/76  

 
signs 
Transportation, Preconstruction, Right-of-
Way Acquisition 

26892 R933-2-3  EMR 01/14/2004 2004-3/40  

 
speed limits 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

26914 R805-1 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/78  

 
suspension 
Transportation, Administration 26720 R907-67 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

 
taxation 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 26910 R884-24P-24  NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 

 
telecommunications 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26785 R746-350 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

 26883 R746-365 5YR 01/06/2004 2004-3/50  

 
time 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26772 R602-1 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

 
title insurance 
Insurance, Administration 26792 R590-187 AMD 01/08/2004 2003-23/44  

 
transportation 
Transportation, Administration 26720 R907-67 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

 
trucks 
Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 
Entry 

26881 R912-14 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/52  

 
utility service 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26780 R746-200-6  AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/76  
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water funding 
Natural Resources, Water Resources 26779 R653-2 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/56  

 
water policy 
Natural Resources, Water Resources 26784 R653-5 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/59  

 
water pollution 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 26242 R317-2 CPR 01/06/2004 2003-18/35  

 26242 R317-2 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-10/27  

 
water quality standards 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 26242 R317-2 CPR 01/06/2004 2003-18/35  

 26242 R317-2 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-10/27  

 
weather modification 
Natural Resources, Water Resources 26784 R653-5 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/59  

 
wildlife 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26817 R657-5 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/46  

 26659 R657-13 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

 26818 R657-17-4  AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/55  

 26819 R657-38 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

 26778 R657-41 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-23/61  

 26820 R657-42 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/61  

 
wildlife conservation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26819 R657-38 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

 
wildlife law 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26659 R657-13 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

 
wildlife permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26778 R657-41 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-23/61  

 
witness fees 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26772 R602-1 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

 
workers' compensation 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26773 R602-2-1  AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 26697 R612-4-2  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/64  

 
working toward employment 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26706 R986-400 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/81  
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