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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between February 3, 2004, 12:00 a.m., and February 
17, 2004, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the March 1, 2004, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · 
·) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the 
Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is 
available from the filing agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least March 31, 2004.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the last 
day the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63-46a-5 
(1987) requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the publication date of the 
PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through June 29, 2004, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than 31 days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the 
Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-4 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-2, 
and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 

R68-20-1 
Authority 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26949 

FILED:  02/13/2004, 15:10 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment incorporates changes made to 7 CFR Part 
205.600 et seq. (through 1/1/2004), The National List of 
Allowed and Prohibited Substances. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The United States 
Department of Agriculture made additions and corrections to 
"The National List of Allowed and Prohibited Substances", 
effective November 4, 2003.  This amendment incorporates 
those changes. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 4-2-2(i)(j); Sections 4-3-2, and 4-4-2; 
Subsection 4-5-17(1); Sections 4-9-2, 4-11-3, and 4-12-3; 
Subsection 4-14-6(5); Section 4-16-3; and Subsections 4-32-
7(7)(a)(ii) and 4-37-109(2) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  7 CFR Part 205 (through 1/1/2004) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget.  The changes are to The National List of 
Allowed and Prohibited Substances for use in organic 
production. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to the local government.  The changes are to The 
National List of Allowed and Prohibited Substances for use in 
organic production. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost or savings to 
organic producers.  The changes are established to inform the 
producers of substances that will be allowed and prohibited in 
organic production. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
compliance costs associated with the changes made in this 
regulation.  The changes are established to inform the 
producers of substances that will be allowed and prohibited in 
organic production. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The changes to this rule are 
established to inform the producers of substances that will be 
allowed and prohibited in organic production for the protection 
of the consumer. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

AGRICULTURE AND FOOD 
PLANT INDUSTRY 
350 N REDWOOD RD 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3087, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Marolyn Leetham or Seth Winterton at the above address, by 
phone at 801-538-7114 or 801-538-7141, by FAX at 801-538-
7126 or 801-538-7126, or by Internet E-mail at 
mleetham@utah.gov or sethwinterton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Cary G. Peterson, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R68.  Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry. 
R68-20.  Utah Organic Standards. 
R68-20-1.  Authority. 
 Promulgated under authority of Sections 4-2-2(1)(j), 4-3-2, 4- 
4-2, 4-5-17(1), 4-9-2, 4-11-3, 4-12-3, 4-14-6(5), 4-16-3, 4-32-
7(7)(a)(ii), 4-37-109(2). 
 A.  The Utah Department of Agriculture and Food (UDAF) 
adopts and incorporates by reference CFR, December 2000 edition, 
Title 7 Part 205, National Organic Program Final Rule and 
amendments in Title 7 Part 205.600, Subpart G, The National List of 
Allowed and Prohibited Substances, effective  November 3, 2003. 
 1.  UDAF will make available to all its applicants for 
certification and producers of organic products, copies of the 
National Organic Program Final Rule. 
 
KEY: inspections 
[May 16, 2002]2004 
4-2-2(i)(j) 
4-3-2 
4-4-2 
4-5-17(1) 
4-9-2 
4-11-3 
4-12-3 
4-14-6(5) 
4-16-3 
4-32-7(7)(a)(ii) 
4-37-109(2) 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Commerce, Consumer Protection 

R152-11 
Utah Consumer Sales Practices Act 

Rules 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26945 
FILED:  02/11/2004, 08:38 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the rule is to change the time in which a supplier 
must make a required refund to a consumer from 30 business 
days to 30 calendar days. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed change 
amends Subsection R152-11-9(9) and Section R152-11-10C 
by replacing, in each section, the word "business" with the 
word "calendar" in the phrase "30 business days". 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Title 13, Chapters 2 and 11 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  It is anticipated that this change will 
have no impact on the State budget because it will not alter 
the Division's enforcement activities. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This change will cause no anticipated 
cost or savings to local governments because the activities 
regulated by the statute and rule have no impact on local 
governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  It is anticipated that there will be no costs 
or savings for affected persons as the result of this 
amendment is simply to shorten the time in which a supplier 
has to give a required refund by approximately 10 days.  
Some small and incalculable savings may accrue in the form 
of fewer customer service costs as there should be fewer 
disgruntled consumers who become impatient when waiting 
for their refund as required refunds will be made within a time 
period which is easier to calculate and which is more 
consistent with the expectations of the consumer. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It is anticipated 
that affected persons will not incur any additional costs to 
comply with this amendment.  All affected persons are now 
required to pay required refunds within 30 business days.  
This amendment will simply require that they pay the required 
refund within 30 calendar days.  Some small and incalculable 
savings may accrue to some individual suppliers in the form of 
fewer customer service costs as there should be fewer 
disgruntled consumers who become impatient when waiting 
for their refund as required refunds will be made within a time 
period which is easier to calculate and which is more 
consistent with the expectations of the consumer. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There appears to be no 
discernable fiscal impact to businesses as a result of this rule 

filing, which reduces the time frame in which a supplier must 
provide a refund to a consumer from 30 "business" days to 30 
"calendar" days.  The change is primarily intended to simplify 
the calculation of the deadline for refunds. Businesses might 
be positively impacted by consumer confidence and spending 
as a result of expedited refunds from suppliers.  However, it is 
impossible to ascertain the amount of such impact. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
CONSUMER PROTECTION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Douglas Haymore at the above address, by phone at 801-
530-6929, by FAX at 801-530-6001, or by Internet E-mail at 
dhaymore@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Francine Giani, Director 
 
 
 
R152.  Commerce, Consumer Protection. 
R152-11.  Utah Consumer Sales Practices Act. 
R152-11-9.  Direct Solicitations. 
 A.  It shall be a deceptive act or practice in connection with a 
consumer transaction involving any direct solicitation sale for a 
supplier to do any of the following: 
 (1)  Solicit a sale without clearly, affirmatively, and expressly 
revealing at the time the seller initially contacts the consumer or 
prospective consumer, and before making any other statements or 
asking any questions, except for a greeting:  the name of the seller, the 
name or trade name of the company, corporation or partnership the 
seller represents, and stating in general terms the nature of the 
consumer commodities the seller wishes to show or demonstrate. 
 (2)  Represent that the consumer or prospective consumer will 
receive a discount, rebate, or other benefit for permitting his home or 
other property, real or personal, to be used as a so-called "model home" 
or "model property" for demonstration or advertising purposes when 
such, in fact, is not true; 
 (3)  Represent that the consumer or prospective consumer has 
been specially selected to receive a bargain, discount, or other 
advantage when such, in fact, is not true; 
 (4)  Represent that the consumer or prospective consumer is a 
winner of a contest when such, in fact, is not true; 
 (5)  Represent that the consumer commodities that are being 
offered for sale cannot be purchased in any place of business, but only 
through direct solicitation, when such, in fact, is not true; 
 (6)  Represent that the salesman representative, or agent has 
authority to negotiate the final terms of a consumer transaction when 
such, in fact, is not true; 
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 (7)  Sell, lease, or rent consumer goods or services with a purchase 
price of $25 or more and fail to furnish the buyer with a fully 
completed receipt or copy of any contract pertaining to such sale at the 
time of its execution which is in the same language (e.g. Spanish) as 
that principally used in the oral sales presentation and which shows the 
date of the transaction and the name and address of the seller. 
 (8)  Except as otherwise provided in the "Home Solicitations Sales 
Act", Section 70C-5-102(5) and or the "Telephone Fraud Prevention 
Act", Section 13-26-5, to fail to provide a notice of the buyer's right to 
cancel within three (3) business days at the time of purchase if the total 
of the sale exceeds $25, unless the supplier's cancellation policy is 
communicated to the buyer and the policy offers greater rights to the 
buyer than three days, which notice shall be in conspicuous statement 
written in dark bold at least 12 point type on the front page of the 
purchase documentation, and shall read as follows:  "You, the Buyer, 
May Cancel This Transaction At Any Time Prior to Midnight of the 
Third Business Day (or Time Period Reflecting the Supplier's 
Cancellation Policy But Not Less Than Three Business Days) After the 
Date of This Transaction or Receipt of The Product, Whichever is 
Later." 
 (a)  Paragraph (8) shall not apply to "fixture" solicitation sales 
where the supplier: 
 (i)  automatically provides the buyer a right to cancel within three 
(3) or more business days from the time of purchase; or 
 (ii)  automatically provides a refund for return of goods within 
three (3) or more business days from the time of purchase, but prior to 
installation as a fixture; or 
 (iii)  supplies merchandise to a buyer without prior full payment 
and allows the buyer three (3) or more business days from the time of 
receipt of the merchandise, but prior to installation as a fixture to cancel 
the order and return the merchandise; or 
 (iv)  discloses its refund/return policy in its advertising, catalog 
and contract, and that policy provides for a return of merchandise 
within a period of three (3) or more business days from the time of 
purchase, but prior to installation as a fixture or that policy indicates no 
return or refund will be offered or made on special merchandise (such 
as uniquely sized items, custom made or special ordered items); or 
 (9)  Fail or refuse to honor any valid notice of cancellation by a 
consumer and within 30 calendar[business] days after the receipt of 
such notice, to:  (i) refund all payments made under the contract or sale; 
(ii) return any goods or property traded in, in substantially as good 
condition as when received by the supplier; (iii) cancel and return any 
negotiable instrument executed by the buyer in connection with the 
contract or sale and take any action necessary or appropriate to 
terminate promptly any security interest created in the transaction. 
 B.  "Direct Solicitation" means solicitation of a consumer 
transaction initiated by a supplier, at the residence or place of 
employment of any consumer, and includes a sale or solicitation of sale 
made by the supplier by direct mail or telephone or personal contact at 
the residence or place of employment of any consumer.  In the case of a 
subscription or club membership (e.g., tape, book, or record club) 
solicitation, "direct solicitation" means solicitation of the initial 
consumer transaction pursuant to a subscription or club membership 
agreement, made by the supplier at the residence or place of 
employment of any consumer, and includes a solicitation of an initial 
sale made by the supplier by direct mail or telephone or personal 
contact at the residence or place of employment of any consumer, but 
excludes all subsequent consumer transactions which are provided for 
in the subscription or club membership agreement. 

 C.  "Time of Purchase" is defined as the day on which the buyer 
signs an agreement or accepts an offer to purchase consumer goods or 
services where the total of the sale is $25 or more. 
 
R152-11-10.  Deposits and Refunds. 
 A.  It shall be a deceptive act or practice in connection with a 
consumer transaction for a supplier to accept a deposit unless the 
following conditions are met: 
 (1)  The deposit obligates the supplier to refrain for a specified 
period of time from offering for sale to any other person the consumer 
commodities in relation to which the deposit has been made by the 
consumer if such consumer commodities are unique; provided that a 
supplier may continue to sell or offer to sell consumer commodities on 
which a deposit has been made if he has available sufficient consumer 
commodities to satisfy all consumers who have made deposits; 
 (2)  All deposits accepted by a supplier must be evidenced by 
dated receipts stating the following information: 
 (a)  Description of the consumer commodity, (including model, 
model year, when appropriate, make, and color); 
 (b)  The cash selling price; 
 (c)  Allowance on the consumer commodity to be traded in, if any; 
 (d)  Time during which the option is binding; 
 (e)  Whether the deposit is refundable and under what conditions; 
and 
 (f)  Any additional cost such as delivery charge. 
 (3)  For the purpose of this rule "deposit" means any payment in 
cash, or of anything of value or an obligation to pay including, but not 
limited to, a credit device transaction incurred by a consumer as a 
deposit, refundable or non-refundable option, or as partial payment for 
consumer commodities. 
 B.  It shall be a deceptive act or practice in connection with a 
consumer transaction when the consumer can provide reasonable proof 
of purchase from a supplier for the supplier to refuse to give refunds 
for: 
 (1)  Used, damaged or defective consumer commodities, unless 
they are clearly marked "as is" or with some other conspicuous 
disclaimer of any implied or express warranty, and also clearly marked 
that no refund will be given; or 
 (2)  Non-used, non-damaged or non-defective goods unless: 
 (a)  Such non-refund, exchange or credit policy, including any 
applicable restocking fee, is clearly indicated by a sign posted at the 
point of display, the point of sale, the store entrance, or through 
adequate verbal or written disclosure if the transaction occurs through 
the mail, over the telephone, via facsimile machine, via e-mail, or over 
the Internet; or 
 (b)  The consumer commodities are food, perishable items, 
merchandise which is substantially custom made or custom finished. 
 (3)  For the purpose of this rule "refund" means cash if payment 
were made in cash provided that if payment were made by check the 
refund may be delayed until the check has cleared; and further provided 
that if payment were made by debit to a credit card or other account, 
then refund may be made by an appropriate credit or refund pursuant to 
the applicable law. 
 C.  It shall be a deceptive act or practice in connection with a 
consumer transaction for a supplier who has accepted a deposit and has 
received from the consumer within a reasonable time a valid request for 
refund of the deposit to fail to make the refund within 30 
calendar[business] days after receipt of such request. 
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 (1)  In determining the amount required to be refunded under this 
rule, the supplier may take into consideration the nature of the 
commodity returned, the condition of the commodity returned, shipping 
charges if agreed to and any lawful restocking fee. 
 (2)  For purposes of this rule,"reasonable time" means within 30 
days of the date of the deposit unless a longer period is justified due to 
the nature of the commodity returned or any agreement between the 
parties. 
 D.  No deposit accepted by a supplier to secure the value of 
equipment or materials provided to a consumer for the consumer's use 
in any business opportunity where it is anticipated by either the 
consumer or the supplier that some remuneration will be paid to the 
consumer for services or goods supplied to the supplier or to some third 
party in the behalf of the supplier shall exceed the actual cost of the 
supplies or equipment paid by the supplier or any person acting on 
behalf of the supplier. 
 
KEY:  advertising, bait and switch, consumer protection 
[November 1, 2002]2004 
Notice of Continuation June 3, 2002 
63-46a-3 
13-2-5 
13-11 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-47b 
Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26937 

FILED:  02/05/2004, 12:32 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Division 
and the Utah Board of Massage Therapy are amending the 
rule to add a section regarding good moral character and to 
define disqualifying convictions that would affect applicants for 
licensure as a massage therapist. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Section R156-47b-302d is 
added which further defines "good moral character" by 
clarifying when an application for licensure as a massage 
therapist may be approved for an applicant who has a criminal 
background.  Section R156-47b-303 is amended to updated 
statute and rule citations. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 58-47b-101, and Subsections 58-1-106(1)(a) 
and 58-1-202(1)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The Division will incur minimal costs, 
approximately $100, to reprint the rule once the proposed 
amendments are made effective.  Any costs incurred will be 
absorbed in the Division's current budget. 

❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Proposed amendments do not apply 
to local governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  Applicants for licensure as a massage 
therapist may be affected by the proposed 
amendments if they have a criminal background in that they 
may not qualify for licensure.  The Division is unable to 
determine any exact costs that may be associated with an 
applicant not qualifying for licensure.  The Division is also 
unable to determine how many future applicants for licensure 
as a massage therapist may be affected. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Applicants for 
licensure as a massage therapist may be affected by the 
proposed 
amendments if they have a criminal background in that they 
may not qualify for licensure.  The Division is unable to 
determine any exact costs that may be associated with an 
applicant not qualifying for licensure.  The Division is also 
unable to determine how many future applicants for licensure 
as a massage therapist may be affected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This filing codifies into rule the 
existing standards used by the agency to screen licensure 
applicants with criminal backgrounds.  There appears to be no 
fiscal impact to businesses as a result of this rule change.  
Klarice A. Bachman, 
Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Clyde Ormond at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6254, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
cormond@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
 
 
R156.  Commerce, Occupational and Professional Licensing. 
R156-47b.  Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules. 
R156-47b-302d.  Good Moral Character - Disqualifying 
Convictions. 
 (1)  When reviewing an application to determine the good 
moral character of an applicant as set forth in Subsection 58-47b-
302(2)(c) and whether the applicant has been involved in 
unprofessional conduct as set forth in Subsections 58-1-501(2)(c), 
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the Division and the Board shall consider the applicant's criminal 
record as follows: 
 (a)  a criminal conviction for a sex offense as defined in Title 
76, Chapter 5, Part 4 and Chapter 5a, and Title 76, Chapter 10, Part 
12 and 13, shall disqualify an applicant from becoming licensed; or 
 (b)  a criminal conviction for the following crimes may 
disqualify an applicant for becoming licensed: 
 (i)  crimes against a person as defined in Title 76, Chapter 5, 
Parts 1, 2 and 3; 
 (ii)  crimes against property as defined in Title 76, Chapter 6, 
Parts 1 through 6; 
 (iii)  any offense involving controlled dangerous substances; or 
 (iv)  conspiracy to commit or any attempt to commit any of the 
above offenses. 
 (2)  An applicant who has a criminal conviction for a felony 
crime of violence may not be considered eligible for licensure for a 
period of seven years from the termination of parole, probation, 
judicial proceeding or date of incident, whichever is later. 
 (3)  An applicant who has a criminal conviction for a felony 
involving a controlled substance may not be considered eligible for 
licensure for a period of five years from the termination of parole, 
probation, judicial proceeding or date of incident, whichever is later. 
 (4)  An applicant who has a criminal conviction for any 
misdemeanor crime of violence or the use of a controlled substance 
may not be considered eligible for licensure for a period of three 
years from the termination of parole, probation, judicial proceeding 
or date of incident, whichever is later. 
 (5)  Each application for licensure or renewal of licensure shall 
be considered in accordance with the requirements of Section R156-
1-302. 
 
R156-47b-303.  Renewal Cycle - Procedures. 
 (1)  In accordance with Subsection 58-1-308(1)(a), the renewal 
date for the two-year renewal cycle applicable to licensees under 
Title 58, Chapter 47b is established by rule in Section R156-1-308a. 
 (2)  Renewal procedures shall be in accordance with Sections 
R156-1-308c through R156-1-308e. 
 
KEY:  licensing, massage therapy 
[May 19, 2003]2004 
Notice of Continuation February 26, 2001 
58-1-106(1)(a) 
58-1-202(1)(a) 
58-47b-101 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Real Estate 

R162-6-2 
Standards of Practice 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26944 

FILED:  02/10/2004, 16:25 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Survey 
Addendum is no longer an approved form, and therefore, it 
should be deleted from the list of forms approved for use by 
licensees. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Survey Addendum is 
deleted from the list of approved forms. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 61-2-20 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  None--Which forms are approved for 
use by real estate agents has no impact on State budget. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Which forms are approved for 
use by real estate agents has no impact on local 
governments. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  None--Only real estate agents and brokers 
are required to use the approved real estate forms.  Other 
persons may use any real estate contracts they wish to use. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Any cost to real 
estate agents and brokers would be caused by the decision of 
the Utah Real Estate Commission and the Utah Attorney 
General's Office that the Survey Addendum is no longer an 
approved form, and not by this rule change reflecting the 
elimination of the form as an approved form. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  No fiscal impact to businesses 
is anticipated as a result of this rule filing, which merely 
updates the list of standard forms approved by the Attorney 
General's Office and the Real Estate Commission. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
REAL ESTATE 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Shelley Wismer at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6761, by FAX at 801-530-6749, or by Internet E-mail at 
swismer@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 04/14/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/15/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Klare Bachman, Executive Director 
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R162.  Commerce, Real Estate. 
R162-6.  Licensee Conduct. 
R162-6-2.  Standards of Practice. 
 6.2.1.  Approved Forms.  The following standard forms are 
approved by the Utah Real Estate Commission and the Office of the 
Attorney General for use by all licensees: 
 (a)  August 5, 2003, Real Estate Purchase Contract (use of this 
form shall be mandatory beginning January 1, 2004); 
 (b)  January 1, 1999 Real Estate Purchase Contract for 
Residential Construction; 
 (c)  January 1, 1987, Uniform Real Estate Contract; 
 (d)  October 1, 1983, All Inclusive Trust Deed; 
 (e)  October 1, 1983, All Inclusive Promissory Note Secured by 
All Inclusive Trust Deed; 
 (f)  August 5, 2003, Addendum to Real Estate Purchase 
Contract; 
 (g)  January 1, 1999, Seller Financing Addendum to Real Estate 
Purchase Contract; 
 [(h)  January 1, 1999, Survey Addendum to Real Estate 
Purchase Contract; 
 (i)](h)  January 1, 1999, Buyer Financial Information Sheet; 
 [(j)](i)  August 5, 2003, FHA/VA Loan Addendum to Real 
Estate Purchase Contract; 
 [(k)](j) January 1, 1999, Assumption Addendum to Real Estate 
Purchase Contract; 
 [(l)](k)  January 1, 1999, Lead-based Paint Addendum to Real 
Estate Purchase Contract; 
 [(m)](l)  January 1, 1999, Disclosure and Acknowledgment 
Regarding Lead-based Paint and/or Lead-based Paint Hazards. 
 6.2.1.1.  Forms Required for Closing.  Principal brokers and 
associate brokers may fill out forms in addition to the standard state-
approved forms if the additional forms are necessary to close a 
transaction.  Examples include closing statements, and warranty or 
quit claim deeds. 
 6.2.1.2.  Forms Prepared by an Attorney.  Any licensee may fill 
out forms prepared by the attorney for the buyer or lessee or the 
attorney for the seller or lessor to be used in place of any form listed 
in R162-6.2.1 (a) through (g) if the buyer or lessee or the seller or 
lessor requests that other forms be used and the licensee verifies that 
the forms have in fact been drafted by the attorney for the buyer or 
lessee, or the attorney for the seller or lessor. 
 6.2.1.3.  Additional Forms.  If it is necessary for a licensee to 
use a form for which there is no state-approved form, for example a 
lease, the licensee may fill in the blanks on any form which has been 
prepared by an attorney, regardless of whether the attorney was 
employed for the purpose by the buyer, seller, lessor, lessee, 
brokerage, or an entity whose business enterprise is selling blank 
legal forms. 
 6.2.1.4.  Standard Supplementary Clauses.  There are Standard 
Supplementary Clauses approved by the Utah Real Estate 
Commission which may be added to Real Estate Purchase Contracts 
by all licensees.  The use of the Standard Supplementary Clauses 
will not be considered the unauthorized practice of law. 
 6.2.2.  Copies of Agreement.  After a purchase agreement is 
properly signed by both the buyer and seller, it is the responsibility 
of each participating licensee to cause copies thereof, bearing all 
signatures, to be delivered or mailed to the buyer and seller with 
whom the licensee is dealing.  The licensee preparing the document 
shall not have the parties sign for a final copy of the document prior 
to all parties signing the contract evidencing agreement to the terms 
thereof.  After a lease is properly signed by both landlord and tenant, 

it is the responsibility of the principal broker to cause copies of the 
lease to be delivered or mailed to the landlord or tenant with whom 
the brokerage or property management company is dealing. 
 6.2.3.  Residential Construction Agreement.  The Real Estate 
Purchase Contract for Residential Construction must be used for all 
transactions for the construction of dwellings to be built or presently 
under construction for which a Certificate of Occupancy has not 
been issued. 
 6.2.4.  Real Estate Auctions.  A principal broker who contracts 
or in any manner affiliates with an auctioneer or auction company 
which is not licensed under the provisions of Section 61-2-1 et seq. 
for the purpose of enabling that auctioneer or auction company to 
auction real property in this state, shall be responsible to assure that 
all aspects of the auction comply with the requirements of this 
section and all other laws otherwise applicable to real estate 
licensees in real estate transactions.  Auctioneers and auction 
companies who are not licensed under the provisions of Section 61-
2-1 et seq. may conduct auctions of real property located within this 
state upon the following conditions: 
 6.2.4.1.  Advertising.  All advertising and promotional 
materials associated with an auction must conspicuously disclose 
that the auction is conducted under the supervision of a named 
principal broker licensed in this state; and 
 6.2.4.2.  Supervision.  The auction must be conducted under the 
supervision of a principal broker licensed in this state who must be 
present at the auction; and 
 6.2.4.3.  Use of Approved Forms.  Any purchase agreements 
used at the auction must meet the requirements of Section 61-2-20 
and must be filled out by a Utah real estate licensee; and 
 6.2.4.4.  Placement of Deposits.  All monies deposited at the 
auction must be placed either in the real estate trust account of the 
principal broker who is supervising the auction or in an escrow 
depository agreed to in writing by the parties to the transaction. 
 6.2.4.5.  Closing Arrangements.  The principal broker 
supervising the auction shall be responsible to assure that adequate 
arrangements are made for the closing of each real estate transaction 
arising out of the auction. 
 6.2.5.  Guaranteed Sales.  As used herein, the term "guaranteed 
sales plan" includes:  (a) any plan in which a seller's real estate is 
guaranteed to be sold or; (b) any plan whereby a licensee or anyone 
affiliated with a licensee will purchase a seller's real estate if it is not 
purchased by a third party in the specified period of a listing or 
within some other specified period of time. 
 6.2.5.1.  In any real estate transaction involving a guaranteed 
sales plan, the licensee shall provide full disclosure as provided 
herein regarding the guarantee: 
 (a)  Written Advertising.  Any written advertisement by a 
licensee of a "guaranteed sales plan" shall include a statement 
advising the seller that if the seller is eligible, costs and conditions 
may apply and advising the seller to inquire of the licensee as to the 
terms of the guaranteed sales agreement.  This information shall be 
set forth in print at least one-fourth as large as the largest print in the 
advertisement. 
 (b)  Radio/Television Advertising.  Any radio or television 
advertisement by a licensee of a "guaranteed sales plan" shall 
include a conspicuous statement advising if any conditions and 
limitations apply. 
 (c)  Guaranteed Sales Agreements.  Every guaranteed sales 
agreement must be in writing and contain all of the conditions and 
other terms under which the property is guaranteed to be sold or 
purchased, including the charges or other costs for the service or 
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plan, the price for which the property will be sold or purchased and 
the approximate net proceeds the seller may reasonably expect to 
receive. 
 6.2.6.  Agency Disclosure.  In every real estate transaction 
involving a licensee, as agent or principal, the licensee shall clearly 
disclose in writing to his respective client(s) or any unrepresented 
parties, his agency relationship(s).  The disclosure shall be made 
prior to the parties entering into a binding agreement with each 
other.  The disclosure shall become part of the permanent file. 
 6.2.6.1.  When a binding agreement is signed in a sales 
transaction, the prior agency disclosure shall be confirmed in the 
currently approved Real Estate Purchase Contract or, with 
substantially similar language, in a separate provision incorporated 
in or attached to that binding agreement. 
 6.2.6.2.  When a lease or rental agreement is signed, a separate 
provision shall be incorporated in or attached to it confirming the 
prior agency disclosure.  The agency disclosure shall be in the form 
stated in R162-6.2.6.1, but shall substitute terms applicable for a 
rental transaction for the terms "buyer", "seller", "listing agent", and 
"selling agent". 
 6.2.6.3.  Disclosure to other agents.  An agent who has 
established an agency relationship with a principal shall disclose 
who he or she represents to another agent upon initial contact with 
the other agent. 
 6.2.7.  Duty to Inform.  Sales agents and associate brokers must 
keep their principal broker or branch broker informed on a timely 
basis of all real estate transactions in which the licensee is involved, 
as agent or principal, in which the licensee has received funds on 
behalf of the principal broker or in which an offer has been written. 
 6.2.8.  Broker Supervision.  Principal brokers and associate 
brokers who are branch brokers shall be responsible for exercising 
active supervision over the conduct of all licensees affiliated with 
them. 
 6.2.8.1.  A broker will not be held responsible for inadequate 
supervision if: 
 (a)  An affiliated licensee violates a provision of Section 61-2-
1, et seq., or the rules promulgated thereunder, in contravention of 
the supervising broker's specific written policies or instructions; and 
 (b)  Reasonable procedures were established by the broker to 
ensure that licensees receive adequate supervision and the broker has 
followed those procedures; and 
 (c)  Upon learning of the violation, the broker attempted to 
prevent or mitigate the damage; and 
 (d)  The broker did not participate in the violation; and 
 (e)  The broker did not ratify the violation; and 
 (f)  The broker did not attempt to avoid learning of the 
violation. 
 6.2.8.2.  The existence of an independent contractor 
relationship or any other special compensation arrangement between 
the broker and affiliated licensees shall not release the broker and 
licensees of any duties, obligations, or responsibilities. 
 6.2.9.  Disclosure of Fees.  If a real estate licensee who is acting 
as an agent in a transaction will receive any type of fee in connection 
with a real estate transaction in addition to a real estate commission, 
that fee must be disclosed in writing to all parties to the transaction. 
 6.2.10.  Fees from Builders.  All fees paid to a licensee for 
referral of prospects to builders must be paid to the licensee by the 
principal broker with whom he is licensed and affiliated.  All fees 
must be disclosed as required by R162-6.2.10. 
 6.2.11.  Fees from Manufactured Housing Dealers.  If a 
licensee refers a prospect to a manufactured home dealer or a mobile 

home dealer, under terms as defined in Section 58-56-1, et seq., any 
fee paid for the referral of a prospect must be paid to him by the 
principal broker with whom he is licensed. 
 6.2.12.  Gifts and Inducements.  A gift given by a principal 
broker to a buyer or seller, lessor or lessee, in a real estate 
transaction as an inducement to use the services of a real estate 
brokerage, or in appreciation for having used the services of a 
brokerage, is permissible and is not an illegal sharing of 
commission.  If an inducement is to be offered to a buyer or seller, 
lessor or lessee, who will not be obligated to pay a real estate 
commission in a transaction, the principal broker must notify the 
party who will pay the commission that the inducement will be 
offered.  This rule does not authorize a principal broker to give any 
type of inducement that would violate the underwriting guidelines 
that apply to the loan for which a borrower has applied. 
 6.2.13.  "Due-On-Sale" Clauses.  Real estate licensees have an 
affirmative duty to disclose in writing to buyers and sellers the 
existence or possible existence of a "due-on-sale" clause in an 
underlying encumbrance on real property, and the potential 
consequences of selling or purchasing a property without obtaining 
the authorization of the holder of the underlying encumbrance. 
 6.2.14.  Personal Assistants.  With the permission of the 
principal broker with whom the licensee is affiliated, the licensee 
may employ an unlicensed individual to provide services in 
connection with real estate transactions which do not require a real 
estate license, including the following examples: 
 (a)  Clerical duties, including making appointments for 
prospects to meet with real estate licensees, but only if the contact 
has been initiated by the prospect and not by the unlicensed person; 
 (b)  At an open house, distributing preprinted literature written 
by a licensee, so long as a licensee is present and the unlicensed 
person furnishes no additional information concerning the property 
or financing and does not become involved in negotiating, offering, 
selling or filling in contracts; 
 (c)  Acting only as a courier service in delivering documents, 
picking up keys, or similar services, so long as the courier does not 
engage in any discussion of, or filling in of, the documents; 
 (d)  Placing brokerage signs on listed properties; 
 (e)  Having keys made for listed properties; and 
 (f)  Securing public records from the County Recorders' 
Offices, zoning offices, sewer districts, water districts, or similar 
entities. 
 6.2.14.1.  If personal assistants are compensated for their work, 
they shall be compensated at a predetermined rate which is not 
contingent upon the occurrence of real estate transactions.  
Licensees may not share commissions with unlicensed persons who 
have assisted in transactions by performing the services listed in this 
rule. 
 6.2.14.2.  The licensee who hires the unlicensed person will be 
responsible for supervising the unlicensed person's activities, and 
shall ensure that the unlicensed person does not perform activity 
which requires a real estate license. 
 6.2.14.3.  Unlicensed individuals may not engage in telephone 
solicitation or other activity calculated to result in securing prospects 
for real estate transactions, except as provided in R162-6.2.15.(a) 
above. 
 6.2.15.  Fiduciary Duties.  A principal broker and licensees 
acting on his behalf owe the following fiduciary duties to the 
principal: 
 6.2.15.1.  Duties of a seller's or lessor's agent.  A principal 
broker and licensees acting on his behalf who act solely on behalf of 
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the seller or the lessor owe the seller or the lessor the following 
fiduciary duties: 
 (a)  Loyalty, which obligates the agent to act in the best interest 
of the seller or the lessor instead of all other interests, including the 
agent's own; 
 (b)  Obedience, which obligates the agent to obey all lawful 
instructions from the seller or lessor; 
 (c)  Full disclosure, which obligates the agent to tell the seller 
or lessor all material information which the agent learns about the 
buyer or lessee or about the transaction; 
 (d)  Confidentiality, which prohibits the agent from disclosing 
any information given to the agent by the seller or lessor which 
would likely weaken the seller's or lessor's bargaining position if it 
were known, unless the agent has permission from the seller or 
lessor to disclose the information.  This duty does not require the 
agent to withhold any known material fact concerning a defect in the 
property or the seller's or lessor's ability to perform his obligations; 
 (e)  Reasonable care and diligence; 
 (f)  Holding safe and accounting for all money or property 
entrusted to the agent; and 
 (g)  Any additional duties created by the agency agreement. 
 6.2.15.2.  Duties of a buyer's or lessee's agent.  A principal 
broker and licensees acting on his behalf who act solely on behalf of 
the buyer or lessee owe the buyer or lessee the following fiduciary 
duties: 
 (a)  Loyalty, which obligates the agent to act in the best interest 
of the buyer or lessee instead of all other interests, including the 
agent's own; 
 (b)  Obedience, which obligates the agent to obey all lawful 
instructions from the buyer or lessee; 
 (c)  Full Disclosure, which obligates the agent to tell the buyer 
or lessee all material information which the agent learns about the 
property or the seller's or lessor's ability to perform his obligations; 
 (d)  Confidentiality, which prohibits the agent from disclosing 
any information given to the agent by the buyer or lessee which 
would likely weaken the buyer's or lessee's bargaining position if it 
were known, unless the agent has permission from the buyer or 
lessee to disclose the information.  This duty does not permit the 
agent to misrepresent, either affirmatively or by omission, the 
buyer's or lessee's financial condition or ability to perform; 
 (e)  Reasonable care and diligence; 
 (f)  Holding safe and accounting for all money or property 
entrusted to the agent; and 
 (g)  Any additional duties created by the agency agreement. 
 6.2.15.3.  Duties of a limited agent.  A principal broker and 
licensees acting on his behalf who act as agent for both seller and 
buyer, or lessor and lessee, commonly referred to as "dual agents," 
are limited agents since the fiduciary duties owed to seller and to 
buyer, or to lessor and lessee, are inherently contradictory.  A 
principal broker and licensees acting on his behalf may act in this 
limited agency capacity only if the informed consent of both buyer 
and seller, or lessor and lessee, is obtained. 
 6.2.15.3.1.  In order to obtain informed consent, the principal 
broker or a licensee acting on his behalf shall clearly explain to both 
buyer and seller, or lessor and lessee, that they are each entitled to be 
represented by their own agent if they so choose, and shall obtain 
written agreement from both parties that they will each be giving up 
performance by the agent of the following fiduciary duties: 
 (a)  The principal broker or a licensee acting on his behalf shall 
explain to buyer and seller, or lessor and lessee, that they are giving 
up their right to demand undivided loyalty from the agent, although 

the agent, acting in this neutral capacity, shall advance the interest of 
each party so long as it does not conflict with the interest of the 
other party.  In the event of conflicting interests, the agent will be 
held to the standard of neutrality; and 
 (b)  The principal broker or a licensee acting on his behalf shall 
explain to buyer and seller, or lessor and lessee, that there will be a 
conflict as to a limited agent's duties of confidentiality and full 
disclosure, and shall explain what kinds of information will be held 
confidential if told to a limited agent by either buyer or seller, or 
lessor and lessee, and what kinds of information will be disclosed if 
told to the limited agent by either party.  The limited agent may not 
disclose any information given to the agent by either principal which 
would likely weaken that party's bargaining position if it were 
known, unless the agent has permission from the principal to 
disclose the information; and 
 (c)  The principal broker or a licensee acting on his behalf shall 
explain to the buyer and seller, or lessor and lessee, that the limited 
agent will be required to disclose information given to the agent in 
confidence by one of the parties if failure to disclose the information 
would be a material misrepresentation regarding the property or 
regarding the abilities of the parties to fulfill their obligations. 
 (d)  The Division and the Commission shall consider use of 
consent language approved by the Division and the Commission to 
be informed consent. 
 6.2.15.3.2.  In addition, a limited agent owes the following 
fiduciary duties to all parties: 
 (a)  Obedience, which obligates the limited agent to obey all 
lawful instructions from either the buyer or the seller, lessor and 
lessee, consistent with the agent's duty of neutrality; 
 (b)  Reasonable care and diligence; 
 (c)  Holding safe all money or property entrusted to the limited 
agent; and 
 (d)  Any additional duties created by the agency agreement. 
 6.2.15.4.  Duties of a sub-agent.  A principal broker and 
licensees acting on his behalf who act as sub-agents owe the same 
fiduciary duty to a principal as the brokerage retained by the 
principal. 
 
KEY:  real estate business 
[2003]2004 
Notice of Continuation June 7, 2002 
61-2-5.5 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-110-28 
Regional Haze 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26946 

FILED:  02/11/2004, 14:19 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the amendment is to bring Section XX, the 
Regional Haze, in the State Implementation Plan (SIP), into 
alignment with amendments to the federal regional haze rule, 
40 CFR 51.309(d)(5) that were promulgated on December 22, 
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2003, and to add a paragraph in the plan clarifying that the 
declining milestones for sulfur dioxide emissions from 
stationary sources meet the requirements of the federal rule 
for all Class I areas through 2018. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed change in 
Section R307-110-28 is to change the date of most recent 
adoption of the SIP to May 5, 2004, the expected date of 
adoption by the Air Quality Board.  Two changes are made in 
the Regional Haze plan that is incorporated by reference 
under Section R307-110-28.  The first is to replace the mobile 
source chapter of the plan to meet the federal requirements 
published on December 22, 2003 (68 FR 71009).  The Air 
Quality Board adopted Utah's SIP for regional haze on 
November 17, 2003 (DAR No. 26616; a change in proposed 
rule (CPR) published in the December 1, 2003, Bulletin).  Two 
versions of the chapter addressing vehicle pollution were 
considered during the public comment period; one addressed 
the original language of 40 CFR 51.309(d)(5), and the other 
addressed the requirements of a proposed revision to the 
federal rule.  The Board adopted the chapter addressing the 
original language because the federal revision had not been 
promulgated by November 17, 2003, when the Board adopted 
the plan.  This amendment to the plan deletes the original 
version of the chapter addressing pollution from vehicles and 
adds the chapter addressing the new federal requirements.  
The second change is the addition of a paragraph clarifying 
that the plan's declining milestones for sulfur dioxide 
emissions from large stationary sources meet the 
requirements of the federal rule for all Class I areas through 
2018.  Technical analysis to support that statement is included 
in the Technical Support Document prepared with the plan 
adopted on November 17, 2003. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(3)(q) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  State Implementation Plan, Section XX, 
Regional Haze (May 5, 2004, edition) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The changes in the plan do not change 
costs to the state budget.  Under both versions, Utah is 
required to submit to EPA emissions inventory information and 
to assess the impact every five years of vehicle emissions on 
visibility in the 16 Class I areas on the Colorado Plateau. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None of the changes affect local 
governments, and there is no cost to them. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There are no changes in costs or benefits. 
 No costs to vehicle owners were anticipated in the original 
plan, and the proposed revisions to the mobile sources 
chapter do not change that assessment.  As for the stationary 
source chapter, the revision is a clarification in the language 
and does not change anticipated costs or benefits. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
affected persons and thus no costs or benefits.  No costs to 
vehicle owners were anticipated in the original plan, and the 
revisions to the mobile sources chapter do not change that 
assessment.  As for the stationary source chapter, these are 

clarifications in the language and do not change anticipated 
costs or benefits. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no affected 
businesses and thus no costs or benefits.  No costs to vehicle 
owners were anticipated in the original plan, and the revisions 
to the mobile sources chapter do not change that assessment. 
 As for the stationary source chapter, these are clarifications in 
the language and do not change anticipated costs or benefits. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  3/24/2004 at 1:30 PM, DEQ Building, 168 N 1950 
W, Room 201, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/05/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-110.  General Requirements:  State Implementation Plan. 
R307-110-28.  Regional Haze. 
 The Utah State Implementation Plan, Section XX, Regional 
Haze, as most recently amended by the Utah Air Quality Board on 
[November 17, 2003]May 5, 2004, pursuant to Section 19-2-104, is 
hereby incorporated by reference and made a part of these rules. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, particulate matter, ozone 
[2003]2004 
Notice of Continuation March 27, 2002 
19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-415-6c 
Permit Content:  Compliance 

Requirements 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26947 
FILED:  02/11/2004, 14:25 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of the amendment is to bring Utah's rule into 
alignment with new federal requirements.  The federal rule (40 
CFR 70.6c (68 FR 38518) published on June 27, 2003) 
requires that states revise their rules by June 28, 2004. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The interpretation of the 
federal provisions for continuous or intermittent compliance 
certification by sources of air pollution that are subject to Title 
V of the Clean Air Act has been under discussion for many 
years.  The federal rule revision promulgated at 68 FR 38518 
on June 27, 2003, settles the questions, and this amendment 
to Section R307-415-6c implements the new federal 
language.  However, there is no change in required 
procedures in Utah, as Utah has been following this 
interpretation already. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-2-109.1, and 40 CFR 70.6c 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no cost to the state budget, as 
all costs of the Operating Permit program are funded by fees 
paid by the affected sources. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There are several local governments 
that own sources that are subject to Operating Permits 
requirements, but Utah's requirements do not change for them 
and there is no cost to the sources. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  While the discussion of the proper 
interpretation of the federal requirements has gone on at the 
federal level, Utah has implemented the requirements that 
have now been promulgated by EPA.  Therefore, there is no 
change in what sources in Utah are required to do, and thus 
no cost to them. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  While the 
discussion of the proper interpretation of the federal 
requirements has gone on at the federal level, Utah has 
implemented the requirements that have now been 
promulgated by EPA.  Therefore, there is no change in what 
sources in Utah are required to do, and thus no cost to them. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  We are glad that the 
interpretation of federal provisions is now settled so that 
sources of air pollution have more certainty about 
requirements that apply to them. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  3/17/2004 at 1:30 PM, Air Quality Building, 150 N 
1950 W, Main Conference Room, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/05/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-415.  Permits:  Operating Permit Requirements. 
R307-415-6c.  Permit Content:  Compliance Requirements. 
 All operating permits shall contain all of the following elements 
with respect to compliance: 
 (1)  Consistent with R307-415-6a(3), compliance certification, 
testing, monitoring, reporting, and recordkeeping requirements 
sufficient to assure compliance with the terms and conditions of the 
permit.  Any document, including any report, required by an 
operating permit shall contain a certification by a responsible official 
that meets the requirements of R307-415-5d; 
 (2)  Inspection and entry requirements that require that, upon 
presentation of credentials and other documents as may be required 
by law, the permittee shall allow the Executive Secretary or an 
authorized representative to perform any of the following: 
 (a)  Enter upon the permittee's premises where a Part 70 source 
is located or emissions-related activity is conducted, or where 
records must be kept under the conditions of the permit; 
 (b)  Have access to and copy, at reasonable times, any records 
that must be kept under the conditions of the permit; 
 (c)  Inspect at reasonable times any facilities, equipment 
(including monitoring and air pollution control equipment), 
practices, or operations regulated or required under the permit; 
 (d)  Sample or monitor at reasonable times substances or 
parameters for the purpose of assuring compliance with the permit 
or applicable requirements; 
 (e)  Claims of confidentiality on the information obtained 
during an inspection shall be made pursuant to Section 19-1-306; 
 (3)  A schedule of compliance consistent with R307-415-5c(8); 
 (4)  Progress reports consistent with an applicable schedule of 
compliance and R307-415-5c(8) to be submitted semiannually, or at 
a more frequent period if specified in the applicable requirement or 
by the Executive Secretary.  Such progress reports shall contain all 
of the following: 
 (a)  Dates for achieving the activities, milestones, or 
compliance required in the schedule of compliance, and dates when 
such activities, milestones or compliance were achieved; 
 (b)  An explanation of why any dates in the schedule of 
compliance were not or will not be met, and any preventive or 
corrective measures adopted; 
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 (5)  Requirements for compliance certification with terms and 
conditions contained in the permit, including emission limitations, 
standards, or work practices.  Permits shall include all of the 
following: 
 (a)  Annual submission of compliance certification, or more 
frequently if specified in the applicable requirement or by the 
Executive Secretary; 
 (b)  In accordance with R307-415-6a(3), a means for 
monitoring the compliance of the source with its emissions 
limitations, standards, and work practices; 
 (c)  A requirement that the compliance certification include all 
of the following (provided that the identification of applicable 
information may reference the permit or previous reports, as 
applicable): 
 (i)  The identification of each term or condition of the permit 
that is the basis of the certification; 
 (ii)  The identification of the methods or other means used by 
the owner or operator for determining the compliance status with 
each term and condition during the certification period[, and whether 
such methods or other means provide continuous or intermittent 
data].  Such methods and other means shall include, at a minimum, 
the methods and means required under R307-415-6a(3)[.  If 
necessary, the owner or operator also shall identify any other 
material information that must be included in the certification to 
comply with section 113(c)(2) of the Act, which prohibits 
knowingly making a false certification or omitting material 
information]; 
 (iii)  The status of compliance with the terms and conditions of 
the permit for the period covered by the certification, including 
whether compliance during the period was continuous or 
intermittent.  The certification shall be based on the method or 
means designated in (ii) above.  The certification shall identify each 
deviation and take it into account in the compliance certification.  
The certification shall also identify as possible exceptions to 
compliance any periods during which compliance is required and in 
which an excursion or exceedance as defined under 40 CFR Part 64 
occurred; and 
 (iv)  Such other facts as the executive secretary may require to 
determine the compliance status of the source; 
 (d)  A requirement that all compliance certifications be 
submitted to the EPA as well as to the Executive Secretary; 
 (e)  Such additional requirements as may be specified pursuant 
to Section 114(a)(3) of the Act, Enhanced Monitoring and 
Compliance Certification, and Section 504(b) of the Act, Monitoring 
and Analysis; 
 (6)  Such other provisions as the Executive Secretary may 
require. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, environmental protection, operating 
permits, emission fees 
[December 31, 2003]2004 
Notice of Continuation February 9, 2004 
19-2-109.1 
19-2-104 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

R365-4 
Sub-Domain Naming Conventions for 

Executive Branch Agencies 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26953 
FILED:  02/17/2004, 17:53 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
"utah.gov" identifier is intended to provide the following 
features to the State of Utah and its agencies:  1) the ".gov" 
sub-domain identifier is controlled by the Federal ".gov" 
domain registrar, thereby protecting state interests; 2) the 
State of Utah, Chief Information Officer's (CIO) office is 
responsible for issuance of all "utah.gov" sub-domains, further 
protecting the integrity of the identifier; 3) the "utah.gov" 
identifier offers immediate recognition to constituents for 
developing credibility and confidence through a consistent 
interface; and 4) the "utah.gov" sub-domain simplifies 
constituent access to state agency services. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule requires sub-
domains to conform to the "utah.gov" domain naming 
convention. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 63D-1a-301.2 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  None--It is not anticipated that 
incremental cost or savings will occur from conforming to the 
"utah.gov" brand.  Changes implemented are negligible, and 
can be performed by existing staff.  Benefits will occur through 
consistent and protected branding resulting in improved 
constituent confidence. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--No cost or savings anticipated, 
local government not regulated by this rule. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  None--No cost or savings anticipated, 
persons other than executive branch agencies are not 
regulated by this rule. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Non-State-Agency 
organizations will not be impacted by any costs associated 
with compliance to this rule because they are not regulated by 
this rule. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule furthers the 
commitment of the State of Utah to simplify citizen access to, 
and improve confidence in, State IT services through 
consistent branding and a protected naming convention.  It is 
not anticipated that this rule will have any fiscal impact on 
businesses.  Val Oveson, CIO 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

GOVERNOR 
PLANNING AND BUDGET, 
CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER 
Room 116 STATE CAPITOL 
350 N STATE ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1103, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Randy Hughes at the above address, by phone at 801-537-
9071, by FAX at 801-538-1547, or by Internet E-mail at 
randyhughes@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Val Oveson, Chief Information Officer 
 
 
 
R365.  Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief Information 
Officer. 
R365-4.  Sub-Domain Naming Conventions for Executive 
Branch Agencies. 
R365-4-1.  Purpose. 
 The "utah.gov" identifier is intended to provide the following 
features to the State of Utah and its agencies. 
 1.1  The ".gov" sub-domain identifier is controlled by the 
Federal .gov domain registrar, thereby protecting state interests. 
 1.2  The State of Utah, Chief Information Officer's (CIO) office 
is responsible for issuance of all "utah.gov" sub-domains, further 
protecting the integrity of the identifier. 
 1.3  The "utah.gov" identifier offers immediate recognition to 
constituents for developing credibility and confidence through a 
consistent interface. 
 1.4  The "utah.gov" sub-domain simplifies constituent access to 
state agency services. 
 
R365-4-2.  Authority. 
 This rule is issued by the Chief Information Officer under the 
authority of Section 63D-1a-301.2 of the Information Technology 
Act, and in accordance with Section 63-46a-3 of the Utah 
Rulemaking Act, Utah Code Annotated. 
 
R365-4-3.  Scope of Application. 
 All state agencies of the executive branch of the State of Utah 
government shall comply with this rule, which provides a consistent 
internet access identifier for the State of Utah through the "utah.gov" 
sub-domain. 
 
R365-4-4.  Definitions. 
 4.1  "Sub-Domain:"  A meaningful name or "handle" for 
addressing computers and information on the Internet.  Domain 
names typically end with a suffix that denotes the type or location of 
a resource (for instance, ".com" for commercial resources or ".gov" 
for government resources). 

 4.2  URL:  "Uniform Resource Locator" which is an addressing 
standard used to find documents and media on the Internet. 
 4.3  "Sub-Domain Registrar" Authoritative source within the 
State of Utah's CIO office, or the Federal .gov registrar. 
 4.4  TLD:  Top level domain, including, but not limited to .net, 
.org, .com, etc. 
 4.5  Publicize:  To advertise or otherwise publicly disseminate 
information regarding a TLD. 
 
R365-4-5.  Compliance and Responsibilities. 
 5.1  Any state executive branch agency that develops, hosts, or 
funds a website shall only register a sub-domain using the 
"utah.gov" naming convention. 
 5.2  No state executive branch agency may publicize a sub-
domain in a TLD such as .org, .net, .com or any other available TLD 
not conforming to this rule. 
 
R365-4-6.  Exceptions. 
 6.1  The requirements of this rule do not apply to funds that are 
"passed-through" or contracted to a private non-profit or for-profit 
entity and subsequently used by that entity for its own website or for 
the purchase of a URL. 
 6.2  The CIO may provide a waiver for an "extraordinary 
environment" for which it is demonstrated that use of the "utah.gov" 
identifier would cause demonstrable harm to citizens or business.  
Requests for waiver must be submitted with justification to the CIO 
by the requesting agency Executive Director. 
 6.3  Any agency may retain an existing sub-domain under 
"state.ut.us' for up to 2 years from the effective date of this rule 
provided they show an active plan for migration to the "utah.gov" 
identifier. 
 6.4  Non-Conforming TLDs may be obtained or retained solely 
for the purpose of re-direction to an approved "utah.gov" TLD, or to 
retain ownership of the TLD for avoiding identifier misuse, provided 
the non-conforming TLD is not publicized. 
 
R365-4-7.  Rule Compliance Management. 
 A state executive branch agency executive director, or 
designee, upon becoming aware of a violation, shall enforce the rule. 
The CIO may, where appropriate, monitor compliance and report to 
the executive director any findings or violations of this rule. 
 The CIO may further enforce this rule by requesting that the 
entity responsible for providing identifier mapping withhold or 
remove the offending TLD from state production servers. 
 
KEY:  utah.gov 
2004 
63D-1a-301.2 
63-46a-3 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Human Services, Administration 

R495-882 
Termination of Parental Rights 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26936 
FILED:  02/03/2004, 13:32 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to clarify that the Office of Recovery 
Services (ORS) will continue to collect arrears that have 
accrued prior to parental rights being terminated on cases 
where the child was in the care or custody of the state. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This proposed rule allows 
ORS to continue to collect arrears that have accrued prior to 
the termination of parental rights on those cases where the 
child was in the care or custody of the state in accordance 
with Section 78-3a-413. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-1-117, 78-3a-413, and 78-3a-906 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The decision to collect arrears that have 
accrued prior to the termination of parental rights on cases 
where the child was in the care or custody of the state will not 
impact the state budget.  ORS has always collected arrears 
on these types of cases and the rule change does not pose a 
change to ORS procedures. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule change will not impact local 
government.  ORS is funded by state government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  The proposed rule to continue to collect 
arrears on these types of cases will not affect other persons.  
The individuals who owe arrears after terminating their 
parental rights will continue to pay toward the arrears until it is 
paid in full.  ORS has always collected arrears on these types 
of cases and the rule change does not pose a change to ORS 
procedures. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The proposed rule 
does not pose additional compliance costs for affected 
persons.  In the past, ORS has always collected on cases 
fitting this criteria, so no additional costs will be incurred. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The proposed rule acts as a 
clarification of existing processes and does not impose any 
additional costs on business. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
ADMINISTRATION 
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Tracy Graham at the above address, by phone at 801-536-
8918, by FAX at 801-536-8509, or by Internet E-mail at 
tracygraham@utah.gov 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Emma Chacon, Director 
 
 
 
R495.  Human Services, Administration. 
R495-882.  Termination of Parental Rights. 
R495-882-1.  Arrears Obligation for Children in Care. 
 In accordance with Sections 62A-1-117 and 78-3a-906, child 
support is assigned to the state when a child is placed in the 
care/custody of the state or with an individual other than the parent 
for at least 30 days.  The juvenile court shall also order the parents 
or any other obligated person to pay child support to the Office of 
Recovery Services (ORS) while the child is in a placement.  If 
parental rights are terminated, and if any child support payable to the 
state has accrued prior to the termination of parental rights, the 
parent shall be responsible for paying this amount to the state in 
accordance with Section 78-3a-413.  ORS will attempt to collect all 
past due support that accrued prior to the termination of parental 
rights for children who were in the care or custody of the state. 
 
KEY:  state custody, parental rights 
2004 
62A-1-117 
78-3a-413 
78-3a-906 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Insurance, Administration 

R590-226 
Submission of Life Insurance Filings 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26951 

FILED:  02/17/2004, 16:19 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to set forth the procedures for 
submitting life insurance filings. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule combines an 
existing rule, Rule R590-86, Filing of Life and Disability Forms 
and Rates, and Insurance Bulletin 99-7, Procedures for the 
Submission of Life Form and Rate Filings.  The information in 
Rule R590-86 is being split into three categories (life, credit, 
and annuities) so that each rule will deal solely with a 
particular line of insurance to better fit the marketplace.  The 
only changes to what the life insurers are already required to 
do in regards to filing their forms with the department are:  1) 
the elimination of the requirement for a cover letter with each  
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form filing; and 2) the change from the use of the department's 
transmittal form to that of the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioners.  This is to provide uniformity 
among all life insurance companies in the United States. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-201.1, and 31A-2-202 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  "NAIC Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document", dated January 1, 
2003;  "NAIC Uniform Life, Accident and Health, Annuity and 
Credit Coding Matrix", dated January 1, 2003;  "NAIC 
Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document", dated January 1, 2003;  "NAIC 
Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document Form Filing Attachment", dated 
January 1, 2003;  "Utah Life Filing Certification", dated 
January 1, 2004;  "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit 
Accident and Health Group Questionnaire", dated January 1, 
2004;  "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident 
and Health Request for Discretionary Group Authorization", 
dated January 1, 2004;  and "Utah Annual Life Insurance 
Illustration Certification Filing Checklist", dated January 1, 
2004 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will not add to or eliminate work 
for the department, nor will it result in a cost or savings to the 
state's budget since it will not result in an increase or 
decrease in fees or fines. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule affects the relationship 
between the department and their licensees and will have no 
effect on local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  This rule will have very little, if any, fiscal 
impact on life insurers doing business in Utah.  The only 
change this rule will make that will affect the work load of life 
insurers is the elimination of the need to file a cover letter with 
each form filing.  These cover letters describe what is in the 
filing, how the product is marketed and what the form does.  It 
is usually one or two pages long.  This will save someone a 
little time but should not result in the elimination of a position.  
As a result, there should be no cost shifting to consumers of 
life insurance products. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule will have 
very little, if any, fiscal impact on life insurers doing business 
in Utah.  The only change this rule will make that will affect the 
work load of life insurers is the elimination of the need to file a 
cover letter with each form filing.  These cover letters describe 
what is in the filing, how the product is marketed and what the 
form does.  It is usually one or two pages long.  This will save 
someone a little time but should not result in the elimination of 
a position.  As a result, there should be no cost shifting to 
consumers of life insurance products. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This new rule should have little 
to no impact on life insurance companies doing business in 
Utah. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  3/18/2004 at 9:00 AM, State Office Building, Room 
3112, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-226.  Submission of Life Insurance Filings. 
R590-226-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the insurance commissioner 
pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-201(3), 31A-2-201.1, and 31A-2-
202(2). 
 
R590-226-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to set forth the procedures for 
submitting: 
 (a)  life insurance filings required by Section 31A-21-201; and 
 (b)  report filings required by R590-177. 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  all types of individual and group life insurance and variable 
life insurance; and 
 (b)  group life insurance contracts issued to nonresident 
policyholders, including trusts, when Utah residents are provided 
coverage by certificates of insurance. 
 
R590-226-3.  Documents Incorporated by Reference. 
 (1)  The department requires that the documents described in 
this rule must be used for all filings.  Actual copies may be used or 
you may adapt them to your word processing system.  If adapted, the 
content, size, font, and format must be similar. 
 (2)  The following documents are hereby incorporated by 
reference and are available on the department's website, 
www.insurance.utah.gov. 
 (a)  "NAIC Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 2003. 
 (b)  "NAIC Uniform Life, Accident and Health, Annuity and 
Credit Coding Matrix," dated January 1, 2003. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 26951 

 
16 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 1, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 5 

 (c)  "NAIC Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 2003. 
 (d)  "NAIC Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document Form Filing Attachment," 
dated January 1, 2003. 
 (e)  "Utah Life Filing Certification," dated January 1, 2004. 
 (f)  "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident and 
Health Group Questionnaire," dated January 1, 2004. 
 (g)  "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident and 
Health Request for Discretionary Group Authorization," dated 
January 1, 2004. 
 (h)  "Utah Annual Life Insurance Illustration Certification 
Filing Checklist," dated January 1, 2004. 
 
R590-226-4.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions in Section 31A-1-301, the 
following definitions shall apply for the purpose of this rule: 
 (1)  "Alternate information" means: 
 (a)  a list of the states to which the filing was submitted, with 
any state actions; 
 (b)  the reason for not submitting the filing to the domicile 
state; and 
 (c)  identifying any points of conflict between the filing and 
domicile state laws or rules. 
 (2)  "Certification" means a statement that the filing being 
submitted is in compliance with Utah laws and rules. 
 (3)  "Data page" means the page or pages in a policy or 
certificate that provide the specific data for the insured detailing the 
coverage provided and may be titled by the insurer as policy 
specifications, policy schedule, policy information, etc. 
 (4)  "Discretionary group" means a group that has been 
specifically authorized by the commissioner under Section 31A-22-
509. 
 (5)  "Eligible group" means a group that meets the definitions 
in Sections 31A-22-502 through 31A-22-508. 
 (6)  "Endorsement" means a written agreement attached to a 
life insurance policy that alters a provision of the policy, for 
example, a ear exclusion endorsement, a name change endorsement 
and a tax qualification endorsement. 
 (7)  "File and Use" means a filing can be used, sold, or offered 
for sale after it has been filed with the department. 
 (8)  "Filer" means a person or entity that submits a filing. 
 (9)  "Filing," when used as a noun, means an item required to 
be filed with the department including: 
 (a)  a policy; 
 (b)  a form; 
 (c)  a document; 
 (d)  an application; 
 (e)  a report; 
 (f)  a certificate; 
 (g)  an endorsement; 
 (h)  a rider; 
 (i)  a life insurance illustration; 
 (j)  a statement of policy cost and benefit information; and 
 (k)  an actuarial memorandum, demonstration, and certification. 
 (10)  "Issue Ages" means the range of minimum and maximum 
ages for which a policy or certificate will be issued. 
 (11)  "Letter of Authorization" means a letter signed by an 
officer of the insurer on whose behalf the filing is submitted that 
designates filing authority to the filer. 

 (12)  "Market type" means the type of policy that indicates the 
targeted market such as individual or group. 
 (13)  "Order to Prohibit Use" means an order issued by the 
commissioner that forbids the use of a filing. 
 (14)  Rejected" means a filing is: 
 (a)  not submitted in accordance with applicable laws or rules; 
 (b)  returned to the filer by the department with the reasons for 
rejection; and 
 (c)  not considered filed with the department. 
 (15)  "Rider" means a written agreement attached to a life 
insurance policy or certificate that adds a benefit, for example, a 
waiver of premium rider, an accidental death benefit rider and a term 
insurance rider. 
 (16)  "Type of insurance" means a specific life insurance 
product including, but not limited to, term, universal, variable, or 
whole life. Refer to the NAIC Coding Matrix. 
 
R590-226-5.  General Filing Information. 
 (1)  Each filing submitted must be accurate, consistent, and 
complete and contain all required documents in order for the filing 
to be processed in a timely and efficient manner.  The commissioner 
may request any additional information deemed necessary. 
 (2)  Insurers and filers are responsible for assuring compliance 
with Utah laws and rules.  Filings not in compliance with Utah laws 
and rules are subject to regulatory action under Section 31A-2-308. 
 (3)  Filings that do not comply with this rule will be rejected 
and returned to the filer.  Rejected filings are not considered filed 
with the department. 
 (4)  Prior filings will not be researched to determine the 
purpose of the current filing. 
 (5)  The department does not review or proofread every filing. 
 (a)  Filings may be reviewed: 
 (i)  when submitted; 
 (ii  as a result of a complaint; 
 (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or 
 (iv)  at any other time the department deems necessary. 
 (b)  If a filing is reviewed and is found to be not in compliance 
with Utah laws and rules, an ORDER TO PROHIBIT USE will be 
issued to the filer. The commissioner may require the filer to 
disclose deficiencies in forms or rating practices to affected 
policyholders. 
 (6)  Filing correction: 
 (a)  No filing transmittal is required when clerical or 
typographical corrections are made to a filing previously filed if the 
corrected filing is submitted within 30 days of the date "filed" with 
the department.  The filer will need to reference the original filing. 
 (b)  A new filing is required if the clerical or typographical 
corrections are made more than 30 days after the filed date of the 
original filing.  The filer will need to reference the original filing. 
 (7)  Filing withdrawal.  A filer must notify the department 
when the filer withdraws a previously filed form, rate, or 
supplementary information. 
 
R590-226-6.  Filing Submission Requirements. 
 Filings must be submitted by market type and type of 
insurance.  A filing may not include more than one type of 
insurance, or request filing for more than one insurer. A complete 
filing consists of the following documents submitted in the 
following order: 
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 (1)  Transmittal.  Note: Based on the use of the NAIC 
Transmittal Form, a cover letter is not required.  The "NAIC Life, 
Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document" must 
be used. It can be found at www.insurance.utah.gov/LH_Trans.pdf. 
 (a)  COMPLETE THE TRANSMITTAL BY USING THE 
FOLLOWING: 
 (i)  "NAIC Coding Matrix" 
www.insurance.utah.gov/LifeA&H_Matrix.pdf, 
 (ii)  "NAIC" Instruction Sheet" 
www.insurance.utah.gov/LH_Trans_Inst.pdf, 
 (iii)  "Life Content Standards" 
www.insurance.utah.gov/Life_STM.html. 
 (iv)  Do not submit the documents described in section (a)(i), 
(ii), and (iii) with a filing. 
 (b)  Filing Description.  The following information must be 
included in the Filing Description on the transmittal and must be 
presented in the order shown below: 
 (i)  Domicile Approval.  Foreign insurers and filers must first 
submit filings to their domicile state. 
 (A)  If a filing was submitted to the domicile state, provide a 
stamped copy of the approval letter from the domicile state for the 
filing 
 (B)  If a filing was not submitted to the domicile state, or the 
domicile state did not provide specific approval for the filing, then 
alternate information must be provided. 
 (ii)  Marketing Facts. 
 (A)  List the issue ages. 
 (B)  List the minimum death benefit. 
 (C)  Identify and describe the type of group. 
 (D)  Identify the intended market for the filing, such as senior 
citizens, nonprofit organization, association members, corporate 
owned, bank owned, etc. 
 (E)  Describe the marketing and advertising in detail, i.e. 
through a marketing association, mass solicitation, electronic media, 
financial institutions, Internet, telemarketing, or individually through 
licensed producers. 
 (iii)  Description of Filing. 
 (A)  Provide a detailed description of the purpose of the filing. 
 (B)  Describe the benefits and features of each form in the 
filing including specific features and options, including 
nonforfeiture options. 
 (C)  Identify any new, unusual or controversial provisions. 
 (D)  Identify any unresolved previously prohibited provisions 
and explain why the provisions are included in the filing. 
 (E)  Explain any changes in benefits, charges, terms, premiums, 
or other provisions that may occur while the policy is in force. 
 (F)  If the filing is replacing or modifying a previous 
submission, provide information that identifies the filing being 
replaced or modified, the Utah filed date, and a detailed description 
of the changes and highlight the changed provisions. 
 (G)  If the filing includes forms for informational purposes, 
provide the dates the forms were filed. 
 If filing an application, rider or endorsement, and the filing 
does not contain a policy, identify the affected policy form number, 
the Utah filed date, and describe the effect of the submitted forms on 
the base policy. 
 (iv)  Underwriting Methods.  Provide a general explanation of 
the underwriting applicable to this filing. 
 (2)  Certification.  In addition to completing the certification on 
the NAIC transmittal, the filer must complete and submit the "Utah 
Life Insurance Filing Certification."  A filing will be rejected if the 

certification is missing or incomplete.  A certification that is 
inaccurate may subject the filer to administrative action. 
 (3)  Group Questionnaire or Discretionary Group Authorization 
Letter.  All group filings must identify each type of group, and 
include either, a completed "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life and 
Credit Accident and Health Insurance Group Questionnaire," or a 
copy of the "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life and Credit Accident 
and Health Discretionary Group Authorization Letter." 
 (4)  Letter of Authorization.  When the filer is not the insurer, a 
letter of authorization from the insurer must be included.  The 
insurer remains responsible for the filing being in compliance with 
Utah laws and rules. 
 (5)  Statement of Variability.  Any item that is variable must be 
contained within the brackets.  Each variable item must be identified 
and explained in a statement of variability.  If the information 
contained within the brackets changes, the form must be refiled. 
 (6)  Items being submitted for filing.  Refer to each applicable 
subsection of this rule for general procedures and additional 
procedures on how to submit forms and reports. 
 (7)  Life Insurance Illustration Materials.  If the life insurance 
form is identified as illustrated, the filing must include a sample: 
 (a)  basic illustration completed with data in John Doe fashion; 
 (b)  current illustration actuary's certification; 
 (c)  company officer certification; and 
 (d)  sample annual report. 
 (8)  Statement of Policy Cost and Benefit Information.  If the 
life insurance form is not illustrated, the filing must include a sample 
of the Statement of Policy Cost and Benefit Information. 
 (9)  Actuarial Memorandum, Demonstration, and Certification 
of Compliance.  An actuarial memorandum, demonstration of 
compliance, and a certification of compliance are required in 
individual and group life insurance filings. The memorandum must 
be currently dated and signed by the actuary.  The memorandum 
must include: 
 (a)  description of the coverage in detail; 
 (b)  demonstration of compliance with applicable nonforfeiture 
and valuation laws; and 
(c)  a certification of compliance with Utah law. 
 (10)  Return Notification Materials. 
 (a)  Return notification materials are limited to: 
 (i)  a copy of the transmittal; and 
 (ii)  a self-addressed, stamped envelope. 
 (b)  Notice of filing will not be provided unless return 
notification materials are submitted. 
 
R590-226-7.  Procedures for Filings. 
 (1)  Forms in General. 
 (a)  Forms are "File and Use" filings. 
 (b)  Each form must be identified by a unique form number.  
The form number may not be variable. 
 (c)  Forms must be in final printed form or printer's proof 
format.  Drafts may not be submitted. 
 (d)  The form must be completed in John Doe fashion to 
accurately represent the intended market, purpose, and use. 
 (i)  If the market intended is for the senior age group, the form 
must be completed with data representative of senior insureds. 
 (ii)  All John Doe data in the forms including the specification 
page must be accurate and consistent with the actuarial 
memorandum, the basic illustration, the Statement of Policy Cost 
and Benefit information, and the application, as applicable. 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 26951 

 
18 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 1, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 5 

 (iii)  When submitting a rider or endorsement, include a sample 
policy data page that includes the rider or endorsement information. 
 (iv)  Forms may include variable data within brackets.  All 
variable data must be identified within the specific section, or a 
statement of variability included with the submission. 
 (2)  Policy Filings. 
 (a)  Each type of insurance must be filed separately.  A policy 
filing consists of one policy form for a single type of insurance 
including its related forms, such as the application, sample data 
page, rider, endorsement, and actuarial memorandum. 
 (b)  A policy data page must be included with every policy 
filing. 
 (c)  Only one policy form for a single type of insurance may be 
filed, in each filing a life insurance policy with different premium 
payment periods is considered one form. 
 (d)  A policy data page that changes the basic feature of the 
policy may not be filed without including the entire policy form in 
the filing.  A filing consisting of only a data page without the policy 
form will be rejected as incomplete. 
 (3)  Rider or Endorsement Filing. 
 (a)  Related riders or endorsements may be filed as a single 
filing. 
 (b)  A rider or endorsement that is based on morbidity risks, 
such as critical illness or long-term care, is considered accident and 
health insurance and must be filed in accordance with Rule R590-
220, "Accident and Health Insurance Filings." 
 (c)  A single rider or endorsement that affects multiple policy 
forms may be filed separately if the Filing Description references all 
affected forms. 
 (d)  The filing must include: 
 (i)  a listing of all base policy form numbers, title and dates 
filed with the Utah Insurance Department; 
 (ii)  a description of how each filed rider or endorsement affects 
the base policy; and 
 (iii)  a sample data page with data for the submitted form. 
 (4)  Application Filings.  Each application or enrollment form 
may be submitted as a separate filing or may be filed with its related 
policy or certificate filing. If an application has been previously filed 
or is filed separately, an informational copy of the application must 
be included with the policy or certificate filing. 
 
R590-226-8.  Additional Procedures for Individual Life 
Insurance Forms and Group Life Insurance Certificates 
Marketed Individually. 
 (1)  Insurers filing life insurance forms are advised to review 
the following code sections and rules prior to submitting a filing: 
 (a)  Section 31A-21 Part III, "Specific Clauses in Contracts;" 
 (b)  Section 31A-22 Part IV, "Life Insurance and Annuities;" 
 (c)  R590-79, "Life Insurance Disclosure for Policy Summary;" 
 (d)  R590-93, "Replacement of Life Insurance and Annuities;" 
 (e)  R590-94, "Smoker/Nonsmoker Mortality Tables"; 
 (f)  R590-95, "Minimum Nonforfeiture Standards 1980 CSO 
and 1980 CET Mortality Tables;" 
 (g)  R590-98, "Unfair Practice in Payment of Life Insurance 
and Annuity Policy Values;" 
 (h)  R590-108, "Interest Rate During Grace Period or Upon 
Reinstatement of Policy;" 
 (i)  R590-122, "Permissible Arbitration Provisions;" 
 (j)  R590-145, "Accelerated Benefits;" 
 (k)  R590-177, "Life Insurance Illustrations;" 

 (l)  R590-191, "Unfair Life Insurance Claims Settlement 
Practice;" 
 (m)  R590-198, "Valuation of Life Insurance Policies;" and 
 (n)  R590-223, "Rule to Recognize 2001 CSO Mortality Table." 
 (2)  Every individual life insurance policy, rider or endorsement 
providing benefits, and every group life insurance filing including 
certificates that are marketed individually, shall include an actuarial 
memorandum, a demonstration, and a certification of compliance for 
nonforfeiture and valuation.  Refer to the following: 
 (a)  Section 31A-22-408, "Standard Nonforfeiture Law for Life 
Insurance;" 
 (b)  Section 31A-17 Part V, "Standard Valuation Law." 
 (3)  When submitting accelerated benefits riders or provisions, 
the filing must include an actuarial memorandum for the accelerated 
benefit, a solicitation disclosure form, and a benefit payment 
disclosure form. 
 
R590-226-9.  Additional Procedures for Group Market Filings. 
 (1)  Insurers submitting group life insurance filings are advised 
to review the following code sections and rules prior to submitting a 
filing: 
 (a)  Section 31A-21 Part III,  "Specific Clauses in Contracts;" 
 (b)  Section 31A-22 Part IV, "Life Insurance and Annuities;" 
 (c)  Section 31A-22 Part V, "Group Life Insurance;" 
 (d)  R590-79, "Life Insurance Disclosure Rule;" 
 (e)  R590-145, "Accelerated Benefits;" 
 (f)  R590-191, "Unfair Life Insurance Claims Settlement 
Practice." 
 (2)  A policy must be included with each certificate filing along 
with a master application and enrollment form. 
 (3)  Statement of Policy Cost and Benefit Information.  A 
statement of policy cost and benefit information must be included in 
non-term group life insurance and preneed funeral policies or 
prearrangements.  This disclosure requirement shall extend to the 
issuance or delivery of certificates as well as to the master policy in 
compliance with R590-79-3. 
 (4)  Actuarial Memorandum.  An actuarial memorandum must 
be included in all group life insurance filings describing the 
coverage in detail and certifying compliance with applicable laws 
and rules.  For non-term group life filings, the memorandum must 
also demonstrate nonforfeiture compliance with Section 31A-22-
515. 
 (5)  Eligible Group.  A filing for an eligible group must include 
a completed "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident 
and Health Group Questionnaire." 
 (a)  A questionnaire must be completed for each eligible group 
under Section 31A-22-502 through 508. 
 (b)  When a filing applies to multiple employer-employee 
groups under Section 31A-22-502, only one questionnaire is 
required to be completed. 
 (6)  Discretionary Group.  If a group is not an eligible group, 
then specific discretionary group authorization must be obtained 
prior to submitting the filing. If a form filing is submitted without 
discretionary group authorization, the filing will be rejected. 
 (a)  To obtain discretionary group authorization a "Utah Life, 
Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident and Health Request For 
Discretionary Group Authorization" must be submitted and include 
all required information. 
 (b)  Evidence or proof of the following items are some factors 
considered in determining acceptability of a discretionary group: 
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 (i)  existence of a verifiable group; 
 (ii)  that granting permission is not contrary to public policy; 
 (iii)  the proposed group would be actuarially sound; 
 (iv)  the group would result in economies of acquisition and 
administration which justify a group rate; and 
 (v)  the group would not present hazards of adverse selection. 
 (c)  Discretionary group filings that do not provide 
authorization documentation will be rejected. 
 (d)  Any changes to an authorized discretionary group must be 
submitted to the department, such as; change of name, trustee, 
domicile state, within 30 days of the change. 
 (e)  The commissioner may periodically re-evaluate the group's 
authorization. 
 
R590-226-10.  Additional Procedures for Variable Life Filings. 
 (1)  Insurers submitting variable life filings are advised to 
review the following code sections and rules prior to submitting a 
filing: 
 (a)  Section 31A-22-411, "Contracts Providing Variable 
Benefits;" 
 (b)  R590-133, "Variable Contracts." 
 (2)  A variable life insurance policy must have been previously 
approved or accepted by the insurer's state of domicile before it is 
submitted for filing in Utah. 
 (3)  Information regarding the status of the filing of the variable 
life insurance policy with the Securities and Exchange Commission 
must be included in the filing. 
 (4)  The transmittal description and the actuarial memorandum 
must: 
 (a)  describe the types of accounts available in the policy; and 
 (b)  identify those accounts that are separate accounts, 
including modified guaranteed accounts, and those that are general 
accounts. 
 (5)  The actuarial memorandum must demonstrate nonforfeiture 
compliance: 
 (a)  for separate accounts pursuant to Section 31A-22-411; and 
 (b)  for fixed interest general accounts pursuant to Section 31A-
22-408. 
 (c)  In addition, for fixed accounts, the actuarial memorandum 
must: 
 (i)  identify the guaranteed minimum interest rate, and 
 (ii  identify the maximum surrender charges. 
 (6)  A prospectus is not required to be filed. 
 
R590-226-11.  Additional Procedures for Policies, Riders or 
Endorsements Providing a Combination of Life and Accident 
and Health Benefits. 
 (1)  A combination filing consists of a policy, rider or 
endorsement that creates a product that provides both life and 
accident and health insurance benefits. The two types of acceptable 
filings are: 
 (a)  a rider or endorsement attached to a policy; or 
 (b)  an integrated policy. 
 (2)  Combination filings take considerable time to process and 
will be processed separately by both the life insurance and the health 
insurance divisions. 
 (3)  Combination filings must include transmittals for both the 
life insurance and the health insurance divisions. 
 (4)(a)  For an integrated policy, the filing must be submitted to 
the appropriate division based on benefits provided in the base 
policy. 

 (b)  For a rider or endorsement, the filing must be submitted to 
the appropriate division based on benefits provided in the rider or  
endorsement. 
 (5)  The Filing Description must identify the filing as having a 
combination of insurance types, such as: 
 (a)  term policy with a long-term care benefit rider; or 
 (b)  major medical policy that includes a life insurance benefit. 
 
R590-226-12.  Insurer Annual Reports. 
 (1)  All insurer annual reports must be properly identified and 
must be filed separately from other filings.  Each annual report must 
be submitted along with the properly completed report checklist. 
 (2)  "Life Insurance Illustration Certification Annual Report". 
 (a)  Filing must comply with R590-177-11.  Life insurers 
marketing life insurance with an illustration shall provide an annual 
certification report to the commissioner each year by a date 
determined by the insurer. 
 (b)  The report must include: 
 (i)  a completed "Utah Life Insurance Illustration Certification 
Annual Report Checklist"; 
 (ii)  two cover letters along with a self-addressed stamped 
envelope; 
 (iii)  an Illustration Actuary's Certification signed and dated; 
 (iv)  a Company Officer's Certification signed and dated; and 
 (v)  a list of all policies forms for which the certification 
applies. 
 
R590-226-13.  Electronic Filings. 
 Filers submitting electronic filings must follow the 
requirements for both the electronic system and this rule, as 
applicable. 
 
R590-226-14.  Correspondence, Status Checks, and Responses. 
 (1)  Correspondence.  When corresponding with the 
department, filers must provide sufficient information to identify the 
original filing: 
 (a)  type of insurance; 
 (b)  date of filing; 
 (c)  form numbers; and 
 (d)  copy of the original transmittal. 
 (2)  Status Checks.  Filers may request the status of their filing 
by telephone, or email 60 days after the date of submission. 
 (3)  Response to an Order. 
 (a)  A response to an order must include: 
 (i)  a response cover letter identifying the changes made; 
 (ii)  a copy of the Order to Prohibit Use; 
 (iii)  one copy of the revised documents with all changes 
highlighted; and 
 (iv)  return notification materials, which consist of a copy of the 
response cover letter and a self-addressed stamped envelope. 
 (4)  Rejected Filings. 
 (a)  A rejected filing is NOT considered filed. If resubmitted it 
is considered a new filing. 
 (b)  If resubmitting a previously rejected filing, the new filing 
must include a copy of the rejection notice. 
 
R590-226-15.  Penalties. 
 Persons found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, to be 
in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided 
under Section 31A-2-308. 
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R590-226-16.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provisions of this 
rule May 1, 2004. 
 
R590-226-17.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or the application of it to any 
person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remainder of the rule and the application of the provision to other 
persons or circumstances may not be affected by it. 
 
KEY:  life insurance filings 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26952 

FILED:  02/17/2004, 17:33 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to set forth the procedures for 
submitting annuity filings under Section 31A-21-201, Filing 
and approval of forms. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule combines an 
existing rule, Rule R590-86, Filing of Life and Disability Forms 
and Rates, and Insurance Bulletin 99-7, Procedures for the 
Submission of Life Form and Rate Filings.  The information in 
Rule R590-86 is being split into three categories (life, credit, 
and annuities) so that each rule will deal solely with a 
particular line of insurance to better fit the marketplace.  The 
only changes in what is already required and this new rule is:  
1) the elimination of the requirement for a cover letter with 
each form filing; and 2) the change from the use of the 
department's transmittal form to that of the National 
Association of Insurance Commissioners form to provide for 
uniformity among all companies selling annuity policies within 
the United States. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-201.1, and 31A-2-202 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  "NAIC Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 
2003;  "NAIC Uniform Life, Accident and Health, Annuity and 
 
 

Credit Coding Matrix," dated January 1, 2003;  "NAIC 
Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 2003;  "NAIC 
Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document Form Filing Attachment," dated 
January 1, 2003;  "Utah Annuity Filing Certification," dated 
May 1,2004;  "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit 
Accident and Health Group Questionnaire," dated May 1, 
2004; and "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident 
and Health Request for Discretionary Group Authorization," 
dated May 1, 2004 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will not add to or eliminate work 
for the department, nor will it result in a cost or savings to the 
state's budget since it will not result in an increase or 
decrease in fees or fines. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule affects the relationship 
between the department and their licensees and has no affect 
on local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  This rule will have very little, if any, fiscal 
impact on companies selling annuity contracts in Utah.  The 
only change this rule will make that will affect the work load of 
companies selling annuities is the elimination of the need to 
file a cover letter with each form filing.  These cover letters 
describe what is in the filing, how the product is marketed and 
what the form does.  It is usually one to two pages long.  This 
will save someone in the company a little time but should not 
result in the elimination of a position.  As a result, there should 
be no cost shifting to consumers of annuity products. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule will have 
very little, if any, fiscal impact on companies selling annuity 
contracts in Utah.  The only change this rule will make that will 
affect the work load of companies selling annuities is the 
elimination of the need to file a cover letter with each form 
filing.  These cover letters describe what is in the filing, how 
the product is marketed and what the form does.  It is usually 
one to two pages long.  This will save someone in the 
company a little time but should not result in the elimination of 
a position.  As a result, there should be no cost shifting to 
consumers of annuity products. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This new rule should have little 
to no impact on companies selling annuity products in Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  3/18/2004 at 10:00 AM, State Office Building, 
Room 3112, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-227.  Submission of Annuity Filings. 
R590-227-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the insurance commissioner 
pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-201(3), 31A-2-201.1, and 31A-2-
202(2). 
 
R590-227-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to set forth the procedures for 
submitting annuity filings under Section 31A-21-201. 
 (2)  This rule applies to: 
 (a)  all types of individual and group annuities, variable 
annuities; and 
 (b)  group annuity contracts issued to nonresident contract 
holders, including trusts, when Utah residents are provided coverage 
by certificates. 
 
R590-227-3.  Incorporation by Reference. 
 (1)  The department requires that documents described in this 
rule must be used for all filings.  Actual copies may be used or you 
may adapt them to your word processing system.  If adapted, the 
content, size, font, and format must be similar. 
 (2)  The following documents are hereby incorporated by 
reference and are available at www.insurance.utah.gov. 
 (a)  "NAIC Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 2003. 
 (b)  "NAIC Uniform Life, Accident and Health, Annuity and 
Credit Coding Matrix," dated January 1, 2003. 
 (c)  "NAIC Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 2003. 
 (d)  "NAIC Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document Form Filing Attachment," 
dated January 1, 2003. 
 (e)  "Utah Annuity Filing Certification," dated May 1,2004. 
 (f)  "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident and 
Health Group Questionnaire," dated May 1, 2004. 
 (g)  "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident and 
Health Request for Discretionary Group Authorization," dated May 
1, 2004. 
 
R590-227-4.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions of Section 31A-1-301, the 
following definitions shall apply for the purpose of this rule: 
 (1)  "Alternate information" means: 

 (a)  a list of the states to which the forms have been filed, with 
any state actions; 
 (b)  the reason for not submitting the form to the domicile state; 
and 
 (c)  identifying any points of conflict between the form and 
domicile state laws or rules. 
 (2)  "Certification" means a statement that the filing being 
submitted is in compliance with Utah laws and rules. 
 (3)  "Contract" means the annuity policy including attached 
endorsements and riders; 
 (4)  "Data page" means the page or pages in a contract or 
certificate that provide the specific data for the annuitant detailing 
the coverage provided and may be titled by the insurer as contract 
data page, specifications page, contract schedule, etc. 
 (5)  "Discretionary group" means a group that has been 
specifically authorized by the commissioner under Section 31A-22-
509. 
 (6)  "Eligible group" means a group that meets the definitions 
in Sections 31A-22-502 through 31A-22-508. 
 (7)  "Endorsement" means a written agreement attached to an 
annuity contract that alters a provision of the contract, for example, a 
name change endorsement and a tax qualification endorsement. 
 (8)  "File and Use" means a filing can be used, sold, or offered 
for sale after it has been filed with the department. 
 (9)  "Filer" means a person or entity that submits a filing. 
 (10)  "Filing," when used as a noun, means an item required to 
be filed with the department including: 
 (a)  a contract; 
 (b)  a form; 
 (c)  a document; 
 (d)  an application; 
 (e)  a report; 
 (f)  a certificate; 
 (g)  an endorsement; 
 (h)  a rider; and 
 (i)  an actuarial memorandum, demonstration, and certification. 
 (11)  "Issue Ages" means the range of minimum and maximum 
ages for which a contract or certificate will be issued. 
 (12)  "Letter of Authorization" means a letter signed by an 
officer of the insurer on whose behalf the filing is submitted that 
designates filing authority to the filer. 
 (13)  "Market type" means the type of contract that indicates 
the targeted market such as individual or group. 
 (14)  "Order to Prohibit Use" means an order issued by the 
commissioner that forbids the use of a filing. 
 (15)  "Rejected" means a filing is: 
 (a)  not submitted in accordance with applicable laws or rules; 
 (b)  returned to the insurer by the department with the reasons 
for rejection; and 
 (c)  not considered filed with the department. 
 (16)  "Rider" means a written agreement attached to an annuity 
contract or certificate that adds a benefit, for example, a waiver of 
surrender charge, a guaranteed minimum withdrawal benefit and a 
guaranteed minimum income benefit. 
 (17)  "Type of insurance" means a specific type of annuity 
including, but not limited to, equity indexed annuity, single premium 
immediate annuity, modified guaranteed annuity, deferred annuity, 
or variable annuity. Refer to the NAIC Coding Matrix. 
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R590-227-5.  General Filing Information. 
 (1)  Each filing submitted must be accurate, consistent, and 
complete and contain all required documents in order for the filing 
to be processed in a timely and efficient manner.  The commissioner 
may request any additional information deemed necessary. 
 (2)  Insurers and filers are responsible for assuring compliance 
with Utah laws and rules.  A filing not in compliance with Utah laws 
and rules is subject to regulatory action under Section 31A-2-308. 
 (3)  A filings that does not comply with this rule may be 
rejected and returned to the filer.  A rejected filing is not considered 
filed with the department. 
 (4)  A prior filing will not be researched to determine the 
purpose of the current filing. 
 (5)  The department does not review or proofread every filing. 
 (a)  Filings may be reviewed: 
 (i)  when submitted; 
 (ii)  as a result of a complaint; 
 (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or 
 (iv)  at any other time the department deems necessary. 
 (b)  If a filing is reviewed and is found to be not in compliance 
with Utah laws and rules, an ORDER TO PROHIBIT USE will be 
issued to the filer. The commissioner may require the filer to 
disclose deficiencies in forms or rating practices to affected contract 
holders. 
 (5)  Filing Correction. 
 (a)  No filing transmittal is required when clerical or 
typographical corrections are made to a filing previously filed if the 
corrected filing is submitted within 30 days of the date "filed" with 
the department.  The filer will need to reference the original filing. 
 (b)  A new filing is required if a clerical or typographical 
correction is made more than 30-days after the filed date of the 
original filing.  The filer will need to reference the original filing. 
 (7)  Filing withdrawal.  A filer must notify the department 
when the filer withdraws a previously filed form, rate, or 
supplementary information. 
 
R590-227-6.  Filing Submission Requirements. 
 Filings must be submitted by market type and type of 
insurance.  A filing may not include more than one type of 
insurance, or request filing for more than one insurer.  A complete 
filing consists of the following documents and submitted in the 
following order: 
 (1)  Transmittal.  Note: Based on the use of the NAIC 
Transmittal Document, a cover letter is not required.  The "NAIC 
Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document" 
must be used. It can be found at 
www.insurance.utah.gov/LH_Trans.pdf. 
 (a)  COMPLETE THE TRANSMITTAL BY USING THE 
FOLLOWING: 
 (i)  "NAIC Coding Matrix" 
 www.insurance.utah.gov/LifeA&H_Matrix.pdf, 
 (ii)  "NAIC" Instruction Sheet" 
 www.insurance.utah.gov/LH_Trans_Inst.pdf, 
 (iii)  "Life Content Standards" 
 www.insurance.utah.gov/Life_STM.html. 
 (iv)  Do not submit the documents described in section (a)(i), 
(ii), and (iii) with a filing. 
 (b)  Filing Description Section.  The following information 
must be included in the Filing Description Section of the NAIC 
transmittal and must be presented in the order shown below: 

 (i)  Domiciliary Approval.  Foreign insurers and filers must first 
submit filings to their domicile state. 
 (A)  If a filing was submitted to the domicile state provide a 
stamped copy of the approval letter from the domicile state for the 
filing. 
 (B)  If a filing was not submitted to the domicile state, or the 
domicile state did not provide specific approval for the filing, then 
alternate information must be provided. 
 (ii)  Marketing Facts. 
 (A)  List the issue ages. 
 (B)  List the minimum initial premium. 
 (C)  Identify the intended market for the filing, such as senior 
citizens, nonprofit organizations, association members, including 
any particular tax qualified market and the federal law under which 
the contract will be marketed. 
 (D)  Describe the marketing and advertising in detail, i.e. 
individually solicited through licensed producers, marketed through 
a marketing association, financial institutions, Internet, or 
telemarketing. 
 (iii)  Description of Filing. 
 (A)  Provide a detailed description of the purpose of the filing. 
 (B)  Describe the benefits and features of each form in the 
filing including specific features and options, including 
nonforfeiture options. 
 (C)  Identify any new, unusual, or controversial provisions. 
 (D)  Identify any unresolved previously prohibited provisions 
and explain why the provisions are included in the filing. 
 (E)  Explain any changes in benefits, charges, terms, premiums, 
or other provisions that may occur while the contract is in force. 
 (F)  If the filing is replacing or modifying a previous 
submission, provide information that identifies the filing being 
replaced or modified, the Utah filed date, and a detailed description 
of the changes and highlight the changed provisions. 
 (G)  If the filing includes forms for informational purposes, 
provide the dates the forms were filed. 
 (H)  If filing an application, rider, or endorsement, and the 
filing does not contain a contract, identify the affected contract form 
number, the Utah filed date, and describe the effect of the submitted 
forms on the base contract. 
 (iv)  Underwriting Methods.  Provide a general explanation of 
the underwriting applicable to this filing. 
 (2)  Certification.  In addition to completing the certification on 
the NAIC transmittal, the filer must complete and submit the "Utah 
Annuity Filing Certification".  A filing will be rejected if the 
certification is missing or incomplete.  A certification that is 
inaccurate may subject the filer to administrative action. 
 (3)  Group Questionnaire or Discretionary Group Authorization 
Letter.  All group filings must identify each type of group, and 
include either a completed "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life and 
Credit Accident and Health Insurance Group Questionnaire", or 
copy of the "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life and Credit Accident 
and Health Insurance Discretionary Group Authorization letter". 
 (4)  Letter of Authorization.  If the filer is not the insurer, a 
letter of authorization from the insurer must be included.  The 
insurer remains responsible for the filing being in compliance with 
Utah laws and rules. 
 (5)  Statement of Variability.  Any item that is variable must be 
contained within the brackets.  Each variable item must be identified 
and explained in a statement of variability.  If the information 
contained within the brackets changes, the form must be refiled. 
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 (6)  Items being submitted for filing.  Refer to each applicable 
subsection of this rule for general procedures and additional 
procedures on how to submit forms and reports. 
 (7)  Annuity Report.  All annuity filings must include a sample 
annuity annual report. 
 (8)  Actuarial Memorandum, Demonstration, and Certification 
of Compliance.  An actuarial memorandum, demonstration, and a 
certification of compliance are required in annuity filings. The 
memorandum must be currently dated and signed by the actuary.  
The memorandum must include: 
 (a)  description of the coverage in detail; 
 (b)  demonstration of compliance with applicable nonforfeiture 
and valuation laws; and 
 (c)  a certification of compliance with Utah law. 
 (9)  Return Notification Materials. 
 (a)  Return notification materials are limited to: 
 (i)  a copy of the transmittal; and 
 (ii)  a self-addressed, stamped envelope. 
 (b)  Notice of filing will not be provided unless return 
notification materials are submitted. 
 
R590-227-7.  Procedures for Filings. 
 (1)  Forms in General. 
 (a)  Forms are "File and Use" filings. 
 (b)  Each form must be identified by a unique form number.  
The form number may not be variable. 
 (c)  Forms must be in final printed form or printer's proof 
format.  Drafts may not be submitted. 
 (d)  The form must be completed in John Doe fashion to 
accurately represent the intended market, purpose, and use. 
 (i)  If the market intended is for the senior age market, the form 
must be completed with data representative of senior annuitants. 
 (ii)  All John Doe data in the forms including the specification 
page must be accurate and consistent with the actuarial 
memorandum, the application, and any marketing materials, as 
applicable. 
 (iii)  When submitting a rider or endorsement, include a sample 
data page that includes the rider or endorsement information. 
 (iv)  Forms may include variable data.  All variable data must 
be identified within the brackets or a statement of variability must be 
included with the submission. 
 (2)  Contract Filings. 
 (a)  Each type of annuity must be filed separately.  A contract 
filing consists of one contract form for a single type of insurance 
including its related forms, an application, data page, rider or 
endorsement, and an actuarial memorandum. 
 (b)  A data page must be included with every contract filing. 
 (c)  Only one contract form for a single type of insurance may 
be submitted. 
 (d)  A data page that changes the basic feature of the contract 
may not be filed without including the entire contract form in the 
filing.  Separate data page filings without the contract form will be 
rejected as incomplete. 
 (3)  Rider or Endorsement Filings. 
 (a)  Related riders or endorsements may be filed together as a 
single filing. 
 (b)  A single rider or endorsement that affects multiple related 
forms must reference all affected contract forms. 
 (c)  A rider or endorsement that is based on morbidity risks 
such as critical illness or long-term care, is considered accident and 

health insurance and must be filed in accordance with Rule R590-
220, "Accident and Health Insurance Filings". 
 (d)  The filing must include: 
 (i)  a listing of all base contract form numbers, title and dates 
filed with the Utah Insurance Department. 
 (ii)  a description of how each filed rider or endorsement affects 
the base contract. 
 (iii)  a sample data page with data for the submitted form. 
 (4)  Application Filings.  Each application or enrollment form 
may be submitted as a separate filing or may be filed with its related 
contract or certificate filing. If an application has been previously 
filed or is filed separately, an informational copy of the application 
must be included with a contract or certificate filing. 
 
R590-227-8. Additional Procedures for Fixed Annuity Filings. 
 (1)  Insurers filing annuity forms are advised to review the 
following code sections and rules prior to submitting a filing: 
 (a)  Section 31A-21 Part III, "Specific Clauses in Contracts;" 
Section 31A-22 Part IV, "Life Insurance and Annuities;" 
 (c)  R590-93, "Replacement of Life Insurance and Annuities;" 
 (d)  R590-96, "Annuity Mortality Tables;" and 
 (e)  R590-191, "Unfair Life Insurance Claims Settlement 
Practice." 
 (2)  Every filing of an individual annuity contract, rider or 
endorsement providing benefits, and every group annuity filing 
including certificates that are marketed individually, shall include an 
actuarial memorandum, a demonstration, and a certification of 
compliance with nonforfeiture and valuation laws: 
 (a)  Section 31A-22-409, "Standard Nonforfeiture Law for 
Deferred Annuities;" and 
 (b)  Section 31A-17 Part V, "Standard Valuation Law." 
 (3)  When submitting annuity filings the filing description of 
the transmittal must: 
 (a)  identify the specific subsection of the Utah nonforfeiture 
law, which applies to the submitted annuity; 
 (b)  describe the basic features of the form submitted; 
 (c)  identify and describe the interest earning features; including 
the guaranteed interest rate, the guaranteed interest terms, and any 
market value adjustment feature; 
 (d)  describe the guaranteed and nonguaranteed values 
including any bonuses; 
 (e)  describe all charges, fees and loads; 
 (f)  list and describe all accounts, options and strategies, if any; 
 (g)  identify whether the accounts are fixed interest general 
accounts, registered separate accounts including modified 
guaranteed separate accounts; and 
 (h)  describe any restrictions or limitations regarding 
withdrawals, surrenders, and the maturity date or settlement options. 
 (4)  The contract must be complete with a sample specification 
page attached. 
 (5)  The actuarial memorandum must: 
 (a)  be currently dated and signed by the actuary; 
 (b)  identify the specific subsections of the Utah nonforfeiture 
law, which applies to the submitted annuity; 
 (c)  describe all contract provisions in detail, including all 
guaranteed and non-guaranteed elements, that may affect the values; 
 (d)  identify the guaranteed minimum interest crediting rates; 
 (e)  describe in detail the particular methods of crediting 
interest, including: 
 (i)  guaranteed fixed interest rates; and 
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 (ii)  guaranteed interest terms. 
 (f)  specifically identify and describe all charges and fees, 
including loads, surrender charges, market value adjustments or any 
other adjustment feature; 
 (g)  describe in detail all factors that are used to calculate 
guaranteed minimum nonforfeiture values under the contract and the 
elements used in the calculation of the minimum values required by 
the law; and 
 (h)  include the formulas used to calculate the minimum 
guaranteed values provided by the contract and the formulas used to 
calculate the minimum guaranteed values required by the applicable 
subsections of the nonforfeiture law. 
 (6)  The actuarial demonstration must: 
 (a)  be submitted on paper and on a diskette on which the 
formulas are not hard coded, 
 (b)  demonstrate compliance with the applicable nonforfeiture 
law for representative ages and the highest possible issue age, 
 (c)  numerically demonstrate that the values based on the 
guaranteed minimum interest rates, the maximum surrender charges, 
fees, loads, and any other factors affecting values, provide values 
that are in compliance with the Standard Nonforfeiture Law using 
both the retrospective and the prospective tests, each clearly 
identified, and include the following: 
 (i)  For the retrospective test, describe the net consideration and 
the interest rates used in the accumulation.  Numerically compare 
the guaranteed contract values with the minimum values required by 
the nonforfeiture law. 
 (ii)  For the prospective test, identify the maturity value and the 
interest rate used for each respective year to determine the present 
value.  Numerically compare the guaranteed contract values with the 
minimum values required by the nonforfeiture law. 
 (7)  The actuarial certification of compliance must be currently 
dated and signed by the actuary. 
 
R590-227-9.  Additional Procedures for Group Annuity Filings. 
 (1)  Insurers submitting group annuity filings are advised to 
review the following code sections and rules prior to submitting a 
filing: 
 (a)  Section 31A-21 Part III, "Specific Clauses in Contracts;" 
 (b)  Section 31A-22 Part IV, "Life Insurance and Annuities;" 
 (c)  Section 31A-22 Part V, "Group Life Insurance;" and 
 (d)  R590-191, "Unfair Life Insurance Claims Settlement 
Practice." 
 (2)  A group contract must be included with each certificate 
filing along with the master application and enrollment form. 
 (3)  Every group annuity filing must include an actuarial 
memorandum describing the features of the contract and certifying 
compliance with applicable Utah laws.  A group filing that includes 
a group certificate that is marketed to individuals, must include an 
actuarial memorandum, demonstration and certification of 
compliance with the applicable Utah nonforfeiture law. 
 (4)  Eligible Groups.  A filing for an eligible group must 
include a completed "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, Credit 
Accident and Health Group Questionnaire." 
 (a)  A questionnaire must be completed for each eligible group 
under Sections 31A-22-502 through 508. 
 (b)  When a filing applies to multiple employer-employee 
groups under Section 31A-22-502, only one questionnaire is 
required to be completed. 
 (5)  Discretionary Group.  If a group is not an eligible group, 
then specific discretionary group authorization must be obtained 

prior to submitting the filing. If a filing is submitted without 
discretionary group authorization, the filing will be rejected. 
 (a)  To obtain discretionary group authorization a "Utah Life, 
Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident and Health Request For 
Discretionary Group Authorization" must be submitted and include 
all required information. 
 (b)  Evidence or proof of the following items are some factors 
considered in determining acceptability of a discretionary group: 
 (i)  existence of a verifiable group; 
 (ii)  that granting permission is not contrary to public policy; 
 (iii)  the proposed group would be actuarially sound; 
 (iv)  the group would result in economies of acquisition and 
administration which justify a group rate; and 
 (v)  the group would not present hazards of adverse selection. 
 (c)  Discretionary group filings that do not provide 
authorization documentation will be rejected. 
 (d)  Any changes to an authorized discretionary group must be 
submitted to the department, such as; change of name, trustee, 
domicile state, within 30 days of the change. 
 (e)  The commissioner may periodically re-evaluate the group's 
authorization. 
 
R590-227-10.  Additional Procedures for Variable Annuity 
Filings Procedures. 
 (1)  Insurers submitting variable annuity filings are advised to 
review the following code sections and rule prior to submitting a 
filing: 
 (a)  Section 31A-22-411, "Contracts Providing Variable 
Benefits;" and 
 (b)  R590-133, "Variable Contracts." 
 (2)  A variable annuity contract must have been previously 
approved or accepted by the insurer's state of domicile before it is 
submitted for filing in Utah. Include the approval date in the 
submission. 
 (3)  Information regarding the status of the filing of the variable 
annuity with the Securities and Exchange Commission must be 
included in the filing. 
 (4)  The transmittal description and the actuarial memorandum 
must: 
 (a)  describe the accounts available in the contract; and 
 (b)  identify and describe those accounts that are separate 
accounts, including modified guaranteed annuities, and those 
accounts that are general accounts. 
 (5)  The actuarial memorandum must describe all contract 
provisions in detail, including all guaranteed and non-guaranteed 
elements that may affect the values. 
 (6)  The actuarial demonstration must numerically demonstrate 
compliance with the applicable nonforfeiture laws: 
 (a)  for variable annuities, including modified guaranteed 
annuities, pursuant to Section 31A-22-411; 
 (b)  for fixed interest general accounts pursuant to 31A-22-409, 
identify and describe all guaranteed factors that affect values, 
including: 
 (i)  the guaranteed minimum interest rate; and 
 (ii)  the maximum surrender charges and loads. 
 (7)  An actuarial certification of compliance with applicable 
Utah laws and rules must be included in the filing. 
 (8)  A filing for a rider that provides benefits, such as 
guaranteed minimum death benefit and guaranteed minimum 
withdrawal benefit, must include an actuarial memorandum. 
 (9)  A prospectus is not required to be filed. 
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R590-227-11.  Electronic Filings. 
 Filers submitting electronic filings must follow the 
requirements for both the electronic system and this rule, as 
applicable. 
 
R590-227-12.  Correspondence, Inquiries, and Responses. 
 (1)  Correspondence.  When corresponding with the 
department, filers must provide sufficient information to identify the 
original filing: 
 (a)  type of insurance; 
 (b)  date of filing; 
 (c)  form numbers; and 
 (d)  copy of the original transmittal. 
 (2)  Status Checks.  Filers may request the status of their filing 
by telephone, or email 60 days after the date of submission. 
 (3)  Response to an Order. 
 (a)  A response to an order must include: 
 (i)  a response cover letter identifying the changes made; 
 (ii)  a copy of the Order to Prohibit Use; 
 (iii)  one copy of the revised documents with all changes 
highlighted; and 
 (iv)  return notification materials, which consist of a copy of the 
response cover letter and a self-addressed stamped envelope. 
 (4)  Rejected Filings. 
 (a)  A rejected filing is NOT considered filed. If resubmitted it 
is considered a new filing. 
 (b)  If resubmitting a previously rejected filing, the new filing 
must include a copy of the rejection notice. 
 
R590-227-13.  Penalties. 
 Persons found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, to be 
in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided 
under Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-227-14.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provisions of this 
rule May 1, 2004. 
 
R590-227-15.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or the application of it to any 
person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remainder of the rule and the application of the provision to other 
persons or circumstances may not be affected by it. 
 
KEY:  annuity insurance filings 
2004 
31A-2-201 
31A-2-201.1 
31A-2-202 
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RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to set forth the procedures for 
submitting credit life and credit accident and health insurance 
form and rate filings. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule combines an 
existing rule, Rule R590-86, Filing of Life and Disability Forms 
and Rates, and Insurance Bulletin 99-7, Procedures for the 
Submission of Life Form and Rate Filings.  The information in 
Rule R590-86 is being split into three categories (life, credit, 
and annuities) so that each rule will deal solely with a 
particular line of insurance to better fit the marketplace.  The 
only changes to what is already required and this rule are:  1)  
The elimination of the requirement for a cover letter with each 
form filing; and 2) the change from the use of the department's 
transmittal form to that of the National Association of 
Insurance Commissioner's form to provide for uniformity 
among all companies selling credit insurance within the United 
States. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 31A-2-201, 31A-2-201.1, 31A-2-202, and 31A-
22-807 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  "NAIC Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 
2003;  "NAIC Uniform Life, Accident and Health, Annuity and 
Credit Coding Matrix," dated January 1, 2003;  "NAIC 
Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 2003;  "NAIC 
Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document Form Filing Attachment," dated 
January 1, 2003;  "Utah Credit Life and Credit Accident and 
Health Filing Certification," dated January 1, 2004;  "Utah Life, 
Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident and Health Group 
Questionnaire," dated January 1, 2004; and "Utah Annual 
Credit Life and Credit Accident and Health Insurance Filing 
Checklist," dated January 1, 2004 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  This rule will not add to or eliminate work 
for the department, nor will it result in a cost or savings to the 
state's budget since it will not result in an increase or 
decrease in fees or fines. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule affects the relationship 
between the department and their licensees and has no affect 
on local government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  This rule will have very little, if any fiscal 
impact on companies selling annuity contracts in Utah.  The 
only change this rule will make that may have a fiscal impact 
on credit insurance companies is the elimination of the need 
to file a cover letter with each form and rate filing.  These 
cover letters describe what is in the filing, how the product is 
marketed and what the form does.  It is usually one to two 
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pages long.  This will save someone in the company a little 
time but should not result in the elimination of a position.  As a 
result, there should be no cost shifting to consumers of credit 
insurance products. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This rule will have 
very little, if any fiscal impact on companies selling annuity 
contracts in Utah.  The only change this rule will make that 
may have a fiscal impact on credit insurance companies is the 
elimination of the need to file a cover letter with each form and 
rate filing.  These cover letters describe what is in the filing, 
how the product is marketed and what the form does.  It is 
usually one to two pages long.  This will save someone in the 
company a little time but should not result in the elimination of 
a position.  As a result, there should be no cost shifting to 
consumers of credit insurance products. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This new rule should have little 
to no impact on companies selling credit insurance products in 
Utah. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

INSURANCE 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room 3110 STATE OFFICE BLDG 
450 N MAIN ST 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-1201, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jilene Whitby at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
3803, by FAX at 801-538-3829, or by Internet E-mail at 
jwhitby@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  3/18/2004 at 11:00 AM, State Office Building, 
Room 3112, Salt Lake City, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Jilene Whitby, Information Specialist 
 
 
 
R590.  Insurance, Administration. 
R590-228.  Submission of Credit Life and Credit Accident and 
Health Insurance Form and Rate Filings. 
R590-228-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is promulgated by the insurance commissioner 
pursuant to Subsection 31A-2-201(3), 31A-2-201.1, 31A-2-202(2), 
31A-22-807. 
 
R590-228-2.  Purpose and Scope. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to set forth the procedures for 
submitting: 

 (a)  Credit life and credit accident and health insurance filings 
required by Section 31A-21-201; 
 (b)  Credit life and credit accident and health insurance rate 
filings required by Section 31A-22-807, R590-91; and 
 (c)  report filings required by R590-91. 
 (2)  This rule applies to all credit life insurance and credit 
accident and health insurance including group contracts issued to 
nonresident policyholders, including trusts, when Utah residents are 
provided coverage by certificates of insurance. 
 
R590-228-3.  Documents Incorporated by Reference. 
 (1)  The department requires that documents described in this 
rule must be used for all filings.  Actual copies may be used or you 
may adapt them to your word processing system.  If adapted, the 
content, size, font, and format must be similar. 
 (2)  The following documents are hereby incorporated by 
reference and are available at www.insurance.utah.gov. 
 (a)  "NAIC Life, Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit 
Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 2003; 
 (b)  "NAIC Uniform Life, Accident and Health, Annuity and 
Credit Coding Matrix," dated January 1, 2003; 
 (c)  "NAIC Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document," dated January 1, 2003; 
 (d)  "NAIC Instruction Sheet for Life, Accident and Health, 
Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document Form Filing Attachment," 
dated January 1, 2003; 
 (e)  "Utah Credit Life and Credit Accident and Health Filing 
Certification," dated January 1,2004; 
 (f)  "Utah Life, Annuity, Credit Life, and Credit Accident and 
Health Group Questionnaire," dated January 1, 2004; 
 (g)  "Utah Annual Credit Life and Credit Accident and Health 
Insurance Filing Checklist," dated January 1, 2004. 
 
R590-228-4.  Definitions. 
 In addition to the definitions of Section 31A-1-301, the 
following definitions shall apply for the purpose of this rule: 
 (1)  "Alternate information" means: 
 (a)  a list of the states to which the forms have been filed, the 
dates submitted, and any state actions; 
 (b)  the reason for not submitting the form to the domicile state; 
and 
 (c)  identifying any points of conflict between the form and 
domicile state laws or rules. 
 (2)  "Certification" means a statement that the filing being 
submitted is in compliance with Utah laws and rules. 
 (3)  "Data page" means the page or pages in a policy and 
certificate that provide the specific data for the insured detailing the 
coverage provided and may be titled by the insurer as schedule page, 
schedule of benefits and premiums, etc. 
 (4)  "Eligible group" means a group that meets the definitions 
in Sections 31A-22-502 through 31A-22-508. 
 (5)  "Endorsement" means a written agreement attached to a 
life insurance policy that alters a provision of the policy. An 
example is a company change of name. 
 (6)  "File and Use" means a filing can be used, sold, or offered 
for sale after it has been filed with the department. 
 (7)  "File for Approval" means a filing can be used, sold, or 
offered for sale after it has been filed and the filer has received 
written confirmation that the filing was approved. 
 (8)  "Filer" means a person or entity that submits a filing. 



DAR File No. 26950 NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES 

 
UTAH STATE BULLETIN, March 1, 2004, Vol. 2004, No. 5 27 

 (9)  "Filing," when used as a noun, means an item required to 
be filed with the department including: 
 (a)  a policy; 
 (b)  a rate, rate methodologies; 
 (c)  a form; 
 (d)  a document; 
 (e)  an application; 
 (f)  a report; 
 (g)  a certificate; 
 (h)  an endorsement; 
 (i)  a rider; and 
 (j)  an actuarial memorandum and certification. 
 (10)  "Issue Ages" means the range of minimum and maximum 
ages for which a policy or certificate will be issued. 
 (11)  "Letter of Authorization" means a letter signed by an 
officer of the insurer on whose behalf the filing is submitted that 
designates filing authority to the filer. 
 (12)  "Market type" means the type of policy that indicates the 
targeted market such as individual or group. 
 (13)  "Order to Prohibit Use" means an order issued by the 
commissioner that forbids the use of a filing. 
 (14)  "Rejected" means a filing is: 
 (a)  not submitted in accordance with applicable laws or rules; 
and 
 (b)  returned to the insurer by the department with the reasons 
for rejection; and 
not considered filed with the department. 
 (15)  "Rider" means a written agreement attached to a life 
insurance policy or certificate that adds a benefit. An example is a 
credit accident and health insurance rider. 
 (16)  "Type of insurance" means a specific credit life and credit 
accident and health insurance product, as defined in the NAIC 
Coding Matrix, including, but not limited to, gross decreasing term, 
net decreasing term, level term, or truncated coverage. Refer to the 
NAIC Coding Matrix. 
 
R590-228-5.  General Filing Information. 
 (1)  Each filing submitted must be accurate, consistent, and 
complete and contain all required documents in order for the filing 
to be processed in a timely and efficient manner.  The commissioner 
may request any additional information deemed necessary. 
 (2)  Insurers and filers are responsible for assuring compliance 
with Utah laws and rules.  Filings not in compliance with Utah laws 
and rules are subject to regulatory action under Section 31A-2-308. 
 (3)  Filings that do not comply with this rule may be rejected 
and returned to the filer.  Rejected filings are not considered filed 
with the department. 
 (4)  Prior filings will not be researched to determine the 
purpose of the current filing. 
 (5)  The department does not review or proofread every filing. 
 (a)  Filings may be reviewed: 
 (i)  when submitted; 
 (ii)  as a result of a complaint; 
 (iii)  during a regulatory examination or investigation; or 
 (iv)  at any other time the department deems necessary. 
 (b)  If a filing is reviewed and is found to be not in compliance 
with Utah laws and rules, an ORDER TO PROHIBIT USE will be 
issued to the filer. The commissioner may require the filer to 
disclose deficiencies in forms or rating practices to affected 
insureds. 

 (6)  Filing Correction.  A new filing is required if clerical or 
typographical corrections are made more than 30-days after the filed 
date of the original filing.  The filer will need to reference the 
original filing. 
 
R590-228-6.  Filing Submission Requirements. 
 Filings must be submitted by market type and type of 
insurance.  A filing may not include more than one type of 
insurance; or request filing for more than one insurer.  A complete 
filing consists of the following documents submitted in the 
following order: 
 (1)  Transmittal.  Note: Based on the use of the NAIC 
Transmittal Form, a cover letter is not required.  The "NAIC Life, 
Accident and Health, Annuity, Credit Transmittal Document" must 
be used. It can be found at www.insurance.utah.gov/LH_Trans.pdf. 
 (a)  COMPLETE THE TRANSMITTAL BY USING THE 
FOLLOWING: 
 (i)  "NAIC Coding Matrix" www.insurance.utah.gov/ 
LifeA&H_Matrix.pdf, 
 (ii)  "NAIC" Instruction Sheet" 
 www.insurance.utah.gov/LH_Trans_Inst.pdf, 
 (iii)  "Life Content Standards" 
 www.insurance.utah.gov/Life_STM.html 
 (iv)  Do not submit the documents described in section (a)(i), 
(ii), and (iii) with a filing. 
 (b)  Filing Description.  The following information must be 
included in the Filing Description section of the transmittal and must 
be presented in the order shown below. 
 (i)  Domicile Approval.  Foreign insurers and filers must first 
submit filings to their domicile state. 
 (A)  If a filing was submitted to the domicile state, provide a 
stamped copy of the approval letter from the domicile state for the 
filing. 
 (B)  If a filing was not submitted to the domicile state, or the 
domicile state did not provide specific approval for the filing, then 
alternate information must be provided. 
 (ii)  Marketing Facts.  
 (A)  List the issue ages. 
 (B)  Identify the intended market. 
 (C)  Identify and describe the type of group. 
 (D)  Identify the types and durations of loans to be insured. 
 (E)  Describe the methods of premium charge. 
 (F)  Describe the marketing and advertising in detail, i.e. 
through mass solicitation, financial institutions, telemarketing, or 
individually through licensed producers. 
 (iii)..Description of Filing. 
 (A)..Provide a detailed description of the purpose of the filing. 
 (B)..Describe the benefits and features of each form. 
 (C)..List the types of coverage to be provided, such as gross, 
net, full term, truncated and critical period. 
 (D)  Identify and describe any new or nonstandard benefits or 
rating methodologies. 
 (E)  Indicate whether the insurer has a Rating and Benefits Plan 
on file with the department. 
 (F)  Identify any unresolved previously prohibited provisions 
and explain why the provisions are included in the current filing. 
 (G)  If the filing is replacing or modifying a previous 
submission, provide information that identifies the filing being 
replaced or modified, the Utah filed date, and a detailed description 
of the changes and highlight the changed provisions. 
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 (H)  if the filing includes forms for informational purposes, 
provide the dates the forms were filed. 
 (I)  if filing a rider, endorsement or application and the filing 
does not contain a policy, identify the affected policy form number, 
the Utah filed date, and describe the effect of the submitted forms on 
the base policy. 
 (iv)  Underwriting Methods.  Provide an explanation of the 
underwriting applicable to the filing. 
 (2)  Certification.  In addition to completing the certification on 
the NAIC transmittal, the filer must complete and submit the "Utah 
Credit Life and Credit Accident and Health Filing Certification".  A 
filing will be rejected if the certification is missing or incomplete. A 
certification that is inaccurate may subject the filer to administrative 
action. 
 (3)  Group Questionnaire.  All group filings must include a 
completed group questionnaire. 
 (4)  Letter of Authorization.  When the filer is not the insurer, 
include a letter of authorization from the insurer.  The insurer 
remains responsible for the filing being in compliance with Utah 
laws and rules. 
 (5)  Statement of Variability.  Any information that is variable 
must be bracketed in the form and must be explained in a statement 
of variability.  If after filing, the information contained within the 
brackets changes, the filing must be refiled. 
 (6)  Items being submitted for filing.  Include all forms, rates, 
and reports to be filed.  Refer to each applicable subsection of this 
rule for procedures on how to submit forms, rates, and reports with 
required filing documents. 
 (7)  Actuarial Memorandum, Demonstration, and Certification 
of Compliance.  An actuarial memorandum with sample rate 
calculations and a certification of compliance are required in each 
filing.  The memorandum must be currently dated and signed by the 
actuary representing the insurer.  
 (8)  Rates.  All rates must be filed prior to use.  All rates must 
be in compliance with 31A-22-807 and R590-91.  A rate filing is 
required with each form filing. 
 (9)  Return Notification Materials. 
 (a)  Return notification materials are limited to a copy of the 
transmittal and a self-addressed, stamped envelope. 
 (b)  Notice of filing will not be provided unless return 
notification materials are submitted. 
 
R590-228-7.  Procedures for Filings. 
 (1)  Forms in General. 
 (a)  Forms are "File and Use" filings. 
 (b)  Each form must be identified by a unique form number.  
The form number may not be variable. 
 (c)  Forms must be in final printed form or printer's proof 
format. 
 (d)  The form must be completed in John Doe fashion to 
accurately represent the intended market, purpose, and use.  All John 
Doe data in the forms, including the premium rates and benefits, 
must be accurate and consistent with the actuarial memorandum and 
rate schedule.  Forms may include variable data in brackets.  All 
variable data must be identified within the brackets or a statement of 
variability must be included with the submission. 
 (2)  Policy Filings.  A policy filing consists of one policy form 
for a single type of insurance and its related forms, including the 
application, enrollment form, certificate, actuarial memorandum, 
certification, and rate schedule. 

 (3)  Rider or Endorsement Filings.  A rider or endorsement that 
provides benefits must include all filing documents required for a 
policy filing including: 
 (a)  a listing of the base policy form number, title and dates 
filed with the department; 
 (b)  a description of how the rider affects the base policy; and 
 (c)  appropriate actuarial memorandum and rate schedule. 
 (4)  Application Filings.  An application or enrollment form 
may be submitted as a separate filing or filed with its related policy 
and certificate. If an application has been previously filed or is filed 
separately, an informational copy of the application must be 
included with a policy or certificate filing. 
 (5)  Rates.  Rates are considered "File for Approval".  
 
R590-228-8.  Additional Procedures for Credit Life and Credit 
Accident and Health Form and Rate Filings. 
 (1)  Insurers are advised to review the following code sections 
and rules prior to submitting a filing: 
 (a)  Section 31A-21 Part III,  "Specific Clauses in Contracts;" 
 (b)  Section 31A-22 Part IV, "Life insurance and Annuities;" 
 (c)  Section 31A-22 Part V, "Group Life Insurance;" 
 (d)  Section 31A-22 Part VI, "Accident and Health Insurance;" 
 (e)  Section 31A-22 Part VIII, "Credit Life and Accident and 
Health;" 
 (f)  R590-91, "Credit Life and Disability;" and 
 (g)  R590-191, "Unfair Life Insurance Claims Settlement 
Practice;" 
 (h)  R590-192, "Unfair Health and Disability Claims Settlement 
Practices." 
 (2)  A policy must be included with each certificate filing along 
with a master application and enrollment form. 
 (3)  Actuarial Memorandum, Demonstration and Certification 
of Compliance.  Each form and rate fling must include an actuarial 
memorandum, demonstration, and certification of compliance with 
Utah laws, signed and dated by the actuary representing the insurer. 
 (a)  Actuarial memorandum must include a description of the 
following: 
 (i)  types of coverage, such as gross or net decreasing, single or 
joint life, full term or truncated, critical period; 
 (ii)  types of loans to be insured, such as open end, closed end, 
 (iii)  types of premium charge: single premium, monthly 
outstanding balance, or other method explained in detail; 
 (iv)  durations of loans and durations of coverage. Refer to 
31A-22-801(2)(a); 
 (v)  rates per unit, rating and premium methodologies 
including: 
 (A)  formulas used for each type of coverage and premium 
method; and 
 (B)  sample calculations for each type of coverage and 
premium method; 
 (vi)  an explanation of whether the company has a Rating and 
Benefits Plan on file and if so, whether the submitted rates are 
consistent with the filed plan; 
 (vii)  demonstration of compliance with applicable code and 
rules; 
 (viii)  refund methods and calculation including formulas for 
each type of coverage; and 
 (ix)  reserve bases including methods used. 
 (b)  The actuarial certification must include certification of 
compliance that formulas and methods used produce rates that are in 
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compliance with applicable Utah laws and rules for each type of 
coverage and duration in the filing. 
 (4)  Rate Schedules. 
 (a)  Rate schedules must be included for each type of coverage 
and for representative durations. 
 (b)  Rates must be identified as prima facie rates, rates 
previously filed for compliance with the Rating and Benefits Plan 
required in R590-91-10, or deviated rates submitted pursuant to 
31A-22-807, or rates on nonstandard coverage pursuant to R590-91-
5. 
 (5)  All benefits must be reasonable in relation to the premium 
charge.  Insurers filing for approval of a rate higher than prima facie 
rates must comply with the requirements of 31A-22-807 and R590-
91-10. Include a demonstration that the rates are reasonable in 
relation to the benefits. 
 
R590-228-9.  Insurer Annual Reports. 
 (1)  All insurer annual reports must be properly identified and 
must be filed separately from other filings.  Each annual report must 
be submitted along with the properly completed report checklist. 
 (2)  "Credit Life and Credit Accident and Health Annual 
Report." 
 (a)  Filings must comply with R590-91-10.  Every Credit Life, 
and Credit Accident and Health insurer marketing must file 
annually. 
 (b)  The report must include: 
 (i)  Utah Credit Life, and Credit Accident and Health Report 
Checklist; 
 (ii)  a cover letter along with a self-addressed stamped 
envelope; and 
all required documents. 
 (iii)  Annual report filings are due May 1 each year.  
 
R590-228-10.  Additional Procedures for Electronic Filings. 
 Filers submitting electronic filings must follow the 
requirements for both the electronic system and this rule, as 
applicable. 
 
R590-228-11.  Correspondence, Inquiries, and Responses. 
 (1)  Correspondence.  When corresponding with the 
department, filers must provide sufficient information to identify the 
original filing.  Information should include: 
 (a)  type of insurance; 
 (b)  date of filing; 
 (c)  form numbers; and 
 (d)  copy of the original transmittal. 
 (2)  Status Checks.  Filers can request the status of their filing 
by telephone, or email 60 days after the date of submission. 
  (3)  Response to an Order. 
 (a)  A response to an order must include: 
 (i)  a response cover letter identifying the changes made; 
 (ii)  a copy of the Order to Prohibit Use; 
 (iii)  one copy of the revised documents with all changes 
highlighted; and 
 (iv)  return notification materials, which consist of a copy of the 
response cover letter and a self-addressed stamped envelope. 
 (4)  Rejected Filings.  A rejected filing is NOT considered filed. 
If resubmitted it is considered a new filing.  If resubmitting a 
previously rejected filing, the new filing must include a copy of the 
rejection notice. 
 

R590-228-12.  Penalties. 
 Persons found, after a hearing or other regulatory process, to be 
in violation of this rule shall be subject to penalties as provided 
under Section 31A-2-308. 
 
R590-228-13.  Enforcement Date. 
 The commissioner will begin enforcing the provision of this 
rule May 1, 2004. 
 
R590-228-14.  Severability. 
 If any provision of this rule or the application of it to any 
person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the 
remainder of the rule and the application of the provision to other 
persons or circumstances may not be affected by it. 
 
KEY:  credit insurance filings 
2004 
31A-2-201 
31A-2-201.1 
31A-2-202 
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Natural Resources, Parks and 
Recreation 

R651-611 
Fee Schedule 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26948 

FILED:  02/12/2004, 16:15 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The facility 
at Utah Field House of Natural History State Park was too 
small to contain and preserve all the artifacts that have come 
into the possession of the Division of Parks and Recreation.  
The structure did not have the proper facilities for professional 
examination and care of the artifacts.  With the new fieldhouse 
in place, it is time to adjust fees for use of the new facility.  
Fees to include entrance to the Field House, including use of 
the training room (per session); theater (per session); Lobby 
area (per session); and use of the entire museum (per day). 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Utah Field House of 
Natural History has a new facility with more features, and 
more capacity to house and preserve precious artifacts for 
display to the public.  This building will be used by the public 
for business and private purposes.  Changes in the current fee 
schedule will allow nominal fees to be charged to the public to 
help offset the expenses incurred with the new building and 
expanded services. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 63-11-17 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  It is estimated that this change in the fee 
structure for the Utah Field House of Natural History will 
increase state revenue by $150,000. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This change in the rules will increase 
tax collections for Vernal City by an amount less than 
$10,000. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  Visitors to the Field House will pay an 
increased fee to enter the facilities per the change in this 
amendment to the rule.  For each visitor the increase will be 
approximately $3 per visit.  This change would almost double 
the current fee they are paying. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  If a person or 
persons wishing to visit the Utah Field House of Natural 
History will not pay the nominal fee to enter, they will be 
denied entry to the Field House.  This choice not to pay the 
new fee is based on the fact that the fee would have been 
increased by $3. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  While the new fee may deter 
some would-be entrants from visiting the Field House - and, 
by extension, purchasing nearby goods and services - it is 
likely that this effect is more than offset by the attractiveness 
of the new facility.  No negative fiscal impact to businesses is 
anticipated from the proposed change. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
PARKS AND RECREATION 
Room 116  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Dee Guess at the above address, by phone at 801-538-7320, 
by FAX at 801-537-3144, or by Internet E-mail at 
deeguess@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Gordon Topham, Interim Deputy Director 
 
 
 
R651.  Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation. 
R651-611.  Fee Schedule. 
R651-611-2.  Day Use Entrance Fees. 
 Permits the use of all day activity areas in a state park.  These fees 
do not include overnight camping facilities or special use fees. 
 A.  Annual Permits 
 1.  $70.00 Multiple Park Permit (good for all parks) 
 2.  $35.00 Senior Multiple Park Permit (good for all parks) 

 3.  Snow Canyon Specialty Permits 
 a.  $15.00 Family Pedestrian Permit 
 b.  $5.00 Commuter Permit 
 4.  Duplicate Annual Permits may be purchased if originals are 
lost, destroyed, or stolen, upon payment of a $10.00 fee and the 
submittal of a signed affidavit to the Division office.  Only one 
duplicate is allowed. 
 B.  Special Fun Tag - Available free to Utah residents, who are 
disabled, as defined by the Special Fun Tag permit affidavit. 
 C.  Daily Permit - Allows access to a specific state park on the 
date of purchase. 
 1.  $9.00 ($5.00 for seniors) per private motor vehicle or $5.00 per 
person ($3.00 for seniors), for pedestrians or bicycles at the following 
parks: 
 

TABLE 1 
 
       Deer Creek        Jordanelle - Hailstone 
       [Hailstone         ]Utah Lake 
       Willard Bay 
 
 2.  $7.00 ($4.00 for seniors) per private motor vehicle or $4.00 per 
person ($2.00 for seniors) for pedestrians or bicycles at the following 
parks: 
 

TABLE 2 
 
       Bear Lake - Marina        Bear Lake - Rendezvous 
       Dead Horse Point          East Canyon 
       Jordanelle - Rockcliff    Quail Creek 
       Rockport                  Sand Hollow 
       Yuba 
 
 3.  $6.00 per adult, $3.00 for children, and $3.00 for seniors at 
Utah Field House State Park. 
 4.  $2.00 per person ($1.00 for seniors), or $6.00 per family 
(up to eight (8) individuals ($3.00 for seniors), at the following parks: 
 

TABLE 3 
 
       Anasazi                   Camp Floyd 
       Edge of the Cedars        Great Salt Lake 
       Fremont                   Territorial 
       Iron Mission[ 
       Utah Field House] 
 
 [4]5.  $5.00 ($3.00 for seniors) per private motor vehicle or $3.00 
per person ($2.00 for seniors),for pedestrians or bicycles at the parks 
not identified above, including the east side of Bear Lake. 
 [5]6.  $10.00 per OHV rider at the Jordan River OHV Center. 
 [6]7.  $2.00 per person for commercial groups or vehicles with 
nine (9) or more occupants ($15.00 per group at Great Salt Lake). 
 D.  Group Site Day Use Fee - Advance reservation only.  $2.00 
per person, age six (6) and over, for sites with basic facilities. Minimum 
$50.00 fee established for each facility. 
 E.  Educational Groups - No charge for group visits by Utah 
public or parochial schools with advance notice to park.  When special 
arrangements or interpretive talks are provided, a fee of $.50 per person 
may be charged at the park manager's discretion. 
 F.  Antelope Island Wildlife Management Program:  A $1.00 fee 
will be added to the entrance fee at Antelope Island.  This additional fee 
will be used by the Division to fund the Wildlife Management Program 
on the Island. 
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R651-611-4.  Special Fees. 
 A.  Golf Course Fees 
 1.  Palisade rental and green fees. 
 a.  Nine holes general public - weekends and holidays - $10.00 
 b.  Nine holes weekdays (except holidays) - $9.00 
 c.  Nine holes Jr/Sr weekdays (except holidays) $8.00 
 d.  20 round card pass - $140.00 
 e.  20 round card pass (Jr only)- $100.00 
 f.  Promotional pass - single person (any day) - $400.00 
 g.  Promotional pass - single person (weekdays only) - $275.00 
 h.  Promotional pass - couples (any day) - $650.00 
 i.  Promotional pass - family (any day) - $850.00 
 j.  Companion fee - walking, non -player - $4.00 
 k.  Motorized cart (9 holes) - $8.00 
 l.  Motorized cart (9 holes single rider) - $4.00 
 m.  Pull carts (9 holes) - $2.00 
 n.  Club rental (9 holes) - $5.00 
 o.  School teams - No fee for practice rounds with coach and team 
roster.  Tournaments are $3.00 per player. 
 p.  Driving range - small bucket - $2.50 
 q.  Driving range - large bucket - $3.50 
 2.  Wasatch Mountain and Soldier Hollow rental and green fees. 
 a.  Nine holes general public - $12.00 
 b.  Nine holes general public (weekends and holidays) - 13.00 
 c.  Nine holes Jr/Sr weekdays (except holidays) - $11.00 
 d.  20 round card pass - $220.00 - no holidays or weekends 
 e.  Companion fee - walking, non-player - $4.00 
 f.  Motorized cart (9 holes - mandatory on Mt. course) - $12.00 
 g.  Motorized cart (9 holes single rider - $6.00) 
 h.  Pull carts (9 holes) - $2.25 
 i.  Club rental (9 holes) - $6.00 
 j.  School teams - No fee for practice rounds with coach and team 
roster (Wasatch County only). 
 Tournaments are $3.00 per player. 
 k.  Tournament fee (per player) - $5.00 
 l.  Driving range - small bucket - $2.50 
 m.  Driving range - large bucket - $5.00 
 n.  Advance tee time booking surcharge - $15.00 
 3.  Green River rental and green fees. 
 a.  Nine holes general public - $9.00 
 b.  Nine holes Jr/Sr weekdays (except holidays) - $8.00 
 c.  Eighteen holes general public - $16.00 
 d.  20 round card pass - $140.00 
 e.  Promotional pass - single person (any day) - $350.00 
 f.  Promotional pass - personal golf cart - $350.00 
 g.  Promotional pass - single person (Jr/Sr weekdays) - $275.00 
 h.  Promotional pass - couple (any day) - $600.00 
 I.  Promotional pass - family (any day) - $750.00 
 j.  Companion fee - walking, non-player - $4.00 
 k.  Motorized cart (9 holes) - $8.00 
 l.  Motorized cart (9 holes single rider) - $4.00 
 m.  Pull carts (9 holes) - $2.25 
 n.  Club rental (9 holes) - $5.00 
 o.  School teams - No fee for practice rounds with coach and team 
roster.  Tournaments are $3.00 per player. 
 4.  Golf course hours are daylight to dark 
 5.  No private, motorized golf carts are allowed, except where 
authorized by existing contractual agreement. 
 6.  Jr golfers are 17 years and under.  Sr golfers are 62 and older. 
 B.  Boat Mooring and Dry Storage 
 1.  Mooring Fees: 

 a.  Day Use - $5.00 
 b.  Overnight Boat Parking - $7.00 (until 8:00 a.m.) 
 c.  Overnight Boat Camping - $15.00 (until 2:00 p.m.) 
 d.  Monthly - $4.00/ft. 
 e.  Monthly with Utilities - (Bear Lake) $6.00/ft. 
 f.  Monthly with Utilities - (Other Parks) $5.00/ft. 
 g.  Monthly Off Season - $2.00/ft 
 h.  Monthly (Off Season with utilities) - $3.00/ft 
 2.  Dry Storage Fees: 
 a.  Overnight (until 2:00 p.m.) - $5.00 
 b.  Monthly During Season - $75.00 
 c.  Monthly Off Season - $50.00 
 d.  Monthly (unsecured) - $25.00 
 C.  Meeting Rooms and Buildings 
 1.  Day Use: 1-4 hours between 8:00 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. 
 a.  Up to 50 persons - $50.00 
 b.  51 to 100 persons - $70.00 
 c.  101 to 150 persons - $90.00 
 d.  Add 50% for after 6:00 p.m. 
 e.  Fees include day use fee 
 2.  Overnight Use 2:00 p.m. until 2:00 p.m., up to 100 people.  
Minimum Fee $250.00 
 3.  Territorial Statehouse 
 a.  Legislative Hall (per hour) - $30.00 
 b.  School or Grounds (per hour) - $20.00 
 4.  Utah Field House of Natural History 
 a.  Training room per session - $75.00 
 b.  Theater per session - $100.00 
 c.  Lobby area per session - $500.00 
 d.  Entire museum per day - $2,000.00 
 D.  Roller Skating Fees: 
 1.  Adults - $2.00 
 2.  Children 6 through 11 - $1.00 
 3.  Skate Rental - $1.00 
 4.  Ice Skate Sharpening 
 5.  Group Reservations 
 a.  First Hour - $30.00 
 b.  Every Hour Thereafter - $20.00 
 E.  Other Miscellaneous Fees 
 1.  Canoe Rental (includes safety equipment). 
 a.  Up to one (1) hour - $ 5.00 
 b.  Up to four (4) hours - $10.00 
 c.  All day to 6:00 p.m. $20.00 
 2.  Paddle boat Rental (includes safety equipment). 
 a.  Up to one (1) hour $10.00 
 b.  Up to four (4) hours $20.00 
 c.  All day to 6:00 p.m. $30.00 
 3.  Cross Country Skiing Trails. 
 a.  $4.00 per person, twelve (12) and older. 
 b.  $2.00 per person, six (6) through eleven (11). 
 4.  Pavilion - 8:00 a.m. - 10:00 p.m. (non -fee areas). 
 a.  $10.00 per day - (single unit). 
 b.  $30.00 per day - (group unit). 
 5.  Wagon Rental per day - $50.00 
 6.  Recreation Field (non-fee areas) - $25.00. 
 7.  Sports Equipment Rental - $10.00. 
 8.  Life Jacket Rental - $1.00 
 9.  Day Use Shower Fee - $2.00. 
 (where facilities can accommodate) 
 10.  Cleaning Deposit (where applicable) - $100.00 
 11.  Application Fees - Non -refundable PLUS Negotiated Costs. 
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 a.  Grazing Permit - $20.00 
 b.  Easement - $ 200.00 
 c.  Construction/Maintenance - $50.00 
 d.  Special Use Permit - $50.00 
 e.  Commercial Filming - $50.00 
 f.  Waiting List - $10.00 
 12.  Assessment and Assignment Fees. 
 a.  Duplicate Document - $10.00 
 b.  Contract Assignment - $20.00 
 c.  Returned checks - $20.00 
 d.  Staff time - $40.00/hour 
 e.  Equipment - $30.00/hour 
 f.  Vehicle - $20.00/hour 
 g.  Researcher - $5.00/hour 
 h.  Photo copy - $ .10/each 
 i.  Fee collection - $10.00 
 13.  Curation Fees. 
 a.  Annual curation agreement $75.00 
 b.  Curation storage Edge of Cedars $400.00/cubic foot. 
 c.  Curation storage other parks $350.00/cubic foot 
 d.  All curation storage fees are one time only. 
 14.  Snowmobile Parking Fee - Monte Cristo Trail head. 
 a.  Day use (6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m.) - $5.00 
 b.  Overnight (10:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.) - $5.00 
 c.  Season Pass (Day use only) - $30.00 
 d.  Season Pass (Overnight) - $50.00 
 
KEY:  parks, fees 
[January 6]April 1, 2004 
Notice of Continuation August 7, 2001 
63-11-17(2) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Public Safety, Fire Marshal 
R710-6-1 

Adoption, Title, Purpose and Scope 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  26938 
FILED:  02/06/2004, 17:38 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Utah 
Liquefied Petroleum (LP) Gas Board met on January 16, 
2004, and proposed that Rule R710-6 be amended.  The 
purpose of the amendment was to update one incorporated 
reference. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The Utah LP Gas Board 
proposes to amend the existing rule by updating the 
incorporated reference, National Fire Protection Association 
(NFPA), Standard 54, National Fuel Gas Code, 1999 edition, 
to the 2002 edition. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53-7-305 
 

THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  National Fire Protection Association 
(NFPA), Standard 54, National Fuel Gas Code, 2002 edition 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  The aggregate anticipated cost to the 
state budget would be approximately $300 to purchase the 
required copies. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no aggregate anticipated 
cost to local government because it doesn't affect local 
government. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  There is an aggregate anticipated cost of 
approximately $6,616 for the purchase of approximately 200 
copies of NFPA, Standard 54.  These would need to be 
purchased by LP Gas Distributors and HVAC contractors that 
install LP Gas equipment.  The cost could be a little higher or 
lower due to the unknown exact number of the standards that 
would be purchased by the industry for use. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The compliance 
costs for affected persons would be the state budget and the 
LP Gas industry.  The compliance cost would be $33.08 per 
copy of NFPA, Standard 54, National Fuel Gas Code. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The cost of $33.08 per copy of 
NFPA, Standard 54, National Fuel Gas Code, does not pose a 
substantial fiscal impact on the LP Gas industry.  The industry 
prefers to use the most recent copy of the industry standards, 
so this complies with their needs. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
FIRE MARSHAL 
Room 302  
5272 S COLLEGE DR 
MURRAY UT 84123-2611, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Brent Halladay at the above address, by phone at 801-284-
6352, by FAX at 801-284-6351, or by Internet E-mail at 
bhallada@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Gary A. Wise, State Fire Marshal 
 
 
 
R710.  Public Safety, Fire Marshal. 
R710-6.  Liquefied Petroleum Gas Rules. 
R710-6-1.  Adoption, Title, Purpose and Scope. 
 Pursuant to Title 53, Chapter 7, Section 305, Utah State Code 
Annotated 1953, the Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) Board adopts 
minimum rules to provide regulation to those who distribute, 
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transfer, dispense or install LP Gas and/or its appliances in the State 
of Utah. 
 There is adopted as part of these rules the following codes 
which are incorporated by reference: 
 1.1  National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 58, 
LP Gas Code, 2001 edition, except as amended by provisions listed 
in R710-6-8, et seq. 
 1.2  National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 54, 
National Fuel Gas Code, [1999]2002 edition, except as amended by 
provisions listed in R710-6-8, et seq. 
 1.3  National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Standard 
1192, Standard on Recreational Vehicles, 2002 Edition, except as 
amended by provisions listed in R710-6-8, et seq. 
 1.4  International Fire Code (IFC), Chapter 38, 2003 edition, as 
published by the International Code Council, Inc. (ICC), except as 
amended by provisions listed in R710-6-8, et seq. 
 1.5  A copy of the above codes are on file with the Division of 
Administrative Rules, and the State Fire Marshal's Office.  The 
definitions contained in the afore referenced codes shall also pertain 
to these rules. 
 1.6  Title. 
 These rules shall be known as "Rules Governing LPG 
Operations in the State of Utah" and may be cited as such, and will 
be hereinafter referred to as "these rules". 
 1.7  VALIDITY. 
 If any article, section, subsection, sentence, clause, or phrase, of 
these rules is, for any reason, held to be unconstitutional, contrary to 
statute, or exceeding the authority of the LPG Board such decision 
shall not affect the validity of the remaining portion of these rules. 
 1.8  Conflicts. 
 In the event where separate requirements pertain to the same 
situation in the same code, or between different codes or standards 
as adopted, the more restrictive requirement shall govern, as 
determined by the enforcing authority. 
 
KEY:  liquefied petroleum gas 
[January 16, 2004]April 1, 2004 
Notice of Continuation July 5, 2001 
53-7-305 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Tax Commission, Administration 

R861-1A-37 
Provisions Relating to Disclosure of 
Commercial Information Pursuant to 
Utah Code Ann. Section 59-1-404 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  26943 

FILED:  02/10/2004, 15:46 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Section 59-
1-404 prohibits the disclosure of information of a commercial 
nature, or information derived therefrom.  Section 59-1-404 is 
language enacted by S.B. 2004 (2003).  (DAR NOTE:  S.B. 

2004 is found at UT L 2003, 2nd Spec. Sess., Ch 7, and was 
effective November 25, 2003.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed section 
provides that "information of a commercial nature" does not 
include the name of a property owner or the taxes and other 
amounts owed by that taxpayer, the amount of tax collected or 
abated, the tax status of the property or information relating to 
a tax sale, and "physical description of the property" include a 
property's street address.  In addition, the new section 
indicates that a party to a proceeding may disclose 
commercial information of a property taxpayer that is not a 
party to the proceeding if that information is directly involved in 
the proceeding.  Finally, the section provides that a party may 
disclose commercial information to the extent necessary to 
fulfill any statutory obligations under Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 
13. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 59-1-404 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  None--This section permanently puts in 
place language from an emergency rule filing.  The 
emergency rule allowed counties to continue their current 
statutorily required equalization hearings and publish 
information regarding delinquent property taxpayers.  (DAR 
NOTE:  The 120-day (emergency) rule filing on Section R861-
1A-37 is under DAR No. 26864, published in the January 15, 
2004, issue of the Bulletin, and was effective December 19, 
2003.) 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--This section permanently puts 
in place language from an emergency rule filing.  The 
emergency rule allowed counties to continue their current 
statutorily required equalization hearings and publish 
information regarding delinquent property taxpayers. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  None--This section permanently puts in 
place language from an emergency rule filing.  The 
emergency rule allowed counties to continue their current 
statutorily required equalization hearings and publish 
information regarding delinquent property taxpayers. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None--Passage of 
this rule will continue the current practices of the counties. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no fiscal impact 
on businesses. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TAX COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
210 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84134-0002, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Cheryl Lee at the above address, by phone at 801-297-3900, 
by FAX at 801-297-3919, or by Internet E-mail at 
clee@utah.gov 
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End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Pam Hendrickson, Commissioner 
 
 
 
R861.  Tax Commission, Administration. 
R861-1A.  Administrative Procedures. 
R861-1A-37.  Provisions Relating to Disclosure of Commercial 
Information Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Section 59-1-404. 
 The provisions of this rule apply to the provisions relating to 
the disclosure of commercial information under Section 59-1-404. 
 A.  "Information of a commercial nature" does not include: 
 1.  the name of a property owner or property taxpayer; or 
 2.  the amount of any of the property tax due, collected, or 
abated; 
 3.  the amount of any interest, costs, or other charges relating to 
the property tax due; 

 4.  the tax status of the property, including exemptions, 
property classifications, and bankruptcy filings; or 
 5.  information relating to a tax sale of the property. 
 B.  "Physical description of the property" includes a property's 
street address. 
 C.  The disclosure required under Subsection 59-1-
404(4)(a)(iii) on behalf of any party to any action or proceeding 
under Title 59 shall include commercial information obtained from a 
property taxpayer that is not a party to any action or proceeding 
under Title 59 if the commercial information is directly involved in 
the action or proceeding. 
 D.  Any party subject to the provisions of Section 59-1-404 
may publish notice to the public, lien holders, and other interested 
parties, file liens, or otherwise disclose commercial information to 
the extent necessary to fulfill that party's statutory obligations under 
Title 59, Chapter 2, Part 13, Collection of Taxes. 
 
KEY:  developmentally disabled, grievance procedures, 
taxation, disclosure requirements 
[September 25, 2003]2004 
59-1-404 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES  

 
After an agency has published a PROPOSED RULE in the Utah State Bulletin, it may receive public comment that 
requires the PROPOSED RULE to be altered before it goes into effect.  A CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE allows an agency 
to respond to comments it receives. 
 
As with a PROPOSED RULE, a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides 
summary information about the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost 
impact of the rule, and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  The text shows only 
those changes made since the PROPOSED RULE was published in an earlier edition of the Utah State Bulletin.  
Additions made to the rule appear underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to the rule appear struck out with 
brackets surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · ·) indicates that unaffected text was 
removed to conserve space.  If a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the Division of Administrative Rules 
will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of rules that are too long to print is available from the agency or from the 
Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
While a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE does not have a formal comment period, there is a 30-day waiting period during 
which interested parties may submit comments.  The 30-day waiting period for CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES 
published in this issue of the Utah State Bulletin ends March 31, 2004.  At its option, the agency may hold public 
hearings. 
 
From the end of the waiting period through June 29, 2004, the agency may notify the Division of Administrative 
Rules that it wants to make the CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE effective.  When an agency submits a NOTICE OF 
EFFECTIVE DATE for a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the PROPOSED RULE as amended by the CHANGE IN PROPOSED 
RULE becomes the effective rule.  The agency sets the effective date.  The date may be no fewer than 30 days nor 
more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may 
file another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to additional comments received.  If the Division of 
Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or another CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE filing, along with its associated PROPOSED RULE, lapses and the agency must start the 
process over. 
 
CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-6 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code 
Rule R15-2, and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-5, R15-4-7, and R15-4-9. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Changes in Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Public Service Commission, 
Administration 

R746-100 
Practice and Procedure Governing 

Formal Hearings 
 

NOTICE OF CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE 
DAR File No.:  26849 

Filed:  02/11/2004, 14:56 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for the change is based on Commissioners' considerations of 
comments filed and further deliberation. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Subsection R746-100-
2(O), "presiding officer" is being added.  In Subsection R746-
100-4(D), Times for Filing, "business" days is being changed 
to "calendar" days, and "filing date is being changed to 
"service" of the pleading or document.   In Subsection R746-
100-8(C)(2), reference to Rule 26(b)(4), Utah Rules of Civil 
Procedures, is being added.  In Subsection R746-100-
10(E)(2), "to the Commission or court" is being deleted, and 
Subsections R746-100-10(I)(1) and (2) are added concerning 
scheduling and recording conferences and payment of the 
recordings.  In Subsection R746-100-11(F), the filing time for 
review or rehearing is being changed from 20 to 30 days; a 
reference is corrected; and language is added concerning 
petitions for reconsideration.  (DAR NOTE:  This change in 
proposed rule has been filed to make additional changes to a 
proposed amendment that was published in the January 1, 
2004, issue of the Utah State Bulletin, on page 28.  
Underlining in the rule below indicates text that has been 
added since the publication of the proposed rule mentioned 
above; strike-out indicates text that has been deleted.  You 
must view the change in proposed rule and the proposed 
amendment together to understand all of the changes that will 
be enforceable should the agency make this rule effective.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 54-4-1, 54-4-2, 54-7-1.5, 54-7-5, 54-7-9, 54-
7-15, and 63-46b-4 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖   THE STATE BUDGET:  No change in costs or savings are 
anticipated because the amendment does not change the 
existing practice before the Commission or set method of 
presentation or time periods for items submitted in 
administrative proceedings. 
❖   LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  No change, as the amendments do 
not affect local government activities. 
❖   OTHER PERSONS:  No change in costs or savings are 
anticipated from the amendments because the amendment 
does not change the existing practice before the Commission 
or set method of presentation or time periods for items 
submitted in administrative proceedings. 
 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  None are 
expected because the amendment does not change the 
existing practice before the Commission or set method of 
presentation or time periods for items submitted in 
administrative proceedings. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The amendments comport with 
existing practice before the Commission or set method of 
presentation or time periods for items submitted in 
administrative proceedings. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION 
ADMINISTRATION 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Sandy Mooy or Barbara Stroud at the above address, by 
phone at 801-530-6708 or 801-530-6714, by FAX at 801-530-
6796 or 801-530-6796, or by Internet E-mail at 
smooy@utah.gov or bstroud@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 03/31/2004. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  04/01/2004 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Barbara Stroud, Paralegal 
 
 
 
R746.  Public Service Commission, Administration. 
R746-100.  Practice and Procedure Governing Formal Hearings. 
R746-100-1.  General Provisions and Authorization. 
 A.  Procedure Governed -- Sections 1 through 14 of this rule 
shall govern the formal hearing procedures before the Public Service 
Commission of Utah, Sections 15 and 16 shall govern rulemaking 
proceedings before the Commission. 
 B.  Consumer Complaints -- Consumer complaints may be 
converted to informal proceedings, pursuant to Section 63-46b-4. 
 C.  No Provision in Rules -- In situations for which there is no 
provision in these rules, the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure shall 
govern, unless the Commission considers them to be unworkable or 
inappropriate. 
 D.  Words Denoting Number and Gender -- In interpreting 
these rules, unless the context indicates otherwise, the singular 
includes the plural, the plural includes the singular, the present or 
perfect tenses include future tenses, and the words of one gender 
include the other gender.  Headings are for convenience only, and 
they shall not be used in construing any meaning. 
 E.  Authorization -- This rule is authorized pursuant to Section 
54-1-1 which requires the Commission to exercise its rulemaking 
powers and Subsection 54-1-2.5 which establishes the requirements 
for Commission procedure, including Hearings, Practice and 
Procedure, Chapter 7 of Title 54. 
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R746-100-2.  Definitions. 
 A.  "Applicant" is a party applying for a license, right, or 
authority or requesting agency action[ from the Commission] from 
the Commission. 
 B.  "Commission" is the Public Service Commission of Utah.  
In appropriate context, it may include administrative law judges or 
presiding officers designated by the Commission. 
 C.  "Committee" is the Committee of Consumer Services, 
Department of Commerce. 
 D.  "Complainant" is a person who complains to the 
Commission of an act or omission of a person in violation of law, 
the rules, or an order of the Commission. 
 E.  "Consumer complaint" is a complaint of a retail customer 
against a public utility. 
 F.  "Division" is the Division of Public Utilities, Utah State 
Department of Commerce. 
 G.  "Ex Parte Communication" means an oral or written 
communication with a member of the Commission, administrative 
law judge, or Commission employee who is, or may be reasonably 
expected to be, involved in the decision-making process, relative to 
the merits of a matter under adjudication unless notice and an 
opportunity to be heard are given to each party.  It shall not, 
however, include requests for status reports on a proceeding covered 
by these rules. 
 H.  "Formal proceeding" is a proceeding before the 
Commission not designated informal by rule, pursuant to Section 
63-46b-4. 
 I.  "Informal proceeding" is a proceeding so designated by the 
Commission. 
 J.  "Party" is a participant in a proceeding defined by 
Subsection 63-46b-2(1)(f). 
 K.  "Interested person" is a person who may be affected by a 
proceeding before the Commission, but who does not seek 
intervention.  An interested person may not participate in the 
proceedings except as a public witness, but shall receive copies of 
notices and orders in the proceeding. 
 L.  "Intervenor" is a person permitted to intervene in a 
proceeding before the Commission. 
 M.  "Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, 
association, governmental subdivision, or governmental agency. 
 N.  "Petitioner" is a person seeking relief other than the 
issuance of a license, right, or authority from the Commission. 
 O.  "Presiding officer" is a person conducting an adjudicative 
hearing, pursuant to Subsection 63-46b-2(1)(h), and may be the 
entire Commission, one or more commissioners acting on the 
Commission's behalf, or an administrative law judge, presiding 
officer, or hearing officer appointed by the Commission.  It may also 
include the Secretary of the Commission when performing duties 
identified in Section 54-1-7. 
 P.  "Proceeding" or "adjudicative proceeding" is an action 
before the Commission initiated by a notice of agency action, or 
request for agency action, pursuant to Section 63-46b-3.  It is not an 
informal or preliminary inquiry or investigation undertaken by the 
Commission to determine whether a proceeding is warranted; nor is 
it a rulemaking action pursuant to Title 63, Chapter 46a, the 
Administrative Rulemaking Act. 
 Q.  "Public witness" is a person expressing interest in an issue 
before the Commission but not entitled or not wishing to participate 
as a party. 

 R.  "Respondent" is a person against whom a notice of agency 
action or request for agency action is directed or responding to an 
application, petition or other request for agency action. 
 
R746-100-3.  Pleadings. 
 A.  Pleadings Enumerated -- Applications, petitions, 
complaints, orders to show cause, and other traditional initiatory 
pleadings may be filed with the Commission.  Traditional pleadings 
will be considered requests for agency action, pursuant to Section 
63-46b-3, concerning adjudicative proceedings.  Answers, protests, 
and other traditional responsive pleadings may be filed with the 
Commission and will be considered responses, subject to the 
requirements of Section 63-46b-6. 
 1.  The following filings are not requests for agency action or 
responses, pursuant to Sections 63-46b-3 and 63-46b-6: 
 a.  motions, oppositions, and similar filings in existing 
Commission proceedings; 
 b.  informational filings which do not request or require 
affirmative action, such as Commission approval. 
 B.  Docket Number and Title -- 
 1.  Docket number -- Upon the filing of an initiatory pleading, 
or upon initiation of a generic proceeding, the Commission shall 
assign a docket number to the proceeding which shall consist of the 
year in which the pleading was filed, a code identifying the public 
utility appearing as applicant, petitioner, or respondent, or generic 
code designation and another number showing its numerical position 
among the filings involving the utility or generic proceeding filed 
during the year. 
 2.  Headings and titles -- Pleadings shall bear a heading 
substantially as follows: 
 

TABLE 
 
     Name of Attorney preparing or Signer of Pleading 
     Address 
     Telephone Number 
 
          BEFORE THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION OF UTAH 
      ----------------------------------------------------- 
 
     In the Matter of the           ) 
     Application, petition,         )    Docket Number 
     etc.-- for complaints,         ) 
     names of both complainant      )    Type of pleading 
     and respondent should          ) 
     appear                         ) 
 
      ----------------------------------------------------- 
 
 C.  Form of Pleadings -- With the exception of consumer 
complaints, pleadings shall be double-spaced and typewritten, which 
may include a computer or word processor, if the type is easily 
legible and in the equivalent of at least 12 point type.  Pleadings 
shall be presented on paper 8-1/2 x 11 inches, shall include the 
docket number, if known, and shall be dated and time stamped upon 
receipt by the Commission.  Pleadings shall also be presented as an 
electronic word processing document, an exact copy of the paper 
version filed, and may be on a 3-1/2" floppy disk or compact disc 
(CD), using a Commission-approved format.  Pleadings over five 
pages shall be double sided and three-hole punched. 
 D.  Amendments to Pleadings -- The Commission may allow 
pleadings to be amended or corrected at any time.  Initiatory 
pleadings may be amended without leave of the Commission at any  
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time before a responsive pleading has been filed or the time for 
filing the pleading has expired.  Defects in pleadings which do not 
affect substantial rights of the parties shall be disregarded. 
 E.  Signing of Pleadings -- Pleadings shall be signed by the 
party, or by the party's attorney or other authorized representative if 
the party is represented by an attorney or other authorized 
representative, and shall show the signer's address.  The signature 
shall be considered a certification by the signer that he has read the 
pleading and that, to the best of his knowledge and belief, there is 
good ground to support it. 
 F.  Consumer Complaints -- 
 1.  Alternative dispute resolution, mediation procedures -- 
Before a proceeding on a consumer complaint is initiated before the 
Commission, the Commission shall try to resolve the matter through 
referral first to the customer relations department, if any, of the 
public utility complained of and then to the Division for 
investigation and mediation.  Only after these resolution efforts have 
failed will the Commission entertain a proceeding on the matter. 
 2.  Request for agency action -- Persons requesting 
Commission action shall be required to file a complaint in writing, 
requesting agency action.  The Commission shall not act on illegible 
or incomplete complaints and shall return those complaints to the 
complainant with instructions for correction or completion. 
 3.  The Division of Public Utilities may participate in a 
consumer complaint proceeding as determined by the Division or as 
requested by the Commission. 
 G.  Content of Pleadings -- 
 1.  Pleadings filed with the Commission shall include the 
following information as applicable: 
 a.  if known, the reference numbers, docket numbers, or other 
identifying symbols of relevant tariffs, rates, schedules, contracts, 
applications, rules, or similar matter or material; 
 b.  the name of each participant for whom the filing is made or, 
if the filing is made for a group of participants, the name of the 
group, if the name of each member of the group is set forth in a 
previously filed document which is identified in the filing being 
made; 
 c.  if statute, rule, regulation, or other authority requires the 
Commission to act within a specific time period for a matter at issue, 
a specific section of the pleading, located after the heading or 
caption, entitled "Proceeding Time Period," which shall include: 
reference or citation to the statute, rule, regulation, or other 
authority; identification of the time period; and the expiration date of 
the time period identified by day, month, and year 
 d.  the specific authorization or relief sought; 
 e.  copies of, or references to, tariff or rate sheets relevant to the 
pleading; 
 f.  the name and address of each person against whom the 
complaint is directed; 
 g.  the relevant facts, if not set forth in a previously filed 
document which is identified in the filing being made; 
 h.  the position taken by the participant filing a pleading, to the 
extent known when the pleading is filed, and the basis in fact and 
law for the position; 
 i.  the name, address, and telephone number of an individual 
who, with respect to a matter contained in the filing, represents the 
person for whom the filing is made; 
 j.  additional information required to be included by Section 63-
46b-3, concerning commencement of adjudicative proceedings, or 
other statute, rule, or order. 

 H.  Motions -- Motions may be submitted for the Commission's 
decision on either written or oral argument, and the filing of 
affidavits in support or contravention of the motion is permitted.  If 
oral argument is sought, the party seeking oral argument shall 
arrange a hearing date with the Commission's Law and Motion 
calendar and provide at least five days written notice to affected 
parties, unless the Commission determines a shorter time period is 
needed. 
 I.  Responsive Pleadings -- 
 1.  Responsive pleadings to applications, petitions, or requests 
for agency action shall be filed in accordance with Section 63-46b-6. 
 2.  Response and reply pleadings may be filed to pleadings 
other than applications, petitions or requests for agency action. 
 
R746-100-4.  Filing and Service. 
 A.  Filing of Pleadings -- Originals of pleadings shall be filed 
with the Commission in the format described in R746-100-3(C), 
together with the number of copies designated by the secretary of the 
Commission. 
 B.  Notice -- Notice shall be given in conformance with Section 
63-46b-3. 
 C.  Required Public Notice -- When applying for original 
authority or rate increase, the party seeking authority or requesting 
Commission action shall publish notice of the filing or action 
requested, in the form and within the times as the Commission may 
order, in a newspaper of general circulation in the area of the state in 
which the parties most likely to be interested are located. 
 D.  Times for Filing -- Responsive pleadings to requests for 
agency action shall be filed with the Commission and served upon 
opposing parties within 30 days after service of the request for 
agency action or notice of request for agency action, which ever was 
first received.  Motions directed toward initiatory pleadings shall be 
filed before a responsive pleading is due; otherwise objections shall 
be raised in responsive pleadings.  Motions directed toward 
responsive pleadings shall be filed within ten days of the service of 
the responsive pleading.  Response or reply pleadings to other than 
applications, petitions or requests for agency action shall be filed 
within 15 [business]calendar days and 10 [business]calendar days, 
respectively, of the [filing date]service date of the pleading or 
document to which the response or reply is addressed.  Absent a 
response or reply, the Commission may presume that there is no 
opposition. 
 E.  Computation of Time -- The time within which an act shall 
be done shall be computed by excluding the first day and including 
the last, unless the last day is Saturday, Sunday, or a state holiday, 
and then it is excluded and the period runs until the end of the next 
day which is neither a Saturday, Sunday, nor a holiday. 
 
R746-100-5.  Participation. 
 Parties to a proceeding before the Commission, as defined in 
Section 63-46b-2, may participate in a proceeding including the 
right to present evidence, cross-examine witnesses, make argument, 
written and oral, submit motions, and otherwise participate as 
determined by the Commission.  The Division and Committee shall 
be given full participation rights in any case. 
 
R746-100-6.  Appearances and Representation. 
 A.  Taking Appearances -- Parties shall enter their appearances 
at the beginning of a hearing or when designated by the presiding 
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officer by giving their names and addresses and stating their 
positions or interests in the proceeding.  Parties shall, in addition, fill 
out and submit to the Commission an appearance slip, furnished by 
the Commission. 
 B.  Representation of Parties -- Parties may be represented by 
an attorney licensed to practice in Utah; an attorney licensed in a 
foreign state, when joined of record by an attorney licensed in Utah, 
may also represent parties before the Commission.  Upon motion, 
reasonable notice to each party, and opportunity to be heard, the 
Commission may allow an attorney licensed in a foreign state to 
represent a party in an individual matter based upon a showing that 
local representation would impose an unreasonable financial or other 
hardship upon the party.  The Commission may, if it finds an 
irresolvable conflict of interest, preclude an attorney or firm of 
attorneys, from representing more than one party in a proceeding.  
Individuals who are parties to a proceeding, or officers or employees 
of parties, may represent their principals' interests in the proceeding. 
 
R746-100-7.  Intervention and Protest. 
 Intervention -- Persons wishing to intervene in a proceeding for 
any purpose, including opposition to proposed agency action or a 
request for agency action filed by a party to a proceeding, shall do so 
in conformance with Section 63-46b-9. 
 
R746-100-8.  Discovery. 
 A.  Informal discovery -- The Commission encourages parties 
to exchange information informally.  Informational queries termed 
"data requests" which have been typically used by parties practicing 
before the Commission may include written interrogatories and 
requests for production as those terms are used in the Utah Rules of 
Civil Procedure.  Informal discovery is appropriate particularly with 
respect to the clarification of pre-filed testimony and exhibits before 
hearing so as to avoid unnecessary on-the-record cross-examination. 
 The Commission may require an informal exchange of information 
as it judges appropriate.  The Commission, on its own motion or the 
motion of a party, may require the parties to participate in an 
informal meeting to exchange information informally and otherwise 
simplify issues and expedite the proceeding. 
 B.  Formal Discovery -- Discovery shall be made in accordance 
with Rules 26 through 37, Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, with the 
following exceptions and modifications. 
 C.  Exceptions and Modifications -- 
 1.  If no responsive pleading is required in a proceeding, parties 
may begin discovery immediately upon the filing and service of an 
initiatory pleading.  If a responsive pleading is required, discovery 
shall not begin until ten days after the time limit for filing the 
responsive pleading. 
 2.  Rule 26(b)(4), Utah Rules of Civil Procedure, restricting 
discovery shall not apply, and the opinions, conclusions, and data 
developed by experts engaged by parties shall be freely 
discoverable. 
 3.  At any stage of a proceeding, the Commission may, on its 
own motion or that of a party, convene a conference of the parties to 
establish times for completion of discovery, the scope of, necessity 
for, and terms of, protective orders, and other matters related to 
discovery. 
 [3]4.  Formal discovery shall be initiated by an appropriate 
discovery request served on the party or person from whom 
discovery is sought.  Discovery requests, regardless of how 
denominated, responses to, and transcripts of depositions shall not 

be filed with the Commission unless the Commission orders 
otherwise. 
 [4]5.  In the applicable Rules of Civil Procedure, reference to 
"the court" shall be considered reference to the Commission. 
 
R746-100-9.  Prehearing Conference and Prehearing Briefs. 
 A.  Prehearing Conferences -- Upon the Commission's motion 
or that of a party, the presiding officer may, upon written notice to 
parties of record, hold prehearing conferences for the following 
purposes: 
 1.  formulating or simplifying the issues, including each party's 
position on each issue; 
 2.  obtaining stipulations, admissions of fact, and documents 
which will avoid unnecessary proof; 
 3.  arranging for the exchange of proposed exhibits or prepared 
expert or other testimony, including a brief description of the 
evidence to be presented and issues addressed by each witness; 
 4.  determining procedure to be followed at the hearing; 
 5.  encouraging joint pleadings, exhibits, testimony and cross-
examination where parties have common interests, including 
designation of lead counsel where appropriate; 
 6.  agreeing to other matters that may expedite the orderly 
conduct of the proceedings or of a settlement.  Agreements reached 
during the prehearing conference shall be recorded in an appropriate 
order unless the participants stipulate or agree to a statement of 
settlement made on the record. 
 B.  Prehearing Briefs -- The Commission may require the filing 
of prehearing briefs which shall conform to the format described in 
R746-100-3(C) and may include: 
 1.  the issues, and positions on those issues, being raised and 
asserted by the parties; 
 2.  brief summaries of evidence to be offered, including the 
names of witnesses, exhibit references and issues addressed by the 
testimony; 
 3.  brief descriptions of lines of cross-examination to be 
pursued. 
 C.  Final prehearing conferences -- After all testimony has been 
filed, the Commission may at any time before the hearing hold a 
final prehearing conference for the following purposes: 
 1.  determine the order of witnesses and set a schedule for 
witnesses' appearances, including times certain for appearances of 
out-of-town witnesses; 
 2.  delineate scope of cross-examination and set limits thereon 
if necessary; 
 3.  identify and prenumber exhibits. 
 
R746-100-10.  Hearing Procedure. 
 A.  Time and Place -- When a matter is at issue, the 
Commission shall set a time and place for hearing.  Notice of the 
hearing shall be served in conformance with Sections 63-46b-3(2)(b) 
and 63-46b-3(3)(e) at least five days before the date of the hearing 
or shorter period as determined by the Commission. 
 B.  Continuance -- Continuances may be granted upon good 
cause shown.  The Commission may impose the costs in connection 
with the continuance as it judges appropriate. 
 C.  Failure to Appear -- A party's default shall be entered and 
disposed of in accordance with Section 63-46b-11. 
 D.  Subpoenas and Attendance of Witnesses -- Commissioners, 
the secretary to the Commission, and administrative law judges or 
presiding officers employed by the Commission are delegated the 
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authority to sign and issue subpoenas.  Parties desiring the issuance 
of subpoenas shall submit them to the Commission.  The parties at 
whose behest the subpoena is issued shall be responsible for service 
and paying the person summoned the statutory mileage and witness 
fees.  Failure to obey the Commission's subpoena shall be 
considered contempt. 
 E.  Conduct of the Hearing -- 
 1.  Generally -- Hearings may be held before the full 
Commission, one or more commissioners, administrative law judges 
or presiding officers employed by the Commission as provided by 
law and as the Commission shall direct.  Hearings shall be open to 
the public, except where the Commission closes a hearing for the 
presentation of proprietary, trade secret or confidential material.  
Failure to obey the rulings and orders of the presiding officer may be 
considered contempt. 
 2.  Before commissioner or administrative law judge -- When a 
hearing is conducted before less than the full Commission, before an 
administrative law judge or presiding officer, the presiding officer 
shall ensure that the taking of evidence and subsequent matters 
proceed as expeditiously as practicable.  The presiding officer shall 
prepare and certify a recommended decision to the Commission.  
Except as otherwise ordered by the Commission or provided by law, 
the presiding officer may schedule and otherwise regulate the course 
of the hearing; recess, reconvene, postpone, or adjourn the hearing; 
administer oaths; rule on and receive evidence; cause discovery to 
be conducted; issue subpoenas; hold conferences of the participants; 
rule on, and dispose of, procedural matters, including oral or written 
motions; summarily dispose of a proceeding or part of a proceeding; 
certify a question to the Commission; permit or deny appeal[ to the 
Commission or court] of an interlocutory ruling; and separate an 
issue or group of issues from other issues in a proceeding and treat 
the issue or group of issues as a separate phase of the proceeding.  
The presiding officer may maintain order as follows: 
 a.  ensure that disregard by a person of rulings on matters of 
order and procedure is noted on the record or, if appropriate, is made 
the subject of a special written report to the Commission; 
 b.  if a person engages in disrespectful, disorderly, or 
contumacious language or conduct in connection with the hearing, 
recess the hearing for the time necessary to regain order; 
 c.  take appropriate action, including removal from the 
proceeding, against a participant or counsel, if necessary to maintain 
order. 
 3.  Before full Commission -- In hearings before the full 
Commission, the Commission shall exercise the above powers and 
any others available to it and convenient or necessary to an orderly, 
just, and expeditious hearing. 
 F.  Evidence -- 
 1.  Generally -- The Commission is not bound by the technical 
rules of evidence and may receive any oral or documentary 
evidence; except that no finding may be predicated solely on hearsay 
or otherwise incompetent evidence.  Further, the Commission may 
exclude non-probative, irrelevant, or unduly repetitious evidence.  
Testimony shall be under oath and subject to cross-examination.  
Public witnesses may elect to provide unsworn statements. 
 2.  Exhibits -- 
 a.  Except as to oral testimony and items administratively 
noticed, material offered into evidence shall be in the form of an 
exhibit.  Exhibits shall be premarked and parties offering exhibits 
shall, before the hearing begins, provide copies of their exhibits to 
the presiding officer, other participants or their representatives, and 
the original to the reporter, if there is one, otherwise to the presiding 

officer.  If documents contain information the offering participant 
does not wish to include, the offering party shall mark out, excise, or 
otherwise exclude the extraneous portion on the original.  Additions 
to exhibits shall be dealt with in the same manner. 
 b.  Exhibits shall be premarked, by the offering party, in the 
upper right corner of each page by identifying the party, the witness, 
docket number, and a number reflecting the order in which the 
offering party will introduce the exhibit. 
 c.  Exhibits shall conform to the format described in R746-100-
3(C) and be double sided and three-hole punched.  They shall also 
be adequately footnoted and if appropriate, accompanied by either 
narrative or testimony which adequately explains the following: 
Explicit and detailed sources of the information contained in the 
exhibit; methods used in statistical compilations, including 
explanations and justifications; assumptions, estimates and 
judgments, together with the bases, justifications and results; 
formulas or algorithms used for calculations, together with 
explanations of inputs or variables used in the calculations.  An 
exhibit offered by a witness shall also be presented as an electronic 
document, an exact copy of the paper version, filed on a 3-1/2" 
floppy disk or CD, using a format previously approved by the 
Commission. 
 3.  Administrative notice -- The presiding officer may take 
administrative or official notice of a matter in conformance with 
Section 63-46b-8(1)(b)(iv). 
 4.  Stipulations -- Participants in a proceeding may stipulate to 
relevant matters of fact or the authenticity of relevant documents.  
Stipulations may be received in evidence, and if received, are 
binding on the participants with respect to any matter stipulated.  
Stipulations may be written or made orally at the hearing. 
 5.  Settlements -- 
 a.  Cases may be resolved by a settlement of the parties if 
approved by the Commission.  Issues so resolved are not binding 
precedent in future cases involving similar issues. 
 b.  Before accepting an offer of settlement, the Commission 
may require the parties offering the settlement to show that each 
party has been notified of, and allowed to participate in, settlement 
negotiations.  Parties not adhering to settlement agreements shall be 
entitled to oppose the agreements in a manner directed by the 
Commission. 
 G.  Prefiled Testimony -- If a witness's testimony has been 
reduced to writing and filed with the Commission before the 
hearing, in conformance with R746-100-3(C), at the discretion of the 
Commission, the testimony may be placed on the record without 
being read into the record; if adverse parties shall have been served 
with, or otherwise have had access to, the prefiled, written testimony 
for a reasonable time before it is presented.  Except upon a finding 
of good cause, a reasonable amount of time shall be at least ten days. 
 The testimony shall have line numbers inserted at the left margin 
and shall be authenticated by affidavit of the witness.  To aid in the 
identification of text and the examination of witnesses, written 
testimony shall have each line of written test numbered 
consecutively throughout the entire written testimony.  Internal 
charts, exhibits or other similar displays included within or attached 
to written testimony need not be included within the document's 
internal line numbering.  If admitted, the testimony shall be marked 
and incorporated into the record as an exhibit.  Parties shall have full 
opportunity to cross-examine the witness on the testimony.  Unless 
the Commission orders otherwise, parties shall have witnesses 
present summaries of prefiled testimony orally at the hearing.  
Witnesses may be required to reduce their summaries to writing and 
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either file them with their prefiled testimony or deliver them to 
parties of record before or at the hearing.  At the hearing, witnesses 
shall read their summaries into the record.  Opposing parties may 
cross-examine both on the original prefiled testimony and the 
summaries. 
 H.  Joint Exhibits -- Both narrative and numerical joint exhibits, 
detailing each party's position on each issue, shall be filed with the 
Commission before the hearing. These joint exhibits shall: 
 a.  be updated throughout the hearing; 
 b.  depict the final positions of each party on each issue at the 
end of the hearing; and 
 c.  be in conformance with R746-100-3(C). 
 I.  Recording of Hearing and Transcript -- Hearings may be 
recorded by a shorthand reporter licensed in Utah; except that in 
non-contested matters, or by agreement of the parties, hearings may 
be recorded electronically. 
 1.  Unless otherwise ordered by the Commission, scheduling 
conferences and technical conferences will not be recorded. 
 2.  If a party requests that a scheduling conference or technical 
conference be recorded, the Commission may require that party to 
pay some or all of the costs associated with recording. 
 J.  Order of Presentation of Evidence -- Unless the presiding 
officer orders otherwise, applicants or petitioners, including 
petitioners for an order to show cause, shall first present their case in 
chief, followed by other parties, in the order designated by the 
presiding officer, followed by the proposing party's rebuttal. 
 K.  Cross-Examination -- The Commission may require written 
cross-examination and may limit the time given parties to present 
evidence and cross-examine witnesses.  The presiding officer may 
exclude friendly cross-examination.  The Commission discourages 
and may prohibit parties from making their cases through cross-
examination. 
 L.  Procedure at Conclusion of Hearing -- At the conclusion of 
proceedings, the presiding officer may direct a party to submit a 
written proposed order.  The presiding officer may also order parties 
to present further matter in the form of oral argument or written 
memoranda. 
 
R746-100-11.  Decisions and Orders. 
 A.  Generally -- Decisions and orders may be drafted by the 
Commission or by parties as the Commission may direct.  Draft or 
proposed orders shall contain a heading similar to that of pleadings 
and bear at the top the name, address, and telephone number of the 
persons preparing them.  Final orders shall have a concise summary 
of the case containing the salient facts, the issues considered by the 
Commission, and the Commission's disposition of them.  A short 
synopsis of the order, placed at the beginning of the order, shall 
describe the final resolutions made in the order. 
 B.  Recommended Orders -- If a case has been heard by less 
than the full Commission, or by an administrative law judge, the 
official hearing the case shall submit to the Commission a 
recommended report containing proposed findings of fact, 
conclusions of law, and an order based thereon. 
 C.  Final Orders of Commission -- If a case has been heard by 
the full Commission, it shall confer following the hearing.  Upon 
reaching its decision, the Commission shall draft or direct the 
drafting of a report and order, which upon signature of at least two 
Commissioners shall become the order of the Commission.  
Dissenting and concurring opinions of individual commissioners 
may be filed with the order of the Commission. 

 D.  Deliberations -- Deliberations of the Commission shall be in 
closed chambers. 
 E.  Effective Date -- Copies of the Commission's final report 
and order shall be served upon the parties of record.  Orders shall be 
effective the date of issuance unless otherwise stated in the order.  
Upon petition of a party, and for good cause shown, the Commission 
may extend the time for compliance fixed in an order. 
 F.  Review or Rehearing -- Petitions for review or rehearing 
shall be filed within 30 days of the issuance date of the order in 
accordance with Section 63-46b-12 and served on other parties of 
record.  Following the filing of a petition for review, opposing 
parties may file responsive memoranda or pleadings within 15 days. 
Proceedings on review shall be in accordance with Section 54-7-
1[7]15.  A petition for reconsideration pursuant to Section 63-46b-
13 is not required in order for a party to exhaust its administrative 
remedies prior to appeal. 
 
R746-100-12.  Appeals. 
 Appeals from final orders of the Commission shall be to a court 
of appropriate jurisdiction. 
 
R746-100-13.  Ex Parte Communications. 
 A.  Ex Parte Communications Prohibited -- To avoid prejudice, 
real or perceived, to the public interest and persons involved in 
proceedings pending before the Commission: 
 B.  Persons Affected -- Except as permitted in R746-100-13(C), 
no person who is a party, or the party's counsel, agent, or other 
person acting on the party's behalf, shall engage in ex parte 
communications with a commissioner, administrative law judge, 
presiding officer, or any other employee of the Commission who is, 
or may reasonably be expected to be, involved in the decision-
making process regarding a matter pending before the Commission.  
No commissioner, administrative law judge, presiding officer, or 
other employee of the Commission who is, or may reasonably be 
expected to be, involved in the decision-making process shall 
request or entertain ex parte communications. 
 C.  Exceptions -- The prohibitions contained in R746-100-
13(B) do not apply to a communication: 
 1.  from an interceder who is a local, state, or federal agency 
which has no official interest in the outcome and whose official 
duties are not affected by the outcome of the on-the-record 
proceedings before the Commission to which the communication 
relates; 
 2.  from a party, or the party's counsel, agent, or other person 
acting on the party's behalf if the communication relates to matters 
of procedure only; 
 3.  from a person when otherwise authorized by law; 
 4.  related to routine safety, construction, and operational 
inspections of project works by Commission employees undertaken 
to investigate or study a matter pending before the Commission; 
 5.  related to routine field audits of the accounts or the books or 
records of a company subject to the Commission's accounting 
requirements not undertaken to investigate or study a matter pending 
in issue before the Commission in a proceeding; 
 6.  related solely to a request for supplemental information or 
data necessary for an understanding of factual materials contained in 
documents or other evidence filed with the Commission in a 
proceeding covered by these rules and which is made in the presence 
of or after coordination with counsel. 
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 D.  Records of Ex Parte Communications -- Written 
communications prohibited by R746-100-13(B), sworn statements 
reciting the substance of oral communications, and written responses 
and sworn statements reciting the substance of oral responses to 
prohibited communications shall be delivered to the secretary of the 
Commission who shall place the communication in the case file, but 
separate from the material upon which the Commission can rely in 
reaching its decision.  The secretary shall serve copies of the 
communications upon parties to the proceeding and serve copies of 
the sworn statement to the communicator and allow him a 
reasonable time to file a response. 
 E.  Treatment of Ex Parte Communications -- A commissioner, 
administrative law judge, presiding officer, or an employee of the 
Commission who receives an oral offer of a communication 
prohibited by R746-100-13(B) shall decline to hear the 
communication and explain that the matter is pending for 
determination.  If unsuccessful in preventing the communication, the 
recipient shall advise the communicator that the communication will 
not be considered.  The recipient shall, within two days, prepare a 
statement setting forth the substance of the communication and the 
circumstances of its receipt and deliver it to the secretary of the 
Commission for filing.  The secretary shall forward copies of the 
statement to the parties. 
 F.  Rebuttal -- Requests for an opportunity to rebut on the 
record matters contained in an ex parte communication which the 
secretary has associated with the record may be filed in writing with 
the Commission.  The Commission may grant the requests only if it 
determines that fairness so requires.  If the communication contains 
assertions of fact not a part of the record and of which the 
Commission cannot take administrative notice, the Commission, in 
lieu of receiving rebuttal material, normally will direct that the 
alleged factual assertion on proposed rebuttal be disregarded in 
arriving at a decision.  The Commission will not normally permit a 
rebuttal of ex parte endorsements or oppositions by civic or other 
organizations by the submission of counter endorsements or 
oppositions. 
 G.  Sanctions -- Upon receipt of a communication knowingly 
made in violation of R746-100-13(B), the presiding officer may 
require the communicator, to the extent consistent with the public 
interest, to show cause why the communicator's interest in the 
proceeding should not be dismissed, denied, disregarded, or 
otherwise adversely affected because of the violation. 
 H.  Time When Prohibitions Apply -- The prohibitions 
contained in this rule shall apply from the time at which a 
proceeding is noticed for hearing or the person responsible for the 
communication has knowledge that it will be noticed for hearing or 
when a protest or a request to intervene in opposition to requested 
Commission action has been filed, whichever occurs first. 

R746-100-14.  Rulemaking. 
 A.  How initiated -- 
 1.  By the Commission -- When the Commission perceives the 
desirability or necessity of adopting a rule, it shall draft or direct the 
drafting of the rule.  During the drafting process, the Commission 
may request the opinion and assistance of any appropriate person.  It 
may also, in its discretion, conduct public hearings in connection 
with the drafting.  When the Commission is satisfied with the draft 
of the proposed rule, it may formally propose it in accordance with 
the Utah Rulemaking Act, 63-46a-4. 
 2.  By others -- Persons may petition the Commission for the 
adoption of a rule.  The petitions shall be accompanied by a draft of 
the rule proposed.  Upon receipt the Commission shall review the 
petition and draft and if it finds the proposed rule desirable or 
necessary, it shall proceed as with proposed rules initiated by the 
Commission, including amending or redrafting.  If the Commission 
finds the proposal unnecessary or undesirable, it shall so notify the 
petitioner in writing, giving reasons for its findings.  No public 
hearing shall be required in connection with the Commission's 
review of a petition for rulemaking. 
 B.  Hearing Procedure -- Hearings conducted in connection 
with rulemaking shall be informal, subject to requirements of 
decorum and order.  Absent a finding of good cause to proceed 
otherwise, testimony and statements shall be unsworn, and there 
shall be no opportunity for participants to cross-examine.  The 
Commission shall have the right, however, to freely question 
witnesses.  Public hearings shall be recorded by shorthand reporter 
or electronically, at the discretion of the Commission, and the 
Commission may allow or request the submission of written 
materials. 
 
R746-100-15.  Deviation from Rules. 
 The Commission may order deviation from a specified rule 
upon notice, opportunity to be heard and a showing that the rule 
imposes an undue hardship which outweighs the benefits of the rule. 
 
KEY:  government hearings, public utilities, rules and 
procedures 
2004 
Notice of Continuation December 6, 2002 
54-1-6 
54-4-1 
54-7-17 
63-46b 
 
▼ ▼ 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 
(1998). 
  
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-150 
Emission Inventories 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26942 

FILED:  02/09/2004, 16:29 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 19-2-
104(1)(c)allows the Air Quality Board to make rules 
"...requiring persons engaged in operations which result in air 
pollution to ...file periodic reports containing information 
relating to the rate, period of emission, and composition of the 
air contaminant..."  Rule R307-150 implements that statute by 
specifying the sources that must submit information, the 
information that must be submitted, and the due date for 
submissions.  Rule R307-150 meets the requirements of the 
federal Consolidated Emissions Reporting Rule, 40 CFR 
51.30(e) (67 FR 39602). 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Written comments have 
been received only during the public comment periods when 
Rule R307-150 was being amended.  For the amendment 
under DAR No. 22605, effective April 6, 2000, no comments 
were received.  For the amendment under DAR No. 22929, 
effective October 5, 2000, no comments were received.  For 
the amendment under DAR No. 26648, effective December 
31, 2003, the following comments were received:  COMMENT 
1:  Kennecott expressed concern that this rule makes the 
2002 inventory for ammonia and PM2.5 due before this rule 
was proposed, thus making all sources who did not report this 
information in April of this year in violation of the law.  
RESPONSE 1:  Staff agrees.  We have proposed a change 
found on page 1, line 17-18 wherein we change the due date 
to 90 days following the effective date of this rule and April 15 
of the year following each inventory request thereafter.  Note 

that we have already sent out a request for ammonia and 
PM2.5 from all major sources in the state as required in the 
federal Consolidated Emissions Reporting Rule, and 
requested that they be submitted to the Division by the end of 
2003.  Sources are complying with this request; COMMENT 2: 
 Chevron expressed concern that, at some future date, the 
state could unilaterally establish a format for the submittal of 
an inventory, and the companies could use only that format for 
data submittal.   RESPONSE 2:  The Division is developing a 
Workbook for each company to use in submitting their 
emissions inventory.  This is a first step toward web-based 
information submittal.  We recognize that there are some 
companies for whom this system may not work, and we are 
working with those companies to develop a format for their 
inventory submittal.  In response to Chevron's comment, we 
are proposing a revision to page 1, line 21 to state that we will 
accept the data from them in a format that we have worked 
out with each source; COMMENT 3:  JBR Environmental 
Consultants notes that the definition of "Large Major Source" 
includes only sources with emissions greater than 2,500 
tons/year of certain pollutants.  JBR believes that number was 
a typo and should be 250.  RESPONSE 3:  The CERR defines 
"Large Major Source" as those with 2,500 tons/year or more; 
COMMENT 4:  JBR would like the definition of "Major Source" 
copied to this section so it is easily compared to the definition 
of "Large Major Source."  RESPONSE 4:  Staff disagrees.  It 
has been our experience that such copies are prone to 
develop errors as one definition or the other is changed.  Staff 
feels it is very important that readers understand that the 
CERR ties the responsibility of sources to report emissions to 
the requirements of Title V (Operating Permits), which is 
where the definition of "Major Source" is located; COMMENT 
5:  JBR supports the concept of submitting an inventory only 
every third year if the emissions of ammonia or PM2.5 have 
not changed more than 40 tons.  RESPONSE 5:  Noted;  
COMMENT 6:  JBR also suggested that the rule be more 
specific about whether the "change" is for a specific year or 
can be a cumulative change over a period.  RESPONSE 6:  
The current proposal is very specific that if the emissions of a 
source in a given year are different by more than 40 tons from 
the "last inventory submitted," the source has to submit an 
inventory for that year; and COMMENT 7:  JBR expressed 
concern that there are few emission factors for ammonia, and 
recommend that the state wait until there are factors before 
requiring the inventory because what will be submitted will be 
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highly suspect.  RESPONSE 7:  The staff recognizes the 
limitations of the current emission factors for both ammonia 
and PM2.5.  EPA also recognizes those limitations, but is 
using the information collected to identify where they need to 
focus their resources to develop emission factors and to begin 
to identify potential control strategies to reduce ambient 
concentrations of PM2.5.  The CERR is federal law, and 
requires the submittal of inventories for ammonia and PM2.5, 
beginning with a 2002 inventory to be delivered to EPA by 
June 1, 2004.  It should be noted, though, that we have been 
telling sources that if they cannot find an emission factor for 
one of their processes, report to the Division that there is "no 
factor."  If there is an emission factor published in the AP-42 
(EPA's list of emission factors), and the source wants to use 
another factor they think is more appropriate, Air Quality asks 
that they tell us where the factor came from and why it is more 
appropriate. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The State of Utah is 
required under the federal Consolidated Emissions Reporting 
Rule, 40 CFR 51.30(e), to submit inventories of emissions 
from a variety of sources to the federal Environmental 
Protection Agency on a schedule specified in the federal rule. 
 Rule R307-150 specifies the kinds of sources that must 
submit inventory information to the State in order to fulfill the 
State's responsibilities.  In addition, the inventory information 
is required in order to determine the fees paid by sources 
subject to 40 CFR Part 70 and Rule R307-415, the Operating 
Permit Program, and for determining where emission 
reductions can be achieved if needed for Utah to remain in 
attainment of the federal health standards for air quality.  
Therefore, the rule should be continued 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/09/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-214 
National Emission Standards for 

Hazardous Air Pollutants 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26939 
FILED:  02/09/2004, 16:26 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) 
allows the Air Quality Board to make rules regarding the 
control, abatement, and prevention of air pollution from all 
sources and establishing the maximum quantity of air 
contaminants that may be emitted by any source.  Rule R307-
214 incorporates by reference the federal standards for 
emissions of hazardous pollutants from various sources. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received in the last five years except when the rule has 
been amended.  The rule was amended effective November 
1, 2000 (DAR No. 23014).  No one attended the public 
hearing and no public comments were received.   The rule 
was also amended effective June 17, 2003 (DAR No. 25825). 
 No public comments were received during the hearing and 
one public comment was received from Kennecott supporting 
Utah's incorporation by reference of the NESHAPs in order to 
maintain state primacy; Kennecott pointed out that their facility 
is not subject to the Primary Copper Smelter MACT.  Finally, 
Rule R307-214 was amended effective October 2, 2003 (DAR 
No. 26468).  No comments were received. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Incorporating federal rules 
into the Utah rules allows enforcement by staff of the Utah 
Division of Air Quality rather than by the federal Environmental 
Protection Agency and therefore this rule should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/09/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-415 
Permits:  Operating Permit 

Requirements 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  26940 
FILED:  02/09/2004, 16:27 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 19-2-109.1(2)(a) 
requires that all sources subject to Title IV or V of the Clean 
Air Act obtain an operating permit, and Rule R307-415 sets 
forth the requirements and procedures for obtaining the 
permit.  Rule R307-415 is consistent with Title V and with 40 
CFR Part 70. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Written comments were 
received only during the public comment period when 
amendments were proposed.  For the amendment under DAR 
No. 22045, effective July 15, 1999, no comments were 
received.  For the amendment under DAR No. 22606, 
effective April 6, 2000, the Utah Industrial Environmental 
Coalition (UIENC) and Kennecott Utah Copper Corporation 
each submitted comments supporting the proposed changes.  
For the amendment under DAR No. 23096, effective 
December 7, 2000, no comments were received.  For the 
amendment under DAR No. 24492, effective August 1, 2002, 
a comment requested that the rule allow refunds and that the 
language regarding credits should be stricken.  The Board 
adopted the amendment with language allowing a refund, and 
allowing it to be issued in the same year that the credit 
became available and the refund was requested.  For the 
amendment under DAR No. 24491, effective May 13, 2002, 
the only written comment was from Kennecott Utah Copper 
Corporation supporting the rule change and noting that this 
change means that Kennecott will no longer need to apply for 
a variance annually. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Title V of the Clean Air Act 
(42 U.S.C 7661, et seq.) specifies the requirements for an 
operating permit program to be operated by states for certain 
sources of air pollution.  If states choose not to operate their 
own program, or do not establish a program that meets the 
Clean Air Act requirements, then the federal Environmental 
Protection Agency will establish the program.  Utah's program 
is defined under Section 19-2-109.1, and is implemented by 
Rule R307-415 and therefore should be continued. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/09/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-417 
Permits:  Acid Rain Sources 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26941 

FILED:  02/09/2004, 16:28 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 19-2-109.1 requires 
that all sources of air pollution that are subject to Title IV or V 
of the federal Clean Air Act must obtain an operating permit.  
Rule R307-417 incorporates by reference the federal 
requirements under Title IV, 40 CFR Part 72, as in effect on 
July 1, 1998, into Utah's air quality rules, so that Utah has the 
authority to include those requirements in operating permits 
for sources subject to Title IV. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written comments have 
been received in the last five years. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  Without Rule R307-417, 
Utah would not have the authority to include the provisions of 
Title IV of the Clean Air Act in operating permits for sources 
subject to Title IV, and those permits would be issued by the 
federal Environmental Protection Agency instead.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/09/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Health, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

R414-58 
Children's Organ Transplants 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  26935 

FILED:  02/03/2004, 10:52 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule is authorized under 
Section 26-1-5 which grants the Utah Department of Health 
the power to adopt, amend, or rescind rules which shall have 
the force and effect of law.  In addition, this rule is authorized 
under Title 26, Chapter 18a, which lists criteria for children's 
organ transplants and outlines the responsibilities of the Kurt 
Oscarson Children's Organ Transplant Coordinating 

Committee.  However, in order to be in compliance with Title 
26, Chapter 18a, this rule will require a technical substantive 
change to state that a child must be under the age of 18 to be 
eligible for an organ transplant instead of 18 years of age or 
younger at the time an application for financial assistance is 
made which will be done at a later date. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written or oral 
comments have been received regarding this rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule needs to be 
continued because it establishes criteria to determine eligibility 
and provide financial assistance to children who need organ 
transplant services and have no other resources to access 
care. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Craig Devashrayee at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-6641, by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
cdevashrayee@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Scott D. Williams, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  02/03/2004 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  These effective dates are at least 31 days and not more than 120 days after the date the 
following rules were published.  
 
 
 

Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Administrative Services 

Fleet Operations, Surplus Property 
No. 26843 (AMD): R28-3.  Utah State Agency for Surplus 
Property Adjudicative Proceedings. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 12, 2004 
 
 

Commerce 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 

No. 26834 (AMD): R156-38.  Residence Lien Restriction 
and Lien Recovery Fund Rules. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 3, 2004 
 

Real Estate 
No. 26837 (AMD): R162-202.  Residential Mortgage 
Renewal Period. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 3, 2004 
 
No. 26840 (NEW): R162-206.  Licensing Examination. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 3, 2004 
 
No. 26839 (NEW): R162-207.  License Renewal. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 3, 2004 
 
No. 26836 (NEW): R162-208.  Continuing Education. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 3, 2004 
 
 

Education 
Administration 

No. 26850 (AMD): R277-462.  Comprehensive Guidance 
Program. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 5, 2004 
 
No. 26852 (AMD): R277-517.  Athletic Coaching 
Certification. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 5, 2004 
 

No. 26851 (R&R): R277-520.  Appropriate Licensing and 
Assignment of Teachers. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 5, 2004 
 
No. 26853 (NEW): R277-524.  Paraprofessional 
Qualifications. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 5, 2004 
 
 

Health 
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement 
Policy 

No. 26854 (NEW): R414-9.  Federally Qualified Health 
Centers. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 3, 2004 
 
No. 26809 (NEW): R414-99.  Chiropractic Services. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  February 17, 2004 
 
No. 26811 (NEW): R414-300.  Primary Care Network, 
Covered-at-Work Demonstration Waiver. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  February 10, 2004 
 
No. 26810 (AMD): R414-310.  Medicaid Primary Care 
Network Demonstration Waiver. 
Published:  December 15, 2003 
Effective:  February 10, 2004 
 

Money Management Council 
Administration 

No. 26676 (CPR): R628-19.  Requirements for the Use 
of Investment Advisers by Public Treasurers. 
Published:  January 1, 2004 
Effective:  February 10, 2004 
 
 

Natural Resources 
Oil, Gas and Mining; Coal 

No. 26710 (AMD): R645-301-100.  General Contents. 
Published:  November 15, 2003 
Effective:  February 6, 2004 
 
No. 26711 (AMD): R645-301-500.  Engineering. 
Published:  November 15, 2003 
Effective:  February 6, 2004 
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No. 26712 (AMD): R645-303-200.  Permit Review, 
Change and Renewal. 
Published:  November 15, 2003 
Effective:  February 6, 2004 
 

No. 26713 (AMD): R645-401.  Inspection and 
Enforcement: Civil Penalties. 
Published:  November 15, 2003 
Effective:  February 6, 2004 
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RULES INDEX 
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 

AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)  

 
The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules.  The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 1, 2004, including notices of effective date received through 
February 17, 2004, the effective dates of which are no later than March 1, 2004.  The Rules Index is published in the 
Utah State Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes.  Nonsubstantive changes, while not published in the 
Bulletin, do become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day 
(Emergency) rules that do not become part of the Code.  The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and 
Keyword (Subject). 
 
DAR NOTE:  The index may contain inaccurate page number references.  Also the index is incomplete in the sense 
that index entries for Changes in Proposed Rules (CPRs) are not preceded by entries for their parent Proposed 
Rules.  These difficulties with the index are related to a new software package used by the Division to create the 
Bulletin and related publications; we hope to have them resolved as soon as possible.  Bulletin issue information and 
effective date information presented in the index are, to the best of our knowledge, complete and accurate.  If you 
have any questions regarding the index and the information it contains, please contact Nancy Lancaster (801 538-
3218), Mike Broschinsky (801 538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801 538-3777). 
 
A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules  (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/). 
 
 
 
 
 RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
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Administrative Services 

Fleet Operations, Surplus Property 
R28-3 Utah State Agency for Surplus Property 

Adjudicative Proceedings 
26843 AMD 02/12/2004 2004-1/4  

 
Commerce 

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
R156-1-106  Division - Duties, Functions, and 

Responsibilities 
26805 AMD 01/20/2004 2003-24/4  

R156-5a Podiatric Physician Licensing Act Rules 26917 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/74  

R156-17a-612  Operating Standards - Pharmaceutical 
Wholesaler/Distributor and Pharmaceutical 
Manufacturer located in Utah 

26754 CPR 02/19/2004 2004-2/10  

R156-17a-612  Operating Standards - Pharmaceutical 
Wholesaler/Distributor and Pharmaceutical 
Manufacturer located in Utah 

26754 AMD 02/19/2004 2003-22/11  
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R156-26a-
303b  

Renewal and Reinstatement Requirements - 
Continuing Professional Education (CPE) 

26786 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

R156-37c Utah Controlled Substance Precursor Act 
Rules 

26916 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/74  

R156-38 Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery 
Fund Rules 

26834 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/5  

R156-39a Alternative Dispute Resolution Providers 
Certification Act Rules 

26915 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

R156-54-302b  Examination Requirements - Radiology 
Practical Technician 

26580 AMD 01/20/2004 2003-18/4  

R156-54-302b  Examination Requirements - Radiology 
Practical Technician 

26580 CPR 01/20/2004 2003-24/70  

R156-56 Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules 26693 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

R156-56-707  Statewide Amendments to the IPC 26692 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

R156-74 Certified Shorthand Reporters Licensing Act 
Rules 

26927 5YR 02/02/2004 2004-4/75  

R156-76-102  Definitions 26777 AMD 01/20/2004 2003-23/14  

Real Estate 
R162-7-3  Investigation and Enforcement 26835 AMD 02/18/2004 2004-1/9  

R162-105 Scope of Authority 26890 5YR 01/13/2004 2004-3/42  

R162-202 Residential Mortgage Renewal Period 26837 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/10  

R162-206 Licensing Examination 26840 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/12  

R162-207 License Renewal 26839 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/13  

R162-208 Continuing Education 26836 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/14  

Securities 
R164-11-2  Hearings for Certain Exchanges of Securities 26481 CPR 01/05/2004 2003-23/83  

R164-11-2  Hearings for Certain Exchanges of Securities 26481 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-15/17  

 
Education 

Administration 
R277-437 Student Enrollment Options 26871 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/42  

R277-462 Comprehensive Guidance Program 26850 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/16  

R277-486 Professional Staff Cost Program 26828 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/5  

R277-502 Educator Licensing and Data Retention 26827 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/6  

R277-517 Athletic Coaching Certification 26852 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/18  

R277-520 Appropriate Licensing and Assignment of 
Teachers 

26851 R&R 02/05/2004 2004-1/20  

R277-524 Paraprofessional Qualifications 26853 NEW 02/05/2004 2004-1/25  

R277-720 Child Nutrition Programs 26830 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/10  

R277-724 Criteria for Sponsors Recruiting Day Care 
Facilities in the Child and Adult Care Food 
Program 

26829 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/11  

R277-735 Standards and Procedures for Corrections 
Education Programs Serving Inmates of the 
Utah Department of Corrections 

26870 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

Rehabilitation 
R280-201 USOR ADA Complaint Procedure 26872 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

R280-202 USOR Procedures for Individuals with the Most 
Severe Disabilities 

26873 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 
Environmental Quality 

Air Quality 
R307-150 Emission Inventories 26942 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/43  
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R307-214 National Emission Standards for Hazardous Air 
Pollutants 

26939 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/44  

R307-415 Permits:  Operating Permit Requirements 26940 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

R307-417 Permits:  Acid Rain Sources 26941 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

Drinking Water 
R309-705 Financial Assistance:  Federal Drinking Water 

Project Revolving Loan Program 
26760 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-22/19  

Water Quality 
R317-2 Standards of Quality for Waters of the State 26242 CPR 01/06/2004 2003-18/35  

R317-2 Standards of Quality for Waters of the State 26242 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-10/27  

 
Health 

Children's Health Insurance Program 
R382-10 Eligibility 26757 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-22/21  

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
R414-9 Federally Qualified Health Centers 26854 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/26  

R414-50 Dental, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons 26802 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-24/13  

R414-51 Dental, Orthodontia 26782 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/25  

R414-52 Optometry Services 26798 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/27  

R414-53 Eyeglasses Services 26783 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/28  

R414-54 Speech-Language Pathology Services 26803 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-24/14  

R414-58 Children's Organ Transplants 26935 5YR 02/03/2004 2004-5/46  

R414-99 Chiropractic Services 26809 NEW 02/17/2004 2003-24/15  

R414-300 Primary Care Network, Covered-at-Work 
Demonstration Waiver 

26811 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-24/17  

R414-304 Income and Budgeting 26781 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

R414-310 Medicaid Primary Care Network Demonstration 
Waiver 

26810 AMD 02/10/2004 2003-24/18  

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services 
R426-13 Emergency Medical Services Provider 

Designations 
26669 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/7  

R426-14 Ambulance Service and Paramedic Service 
Licensure 

26670 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/10  

R426-15 Licensed and Designated Provider Operations 26671 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/14  

Health Systems Improvement, Licensing 
R432-1 General Health Care Facility Rules 26868 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

R432-2 General Licensing Provisions 26876 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

R432-3 General Health Care Facility Rules Inspection 
and Enforcement 

26875 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

R432-4 General Construction 26869 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/46  

R432-5 Nursing Facility Construction 26877 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/46  

R432-6 Assisted Living Facility General Construction 26886 5YR 01/08/2004 2004-3/47  

R432-100-16  Emergency Care Services 26755 AMD 01/09/2004 2003-22/24  

 
Human Services 

Administration 
R495-879 Parental Support for Children in Care 26822 AMD 01/26/2004 2003-24/27  

Recovery Services 
R527-210 Guidelines for Setting Child Support Awards 26889 5YR 01/13/2004 2004-3/48  
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Insurance 

Administration 
R590-102 Insurance Department Fee Payment Rule 26787 AMD 01/08/2004 2003-23/39  

R590-187 Assessment of Title Insurance Agencies and 
Title Insurers for Costs Related to Regulation 
of Title Insurance 

26792 AMD 01/08/2004 2003-23/44  

 
Labor Commission 

Adjudication 
R602-1 General Provisions 26772 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

R602-2-1  Pleadings and Discovery 26773 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

Industrial Accidents 
R612-4-2  Premium Rates for the Uninsured Employers' 

Fund and the Employers' Reinsurance Fund. 
26697 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/64  

Safety 
R616-2-3  Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 

Pressure Vessels 
26674 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/25  

 
Money Management Council 

Administration 
R628-19 Requirements for the Use of Investment 

Advisers by Public Treasurers 
26676 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-20/27  

R628-19 Requirements for the Use of Investment 
Advisers by Public Treasurers 

26676 CPR 02/10/2004 2004-1/38  

 
Natural Resources 

Oil, Gas and Mining; Coal 
R645-301-100  General Contents 26710 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/34  

R645-301-500  Engineering 26711 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/35  

R645-303-200  Permit Review, Change and Renewal 26712 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/36  

R645-401 Inspection and Enforcement: Civil Penalties 26713 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/38  

Parks and Recreation 
R651-611 Fee Schedule 26776 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/52  

Forestry, Fire and State Lands 
R652-40-1800  Abandonment 26865 AMD 02/24/2004 2004-2/2  

Water Resources 
R653-2 Financial Assistance from the Board of Water 

Resources 
26779 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/56  

R653-5 Cloud Seeding 26784 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/59  

Wildlife Resources 
R657-5 Taking Big Game 26817 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/46  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 26659 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

R657-17-4  General Deer Permits and Tags 26818 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/55  

R657-33 Taking Bear 26867 AMD 02/24/2004 2004-2/3  

R657-38 Dedicated Hunter Program 26819 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

R657-41 Conservation and Sportsman Permits 26778 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-23/61  

R657-42 Accepted Payment of Fees, Late Fees, 
Exchanges, Surrenders, Refunds and 
Reallocation of Licenses, Certificates of 
Registration and Permits 

26820 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/61  
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Public Safety 

Driver License 
R708-30 Motorcycle Rider Training Schools 26918 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

Fire Marshal 
R710-2 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fireworks Act 26795 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/65  

R710-4 Buildings Under the Jurisdiction of the State 
Fire Prevention Board 

26793 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/67  

R710-4 Buildings Under the Jurisdiction of the State 
Fire Prevention Board 

26920 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/66  

R710-6 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Rules 26801 AMD 01/16/2004 2003-24/63  

R710-9 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention 
Law 

26788 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/72  

R710-9 Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention 
Law 

26919 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/70  

Criminal Investigations and Technical Services, Criminal Identification 
R722-900 Review and Challenge of Criminal Record 26895 5YR 01/15/2004 2004-3/48  

R722-900 Review and Challenge of Criminal Record  
(5YR EXTENSION) 

26858 NSC 01/15/2004 Not Printed 

 
Public Service Commission 

Administration 
R746-200-6  Termination of Service 26780 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/76  

R746-350 Application to Discontinue or Curtail 
Telecommunications Services 

26785 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

R746-365 Intercarrier Service Quality 26883 5YR 01/06/2004 2004-3/49  

 
Regents (Board Of) 

University of Utah, Administration 
R805-1 Operating Regulations for Bicycles, 

Skateboards and Scooters 
26914 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

University of Utah, Museum of Natural History (Utah) 
R807-1 Curation of Collections from State Lands 26913 5YR 01/26/2004 2004-4/77  

 
Tax Commission 

Property Tax 
R884-24P-24  Form for Notice of Property Valuation and Tax 

Changes Pursuant to Utah Code Ann. Sections 
59-2-918 through 59-2-924 

26910 NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 

 
Transportation 

Administration 
R907-64 Longitudinal and Wireless Access to Interstate 

Highway Rights-of-Way for Installation of 
Telecommunications Facilities 

26878 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/49  

R907-65 Compensation Schedule for Longitudinal 
Access to Interstate Highway Rights-of-Way for 
Installation of Telecommunications Facilities 

26879 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/50  

R907-67 Suspension of Contractors from Work on 
Department Projects -- Reasons 

26720 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

Motor Carrier 
R909-3 Standards for Utah School Buses 26880 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/50  

Motor Carrier, Ports of Entry 
R912-14 Changes in Utah's Oversize/Overweight Permit 

Program - Semitrailer Exceeding 48 Feet 
Length 

26881 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  
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Preconstruction, Right-of-Way Acquisition 
R933-2-3  Definitions 26892 EMR 01/14/2004 2004-3/39  

 
Workforce Services 

Employment Development 
R986-100 Employment Support Programs 26705 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/75  

R986-200 Family Employment Program (FEP) 26704 AMD 02/02/2004 2003-21/77  

R986-400 General Assistance and Working Toward 
Employment 

26706 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/81  

R986-700 Child Care Assistance 26707 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/83  

 
 
 
 

 RULES INDEX - BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
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accountants 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26786 R156-26a-303b  AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

 
acid rain 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26941 R307-417 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

 
administrative procedures 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26772 R602-1 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

 26773 R602-2-1  AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

 
air pollution 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26942 R307-150 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/43  

 26939 R307-214 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/44  

 26940 R307-415 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

 
air quality 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26941 R307-417 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

 
alternative dispute resolution 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26915 R156-39a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 
appellate procedures 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations, 
Surplus Property 

26843 R28-3 AMD 02/12/2004 2004-1/4  

 
appraisals 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 26910 R884-24P-24  NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 
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arbitration 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26915 R156-39a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 
archaelogical resources 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Museum of Natural History (Utah) 

26913 R807-1 5YR 01/26/2004 2004-4/77  

 
assignment 
Education, Administration 26851 R277-520 R&R 02/05/2004 2004-1/20  

 
athletics 
Education, Administration 26852 R277-517 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/18  

 
bear 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26867 R657-33 AMD 02/24/2004 2004-2/3  

 
bicycles 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

26914 R805-1 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

 
big game seasons 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26817 R657-5 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/46  

 
boilers 
Labor Commission, Safety 26674 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/25  

 
budgeting 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26781 R414-304 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

 
building codes 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26693 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

 26692 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

 
building inspection 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26693 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

 26692 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

 
certification 
Labor Commission, Safety 26674 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/25  

 
child care 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26707 R986-700 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/83  

 
child support 
Human Services, Administration 26822 R495-879 AMD 01/26/2004 2003-24/27  

Human Services, Recovery Services 26889 R527-210 5YR 01/13/2004 2004-3/48  

 
children's health benefits 
Health, Children's Health Insurance 
Program 

26757 R382-10 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-22/21  

 
chiropractic services 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26809 R414-99 NEW 02/17/2004 2003-24/15  
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coaching certification 
Education, Administration 26852 R277-517 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/18  

 
coal mines 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

26710 R645-301-100  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/34  

 26711 R645-301-500  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/35  

 26712 R645-303-200  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/36  

 26713 R645-401 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/38  

 
complaints 
Education, Rehabilitation 26872 R280-201 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

 
continuing professional education 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26786 R156-26a-303b  AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

 
contractors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26834 R156-38 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/5  

 26693 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

 26692 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

Transportation, Administration 26720 R907-67 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

 
controlled substances 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26916 R156-37c 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/74  

 
counselors 
Education, Administration 26850 R277-462 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/16  

 
court reporting 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26927 R156-74 5YR 02/02/2004 2004-4/75  

 
covered-at-work benefits 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26811 R414-300 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-24/17  

 
criminal records 
Public Safety, Criminal Investigations and 
Technical Services, Criminal Identification 

26895 R722-900 5YR 01/15/2004 2004-3/48  

 26858 R722-900 NSC 01/15/2004 Not Printed 

 
curation 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Museum of Natural History (Utah) 

26913 R807-1 5YR 01/26/2004 2004-4/77  

 
custody 
Education, Administration 26870 R277-735 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

 
custody of children 
Human Services, Administration 26822 R495-879 AMD 01/26/2004 2003-24/27  

 
demonstration 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26810 R414-310 AMD 02/10/2004 2003-24/18  
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dental 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26782 R414-51 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/25  

 
disabled persons 
Education, Rehabilitation 26872 R280-201 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

 26873 R280-202 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 
diversion programs 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26805 R156-1-106  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-24/4  

 
educator 
Education, Administration 26851 R277-520 R&R 02/05/2004 2004-1/20  

 
educator licensing 
Education, Administration 26827 R277-502 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/6  

 
emergency medical services 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

26669 R426-13 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/7  

 26670 R426-14 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/10  

 26671 R426-15 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/14  

 
emission fees 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26940 R307-415 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

 
employment support procedures 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26705 R986-100 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/75  

 
enrollment options 
Education, Administration 26871 R277-437 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/42  

 
environmental protection 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26940 R307-415 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

 
exiting providers 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26785 R746-350 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

 
eyeglasses 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26783 R414-53 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/28  

 
facilities 
Education, Administration 26829 R277-724 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/11  

 
facility 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26854 R414-9 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/26  

 
family employment program 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26704 R986-200 AMD 02/02/2004 2003-21/77  

 
fees 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26776 R651-611 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/52  

 
filing deadlines 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26772 R602-1 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  
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financial assistance 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 26760 R309-705 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-22/19  

 
financial disclosures 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26781 R414-304 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

 
fire prevention 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26793 R710-4 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/67  

 26920 R710-4 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/66  

 26919 R710-9 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/70  

 26788 R710-9 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/72  

 
fireworks 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26795 R710-2 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/65  

 
fish 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26659 R657-13 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

 
fishing 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26659 R657-13 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

 
food programs 
Education, Administration 26829 R277-724 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/11  

 
game laws 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26817 R657-5 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/46  

 26818 R657-17-4  AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/55  

 26867 R657-33 AMD 02/24/2004 2004-2/3  

 
general assistance 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26706 R986-400 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/81  

 
geology 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26777 R156-76-102  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-23/14  

 
hazardous air pollutant 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26939 R307-214 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/44  

 
health facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

26868 R432-1 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 26876 R432-2 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

 26875 R432-3 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/45  

 26886 R432-6 5YR 01/08/2004 2004-3/47  

 26755 R432-100-16  AMD 01/09/2004 2003-22/24  

 
health facility 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

26877 R432-5 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/46  

 
health facilties 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

26869 R432-4 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/46  
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hearings 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26773 R602-2-1  AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

 
highways 
Transportation, Administration 26720 R907-67 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

 
hunting 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26819 R657-38 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

 
hunting and fishing licenses 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26818 R657-17-4  AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/55  

 
income 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26781 R414-304 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

 
informal review 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26780 R746-200-6  AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/76  

 
inmates 
Education, Administration 26870 R277-735 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

 
insurance 
Insurance, Administration 26787 R590-102 AMD 01/08/2004 2003-23/39  

 
interconnection 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26883 R746-365 5YR 01/06/2004 2004-3/49  

 
interstate highway system 
Transportation, Administration 26878 R907-64 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/49  

 26879 R907-65 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/50  

 
inventories 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26942 R307-150 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/43  

 
investment advisers 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

26676 R628-19 CPR 02/10/2004 2004-1/38  

 26676 R628-19 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-20/27  

 
law 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26919 R710-9 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/70  

 26788 R710-9 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/72  

 
license 
Education, Administration 26851 R277-520 R&R 02/05/2004 2004-1/20  

 
licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26805 R156-1-106  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-24/4  

 26917 R156-5a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/74  

 26754 R156-17a-612  CPR 02/19/2004 2004-2/10  

 26754 R156-17a-612  AMD 02/19/2004 2003-22/11  

 26786 R156-26a-303b  AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

 26916 R156-37c 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/74  

 26834 R156-38 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/5  
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 26915 R156-39a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 26580 R156-54-302b  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-18/4  

 26580 R156-54-302b  CPR 01/20/2004 2003-24/70  

 26693 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/7  

 26692 R156-56-707  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/34  

 26927 R156-74 5YR 02/02/2004 2004-4/75  

 26777 R156-76-102  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-23/14  

 
liens 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26834 R156-38 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/5  

 
liquefied petroleum gas 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26801 R710-6 AMD 01/16/2004 2003-24/63  

 
loans 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 26760 R309-705 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-22/19  

 
MACT 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26939 R307-214 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/44  

 
mediation 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26915 R156-39a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/75  

 
Medicaid 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26854 R414-9 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/26  

 26802 R414-50 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-24/13  

 26782 R414-51 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/25  

 26798 R414-52 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/27  

 26783 R414-53 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/28  

 26803 R414-54 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-24/14  

 26809 R414-99 NEW 02/17/2004 2003-24/15  

 26811 R414-300 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-24/17  

 26781 R414-304 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/29  

 26810 R414-310 AMD 02/10/2004 2003-24/18  

 
motorcycle rider training schools 
Public Safety, Driver License 26918 R708-30 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

 
natural resources; management; surveys 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 
State Lands 

26865 R652-40-1800  AMD 02/24/2004 2004-2/2  

 
NCLB 
Education, Administration 26853 R277-524 NEW 02/05/2004 2004-1/25  

 
nutrition 
Education, Administration 26830 R277-720 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/10  

 
occupational licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26805 R156-1-106  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-24/4  
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operating permits 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26940 R307-415 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

 26941 R307-417 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

 
optometry 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26798 R414-52 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-23/27  

 
organ transplants 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26935 R414-58 5YR 02/03/2004 2004-5/46  

 
orthodontia 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26782 R414-51 AMD 01/28/2004 2003-23/25  

 
paleontological resources 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Museum of Natural History (Utah) 

26913 R807-1 5YR 01/26/2004 2004-4/77  

 
paraprofessional qualifications 
Education, Administration 26853 R277-524 NEW 02/05/2004 2004-1/25  

 
parks 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 26776 R651-611 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/52  

 
pedestrians 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

26914 R805-1 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

 
peer review 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26786 R156-26a-303b  AMD 01/06/2004 2003-23/7  

 
permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26820 R657-42 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/61  

Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 
Entry 

26881 R912-14 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  

 
permitting authority 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26941 R307-417 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/45  

 
personal property 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 26910 R884-24P-24  NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 

 
pharmacies 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26754 R156-17a-612  CPR 02/19/2004 2004-2/10  

 26754 R156-17a-612  AMD 02/19/2004 2003-22/11  

 
pharmacists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26754 R156-17a-612  AMD 02/19/2004 2003-22/11  

 26754 R156-17a-612  CPR 02/19/2004 2004-2/10  

 
podiatric physician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26917 R156-5a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/74  

 
podiatrists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26917 R156-5a 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/74  
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precursor 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26916 R156-37c 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/74  

 
primary care 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26810 R414-310 AMD 02/10/2004 2003-24/18  

 
primary care network 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26811 R414-300 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-24/17  

 
professional competency 
Education, Administration 26827 R277-502 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/6  

 
professional geologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26777 R156-76-102  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-23/14  

 
professional staff 
Education, Administration 26828 R277-486 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-24/5  

 
property tax 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 26910 R884-24P-24  NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 

 
public buildings 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 26920 R710-4 EMR 01/28/2004 2004-4/66  

 26793 R710-4 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/67  

 
public education 
Education, Administration 26871 R277-437 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/42  

 26850 R277-462 AMD 02/05/2004 2004-1/16  

 26870 R277-735 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/43  

 
public funds 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

26676 R628-19 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-20/27  

 26676 R628-19 CPR 02/10/2004 2004-1/38  

 
public utilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26883 R746-365 5YR 01/06/2004 2004-3/49  

 
radiology practical technician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26580 R156-54-302b  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-18/4  

 
radiology practical technicians 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26580 R156-54-302b  CPR 01/20/2004 2003-24/70  

 
radiology technologist 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26580 R156-54-302b  AMD 01/20/2004 2003-18/4  

 
radiology technologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26580 R156-54-302b  CPR 01/20/2004 2003-24/70  

 
rates 
Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 26697 R612-4-2  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/64  
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real estate appraisals 
Commerce, Real Estate 26890 R162-105 5YR 01/13/2004 2004-3/42  

 
real estate brokers 
Commerce, Real Estate 26835 R162-7-3  AMD 02/18/2004 2004-1/9  

 
reclamation 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

26710 R645-301-100  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/34  

 26711 R645-301-500  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/35  

 26712 R645-303-200  AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/36  

 26713 R645-401 AMD 02/06/2004 2003-22/38  

 
recreation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26819 R657-38 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

 
rehabilitation 
Education, Rehabilitation 26873 R280-202 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/44  

 
reimbursement 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

26854 R414-9 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/26  

 
replacement providers 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26785 R746-350 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

 
reports 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 26942 R307-150 5YR 02/09/2004 2004-5/43  

 
residential mortgage loan origination 
Commerce, Real Estate 26837 R162-202 AMD 02/03/2004 2004-1/10  

 26840 R162-206 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/12  

 26839 R162-207 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/13  

 26836 R162-208 NEW 02/03/2004 2004-1/14  

 
rights-of-way 
Transportation, Administration 26878 R907-64 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/49  

 26879 R907-65 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/50  

 
rules and procedures 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26780 R746-200-6  AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/76  

 
safety 
Labor Commission, Safety 26674 R616-2-3  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-20/25  

Transportation, Motor Carrier 26880 R909-3 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/50  

 
school buses 
Transportation, Motor Carrier 26880 R909-3 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/50  

 
school lunch program 
Education, Administration 26830 R277-720 AMD 01/15/2004 2003-24/10  

 
SDWA 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 26760 R309-705 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-22/19  
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securities 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

26676 R628-19 CPR 02/10/2004 2004-1/38  

 26676 R628-19 NEW 02/10/2004 2003-20/27  

 
securities regulation 
Commerce, Securities 26481 R164-11-2  AMD 01/05/2004 2003-15/17  

 26481 R164-11-2  CPR 01/05/2004 2003-23/83  

 
services 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26785 R746-350 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

 
settlement 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26773 R602-2-1  AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

 
shorthand reporter 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

26927 R156-74 5YR 02/02/2004 2004-4/75  

 
signs 
Transportation, Preconstruction, Right-of-
Way Acquisition 

26892 R933-2-3  EMR 01/14/2004 2004-3/39  

 
speed limits 
Regents (Board Of), University of Utah, 
Administration 

26914 R805-1 5YR 01/27/2004 2004-4/76  

 
surplus property 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations, 
Surplus Property 

26843 R28-3 AMD 02/12/2004 2004-1/4  

 
suspension 
Transportation, Administration 26720 R907-67 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

 
taxation 
Tax Commission, Property Tax 26910 R884-24P-24  NSC 01/27/2004 Not Printed 

 
telecommunications 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26785 R746-350 NEW 01/15/2004 2003-23/79  

 26883 R746-365 5YR 01/06/2004 2004-3/49  

 
time 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26772 R602-1 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

 
title insurance 
Insurance, Administration 26792 R590-187 AMD 01/08/2004 2003-23/44  

 
transportation 
Transportation, Administration 26720 R907-67 NEW 01/05/2004 2003-22/50  

 
trucks 
Transportation, Motor Carrier, Ports of 
Entry 

26881 R912-14 5YR 01/05/2004 2004-3/51  

 
utility service 
Public Service Commission, Administration 26780 R746-200-6  AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/76  

 
water funding 
Natural Resources, Water Resources 26779 R653-2 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/56  
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water policy 
Natural Resources, Water Resources 26784 R653-5 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/59  

 
water pollution 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 26242 R317-2 CPR 01/06/2004 2003-18/35  

 26242 R317-2 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-10/27  

 
water quality standards 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 26242 R317-2 CPR 01/06/2004 2003-18/35  

 26242 R317-2 AMD 01/06/2004 2003-10/27  

 
weather modification 
Natural Resources, Water Resources 26784 R653-5 AMD 01/07/2004 2003-23/59  

 
wildlife 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26817 R657-5 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/46  

 26659 R657-13 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

 26818 R657-17-4  AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/55  

 26867 R657-33 AMD 02/24/2004 2004-2/3  

 26819 R657-38 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

 26778 R657-41 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-23/61  

 26820 R657-42 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/61  

 
wildlife conservation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26819 R657-38 AMD 01/21/2004 2003-24/56  

 
wildlife law 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26659 R657-13 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-20/28  

 
wildlife permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 26778 R657-41 AMD 01/05/2004 2003-23/61  

 
witness fees 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26772 R602-1 AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/46  

 
workers' compensation 
Labor Commission, Adjudication 26773 R602-2-1  AMD 01/02/2004 2003-23/47  

Labor Commission, Industrial Accidents 26697 R612-4-2  AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/64  

 
working toward employment 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

26706 R986-400 AMD 01/01/2004 2003-21/81  
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