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NOTICES OF 
PROPOSED RULES  

 
A state agency may file a PROPOSED RULE when it determines the need for a new rule, a substantive change to an 
existing rule, or a repeal of an existing rule.  Filings received between March 2, 2005, 12:00 a.m., and March 15, 
2005, 11:59 p.m. are included in this, the April 1, 2005, issue of the Utah State Bulletin. 
 
In this publication, each PROPOSED RULE is preceded by a RULE ANALYSIS.  This analysis provides summary 
information about the PROPOSED RULE including the name of a contact person, anticipated cost impact of the rule, 
and legal cross-references. 
 
Following the RULE ANALYSIS, the text of the PROPOSED RULE is usually printed.  New rules or additions made to 
existing rules are underlined (e.g., example).  Deletions made to existing rules are struck out with brackets 
surrounding them (e.g., [example]).  Rules being repealed are completely struck out.  A row of dots in the text (· · · · · 
·) indicates that unaffected text was removed to conserve space.  If a PROPOSED RULE is too long to print, the 
Division of Administrative Rules will include only the RULE ANALYSIS.  A copy of each rule that is too long to print is 
available from the filing agency or from the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 
The law requires that an agency accept public comment on PROPOSED RULES published in this issue of the Utah 
State Bulletin until at least May 2, 2005.  The agency may accept comment beyond this date and will list the last day 
the agency will accept comment in the RULE ANALYSIS.  The agency may also hold public hearings.  Additionally, 
citizens or organizations may request the agency to hold a hearing on a specific PROPOSED RULE.  Section 63-46a-5 
(1987) requires that a hearing request be received "in writing not more than 15 days after the publication date of the 
PROPOSED RULE." 
 
From the end of the public comment period through July 30, 2005, the agency may notify the Division of 
Administrative Rules that it wants to make the PROPOSED RULE effective.  The agency sets the effective date.  The 
date may be no fewer than 31 days nor more than 120 days after the publication date of this issue of the Utah State 
Bulletin.  Alternatively, the agency may file a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE in response to comments received.  If the 
Division of Administrative Rules does not receive a NOTICE OF EFFECTIVE DATE or a CHANGE IN PROPOSED RULE, the 
PROPOSED RULE filing lapses and the agency must start the process over. 
 
The public, interest groups, and governmental agencies are invited to review and comment on PROPOSED RULES.  
Comment may be directed to the contact person identified on the RULE ANALYSIS for each rule. 
 
PROPOSED RULES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-4 (2001); and Utah Administrative Code Rule R15-2, 
and Sections R15-4-3, R15-4-4, R15-4-5, R15-4-9, and R15-4-10. 
  
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The Proposed Rules Begin on the Following Page. 
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Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-101-2 
Definitions 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27755 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:16 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment makes revisions to specific definitions related to 
the PM10 Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on Section 
R307-110-10, in this issue).  Utah will seek redesignation of 
Salt Lake and Utah Counties and Ogden City from 
nonattainment to attainment of the PM10 health standard 
following the final adoption of the plan.  The revisions in this 
rule are in anticipation of this redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  
The proposed amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under 
DAR No. 27768 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment includes 
deletions, revisions, and additions to several definitions that 
will bring those definitions in alignment with the new PM 10 
Maintenance Plan under Section R307-110-10. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-2-104 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Because these revisions do not create 
any new requirements, no change in costs is expected to the 
state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because these revisions do not 
create any new requirements, no change in costs is expected 
for local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because these revisions do not create any 
new requirements, no change in costs is expected for other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because these 
revisions do not create any new requirements, no change in 
cost is expected for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Because these revisions do not 
create new requirements, no change to costs is expected for 
businesses.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mat E. Carlile or Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4136 or 801-536-4042, by FAX at 801-536-0085 or 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at MCARLILE@utah.gov 
or janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-101.  General Requirements. 
R307-101-2.  Definitions. 
 Except where specified in individual rules, definitions in R307-
101-2 are applicable to all rules adopted by the Air Quality Board. 
 ["Actual Area of Nonattainment" means an area which is 
shown by monitored data or modeling actually to exceed the 
National Ambient Air Quality Standards (Boundaries are established 
in the Utah State Implementation Plan). 
 ]"Actual Emissions" means the actual rate of emissions of a 
pollutant from an emissions unit determined as follows: 
 (1)  In general, actual emissions as of a particular date shall 
equal the average rate, in tons per year, at which the unit actually 
emitted the pollutant during a two-year period which precedes the 
particular date and which is representative of normal source 
operations.  The Executive Secretary shall allow the use of a 
different time period upon a determination that it is more 
representative of normal source operation.  Actual emissions shall be 
calculated using the unit's actual operating hours, production rates, 
and types of materials processed, stored, or combusted during the 
selected time period. 
 (2)  The Executive Secretary may presume that source-specific 
allowable emissions for the unit are equivalent to the actual 
emissions of the unit. 
 (3)  For any emission unit, other than an electric utility steam 
generating unit specified in (4), which has not begun normal 
operations on the particular date, actual emissions shall equal the 
potential to emit of the unit on that date. 
 (4)  For an electric utility steam generating unit (other than a 
new unit or the replacement of an existing unit) actual emissions of 
the unit following the physical or operational change shall equal the 
representative actual annual emissions of the unit, provided the 
source owner or operator maintains and submits to the executive 
secretary, on an annual basis for a period of 5 years from the date the 
unit resumes regular operation, information demonstrating that the 
physical or operational change did not result in an emissions 
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increase.  A longer period, not to exceed 10 years, may be required 
by the executive secretary if the executive secretary determines such 
a period to be more representative of normal source post-change 
operations. 
 "Acute Hazardous Air Pollutant" means any noncarcinogenic 
hazardous air pollutant for which a threshold limit value - ceiling 
(TLV-C) has been adopted by the American Conference of 
Governmental Industrial Hygienists in its "Threshold Limit Values 
for Chemical Substances and Physical Agents and Biological 
Exposure Indices, pages 15 - 72 (2000)." 
 "Air Contaminant" means any particulate matter or any gas, 
vapor, suspended solid or any combination of them, excluding steam 
and water vapors (Section 19-2-102(1)). 
 "Air Contaminant Source" means any and all sources of 
emission of air contaminants whether privately or publicly owned or 
operated (Section 19-2-102(2)). 
 "Air Pollution" means the presence in the ambient air of one or 
more air contaminants in such quantities and duration and under 
conditions and circumstances, as is or tends to be injurious to human 
health or welfare, animal or plant life, or property, or would 
unreasonably interfere with the enjoyment of life or use of property 
as determined by the standards, rules and regulations adopted by the 
Air Quality Board (Section 19-2-104). 
 "Air Quality Related Values" means, as used in analyses under 
R307-401-4(1), Public Notice, those special attributes of a Class I 
area, assigned by a federal Land Manager, that are adversely 
affected by air quality. 
 "Allowable Emissions" means the emission rate of a source 
calculated using the maximum rated capacity of the source (unless 
the source is subject to enforceable limits which restrict the 
operating rate, or hours of operation, or both) and the emission 
limitation established pursuant to R307-401-6. 
 "Ambient Air" means the surrounding or outside air (Section 
19-2-102(4)). 
 "Appropriate Authority" means the governing body of any city, 
town or county. 
 "Asphalt or Asphalt Cement" means the dark brown to black 
cementitious material (solid, semisolid, or liquid in consistency) of 
which the main constituents are bitumens which occur naturally or 
as a residue of petroleum refining. 
 "Atmosphere" means the air that envelops or surrounds the 
earth and includes all space outside of buildings, stacks or exterior 
ducts. 
 "Authorized Local Authority" means a city, county, city-county 
or district health department; a city, county or combination fire 
department; or other local agency duly designated by appropriate 
authority, with approval of the state Department of Health; and other 
lawfully adopted ordinances, codes or regulations not in conflict 
therewith. 
 "Baseline Date"[:] 
 (1)  Major source baseline date means: 
 (a)  [I]in the case of particulate matter:[ and sulfur dioxide, 
January 6, 1975, and] 
 (i)  for Davis, Salt Lake, Utah, and Weber Counties, the date 
that EPA approves the PM10 maintenance plan that was adopted by 
the Board on June 1, 2005; 
 (ii)  for all other areas of the state, January 6, 1975; 
 (b)  in the case of sulfur dioxide: 
 (i)  for Salt Lake County, the date that EPA approves the Sulfur 
Dioxde maintenance plan that was adopted by the Board on January 
5, 2005; 

 (ii)  for all other areas of the state, January 6, 1975; and 
 [(b)](c)  [I]in the case of nitrogen dioxide, February 8, 1988. 
 (2)  Minor source baseline date means the earliest date after the 
trigger date on which the first complete application under 40 CFR 
52.21 or R307-405 is submitted by a major source or major 
modification subject to the requirements of 40 CFR 52.21 or R307-
405.  The minor source baseline is the date after which emissions 
from all new or modified sources consume or expand increment, 
including emissions from major and minor sources as well as any or 
all general commercial, residential, industrial, and other growth.  
The trigger date is: 
 (a)  In the case of particulate matter and sulfur dioxide, August 
7, 1977, and 
 (b)  In the case of nitrogen dioxide, February 8, 1988. 
 "Best Available Control Technology (BACT)" means an 
emission limitation and/or other controls to include design, 
equipment, work practice, operation standard or combination 
thereof, based on the maximum degree or reduction of each pollutant 
subject to regulation under the Clean Air Act and/or the Utah Air 
Conservation Act emitted from or which results from any emitting 
installation, which the Air Quality Board, on a case-by-case basis 
taking into account energy, environmental and economic impacts 
and other costs, determines is achievable for such installation 
through application of production processes and available methods, 
systems and techniques, including fuel cleaning or treatment or 
innovative fuel combustion techniques for control of each such 
pollutant.  In no event shall applications of BACT result in 
emissions of any pollutants which will exceed the emissions allowed 
by Section 111 or 112 of the Clean Air Act. 
 "Board" means Air Quality Board.  See Section 19-2-102(6)(a). 
 "Breakdown" means any malfunction or procedural error, to 
include but not limited to any malfunction or procedural error during 
start-up and shutdown, which will result in the inoperability or 
sudden loss of performance of the control equipment or process 
equipment causing emissions in excess of those allowed by approval 
order or Title R307. 
 "BTU" means British Thermal Unit, the quantity of heat 
necessary to raise the temperature of one pound of water one degree 
Fahrenheit. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
 "Enforceable" means all limitations and conditions which are 
enforceable by the Administrator, including those requirements 
developed pursuant to 40 CFR Parts 60 and 61, requirements within 
the State Implementation Plan and R307, any permit requirements 
established pursuant to 40 CFR 52.21 or R307-401. 
 "EPA" means Environmental Protection Agency. 
 "EPA Method 9" means "Visual Determination of Opacity of 
Emissions from Stationary Sources," 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A, 
effective July 1, 2004. 
 "Executive Director" means the Executive Director of the Utah 
Department of Environmental Quality.  See Section 19-1-103(2). 
 "Executive Secretary" means the Executive Secretary of the 
Board. 
 "Existing Installation" means an installation, construction of 
which began prior to the effective date of any regulation having 
application to it. 
 "Facility" means machinery, equipment, structures of any part 
or accessories thereof, installed or acquired for the primary purpose 
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of controlling or disposing of air pollution.  It does not include an air 
conditioner, fan or other similar device for the comfort of personnel. 
 "Fireplace" means all devices both masonry or factory built 
units (free standing fireplaces) with a hearth, fire chamber or 
similarly prepared device connected to a chimney which provides 
the operator with little control of combustion air, leaving its fire 
chamber fully or at least partially open to the room.  Fireplaces 
include those devices with circulating systems, heat exchangers, or 
draft reducing doors with a net thermal efficiency of no greater than 
twenty percent and are used for aesthetic purposes. 
 "Fugitive Dust" means particulate, composed of soil and/or 
industrial particulates such as ash, coal, minerals, etc., which 
becomes airborne because of wind or mechanical disturbance of 
surfaces.  Natural sources of dust and fugitive emissions are not 
fugitive dust within the meaning of this definition. 
 "Fugitive Emissions" means emissions from an installation or 
facility which are neither passed through an air cleaning device nor 
vented through a stack or could not reasonably pass through a stack, 
chimney, vent, or other functionally equivalent opening. 
 "Garbage" means all putrescible animal and vegetable matter 
resulting from the handling, preparation, cooking and consumption 
of food, including wastes attendant thereto. 
 "Gasoline" means any petroleum distillate, used as a fuel for 
internal combustion engines, having a Reid vapor pressure of 4 
pounds or greater. 
 "Hazardous Air Pollutant (HAP)" means any pollutant listed by 
the EPA as a hazardous air pollutant in conformance with Section 
112(b) of the Clean Air Act.  A list of these pollutants is available at 
the Division of Air Quality. 
 "Heavy Fuel Oil" means a petroleum product or similar 
material with a boiling range higher than that of diesel fuel. 
 "Household Waste" means any solid or liquid material 
normally generated by the family in a residence in the course of 
ordinary day-to-day living, including but not limited to garbage, 
paper products, rags, leaves and garden trash. 
 "Incinerator" means a combustion apparatus designed for high 
temperature operation in which solid, semisolid, liquid, or gaseous 
combustible wastes are ignited and burned efficiently and from 
which the solid and gaseous residues contain little or no combustible 
material. 
 "Indirect Source" means a building, structure or installation 
which attracts or may attract mobile source activity that results in 
emission of a pollutant for which there is a national standard. 
 "Installation" means a discrete process with identifiable 
emissions which may be part of a larger industrial plant.  Pollution 
equipment shall not be considered a separate installation or 
installations. 
 "LPG" means liquified petroleum gas such as propane or 
butane. 
 "Maintenance Area" means an area that is subject to the 
provisions of a maintenance plan that is included in the Utah state 
implementation plan, and that has been redesignated by EPA from 
nonattainment to attainment of any National Ambient Air Quality 
Standard. 
 (a)  The following areas are considered maintenance areas for 
ozone: 
 (i)  Salt Lake County, effective August 18, 1997; and 
 (ii)  Davis County, effective August 18, 1997. 
 (b)  The following areas are considered maintenance areas for 
carbon monoxide: 
 (i)  Salt Lake City, effective March 22, 1999; 

 (ii)  Ogden City, effective May 8, 2001; and 
 (iii)  Provo City, effective on the date that EPA approves the 
maintenance plan that was adopted by the Board on March 31, 2004. 
 (c)  The following areas are considered maintenance areas for 
PM10: 
 (i)  Salt Lake County, effective on the date that EPA approves 
the maintenance plan that was adopted by the Board on June 1, 
2005; and 
 (ii)  Utah County, effective on the date that EPA approves the 
maintenance plan that was adopted by the Board on June 1, 2005; 
and 
 (iii)  Ogden City, effective on the date that EPA approves the 
maintenance plan that was adopted by the Board on June 1, 2005. 
 (d)  The following areas are considered maintenance areas for 
sulfur dioxide: 
 (i)  Salt Lake County, effective on the date that EPA approves 
the maintenance plan that was adopted by the Board on January 5, 
2005. 
 "Major Modification" means any physical change in or change 
in the method of operation of a major source that would result in a 
significant net emissions increase of any pollutant.  A net emissions 
increase that is significant for volatile organic compounds shall be 
considered significant for ozone.  Within Salt Lake and Davis 
Counties or any nonattainment area for ozone, a net emissions 
increase that is significant for nitrogen oxides shall be considered 
significant for ozone.  Within areas of nonattainment for PM10, a 
significant net emission increase for any PM10 precursor is also a 
significant net emission increase for PM10.  A physical change or 
change in the method of operation shall not include: 
 (1)  routine maintenance, repair and replacement; 
 (2)  use of an alternative fuel or raw material by reason of an 
order under section 2(a) and (b) of the Energy Supply and 
Environmental Coordination Act of 1974, or by reason of a natural 
gas curtailment plan pursuant to the Federal Power Act; 
 (3)  use of an alternative fuel by reason of an order or rule 
under section 125 of the federal Clean Air Act; 
 (4)  use of an alternative fuel at a steam generating unit to the 
extent that the fuel is generated from municipal solid waste; 
 (5)  use of an alternative fuel or raw material by a source: 
 (a)  which the source was capable of accommodating before 
January 6, 1975, unless such change would be prohibited under any 
enforceable permit condition; or 
 (b)  which the source is otherwise approved to use; 
 (6)  an increase in the hours of operation or in the production 
rate unless such change would be prohibited under any enforceable 
permit condition; 
 (7)  any change in ownership at a source 
 (8)  the addition, replacement or use of a pollution control 
project at an existing electric utility steam generating unit, unless the 
executive secretary determines that such addition, replacement, or 
use renders the unit less environmentally beneficial, or except: 
 (a)  when the executive secretary has reason to believe that the 
pollution control project would result in a significant net increase in 
representative actual annual emissions of any criteria pollutant over 
levels used for that source in the most recent air quality impact 
analysis in the area conducted for the purpose of Title I of the Clean 
Air Act, if any, and 
 (b)  the executive secretary determines that the increase will 
cause or contribute to a violation of any national ambient air quality 
standard or PSD increment, or visibility limitation. 
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 (9)  the installation, operation, cessation, or removal of a 
temporary clean coal technology demonstration project, provided 
that the project complies with: 
 (a)  the Utah State Implementation Plan; and 
 (b)  other requirements necessary to attain and maintain the 
national ambient air quality standards during the project and after it 
is terminated. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
 "New Installation" means an installation, construction of which 
began after the effective date of any regulation having application to 
it. 
 "Nonattainment Area" means [for any pollutant, "an area which 
is shown by monitored data or which is calculated by air quality 
modeling (or other methods determined by the Administrator, EPA 
to be reliable) to exceed any National Ambient Air Quality Standard 
for such pollutant" (Section 171, Clean Air Act).  Such term 
includes any]an area designated by the Environmental Protection 
Agency as nonattainment under Section 107, Clean Air Act for any 
National Ambient Air Quality Standard. The designations for Utah 
are listed in 40 CFR 81.345. 
 "Offset" means an amount of emission reduction, by a source, 
greater than the emission limitation imposed on such source by these 
regulations and/or the State Implementation Plan. 
 "Opacity" means the capacity to obstruct the transmission of 
light, expressed as percent. 
 "Open Burning" means any burning of combustible materials 
resulting in emission of products of combustion into ambient air 
without passage through a chimney or stack. 
 "Owner or Operator" means any person who owns, leases, 
controls, operates or supervises a facility, an emission source, or air 
pollution control equipment. 
 "PSD" Area means an area designated as attainment or 
unclassifiable under section 107(d)(1)(D) or (E) of the federal Clean 
Air Act. 
 ["PM10 Nonattainment Area" means Salt Lake County, Utah 
County, or Ogden City. 
 ]"PM10[ Particulate Matter]" means particulate matter with an 
aerodynamic diameter less than or equal to a nominal 10 
micrometers as measured by an EPA reference or equivalent 
method. 
 "PM10 Precursor" means any chemical compound or substance 
which, after it has been emitted into the atmosphere, undergoes 
chemical or physical changes that convert it into particulate matter, 
specifically PM10.[  It includes sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxides.] 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
 "Residence" means a dwelling in which people live, including 
all ancillary buildings. 
 "Residential Solid Fuel Burning" device means any residential 
burning device except a fireplace connected to a chimney that burns 
solid fuel and is capable of, and intended for use as a space heater, 
domestic water heater, or indoor cooking appliance, and has an air-
to-fuel ratio less than 35-to-1 as determined by the test procedures 
prescribed in 40 CFR 60.534.  It must also have a useable firebox 
volume of less than 6.10 cubic meters or 20 cubic feet, a minimum 
burn rate less than 5 kilograms per hour or 11 pounds per hour as 
 
 

determined by test procedures prescribed in 40 CFR 60.534, and 
weigh less than 800 kilograms or 362.9 pounds.  Appliances that are 
described as prefabricated fireplaces and are designed to 
accommodate doors or other accessories that would create the air 
starved operating conditions of a residential solid fuel burning 
device shall be considered as such.  Fireplaces are not included in 
this definition for solid fuel burning devices. 
 "Road" means any public or private road. 
 "Salvage Operation" means any business, trade or industry 
engaged in whole or in part in salvaging or reclaiming any product 
or material, including but not limited to metals, chemicals, shipping 
containers or drums. 
 "Secondary Emissions" means emissions which would occur as 
a result of the construction or operation of a major source or major 
modification, but do not come from the major source or major 
modification itself. 
 Secondary emissions must be specific, well defined, 
quantifiable, and impact the same general area as the source or 
modification which causes the secondary emissions.  Secondary 
emissions include emissions from any off-site support facility which 
would not be constructed or increase its emissions except as a result 
of the construction or operation of the major source or major 
modification.  Secondary emissions do not include any emissions 
which come directly from a mobile source such as emissions from 
the tailpipe of a motor vehicle, from a train, or from a vessel. 
 Fugitive emissions and fugitive dust from the source or 
modification are not considered secondary emissions. 
 "Significant" means: 
 (1)  In reference to a net emissions increase or the potential of a 
source to emit any of the following pollutants, a rate of emissions 
that would equal or exceed any of the following rates: 
 Carbon monoxide:  100 ton per year (tpy); 
 Nitrogen oxides:  40 tpy; 
 Sulfur dioxide:  40 tpy; 
 PM10[ Particulate matter]:  15 tpy; 
 Particulate matter:  25 tpy; 
 Ozone:  40 tpy of volatile organic compounds; 
 Lead:  0.6 tpy. 
 (2)  For purposes of R307-405 it shall also additionally mean 
for: 
 (a)  A rate of emissions that would equal or exceed any of the 
following rates: 
 Asbestos:  0.007 tpy; 
 Beryllium:  0.0004 tpy; 
 Mercury:  0.1 tpy; 
 Vinyl Chloride:  1 tpy; 
 Fluorides:  3 tpy; 
 Sulfuric acid mist:  7 tpy; 
 Hydrogen Sulfide:  10 tpy; 
 Total reduced sulfur (including H2S):  10 tpy; 
 Reduced sulfur compounds (including H2S):  10 tpy; 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
KEY:  air pollution, definitions 
[December 31, 2003]2005 
Notice of Continuation June 5, 2003 
19-2-104 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-110-10 
Section IX, Control Measures for Area 

and Point Sources, Part A, Fine 
Particulate Matter 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27768 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:25 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to add a new Subsection 
IX.A.10 to the PM10 state implementation plan that is 
incorporated by reference by Section R307-110-10 (see 
separate filings on Section R307-110-17 and other rules in 
this issue.)  (DAR NOTE:  The other filings that are affected by 
this rule change are:  the proposed amendment to Section 
R307-101-2 under DAR No. 27755, the proposed amendment 
to Rule R307-165 under DAR No. 27756, the proposed 
amendment to Rule R307-201 under DAR No. 27757, the 
proposed new Rule R307-207 under DAR No. 27760, the 
proposed amendment to Rule R307-302 under DAR No. 
27761, the proposed amendment to Rule R307-305 under 
DAR No. 27762, the proposed new Rule R307-306 under 
DAR No. 27763, the proposed amendment to Rule R307-205 
under DAR No. 27764, the proposed amendment to Rule 
R307-309 under DAR No. 27765, the proposed amendment to 
Section R307-310-5 under DAR No. 27766, the proposed new 
Rule R307-421 under DAR No. 27767, and the proposed 
amendment to Section R307-110-17 under DAR No. 27769 all 
in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment revises 
Section R307-110-10 to change the date of last adoption by 
the Air Quality Board, and adds a new Subsection IX.A.10 to 
the PM10 state implementation plan that is incorporated by 
reference by Section R307-110-10.  The measures in the 
original PM10 plan adopted in 1991 brought all areas of the 
state into compliance; there have been no violations since 
1995 in Salt Lake County, and since 1996 in Utah County.  
The new subsection is a maintenance plan demonstrating that 
there will be no violations in Utah through 2017.  In addition, 
the new subsection proposes two alternative sets of motor 
vehicle emissions budgets for PM10 for Salt Lake County, 
Utah County, and Ogden City; the Air Quality Board seeks 
comment on whether a part of the safety margin should be 
allocated to the Motor Vehicle Emission Budget or retained by 
the Board.  As proposed, the document includes language to 
implement either alternative, and the Board seeks comment 
on which alternative should be included in the final Plan.  The 
plan makes no changes in the measures already in place to 
control emissions from industrial sources; the only other 
change is to add residential woodburning controls in northern 
Davis County and Weber County west of the Wasatch 
Mountain range where voluntary controls have been in place 
since 1992.  Utah will seek redesignation of Salt Lake and 

Utah Counties and Ogden City from nonattainment to 
attainment of the PM10 health standard following the final 
adoption of the plan.  The full text of the existing PM10 plan, 
as well as the proposed addition, are available at 
http://airquality.utah.gov/SIP/PM10SIP/index.htm. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  State Implementation Plan Section IX, 
Control Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part A.10, 
PM10 Maintenance Provisions for Salt Lake and Utah 
Counties and Ogden City 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The only change in control measures is 
to add residential woodburning controls in Northern Davis 
County and Weber County west of the Wasatch Mountain 
range.  Little new cost is expected to result, as compliance is 
already high with the voluntary program instituted in those 
areas in 1992. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The only change in control measures 
is to add residential woodburning controls in Northern Davis 
County and Weber County west of the Wasatch Mountain 
range. No new costs are expected to result, as compliance is 
already high with the voluntary program instituted in those 
areas in 1992. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Redesignation of these areas from 
nonattainment to attainment will result in different permitting 
requirements for large sources.  It is difficult to estimate the 
costs and benefits for individual companies seeking a permit 
because they will vary by company.  A company modifying its 
existing operation or building a new one may save because 
the company will be required to install Best Available Control 
Technology (BACT), not the more stringent technology 
needed to achieve the Lowest Achievable Emission Rate 
(LAER).  Also, the company would need to purchase offset 
credits (under the new Rule R307-421) only for nitrogen 
oxides and sulfur dioxide, but not for PM10 as is required 
under the current Plan.   The Plan institutes woodburning 
controls on residential fireplaces and woodstoves in Northern 
Davis county and Weber County west of the Wasatch 
Mountain range, but no change in costs are expected, as 
those areas have had a voluntary woodburning program since 
1992 and compliance has been high. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Redesignation of 
these areas from nonattainment to attainment will result in 
different permitting requirements for large sources.  It is 
difficult to estimate the costs and benefits for individual 
companies seeking a permit because they will vary by 
company.  A company modifying its existing operation or 
building a new one may save, because the company will be 
required to install Best Available Control Technology (BACT), 
not the more stringent technology needed to achieve the 
Lowest Achievable Emission Rate (LAER).  Also, the 
company would need to purchase offset credits (under the 
new Rule R307-421) only for nitrogen oxides and sulfur 
dioxide, but not for PM10, as is required under the current 
Plan.  The Plan institutes woodburning controls on residential 
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fireplaces and woodstoves in Northern Davis county and 
Weber County west of the Wasatch Mountain range, but no 
change in costs are expected, as those areas have had a 
voluntary woodburning program since 1992 and compliance 
has been high. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There have been no violations 
of the PM10 health standard in Utah since 1996, and none are 
expected in the future.  The control measures in the original 
PM10 SIP in 1990 required substantial reductions in 
emissions, and those reductions brought us into compliance 
with the health standard by 1996.  We have maintained the 
health standard even in the face of rapid growth in population, 
vehicle travel, and industrial expansion.  This new plan 
demonstrates that further growth in years to come will not 
bring violations of the health standard, and changes in costs 
for businesses are minimal.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-110.  General Requirements:  State Implementation Plan. 
R307-110-10.  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and Point 
Sources, Part A, Fine Particulate Matter. 
 The Utah State Implementation Plan, Section IX, Control 
Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part A, Fine Particulate 
Matter, as most recently amended by the Utah Air Quality Board on 
[July 3, 2002]July 6, 2005, pursuant to Section 19-2-104, is hereby 
incorporated by reference and made a part of these rules. 
 

KEY:  air pollution, PM10, PM2.5, ozone 
[January 4,] 2005 
Notice of Continuation March 27, 2002 
19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-110-17 
Section IX, Control Measures for Area 
and Point Sources, Part H, Emission 

Limits 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27769 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:35 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Section 
R307-110-17 incorporates by reference emission limits for 
specific sources of air pollution in Utah, Salt Lake, and Davis 
Counties; these limits are required by the PM10 Plan that is 
incorporated by reference by Section R307-110-10.  The 
purpose of this change is to update the emission limits to 
match the new PM10 Maintenance Plan that is also proposed 
for public comment in this issue (see separate filing on 
Section R307-110-10 in this issue).  (DAR NOTE:  The 
proposed amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR 
No. 27768 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Section R307-110-17, 
the date of adoption by the Air Quality Board is amended to 
reflect the latest amendments to the emission limits required 
by the PM10 Maintenance Plan that is incorporated by 
reference by Section R307-110-10.  The plan with the 
emission limits that is incorporated by Section R307-110-17 is 
entirely deleted and replaced by a new document.  The new 
document includes general provisions that apply to all sources 
with limits specified in the plan, and specifies new limits for 
those sources.  The new plan includes emission limits for all 
sources that were identified by computer modeling of 
emissions, meteorology, and atmospheric chemistry as being 
important contributors to potential violations of the health 
standard for PM10.  Some sources included in the existing 
plan are deleted from the new plan; the only source added to 
the plan is the Payson City electricity generating unit.  The 
limits included in the new plan are those already found in 
permits and approval orders that the sources already follow. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  State Implementation Plan Section IX, 
Control Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part H, 
Emission Limits 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no change in costs for the state 
because the emission limits for sources included in the plan 
are already included in approval orders and Air Quality staff 
conduct inspections to ensure that those conditions are met. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The cities included in the plan are 
already meeting the specified emission limits because the 
limits already are included in their permits and approval 
orders.  Therefore, there are no costs or savings for them. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There are no additional costs for sources 
included in the plan because their emission limits are already 
included in their permits and approval orders.  There are no 
savings for sources that are no longer included in the plan 
because emission limits in their current permits and approval 
orders must still be followed. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
additional costs for sources included in the plan because their 
emission limits are already included in their permits and 
approval orders.  There are no savings for sources that are no 
longer included in the plan because emission limits in their 
current permits and approval orders must still be followed. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no direct costs or 
savings for sources due to adoption of the new plan and 
emission limits.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4042, 
by FAX at 801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at 
janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 

R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-110.  General Requirements:  State Implementation Plan. 
R307-110-17.  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and Point 
Sources, Part H, Emissions Limits. 
 The Utah State Implementation Plan, Section IX, Control 
Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part H, Emissions Limits, as 
most recently amended by the Utah Air Quality Board on [June 
5]July 6, 200[2]5, pursuant to Section 19-2-104, is hereby 
incorporated by reference and made a part of these rules. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, PM10, PM2.5, ozone 
[January 4,] 2005 
Notice of Continuation March 27, 2002 
19-2-104(3)(e) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-165 
Emission Testing 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27756 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:16 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment removes duplicate and outdated requirements to 
help clarify and align requirements with the new PM10 
Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on Section R307-110-
10 in this issue).  Utah will seek redesignation of Salt Lake 
and Utah Counties and Ogden City from nonattainment to 
attainment of the PM10 health standard following the final 
adoption of the plan.  The revisions in this rule are in 
anticipation of this redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR No. 27768 
in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment removes 
duplicate and outdated requirements to help clarify and align 
requirements with the new PM10 Maintenance Plan under 
Section R307-110-10. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-2-104 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Because these revisions do not create 
new requirements, no change in cost is expected for the state 
budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because these revisions do not 
create new requirements, no change in cost is expected for 
local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because these revisions do not create new 
requirements, no change in cost is expected for other 
persons. 
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COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This amendment 
does not change current requirements; therefore, no change 
in cost is expected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This amendment does not 
create new requirements.  Therefore, no additional costs are 
expected.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mat E. Carlile or Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4136 or 801-536-4042, by FAX at 801-536-0085 or 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at MCARLILE@utah.gov 
or janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-165.  Emission Testing. 
R307-165-1.  Purpose. 
 R307-165 establishes the frequency of emission testing 
requirements for all areas in the state. 
 
R307-165-2.  Testing Every 5 Years. 
 [(1)  ]Emission testing [will be]is required at least once every 
five years of all sources with established emission limitations 
specified in approval orders issued under R307-401 or in section IX, 
Part H of the Utah state implementation plan. [at least once every 
five years.  For sources located in nonattainment areas, emission 
testing will be required at least once every five years or more 
frequently as specified in Section IX, Part H of the Utah State 
Implementation Plan (SIP) adopted by the Air Quality Board, or by 
the Executive Secretary if he has reason to believe that the source is 
not meeting its emission limitation. Sources approved in accordance 
with R307-401 will be tested within six months of start-up.  Sources 
for which emission limitations are established by R307-305-5 which 
do not require modification will be tested within one year of the 
effective date of these regulations.] In addition, if the [E]executive 

[S]secretary has reason to believe that an applicable emission 
limitation is being exceeded[ (i.e., through visible emission 
observations and monitoring data, etc.) he], the executive secretary 
may require the owner or operator to perform such emission testing 
as is necessary to determine actual compliance status.  The Board 
may grant exceptions to the mandatory testing requirements of 
R307-165-[1]2 [which]that are [not in]consistent with the purposes 
of R307. 
 
R307-165-[2]3.  Notification of DAQ. 
 At least 30 days prior to conducting any emission testing 
required under any part of R307, the owner or operator shall notify 
the [E]executive [S]secretary of the date, time and place of such 
testing and, if determined necessary by the [E]executive 
[S]secretary, the owner or operator shall attend a pretest conference. 
 
R307-165-[3]4.  Test Conditions. 
 All tests shall be conducted while the source is operating at the 
maximum production or combustion rate at which such source will 
be operated.  During the tests, the source shall burn fuels or 
[combustion]combinations of fuels, use raw materials, and maintain 
process conditions representative of normal operations.[, and]  In 
addition, the source shall operate under such other relevant 
conditions as the [E]executive [S]secretary shall specify. 
 
R307-165-[4]5.  Rejection of Test Results. 
 The [E]executive [S]secretary may reject emissions test data if 
they are determined to be incomplete, inadequate, not representative 
of operating conditions specified for the test, or if the 
[State]executive secretary was not provided an opportunity to have 
an observer present at the test. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, emission testing[*] 
[September 15, 1998]2005 
Notice of Continuation June 11, 2003 
19-2-104(1) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-201 
Emission Standards:  General Emission 

Standards 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27757 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:17 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to clarify the applicability of this 
rule and remove obsolete requirements.  This amendment is 
part of the overall revisions to rules related to the new PM10 
Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on R307-110-10, in this 
issue).  Utah will seek redesignation of Salt Lake and Utah 
Counties and Ogden City from nonattainment to attainment of 
the PM10 health standard following the final adoption of the 
plan.  The revisions in this rule are in anticipation of this 
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redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed amendment to 
Section R307-110-10 is under DAR No. 27768 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This amendment revises 
the applicability of this rule to apply outside of nonattainment 
and maintenance areas.  Currently, this rule applies statewide 
and is part of the federally enforceable State Implementation 
Plan.  Upon adoption by the board, Rule R307-201 will only 
apply outside the nonattainment and maintenance areas and 
the state will request the EPA to retract Rule R307-201. 
Another rule, R307-305 (see separate filing on R307-305, in 
this issue), will apply within the nonattainment and 
maintenance areas.  This amendment also removes 
requirements for residential fireplaces and stoves, which are 
moved to Rule R307-207 (see separate filing on R307-207, in 
this issue).  In addition, some exemptions from the opacity 
standard were deleted.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Rule R307-305 is under DAR No. 27762, and 
the proposed amendment to Rule R307-207 is under DAR No. 
27760 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-2-104 and 41-6-147 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Although some exemptions were 
deleted, no costs or savings to the state budget are expected 
because these exemptions are obsolete. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Although some exemptions were 
deleted, no costs or savings to local government are expected 
because these exemptions are obsolete. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Although some exemptions were deleted, 
no costs or savings to other persons are expected because 
these exemptions are obsolete. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  No new costs for 
affected persons are associated with this amendment 
because the exemptions that are being deleted are obsolete. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Although some obsolete 
opacity standard exemptions are being deleted from this rule, 
these revisions will not fiscally impact businesses.  Other 
revisions of this rule do not create new requirements; 
therefore, no additional costs are expected.  Dianne R. 
Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mat E. Carlile or Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4136 or 801-536-4042, by FAX at 801-536-0085 or 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at MCARLILE@utah.gov 
or janmiller@utah.gov 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-201.  Emission Standards:  General Emission Standards. 
R307-201-1.  Purpose. 
 R307-201 establishes emission standards for all areas of the 
state except for sources listed in section IX, Part H of the state 
implementation plan or located in a PM10 nonattainment or 
maintenance area. 
 
R307-201-2.  Applicability. 
 R307-201 applies statewide to any sources of emissions except 
for sources listed in section IX, Part H of the state implementation 
plan or located in a PM10 nonattainment or maintenance area. 
 
R307-201-3.  Visible Emissions Standards. 
 [Other provisions of R307 may require more stringent controls 
than listed herein, in which case those requirements must be met. 
 (1)  Visible Emissions.  Opacity limitations in R307-201-1 and 
R307-305-1 shall not apply to any sources for which emission 
limitations are assigned pursuant to R307-305-2 through 7 and 
R307-307.  The provisions of (7) through (9) below shall apply to 
such sources except as otherwise provided in R307-305-2 through 7 
and R307-307.](1)  Visible emissions from installations constructed 
on or before April 25, 1971, except diesel engines, shall be of a 
shade or density no darker than 40% opacity, except as otherwise 
provided in these rules. 
 (2)  Visible emissions from installations constructed after April 
25, 1971, except diesel[internal combustion] engines[, or any 
incinerator] shall be of a shade or density no darker than 20% 
opacity, except as otherwise provided in these [regulations]rules. 
 (3)  Visible emissions for all incinerators, no matter when 
constructed, shall be of shade or density no darker than 20% opacity. 
 [(3)](4)  No owner or operator of a gasoline powered engine or 
vehicle shall allow, cause or permit [the emissions of ]visible 
emissions.[ contaminants except for starting motion no farther than 
100 yards, or for stationary operation not exceeding 3 minutes in any 
hour.] 
 [(4)](5)  Emissions from diesel engines manufactured after 
January 1, 1973, shall be of a shade or density no darker than 20% 
opacity, except for starting motion no farther than 100 yards or for 
stationary operation not exceeding [3]three minutes in any hour. 
 [(5)](6)  Emissions from diesel engines manufactured before 
January 1, 1973, shall be of a shade or density no darker than 40% 
opacity, except for starting motion no farther than 100 yards or for 
stationary operation not exceeding [3]three minutes in any hour. 
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 [(6)  Upon application, exceptions to (4) and (5) above may be 
granted by the Board on a case by case basis for diesel locomotives 
operating above 6000 feet MSL. 
 ](7)  Visible emissions exceeding the opacity standards for 
short time periods as the result of initial warm-up, soot blowing, 
cleaning of grates, building of boiler fires, cooling, etc., caused by 
start-up or shutdown of a facility, installation or operation, or 
unavoidable combustion irregularities [which]that do not exceed 
three minutes in length[ (unavoidable combustion irregularities 
which exceed three minutes in length must be handled in accordance 
with R307-107)], shall not be deemed in violation provided that the 
executive secretary finds that adequate control technology has been 
applied.  Unavoidable combustion irregularities that exceed three 
minutes in length must be addressed in accordance with R307-107.  
The owner or operator shall minimize visible and non-visible 
emissions during start-up or shutdown of a facility, installation, or 
operation through the use of adequate control technology and proper 
procedures. 
 (8)  Compliance Method.  Emissions shall be brought into 
compliance with these requirements by reduction of the total weight 
of contaminants discharged per unit of time rather than by dilution 
of emissions with clean air. 
 (9)  Opacity Observation.  Opacity observations of emissions 
from stationary sources shall be conducted in accordance with EPA 
Method 9[, "Visual Determination of Opacity of Emissions from 
Stationary Sources", 40 CFR Part 60, Appendix A].  Opacity 
observers of mobile sources and intermittent sources shall use 
procedures similar to Method 9, but the requirement for observations 
to be made at 15 second intervals over a 6-minute period shall not 
apply. 
 
R307-201-[2]4.  Automobile Emission Control Devices. 
 Any person owning or operating any motor vehicle or motor 
vehicle engine registered or principally operated in the State of Utah 
on which is installed or incorporated a system or device for the 
control of crankcase emissions or exhaust emissions in compliance 
with the Federal motor vehicle rules, shall maintain the system or 
device in operable condition and shall use it at all times that the 
motor vehicle or motor vehicle engine is operated.  No person shall 
remove or make inoperable [within the State of Utah ]the system or 
device or any part thereof, except for the purpose of installing 
another system or device, or part thereof, which is equally or more 
effective in reducing emissions from the vehicle to the atmosphere.[ 
 
R307-201-3.  Opacity for Residential Heating. 
 Visible emissions from residential solid fuel burning devices 
and fireplaces shall be limited to a shade or density no darker than 
20% opacity as measured by EPA Method 9, except for the 
following: 
 (1)  An initial fifteen minute start up period, and 
 (2)  A period of fifteen minutes in any three hour period in 
which emissions may exceed the 20% opacity limitation for 
refueling, and 
 (3)  during the no-burn periods required by R307-302-1.] 
 
KEY:  air pollution, [woodburning*, fireplace*, stove*]PM10 
[September 15, 1998]2005 
Notice of Continuation June 11, 2003 
19-2-101 
19-2-104 
 
▼ ▼ 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-204-3 
Definitions 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27758 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:17 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to remove a definition that is 
being moved to Section R307-101-2 (see separate filing on 
R307-101-2, in this issue).  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Section R307-101-2 is under DAR No. 27755 
in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  A definition is being moved 
to Section R307-101-2.  No other changes are proposed in 
this rule. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  No impact on the state budget is 
expected due to this revision because it does not create any 
new requirements. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because this revision does not create 
any new requirements, no change in cost is expected for local 
government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because this revision does not create any 
new requirements, no change in cost is expected for other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because this 
revision does not create any new requirements, no change in 
cost is expected for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This amendment does not 
create any new requirements.  Therefore, no additional costs 
are expected.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller or Mat E. Carlile at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4042 or 801-536-4136, by FAX at 801-536-4099 or 
801-536-0085, or by Internet E-mail at janmiller@utah.gov or 
MCARLILE@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-204.  Emission Standards:  Smoke Management. 
R307-204-3.  Definitions. 
 The following additional definitions apply only to R307-204. 
 "Annual Emissions Goal" means the annual establishment of a 
planned quantitative value of emissions reductions from prescribed 
fire. 
 "Best Management Practices" means smoke management and 
dispersion techniques used during a prescribed fire or a wildland fire 
used for resource benefit that affect the direction, duration, height or 
density of smoke. 
 "Burn Plan" means the plan required for each fire ignited by 
managers or allowed to burn. 
 "Burn Window" means the period of time during which the 
prescribed fire is scheduled for ignition. 
 "Emission Reduction Techniques (ERT)" mean techniques for 
controlling emissions from prescribed fires to minimize the amount 
of emission output per unit or acre burned. 
 "Federal Class I Area" means any Federal land that is federally 
classified or reclassified Class I. 
 "Fire Prescription" means the measurable criteria that define 
conditions under which a prescribed fire may be ignited, guide 
selection of appropriate management responses, and indicate other 
required actions.  Prescription criteria may include safety, economic, 
public health, environmental, geographic, administrative, social, or 
legal considerations. 
 "Land Manager" means any federal, state, local or private entity 
that owns, administers, directs, oversees or controls the use of public 
or private land, including the application of fire to the land. 
 ["Maintenance Area" means an area that has been redesignated 
by EPA from nonattainment to attainment of any National Ambient 
Air Quality Standard. 
 ]"Non-burning Alternatives to Fire" means non-burning 
techniques that are used to achieve a particular land management 
objective, including but not limited to reduction of fuel loading, 
manipulation of fuels, enhancement of wildlife habitat, and 
ecosystem restructuring.  These alternatives are designed to replace 
the use of fire for at least the next five years. 
 "Prescribed Fire or Prescribed Burn" means any fire ignited by 
management actions to meet specific objectives, such as achieving 
resource benefits. 
 "Particulate Matter" means the liquid or solid particles such as 
dust, smoke, mist, or smog found in air emissions. 

 "Smoke Sensitive Receptors" means population centers such as 
towns and villages, campgrounds and trails, hospitals, nursing 
homes, schools, roads, airports, Class I areas, nonattainment and 
maintenance areas, areas whose air quality monitoring data indicate 
pollutant levels that are close to health standards, and any other 
areas where smoke and air pollutants can adversely affect public 
health, safety and welfare. 
 "Wildland" means an area in which development is essentially 
non-existent, except for pipelines, power lines, roads, railroads, or 
other transportation or conveyance facilities. 
 "Wildland Fire" means any non-structure fire, other than 
prescribed fire, that occurs in the wildland. 
 "Wildland Fire Used for Resource Benefits (WFURB)" means 
naturally ignited wildland fire that is managed to accomplish 
specific prestated resource management objectives in predefined 
geographic areas. 
 "Wildland Fire Implementation Plan" means the plan required 
for each fire that is allowed to burn. 
 
KEY:  air quality, fire, smoke, land manager 
[December 31, 2003]2005 
19-2-104(1)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-205 
Emission Standards: Fugitive 
Emissions and Fugitive Dust 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27764 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:20 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to clarify the applicability of this 
rule and to delete obsolete requirements.  This amendment is 
part of the overall revisions to the rules related to the new 
PM10 Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on Section R307-
110-10, in this issue).  Utah will seek redesignation of Salt 
Lake and Utah Counties and Ogden City from nonattainment 
to attainment of the PM10 health standard following final 
adoption of the plan.  The revisions in this rule are in 
anticipation of this redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR No. 27768 
in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Currently, this rule applies 
statewide and is part of the federally enforceable State 
Implementation Plan.  Upon adoption by the board, Rule 
R307-205 will only apply outside the nonattainment and 
maintenance areas and the state will request EPA to retract 
Rule R307-205.  Another rule, 307-309 (see separate filing on 
Rule R307-309 in this issue), will apply within the 
nonattainment and maintenance areas.  This amendment also  
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includes deletion of outdated requirements.  (DAR NOTE:  
The proposed amendment to Rule R307-309 is under DAR 
No. 27765 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-2-101, 19-2-104, and 19-2-109 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Because this revision does not create 
any new requirements, no change in cost is expected to the 
state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because this revision does not create 
any new requirements, no change in cost is expected for local 
government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because this revision does not create any 
new requirements, no change in cost is expected for other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because this 
revision does not create any new requirements, no change in 
cost is expected for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This amendment does not 
create new requirements.  Therefore, no additional costs are 
expected.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mat E. Carlile or Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4136 or 801-536-4042, by FAX at 801-536-0085 or 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at MCARLILE@utah.gov 
or janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 

R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-205.  Emission Standards:  Fugitive Emissions and 
Fugitive Dust. 
R307-205-1.  Purpose. 
 R307-205 establishes minimum work practices and emission 
standards for sources of fugitive emissions and fugitive dust for 
sources located in all areas in the state except those listed in section 
IX, Part H of the state implementation plan or located in a PM10 
nonattainment or maintenance area. 
 
R307-205-2.  Applicability. 
 [(1)  Except where otherwise specified,]R307-205 applies 
statewide to all sources of fugitive emissions and fugitive dust, 
except for agricultural or horticultural activities specified in 19-2-
114(1)-(3) and any source listed in section IX, Part H of the state 
implementation plan or located in a PM10 nonattainment or 
maintenance area.[ 
 (2)  The provisions of R307-205 shall not apply to any sources 
for which limitations for fugitive dust or fugitive emissions are 
assigned pursuant to R307-401, R307-305, or R307-307 nor shall 
they apply to agricultural or horticultural activities.] 
 
R307-205-3.  Definitions. 
 [(3)  ]The following definition[s] applies[y] throughout R307-
205: 
 "Material" means sand, gravel, soil, minerals or other matter 
[which]that may create fugitive dust.[ 
 "Road" means any public or private road.] 
 
R307-205-[2]4.  Fugitive Emissions. 
 Fugitive emissions from sources [in areas outside Davis, Salt 
Lake and Utah Counties, Ogden City and any nonattainment area for 
PM10 and ]which were constructed on or before April 25, 1971, 
shall not exceed 40% opacity.  Fugitive emissions from sources 
constructed or modified after April 25, 1971, shall not exceed 20% 
opacity. 
 
R307-205-[3]5.  Fugitive Dust. 
 (1)  Storage and Handling of [Aggregate ]Materials.  Any 
person owning, operating or maintaining a new or existing material 
storage, handling or hauling operation shall minimize fugitive dust 
from such an operation.  Such control may include the use of 
enclosures, covers, stabilization or other equivalent methods or 
techniques as approved by the executive secretary. 
 (2)  Construction and Demolition Activities. 
 (a)  Any person engaging in clearing or leveling of land greater 
than one-quarter acre in size, earthmoving, excavation, or movement 
of trucks or construction equipment over cleared land greater than 
one-quarter acre in size or access haul roads shall take steps to 
minimize fugitive dust from such activities.  Such control may 
include watering and chemical stabilization of potential fugitive dust 
sources or other equivalent methods or techniques approved by the 
executive secretary. 
 (b)  The owner or operator of any land area greater than one-
quarter acre in size that has been cleared or excavated shall take 
measures to prevent fugitive particulate matter from becoming 
airborne.  Such measures may include: 
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 (i)  planting vegetative cover, 
 (ii)  providing synthetic cover, 
 (iii)  watering, 
 (iv)  chemical stabilization, 
 (v)  wind breaks, or 
 (vi)  other equivalent methods or techniques approved by the 
executive secretary. 
 (c)  Any person engaging in demolition activities including 
razing homes, buildings, or other structures or removing paving 
material from roads or parking areas shall take steps to minimize 
fugitive dust from such activities.  Such control may include 
watering and chemical stabilization or other equivalent methods or 
techniques approved by the executive secretary. 
 
R307-205-[4]6.  Roads. 
 (1)  [Any person planning to construct or operate a new 
unpaved road which is anticipated to have an average daily traffic 
volume of 150 vehicle trips per day or greater, averaged over a 
consecutive five day period, shall submit a notice of intent to 
construct or operate such a road to the executive secretary pursuant 
to R307-401.  Such notice shall include proposed action to minimize 
fugitive dust emissions from the road. 
 (2)  ]The executive secretary may require persons owning, 
operating or maintaining any new or existing road, or having right-
of-way easement or possessory right to use the same, to supply 
traffic count information as determined necessary to ascertain 
whether or not control techniques are adequate or additional controls 
are necessary. 
 [(3)](2)  Any person who deposits materials [which]that may 
create fugitive dust on a public or private paved road shall clean the 
road promptly. 
 
R307-205-[5]7.  Mining Activities. 
 (1)  Fugitive dust, construction activities, and roadways 
associated with mining activities are regulated under the provisions 
of R307-205-[5]7 and not by R307-205-[3]5 and [4]6. 
 (2)  Any person who owns or operates a mining operation shall 
minimize fugitive dust as an integral part of site preparation, mining 
activities, and reclamation operations. 
 (3)  The fugitive dust control measures to be used may include: 
 (a)  periodic watering of unpaved roads, 
 (b)  chemical stabilization of unpaved roads, 
 (c)  paving of roads, 
 (d)  prompt removal of coal, rock minerals, soil, and other dust-
forming debris from roads and frequent scraping and compaction of 
unpaved roads to stabilize the road surface, 
 (e)  restricting the speed of vehicles in and around the mining 
operation, 
 (f)  revegetating, mulching, or otherwise stabilizing the surface 
of all areas adjoining roads that are a source of fugitive dust, 
 (g)  restricting the travel of vehicles on other than established 
roads, 
 (h)  enclosing, covering, watering, or otherwise treating loaded 
haul trucks and railroad cars, to minimize loss of material to wind 
and spillage, 
 (i)  substitution of conveyor systems for haul trucks and 
covering of conveyor systems when conveyed loads are subject to 
wind erosion, 
 (j)  minimizing the area of disturbed land, 
 (k)  prompt revegetation of regraded lands, 

 (l)  planting of special windbreak vegetation at critical points in 
the permit area, 
 (m)  control of dust from drilling, using water sprays, hoods, 
dust collectors or other controls approved by the executive secretary, 
 (n)  restricting the areas to be blasted at any one time, 
 (o)  reducing the period of time between initially disturbing the 
soil and revegetating or other surface stabilization, 
 (p)  restricting fugitive dust at spoil and coal transfer and 
loading points, 
 (q)  control of dust from storage piles through use of 
enclosures, covers, or stabilization and other equivalent methods or 
techniques as approved by the executive secretary,  or 
 (r)  other techniques as determined necessary by the executive 
secretary.[ 
 (4)  Any person owning or operating an existing mining 
operation in an actual area of nonattainment for particulate or an 
existing mining operation outside an actual area of nonattainment 
from which fugitive dust impacts an actual area of nonattainment for 
particulate shall submit plans for control of fugitive dust from such 
operations to the executive secretary for approval no later than 
September 29, 1981, 180 days after the effective date of this 
regulation.] 
 
R307-205-[6]8.  Tailings Piles and Ponds. 
 (1)  Fugitive dust, construction activities, and roadways 
associated with tailings piles and ponds are regulated under the 
provisions of R307-205-[6]8 and not by R307-205-[3 and 4]5 and 6. 
 (2)  Any person owning or operating an existing tailings 
operation where fugitive dust results from grading, excavating, 
depositing, or natural erosion or other causes in association with 
such operation shall take steps to minimize fugitive dust from such 
activities.  Such controls may include: 
 (a)  watering, 
 (b)  chemical stabilization, 
 (c)  synthetic covers, 
 (d)  vegetative covers, 
 (e)  wind breaks, 
 (f)  minimizing the area of disturbed tailings, 
 (g)  restricting the speed of vehicles in and around the tailings 
operation, or 
 (h)  other equivalent methods or techniques which may be 
approvable by the executive secretary.[ 
 (3)  Any person owning or operating an existing tailings 
operation in a nonattainment area for particulate or an existing 
mining operation outside an actual area of nonattainment from 
which fugitive dust impacts an actual area of nonattainment for 
particulate shall submit plans for control of fugitive dust from such 
operations to the executive secretary for approval no later than 
September 29, 1981, 180 days after the effective date of this 
regulation.] 
 
KEY:  air pollution, fugitive emissions[*], mining[*], tailings[*] 
[May 4, 1999]2005 
Notice of Continuation August 2, 2000 
19-2-101 
19-2-104 
19-2-109 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-206 
Emission Standards: Abrasive Blasting 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27759 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:18 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to clarify existing abrasive 
blasting requirements and the applicability of this rule.  This 
amendment is part of the overall revisions to the rules related 
to the new PM10 Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on 
Section R307-110-10, in this issue).  Utah will seek 
redesignation of Salt Lake and Utah Counties and Ogden City 
from nonattainment to attainment of the PM10 health standard 
following final adoption of the plan.  These revisions are in 
anticipation of this redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR No. 27768 
in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Currently, this rule applies 
statewide and is part of the federally enforceable State 
Implementation Plan.  Upon adoption by the board, Rule 
R307-206 will only apply outside the nonattainment and 
maintenance areas and the state will request EPA to retract 
Rule R307-206.  Another rule, R307-306 (see separate filing 
on R307-306 in this issue), will apply within the nonattainment 
and maintenance areas.  In addition, revisions of R307-206 
help clarify the current abrasive blasting requirements.  (DAR 
NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule R307-306 is under 
DAR No. 27763 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Because this revision does not create 
any new requirements, no change in cost is expected for state 
government. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because this revision does not create 
any new requirements, no change in cost is expected for local 
government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because this revision does not create any 
new requirements, no change in cost is expected for other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because this 
revision does not create any new requirements, no change in 
cost is expected for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This amendment does not 
create new requirements.  Therefore, no additional costs are 
expected.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mat E. Carlile or Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4136 or 801-536-4042, by FAX at 801-536-0085 or 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at MCARLILE@utah.gov 
or janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-206.  Emission Standards:  Abrasive Blasting. 
R307-206-1.  Purpose. 
 R307-206 establishes work practice and emission standards for 
abrasive blasting operations for sources located statewide except for 
those sources listed in section IX, Part H of the state implementation 
plan or located in a PM10 nonattainment or maintenance area. 
 
R307-206-2.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The following additional definitions apply to R307-206: 
 "Abrasive Blasting" means the operation of cleaning or 
preparing a surface by forcibly propelling a stream of abrasive 
material against the surface. 
 "Abrasive Blasting Equipment" means any equipment utilized 
in abrasive blasting operations. 
 ["Abrasives" means any material used in abrasive blasting 
operations including but not limited to sand, slag, steel shot, garnet 
or walnut shells. 
 ]"Confined Blasting" means any abrasive blasting conducted in 
an enclosure which significantly restricts air contaminants from 
being emitted to the ambient atmosphere, including but not limited 
to shrouds, tanks, drydocks, buildings and structures. 
 ["Hydroblasting" means any abrasive blasting using high 
pressure liquid as the propelling force. 
 ]"Multiple Nozzles" means a group of two or more nozzles 
being used for abrasive cleaning of the same surface in such close 
proximity that their separate plumes are indistinguishable. 
 "Unconfined Blasting" means any abrasive blasting which is 
not confined blasting as defined above.[ 
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 "Wet Abrasive Blasting" means any abrasive blasting using 
compressed air as the propelling force and sufficient water to 
minimize the plume.] 
 
R307-206-3.  Applicability. 
 R307-206 applies statewide to any abrasive blasting operation, 
except for any source that is listed in Section IX, Part H of the state 
implementation plan or that is located in a PM10 nonattainment or 
maintenance area. 
 
R307-206-[2]4.  Visible Emission Standards. 
 [(1)  ]Visible emissions from abrasive blasting operations shall 
not exceed 40% opacity, except for an aggregate period of three 
minutes in any one hour.[No person shall, if he complies with 
performance standards outlined in R307-206-4 or if he is not located 
in an area of nonattainment for particulates, discharge into the 
atmosphere from any abrasive blasting any air contaminant for a 
period or periods aggregating more than three minutes in any one 
hour which is a shade or density darker than 40% opacity. 
 (2)  No person shall, if he is not complying with an applicable 
performance standard in R307-206-4 and is in an area of 
nonattainment, discharge into the atmosphere from any abrasive 
blasting any air contaminant for a period or periods aggregating 
more than three minutes in any one hour which is of a shade or 
density no darker than 20% opacity.] 
 
R307-206-[3]5.  Visible Emission Evaluation Techniques. 
 [Visible emission evaluation of abrasive blasting operations 
shall be conducted in accordance with the following provisions:](1)  
Visible emissions shall be measured using EPA Method 9.  Visible 
emissions from intermittent sources shall use procedures similar to 
Method 9, but the requirement for observations to be made at 15 
second intervals over a six-minute period shall not apply. 
 [(1)](2)  Visible e[E]missions from unconfined blasting shall be 
[read]measured at the densest point of the emission after a major 
portion of the spent abrasive has fallen out, at a point not less than 
five feet nor more than twenty-five feet from the impact surface 
from any single abrasive blasting nozzle. 
 [(2)](3)  An unconfined blasting operation that uses[Emissions 
from unconfined blasting employing] multiple nozzles shall be 
[judged as]considered a single source unless it can be demonstrated 
by the owner or operator that each nozzle, [evaluated]measured 
separately, meets the emission and performance standards provided 
[for ]in R307-206-2 through 4. 
 [(3)](4)  Visible e[E]missions from confined blasting shall be 
[read]measured at the densest point after the air contaminant leaves 
the enclosure.[ 
 
R307-206-4.  Performance Standards. 
 (1)  To satisfy the requirements of R307-206-2, any abrasive 
blasting operation may use at least one of the following performance 
standards: 
 (a)  Confined blasting; 
 (b)  Wet abrasive blasting; 
 (c)  Hydroblasting; or 
 (d)  Unconfined blasting using abrasives as defined in (2) 
below. 
 (2)  Abrasives. 
 (a)  Abrasives used for dry unconfined blasting referenced in 
(1) above shall comply with the following performance standards: 

 (i)  Before blasting the abrasive shall not contain more than 1% 
by weight material passing a #70 U.S. Standard sieve. 
 (ii)  After blasting the abrasive shall not contain more than 
1.8% by weight material 5 micron or smaller. 
 (b)  Abrasives reused for dry unconfined blasting are exempt 
from (a)(ii) above, but must conform with (a)(i) above. 
 (3)  Abrasive Certification.  Sources using the performance 
standard of (1)(d) above to meet the requirements of R307-206-2 
must demonstrate they have obtained abrasives from persons which 
have certified (submitted test results) to the executive secretary at 
least annually that such abrasives meet the requirements of(2) above. 
 
R307-206-5.  Emissions Standards. 
 Other provisions of R307 may require more stringent controls 
than listed herein, in which case those requirements must be met.] 
 
KEY:  air pollution, abrasive blasting[*], PM10 
[September 15, 1998]2005 
Notice of Continuation June 19, 2003 
19-2-104(1)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-207 
Emission Standards: Residential 

Fireplaces and Stoves 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27760 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:18 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this new rule is to make it easier to find specific 
provisions for residential fireplaces and stoves and to clarify 
applicability of these provisions.  This rule is part of overall 
revisions to rules related to new PM10 Maintenance Plan (see 
separate filing on Section R307-110-10, in this issue).  Utah 
will seek redesignation of Salt Lake and Utah Counties and 
Ogden City from nonattainment to attainment of the PM10 
health standard following final adoption of the plan.  This new 
rule is in anticipation of this redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  The 
proposed amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR 
No. 27768 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In order to make the 
requirements for residential fireplaces and stoves easier to 
find, they are being moved from Rule R307-201 (see separate 
filing on R307-201, in this issue) to this new rule.  Currently, 
provisions in this rule apply statewide and are part of the 
federally enforceable State Implementation Plan.  Upon 
adoption by the board, Rule R307-207 will only apply outside 
the nonattainment and maintenance areas and the state will 
request EPA to retract Rule R307-201.  (DAR NOTE:  The 
proposed amendment to Rule R307-201 is under DAR No. 
27757 in this issue.) 
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STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-2-101, 19-2-104, and 19-2-109 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  No impact on the state budget is 
expected due to these revisions because it does not create 
any new requirements. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because this new rule does not 
create any new requirements, no change in cost is expected 
for local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because this new rule does not create any 
new requirements, no change in cost is expected for other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because this new 
rule does not create any new requirements, no change in cost 
is expected for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Because this new rule is simply 
adopting the residential fireplaces and stoves provisions from 
Rule R307-201, no additional costs are expected.  Dianne R. 
Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mat E. Carlile or Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4136 or 801-536-4042, by FAX at 801-536-0085 or 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at MCARLILE@utah.gov 
or janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-207.  Emission Standards:  Residential Fireplaces and 
Stoves. 
R307-207-1.  Purpose. 
 R307-201 establishes emission standards for all areas of the 
state except for sources listed in section IX, Part H of the state 

implementation plan or located in a PM10 nonattainment or 
maintenance area. 
 
R307-207-2.  Applicability. 
 R307-207 applies statewide except for the following areas: all 
regions of Utah County north of the southernmost border of Payson 
City, all of Salt Lake County, all of Davis County, and in all regions 
of Weber County west of the Wasatch Mountain Range. 
 
R307-207-3.  Opacity for Residential Heating. 
 Visible emissions from residential solid fuel burning devices 
and fireplaces shall be limited to a shade or density no darker than 
20% opacity as measured by EPA Method 9, except for the 
following: 
 (1)  An initial fifteen minute start-up period, and 
 (2)  A period of fifteen minutes in any three-hour period in 
which emissions may exceed the 20% opacity limitation for 
refueling. 
 
KEY:  woodburning, fireplaces, stoves, PM10 
2005 
19-2-101 
19-2-104 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-302 
Davis, Salt Lake, Utah Counties: 

Residential Fireplaces and Stoves 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27761 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:18 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to formalize the woodburning 
control program that has been previously implemented on a 
voluntary basis in parts of Weber and Davis County.  
Extending woodburning controls to Weber and Davis Counties 
is an important part of the attainment demonstration for the 
new PM10 Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on Section 
R307-110-10, in this issue).  Utah will seek redesignation of 
Salt Lake and Utah Counties and Ogden City from 
nonattainment to attainment of the PM10 health standard 
following the final adoption of the plan.  The revisions in this 
rule are in anticipation of this redesignation.  This Plan will 
affect only Davis, Salt Lake, Utah, and Weber Counties west 
of the Wasatch Mountain range.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR No. 27768 
in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  For areas outside the 
nonattainment and maintenance areas, the requirements for 
residential fireplaces and stoves will be moved from Rule 
R307-201 (see separate filing on Rule R307-201 in this issue) 
to the new Rule R307-207 (see separate filing on Rule R307-
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207 in this issue).  Upon adoption by the board, Rule R307-
207 will only apply outside the nonattainment and 
maintenance areas and Rule R307-302 will apply within the 
nonattainment and maintenance areas and be part of the 
federally enforceable State Implementation Plan.  This 
amendment will expand woodburning controls to areas of 
Weber County west of the Wasatch Mountain range and all of 
Davis County.  Residents in these areas will have until 
November 2006 to register their stoves as a sole source of 
heat if they qualify.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed amendment 
to Rule R307-201 is under DAR No. 27757, and the proposed 
new Rule R307-207 is under DAR No. 27760 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-2-101 and 19-2-104 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The woodburning program has been 
successfully implemented on a voluntary basis in areas of 
Weber County and all of Davis County impacted by this 
modification.  Therefore, no new costs are expected for the 
state budget because of this amendment. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The woodburning program has 
already been successfully implemented on a voluntary basis 
in the affected areas.  Therefore, no new costs are expected 
for local governments because of this amendment. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  It is anticipated that this change will not 
bring additional costs because the woodburning program has 
been successfully implemented as a voluntary measure in the 
areas impacted by this amendment for a number of years.  
Further, residents in these areas will have until November 
2006 to register their stoves as a sole source of heat if they 
qualify. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It is anticipated 
that this change will not bring additional costs because the 
woodburning program has been successfully implemented as 
a voluntary measure in areas impacted by this amendment for 
a number of years.  Further, residents in these areas will have 
until November 2006 to register their stoves as a sole source 
of heat if they qualify. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule applies only to 
residential woodburning; businesses are not affected.  Dianne 
R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mat E. Carlile or Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4136 or 801-536-4042, by FAX at 801-536-0085 or 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at MCARLILE@utah.gov 
or janmiller@utah.gov 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-302.  Davis, Salt Lake, Utah, Weber Counties:  Residential 
Fireplaces and Stoves. 
R307-302-1.  Definitions. 
 The following additional definition applies to R307-302: 
 "Sole Source of Heat" means the residential solid fuel burning 
device is the only available source of heat for the entire residence, 
except for small portable heaters. 
 
R307-302-2.  Applicability. 
 (1)  R307-302-3 shall apply in all regions of Utah County north 
of the southernmost border of Payson City and east of State Route 
68, all of Salt Lake County, all of Davis County, and in all regions 
of Weber County west of the Wasatch Mountain Range. 
 (2)  R307-302-4 shall apply only within the city limits of Provo 
in Utah County. 
 (3)  R307-302-5 shall apply in both areas. 
 
R307-302-[2]3.  No-Burn Periods for Fine Particulate. 
 [(1)  R307-302-2 shall apply only in areas in Utah County 
which are north of the southernmost border of Payson City, and east 
of State Route 68, all of Salt Lake County, and areas in Davis 
County which are south of the southern-most border of Kaysville. 
 (2)](1)  Sole source of residential heating. 
 (a)[By September 1, 1992, all]  Previously registered sole 
source residential solid fuel burning devices in areas described in 
(i),(ii),and(iii) below must continue to be registered with the 
[E]executive [S]secretary or local health district office in order to be 
exempt during mandatory no-burn periods as detailed below.  No 
new registrations will be accepted in these areas. 
 (i)  Areas of Utah County north of the southernmost border of 
Payson City and east of State Route 68, 
 (ii)  all of Salt Lake County, and 
 (iii)  areas in Davis County that are south of the southernmost 
border of Kaysville. 
 (b)  By November 1, 2006, all sole source residential solid fuels 
burning devices in Weber County west of the Wasatch Mountain 
Range and areas north of the southernmost border of Kaysville must 
be registered with the executive secretary or local health district 
office in order to be exempt during mandatory no-burn periods as 
detailed below. 
 [(3)](2)  [After September 1, 1992, w]When the ambient 
concentration of PM10 measured by the monitors in Salt Lake, 
Davis, Weber, or Utah Counties reaches the level of 120 micrograms 
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per cubic meter and the forecasted weather for the specific area 
includes a temperature inversion which is predicted to continue for 
at least 24 hours, the [E]executive [S]secretary will issue a public 
announcement and will distribute such announcement to the local 
media notifying the public that a mandatory no-burn period for 
residential solid fuel burning devices and fireplaces is in effect.  The 
mandatory no-burn periods will only apply to those areas or counties 
impacting the real-time monitoring site registering the 120 
micrograms per cubic meter concentration.  Residents of the affected 
areas[Salt Lake County or the affected areas of Davis and Utah 
Counties] shall not use residential solid fuel burning devices or 
fireplaces except those [which]that are the sole source of heat for the 
entire residence and registered with the [E]executive [S]secretary or 
the local health district office, or those having no visible emissions. 
 [(4)](3)  PM10 Contingency Plan.  If the PM10 Contingency 
Plan described in Section IX, Part A, of the [S]state 
[I]implementation [P]plan has been implemented, the following 
actions will be implemented immediately: 
 (a)  The trigger level for no-burn periods as specified in [(3)](2) 
above will be 110 micrograms per cubic meter for that area where 
the PM10 Contingency Plan has been implemented; and 
 (b)  In the regions of Utah County north of the southernmost 
border of Payson City and east of State Route 68, Salt Lake County, 
Davis County, and all regions of Weber County west of the Wasatch 
Mountain Range[Salt Lake, Davis and Utah County nonattainment 
areas and in any other nonattainment area], it shall be unlawful to 
sell or install for use as a solid fuel burning device any used solid 
fuel burning device that is not approved by the Environmental 
Protection Agency. 
 [(5)](4)  After January 1, 1999, when the ambient concentration 
of PM2.5 measured by the monitors in Salt Lake, Davis, Weber, or 
Utah Counties reaches the level of 52 micrograms per cubic meter 
and the forecasted weather for the specific area includes a 
temperature inversion which is predicted to continue for at least 24 
hours, the executive secretary will issue a public announcement and 
will distribute such announcement to the local media notifying the 
public that a mandatory no-burn period for residential solid fuel 
burning devices and fireplaces is in effect.  The mandatory no-burn 
periods will only apply to those areas or counties impacting the real-
time monitoring site registering the 52 micrograms per cubic meter 
concentration.  Residents of Salt Lake County, Davis County, or the 
affected areas of Utah and Weber Counties[Salt Lake County or the 
affected areas of Davis and Utah Counties] shall not use residential 
solid fuel burning devices or fireplaces except those [which]that are 
the sole source of heat for the entire residence and registered with 
the [E]executive [S]secretary or the local health district office, or 
those having no visible emissions. 
 
R307-302-[3]4.  No-Burn Periods for Carbon Monoxide. 
 [(1)  R307-302-3 shall apply only within the city limits of 
Provo and Orem in Utah County. 
 (2)](1)  Beginning on November 1 and through March 1[ in any 
years after 1993], the executive secretary will issue a public 
announcement and will distribute such announcement to the local 
media notifying the public that a mandatory no-burn period for 
residential solid fuel burning devices and fireplaces is in effect when 
the running eight-hour average carbon monoxide concentration as 
monitored by the state at 4:00 PM reaches a value of 6.0 ppm or 
more. 

 [(3)](2)  In addition to the conditions contained in [(2)](1) 
above, the executive secretary may use meteorological conditions to 
initiate a no-burn period.  These conditions are: 
 (a)  a national weather service forecasted clearing index value 
of 250 or less; 
 (b)  forecasted wind speeds of three miles per hour or less; 
 (c)  passage of a vigorous cold front through the Wasatch Front; 
or 
 (d)  arrival of a strong high pressure system into the area. 
 [(4)](3)  During the no-burn periods specified in [(2)](1) and 
[(3)](2) above, residents of Provo [and Orem ]Cit[ies]y shall not use 
residential solid fuel burning devices or fireplaces except those 
[which]that are the sole source of heat for the entire residence and 
are registered with the executive secretary or the local health district 
office, or those having no visible emissions. 
 
R307-302-5.  Opacity for Residential Heating. 
 Except during no-burn periods as required by R307-302-3 and 
4, visible emissions from residential solid fuel burning devices and 
fireplaces shall be limited to a shade or density no darker than 20% 
opacity as measured by EPA Method 9, except for the following: 
 (1)  An initial fifteen minute start-up period, and 
 (2)  A period of fifteen minutes in any three-hour period in 
which emissions may exceed the 20% opacity limitation for 
refueling.[ 
 
R307-302-4.  Violations. 
 It shall be a violation of R307-302 for any person to operate a 
residential solid fuel burning device or fireplace during the 
mandatory no-burn periods except as stated in R307-302-2 or 3.] 
 
KEY:  air pollution, woodburning[*], fireplaces[*], stoves[*] 
[January 7, 1999]2005 
Notice of Continuation June 19, 2003 
19-2-101 
19-2-104 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-305 
Davis, Salt Lake, and Utah Counties 
and Ogden City and Nonattainment 

Areas for PM10:  Particulates 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27762 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:19 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to clarify the rule by deleting 
obsolete language and adding language to align the rule with 
the new PM10 Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on 
Section R307-110-10, in this issue).  Utah will seek 
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redesignation of Salt Lake and Utah Counties and Ogden City 
from nonattainment to attainment of the PM10 health standard 
following final adoption of the plan.  The revisions to this rule 
are in anticipation of this redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  The 
proposed amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR 
No. 27768 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Currently, Rule R307-201 
(see separate filing on R307-201 in this issue) applies 
statewide and is part of the federally enforceable State 
Implementation Plan.  Upon adoption by the board, Rule 
R307-201 will only apply outside the nonattainment and 
maintenance areas and the state will request EPA to retract 
Rule R307-201.  Rule R307-305 will then apply within the 
nonattainment and maintenance areas and be part of the 
federally enforceable State Implementation Plan.  This 
amendment also deletes obsolete language and 
requirements.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed amendment to 
Rule R307-201 is under DAR No. 27757 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-104(1)(a) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Because these revisions do not create 
any new requirements, no change in cost is expected to the 
state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because these revisions do not 
create any new requirements, no change in cost is expected 
for local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because these revisions do not any create 
new requirements, no change in cost is expected for other 
persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  These revisions do 
not change current requirements; therefore, no change in cost 
is expected. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Because these revisions do not 
create new requirements, no change in cost is expected for 
businesses.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Mat E. Carlile or Jan Miller at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4136 or 801-536-4042, by FAX at 801-536-0085 or 
801-536-4099, or by Internet E-mail at MCARLILE@utah.gov 
or janmiller@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 

INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-305.  [Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties and Ogden 
City, and ]Nonattainment and Maintenance Areas for PM10:  
[Particulates]Emission Standards. 
R307-305-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes emission standards and work practices for 
sources located in PM10 nonattainment and maintenance areas to 
meet the reasonably available control measures requirement in 
section 189(a)(1)(C) of the Act. 
 
R307-305-2.  Applicability. 
 The requirements of R307-305 apply to the owner or operator 
of any source that is listed in Section IX, Part H of the state 
implementation plan or located in a PM10 nonattainment or 
maintenance area. 
 
R307-305-[1]3.  Visible Emissions. 
 (1)  [In PM10 Nonattainment Areas, v]Visible emissions from 
existing installations except diesel[gasoline powered internal 
combustion] engines[,] shall be of a shade or density no darker than 
20% opacity.  Visible emissions shall be measured using EPA 
Method 9.[Installations in other areas of the State which were 
constructed before April 25, 1971, except internal combustion 
engines, shall be of a shade or density no darker than 40% opacity 
except as provided in these regulations. 
 (2)  Emissions Standards.  Other provisions of R307 may 
require more stringent controls than R307-305, in which case those 
requirements must be met.] 
 (2)  No owner or operator of a gasoline engine or vehicle shall 
allow, cause or permit the emissions of visible contaminants. 
 (3)  Emissions from diesel engines shall be of a shade or 
density no darker than 20% opacity, except for starting motion no 
farther than 100 yards or for stationary operation not exceeding three 
minutes in any hour. 
 
R307-305-[2]4.  Particulate Emission Limitations and Operating 
Parameters (PM10). 
 [All]Any source[s] with emission[s] limits included in Section 
IX, Part H, of the Utah state implementation plan[of 25 tons per year 
or more (combinations of sulfur dioxide, oxides of nitrogen, and 
PM10) in areas located in or affecting PM10 Nonattainment Areas 
in Salt Lake and Utah Counties] shall [meet the]comply with those 
emission limitations and operating parameters. [contained in Section 
IX, Part H, of the Utah State Implementation Plan (SIP).  Existing 
sources located in or affecting PM10 Nonattainment Areas shall use 
reasonably available control measures to the extent necessary to 
insure the attainment and maintenance of the National Ambient Air 
Quality Standards (NAAQS).  The emission limitations specified in 
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the SIP constitute, in the judgment of the Board, reasonably 
available control measures necessary to insure attainment and 
maintenance of the NAAQS not later than December 31, 1994. 
Specific limitations for installations within a source listed in the SIP 
which are not specified will be set by order of the Board.] Specific 
limitations will be set by the executive secretary, through an 
approval order issued under R307-401, for installations within a 
source that do not have limitations specified in the state 
implementation plan.[Specific limitations for installations within a 
source may be adjusted by order of the Board provided the 
adjustment does not adversely affect achieving the applicable 
NAAQS.] 
 
R307-305-[3]5.  Compliance Testing (PM10). 
 Compliance testing for [the ]PM10, sulfur dioxide, and oxides 
of nitrogen emission limitations shall be done in accordance with 
Section IX, Part H of the [SIP]state implementation plan.  PM10 
compliance shall be determined from the results of EPA test method 
201 or 201a.  A backhalf analysis shall be performed for inventory 
purposes for each PM10 compliance test in accordance with a 
method approved by the [E]executive [S]secretary.[ for inventory 
purposes. For sources not requiring changes to their process or air 
pollution control devices to achieve compliance with the emission 
limitations contained in these regulations, compliance testing shall 
be scheduled with the Executive Secretary within three months after 
promulgation of R307-305-3.  For Utah County sources listed in 
Section IX, Part H.1, of the SIP which need to make major changes 
to comply, a construction/installation schedule for demonstration of 
compliance with limitations contained in the SIP, shall be submitted 
by the owner/operator by February 15, 1991.  Those sources located 
in Salt Lake and Davis County listed in Section IX, Part H.2, of the 
SIP which need to make major changes to comply shall submit to 
the Executive Secretary a construction/installation schedule for 
demonstration of compliance with limitations contained in the SIP 
within three months after the effective date of R307-305-3 for 
approval.  Those sources making major changes of process 
equipment or air pollution control equipment shall submit a notice in 
accordance with R307-401, for the purpose of meeting the emissions 
limitations contained in Section IX, Part H of the SIP and receive 
approval from the Executive Secretary.  The schedule indicated 
above shall result in demonstration of compliance with the 
limitations by December 31, 1992, unless an alternate schedule has 
been approved by the Executive Secretary.  The alternate schedule 
shall be approved by the Executive Secretary if the owner/operator 
demonstrates that the schedule or implementation of control 
measures is as expeditious as practicable, but extends beyond 
December 31, 1992.  Any submittal requesting an alternate schedule 
shall be done in accordance with the requirements of the Federal 
Clean Air Act, and shall be consistent with the SIP demonstration of 
attainment by December 31, 1994. 
 
R307-305-4.  Compliance Schedule (PM10). 
 The owner or operator of an existing installation listed in the 
SIP is required to achieve the emission limitation or other 
requirements established by the SIP as expeditiously as practicable, 
but no later than December 31, 1992.  For those sources granted an 
alternate schedule in accordance with R307-305-3, compliance with 
the limitations shall be demonstrated as provided in the approved 
schedule.  Until the time a source is required to demonstrate 
compliance with the limitations in the SIP, the source shall comply 
with the applicable provisions of the existing total suspended 

particulate (TSP) limitations and operating parameters listed in the 
Utah Air Conservation Regulations dated April 1, 1990, or existing 
approval orders. 
 
R307-305-5.  Particulate Emission Limitations and Operating 
Parameters (TSP). 
 (1)  Existing sources located in or affecting areas of 
nonattainment shall use reasonably available control measures to the 
extent necessary to insure the attainment and maintenance of the 
National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS).  The emission 
limitations specified in this paragraph constitute, in the judgment of 
the Board, reasonably available control measures necessary to insure 
attainment and maintenance of the NAAQS as of the date of 
promulgation of these regulations.  Specific limitations for 
installations within a source listed below which are not specified 
will be set by order of the Board.  Specific limitations for 
installations within a source listed below may be adjusted by order 
of the Board provided the adjustment does not adversely affect 
achieving the applicable NAAQS. 
 (2)  The owner or operator of any source listed in this 
paragraph shall not allow exceedance of the emission limitation or 
violation of any other listed requirement (See schedule for 
compliance listed in R307-305-6).  The requirements listed for the 
sources in Weber County apply unless modified by an approval 
order or compliance order issued after February 16, 1982. 
 

TABLE 
 
     IDENTIFICATION OF SOURCE 
     (SOURCES 25 TONS/YEAR OR 
     GREATER ACTUAL EMISSIONS)     EMISSION LIMITATIONS 
 
     WEBER COUNTY (TSP) 
 
     1.  Farmers Grain Coop        20% opacity each stack/vent 
         unloading/loading/ 
         cleaning and 
         grinding stacks/vents 
 
     2.  Fife Rock Products        0.040 gr/dscf, 20% opacity 
         Asphalt Plant (Hot        (stack and fugitive emissions) 
         mix dryer) 
 
     3.  Interpace                 20% opacity (vents and 
         Corporation - 4/2/81      fugitive emissions) 
         Grinding and screening 
 
     4.  Parsons Asphalt Plant     0.040 gr/dscf, 20% opacity 
                                   (stack and fugitive emissions) 
 
     5.  Pillsbury Co.              20% opacity each vent 
         Loading, milling, 
         unloading 
 
     6.  Teledyne Incinerator       0.080 gr/dscf, 20% opacity 
 
     7.  Gibbons and Reed           0.030 gr/dscf, 20% opacity 
         Asphalt Plant - 
         4/2/81 

 
R307-305-6.  Compliance Schedule (TSP). 
 The owner or operator of an existing installation which is a 
source of a pollutant in a nonattainment area for the pollutant, or 
which has significant impact (Based on the increment levels in 
R307-403-3(1)) upon a nonattainment area, is required to achieve 
the established emission limitation or other requirements established 
by these regulations as expeditiously as practicable but no later than 
December 31, 1982, or such later date as may be specified by 
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Congress or EPA under the Clean Air Act.  Within 180 days after 
the effective date of a regulation establishing a standard of pollutant 
control pursuant to an emission limitation under R307-305-1 or 5, 
the owner or operator of an existing installation not meeting these 
requirements must submit a notice of intent as outlined in R307-401 
together with a compliance schedule.  The compliance schedule 
shall contain proposed interim measures to control and identify the 
degree of emission reduction to be achieved by each such interim 
measure of control. 
 
R307-305-7.  Compliance Testing (TSP). 
 (1)  Testing Methodology. 
 (a)  Except as otherwise provided in R307-305-7, compliance 
testing for gravimetric emission limitations for particulate shall be 
pursuant to EPA reference Method 5 or EPA reference Method 17 
where appropriate and approved by the Executive Secretary.  Where 
EPA reference Method 5 is used for compliance testing, 
determination of compliance with gravimetric emission limitations 
shall be made through the use of front half catch.  The Executive 
Secretary may require that Method 5 full train analysis be conducted 
and that back half data also be submitted but only for information 
purposes.  Such information shall not be used to determine 
compliance with gravimetric emission limitations.  EPA reference 
Method 1 shall be used to select the sampling site and number of 
traverse sampling points.  Where necessary for determination of 
stack gas velocities, EPA reference Method 2 shall be used.  Where 
necessary for determination of dry molecular weight, EPA reference 
Method 3 shall be used.  Where necessary for determination of 
moisture content in stack gases EPA reference Method 4 shall be 
used.  All EPA reference methods referred to in R307-305-7 are 
those found in 40 CFR 60, Appendix A. 
 (b)  Except as provided below in these regulations any alternate 
test methods or sampling methods may be used with the approval of 
the Executive Secretary, provided, however, that if such reference 
tests or sampling methods are used to test compliance with federal 
law they may be used only if approved, in writing, by the 
Administrator of EPA or his representative. 
 (2)  Special Sampling and Compliance Testing Requirements 
for Fossil-Fuel Fired Power Plants.  Method 5 or EPA reference 
Method 17 where appropriate (only when stack temperatures do not 
exceed 320 degrees F) and approved by the Executive Secretary 
shall be run for fossil-fuel fired power plants as modified by 40 CFR 
60, subpart D or Da whichever is applicable.  Method 9 shall be run 
for opacity. 
 (3)  Exceptions for Special Sampling and Testing Conditions 
for Performance for Incinerators.  Method 5 shall be run for 
incinerators as modified by 40 CFR 60, Subpart E. 
 (4)  Special Conditions for Sampling for Portland Cement 
Plants.  Method 5 or EPA Reference Method 17 where appropriate 
and approved by the Executive Secretary shall be run for Portland 
Cement Plants.  If compliance is tested by use of Method 5, Method 
5 shall be modified as provided in 40 CFR 60, Subpart F.] 
 
R307-305-6.  Automobile Emission Control Devices. 
 Any person owning or operating any motor vehicle or motor 
vehicle engine registered in the State of Utah on which is installed or 
incorporated a system or device for the control of crankcase 
emissions or exhaust emissions in compliance with the Federal 
motor vehicle rules, shall maintain the system or device in operable 
condition and shall use it at all times that the motor vehicle or motor 
vehicle engine is operated.  No person shall remove or make 

inoperable within the State of Utah the system or device or any part 
thereof, except for the purpose of installing another system or 
device, or part thereof, which is equally or more effective in 
reducing emissions from the vehicle to the atmosphere. 
 
R307-305-7.  Compliance Schedule for New Nonattainment 
Areas. 
 The provisions of R307-305 shall apply to the owner or 
operator of a source that is located in any new PM10 nonattainment 
area 180 days after the area is officially designated a nonattainment 
area for PM10 by the Environmental Protection Agency. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, particulate matter[*], PM10[*], PM2.5 
[September 15, 1998]2005 
Notice of Continuation June 19, 2003 
19-2-104 (1)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-306 
PM10 Nonattainment and Maintenance 

Areas:  Abrasive Blasting 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27763 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:19 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  Current 
abrasive blasting requirements from Rule R307-206 (see 
separate filing on Rule R307-206 in this issue) are included in 
this new rule that applies only in nonattainment and 
maintenance areas.  The development of this rule is part of 
the overall revisions to the rules related to the new PM10 
Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on Section R307-110-
10, in this issue).  Utah will seek redesignation of Salt Lake 
and Utah Counties and Ogden City from nonattainment to 
attainment of the PM10 health standard following final 
adoption of the plan.  This new rule is in anticipation of this 
redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed amendment to 
Rule R307-206 is under DAR No. 27759, and the proposed 
amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR No. 27768 
in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Currently, Rule R307-206 
applies statewide and is part of the federally enforceable State 
Implementation Plan.  Upon adoption by the board, Rule 
R307-206 will only apply outside the nonattainment and 
maintenance areas and the state will request EPA to retract 
Rule R307-206.  Rule R307-306 will then apply within the 
PM10 nonattainment and maintenance areas and be part of 
the federally enforceable State Implementation Plan. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-101(1)(a) 
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ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  No impact on the state budget is 
expected due to this new rule because it adopts existing 
requirements and does not create any new requirements. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because this new rule adopts existing 
requirements and does not create any new requirements, no 
change in cost is expected for local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because this new rule adopts existing 
requirements and does not create any new requirements, no 
change in cost is expected for other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because this new 
rule adopts existing requirements and does not create any 
new requirements, no change in cost is expected for affected 
persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Because this new rule helps 
clarify existing abrasive blasting requirements and does not 
create any new requirements, no fiscal impacts are expected 
for businesses.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller or Mat E. Carlile at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4042 or 801-536-4136, by FAX at 801-536-4099 or 
801-536-0085, or by Internet E-mail at janmiller@utah.gov or 
MCARLILE@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-306.  PM10 Nonattainment and Maintenance Areas: 
Abrasive Blasting. 
R307-306-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes requirements that apply to abrasive 
blasting operations in PM10 nonattainment and maintenance areas. 
 

R307-306-2.  Definitions. 
 The following additional definitions apply to R307-306. 
 "Abrasive Blasting" means the operation of cleaning or 
preparing a surface by forcibly propelling a stream of abrasive 
material against the surface. 
 "Abrasive Blasting Equipment" means any equipment used in 
abrasive blasting operations. 
 "Abrasives" means any material used in abrasive blasting 
operations including but not limited to sand, slag, steel shot, garnet 
or walnut shells. 
 "Confined Blasting" means any abrasive blasting conducted in 
an enclosure that significantly restricts air contaminants from being 
emitted to the ambient atmosphere, including but not limited to 
shrouds, tanks, drydocks, buildings and structures. 
 "Hydroblasting" means any abrasive blasting using high 
pressure liquid as the propelling force. 
 "Multiple Nozzles" means a group of two or more nozzles used 
for abrasive cleaning of the same surface in such close proximity 
that their separate plumes are indistinguishable. 
 "Unconfined Blasting" means any abrasive blasting that is not 
confined blasting as defined above. 
 "Wet Abrasive Blasting" means any abrasive blasting using 
compressed air as the propelling force and sufficient water to 
minimize the plume. 
 
R307-306-3.  Applicability. 
 R307-306 applies to any person who operates abrasive blasting 
equipment in a PM10 nonattainment or maintenance area. 
 
R307-306-4.  Visible Emission Standard. 
 (1)  Except as provided in (2) below, visible emissions from 
abrasive blasting operations shall not exceed 20% opacity except for 
an aggregate period of three minutes in any one hour. 
 (2)  If the abrasive blasting operation complies with the 
performance standards in R307-306-6, visible emissions from the 
operation shall not exceed 40% opacity, except for an aggregate 
period of 3 minutes in any one hour. 
 
R307-306-5.  Visible Emission Evaluation Techniques. 
 (1)  Visible emissions shall be measured using EPA Method 9. 
Visible emissions from intermittent sources shall use procedures 
similar to Method 9, but the requirement for observations to be made 
at 15 second intervals over a six minute period shall not apply. 
 (2)  Visible emissions from unconfined blasting shall be 
measured at the densest point of the emission after a major portion 
of the spent abrasive has fallen out at a point not less than five feet 
nor more than twenty-five feet from the impact surface from any 
single abrasive blasting nozzle. 
 (3)  An unconfined blasting operation that uses multiple nozzles 
shall be considered a single source unless it can be demonstrated by 
the owner or operator that each nozzle, measured separately, meets 
the visible emission standards in R307-306-4. 
 (4)  Emissions from confined blasting shall be measured at the 
densest point after the air contaminant leaves the enclosure. 
 
R307-306-6.  Performance Standards. 
 (1)  To satisfy the requirements of R307-306-4(2), the abrasive 
blasting operation shall use at least one of the following 
performance standards: 
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 (a)  confined blasting; 
 (b)  wet abrasive blasting; 
 (c)  hydroblasting; or 
 (d)  unconfined blasting using abrasives as defined in (2) 
below. 
 (2)  Abrasives. 
 (a)  Abrasives used for dry unconfined blasting referenced in 
(1) above shall comply with the following performance standards: 
 (i)  Before blasting, the abrasive shall not contain more than 1% 
by weight material passing a #70 U.S. Standard sieve. 
 (ii)  After blasting the abrasive shall not contain more than 
1.8% by weight material 5 microns or smaller. 
 (b)  Abrasives reused for dry unconfined blasting are exempt 
from (a)(ii) above, but must conform with (a)(i) above. 
 (3)  Abrasive Certification.  Sources using the performance 
standard of (1)(d) above to meet the requirements of R307-306-4(2) 
must demonstrate they have obtained abrasives from a supplier who 
has certified (submitted test results) to the executive secretary at 
least annually that such abrasives meet the requirements of (2) 
above. 
 
R307-306-7.  Compliance Schedule. 
 The provisions of R307-306 shall apply in any new PM10 
nonattainment area 180 days after the area is officially designated a 
nonattainment area for PM10 by the Environmental Protection 
Agency. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, abrasive blasting, PM10 
2005 
19-2-101(1)(a) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-309 
Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties, 
Ogden City and Any Nonattainment 

Area for PM10:  Fugitive Emissions and 
Fugitive Dust 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27765 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:20 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to clarify provisions of this rule.  
This amendment is part of the overall revisions to the rules 
related to new PM10 Maintenance Plan (see separate filing on 
Section R307-110-10, in this issue).  Utah will seek 
redesignation of Salt Lake and Utah Counties and Ogden City 
from nonattainment to attainment of the PM10 health standard 
following final adoption of the plan.  The revisions to this rule 
are in anticipation of this redesignation.  (DAR NOTE:  The 
proposed amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR 
No. 27768 in this issue.) 
 

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Currently, Rule R307-205 
(see separate filing on Rule R307-205 in this issue) applies 
statewide and is part of the federally enforceable State 
Implementation Plan.  Upon adoption by the board, Rule 
R307-205 will only apply outside the nonattainment and 
maintenance areas and the state will request EPA to retract 
Rule R307-205.  Rule R307-309 will then apply within the 
PM10 nonattainment and maintenance areas and be part of 
the federally enforceable State Implementation Plan.  In 
Subsection R307-309-5(3), a new provision specifies 
modifications to Method 9 to determine compliance by mobile 
and intermittent sources.  This provision has been included in 
emission limitations for sources regulated by the PM10 SIP 
since 1991.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule 
R307-205 is under DAR No. 27764 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-2-101, 19-2-104, and 19-2-109 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The changes in the rule do not change 
the duties of state staff; thus, there is no change in costs.  No 
other costs are expected in the state budget because other 
revisions do not create any new requirements. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Each source is required to carry out 
all control measures specified in its dust control plan, 
whatever the wind speed, but will be expected to meet opacity 
regulations at 30 mph or less instead of the current 25 mph.  
Approximately 4.5 days per year have wind speeds of 26-30 
mph, and each source may have to apply more controls to 
remain in compliance on those days.  The cost of controls will 
vary by source, depending upon the measures each source 
has included in its dust control plan. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Each source is required to carry out all 
control measures specified in its dust control plan, whatever 
the wind speed, but will be expected to meet opacity 
regulations at 30 mph or less instead of the current 25 mph.  
Approximately 4.5 days per year have wind speeds of 26-30 
mph, and each source may have to apply more controls to 
remain in compliance on those days.  The cost of controls will 
vary by source, depending upon the measures each source 
has included in its dust control plan. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Each source is 
required to carry out all control measures specified in its dust 
control plan, whatever the wind speed, but will be expected to 
meet opacity regulations at 30 mph or less instead of the 
current 25 mph.  Approximately 4.5 days per year have wind 
speeds of 26-30 mph, and each source may have to apply 
more controls to remain in compliance on those days.  The 
cost of controls will vary by source, depending upon the 
measures each source has included in its dust control plan. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  While this amendment may 
have some fiscal impact on businesses, these costs will be 
minimal because companies prepare their own fugitive dust 
control plans using measures they believe will meet the 
opacity requirements in their specific situations.  Dianne R. 
Nielson, Executive Director 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller or Mat E. Carlile at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4042 or 801-536-4136, by FAX at 801-536-4099 or 
801-536-0085, or by Internet E-mail at janmiller@utah.gov or 
MCARLILE@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-309.  [Davis, Salt Lake and Utah Counties, Ogden City 
and Any ]Nonattainment and Maintenance Areas for PM10:  
Fugitive Emissions and Fugitive Dust. 
R307-309-1.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes minimum work practices and emission 
standards for sources of fugitive emissions and fugitive dust listed in 
Section IX, Part H of the state implementation plan or located in 
PM10 nonattainment and maintenance areas to meet the reasonably 
available control measures for PM10 required in section 
189(a)(1)(C) of the Act. 
 
R307-309-2.  Definitions. 
 The following addition definition applies to R307-309: 
 "Material" means sand, gravel, soil, minerals other matter that 
may create fugitive dust. 
 
R307-309-[1]3.  Applicability[ and Definitions]. 
 (1)  Applicability.  R307-309 applies to all sources of fugitive 
dust and fugitive emissions listed in Section IX, Part H of the state 
implementation plan or located in [Davis, Salt Lake and Utah 
Counties, Ogden City, and any]a nonattainment or maintenance area 
for PM10, except as specified in (2) below.[  Any source located in 
those areas for which limitations for fugitive dust or fugitive 
emissions are assigned pursuant to R307-401 is subject to R307-309 
on May 4, 1999, unless the source has an operating permit issued 
under R307-415 prior to that date.  If the source has an operating 
permit, the source is subject to R307-309 on the date of permit 
renewal or permit reopening as specified in R307-415, whichever 
occurs first.] 

 (2)  Exemptions. 
 (a)  The provisions of R307-309 do not apply to agricultural or 
horticultural activities specified in 19-2-114 (1)-(3). 
 (b) Any [source]activity [which is ]subject to [R307-305-2 
through 7 or ]R307-307 is exempt from [all provisions of ]R307-
309-7.[ except for R307-309-4. 
 (c)  Any source regulated by R307-205-5 or R307-205-6 is 
exempt from all provisions of R307-309 except for R307-309-4. 
 (3)  The following additional definitions apply to R307-309: 
 "Material" means sand, gravel, soil, minerals or other matter 
which may create fugitive dust. 
 "Road" means any public or private road.] 
 (3)  Compliance Schedule. Any source located in a new 
nonattainment area for PM10 is subject to R307-309 180 days after 
the area is designated nonattainment by the Environmental 
Protection Agency. 
 
R307-309-[2]4.  Fugitive Emissions. 
 Fugitive emissions from any source shall not exceed 15% 
opacity.  Opacity observations of emissions from stationary sources 
shall be conducted in accordance with EPA Method 9.  For 
intermittent sources and mobile sources, opacity observations shall 
use Method 9 except the requirement for observations to be made at 
15-second intervals over a six-minute period shall not apply and any 
time interval with no visible emissions shall not be included. 
 
R307-309-[3]5.  General Requirements for Fugitive Dust. 
 (1)  Except as provided in (2) below, [O]opacity caused by 
fugitive dust shall not exceed: 
 (a)  10% at the property boundary; and 
 (b)  20% on site [unless an approval order issued under R307-
401 or a dust control plan specifies a lower level; except] 
 (2)  Opacity in (1) above shall not apply when the wind speed 
exceeds [25]30 miles per hour and the owner or operator is taking 
appropriate actions to control fugitive dust. 
 (a)  If the source has a fugitive dust control plan approved by 
the executive secretary, control measures in the plan are considered 
appropriate. 
 (b)  Wind speed may be measured by a hand-held anemometer 
or equivalent device.[ 
 (2)  Any source with a dust control plan approved by the 
executive secretary prior to March 4, 1999, shall review and revise 
the plan in accordance with R307-309-4 below.  The revised plan 
shall be submitted to the executive secretary no later than May 4, 
1999.] 
 (3)  Opacity observations of emissions from stationary sources 
shall be conducted in accordance with EPA Method 9.  For 
intermittent sources and mobile sources, opacity observations shall 
use Method 9 except the requirement for observations to be made at 
15-second intervals over a six-minute period shall not apply and any 
time interval with no visible emissions shall not be included. 
 
R307-309-[4]6.  Fugitive Dust Control Plan. 
 (1)  Any person owning or operating a new or existing source 
of fugitive dust, including storage, hauling or handling operations, or 
engaging in clearing or leveling of land one-quarter acre or greater 
in size, earthmoving, excavation, or movement of trucks or 
construction equipment over cleared land one-quarter acre or greater 
in size or access haul roads, or engaging in demolition activities 
including razing homes, buildings or other structures shall submit a 
plan to control fugitive dust to the executive secretary no later than 
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30 days after the source becomes subject to [the rule]R307-309.  The 
plan shall address fugitive dust control strategies for the following 
operations as applicable: 
 (a)  Material Storage; 
 (b)  Material handling and transfer; 
 (c)  Material processing; 
 (d)  Road ways and yard areas; 
 (e)  Material loading and dumping; 
 (f)  Hauling of materials; 
 (g)  Drilling, blasting and pushing operations; 
 (h)  Clearing and leveling; 
 (i)  Earth moving and excavation; 
 (j)  Exposed surfaces; 
 (k)  Any other source of fugitive dust. 
 (2)  Strategies to control fugitive dust may include: 
 (a)  Wetting or watering; 
 (b)  Chemical stabilization; 
 (c)  Enclosing or covering operations; 
 (d)  Planting vegetative cover; 
 (e)  Providing synthetic cover; 
 (f)  Wind breaks; 
 (g)  Reducing vehicular traffic; 
 (h)  Reducing vehicular speed; 
 (i)  Cleaning haul trucks before leaving loading area; 
 (j)  Limiting pushing operations to wet seasons; 
 (k)  Paving or cleaning road ways; 
 (l)  Covering loads; 
 (m)  Conveyor systems; 
 (n)  Boots on drop points; 
 (o)  Reducing the height of drop areas; 
 (p)  Using dust collectors; 
 (q)  Reducing production; 
 (r)  Mulching; 
 (s)  Limiting the number and power of blasts; 
 (t)  Limiting blasts to non-windy days and wet seasons; 
 (u)  Hydro drilling; 
 (v)  Wetting materials before processing; 
 (w)  Using a cattle guard before entering a paved road; 
 (x)  Washing haul trucks before leaving the loading site; [or] 
 (y)  Terracing[.]; 
 (z)  Cleaning the materials that may create fugitive dust on a 
public or private paved road promptly; or 
 (aa)  Preventing, to the maximum extent possible, material from 
being deposited onto any paved road other than a designated deposit 
site. 
 (3)  Each source shall comply with all provisions of the fugitive 
dust control plan as approved by the executive secretary. 
 
[R307-309-5.  Storage, Hauling and Handling of Aggregate 
Materials. 
 Any person owning, operating or maintaining a new or existing 
material storage, handling or hauling operation shall prevent, to the 
maximum extent possible, material from being deposited onto any 
paved road other than a designated deposit site.  Any such person 
who deposits materials which may create fugitive dust on a public or 
private paved road shall clean the road promptly. 
 
R307-309-6.  Construction and Demolition Activities. 
 Any person engaging in clearing or leveling of land with an 
area of one-quarter acre or more, earthmoving, excavating, 
construction, demolition, or moving trucks or construction 

equipment over cleared land or access haul roads shall prevent, to 
the maximum extent possible, material from being deposited onto 
any paved road other than a designated deposit site.  Any such 
person who deposits materials which may create fugitive dust on a 
public or private paved road shall clean the road promptly. 
 
]R307-309-7.  Roads. 
 (1)  Any person responsible for construction or maintenance of 
any existing road or having right-of-way easement or possessing the 
right to use the same whose activities result in fugitive dust from the 
road shall minimize fugitive dust to the maximum extent possible.  
Any such person who deposits materials [which]that may create 
fugitive dust on a public or private paved road shall clean the road 
promptly. 
 (2)  Unpaved Roads.[ 
 (a)  When unpaved roads have an average daily traffic volume 
of less than 150 vehicle trips per day, averaged over a consecutive 5-
day period, fugitive dust shall be minimized to the maximum extent 
possible. 
 (b)  When unpaved roads have an average daily traffic volume 
of 150 vehicle trips per day or greater, averaged over a consecutive 5 
day period, control techniques shall be used which are equal to or 
better than 2-inch bituminous surface. 
 (c)]  Any person responsible for construction or maintenance of 
any new or existing unpaved road shall prevent, to the maximum 
extent possible, the deposit of material from the unpaved road onto 
any intersecting paved road during construction or maintenance.  
Any person who deposits materials [which]that may create fugitive 
dust on a public or private paved road shall clean the road promptly. 
 
R307-309-8.  Mining Activities. 
 (1)  Fugitive dust, construction activities, and roadways 
associated with mining activities are regulated under the provisions 
of R307-309-8 and not by R307-309-7 and 9. 
 (2)  Any person who owns or operates a mining operation shall 
minimize fugitive dust as an integral part of site preparation, mining 
activities, and reclamation operations. 
 (3)  The fugitive dust control measures to be used may include: 
 (a)  periodic watering of unpaved roads, 
 (b)  chemical stabilization of unpaved roads, 
 (c)  paving of roads, 
 (d)  prompt removal of coal, rock minerals, soil, and other dust-
forming debris from roads and frequent scraping and compaction of 
unpaved roads to stabilize the road surface, 
 (e)  restricting the speed of vehicles in and around the mining 
operation, 
 (f)  revegetating, mulching, or otherwise stabilizing the surface 
of all areas adjoining roads that are a source of fugitive dust, 
 (g)  restricting the travel of vehicles on other than established 
roads, 
 (h)  enclosing, covering, watering, or otherwise treating loaded 
haul trucks and railroad cars, to minimize loss of material to wind 
and spillage, 
 (i)  substitution of conveyor systems for haul trucks and 
covering of conveyor systems when conveyed loads are subject to 
wind erosion, 
 (j)  minimizing the area of disturbed land, 
 (k)  prompt revegetation of regraded lands, 
 (l)  planting of special windbreak vegetation at critical points in 
the permit area, 
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 (m)  control of dust from drilling, using water sprays, hoods, 
dust collectors or other controls approved by the executive secretary. 
 (n)  restricting the areas to be blasted at any one time, 
 (o)  reducing the period of time between initially disturbing the 
soil and revegetating or other surface stabilization, 
 (p)  restricting fugitive dust at spoil and coal transfer and 
loading points, 
 (q)  control of dust from storage piles through use of 
enclosures, covers, or stabilization and other equivalent methods or 
techniques as approved by the executive secretary,  or 
 (r)  other techniques as determined necessary by the executive 
secretary. 
 
R307-309-9.  Tailings Piles and Ponds. 
 (1)  Fugitive dust, construction activities, and roadways 
associated with tailings piles and ponds are regulated under the 
provisions of R307-309-9 and not by R307-309 7 and 8. 
 (2)  Any person owning or operating an existing tailings 
operation where fugitive dust results from grading, excavating, 
depositing, or natural erosion or other causes in association with 
such operation shall take steps to minimize fugitive dust from such 
activities.  Such controls may include: 
 (a)  watering, 
 (b)  chemical stabilization, 
 (c)  synthetic covers, 
 (d)  vegetative covers, 
 (e)  wind breaks, 
 (f)  minimizing the area of disturbed tailings, 
 (g)  restricting the speed of vehicles in and around the tailings 
operation, or 
 (h)  other equivalent methods or techniques which may be 
approvable by the executive secretary. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, dust[*], PM10 
[May 4, 1999]2005 
Notice of Continuation June 8, 2004 
19-2-101 
19-2-104 
19-2-109 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-310-5 
Transition Provision 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27766 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:20 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  This 
amendment to Rule R307-310 adds a new Section R307-310-
5 that removes the option to trade between the PM10 and 
NOx conformity budgets for Salt Lake County after the new 
conformity budget is approved.  The new conformity budget is 
part of the new PM10 Maintenance Plan (see separate filing in 
Section R307-110-10, in this issue).  (DAR NOTE:  The 

proposed amendment to Section R307-110-10 is under DAR 
No. 27768 in this issue.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Because the 1991 PM10 
SIP did not establish a conformity budget for Salt Lake 
County, Rule R307-310 was written in 2002.  Rule R307-310 
also provides a mechanism to trade PM10 for NOx to 
demonstrate that the Salt Lake County transportation plan 
conforms to PM10 SIP.  The new maintenance plan (see 
separate filing in Section R307-110-10 in this issue) contains 
conformity budgets for Salt Lake County.  These new 
conformity budgets use the latest transportation and mobile 
emission models.  Because of improvements in the methods 
used to develop the proposed conformity budgets, it is no 
longer necessary to allow trading between the PM10 and NOx 
budgets.  Further, the technical analysis for the proposed 
maintenance plan does not provide the information needed to 
establish a trading ratio between pollutants.  As a result of 
these factors, new language was added to provide a 
mechanism to remove the trading option after a new 
conformity budget is approved. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 19-2-104 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  Because this revision does not create 
any new requirements, no costs or savings are expected to 
the state budget.  The conformity budget will now be part of 
the new PM10 maintenance plan (see Section R307-110-10). 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Because this revision does not create 
any new requirements, no costs or savings are expected for 
local government.  The conformity budget will now be part of 
the new PM10 maintenance plan. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no change in costs for 
individuals because trading between PM10 and NOx budgets 
is not needed to demonstrate conformity under the new PM10 
maintenance plan, and therefore transportation funding is not 
vulnerable. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There will be no 
change in costs for individuals because trading between 
PM10 and NOx budgets is not needed to demonstrate 
conformity under the new PM10 maintenance plan, and 
therefore transportation funding in not vulnerable. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Because this revision does not 
regulate any businesses, no fiscal impact is expected for 
businesses.  The conformity budget for Salt Lake County will 
now be located within the PM10 maintenance plan.  Dianne R. 
Nielson, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 27767 

 
28 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 1, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 7 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller or Mat E. Carlile at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4042 or 801-536-4136, by FAX at 801-536-4099 or 
801-536-0085, or by Internet E-mail at janmiller@utah.gov or 
MCARLILE@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-310.  Salt Lake County:  Trading of Emission Budgets for 
Transportation Conformity. 
R307-310-5.  Transition Provision. 
 R307-310, sections 1-4 will remain in effect until the day that 
EPA approves the conformity budget in the PM10 maintenance plan 
adopted by the board on June 1, 2005. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, transportation conformity, PM10 
[May 13, 2002]2005 
19-2-104 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Air Quality 

R307-421 
Permits:  PM10 Offset Requirements in 

Salt Lake County and Utah County 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(New Rule) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27767 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 16:21 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this new rule is to maintain the health standards for 
particulate pollution while allowing continued economic growth 
of sources of emissions.  The rule will apply to sources in Salt 
Lake and Utah Counties. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Presently, Rule R307-403 
requires a source in Salt Lake or Utah County to offset 
emissions of PM10, nitrogen oxides, and sulfur dioxide by 
decreasing emissions from another source within the 
nonattainment area.  These provisions have allowed new 

sources to come into the area without significantly increasing 
emissions overall.  After Salt Lake and Utah Counties are 
redesignated to attainment for PM10 (see separate filing on 
Section R307-110-10 in this issue), Rule R307-421 will 
continue the offset requirements, with the modification that the 
25 tons-per-year threshold that triggers the offset requirement 
will apply separately to sulfur dioxide and nitrogen oxides, 
instead of applying to the sum of PM10, sulfur dioxide and 
nitrogen oxides.  No offset requirement for PM10 will be 
required because new sources can calculate the effect of 
PM10 emissions through the modeling that will be required 
after redesignation.  This rule will not become part of the 
PM10 State Implementation Plan and will not be federally 
enforceable.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed amendment to 
Section R307-110-10 is under DAR No. 27768 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 19-2-101(1)(a), and Sections 19-2-104 and 
19-2-108 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There will be no change in cost for state 
government, as no new requirements are added. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There will be no change in cost for 
local governments, as no new requirements are added. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Costs for sources may decline slightly as 
the threshold for triggering the requirement to obtain offset will 
be 25 tons per year of sulfur dioxide or nitrogen oxides 
individually, instead of the current trigger of 25 tons per year 
of the three pollutants combined. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Costs for sources 
may decline slightly, as the threshold for triggering the 
requirement to obtain offset will be 25 tons per year of sulfur 
dioxide or nitrogen oxides individually, instead of the current 
trigger of 25 tons per year of the three pollutants combined. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This provision is similar to the 
provisions put in place in the early 1990s to maintain the 
ozone standard when the State of Utah sought redesignation 
to attainment for ozone.  It is expected that maintaining the 
offset provisions will allow continued economic growth while 
still protecting public health.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
AIR QUALITY 
150 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jan Miller or Mat E. Carlile at the above address, by phone at 
801-536-4042 or 801-536-4136, by FAX at 801-536-4099 or 
801-536-0085, or by Internet E-mail at janmiller@utah.gov or 
MCARLILE@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY ATTEND A PUBLIC HEARING REGARDING 
THIS RULE:  4/19/2005 at 10:00 AM, DEQ Bldg, 168 N 1950 W, 
Room 101, Salt Lake City, UT; 4/20/2005 at 1:30 PM, Utah 
County Administration Bldg, 100 E Center Street, Suite 2300, 
Provo, UT; and 4/21/2005 at 6:00 PM, Weber County Bldg, 
2380 Washington Blvd, Breakout Room, Ogden, UT. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  07/30/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  M. Cheryl Heying, Planning Branch Manager 
 
 
 
R307.  Environmental Quality, Air Quality. 
R307-421.  Permits:  PM10 Offset Requirements in Salt Lake 
County and Utah County. 
R307-421-1.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of R307-421 is to require emission reductions 
from existing sources to offset emission increases from new or 
modified sources of PM10 precursors in Salt Lake and Utah 
Counties.  The emission offset will minimize growth of PM10 
precursors to ensure that these areas will continue to maintain the 
PM10 and PM2.5 national ambient air quality standards. 
 
R307-421-2.  Applicability. 
 (1)  This rule applies to new or modified sources of sulfur 
dioxide or oxides of nitrogen that are located in or impact Salt Lake 
County or Utah County. 
 (2)  A new or modified source shall be considered to impact an 
area if the modeled impact is greater than 1.0 microgram/cubic 
meter for a one-year averaging period or 3.0 micrograms/cubic 
meter for a 24-hour averaging period for sulfur dioxide or nitrogen 
dioxide. 
 
R307-421-3.  Offset Requirements. 
 (1)  The owner or operator of any new source that has the 
potential to emit, or any modified source that would increase sulfur 
dioxide or oxides of nitrogen in an amount equal to or greater than 
the levels in (a) and (b) below shall obtain an enforceable emission 
offset as defined in (a) and (b) below. 
 (a)  For a total of 50 tons/year or greater, an emission offset of 
1.2:1 of the emission increase is required. 
 (b)  For a total of 25 tons/year or greater but less than 50 
tons/year, an emission offset of 1:1 of the emission increase is 
required. 
 
R307-421-4.  General Requirements. 
 (1)  All emission offsets shall meet the general requirements for 
calculating and banking emission offsets that are established in 
R307-403-4, R307-403-7 and R307-403-8. 
 (2)  Emission offsets shall be used only in the county where the 
credits are generated.  In the case of sources located outside of Salt 
Lake or Utah Counties, the offsets shall be generated in the county 
where the modeled impact in R307-421-2(2) occurs. 
 (3)  Emission offsets shall not be traded between pollutants. 
 

R307-421-5.  Transition Provision. 
 This rule will become effective in each county on the day that 
the EPA redesignates the county to attainment for PM10. The PM10 
nonattainment area offset provisions in R307-403 will continue to 
apply until the EPA redesignates each county to attainment for 
PM10. 
 
KEY:  air pollution, offset, PM10, PM2.5 
2005 
19-2-101(1)(a) 
19-2-104 
19-2-108 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control 

R313-12 
General Provisions 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27746 

FILED:  03/11/2005, 16:33 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for the change is to modify Utah's Radiation Control Rules to 
be compatible with the federal requirements found in 10 CFR 
20 and 10 CFR 35. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Correction of references to 
Title 19 and Title 63 are made.  Modifications and 
clarifications to definitions affected by changes to 10 CFR 35 
and 10 CFR 20 are made.  Major definition changes include 
"radiation safety officer," "public dose," and "shallow dose 
equivalent." 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-3-104 and 19-3-108 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  No additional regulatory requirements 
will need to be implemented by the state.  Therefore, the rule 
changes will not result in a cost or savings to the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The rule modification does not affect 
the local governments presently licensed under the rules 
under R313.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings for 
local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  No additional regulatory requirements will 
need to be implemented by affected persons due to the 
modifications and clarifications to the definitions.  Therefore, 
there will be no cost or savings. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  No additional 
regulatory requirements will need to be implemented by 
affected persons due to the modifications and clarifications to 
the definitions.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings. 
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COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change will have no 
fiscal impact on businesses.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
RADIATION CONTROL 
Room 212  
168 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Gwyn Galloway at the above address, by phone at 801-536-
4258, by FAX at 801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at 
ggalloway@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/13/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dane Finerfrock, Director 
 
 
 
R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control. 
R313-12.  General Provisions. 
R313-12-1.  Authority. 
 The rules set forth herein are adopted pursuant to the provisions of 
Subsections 19-3-104([3]4) and 19-3-104([6]8) and Section 63-38-3.2. 
 
R313-12-3.  Definitions. 
 As used in these rules, these terms shall have the definitions set 
forth below.  Additional definitions used only in a certain rule will 
be found in that rule. 
 "A1" means the maximum activity of special form radioactive 
material permitted in a Type A package. 
 "A2" means the maximum activity of radioactive material, 
other than special form radioactive material, low specific activity, 
and surface contaminated object material permitted in a Type A 
package.  These values are either listed in 10 CFR 71, Appendix A, 
which is incorporated by reference in Section R313-19-100 or may 
be derived in accordance with the procedures prescribed in 10 CFR 
71, Appendix A, which is incorporated by reference in Section 
R313-19-100. 
 "Absorbed dose" means the energy imparted by ionizing 
radiation per unit mass of irradiated material.  The units of absorbed 
dose are the gray (Gy) and the rad. 
 "Accelerator produced material" means a material made 
radioactive by a particle accelerator. 
 "Act" means Utah Radiation Control Act, Title 19, Chapter 3. 
 "Activity" means the rate of disintegration or transformation or 
decay of radioactive material.  The units of activity are the becquerel 
(Bq) and the curie (Ci). 
 "Adult" means an individual 18 or more years of age. 

 "Address of use" means the building or buildings that [is]are 
identified on the license and where radioactive material may be 
received, used or stored. 
 "Advanced practice registered nurse" means an individual 
licensed by this state to engage in the practice of advanced practice 
registered nursing.  See Sections 58-31b-101 through 58-31b-801, 
Nurse Practice Act. 
 "Agreement State" means a state with which the United States 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission or the Atomic Energy Commission 
has entered into an effective agreement under Section 274 b. of the 
Atomic Energy Act of 1954, as amended (73 Stat. 689). 
 "Airborne radioactive material" means a radioactive material 
dispersed in the air in the form of dusts, fumes, particulates, mists, 
vapors, or gases. 
 "Airborne radioactivity area" means:  a room, enclosure, or area 
in which airborne radioactive material exists in concentrations: 
 (a)  In excess of the derived air concentrations (DACs), 
specified in Rule R313-15, or 
 (b)  To such a degree that an individual present in the area 
without respiratory protective equipment could exceed, during the 
hours an individual is present in a week, an intake of 0.6 percent of 
the annual limit on intake (ALI), or 12 DAC hours. 
 "As low as reasonably achievable" (ALARA) means making 
every reasonable effort to maintain exposures to radiation as far 
below the dose limits as is practical, consistent with the purpose for 
which the licensed or registered activity is undertaken, taking into 
account the state of technology, the economics of improvements in 
relation to state of technology, the economics of improvements in 
relation to benefits to the public health and safety, and other societal 
and socioeconomic considerations, and in relation to utilization of 
nuclear energy and licensed or registered sources of radiation in the 
public interest. 
 "Area of use" means a portion of an address of use that has 
been set aside for the purpose of receiving, using, or storing 
radioactive material. 
 "Background radiation" means radiation from cosmic sources; 
naturally occurring radioactive materials, including radon, except as 
a decay product of source or special nuclear material, and including 
global fallout as it exists in the environment from the testing of 
nuclear explosive devices or from past nuclear accidents such as 
Chernobyl that contribute to background radiation and are not under 
the control of the licensee.  "Background radiation" does not include 
sources of radiation from radioactive materials regulated by the 
Department under the Radiation Control Act or Rules. 
 "Becquerel" (Bq) means the SI unit of activity.  One becquerel 
is equal to one disintegration or transformation per second. 
 "Bioassay" means the determination of kinds, quantities or 
concentrations, and in some cases, the locations of radioactive 
material in the human body, whether by direct measurement, in vivo 
counting, or by analysis and evaluation of materials excreted or 
removed from the human body.  For purposes of these rules, 
"radiobioassay" is an equivalent term. 
 "Board" means the Radiation Control Board created under 
Section 19-1-106. 
 "Byproduct material" means: 
 (a)  a radioactive material, with the exception of special nuclear 
material, yielded in or made radioactive by exposure to the radiation 
incident to the process of producing or utilizing special nuclear 
material; and 
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 (b)  the tailings or wastes produced by the extraction or 
concentration of uranium or thorium from any ore processed 
primarily for its source material content, including discrete surface 
wastes resulting from uranium or thorium solution extraction 
processes.  Underground ore bodies depleted by these solution 
extraction operations do not constitute "byproduct material" within 
this definition. 
 "Calendar quarter" means not less than 12 consecutive weeks 
nor more than 14 consecutive weeks.  The first calendar quarter of 
the year shall begin in January, and subsequent calendar quarters 
shall be arranged so that no day is included in more than one 
calendar quarter and no day in any one year is omitted from 
inclusion within a calendar quarter.  The method observed by the 
licensee or registrant for determining calendar quarters shall only be 
changed at the beginning of a year. 
 "Calibration" means the determination of: 
 (a)  the response or reading of an instrument relative to a series 
of known radiation values over the range of the instrument; or 
 (b)  the strength of a source of radiation relative to a standard. 
 "CFR" means Code of Federal Regulations. 
 "Chelating agent" means a chemical ligand that can form 
coordination compounds in which the ligand occupies more than one 
coordination position.  The agents include beta diketones, certain 
proteins, amine polycarboxylic acids, hydroxycarboxylic acids, 
gluconic acid, and polycarboxylic acids. 
 "Chiropractor" means an individual licensed by this state to 
engage in the practice of chiropractic.  See Sections 58-73-101 
through 58-73-701, Chiropractic Physician Practice Act. 
 "Collective dose" means the sum of the individual doses 
received in a given period of time by a specified population from 
exposure to a specified source of radiation. 
 "Commission" means the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission. 
 "Committed dose equivalent" (HT,50), means the dose 
equivalent to organs or tissues of reference (T), that will be received 
from an intake of radioactive material by an individual during the 
50-year period following the intake. 
 "Committed effective dose equivalent" (HE,50), is the sum of 
the products of the weighting factors applicable to each of the body 
organs or tissues that are irradiated and the committed dose 
equivalent to each of these organs or tissues. 
 "Controlled area" means an area, outside of a restricted area but 
inside the site boundary, access to which can be limited by the 
licensee or registrant for any reason. 
 "Critical group" means the group of individuals reasonably 
expected to receive the greatest exposure to residual radioactivity for 
any applicable set of circumstances. 
 "Curie" means a unit of measurement of activity. One curie (Ci) 
is that quantity of radioactive material which decays at the rate of 
3.7 x 1010 disintegrations or transformations per second (dps or tps). 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
 "Occupational dose" means the dose received by an individual 
in the course of employment in which the individual's assigned 
duties for the licensee or registrant involve exposure to sources of 
radiation, whether or not the sources of radiation are in the 
possession of the licensee, registrant, or other person.  Occupational 
dose does not include doses received from background radiation, 
from any medical administration the individual has received, from 
 

exposure to individuals administered radioactive material and 
released in accordance with [Section R313-32-75,]Rule R313-32, 
from voluntary participation in medical research programs, or as a 
member of the public. 
 "Package" means the packaging together with its radioactive 
contents as presented for transport. 
 "Particle accelerator" means a machine capable of accelerating 
electrons, protons, deuterons, or other charged particles in a vacuum 
and of discharging the resultant particulate or other radiation into a 
medium at energies usually in excess of one MeV. 
 "Permit" means a permit issued by the Executive Secretary in 
accordance with the rules adopted by the Board. 
 "Permitee" means a person who is permitted by the Department 
in accordance with these rules and the Act. 
 "Person" means an individual, corporation, partnership, firm, 
association, trust, estate, public or private institution, group, agency, 
political subdivision of this state, or another state or political 
subdivision or agency thereof, and a legal successor, representative, 
agent or agency of the foregoing. 
 "Personnel monitoring equipment," see individual monitoring 
devices. 
 "Pharmacist" means an individual licensed by this state to 
engage in the practice of pharmacy.  See Sections 58-17a-101 
through 58-17a-801, Pharmacy Practice Act. 
 "Physician" means both physicians and surgeons licensed under 
Section 58-67-301, Utah Medical Practice Act, and osteopathic 
physicians and surgeons licensed under Section 58-68-301, Utah 
Osteopathic Medical Practice Act. 
 "Physician assistant" means an individual licensed by this state 
to engage in practice as a physician assistant.  See Sections 58-70a-
101 through 58-70a-504, Physician Assistant Act. 
 "Podiatrist" means an individual licensed by this state to engage 
in the practice of podiatry.  See Sections 58-5a-101 through 58-5a-
501, Podiatric Physician Licensing Act. 
 "Practitioner" means an individual licensed by this state in the 
practice of a healing art.  For these rules, only the following are 
considered to be a practitioner: physician, dentist, podiatrist, 
chiropractor, physician assistant, and advanced practice registered 
nurse. 
 "Protective apron" means an apron made of radiation-
attenuating materials used to reduce exposure to radiation. 
 "Public dose" means the dose received by a member of the 
public from [sources of]exposure to radiation [from licensed or 
registered operations]or to radioactive materials released by a 
licensee,or to any other source of radiation under the control of a 
licensee or registrant. Public dose does not include occupational 
dose or doses received from background radiation, from any medical 
administration the individual has received, from exposure to 
individuals administered radioactive material and released in 
accordance with [Section R313-32-75]Rule R313-32, or from 
voluntary participation in medical research programs. 
 "Pyrophoric material" means any liquid that ignites 
spontaneously in dry or moist air at or below 130 degrees Fahrenheit 
(54.4 degrees Celsius) or any solid material, other than one classed 
as an explosive, which under normal conditions is liable to cause 
fires through friction, retained heat from manufacturing or 
processing, or which can be ignited and, when ignited, burns so 
vigorously and persistently as to create a serious transportation, 
handling, or disposal hazard.  Included are spontaneously 
combustible and water-reactive materials. 
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 "Quality factor" (Q) means the modifying factor, listed in 
Tables 1 and 2 of Section R313-12-20 that is used to derive dose 
equivalent from absorbed dose. 
 "Rad" means the special unit of absorbed dose.  One rad is 
equal to an absorbed dose of 100 erg per gram or 0.01 joule per 
kilogram 
 "Radiation" means alpha particles, beta particles, gamma rays, 
x-rays, neutrons, high speed electrons, high speed protons, and other 
particles capable of producing ions.  For purposes of these rules, 
ionizing radiation is an equivalent term.  Radiation, as used in these 
rules, does not include non-ionizing radiation, like radiowaves or 
microwaves, visible, infrared, or ultraviolet light. 
 "Radiation area" means an area, accessible to individuals, in 
which radiation levels could result in an individual receiving a dose 
equivalent in excess of 0.05 mSv (0.005 rem), in one hour at 30 
centimeters from the source of radiation or from a surface that the 
radiation penetrates. 
 "Radiation machine" means a device capable of producing 
radiation except those devices with radioactive material as the only 
source of radiation. 
 "Radiation safety officer" means an individual who has the 
knowledge and responsibility to apply appropriate radiation 
protection rules and has been assigned such responsibility by the 
licensee or registrant.  For a licensee authorized to use radioactive 
materials in accordance with the requirements of Rule R313-32, 
 (1)  the individual named as the "Radiation Safety Officer" 
must meet the training requirements for a Radiation Safety Officer 
as stated in Rule R313-32; or 
 (2)  the individual must be identified as a "Radiation Safety 
Officer" on 
 (a)  a specific license issued by the Executive Secretary, the 
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, or an Agreement State that 
authorizes the medical use of radioactive materials; or 
 (b)  a medical use permit issued by a U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission master material licensee. 
 "Radiation source".  See "Source of radiation." 
 "Radioactive material" means a solid, liquid, or gas which 
emits radiation spontaneously. 
 "Radioactivity" means the transformation of unstable atomic 
nuclei by the emission of radiation. 
 "Radiobioassay".  See "Bioassay". 
 "Registrant" means any person who is registered with respect to 
radioactive materials or radiation machines with the Executive 
Secretary or is legally obligated to register with the Executive 
Secretary pursuant to these rules and the Act. 
 "Registration" means registration with the Department in 
accordance with the rules adopted by the Board. 
 "Regulations of the U.S. Department of Transportation" means 
49 CFR 100 through 189. 
 "Rem" means the special unit of any of the quantities expressed 
as dose equivalent.  The dose equivalent in rem is equal to the 
absorbed dose in rad multiplied by the quality factor.  One rem 
equals 0.01 sievert (Sv). 
 "Research and development" means: 
 (a) theoretical analysis, exploration, or experimentation; or 
 (b) the extension of investigative findings and theories of a 
scientific or technical nature into practical application for 
experimental and demonstration purposes, including the 
experimental production and testing of models, devices, equipment, 
materials, and processes.  Research and development does not 

include the internal or external administration of radiation or 
radioactive material to human beings. 
 "Residual radioactivity" means radioactivity in structures, 
materials, soils, groundwater, and other media at a site resulting 
from activities under the licensee's control.  This includes 
radioactivity from all licensed and unlicensed sources used by the 
licensee, but excludes background radiation.  It also includes 
radioactive materials remaining at the site as a result of routine or 
accidental releases of radioactive material at the site and previous 
burials at the site, even if those burials were made in accordance 
with the provisions of Rule R313-15. 
 "Restricted area" means an area, access to which is limited by 
the licensee or registrant for the purpose of protecting individuals 
against undue risks from exposure to sources of radiation.  A 
"Restricted area" does not include areas used as residential quarters, 
but separate rooms in a residential building may be set apart as a 
restricted area. 
 "Roentgen" (R) means the special unit of EXPOSURE.  One 
roentgen equals 2.58 x 10-4 coulombs per kilogram of air.  See 
EXPOSURE. 
 "Sealed source" means radioactive material that is permanently 
bonded or fixed in a capsule or matrix designed to prevent release 
and dispersal of the radioactive material under the most severe 
conditions which are likely to be encountered in normal use and 
handling. 
 "Shallow dose equivalent" (Hs) which applies to the external 
exposure of the skin of the whole body or the skin of an extremity, 
[means]is taken as the dose equivalent at a tissue depth of 0.007 
centimeter (seven mg per cm2)[, averaged over an area of one 
square centimeter]. 
 "SI" means an abbreviation of the International System of 
Units. 
 "Sievert" (Sv) means the SI unit of any of the quantities 
expressed as dose equivalent.  The dose equivalent in sievert is equal 
to the absorbed dose in gray multiplied by the quality factor.  One 
Sv equals 100 rem. 
 "Site boundary" means that line beyond which the land or 
property is not owned, leased, or otherwise controlled by the 
licensee or registrant. 
 "Source container" means a device in which sealed sources are 
transported or stored. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
R313-12-52.  Inspections. 
 (1)  A licensee or registrant shall afford representatives of the 
Executive Secretary, at reasonable times, opportunity to inspect sources 
of radiation and the premises and facilities wherein those sources of 
radiation are used or stored. 
 (2)  A licensee or registrant shall make available to representatives 
of the Executive Secretary for inspection, [upon reasonable notice]at 
any reasonable time, records maintained pursuant to these rules. 
 
KEY:  definitions, units, inspections, exemptions 
[March 14, 2003]2005 
Notice of Continuation July 23, 2001 
19-3-104 
19-3-108 
 
▼ ▼ 
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Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control 

R313-15 
Standards for Protection Against 

Radiation 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27744 
FILED:  03/11/2005, 16:32 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for this change is to modify Utah's Radiation Control Rules to 
be compatible with Federal requirements found in 10 CFR 20 
and 10 CFR 35. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule change clarifies 
how deep dose equivalents and shallow dose equivalents are 
measured and determined.  In addition, the changes allow 
medical facilities to let visitors receive radiation exposures 
higher than the limits set in Section R313-15-502 if certain 
criteria have been met. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-3-104 and 19-3-108 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  No additional regulatory requirements 
will need to be implemented by the state.  Therefore, the rule 
changes will not result in a cost or savings to the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The rule modification does not affect 
the local governments presently licensed under the rules 
under R313.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings for 
local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  No additional regulatory requirements will 
need to be implemented by affected persons due to the rule 
changes.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings for 
affected persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  No additional 
regulatory requirements will need to be implemented by 
affected persons due to the rule changes.  Therefore, there 
will be no cost or savings for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change will have no 
fiscal impact on businesses.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
RADIATION CONTROL 
Room 212  
168 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Gwyn Galloway at the above address, by phone at 801-536-
4258, by FAX at 801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at 
ggalloway@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/13/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dane Finerfrock, Director 
 
 
 
R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control. 
R313-15.  Standards for Protection Against Radiation. 
R313-15-1.  Purpose, Authority and Scope. 
 (1)  Rule R313-15 establishes standards for protection against 
ionizing radiation resulting from activities conducted pursuant to 
licenses issued by the Executive Secretary.  These rules are issued 
pursuant to Subs[S]ections 19-3-104([3]4) and 19-3-104([6]8). 
 (2)  The requirements of Rule R313-15 are designed to control the 
receipt, possession, use, transfer, and disposal of sources of radiation by 
any licensee or registrant so the total dose to an individual, including 
doses resulting from all sources of radiation other than background 
radiation, does not exceed the standards for protection against radiation 
prescribed in Rule R313-15.  However, nothing in Rule R313-15 shall 
be construed as limiting actions that may be necessary to protect health 
and safety. 
 (3)  Except as specifically provided in other sections of these 
rules, Rule R313-15 applies to persons licensed or registered by the 
Executive Secretary to receive, possess, use, transfer, or dispose of 
sources of radiation.  The limits in Rule R313-15 do not apply to doses 
due to background radiation, to exposure of patients to radiation for the 
purpose of medical diagnosis or therapy, to exposure from individuals 
administered radioactive material and released in accordance with 
[Section R313-32-75]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.75 by 
reference), or to exposure from voluntary participation in medical 
research programs. 
 
R313-15-201.  Occupational Dose Limits for Adults. 
 (1)  The licensee or registrant shall control the occupational dose 
to individual adults, except for planned special exposures pursuant to 
Section R313-15-206, to the following dose limits: 
 (a)  An annual limit, which is the more limiting of: 
 (i)  The total effective dose equivalent being equal to 0.05 Sv (5 
rem); or 
 (ii)  The sum of the deep dose equivalent and the committed dose 
equivalent to any individual organ or tissue other than the lens of the 
eye being equal to 0.50 Sv (50 rem). 
 (b)  The annual limits to the lens of the eye, to the skin of the 
whole body, and to the skin of the extremities which are: 
 (i)  A lens dose equivalent of 0.15 Sv (15 rem), and 
 (ii)  A shallow dose equivalent of 0.50 Sv (50 rem) to the skin of 
the whole body or to the skin of any extremity. 
 (2)  Doses received in excess of the annual limits, including doses 
received during accidents, emergencies, and planned special exposures, 
shall be subtracted from the limits for planned special exposures that 
the individual may receive during the current year and during the 
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individual's lifetime. See Subsections R313-15-206(5)(a) and R313-15-
206(5)(b). 
 (3)  The assigned deep dose equivalent must be for the part of the 
body receiving the highest exposure.  [and]The assigned shallow dose 
equivalent [shall be for the part of the body]must be the dose averaged 
over the contiguous ten square centimeters of skin receiving the highest 
exposure. 
 (a)  The deep dose equivalent, lens dose equivalent and shallow 
dose equivalent may be assessed from surveys or other radiation 
measurements for the purpose of demonstrating compliance with the 
occupational dose limits, if the individual monitoring device was not in 
the region of highest potential exposure, or the results of individual 
monitoring are unavailable; or 
 (b)  When a protective apron is worn while working with medical 
fluoroscopic equipment and monitoring is conducted as specified in 
Subsection R313-15-502(1)(d), the effective dose equivalent for 
external radiation shall be determined as follows: 
 (i)  When only one individual monitoring device is used and it is 
located at the neck outside the protective apron, and the reported dose 
exceeds 25 percent of the limit specified in Subsection R313-15-
201(1), the reported deep dose equivalent value multiplied by 0.3 shall 
be the effective dose equivalent for external radiation; or 
 (ii)  When individual monitoring devices are worn, both under the 
protective apron at the waist and outside the protective apron at the 
neck, the effective dose equivalent for external radiation shall be 
assigned the value of the sum of the deep dose equivalent reported for 
the individual monitoring device located at the waist under the 
protective apron multiplied by 1.5 and the deep dose equivalent 
reported for the individual monitoring device located at the neck 
outside the protective apron multiplied by 0.04. 
 (4)  Derived air concentration (DAC) and annual limit on intake 
(ALI) values are specified in Table I of Appendix B of 10 CFR 20.1001 
to 20.2402, 2001 ed., which is incorporated by reference, and may be 
used to determine the individual's dose and to demonstrate compliance 
with the occupational dose limits.  See Section R313-15-1107. 
 (5)  Notwithstanding the annual dose limits, the licensee shall 
limit the soluble uranium intake by an individual to ten milligrams in a 
week in consideration of chemical toxicity. See footnote 3, of 
Appendix B of 10 CFR 20.1001 to 20.2402, 2001 ed., which is 
incorporated by reference. 
 (6)  The licensee or registrant shall reduce the dose that an 
individual may be allowed to receive in the current year by the amount 
of occupational dose received while employed by any other person. See 
Subsection R313-15-205(5). 
 
R313-15-301.  Dose Limits for Individual Members of the Public. 
 (1)  Each licensee or registrant shall conduct operations so that: 
 (a)  [Except as provided in Subsection R313-15-301(1)(c), t]The 
total effective dose equivalent to individual members of the public from 
the licensed or registered operation does not exceed one mSv (0.1 rem) 
in a year, exclusive of the dose contributions from background 
radiation, from any medical administration the individual has received, 
from exposure to individuals administered radioactive material and 
released[ in accordance with Section R313-32-75], under Rule R313-32 
(incorporating 10 CFR 35.75 by reference), from voluntary 
participation in medical research programs, and from the licensee's or 
registrant's disposal of radioactive material into sanitary sewerage in 
accordance with Section R313-15-1003; and 
 (b)  The dose in any unrestricted area from external sources, 
exclusive of the dose contributions from patients administered 
radioactive material and released in accordance with [Section R313-32-

75]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.75 by reference), does not 
exceed 0.02 mSv (0.002 rem) in any one hour; and 
 (c)  Notwithstanding Subsection R313-15-301(1)(a), a licensee 
may permit visitors to an individual who cannot be released, under 
R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.75 by reference), to receive a 
radiation dose greater than one mSv (0.1 rem) if: 
 (i)  The radiation dose received does not exceed five mSv (0.5 
rem); and 
 (ii)  The authorized user, as defined in R313-32, has determined 
before the visit that it is appropriate.; and 
 [(c)](d)  The total effective dose equivalent to individual members 
of the public from infrequent exposure to radiation from radiation 
machines does not exceed 5 mSv (0.5 rem) in a year. 
 (2)  If the licensee or registrant permits members of the public to 
have access to controlled areas, the limits for members of the public 
continue to apply to those individuals. 
 (3)  A licensee, registrant, or an applicant for a license or 
registration may apply for prior Executive Secretary authorization to 
operate up to an annual dose limit for an individual member of the 
public of five mSv (0.5 rem).  This application shall include the 
following information: 
 (a)  Demonstration of the need for and the expected duration of 
operations in excess of the limit in Subsection R313-15-301(1); and 
 (b)  The licensee's or registrant's program to assess and control 
dose within the five mSv (0.5 rem) annual limit; and 
 (c)  The procedures to be followed to maintain the dose ALARA. 
 (4)  In addition to the requirements of R313-15, a licensee subject 
to the provisions of the United States Environmental Protection 
Agency's generally applicable environmental radiation standards in 40 
CFR 190 shall comply with those standards. 
 (5)  The Executive Secretary may impose additional restrictions 
on radiation levels in unrestricted areas and on the total quantity of 
radionuclides that a licensee or registrant may release in effluents in 
order to restrict the collective dose. 
 
KEY:  radioactive material, contamination, waste disposal, safety 
[August 8, 2003]2005 
Notice of Continuation January 14, 2003 
19-3-104 
19-3-108 
 
▼ ▼ 
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RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for this change is to modify Utah's Radiation Control Rules to 
be compatible with the federal requirements found in 10 CFR 
30.34(g). 
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SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Corrections to references to 
Title 19 are made.  In addition, the rule change requires 
regulated persons to perform a test for molybdenum 
contamination on particular radiopharmaceuticals that they 
produce. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-3-104 and 19-3-108 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  No additional regulatory requirements 
will need to be implemented by the state.  Therefore, the rule 
changes will not result in a cost or savings to the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The rule modification does not affect 
the local governments presently licensed under the rules 
under R313.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings for 
local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Since the affected persons are presently 
performing this test, no additional regulatory requirements will 
need to be implemented by affected persons due to the rule 
changes.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings for 
affected persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Since the affected 
persons are presently performing this test, no additional 
regulatory requirements will need to be implemented by 
affected persons due to the rule changes.  Therefore, there 
will be no cost or savings for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change will have no 
fiscal impact on businesses.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
RADIATION CONTROL 
Room 212  
168 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Gwyn Galloway at the above address, by phone at 801-536-
4258, by FAX at 801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at 
ggalloway@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/13/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dane Finerfrock, Director 
 
 
 

R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control. 
R313-19.  Requirements of General Applicability to Licensing of 
Radioactive Material. 
R313-19-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to prescribe requirements 
governing the licensing of radioactive material.  This rule also gives 
notice to all persons who knowingly provide to any licensee, applicant, 
certificate of registration holder, contractor, or subcontractor, 
components, equipment, materials, or other goods or services, that 
relate to a licensee's, applicant's or certificate of registration holder's 
activities subject to these rules, that they may be individually subject to 
Executive Secretary enforcement action for violation of Section R313-
19-5. 
 (2)  The rules set forth herein are adopted pursuant to the 
provisions of Subs[S]ections 19-3-104([3]4) and 19-3-104([6]8). 
 
R313-19-34.  Terms and Conditions of Licenses. 
 (1)  Licenses issued pursuant to Rule R313-19 shall be subject to 
provisions of the Act, now or hereafter in effect, and to all rules, and 
orders of the Executive Secretary. 
 (2)  Licenses issued or granted under Rules R313-21 and R313-22 
and rights to possess or utilize radioactive material granted by a license 
issued pursuant to Rules R313-21 and R313-22 shall not be transferred, 
assigned, or in any manner disposed of, either voluntarily or 
involuntarily, directly or indirectly, through transfer of control of a 
license to a person unless the Executive Secretary shall, after securing 
full information find that the transfer is in accordance with the 
provisions of the Act now or hereafter in effect, and to all rules, and 
orders of the Executive Secretary, and shall give his consent in writing. 
 (3)  Persons licensed by the Executive Secretary pursuant to Rules 
R313-21 and R313-22 shall confine use and possession of the material 
licensed to the locations and purposes authorized in the license. 
 (4)  Licensees shall notify the Executive Secretary in writing and 
request termination of the license when the licensee decides to 
terminate activities involving materials authorized under the license. 
 (5)  Licensees shall notify the Executive Secretary in writing 
immediately following the filing of a voluntary or involuntary petition 
for bankruptcy under any Chapter of Title 11, Bankruptcy, of the 
United States Code by or against: 
 (a)  the licensee; 
 (b)  an entity, as that term is defined in 11 U.S.C.101(14), 
controlling the licensee or listing the license or licensee as property of 
the estate; or 
 (c)  an affiliate, as that term is defined in 11 U.S.C.101(2), of the 
licensee. 
 (6)  The notification specified in Subsection R313-19-34(5) shall 
indicate: 
 (a)  the bankruptcy court in which the petition for bankruptcy was 
filed; and 
 (b)  the date of the filing of the petition. 
 (7)  Licensees required to submit emergency plans pursuant to 
Subsection R313-22-32(8) shall follow the emergency plan approved 
by the Executive Secretary.  The licensee may change the approved 
plan without the Executive Secretary's approval only if the changes do 
not decrease the effectiveness of the plan.  The licensee shall furnish 
the change to the Executive Secretary and to affected off-site response 
organizations within six months after the change is made.  Proposed 
changes that decrease, or potentially decrease, the effectiveness of the 
approved emergency plan may not be implemented without prior 
application to and prior approval by the Executive Secretary. 
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 (8)  Each licensee preparing technetium-99m 
radiopharmaceuticals from molybdenum-99/technetium-99m 
generators shall test the generator eluates for molybdenum-99 
breakthrough in accordance with Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 
35.204 by reference).  The licensee shall record the results of each test 
and retain each record for three years after the record is made. 
 
KEY:  license, reciprocity, transportation, exemptions 
[December 12, 2003]2005 
Notice of Continuation October 10, 2001 
19-3-104 
19-3-108 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control 

R313-22 
Specific Licenses 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27747 

FILED:  03/11/2005, 16:33 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for this change is to modify Utah's Radiation Control Rules to 
be compatible with the federal requirements found in 10 CFR 
32. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule change modifies 
references to Rule R313-32 which is being modified in its 
entirety.  Specifically, it corrects references to the training and 
experience criteria for persons preparing radioactive drugs for 
medical use and corrects references to specific medical uses. 
 (DAR NOTE:  The proposed amendment to Rule R313-32 is 
under DAR No. 27748 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-3-104 and 19-3-108 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  10 CFR 35 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  No additional regulatory requirements 
will need to be implemented by the state.  Therefore, the rule 
changes will not result in a cost or savings to the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The rule modification does not affect 
the local governments presently licensed under the rules 
under R313.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings for 
local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  No additional regulatory requirements will 
need to be implemented by affected persons due to the rule 
changes.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings for 
affected persons. 
 

COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  No additional 
regulatory requirements will need to be implemented by 
affected persons due to the rule changes.  Therefore, there 
will be no cost or savings for affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  This rule change will have no 
fiscal impact on businesses.  Dianne R. Nielson, Executive 
Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
RADIATION CONTROL 
Room 212  
168 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Gwyn Galloway at the above address, by phone at 801-536-
4258, by FAX at 801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at 
ggalloway@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/13/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dane Finerfrock, Director 
 
 
 
R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control. 
R313-22.  Specific Licenses. 
R313-22-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to prescribe the requirements for 
the issuance of specific licenses. 
 (2)  The rules set forth herein are adopted pursuant to the 
provisions of Subsections 19-3-104([3]4) and 19-3-104([6]8). 
 
R313-22-75.  Special Requirements for a Specific License to 
Manufacture, Assemble, Repair, or Distribute Commodities, 
Products, or Devices Which Contain Radioactive Material. 
 (1)  Licensing the introduction of radioactive material into 
products in exempt concentrations. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
 (9)  Manufacture and distribution of radiopharmaceuticals 
containing radioactive material for medical use under group licenses. 
 (a)  An application for a specific license to manufacture and 
distribute radiopharmaceuticals containing radioactive material for use 
by persons licensed pursuant to Rule R313-32 will be approved if: 
 (i)  the applicant satisfies the general requirements specified in 
Section R313-22-33; 
 (ii)  the applicant submits evidence that the applicant is at least 
one of the following: 
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 (A)  registered or licensed with the U.S. Food and Drug 
Administration (FDA) as a drug manufacturer; 
 (B)  registered or licensed with a state agency as a drug 
manufacturer; 
 (C)  licensed as a pharmacy by a State Board of Pharmacy; or 
 (D)  operating as a nuclear pharmacy within a medical institution. 
 (iii)  the applicant submits information on the radionuclide; the 
chemical and physical form; the maximum activity per vial, syringe, 
generator, or other container of the radioactive drug; and the shielding 
provided by the packaging to show it is appropriate for the safe 
handling and storage of the radioactive drugs by medical use licensees; 
and 
 (iv)  the applicant satisfies the following labeling requirements: 
 (A)  A label is affixed to each transport radiation shield, whether it 
is constructed of lead, glass, plastic, or other material, of a radioactive 
drug to be transferred for commercial distribution.  The label must 
include the radiation symbol and the words "CAUTION, 
RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL" or "DANGER, RADIOACTIVE 
MATERIAL"; the name of the radioactive drug or its abbreviation; and 
the quantity of radioactivity at a specified date and time.  For 
radioactive drugs with a half life greater than 100 days, the time may be 
omitted. 
 (B)  A label is affixed to each syringe, vial, or other container used 
to hold a radioactive drug to be transferred for commercial distribution. 
 The label must include the radiation symbol and the words 
"CAUTION, RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL" or "DANGER, 
RADIOACTIVE MATERIAL" and an identifier that ensures that the 
syringe, vial, or other container can be correlated with the information 
on the transport radiation shield label. 
 (b)  A licensee described by Subsections R313-22-75(9)(a)(ii)(C) 
or (D): 
 (i)  May prepare radioactive drugs for medical use, as defined in 
[Section R313-32-2]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.2 by 
reference), provided that the radioactive drug is prepared by either an 
authorized nuclear pharmacist, as specified in Subsections R313-22-
75(9)(b)(ii) and [(iii)](iv), or an individual under the supervision of an 
authorized nuclear pharmacist as specified in [Section R313-32-
25]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.27 by reference). 
 (ii)  May allow a pharmacist to work as an authorized nuclear 
pharmacist if: 
 (A)  this individual qualifies as an authorized nuclear pharmacist 
as defined in [Section R313-32-2]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 
35.2 by reference); 
 (B)  this individual meets the requirements specified in 
[Subsection R313-32-980(2) and Section R313-32-972]Rule R313-32 
(incorporating 10 CFR 35.55(b) and 10 CFR 35.59 by reference) and 
the licensee has received an approved license amendment identifying 
this individual as an authorized nuclear pharmacist; or 
 (C)  this individual is designated as an authorized nuclear 
pharmacist in accordance with Subsection R313-22-75(9)(b)[(iii)](iv). 
 (iii)  The actions authorized in Subsections R313-22-75(9)(b)(i) 
and (ii) are permitted in spite of more restrictive language in license 
conditions. 
 (iv)  May designate a pharmacist, as defined in [Section R313-32-
2]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.2 by reference), as an 
authorized nuclear pharmacist if the individual is identified as of 
January 1, 1997 as an "authorized user" on a nuclear pharmacy license 
issued by the Executive Secretary under Subsection R313-22-75(9). 
 (v)  Shall provide to the Executive Secretary a copy of each 
individual's certification by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties, 
the  Nuclear Regulatory Commission or Agreement State license, or the 

permit issued by a licensee of broad scope, and a copy of the state 
pharmacy licensure or registration, no later than 30 days after the date 
that the licensee allows, pursuant to Subsections R313-22-
75(9)(b)(ii)(A) and (B), the individual to work as an authorized nuclear 
pharmacist. 
 (c)  A licensee shall possess and use instrumentation to measure 
the radioactivity of radioactive drugs.  The licensee shall have 
procedures for use of the instrumentation.  The licensee shall measure, 
by direct measurement or by combination of measurements and 
calculations, the amount of radioactivity in dosages of alpha-, beta-, or 
photon-emitting radioactive drugs prior to transfer for commercial 
distribution.  In addition, the licensee shall: 
 (i)  perform tests before initial use, periodically, and following 
repair, on each instrument for accuracy, linearity, and geometry 
dependence, as appropriate for the use of the instrument; and make 
adjustments when necessary; and 
 (ii)  check each instrument for constancy and proper operation at 
the beginning of each day of use. 
 (d)  Nothing in Subsection R313-22-75(9) relieves the licensee 
from complying with applicable FDA, or Federal, and State 
requirements governing radioactive drugs. 
 (10)  Manufacture and distribution of sources or devices 
containing radioactive material for medical use.  An application for a 
specific license to manufacture and distribute sources and devices 
containing radioactive material to persons licensed pursuant to [Section 
R313-32-18]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.18) for use as a 
calibration or reference source or for the uses listed in [Sections R313-
32-400 and R313-32-500]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.400, 
10 CFR 35.500, and 10 CFR 35.600 by reference) will be approved if: 
 (a)  the applicant satisfies the general requirements in Section 
R313-22-33; 
 (b)  the applicant submits sufficient information regarding each 
type of source or device pertinent to an evaluation of its radiation 
safety, including: 
 (i)  the radioactive material contained, its chemical and physical 
form and amount, 
 (ii)  details of design and construction of the source or device, 
 (iii)  procedures for, and results of, prototype tests to demonstrate 
that the source or device will maintain its integrity under stresses likely 
to be encountered in normal use and accidents, 
 (iv)  for devices containing radioactive material, the radiation 
profile of a prototype device, 
 (v)  details of quality control procedures to assure that production 
sources and devices meet the standards of the design and prototype 
tests, 
 (vi)  procedures and standards for calibrating sources and devices, 
 (vii)  legend and methods for labeling sources and devices as to 
their radioactive content, and 
 (viii)  instructions for handling and storing the source or device 
from the radiation safety standpoint, these instructions are to be 
included on a durable label attached to the source or device or attached 
to a permanent storage container for the source or device; provided that 
instructions which are too lengthy for a label may be summarized on 
the label and printed in detail on a brochure which is referenced on the 
label; 
 (c)  the label affixed to the source or device, or to the permanent 
storage container for the source or device, contains information on the 
radionuclide, quantity and date of assay, and a statement that the source 
or device is licensed by the Executive Secretary for distribution to 
persons licensed pursuant to [Sections R313-32-18, R313-32-400, and 
R313-32-500]Rule R313-32 (incorporating 10 CFR 35.18, 10 CFR 
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35.400, 10 CFR 35.500, and 10 CFR 35.600 by reference) or under 
equivalent regulations of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, an 
Agreement State or a Licensing State; provided that labeling for 
sources which do not require long term storage may be on a leaflet or 
brochure which accompanies the source; 
 (d)  in the event the applicant desires that the source or device be 
required to be tested for leakage of radioactive material at intervals 
longer than six months, the applicant shall include in the application 
sufficient information to demonstrate that a longer interval is justified 
by performance characteristics of the source or device or similar 
sources or devices and by design features that have a significant bearing 
on the probability or consequences of leakage of radioactive material 
from the source; and 
 (e)  in determining the acceptable interval for test of leakage of 
radioactive material, the Executive Secretary shall consider information 
that includes, but is not limited to: 
 (i)  primary containment or source capsule, 
 (ii)  protection of primary containment, 
 (iii)  method of sealing containment, 
 (iv)  containment construction materials, 
 (v)  form of contained radioactive material, 
 (vi)  maximum temperature withstood during prototype tests, 
 (vii)  maximum pressure withstood during prototype tests, 
 (viii)  maximum quantity of contained radioactive material, 
 (ix)  radiotoxicity of contained radioactive material, and 
 (x)  operating experience with identical sources or devices or 
similarly designed and constructed sources or devices. 
 

. . . . . . . 
 
KEY:  specific licenses, decommissioning, broad scope, radioactive 
materials 
[December 12, 2003]2005 
Notice of Continuation October 10, 2001 
19-3-104 
19-3-108 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control 

R313-32 
Medical Use of Radioactive Material 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27748 

FILED:  03/11/2005, 16:34 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The reason 
for this change is to modify Utah's Radiation Control Rules to 
be compatible with Federal requirements found in 10 CFR 35. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Corrections to references to 
Title 19 are made.  In general, the rule change allows 
regulated persons to have more flexibility in methods used to  
 
 

comply with the rule by replacing prescriptive requirements 
with risk informed, performance-based requirements.  In 
addition, the changes specifically include some medical 
modalities that have been previously regulated through the 
use of license conditions and include a mechanism to regulate 
new medical modalities as they emerge.  There is now a 
definition for authorized medical physicists and particular 
training and experience requirements for these individuals.  
The prescriptive requirements for a quality management 
program have been removed and replaced with certain 
essential requirements.  The rule change also modifies some 
requirements for calibration of instrumentation used to 
measure actual patient doses. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 19-3-104 and 19-3-108 
 
THIS RULE OR CHANGE INCORPORATES BY REFERENCE THE 
FOLLOWING MATERIAL:  10 CFR 35 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  With the adoption of risk informed, 
performance-based regulations, no additional regulatory 
requirements will need to be implemented by the state.   
Therefore, changes in the rules will not result in a cost or 
savings to the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The rule modification does not affect 
the local governments presently licensed under the rules 
under R313.  Therefore, there will be no cost or savings for 
local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Because the proposed changes allow 
affected persons more flexibility in methods used to attain 
compliance with the rule, overall costs or savings to most 
affected persons will depend on their business practices and 
are difficult to determine.  There are approximately six 
affected facilities that may incur additional costs due to 
requirements for calibration of instrumentation used to 
measure the radiation output of certain radiation sources used 
in medical therapies, but actual costs will be determined by 
the method each facility uses to be compliant. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Because the 
proposed changes allow affected persons more flexibility in 
methods used to attain compliance with the rules, overall 
costs or savings to most affected persons will depend on their 
business practices and are difficult to determine.  There are 
approximately six affected facilities that may incur additional 
costs due to requirements for calibration of instrumentation 
used to measure the radiation output of certain radiation 
sources used in medical therapies, but actual costs will be 
determined by the method each facility uses to be compliant. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Overall, the increased flexibility 
of the rules allows businesses to determine the most cost 
effective way to obtain compliance with requirements.  Actual 
costs or savings are dependant on the business practices 
used and therefore cannot be determined.  Dianne R. Nielson, 
Executive Director 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
RADIATION CONTROL 
Room 212  
168 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Gwyn Galloway at the above address, by phone at 801-536-
4258, by FAX at 801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at 
ggalloway@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/13/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dane Finerfrock, Director 
 
 
 
R313.  Environmental Quality, Radiation Control. 
R313-32.  Medical Use of Radioactive Material. 
R313-32-1.  Purpose and Authority. 
 (1)  The purpose of this rule is to prescribe requirements and 
provisions for the medical use of radioactive material and for 
issuance of specific licenses authorizing the medical use of this 
material. These requirements and provisions provide for the 
protection of the public health and safety. The requirements and 
provisions of Rule R313-32 are in addition to, and not in substitution 
for, other sections of Title R313. 
 (2)  The rules set forth herein are adopted pursuant to the 
provisions of Subsections 19-3-104(4) and 19-3-104(8). 
 
R313-32-2.  Clarifications or Exceptions. 
 For the purposes of Rule R313-32, 10 CFR 35.2 through 35.7; 
and 35.10 through 35.3067 (2004) are incorporated by reference 
with the following clarifications or exceptions: 
 (1)  The exclusion of the following: 
 (a)  In 10 CFR 35.2, exclude definitions for "Address of Use," 
"Agreement State," "Area of Use," "Dentist," "Pharmacist," 
"Physician," "Podiatrist," and "Sealed Source"; and 
 (b)  In 10 CFR 35.3067, exclude "with a copy to the Director, 
Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards." 
 (2)  The substitution of the following date references: 
 (a)  "October 25, 2006" for "October 25, 2004"; 
 (b)  "October 24, 2006" for "October 24, 2004"; and 
 (c)  "the effective date of this rule" for "October 24, 2002"; 
 (3)  The substitution of the following rule references: 
 (a)  "Rule R313-15"  for reference to "10 CFR Part 20" or for 
reference to "Part 20 of this chapter"; 
 (b)  "Rule R313-19" for reference to "Part 30 of this chapter" or 
for reference to "10 CFR Part 30" except for the reference to "Part 
30 of this chapter" found in 10 CFR 35.65(d); 
 (c)  "10 CFR 30" for reference to "Part 30 of this chapter" 
found in 10 CFR 35.65(d); 
 (d)  "Rules R313-15 and R313-19" for reference to "parts 20 
and 30 of this chapter"; 

 (e)  "Section R313-12-110" for reference to "Sec. 30.6 of this 
chapter" or for reference to "Sec. 30.6(a)" or for reference to "Sec. 
30.6(a) of this chapter"; 
 (f)  "Section R313-15-101" for reference to "Sec. 20.1101 of 
this chapter"; 
 (g)  "Subsection R313-15-301(1)(a)" for reference to "Sec. 
20.1301(a)(1) of this chapter"; 
 (h)  "Subsection R313-15-301(1)(c)" for reference to "Sec. 
20.1301(c) of this chapter"; 
 (i)  "Section R313-15-501" for reference to "Sec. 20.1501 of 
this chapter"; 
 (j)  "Section R313-18-12" for reference to "Sec. 19.12 of this 
chapter"; 
 (k)  "Subsection R313-22-75(10) or equivalent U.S. Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission or Agreement State regulations" for 
reference to "Sec. 32.74 of this chapter," found in 10 CFR 35.65(b); 
 (l)  "Subsection R313-22-75(10)" for reference to "10 CFR 
32.74 of this chapter," or for reference to "Sec. 32.74 of this chapter" 
except for the reference to "Sec. 32.74 of this chapter" found in 10 
CFR 35.65(b); 
 (m)  "Rule R313-70" for reference to "Part 170 of this chapter"; 
 (n)  "Section R313-19-34(2)" for reference to "Sec. 30.34(b) of 
this chapter"; 
 (o)  "Rule R313-22" for reference to "Part 33 of this chapter"; 
 (p)  "Subsection R313-22-50(2)" for reference to "Sec. 33.13 of 
this chapter"; 
 (q)  "Subsection R313-22-75(9)(b)(iv)" for reference to "Sec. 
32.72(b)(4)";and 
 (r)  "Subsection R313-22-75(9)" for reference to "Sec. 32.72 of 
this chapter." 
 (4)  The substitution of the following terms: 
 (a)  "radioactive material" for reference to "byproduct 
material"; 
 (b)  "final" for "draft"; 
 (c)  "original" for "original and one copy"; 
 (d)  "(801) 536-4250 or after hours, (801) 536-4123" for "(301) 
951-0550"; 
 (e)  "Form DRC-02, 'Application for Medical Use of 
Radioactive Material License'" for reference to "NRC Form 313, 
'Application for Material License'"; 
 (f)  "State of Utah radioactive materials" for reference to 
"NRC" in 10 CFR 35.6(c); 
 (g)  "the Executive Secretary, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission, or an Agreement State" for reference to "the 
Commission or Agreement State" or for reference to "the 
Commission or an Agreement State"; 
 (h)  "an Executive Secretary, the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission, or an Agreement State" for reference to "a 
Commission or Agreement State"; 
 (i)  "Equivalent U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission or 
Agreement State" for reference to "equivalent Agreement State" as 
found in 10 CFR 35.63(b)(2)(i), 10 CFR 35.63(c)(3), 10 CFR 
35.65(a), 10 CFR 35.100(a), 10 CFR 35.200(a), and 10 CFR 
35.300(a); 
 (j)  "Executive Secretary" for reference to "NRC Operations 
Center" in 10 CFR 3045(c) and 10 CFR 3047(c); 
 (k)  "Utah Division of Radiation Control" for reference to 
"NRC Operations Center" in Footnote 3 to 10 CFR 35.3045; 
 (l)  "Executive Secretary" for reference to "appropriate NRC 
Regional Office listed in Sec. 30.6 of this chapter"; 
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 (m)  "Utah Radiation Control Board" for reference to 
"Commission" in 10 CFR 35.18(a)(3)(second instance) and 10 CFR 
35.19; 
 (n)  "Executive Secretary" for reference to "Commission" in 10 
CFR 35.12(d)(2), 10 CFR 35.14(a)(first instance), 10 CFR 35.14(b), 
10 CFR 35.18(a), 10 CFR 35.18(a)(3)(first instance), 10 CFR 
35.18(b), 10 CFR 35.24(a)(1), 10 CFR 35.24(c), 10 CFR 35.26(a), 
and 10 CFR 35.1000(b); 
 (o)  "the Executive Secretary" for reference to "NRC" in 10 
CFR 35.13(b)(4)(i), 10 CFR 35.3045(g)(1), and 10 CFR 
35.3047(f)(1); 
 (p)  "the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission or an 
Agreement State" for reference to "an Agreement State" in 10 CFR 
35.49(a) and 10 CFR 35.49(c); and 
 (q)  "Executive Secretary, a U.S. Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission, or Agreement State" for reference to "NRC or 
Agreement State" in 10 CFR 35.63(b)(2)(ii), 10 CFR 35.100(c), 10 
CFR 35.200(c), and 10 CFR 35.300(c).[(1)  The purpose of this rule is 
to prescribe requirements and provisions for the medical use of 
radioactive material and for issuance of specific licenses authorizing the 
medical use of this material.  These requirements and provisions 
provide for the protection of the public health and safety.  The 
requirements and provisions of R313-32 are in addition to, and not in 
substitution for, other sections of R313. 
 (2)  The rules set forth herein are adopted pursuant to the 
provisions of Sections 19-3-104(3) and 19-3-104(6). 
 
R313-32-2.  Definitions. 
 "Authorized nuclear pharmacist" means a pharmacist who is: 
 (a)  board certified as a nuclear pharmacist by the Board of 
Pharmaceutical Specialties; 
 (b)  identified as an authorized nuclear pharmacist on a Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission or Agreement State license that authorizes the 
use of radioactive material in the practice of nuclear pharmacy; or 
 (c)  identified as an authorized nuclear pharmacist on a permit 
issued by a Nuclear Regulatory Commission or Agreement State 
specific licensee of broad scope that is authorized to permit the use of 
radioactive material in the practice of nuclear pharmacy. 
 "Authorized user" means a physician, dentist, or podiatrist who is: 
 (a)  board certified by at least one of the boards listed in Paragraph 
(1) of R313-32-910, R313-32-920, R313-32-930, R313-32-940, R313-
32-950, or R313-32-960; 
 (b)  identified as an authorized user on a Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission or Agreement State license that authorizes the medical use 
of radioactive material; or 
 (c)  identified as an authorized user on a permit issued by a 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission or Agreement State specific licensee 
of broad scope that is authorized to permit the medical use of 
radioactive material. 
 "Brachytherapy source" means an individual sealed source or a 
manufacturer-assembled source train that is not designed to be 
disassembled by the user. 
 "Dedicated check source" means a radioactive source that is used 
to assure the constant operation of a radiation detection or measurement 
device over several months or years. 
 "Dental use" means the intentional external administration of the 
radiation from radioactive material to human beings in the practice of 
dentistry in accordance with a license issued by this state. 
 "Dentist" means an individual licensed by this state to practice 
dentistry. 

 "Diagnostic clinical procedures manual" means a collection of 
written procedures that describes each method, other instructions, and 
precautions, by which the licensee performs diagnostic clinical 
procedures; where each diagnostic clinical procedure has been 
approved by the authorized user and includes the radiopharmaceutical, 
dosage, and route of administration. 
 "Management" means the chief executive officer or that person's 
delegate. 
 "Medical institution" means an organization in which several 
medical disciplines are practiced. 
 "Medical use" means the intentional internal or external 
administration of radioactive material, or the radiation therefrom, to 
patients or human research subjects under the supervision of an 
authorized user. 
 "Ministerial change" means a change that is made, after 
ascertaining the applicable requirements, by persons in authority in 
conformance with the requirements and without making a discretionary 
judgement about whether those requirements should apply in the case 
at hand. 
 "Misadministration" means the administration of: 
 (a) A radiopharmaceutical dosage greater than 1.11 MBq (30 uCi) 
of either sodium iodide I-125 or I-131: 
 (i)  involving the wrong individual, or wrong radiopharmaceutical; 
or 
 (ii)  when both the administered dosage differs from the 
prescribed dosage by more than 20 percent of the prescribed dosage 
and the difference between the administrated dosage and prescribed 
dosage exceeds 1.11 MBq (30 uCi). 
 (b)  A therapeutic radiopharmaceutical dosage, other than sodium 
iodide I-125 or I-131: 
 (i)  involving the wrong individual, wrong radiopharmaceutical, or 
wrong route of administration; or 
 (ii)  when the administered dosage differs from the prescribed 
dosage by more than 20 percent of the prescribed dosage. 
 (c)  A gamma stereotactic radiosurgery radiation dose: 
 (i)  involving the wrong individual or wrong treatment site; or 
 (ii)  when the calculated total administered dose differs from the 
total prescribed dose by more than ten percent of the total prescribed 
dose. 
 (d)  A teletherapy radiation dose: 
 (i)  involving the wrong individual, wrong mode of treatment, or 
wrong treatment site; 
 (ii)  when the treatment consists of three or fewer fractions and the 
calculated total administered dose differs from the total prescribed dose 
by more than ten percent of the total prescribed dose; 
 (iii)  when the calculated weekly administered dose exceeds the 
weekly prescribed dose by 30 percent or more of the weekly prescribed 
dose; or 
 (iv)  when the calculated total administered dose differs from the 
total prescribed dose by more than 20 percent of the total prescribed 
dose. 
 (e)  A brachytherapy radiation dose: 
 (i)  involving the wrong individual, wrong radionuclide, or wrong 
treatment site (excluding, for permanent implants, seeds that were 
implanted in the correct site but migrated outside the treatment site); 
 (ii)  involving a sealed source that is leaking; 
 (iii)  when, for a temporary implant, one or more sealed sources 
are not removed upon completion of the procedure; or 
 (iv)  when the calculated administered dose differs from the 
prescribed dose by more than 20 percent of the prescribed dose. 
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 (f)  A diagnostic radiopharmaceutical dosage, other than quantities 
greater than 1.11 MBq (30 uCi) of either sodium iodide I-125 or I-131, 
or both: 
 (i)  involving the wrong individual, wrong radiopharmaceutical, 
wrong route of administration, or when the administered dosage differs 
from the prescribed dosage; and 
 (ii)  when the dose to the individual exceeds 0.05 Sv (five rems) 
effective dose equivalent or 0.5 Sv (50 rems) dose equivalent to any 
individual organ. 
 "Mobile nuclear medicine service" means the transportation and 
medical use of radioactive material. 
 "Output" means the exposure rate, dose rate, or a quantity related 
in a known manner to these rates from a teletherapy unit for a specified 
set of exposure conditions. 
 "Pharmacist" means an individual licensed by a State or Territory 
of the United States, the District of Columbia, or the Commonwealth of 
Puerto Rico to practice pharmacy. 
 "Podiatric use" means the intentional external administration of 
the radiation from radioactive material to human beings in the practice 
of podiatry in accordance with a license issued by this State. 
 "Podiatrist" means an individual licensed by this State to practice 
podiatry. 
 "Prescribed dosage" means the quantity of radiopharmaceutical 
activity as documented: 
 (a)  in a written directive; or 
 (b)  either in the diagnostic clinical procedures manual or in an 
appropriate record in accordance with the directions of the authorized 
user for diagnostic procedures. 
 "Prescribed dose" means: 
 (a)  for gamma stereotactic radiosurgery, the total dose as 
documented in the written directive; 
 (b)  for teletherapy, the total dose and dose per fraction as 
documented in the written directive; or 
 (c)  for brachytherapy, either the total source strength and 
exposure time or the total dose, as documented in the written directive. 
 "Radiation Safety Officer" means the individual identified as the 
Radiation Safety Officer on a license issued by the Executive Secretary. 
 "Recordable event" means the administration of: 
 (a)  a radiopharmaceutical or radiation without a written directive 
where a written directive is required; 
 (b)  a radiopharmaceutical or radiation where a written directive is 
required without daily recording of each administered 
radiopharmaceutical dosage or radiation dose in the appropriate record; 
 (c)  a radiopharmaceutical dosage greater than 1.11 MBq (30 uCi) 
of either sodium iodide I-125 or I-131 when both: 
 (i)  the administered dosage differs from the prescribed dosage by 
more than ten percent of the prescribed dosage, and 
 (ii)  the difference between the administered dosage and 
prescribed dosage exceed 555 kBq (15 uCi); 
 (d)  A therapeutic radiopharmaceutical dosage, other than sodium 
iodide I-125 or I-131, when the administered dosage differs from the 
prescribed dosage by more than ten percent of the prescribed dosage; 
 (e)  A teletherapy radiation dose when the calculated weekly 
administered dose exceeds the weekly prescribed dose by 15 percent or 
more of the weekly prescribed dose; or 
 (f)  A brachytherapy radiation dose when the calculated 
administered dose differs from the prescribed dose by more than ten 
percent of the prescribed dose. 
 "Teletherapy" means therapeutic irradiation in which the source of 
radiation is at a distance from the body. 

 "Teletherapy physicist" means the individual identified as the 
teletherapy physicist on a license issued by the Executive Secretary. 
 "Visiting authorized user" means an authorized user who is not 
identified as an authorized user on the license of the licensee being 
visited. 
 "Written directive" means an order in writing for a specific patient 
or human research subject, dated and signed by an authorized user prior 
to the administration of a radiopharmaceutical or radiation, except as 
specified in paragraph (f) of this definition, containing the following 
information: 
 (a)  for any administration of quantities greater than 1.11 MBq (30 
uCi) of either sodium iodide I-125 or I-131:  the dosage; 
 (b)  for a therapeutic administration of a radiopharmaceutical other 
than sodium iodide I-125 or I-131:  the radiopharmaceutical, dosage, 
and route of administration; 
 (c)  for gamma stereotactic radiosurgery:  target coordinates, 
collimator size, plug pattern, and total dose; 
 (d)  for teletherapy:  the total dose, dose per fraction, treatment 
site, and overall treatment period; 
 (e)  for high-dose-rate remote afterloading brachytherapy:  the 
radioisotope, treatment site, and total dose; or 
 (f)  for all other brachytherapy: 
 (i)  prior to implantation:  the radionuclide, number of sources, 
and source strengths; and 
 (ii)  after implantation but prior to completion of the procedure:  
the radionuclide, treatment site, and total source strength and exposure 
time, or equivalently, the total dose. 
 
R313-32-6.  Provisions for Research Involving Human Subjects. 
 A licensee may conduct research involving human subjects using 
radioactive material provided that the research is conducted, funded, 
supported, or regulated by a Federal Agency which has implemented 
the Federal Policy for the Protection of Human Subjects.  Otherwise, a 
licensee shall apply for and receive approval of a specific amendment 
to its Utah license before conducting such research.  Both types of 
licensees shall, at a minimum, obtain informed consent from the human 
subjects and obtain prior review and approval of the research activities 
by an "Institutional Review Board" in accordance with the meaning of 
these terms as defined and described in the Federal Policy for the 
Protection of Human Subjects. 
 
R313-32-7.  FDA, other Federal, and State Requirements. 
 Nothing in R313-32 relieves the licensee from complying with 
applicable FDA, other Federal, and State requirements governing 
radioactive drugs or devices. 
 
R313-32-11.  License Required. 
 (1)  A person shall not manufacture, produce, acquire, receive, 
possess, use, or transfer radioactive material for medical use except in 
accordance with a specific license issued by the Executive Secretary, 
the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, or an Agreement State, or as 
allowed in R313-32-11(2) or (3). 
 (2)  An individual shall receive, possess, use, or transfer 
radioactive material in accordance with the Utah Radiation Control 
Rules under the supervision of an authorized user as provided in R313-
32-25, unless prohibited by license condition. 
 (3)  An individual may prepare unsealed radioactive material for 
medical use in accordance with R313-32 under the supervision of an 
authorized nuclear pharmacist or authorized user as provided in R313-
32-25, unless prohibited by license condition. 
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R313-32-12.  Application for License, Amendment, or Renewal. 
 (1) If the application is for medical use sited in a medical 
institution, only the institution's management may apply.  If the 
application is for medical use not sited in a medical institution, any 
person may apply. 
 (2) An application for a license for medical use of radioactive 
material as described in R313-32-100, R313-32-200, R313-32-300, 
R313-32-400, and R313-32-500 must be made by filing of Form DRC-
02, "Application for Materials License."  For guidance in completing 
the form, refer to the instructions in the most current versions of the 
appropriate Regulatory Guides.  A request for a license amendment or 
renewal may be submitted in a letter format. 
 (3) An applicant that satisfies the requirements specified in R313-
22-50(2) may apply for a Type A specific license of broad scope. 
 
R313-32-13.  License Amendment. 
 A licensee shall apply for and receive a license amendment: 
 (1)  before it receives or uses radioactive material for a clinical 
procedure permitted under R313-32 but not permitted by the license 
issued pursuant to R313-32; 
 (2)  before it permits anyone to work as an authorized user or 
authorized nuclear pharmacist under the license, except an individual 
who is: 
 (a)  an authorized user certified by the organizations specified in 
paragraph (1) of R313-32-910, R313-32-920, R313-32-930, R313-32-
940, R313-32-950, or R313-32-960; 
 (b)  an authorized nuclear pharmacist certified by the organization 
specified in paragraph (1) of R313-32-980; 
 (c)  identified as an authorized user or an authorized nuclear 
pharmacist on a Nuclear Regulatory Commission or an Agreement 
State license that authorizes the use of radioactive material in medical 
use or in the practice of nuclear pharmacy, respectively, or 
 (d)  identified as an authorized user or an authorized nuclear 
pharmacist on a permit issued by the Executive Secretary, the Nuclear 
Regulatory Commission or an Agreement State specific licensee of 
broad scope that is authorized to permit the use of radioactive material 
in medical use or in the practice of nuclear pharmacy, respectively. 
 (3)  before it changes Radiation Safety Officers or Teletherapy 
Physicists; 
 (4)  before it orders radioactive material in excess of the amount, 
or radionuclide or form different than authorized on the license; and 
 (5)  before it adds to or changes the address or addresses of use 
identified on the license. 
 
R313-32-14.  Notifications. 
 (1)  A licensee shall provide to the Executive Secretary a copy of 
the board certification, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission or 
Agreement State license, or the permit issued by a licensee of broad 
scope for each individual no later than 30 days after the date that the 
licensee permits the individual to work as an authorized user or an 
authorized nuclear pharmacist pursuant to R313-32-13(2)(a) through 
(2)(d). 
 (2)  A licensee shall notify the Executive Secretary by letter no 
later than 30 days after: 
 (a)  an authorized user, an authorized nuclear pharmacist, 
Radiation Safety Officer, or teletherapy physicist permanently 
discontinues performance of duties under the license or has a name 
change; or 
 (b)  the licensee's mailing address changes. 
 (3)  The licensee shall mail the documents required in R313-32-14 
to the address identified in R313-12-110. 

R313-32-15.  Exemptions Regarding Type A Specific Licenses of 
Broad Scope. 
 A licensee possessing a Type A specific license of broad scope for 
medical use is exempt from the following: 
 (1)  The provisions of R313-32-13(2); 
 (2)  The provisions of R313-32-13(5) regarding additions to or 
changes in the areas of use only at the addresses specified in the 
license; 
 (3)  The provisions of R313-32-14(1); and 
 (4)  The provisions of R313-32-14(2)(a) for an authorized user or 
an authorized nuclear pharmacist. 
 
R313-32-18.  License Issuance. 
 The Executive Secretary shall issue a license for the medical use 
of radioactive material for a term of five years provided the following 
requirements are met: 
 (1)  The applicant has filed form DRC-02 "Application for 
Materials License - Medical" in accordance with the instructions in 
R313-22-32. 
 (2)  The applicant has paid any applicable fee as provided in 
R313-70. 
 (3)  The Executive Secretary finds the applicant equipped and 
committed to observe the safety standards established in R313-15  for 
the protection of the public health and safety. 
 (4)  In addition to the requirements set forth in R313-22-33 a 
specific license for human use of radioactive material in institutions 
will be issued if: 
 (a)  the applicant has appointed a radiation safety committee to 
coordinate the use of radioactive material throughout that institution 
and to maintain surveillance over the institution's radiation safety 
program; and 
 (b)  if the application is for a license to use unspecified quantities 
or multiple types of radioactive material, the applicant's staff has 
training and experience in the use of a variety or radioactive materials 
for a variety of human uses, and meets the training and experience 
requirements of R313-32. 
 (5)  A specific license for the human use of radioactive material 
will be issued to an individual physician if the following are complied 
with: 
 (a)  The applicant has access to a hospital possessing adequate 
facilities to hospitalize and monitor the applicant's radioactive patients 
whenever it is advisable. 
 (b)  The applicant has training and experience as required by 
R313-32, in the handling and administration of radioactive material 
and, where applicable, the clinical management of radioactive patients. 
 (c)  The application is for use in the applicant's practice in an 
office outside a medical institution. 
 (d)  The Executive Secretary shall not approve an application by 
an individual physician or group of physicians for a specific license to 
receive, possess or use radioactive material on the premises of a 
medical institution unless: 
 (i)  the use of radioactive material is limited to: 
 (A)  the administration of radiopharmaceuticals for diagnostic or 
therapeutic purposes; 
 (B)  the performance of diagnostic studies on patients to whom a 
radiopharmaceutical has been administered; 
 (C)  the performance of in vitro diagnostic studies; 
 (D)  the calibration and quality control checks of radioactive assay 
instrumentation, radiation safety instrumentation and diagnostic 
instrumentation; 
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 (ii)  the physician brings the radioactive material with him and 
removes the radioactive material when he departs.  The institution 
cannot receive, possess or store radioactive material other than the 
amount of material remaining in the patient; or 
 (iii)  the medical institution does not hold a radioactive material 
license issued pursuant to the provisions of R313-32-18(4). 
 
R313-32-19.  Specific Exemptions. 
 The Board may, upon application of any interested person or upon 
its own initiative, grant exemptions from the rules in R313-32 as it 
determines are authorized by law and will not endanger life or property 
or the common defense and security and are otherwise in the public 
interest.  The Board will review requests for exemptions from training 
and experience requirements with the assistance of the Executive 
Secretary. 
 
R313-32-20.  ALARA Program. 
 (1)  The licensee shall develop and implement a written radiation 
protection program that includes provisions for keeping doses ALARA. 
 (2)  To satisfy the requirement of R313-32-20(1) one of the 
following shall be implemented: 
 (a)  At a medical institution, management, the Radiation Safety 
Officer, and authorized users shall participate in the program as 
requested by the Radiation Safety Committee. 
 (b)  For licensees that are not medical institutions, management 
and authorized users shall participate in the program as requested by the 
Radiation Safety Officer. 
 (3)  The program shall include notice to workers of the program's 
existence and workers' responsibility to help keep dose equivalents 
ALARA, a review of summaries of the types and amounts of 
radioactive material used, occupational doses, changes in radiation 
safety procedures and safety measures, and continuing education and 
training for personnel who work with or in the vicinity of radioactive 
material.  The purpose of the review is to ensure that licensees make a 
reasonable effort to maintain individual and collective occupational 
doses ALARA. 
 
R313-32-21.  Radiation Safety Officer. 
 (1)  A licensee shall appoint a Radiation Safety Officer 
responsible for implementing the radiation safety program.  The 
licensee, through the Radiation Safety Officer, shall ensure that 
radiation safety activities are being performed in accordance with 
approved procedures and regulatory requirements in the daily operation 
of the licensee's radioactive material program. 
 (2)  The Radiation Safety Officer shall: 
 (a)  investigate overexposures, accidents, spills, losses, thefts, 
unauthorized receipts, uses, transfers, disposals, misadministrations, 
and other deviations from approved radiation safety practices and 
implement corrective actions as necessary; 
 (b)  establish, collect in one binder or file, and implement written 
policy and procedures for: 
 (i)  authorizing the purchase of radioactive material; 
 (ii)  receiving and opening packages of radioactive material; 
 (iii)  storing radioactive material; 
 (iv)  keeping an inventory record of radioactive material; 
 (v)  using radioactive material safely; 
 (vi)  taking emergency action if control of radioactive material is 
lost; 
 (vii)  performing periodic radiation surveys; 
 (viii)  performing checks of survey instruments and other safety 
equipment; 

 (ix)  disposing of radioactive material; 
 (x)  training personnel who work in or frequent areas where 
radioactive material is used or stored; 
 (xi)  keeping a copy of all records and reports required by the Utah 
Radiation Control Rules, a copy of these rules, a copy of each licensing 
request, license and amendment, and written policy and procedures 
required by the rules; 
 (c)  brief management once a year on the radioactive material 
program; 
 (d)  establish personnel exposure investigational levels that, when 
exceeded, will initiate an investigation by the Radiation Safety Officer 
of the cause of the exposure; 
 (e)  establish personnel exposure investigational levels that, when 
exceeded, will initiate a prompt investigation by the Radiation Safety 
Officer of the cause of the exposure and a consideration of actions that 
might be taken to reduce the probability of recurrence; 
 (f)  for medical use not at a medical institution, approve or 
disapprove radiation safety program changes with the advice and 
consent of management; and 
 (g)  for medical use at a medical institution, assist the Radiation 
Safety Committee in the performance of its duties. 
 
R313-32-22.  Radiation Safety Committee. 
 The medical institution licensee shall establish a Radiation Safety 
Committee to oversee the use of radioactive material. 
 (1)  The Committee shall meet the following administrative 
requirements: 
 (a)  Membership shall consist of at least three individuals and shall 
include an authorized user of each type of use permitted by the license, 
the Radiation Safety Officer, a representative of the nursing service, 
and a representative of management who is neither an authorized user 
nor a Radiation Safety Officer.  Other members may be included as the 
licensee deems appropriate. 
 (b)  The Committee shall meet at least quarterly. 
 (c)  To establish a quorum and to conduct business, at least one-
half of the Committee's membership shall be present, including the 
Radiation Safety Officer and the management's representative. 
 (d)  The minutes of each Radiation Safety Committee meeting 
shall include: 
 (i)  the date of the meeting; 
 (ii)  members present; 
 (iii)  members absent; 
 (iv)  summary of deliberations and discussions; 
 (v)  recommended actions and the numerical results of all ballots; 
and 
 (vi)  ALARA program reviews described in R313-32-20. 
 (e)  The Committee shall promptly provide the members with 
copies of the meeting minutes, and retain one copy for the duration of 
the license. 
 (2)  To oversee the use of licensed material, the Committee shall: 
 (a)  review recommendations on ways to maintain individual and 
collective doses ALARA; 
 (b)(i)  review, on the basis of safety and with regard to the training 
and experience standards in R313-32-900 through R313-32-981, and 
approve or disapprove any individual who is to be listed as an 
authorized user, an authorized nuclear pharmacist, the Radiation Safety 
Officer, or a Teletherapy Physicist before submitting a license 
application or request for amendment or renewal; or 
 (ii) review, pursuant to R313-32-13(2)(a) through (2)(d), on the 
basis of the board certification, the license, or the permit identifying an 
individual, and approve or disapprove any individual prior to allowing 
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that individual to work as an authorized user or authorized nuclear 
pharmacist; 
 (c)  review on the basis of safety, and approve with the advice and 
consent of the Radiation Safety Officer and the management 
representative, or disapprove minor changes in radiation safety 
procedures that are not potentially important to safety and are permitted 
under R313-32-31; 
 (d)  review quarterly, with the assistance of the Radiation Safety 
Officer, a summary of the occupational radiation dose records of 
personnel working with radioactive material; 
 (e)  review quarterly, with the assistance of the Radiation Safety 
Officer, incidents involving radioactive material with respect to cause 
and subsequent actions taken; and 
 (f)  review annually, with the assistance of the Radiation Safety 
Officer, the radiation safety program. 
 
R313-32-23.  Statements of Authority and Responsibilities. 
 (1)  A licensee shall provide the Radiation Safety Officer, and at a 
medical institution the Radiation Safety Committee, sufficient 
authority, organizational freedom, and management prerogative, to: 
 (a)  identify radiation safety problems; 
 (b)  initiate, recommend, or provide corrective actions; and 
 (c)  verify implementation of corrective actions. 
 (2)  A licensee shall establish and state in writing the authorities, 
duties, responsibilities, and radiation safety activities of the Radiation 
Safety Officer, and at a medical institution the Radiation Safety 
Committee, and retain the current edition of these statements as a 
record until the Executive Secretary terminates the license. 
 
R313-32-25.  Supervision. 
 (1)  A licensee that permits the receipt, possession, use or transfer 
of radioactive material by an individual under the supervision of an 
authorized user as allowed by R313-32-11(2) shall: 
 (a)  instruct the supervised individual in the principles of radiation 
safety appropriate to that individual's use of radioactive material and in 
the licensee's written quality management program; 
 (b)  require the supervised individual to follow the instructions of 
the supervising authorized user, follow the written radiation safety and 
quality management procedures established by the licensee, and 
comply with the Utah Radiation Control Rules and the license 
conditions with respect to the use of radioactive material; and 
 (c)  periodically review the supervised individual's use of 
radioactive material and the records kept to reflect this use. 
 (2) A licensee that permits the preparation of radioactive material 
for medical use by an individual under the supervision of an authorized 
nuclear pharmacist or physician who is an authorized user, as allowed 
by R313-32-11(3), shall: 
 (a) instruct the supervised individual in the preparation of 
radioactive material for medical use and the principles of and 
procedures for radiation safety and in the licensee's written quality 
management program, as appropriate to that individual's use of 
radioactive material; 
 (b)  require the supervised individual to follow the instructions 
given pursuant to R313-32-25(2)(a) and to comply with these rules and 
license conditions; and 
 (c) require the supervising authorized nuclear pharmacist or 
physician who is an authorized user to periodically review the work of 
the supervised individual as it pertains to preparing radioactive material 
for medical use and the records kept to reflect that work. 
 (3)  A licensee that supervises an individual is responsible for the 
acts and omissions of the supervised individual. 

R313-32-29.  Administrative Requirements that Apply to the 
Providers of Mobile Nuclear Medicine Service. 
 (1)  The Executive Secretary will license mobile nuclear medicine 
service only in accordance with R313-32-100, R313-32-200, and 
R313-32-500. 
 (2)  Mobile nuclear medicine service licensees shall obtain a letter 
signed by the management of each client for which services are 
rendered that authorizes use of radioactive material at the client's 
address of use.  The mobile nuclear medicine service licensee shall 
retain the letter for three years after the last provision of service. 
 (3)  If a mobile nuclear medicine service provides services that the 
client is also authorized to provide, the client is responsible for assuring 
that services are conducted in accordance with the rules while the 
mobile nuclear medicine service is under the client's direction. 
 (4)  A mobile nuclear medicine service shall not order radioactive 
material to be delivered directly from the manufacturer or distributor to 
the client's address of use. 
 
R313-32-31.  Radiation Safety Program Changes. 
 (1)  A licensee may make minor changes in radiation safety 
procedures that are not potentially important to safety, i.e., ministerial 
changes, that were described in the application for license, renewal, or 
amendment except for those changes in R313-32-13 and R313-32-606. 
 A licensee is responsible for assuring that any change made is in 
compliance with the requirements of the rules and the license. 
 (2)  A licensee shall retain a record of each change until the 
license has been renewed or terminated.  The record shall include the 
effective date of the change, a copy of the old and new radiation safety 
procedures, the reason for the change, a summary of radiation safety 
matters that were considered before making the change, the signature of 
the Radiation Safety Officer, and the signatures of the affected 
authorized users and of management or, in a medical institution, the 
Radiation Safety Committee's chairman and the management 
representative. 
 
R313-32-32.  Quality Management Program. 
 (1)  The applicant or licensee shall establish and maintain a 
written quality management program to provide high confidence that 
radioactive material or radiation from radioactive material will be 
administered as directed by the authorized user.  The quality 
management program shall include written policies and procedures to 
meet the following specific objectives: 
 (a)  that, prior to administration, a written directive is prepared for: 
 (i)  teletherapy radiation doses; 
 (ii)  gamma stereotactic radiosurgery radiation doses; 
 (iii)  brachytherapy radiation doses; 
 (iv)  administration of quantities greater than 1.11 MBq (30 uCi) 
of either sodium iodide I-125 or I-131; 
 (v)  therapeutic administration of a radiopharmaceutical, other 
than sodium iodide I-125 or I-131; 
 (b)  that the following are exceptions to the written directive: 
 (i)  if, because of the patient's condition, a delay in order to 
provide a written revision to an existing written directive would 
jeopardize the patient's health, an oral revision to an existing written 
directive will be acceptable, provided that the oral revision is 
documented immediately in the patient's record and a revised written 
directive is signed by the authorized user within 48 hours of the oral 
revision; 
 (ii)  also, a written revision to an existing written directive may be 
made for a diagnostic or therapeutic procedure provided that the 
revision is dated and signed by an authorized user prior to the 
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administration of the radiopharmaceutical dosage, the brachytherapy 
dose, the gamma stereotactic radiosurgery dose, the teletherapy dose, or 
the next teletherapy fractional dose; or 
 (iii)  if, because of the emergent nature of the patient's condition, a 
delay in order to provide a written directive would jeopardize the 
patient's health, an oral directive will be acceptable, provided that the 
information contained in the oral directive is documented immediately 
in the patient's record and a written directive is prepared within 24 
hours of the oral directive; 
 (c)  that, prior to each administration, the patient's or human 
research subject's identity is verified by more than one method as the 
individual named in the written directive; 
 (d)  that final plans of treatment and related calculations for 
brachytherapy, teletherapy, and gamma stereotactic radiosurgery are in 
accordance with the respective written directives; 
 (e)  that each administration is in accordance with the written 
directive; and 
 (f)  that each unintended deviation from the written directive is 
identified and evaluated, and appropriate action is taken. 
 (2)  The licensee shall: 
 (a)  develop procedures for and conduct a review of the quality 
management program including, since the last review, an evaluation of: 
 (i)  a representative sample of patient and human research subject 
administrations, 
 (ii)  all recordable events, and 
 (iii)  all misadministrations to verify compliance with each aspect 
of the quality management program; these reviews shall be conducted 
at intervals no greater than 12 months; 
 (b)  evaluate these reviews to determine the effectiveness of the 
quality management program and, if required, make modifications to 
meet the objectives of R313-32-32(1); and 
 (c)  retain records of the review, including the evaluations and 
findings of the review, in an auditable form for three years. 
 (3)  The licensee shall evaluate and respond, within 30 days after 
discovery of the recordable event, to each recordable event by: 
 (a)  assembling the relevant facts including the cause; 
 (b)  identifying what, if applicable, corrective action is required to 
prevent recurrence; and 
 (c)  retaining a record, in an auditable form, for three years, of the 
relevant facts and what corrective action, if applicable, was taken. 
 (4)  The licensee shall retain: 
 (a)  a written directive; and 
 (b)  a record of each administered radiation dose or 
radiopharmaceutical dosage where a written directive is required in 
R313-32-32(1)(a), in an auditable form, for three years after the date of 
administration. 
 (5)  The licensee may make modifications to the quality 
management program to increase the program's efficiency provided the 
program's effectiveness is not decreased.  The licensee shall furnish the 
modification to the Executive Secretary within 30 days after the 
modification has been made. 
 (6)(a)  Applicants for a new license, as applicable, shall submit to 
the Executive Secretary in accordance with R313-12-110 a quality 
management program as part of the application for a license and 
implement the program upon issuance of the license by the Executive 
Secretary. 
 (b)  Existing licensees, as applicable, shall submit to the Executive 
Secretary in accordance with R313-12-110, prior to March 1, 1995, a 
written certification that the quality management program has been 
implemented along with a copy of the program. 
 

R313-32-33.  Notifications, Reports and Records of 
Misadministrations. 
 (1)  For a misadministration: 
 (a)  the licensee shall notify the Executive Secretary by telephone 
no later than the next calendar day after discovery of the 
misadministration. 
 (b)  the licensee shall submit a written report to the Executive 
Secretary within 15 days after discovery of the misadministration.  The 
written report shall include the licensee's name; the prescribing 
physician's name; a brief description of the event; why the event 
occurred; the effect on the individual who received the 
misadministration; what improvements are needed to prevent 
recurrence; actions taken to prevent recurrence; whether the licensee 
notified the individual (or the individual's responsible relative or 
guardian), and if not, why not; and if there was notification, what 
information was provided.  The report must not include the individual's 
name or any other information that could lead to identification of the 
individual.  To meet the requirements of R313-32-33, the notification 
of the individual receiving the misadministration may be made instead 
to that individual's responsible relative or guardian, when appropriate. 
 (c)  the licensee shall notify the referring physician and also notify 
the individual receiving the misadministration of the misadministration 
no later than 24 hours after its discovery, unless the referring physician 
personally informs the licensee either that he will inform the individual 
or that, based on medical judgment, telling the individual would be 
harmful.  The licensee is not required to notify the individual without 
first consulting the referring physician.  If the referring physician or the 
individual receiving the misadministration cannot be reached within 24 
hours, the licensee shall notify the individual as soon as possible 
thereafter.  The licensee may not delay any appropriate medical care for 
the individual, including any necessary remedial care as a result of the 
misadministration, because of any delay in notification. 
 (d)  if the individual was notified, the licensee shall also furnish, 
within 15 days after discovery of the misadministration, a written report 
to the individual by sending either: 
 (i) a copy of the report that was submitted to the Executive 
Secretary; or 
 (ii) a brief description of both the event and the consequences as 
they may affect the individual, provided a statement is included that the 
report submitted to the Executive Secretary can be obtained from the 
licensee. 
 (2)  The licensee shall retain a record of each misadministration 
for five years.  The record shall contain the names of all individuals 
involved (including the prescribing physician, allied health personnel, 
the individual who received the misadministration, and that individual's 
referring physician, if applicable), the individual's social security 
number or other identification number if one has been assigned, a brief 
description of the misadministration, why it occurred, the effect on the 
individual, improvements needed to prevent recurrence, and the actions 
taken to prevent recurrence. 
 (3)  Aside from the notification requirement, nothing in R313-32-
33 affects any rights or duties of licensees and physicians in relation to 
each other, to individuals receiving misadministrations, or to that 
individual's responsible relative or guardian. 
 
R313-32-49.  Suppliers for Sealed Sources or Devices for Medical 
Use. 
 A licensee may use for medical use only: 
 (1)  Sealed sources or devices manufactured, labeled, packaged, 
and distributed in accordance with a license issued pursuant to the rules 
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in R313-22 and R313-22-75(10) or the equivalent requirements of the 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission or an Agreement State; or 
 (2)  Teletherapy sources manufactured and distributed in 
accordance with a license issued pursuant to R313-22 or the equivalent 
requirements of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission or an Agreement 
State. 
 
R313-32-50.  Possession, Use, Calibration, and Check of Dose 
Calibrators. 
 (1)  A licensee shall possess and use a dose calibrator to measure 
the activity of dosages of photon-emitting radionuclides prior to 
administration to each patient or human research subject. 
 (2)  A licensee shall: 
 (a)  check each dose calibrator for constancy with a dedicated 
check source at the beginning of each day of use.  To satisfy this 
requirement, the check shall be done on a frequently used setting with a 
sealed source of not less than 370 kBq (ten uCi) of radium-226 or 1.85 
MBq (50 uCi) for a photon-emitting radionuclide; 
 (b)  test each dose calibrator for accuracy upon installation and at 
least annually thereafter by assaying at least two sealed sources 
containing different radionuclides whose activity the manufacturer has 
determined within five percent of its stated activity, whose activity is at 
least 370 kBq (ten uCi) for radium-226 and 1.85 MBq (50 uCi) for a 
photon-emitting radionuclide, and at least one of which has a principal 
photon energy between 100 keV and 500 keV; 
 (c)  test each dose calibrator for linearity upon installation and at 
least quarterly thereafter over a range from the highest dosage that will 
be administered to a patient or human research subject to 1.1 MBq (30 
uCi); and 
 (d)  test each dose calibrator for geometry dependence upon 
installation over the range of volumes and volume configurations for 
which it will be used.  The licensee shall keep a record of this test for 
the duration of the use of the dose calibrator. 
 (3)  A licensee shall also perform appropriate checks and tests 
required by R313-32-50 following adjustment or repair of the dose 
calibrator. 
 (4)  A licensee shall mathematically correct dosage readings for 
geometry or linearity errors that exceed ten percent if the dosage is 
greater than 370 kBq (ten uCi) and shall repair or replace the dose 
calibrator if the accuracy or constancy error exceeds ten percent. 
 (5)  A licensee shall retain a record of each check and test required 
by R313-32-50 for three years unless directed otherwise.  The records 
required in R313-32-50(2)(a) through (2)(d) shall include: 
 (a) for R313-32-50(2)(a), the model and serial number of the dose 
calibrator, the identity of the radionuclide contained in the check 
source, the date of the check, the activity measured, and the initials of 
the individual who performed the check; 
 (b)  for R313-32-50(2)(b), the model and serial number of the 
dose calibrator, the model and serial number of each source used, the 
identity of the radionuclide contained in the source and its activity, the 
date of the test, the results of the test, and the identity of the individual 
performing the test; 
 (c)  for R313-32-50(2)(c), the model and serial number of the dose 
calibrator, the calculated activities, the measured activities, the date of 
the test, and the identity of the individual performing the test; and 
 (d)  for R313-32-50(2)(d), the model and serial number of the 
dose calibrator, the configuration of the source measured, the activity 
measured for each volume measured, the date of the test, and the 
identity of the individual performing the test. 
 

R313-32-51.  Calibration and Check of Survey Instruments. 
 (1)  A licensee shall calibrate the survey instruments used to show 
compliance with R313-32 before first use, annually, and following 
repair.  The licensee shall: 
 (a)  calibrate all scales with readings up to ten mSv (1000 mrem) 
per hour with a radiation source; 
 (b)  calibrate two separated readings on each scale that shall be 
calibrated.  The readings shall be separated by 50 percent of the scale 
reading; and 
 (c)  conspicuously note on the instrument the apparent exposure 
rate from a dedicated check source as determined at the time of 
calibration, and the date of calibration. 
 (2)  When calibrating a survey instrument, the licensee shall 
consider a point as calibrated if the indicated exposure rate differs from 
the calculated exposure rate by not more than 20 percent, and shall 
conspicuously attach a correction chart or graph to the instrument. 
 (3)  A licensee shall check each survey instrument for proper 
operation with the dedicated check source each day of use.  A licensee 
is not required to keep records of these checks. 
 (4)  A licensee shall retain a record of each survey instrument 
calibration for three years.  The record shall include: 
 (a)  a description of the calibration procedure; and 
 (b)  the date of the calibration, a description of the source used and 
the certified exposure rates from the source, and the rates indicated by 
the instrument being calibrated, the correction factors deduced from the 
calibration data, and the signature of the individual who performed the 
calibration. 
 
R313-32-52.  Possession, Use, Calibration, and Check of 
Instruments to Measure Dosages or Alpha- or Beta-emitting 
Radionuclides. 
 (1) R313-32-52 does not apply to unit dosages of alpha- or beta-
emitting radionuclides that are obtained from a manufacturer or 
preparer licensed pursuant to R313-22-75(9) or equivalent requirements 
of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission or an Agreement State. 
 (2) For other than unit dosages obtained pursuant to R313-32-
52(1), a licensee shall possess and use instrumentation to measure the 
radioactivity of alpha- or beta-emitting radionuclides.  The licensee 
shall have procedures for use of the instrumentation.  The licensee shall 
measure, by direct measurement or by combination of measurements 
and calculations, the amount of radioactivity in dosages of alpha- or 
beta-emitting radionuclides prior to administration to each patient or 
human research subject.  In addition, the licensee shall: 
 (a) perform tests before initial use, periodically, and following 
repair, on each instrument for accuracy, linearity, and geometry 
dependence, as appropriate for the use of the instrument; and make 
adjustments when necessary; and 
 (b) check each instrument for constancy and proper operation at 
the beginning of each day of use. 
 
R313-32-53.  Measurement of Dosages of Unsealed Radioactive 
Material for Medical Use. 
 A licensee shall: 
 (1)  measure the activity of each dosage of a photon-emitting 
radionuclide prior to medical use; 
 (2)  measure, by direct measurement or by combination of 
measurements and calculations, the activity of each dosage of an alpha- 
or beta-emitting radionuclide prior to medical use, except for unit 
dosages obtained from a manufacturer or preparer licensed pursuant to 
R313-22-75(9) or equivalent requirements of the Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission or an Agreement State; and 
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 (3)  retain a record of the measurements required by R313-32-53 
for three years.  To satisfy this requirement, the record shall contain the 
following: 
 (a)  generic name, trade name, or abbreviation of the 
radiopharmaceutical, its lot number, and expiration dates and the 
radionuclide; 
 (b)  patient's or human research subject's name, and identification 
number if one has been assigned; 
 (c)  prescribed dosage and activity of the dosage at the time of 
measurement, or a notation that the total activity is less than 1.1 MBq 
(30 uCi); 
 (d)  date and time of the measurement; and 
 (e)  initials of the individual who made the record. 
 
R313-32-57.  Authorization for Calibration and Reference Sources. 
 Persons authorized by R313-32-11 for medical use of radioactive 
material may receive, possess, and use the following radioactive 
material for check, calibration, and reference use: 
 (1)  sealed sources manufactured and distributed by a person 
licensed pursuant to R313-22-75(10) or equivalent Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission or Agreement State regulations and that do not exceed 555 
MBq (15 mCi) each; 
 (2)  radioactive material listed in R313-32-100 or R313-32-200 
with a half-life not longer than 100 days in individual amounts not to 
exceed 555 MBq (15 mCi); 
 (3)  radioactive material listed in R313-32-100 or R313-32-200 
with a half-life longer than 100 days in individual amounts not to 
exceed 7.4 MBq (200 uCi); and 
 (4)  technetium-99m in individual amounts not to exceed 1.85 
GBq (50 mCi). 
 
R313-32-59.  Requirements for Possession of Sealed Sources and 
Brachytherapy Sources. 
 (1)  A licensee in possession of sealed sources or brachytherapy 
sources shall follow the radiation safety and handling instructions 
supplied by the manufacturer, and shall maintain the instructions for the 
duration of source use in a legible form convenient to users. 
 (2)  A licensee in possession of a sealed source shall: 
 (a)  test the source for leakage before its first use unless the 
licensee has a certificate from the supplier indicating that the source 
was tested within six months before transfer to the licensee; and 
 (b)  test the source for leakage at intervals not to exceed six 
months or at other intervals approved by the Executive Secretary, the 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission or an Agreement State and described 
in the label or brochure that accompanies the source. 
 (3)  To satisfy the leak test requirements of R313-32-59, the 
licensee must: 
 (a)  take a wipe sample from the sealed source or from the 
surfaces of the device in which the sealed source is mounted or stored 
on which radioactive contamination might be expected to accumulate 
or wash the source in a small volume of detergent solution and treat the 
entire volume as the sample; 
 (b)  take teletherapy and other device source test samples when the 
source is in the "off" position; and 
 (c)  measure the sample so that the leakage test can detect the 
presence of 185 Bq (0.005 uCi) of radioactive material on the sample. 
 (4)  A licensee shall retain leakage test records for five years.  The 
records shall contain the model number, the serial number if assigned, 
of each source tested, the identity of each source radionuclide and its 
estimated activity, the measured activity of each test sample expressed 
in becquerels or microcuries, a description of the method used to 

measure each test sample, the date of the test, and the signature of the 
Radiation Safety Officer. 
 (5)  If the leakage test reveals the presence of 185 Bq (0.005 uCi) 
or more of removable contamination, the licensee shall: 
 (a)  immediately withdraw the sealed source from use and store it 
in accordance with the requirements in R313-15; and 
 (b)  file a report within five days of the leakage test with the 
Executive Secretary describing the equipment involved, the test results, 
and the action taken. 
 (6)  A licensee need not perform a leakage test on the following 
sources: 
 (a)  sources containing only radioactive material with a half-life of 
less than 30 days; 
 (b)  sources containing only radioactive material as a gas; 
 (c)  sources containing 3.7 MBq (100 uCi) or less of beta or 
gamma-emitting material or 370 kBq (ten uCi) or less of alpha-emitting 
material; 
 (d)  sources stored and not being used.  The licensee shall, 
however, test each source for leakage before use or transfer unless it 
has been leakage-tested within six months before the date of use or 
transfer; and 
 (e)  seeds of iridium-192 encased in nylon ribbon. 
 (7)  A licensee in possession of a sealed source or brachytherapy 
source shall conduct a quarterly physical inventory of all sources in its 
possession.  The licensee shall retain inventory records for five years.  
The inventory records shall contain the model number of each source, 
and serial number if one has been assigned, the identity of each source 
radionuclide and its nominal activity, the location of each source, and 
the signature of the Radiation Safety Officer. 
 (8)  A licensee in possession of a sealed source or brachytherapy 
source shall measure the ambient dose rates quarterly in all areas where 
sources are stored.  This does not apply to teletherapy sources in 
teletherapy units or sealed sources in diagnostic devices. 
 (9)  A licensee shall retain a record of each survey required in 
R313-32-59(8) for three years.  The record shall include the date of the 
survey, a plan of each area that was surveyed, the measured dose rate at 
several points in each area expressed in microsieverts or millirem per 
hour, the survey instrument used, and the signature of the Radiation 
Safety Officer. 
 
R313-32-60.  Syringe Shields and Labels. 
 (1)  A licensee shall keep syringes that contain radioactive 
material to be administered in a radiation shield. 
 (2)  To identify its contents, a licensee shall conspicuously label 
each syringe or syringe radiation shield that contains a syringe with a 
radiopharmaceutical.  The label shall show the radiopharmaceutical 
name or its abbreviation, the clinical procedure to be performed, or the 
patient's or the human research subject's name. 
 (3)  A licensee shall require each individual who prepares a 
radiopharmaceutical kit to use a syringe radiation shield when 
preparing the kit and shall require each individual to use a syringe 
radiation shield when administering a radiopharmaceutical by injection 
unless the use of the shield is contraindicated for that patient or human 
research subject. 
 
R313-32-61.  Vial Shields and Labels. 
 (1)  A licensee shall require each individual preparing or handling 
a vial that contains a radiopharmaceutical to keep the vial in a vial 
radiation shield. 
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 (2)  To identify its contents, a licensee shall conspicuously label 
each vial radiation shield that contains a vial of a radiopharmaceutical.  
The label shall show the radiopharmaceutical name or its abbreviation. 
 
R313-32-70.  Surveys for Contamination and Ambient Radiation 
Exposure Rate. 
 (1)  A licensee shall survey with a radiation detection survey 
instrument at the end of each day of use all areas where 
radiopharmaceuticals are routinely prepared for use or administered. 
 (2)  A licensee shall survey with a radiation detection survey 
instrument at least once each week all areas where 
radiopharmaceuticals or radiopharmaceutical waste is stored. 
 (3)  A licensee shall conduct the surveys required by R313-32-
70(1) and (2) so as to be able to detect dose rates as low as one uSv (0.1 
mrem) per hour. 
 (4)  A licensee shall establish radiation dose rate trigger levels for 
the surveys required by R313-32-70(1) and (2).  A licensee shall 
require that the individual performing the survey immediately notify 
the Radiation Safety Officer if a dose rate exceeds a trigger level. 
 (5)  A licensee shall survey for removable contamination once 
each week all areas where radiopharmaceuticals are routinely prepared 
for use, administered, or stored. 
 (6)  A licensee shall conduct the survey required by R313-32-
70(5) so as to be able to detect contamination on each wipe sample of 
2200 disintegrations per minute, (0.001 uCi or 37 Bq). 
 (7)  A licensee shall establish removable contamination trigger 
levels for the surveys required by R313-32-70(5).  A licensee shall 
require that the individual performing the survey immediately notify 
the Radiation Safety Officer if contamination exceeds the trigger level. 
 (8)  A licensee shall retain a record of each survey for three years. 
 The record shall include the date of the survey, a plan of each area 
surveyed, the trigger level established for each area, the detected dose 
rate at several points in each area expressed in microsieverts or 
millirem per hour or the removable contamination in each area 
expressed in disintegrations per minute (becquerels or curies) per 100 
square centimeters, the instrument used to make the survey or analyze 
the samples, and the initials of the individual who performed the 
survey. 
 
R313-32-75.  Release of Individuals Containing 
Radiopharmaceuticals or Permanent Implants. 
 (1)  The licensee may authorize the release from its control of any 
individual who has been administered radiopharmaceuticals or 
permanent implants containing radioactive material if the total effective 
dose equivalent to any other individual from exposure to the released 
individual is not likely to exceed 5 mSv (0.5 rem). 
 NOTE: The Nuclear Regulatory Commission Regulatory Guide 
8.39, "Release of Patients Administered Radioactive Materials," 
describes methods for calculating doses to other individuals and 
contains tables of activities not likely to cause doses exceeding 5 mSv 
(0.5 rem). 
 (2)  The licensee shall provide the released individual with 
instructions, including written instructions, on actions recommended to 
maintain doses to other individuals as low as is reasonably achievable if 
the total effective dose equivalent to any other individual is likely to 
exceed 1 mSv (0.1 rem).  If the dose to a breast-feeding infant or child 
could exceed 1 mSv (0.1 rem) assuming there were no interruption of 
breast-feeding, the instructions shall also include: 
 (a)  guidance on the interruption or discontinuation of breast-
feeding, and 

 (b)  information on the consequences of failure to follow the 
guidance. 
 (3)  The licensee shall maintain a record of the basis for 
authorizing the release of an individual, for three years after the date of 
release, if the total effective dose equivalent is calculated by: 
 (a)  using the retained activity rather than the activity 
administered, 
 (b)  using an occupancy factor less than 0.25 at 1 meter, 
 (c)  using the biological or effective half-life, or 
 (d)  considering the shielding by tissue. 
 (4)  The licensee shall maintain a record, for three years after the 
date of release, that instructions were provided to a breast-feeding 
woman if the radiation dose to the infant or child from continued 
breast-feeding could result in a total effective dose equivalent 
exceeding 5 mSv (0.5 rem). 
 
R313-32-80.  Technical Requirements that Apply to the Providers 
of Mobile Nuclear Medicine Service. 
 A licensee providing mobile nuclear medicine service shall: 
 (1)  transport to each address of use only syringes or vials 
containing prepared radiopharmaceuticals or radiopharmaceuticals that 
are intended for reconstitution of radiopharmaceutical kits; 
 (2)  bring into each address of use all radioactive material to be 
used and, before leaving, remove all unused radioactive material and all 
associated waste; 
 (3)  secure or keep under constant surveillance and immediate 
control all radioactive material when in transit or at an address of use; 
 (4)  check survey instruments and dose calibrators as described in 
R313-32-50 and R313-32-51 and check all other transported equipment 
for proper function before medical use at each address of use; 
 (5)  carry a radiation detection survey meter in each vehicle that is 
being used to transport radioactive material, and, before leaving a client 
address of use, survey all radiopharmaceutical areas of use with a 
radiation detection survey meter to ensure that all radiopharmaceuticals 
and all associated waste have been removed; and 
 (6)  retain a record of each survey required in R313-32-80(5) for 
three years.  The record shall include the date of the survey, a plan of 
each area that was surveyed, the measured dose rate at several points in 
each area of use expressed in microsieverts or millirems per hour, the 
instrument used to make the survey, and the initials of the individual 
who performed the survey. 
 
R313-32-90.  Storage of Volatiles and Gases. 
 A licensee shall store volatile radiopharmaceuticals and 
radioactive gases in the shipper's radiation shield and container.  A 
licensee shall store a multi-dose container in a fume hood after drawing 
the first dosage from it. 
 
R313-32-92.  Decay-In-Storage. 
 (1)  A licensee may hold radioactive material with a physical half-
life of less than 65 days for decay-in-storage before disposal in ordinary 
trash and is exempt from the requirements of R313-15-1001 if it: 
 (a)  holds radioactive material for decay a minimum of ten half-
lives; 
 (b)  monitors radioactive material at the container surface before 
disposal as ordinary trash and determines that its radioactivity cannot 
be distinguished from the background radiation level with a radiation 
detection survey meter set on its most sensitive scale and with no 
interposed shielding; 
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 (c)  removes or obliterates all radiation labels; and 
 (d)  separates and monitors each generator column individually 
with radiation shielding removed to ensure that it has decayed to 
background radiation level before disposal. 
 (2)  A licensee shall retain a record of each disposal permitted 
under R313-32-92(1) for three years.  The record shall include the date 
of the disposal, the date on which the radioactive material was placed in 
storage, the radionuclides disposed, the survey instrument used, the 
background dose rate, the dose rate measured at the surface of each 
waste container, and the name of the individual who performed the 
disposal. 
 
R313-32-100.  Use of Unsealed Radioactive Material for Uptake, 
Dilution, and Excretion Studies. 
 A licensee may use for uptake, dilution, or excretion studies any 
unsealed radioactive material prepared for medical use that is either: 
 (1)  obtained from a manufacturer or preparer licensed pursuant to 
R313-22-75(9) or equivalent requirements of the Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission or an Agreement State; or 
 (2)  prepared by an authorized nuclear pharmacist, a physician 
who is an authorized user and who meets the requirements specified in 
R313-32-920, or an individual under the supervision of either as 
specified in R313-32-25. 
 
R313-32-120.  Possession of Survey Instrument. 
 A licensee authorized to use radioactive material for uptake, 
dilution, and excretion studies shall have in its possession a portable 
radiation detection survey instrument capable of detecting dose rates 
over the range one uSv (0.1 mrem) per hour to one mSv (100 mrem) 
per hour. 
 
R313-32-200.  Use of Unsealed Radioactive Material for Imaging 
and Localization Studies. 
 A licensee may use for imaging and localization studies any 
unsealed radioactive material prepared for medical use that is either: 
 (1)  obtained from a manufacturer or preparer licensed pursuant to 
R313-22-75(9) or equivalent requirements of the Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission or an Agreement State; or 
 (2)  prepared by an authorized nuclear pharmacist, a physician 
who is an authorized user and who meets the requirements specified in 
R313-32-920, or an individual under the supervision of either as 
specified in R313-32-25. 
 
R313-32-204.  Permissible Molybdenum-99 Concentration. 
 (1)  A licensee shall not administer to humans a 
radiopharmaceutical containing more than 5.55 kBq (0.15 uCi) of 
molybdenum-99 per 37.0 MBq (one mCi) of technetium-99m. 
 (2)  A licensee that uses molybdenum-99/technetium-99m 
generators for preparing a technetium-99m radiopharmaceutical shall 
measure the molybdenum-99 concentration in each elute or extract. 
 (3)  A licensee that is required to measure molybdenum 
concentration shall retain a record of each measurement for three years. 
 The record shall include, for each elution or extraction of technetium-
99m, the measured activity of the technetium expressed in 
megabecquerels or millicuries, the measured activity of the 
molybdenum expressed in kilobecquerels or microcuries, the ratio of 
the measures expressed as kilobecquerels or microcuries of 
molybdenum per megabecquerels or millicuries of technetium, the time 
and date of the measurement, and the initials of the individual who 
made the measurement. 
 

R313-32-205.  Control of Aerosols and Gases. 
 (1)  A licensee that administers radioactive aerosols or gases shall 
do so in a room with a system that will keep airborne concentrations 
within the limits prescribed in R313-15-201(4) and R313-15-301.  The 
system shall either be directly vented to the atmosphere through an air 
exhaust or provide for collection and decay or disposal of the aerosol or 
gas in a shielded container. 
 (2)  A licensee shall administer radioactive gases in rooms that are 
at negative pressure compared to surrounding rooms. 
 (3)  Before receiving, using, or storing a radioactive gas, the 
licensee shall calculate the amount of time needed after a spill to reduce 
the concentration in the room to the occupational limit as specified in 
R313-15-201.  The calculation shall be based on the highest activity of 
gas handled in a single container, the air volume of the room, and the 
measured available air exhaust rate. 
 (4)  A licensee shall make a record of the calculations required in 
R313-32-205(3) that includes the assumptions, measurements, and 
calculations made and shall retain the record for the duration of use of 
the area.  A licensee shall also post the calculated time and safety 
measures to be instituted in case of a spill at the area of use. 
 (5)  A licensee shall check the operation of reusable collection 
systems each month, and measure the ventilation rates available in 
areas of radioactive gas use each six months.  Records of the 
measurement shall be kept for three years. 
 
R313-32-220.  Possession of Survey Instruments. 
 A licensee authorized to use radioactive material for imaging and 
localization studies shall have in its possession a portable radiation 
detection survey instrument capable of detecting dose rates over the 
range of one uSv (0.1 mrem) per hour to one mSv (100 mrem) per 
hour, and a portable radiation measurement survey instrument capable 
of measuring dose rates over the range ten uSv (one mrem) per hour to 
ten mSv (1000 mrem) per hour. 
 
R313-32-300.  Use of Unsealed Radioactive Material for 
Therapeutic Administration. 
 A licensee may use for therapeutic administration any unsealed 
radioactive material prepared for medical use that is either: 
 (1)  obtained from a manufacturer or preparer licensed pursuant to 
R313-22-75(9) or equivalent requirements of the Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission or an Agreement State; or 
 (2)  prepared by an authorized nuclear pharmacist, a physician 
who is an authorized user and who meets the requirements specified in 
R313-32-920, or an individual under the supervision of either as 
specified in R313-32-25. 
 
R313-32-310.  Safety Instruction. 
 (1)  A licensee shall provide radiation safety instruction for all 
personnel caring for the patient or the human research subject receiving 
radiopharmaceutical therapy and hospitalized for compliance with 
R313-32-75.  To satisfy this requirement, the instruction shall describe 
the licensee's procedures for: 
 (a)  patient or human research subject control; 
 (b)  visitor control; 
 (c)  contamination control; 
 (d)  waste control; and 
 (e)  notification of the Radiation Safety Officer in case of the 
patient's or the human research subjects's death or medical emergency. 
 (2)  A licensee shall keep for three years a list of individuals 
receiving instruction required by R313-32-310(1), a description of the 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 27748 

 
50 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 1, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 7 

instruction, the date of instruction, and the name of the individual who 
gave the instruction. 
 
R313-32-315.  Safety Precautions. 
 (1)  For each patient or human research subject receiving 
radiopharmaceutical therapy and hospitalized for compliance with 
R313-32-75, a licensee shall: 
 (a)  provide a private room with a private sanitary facility; 
 (b)  post the patient's or the human research subject's door with a 
"Radioactive Materials" sign and note on the door or in the patient's or 
the human research subject's chart where and how long visitors may 
stay in the patient's or the human research subject's room; 
 (c)  authorize visits by individuals under age 18 only on a case-by-
case basis with the approval of the authorized user after consultation 
with the Radiation Safety Officer; 
 (d)  promptly after administration of the dosage, measure the dose 
rates in contiguous restricted and unrestricted areas with a radiation 
measurement survey instrument to demonstrate compliance with the 
requirements of R313-15, and retain for three years a record of each 
survey that includes the time and date of the survey, a plan of the area 
or list of points surveyed, the measured dose rate at several points 
expressed in microsieverts or millirem per hour, the instrument used to 
make the survey, and the initials of the individual who made the 
survey; 
 (e)  either monitor material and items removed from the patient's 
or the human research subject's room to determine that their 
radioactivity cannot be distinguished from the natural background 
radiation level with a radiation detection survey instrument set on its 
most sensitive scale and with no interposed shielding, or handle them as 
radioactive waste; 
 (f)  survey the patient's or the human research subject's room and 
private sanitary facility for removable contamination with a radiation 
detection survey instrument before assigning another patient or human 
research subject to the room.  The room shall not be reassigned until 
removable contamination is less than 200 disintegrations per minute per 
100 square centimeters; and 
 (g)  measure the thyroid burden of each individual who helped 
prepare or administer a dosage of iodine-131 within three days after 
administering the dosage, and retain for the period required by R313-
15-1107 a record of each thyroid burden measurement, its date, the 
name of the individual whose thyroid burden was measured, and the 
initials of the individual who made the measurements. 
 (2)  A licensee shall notify the Radiation Safety Officer 
immediately if the patient or the human research subject dies or has a 
medical emergency. 
 
R313-32-320.  Possession of Survey Instruments. 
 A licensee authorized to use radioactive material for 
radiopharmaceutical therapy shall have in its possession a portable 
radiation detection survey instrument capable of detecting dose rates 
over the range one uSv (0.1 mrem) per hour to one mSv (100 mrem) 
per hour, and a portable radiation measurement survey instrument 
capable of measuring dose rates over the range ten uSv (one mrem) per 
hour to ten mSv (1000 mrem) per hour. 
 
R313-32-400.  Use of Sources for Brachytherapy. 
 A licensee shall use the following sources in accordance with the 
manufacturer's radiation safety and handling instructions: 
 (1)  Cesium-137 as a sealed source in needles and applicator cells 
for topical, interstitial, and intracavitary treatment of cancer; 

 (2)  Cobalt-60 as a sealed source in needles and applicator cells for 
topical, interstitial, and intracavitary treatment of cancer; 
 (3)  Gold-198 as a sealed source in seeds for interstitial treatment 
of cancer; 
 (4)  Iridium-192 as seeds encased in nylon ribbon for interstitial 
and intracavitary treatment of cancer and as seeds for topical treatment 
of cancer; 
 (5)  Strontium-90 as a sealed source in an applicator for treatment 
of superficial eye conditions; 
 (6)  Iodine-125 as a sealed source in seeds for topical, interstitial 
and intracavitary treatment of cancer; 
 (7)  Palladium-103 as a sealed source in seeds for interstitial 
treatment of cancer. 
 
R313-32-404.  Release of Patients or Human Research Subjects 
Treated With Temporary Implants. 
 (1)  Immediately after removing the last temporary implant source 
from a patient or a human research subject, the licensee shall make a 
radiation survey of the patient or the human research subject with a 
radiation detection survey instrument to confirm that all sources have 
been removed.  The licensee shall not release from confinement for 
medical care a patient or a human research subject treated by temporary 
implant until all sources have been removed. 
 (2)  A licensee shall retain a record of patient or human research 
subject surveys for three years.  Each record shall include the date of 
the survey, the name of the patient or the human research subject, the 
dose rate from the patient or the human research subject expressed as 
microsieverts per hour or millirem per hour and measured at one meter 
from the patient or the human research subject, the survey instrument 
used, and the initials of the individual who made the survey. 
 
R313-32-406.  Brachytherapy Sources Inventory. 
 (1)  Promptly after removing them from a patient or a human 
research subject, a licensee shall return brachytherapy sources to the 
storage area, and count the number returned to ensure that all sources 
taken from the storage area have been returned. 
 (2)  A licensee shall make a record of brachytherapy source use 
which shall include: 
 (a)  the names of the individuals permitted to handle the sources; 
 (b)  the number and activity of sources removed from storage, the 
patient's or the human research subject's name and room number, the 
time and date they were removed from storage, the number and activity 
of the sources in storage after the removal, and the initials of the 
individual who removed the sources from storage; and 
 (c)  the number and activity of sources returned to storage, the 
patient's or the human research subject's name and room number, the 
time and date they were returned to storage, the number and activity of 
sources in storage after the return, and the initials of the individual who 
returned the sources to storage. 
 (3)  Immediately after implanting sources in a patient or a human 
research subject the licensee shall make a radiation survey of the patient 
or the human research subject and the area of use to confirm that no 
sources have been misplaced.  The licensee shall make a record of each 
survey. 
 (4)  A licensee shall retain the records required in R313-32-406(2) 
and (3) for three years. 
 
R313-32-410.  Safety Instruction. 
 (1)  The licensee shall provide radiation safety instruction to all 
personnel caring for the patient or the human research subject 
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undergoing implant therapy.  To satisfy this requirement, the 
instruction shall describe: 
 (a)  size and appearance of the brachytherapy sources; 
 (b)  safe handling and shielding instructions in case of a dislodged 
source; 
 (c)  procedures for patient or human research subject control; 
 (d)  procedures for visitor control; and 
 (e)  procedures for notification of the Radiation Safety Officer if 
the patient or the human research subject dies or has a medical 
emergency. 
 (2)  A licensee shall retain for three years a record of individuals 
receiving instruction required by R313-32-410(1), a description of the 
instruction, the date of instruction, and the name of the individual who 
gave the instruction. 
 
R313-32-415.  Safety Precautions. 
 (1)  For each patient or human research subject receiving implant 
therapy and not released from licensee control pursuant to R313-32-75, 
a licensee shall: 
 (a)  not quarter the patient or the human research subject in the 
same room with an individual who is not receiving radiation therapy; 
 (b)  post the patient's or human research subject's door with a 
"Radioactive Materials" sign and note on the door or in the patient's or 
human research subject's chart where and how long visitors may stay in 
the patient's or human research subject's room; 
 (c)  authorize visits by individuals under age 18 only on a case-by-
case basis with the approval of the authorized user after consultation 
with the Radiation Safety Officer; 
 (d)  promptly after implanting the material, survey the dose rates 
in contiguous restricted and unrestricted areas with a radiation 
measurement survey instrument to demonstrate compliance with the 
requirements of R313-15, and retain for three years a record of each 
survey that includes the time and date of the survey, a plan of the area 
or list of points surveyed, the measured dose rate at several points 
expressed in microsieverts or millirem per hour, the instrument used to 
make the survey, and the initials of the individual who made the 
survey; and 
 (e)  provide the patient or the human research subject with 
radiation safety guidance that will help to keep radiation dose to 
household members and the public as low as reasonably achievable 
before releasing the individual if the individual was administered a 
permanent implant. 
 (2)  A licensee shall notify the Radiation Safety Officer 
immediately if the patient or the human research subject dies or has a 
medical emergency. 
 
R313-32-420.  Possession of Survey Instrument. 
 A licensee authorized to use radioactive material for implant 
therapy shall have in its possession a portable radiation detection 
survey instrument capable of detecting dose rates over the range one 
uSv (0.1 mrem) per hour to one mSv (100 mrem) per hour, and a 
portable radiation measurement survey instrument capable of 
measuring dose rates over the range ten uSv (one mrem) per hour to ten 
mSv (1000 mrem) per hour. 
 
R313-32-500.  Use of Sealed Sources for Diagnosis. 
 A licensee shall use the following sealed sources in accordance 
with the manufacturer's radiation safety and handling instructions: 
 (1)  iodine-125, americium-241, or gadolinium-153 as a sealed 
source in a device for bone mineral analysis; and 
 (2)  iodine-125 as a sealed source in a portable imaging device. 

R313-32-520.  Availability of Survey Instrument. 
 A licensee authorized to use radioactive material as a sealed 
source for diagnostic purposes shall have available for use a portable 
radiation detection survey instrument capable of detecting dose rates 
over the range one uSv (0.1 mrem) per hour to one mSv per hour to 
(100 mrem) per hour or a portable radiation measurement survey 
instrument capable of measuring dose rates over the range ten uSv (one 
mrem) per hour to ten mSv (1000 mrem) per hour.  The instrument 
shall be calibrated in accordance with R313-32-51. 
 
R313-32-600.  Use of a Sealed Source in a Teletherapy Unit. 
 The rules and provisions of R313-32-600 through R313-32-647 
govern the use of teletherapy units for medical use that contain a sealed 
source of cobalt-60 or cesium-137. 
 
R313-32-605.  Maintenance and Repair Restrictions. 
 Only a person specifically licensed by the Executive Secretary, the 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission, or an Agreement State to perform 
teletherapy unit maintenance and repair shall: 
 (1)  install, relocate, or remove a teletherapy sealed source or a 
teletherapy unit that contains a sealed source; or 
 (2)  maintain, adjust, or repair the source drawer, the shutter or 
other mechanism of a teletherapy unit that could expose the source, 
reduce the shielding around the source, or result in increased radiation 
levels. 
 
R313-32-606.  License Amendments. 
 In addition to the changes specified in R313-32-13, a licensee 
shall apply for and shall receive a license amendment before: 
 (1)  making any change in the treatment room shielding; 
 (2)  making any change in the location of the teletherapy unit 
within the treatment room; 
 (3)  using the teletherapy unit in a manner that could result in 
increased radiation levels in areas outside the teletherapy treatment 
room; 
 (4)  relocating the teletherapy unit; or 
 (5)  allowing an individual not listed on the licensee's license to 
perform the duties of the teletherapy physicist. 
 
R313-32-610.  Safety Instruction. 
 (1)  A licensee shall post instructions at the teletherapy unit 
console.  To satisfy this requirement, these instructions shall inform the 
operator of: 
 (a)  the procedure to be followed to ensure that only the patient or 
the human research subject is in the treatment room before turning the 
primary beam of radiation on to begin a treatment or after a door 
interlock interruption; and 
 (b)  the procedure to be followed if: 
 (i)  the operator is unable to turn the primary beam of radiation off 
with controls outside the treatment room or any other abnormal 
operation occurs; and 
 (ii) the names and telephone numbers of the authorized users and 
Radiation Safety Officer to be immediately contacted if the teletherapy 
unit or console operates abnormally. 
 (2)  A licensee shall provide instruction in the topics identified in 
R313-32-610(1) to individuals who operate a teletherapy unit. 
 (3)  A licensee shall retain for three years a record of individuals 
receiving instruction required by R313-32-610(2), a description of the 
instruction, the date of instruction, and the name of the individual who 
gave the instruction. 
 



NOTICES OF PROPOSED RULES DAR File No. 27748 

 
52 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 1, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 7 

R313-32-615.  Safety Precautions. 
 (1)  A licensee shall control access to the teletherapy room by a 
door at each entrance. 
 (2)  A licensee shall equip each entrance to the teletherapy room 
with an electrical interlock system that will: 
 (a)  prevent the operator from turning the primary beam of 
radiation on unless each treatment room entrance door is closed; 
 (b)  turn the primary beam of radiation off immediately when an 
entrance door is opened; and 
 (c)  prevent the primary beam of radiation from being turned on 
following an interlock interruption until all treatment room entrance 
doors are closed and the beam on-off control is reset at the console. 
 (3)  A licensee shall equip each entrance to the teletherapy room 
with a beam condition indicator light. 
 (4)  A licensee shall install in each teletherapy room a permanent 
radiation monitor capable of continuously monitoring beam status. 
 (a)  A radiation monitor shall provide visible notice of a 
teletherapy unit malfunction that results in an exposed or partially 
exposed source, and shall be observable by an individual entering the 
teletherapy room. 
 (b)  A radiation monitor shall be equipped with a backup power 
supply separate from the power supply to the teletherapy unit.  This 
backup power supply may be a battery system. 
 (c)  A radiation monitor shall be checked with a dedicated check 
source for proper operation each day before the teletherapy unit is used 
for treatment of patients or human research subjects. 
 (d)  A licensee shall maintain a record of the check required by 
R313-32-615(4)(c) for three years.  The record shall include the date of 
the check, notation that the monitor indicates when its detector is and is 
not exposed, and the initials of the individual who performed the check. 
 (e)  If a radiation monitor is inoperable, the licensee shall require 
individuals entering the teletherapy room to use a survey instrument or 
audible alarm personal dosimeter to monitor for malfunction of the 
source exposure mechanism that may result in an exposed or partially 
exposed source.  The instrument or dosimeter shall be checked with a 
dedicated check source for proper operation at the beginning of each 
day of use.  The licensee shall keep a record as described in R313-32-
615(4)(d). 
 (f)  A licensee shall promptly repair or replace the radiation 
monitor if it is inoperable. 
 (5)  A licensee shall construct or equip each teletherapy room to 
permit continuous observation of the patient or the human research 
subject from the teletherapy unit console during irradiation. 
 
R313-32-620.  Possession of Survey Instrument. 
 A licensee authorized to use radioactive material in a teletherapy 
unit shall have in its possession either a portable radiation detection 
survey instrument capable of detecting dose rates over the range one 
uSv (0.1 mrem) per hour to one mSv (100 mrem) per hour or a portable 
radiation measurement survey instrument capable of measuring dose 
rates over the range ten uSv (one mrem) per hour to ten mSv (1000 
mrem) per hour. 
 
R313-32-630.  Dosimetry Equipment. 
 (1)  A licensee shall have a calibrated dosimetry system available 
for use.  To satisfy this requirement, one of the following two 
conditions shall be met: 
 (a)  The system shall be calibrated by the National Institute of 
Standards and Technology or by a calibration laboratory accredited by 
the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM).  The 

calibration shall have been performed within the previous two years 
and after any servicing that may have affected system calibration. 
 (b)  The system shall have been calibrated within the previous four 
years; eighteen to thirty months after that calibration, the system shall 
have been intercompared at an intercomparison meeting with another 
dosimetry system that was calibrated within the past twenty-four 
months by the National Bureau of Standards or by a calibration 
laboratory accredited by the AAPM.  The intercomparison meeting 
shall be sanctioned by a calibration laboratory or radiologic physics 
center accredited by the AAPM.  The results of the intercomparison 
meeting shall have indicated that the calibration factor of the licensee's 
system had not changed by more than two percent.  The licensee shall 
not use the intercomparison result to change the calibration factor.  
When intercomparing dosimetry systems to be used for calibrating 
cobalt-60 teletherapy units, the licensee shall use a teletherapy unit with 
a cobalt-60 source.  When intercomparing dosimetry systems to be 
used for calibrating cesium-137 teletherapy units, the licensee shall use 
a teletherapy unit with a cesium-137 source. 
 (2)  The licensee shall have available for use a dosimetry system 
for spot-check measurements.  To satisfy this requirement, the system 
may be compared with a system that has been calibrated in accordance 
with R313-32-630(1).  This comparison shall have been performed 
within the previous year and after each servicing that may have affected 
system calibration.  The spot-check system may be the same system 
used to meet the requirement in R313-32-630(1). 
 (3)  The licensee shall retain a record of each calibration, 
intercomparison, and comparison for the duration of the license.  For 
each calibration, intercomparison, or comparison, the record shall 
include the date, the model numbers and serial numbers of the 
instruments that were calibrated, intercompared, or compared as 
required by R313-32-630(1) and (2), the correction factor that was 
determined from the calibration or comparison or the apparent 
correction factor that was determined from an intercomparison, the 
names of the individuals who performed the calibration, 
intercomparison, or comparison, and evidence that the intercomparison 
meeting was sanctioned by a calibration laboratory or radiologic 
physics center accredited by AAPM. 
 
R313-32-632.  Full Calibration Measurements. 
 (1)  A licensee authorized to use a teletherapy unit for medical use 
shall perform full calibration measurements on each teletherapy unit: 
 (a)  before the first medical use of the unit; and 
 (b)  before medical use under the following conditions: 
 (i)  whenever spot-check measurements indicate that the output 
differs by more than five percent from the output obtained at the last 
full calibration corrected mathematically for radioactive decay; 
 (ii)  following replacement of the source or following 
reinstallation of the teletherapy unit in a new location; or 
 (iii)  following any repair of the teletherapy unit that includes 
removal of the source or major repair of the components associated 
with the source exposure assembly; and 
 (c)  at intervals not exceeding one year. 
 (2)  To satisfy the requirement of R313-32-632(1), full calibration 
measurements shall include determination of: 
 (a)  the output within plus or minus three percent for the range of 
field sizes and for the distance or range of distances used for medical 
use; 
 (b)  the coincidence of the radiation field and the field indicated by 
the light beam localizing device; 
 (c)  the uniformity of the radiation field and its dependence on the 
orientation of the useful beam; 
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 (d)  timer constancy and linearity over the range of use; 
 (e)  on-off error; and 
 (f)  the accuracy of all distance measuring and localization devices 
in medical use. 
 (3)  A licensee shall use the dosimetry system described in R313-
32-630(1) to measure the output for one set of exposure conditions.  
The remaining radiation measurements required in R313-32-632(2)(a) 
may be made using a dosimetry system that indicates relative dose 
rates. 
 (4)  A licensee shall make full calibration measurements required 
by R313-32-632(1) in accordance with either the procedures 
recommended by the Scientific Committee on Radiation Dosimetry of 
the American Association of Physicists in Medicine that are described 
in Physics in Medicine and Biology Vol. 16, No. 3, 1971, pp. 379-396, 
or by Task Group 21 of the Radiation Therapy Committee of the 
American Association of Physicists in Medicine that are described in 
Medical Physics Vol. 10, No. 6, 1983, pp. 741-711, and Vol. 11, No. 2, 
1984, p. 213. 
 (5)  A licensee shall correct mathematically the outputs 
determined in R313-32-632(2)(a) for physical decay for intervals not 
exceeding one month for cobalt-60 or six months for cesium-137. 
 (6)  Full calibration measurement required in R313-32-632(1) and 
physical decay corrections required by R313-32-632(5) shall be 
performed by the licensee teletherapy physicist. 
 (7)  A licensee shall retain a record of each calibration for the 
duration of the teletherapy unit source.  The record shall include the 
date of the calibration, the manufacturer's name, model number, and 
serial number for both the teletherapy unit and the source, the model 
numbers and serial numbers of the instruments used to calibrate the 
teletherapy unit, tables that describe the output of the unit over the 
range of field sizes and for the range of distances used in radiation 
therapy, a determination of the coincidence of the radiation field and 
the field indicated by the light beam localizing device, an assessment of 
timer linearity and constancy, the calculated on-off error, the estimated 
accuracy of each distance measuring or localization device, and the 
signature of the teletherapy physicist. 
 
R313-32-634.  Periodic Spot-Checks. 
 (1)  A licensee authorized to use teletherapy units for medical use 
shall perform output spot-checks on each teletherapy unit once in each 
calendar month that include determination of: 
 (a)  timer constancy, and timer linearity over the range of use; 
 (b)  on-off error; 
 (c)  the coincidence of the radiation field and the field indicated by 
the light beam localizing device; 
 (d)  the accuracy of all distance measuring and localization 
devices used for medical use; 
 (e)  the output for one typical set of operating conditions measured 
with the dosimetry system described in R313-32-630(2); and 
 (f)  the difference between the measurement made in R313-32-
634(2)(e) and the anticipated output, expressed as a percentage of the 
anticipated output (the value obtained at last full calibration corrected 
mathematically for physical decay). 
 (2)  A licensee shall perform measurements required by R313-32-
634(1) in accordance with procedures established by the teletherapy 
physicist.  That individual need not actually perform the spot-check 
measurements. 
 (3)  A licensee shall have the teletherapy physicist review the 
results of each spot-check within 15 days.  The teletherapy physicist 
shall promptly notify the licensee in writing of the results of each spot-

check.  The licensee shall keep a copy of each written notification for 
three years. 
 (4)  A licensee authorized to use a teletherapy unit for medical use 
shall perform safety spot-checks for each teletherapy facility once in 
each calendar month that assure proper operation of: 
 (a)  electrical interlocks at each teletherapy room entrance; 
 (b)  electrical or mechanical stops installed for the purpose of 
limiting use of the primary beam of radiation (restriction of source 
housing angulation or elevation, carriage or stand travel and operation 
of the beam on-off mechanism); 
 (c)  beam condition indicator lights on the teletherapy unit, on the 
control console, and in the facility; 
 (d)  viewing systems; 
 (e)  treatment room doors from inside and outside the treatment 
room; and 
 (f)  electrically assisted treatment room doors with the teletherapy 
unit electrical power turned off. 
 (5)  A licensee shall arrange for prompt repair of any system 
identified in R313-32-634(4) that is not operating properly, and shall 
not use the teletherapy unit following door interlock malfunction until 
the interlock system has been repaired. 
 (6)  A licensee shall retain a record of each spot-check required by 
R313-32-634(1) and (4) for three years.  The record shall include the 
date of the spot-check, the manufacturer's name, model number, and 
serial number for both the teletherapy unit and source, the 
manufacturer's name, model number and serial number of the 
instrument used to measure the output of the teletherapy unit, an 
assessment of linearity and constancy, the calculated on-off error, a 
determination of the coincidence of the radiation field and the field 
indicated by the light beam localizing device, the calculated on-off 
error, the determined accuracy of each distance measuring or 
localization device, the difference between the anticipated output and 
the measured output, notations indicating the operability of each 
entrance door electrical interlock, each electrical or mechanical stop, 
each beam condition indicator light, the viewing system and doors, and 
the signature of the individual who performed the periodic spot-check. 
 
R313-32-636.  Safety Checks for Teletherapy Facilities. 
 (1)  A licensee shall promptly check all systems listed in R313-32-
634(4) for proper function after each installation of a teletherapy source 
and after making any change for which an amendment is required by 
R313-32-606(1) through (4). 
 (2)  If the results of the checks required in R313-32-636(1) 
indicate the malfunction of a system specified in R313-32-634(4), the 
licensee shall lock the control console in the off position and not use the 
unit except as may be necessary to repair, replace, or check the 
malfunctioning system. 
 (3)  A licensee shall retain for three years a record of the facility 
checks following installation of a source.  The record shall include 
notations indicating the operability of each entrance door interlock, 
each electrical or mechanical stop, each beam condition indicator light, 
the viewing system, and doors, and the signature of the Radiation 
Safety Officer. 
 
R313-32-641.  Radiation Surveys for Teletherapy Facilities. 
 (1)  Before medical use, after each installation of a teletherapy 
source, and after making any change for which an amendment is 
required by R313-32-606(1) through (4), the licensee shall perform 
radiation surveys with a portable radiation measurement survey 
instrument calibrated in accordance with R313-32-51 to verify that: 
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 (a)  the maximum and average dose rates at one meter from the 
teletherapy source with the source in the off position and the 
collimators set for a normal treatment field do not exceed 100 uSv (ten 
mrem) per hour and 20 uSv (two mrem) per hour, respectively; 
 (b)  with the teletherapy source in the on position with the largest 
clinically available treatment field and with a scattering phantom in the 
primary beam of the radiation, that: 
 (i)  radiation dose rates in restricted areas are not likely to cause 
any occupationally exposed individual to receive a dose in excess of the 
limits specified in R313-15-201; and 
 (ii)  radiation dose rates in controlled or unrestricted areas are not 
likely to cause any individual member of the public to receive a dose in 
excess of the limits specified in R313-15-301. 
 (2)  If the results of the surveys required in R313-32-641(1) 
indicate any radiation dose quantity per unit time in excess of the 
respective limit specified in R313-32-641(1), the licensee shall lock the 
control in the off position and not use the unit: 
 (a)  except as may be necessary to repair, replace, or test the 
teletherapy unit shielding or the treatment room shielding; or 
 (b)  until the licensee has received a specific exemption pursuant 
to R313-12-54. 
 (3)  A licensee shall retain a record of the radiation measurements 
made following installation of a source for the duration of the license.  
The record shall include the date of the measurements, the reason the 
survey is required, the manufacturer's name, model number and serial 
number of the teletherapy unit, the source, the instrument used to 
measure radiation levels, each dose rate measured around the 
teletherapy source while in the off position and the average of all 
measurements, a plan of the areas surrounding the treatment room that 
were surveyed, the measured dose rate at several points in each area 
expressed in microseverts or millirem per hour, the calculated 
maximum quantity of radiation over a period of one week for each 
restricted and unrestricted area, and the signature of the Radiation 
Safety Officer. 
 
R313-32-643.  Modification of Teletherapy Unit or Room Before 
Beginning a Treatment Program. 
 (1)  If the survey required by R313-32-641 indicates that an 
individual member of the public is likely to receive a dose in excess of 
the limits specified in R313-15-301, the licensee shall, before beginning 
the treatment program: 
 (a)  either equip the unit with stops or add additional radiation 
shielding to ensure compliance with R313-15-301(3); 
 (b)  perform the survey required by R313-32-641 again; and 
 (c)  include in the report required by R313-32-645 the results of 
the initial survey, a description of the modification made to comply 
with R313-32-643(1)(a), and the results of the second survey. 
 (2)  As an alternative to the requirements set out in R313-32-
643(1), a licensee may request a license amendment under R313-15-
301(3) that authorizes radiation levels in unrestricted areas greater than 
those permitted by R313-15-301(1).  A licensee shall not begin the 
treatment program until the license amendment has been issued. 
 
R313-32-645.  Reports of Teletherapy Surveys, Checks, Tests and 
Measurements. 
 A licensee shall mail a copy of the records required in R313-32-
636, R313-32-641, R313-32-643, and the output from the teletherapy 
source expressed as coulombs/kilogram (roentgens) or gray (rad) per 
hour at one meter from the source and determined during the full 
calibration required in R313-32-632 to the Executive Secretary within 

thirty days following completion of the action that initiated the record 
requirement. 
 
R313-32-647.  Five-Year Inspection. 
 (1)  A licensee shall have each teletherapy unit fully inspected and 
serviced during teletherapy source replacement or at intervals not to 
exceed five years, whichever comes first, to assure proper functioning 
of the source exposure mechanism. 
 (2)  This inspection and servicing shall only be performed by 
persons specifically licensed to do so by the Executive Secretary, the 
Nuclear Regulatory Commission, or an Agreement State. 
 (3)  A licensee shall keep a record of the inspection and servicing 
for the duration of the license.  The record shall contain the inspector's 
name, the inspector's license number, the date of inspection, the 
manufacturer's name and model number and serial number for both the 
teletherapy unit and source, a list of components inspected, a list of 
components serviced and the type of service, a list of components 
replaced, and the signature of the inspector. 
 
R313-32-900.  Radiation Safety Officer. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-901, the licensee shall require an 
individual fulfilling the responsibilities of the Radiation Safety Officer 
as provided in R313-32-21 to be an individual who: 
 (1)  is certified by: 
 (a)  American Board of Health Physics in comprehensive health 
physics; 
 (b)  American Board of Radiology; 
 (c)  American Board of Nuclear Medicine; 
 (d)  American Board of Science in nuclear medicine; 
 (e)  Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties in nuclear pharmacy; 
 (f)  American Board of Medical Physics in radiation oncology 
physics; 
 (g) Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada in 
nuclear medicine; 
 (h) American Osteopathic Board of Radiology; or 
 (i) American Osteopathic Board of Nuclear Medicine; or 
 (2)  has had classroom and laboratory training and experience as 
follows: 
 (a)  200 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (i)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (ii)  radiation protection; 
 (iii)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; 
 (iv)  radiation biology; and 
 (v)  radiopharmaceutical chemistry; and 
 (b)  one year of full time experience as a radiation safety 
technologist at a medical institution under the supervision of the 
individual identified as the Radiation Safety Officer on a license issued 
by the Executive Secretary, Nuclear Regulatory Commission or 
Agreement State license that authorizes the medical use of radioactive 
material; or 
 (3)  be an authorized user identified on the licensee's license. 
 
R313-32-901.  Training for Experienced Radiation Safety Officer. 
 An individual identified as a Radiation Safety Officer on a license 
issued by the Executive Secretary, Nuclear Regulatory Commission or 
Agreement State before January 1, 1989, need not comply with the 
training requirements of R313-32-900. 
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R313-32-910.  Training for Uptake, Dilution, and Excretion 
Studies. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970 and R313-32-971, the 
licensee shall require the authorized user of a radiopharmaceutical in 
R313-32-100(1) to be a physician who: 
 (1)  is certified in: 
 (a)  nuclear medicine by the American Board of Nuclear 
Medicine; 
 (b)  diagnostic radiology by the American Board of Radiology; 
 (c)  diagnostic radiology or radiology by the American 
Osteopathic Board of Radiology; 
 (d)  nuclear medicine by the Royal College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Canada; or 
 (e) American Osteopathic Board of Nuclear Medicine in nuclear 
medicine; or 
 (2)  has had classroom and laboratory training in basic 
radioisotope handling techniques applicable to the use of prepared 
radiopharmaceuticals, and supervised clinical experience as follows: 
 (a)  40 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (i)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (ii)  radiation protection; 
 (iii)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; 
 (iv)  radiation biology; and 
 (v)  radiopharmaceutical chemistry; and 
 (b)  20 hours of supervised clinical experience under the 
supervision of an authorized user and that includes: 
 (i)  examining patients or human research subjects and reviewing 
their case histories to determine their suitability for radioisotope 
diagnosis, limitations, or contraindications; 
 (ii)  selecting the suitable radiopharmaceuticals and calculating 
and measuring the dosages; 
 (iii)  administering dosages to patients or human research subjects 
and using syringe radiation shields; 
 (iv)  collaborating with the authorized user in the interpretation of 
radionuclide test results; and 
 (v)  patient or human research subject follow-up; or 
 (3)  has successfully completed a six-month training program in 
nuclear medicine as part of a training program that has been approved 
by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education and that 
included classroom and laboratory training, work experience, and 
supervised clinical experience in the topics identified in R313-32-
910(2). 
 
R313-32-920.  Training for Imaging and Localization Studies. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970 or R313-32-971, the licensee 
shall require the authorized user of a radiopharmaceutical, generator, or 
reagent kit in R313-32-200(1) to be a physician who: 
 (1)  is certified in: 
 (a)  nuclear medicine by the American Board of Nuclear 
Medicine; 
 (b)  diagnostic radiology by the American Board of Radiology; 
 (c)  diagnostic radiology or radiology by the American 
Osteopathic Board of Radiology; 
 (d)  nuclear medicine by the Royal College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Canada; or 
 (e) American Osteopathic Board of Nuclear Medicine in nuclear 
medicine; or 
 (2)  has had classroom and laboratory training in basic 
radioisotope handling techniques applicable to the use of prepared 

radiopharmaceuticals, generators, and reagent kits, supervised work 
experience, and supervised clinical experience as follows: 
 (a)  200 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (i)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (ii)  radiation protection; 
 (iii)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; 
 (iv)  radiopharmaceutical chemistry; and 
 (v)  radiation biology; and 
 (b)  500 hours of supervised work experience under the 
supervision of an authorized user that includes: 
 (i)  ordering, receiving, and unpacking radioactive materials safely 
and performing the related radiation surveys; 
 (ii)  calibrating dose calibrators and diagnostic instruments and 
performing checks for proper operation of survey meters; 
 (iii)  calculating and safely preparing patient or human research 
subject dosages; 
 (iv)  using administrative controls to prevent the 
misadministration of radioactive material; 
 (v)  using procedures to contain spilled radioactive material safely 
and using proper decontamination procedures; and 
 (vi)  eluting technetium-99m from generator systems, measuring 
and testing the elute for molybdenum-99 and alumina contamination, 
and processing the elute with reagent kits to prepare technetium-99m 
labeled radiopharmaceuticals; and 
 (c)  500 hours of supervised clinical experience under the 
supervision of the authorized user that includes: 
 (i)  examining patients or human research subjects and reviewing 
their case histories to determine their suitability for radioisotope 
diagnosis, limitations, or contraindications; 
 (ii)  selecting the suitable radiopharmaceuticals and calculating 
and measuring the dosages; 
 (iii)  administering dosages to patients or human research subjects 
and using syringe radiation shields; 
 (iv)  collaborating with the authorized user in the interpretation of 
radioisotope test results; and 
 (v)  patient or human research subject follow-up; or 
 (3)  has successfully completed a six-month training program in 
nuclear medicine that has been approved by the Accreditation Council 
for Graduate Medical Education and that included classroom and 
laboratory training, work experience, and supervised clinical 
experience in the topics identified in R313-32-920(2). 
 
R313-32-930.  Training for Therapeutic Use of Unsealed 
Radioactive Material. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970, the licensee shall require the 
authorized user of radiopharmaceuticals in R313-32-300 to be a 
physician who: 
 (1)  is certified by: 
 (a)  the American Board of Nuclear Medicine; 
 (b)  the American Board of Radiology in radiology, therapeutic 
radiology, or radiation oncology; 
 (c)  nuclear medicine by the Royal College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Canada; or 
 (d)  the American Osteopathic Board of Radiology after 1984; or 
 (2)  has had classroom and laboratory training in basic 
radioisotope handling techniques applicable to the use of therapeutic 
radiopharmaceuticals, and supervised clinical experience as follows: 
 (a)  80 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (i)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
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 (ii)  radiation protection; 
 (iii)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; and 
 (iv)  radiation biology; and 
 (b)  supervised clinical experience under the supervision of an 
authorized user at a medical institution that includes: 
 (i)  use of iodine-131 for diagnosis of thyroid function and the 
treatment of hyperthyroidism or cardiac dysfunction in ten individuals; 
and 
 (ii)  use of iodine-131 for treatment of thyroid carcinoma in three 
individuals. 
 
R313-32-932.  Training for Treatment of Hyperthyroidism. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970, the licensee shall require the 
authorized user of only iodine-131 for the treatment of hyperthyroidism 
to be a physician with special experience in thyroid disease who has 
had classroom and laboratory training in basic radioisotope handling 
techniques applicable to the use of iodine-131 for treating 
hyperthyroidism, and supervised clinical experience as follows: 
 (1)  80 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (a)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (b)  radiation protection; 
 (c)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; and 
 (d)  radiation biology; and 
 (2)  Supervised clinical experience under the supervision of an 
authorized user that includes the use of iodine-131 for diagnosis of 
thyroid function, and the treatment of hyperthyroidism in ten 
individuals. 
 
R313-32-934.  Training for Treatment of Thyroid Carcinoma. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970, the licensee shall require the 
authorized user of only iodine-131 for the treatment of thyroid 
carcinoma to be a physician with special experience in thyroid disease 
who has had classroom and laboratory training in basic radioisotope 
handling techniques applicable to the use of iodine-131 for treating 
thyroid carcinoma, and supervised clinical experience as follows: 
 (1)  80 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (a)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (b)  radiation protection; 
 (c)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; and 
 (d)  radiation biology; and 
 (2)  Supervised clinical experience under the supervision of an 
authorized user that includes the use of iodine-131 for the treatment of 
thyroid carcinoma in three individuals. 
 
R313-32-940.  Training for Use of Brachytherapy Sources. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970 the licensee shall require the 
authorized user of a brachytherapy source listed in R313-32-400 for 
therapy to be a physician who: 
 (1)  is certified in: 
 (a)  radiology, therapeutic radiology, or radiation oncology by the 
American Board of Radiology; 
 (b)  radiation oncology by the American Osteopathic Board of 
Radiology; 
 (c)  radiology, with specialization in radiotherapy, as a British 
"Fellow of the Faculty of Radiology" or "Fellow of the Royal College 
of Radiology"; or 
 (d)  therapeutic radiology by the Canadian Royal College of 
Physicians and Surgeons; or 

 (2)  is in the active practice of therapeutic radiology, has had 
classroom and laboratory training in radioisotope handling techniques 
applicable to the therapeutic use of brachytherapy sources, supervised 
work experience, and supervised clinical experience as follows: 
 (a)  200 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (i)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (ii)  radiation protection; 
 (iii)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; and 
 (iv)  radiation biology; 
 (b)  500 hours of supervised work experience under the 
supervision of an authorized user at a medical institution that includes: 
 (i)  ordering, receiving, and unpacking radioactive materials safely 
and performing the related radiation surveys; 
 (ii)  checking survey meters for proper operation; 
 (iii)  preparing, implanting, and removing sealed sources; 
 (iv)  maintaining running inventories of material on hand; 
 (v)  using administrative controls to prevent the misadministration 
of radioactive material; and 
 (vi)  using emergency procedures to control radioactive material; 
and 
 (c)  three years of supervised clinical experience that includes one 
year in a formal training program approved by the Residency Review 
Committee for Radiology of the Accreditation Council for Graduate 
Medical Education or the Committee on Postdoctoral Training of the 
American Osteopathic Association, and an additional two years of 
clinical experience in therapeutic radiology under the supervision of an 
authorized user at a medical institution that includes: 
 (i)  examining individuals and reviewing their case histories to 
determine their suitability for brachytherapy treatment, and any 
limitations or contraindications; 
 (ii)  selecting the proper brachytherapy sources and dose and 
method of administration; 
 (iii)  calculating the dose; and 
 (iv)  post-administration follow-up and review of case histories in 
collaboration with the authorized user. 
 
R313-32-941.  Training for Ophthalmic Use of Strontium-90. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970, the licensee shall require the 
authorized user of only strontium-90 for ophthalmic radiotherapy to be 
a physician who is in the active practice of therapeutic radiology or 
ophthalmology, and has had classroom and laboratory training in basic 
radioisotope handling techniques applicable to the use of strontium-90 
for ophthalmic radiotherapy, and a period of supervised clinical training 
in ophthalmic radiotherapy as follows: 
 (1)  24 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (a)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (b)  radiation protection; 
 (c)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; and 
 (d)  radiation biology. 
 (2)  Supervised clinical training in ophthalmic radiotherapy under 
the supervision of an authorized user at a medical institution that 
includes the use of strontium-90 for the ophthalmic treatment of five 
individuals that includes: 
 (a)  examination of each individual to be treated; 
 (b)  calculation of the dose to be administered; 
 (c)  administration of the dose; and 
 (d)  follow-up and review of each individual's case history. 
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R313-32-950.  Training for Use of Sealed Sources for Diagnosis. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970, the licensee shall require the 
authorized user of a sealed source in a device listed in R313-32-500 to 
be a physician, dentist, or podiatrist who: 
 (1)  is certified in 
 (a)  radiology, diagnostic radiology, therapeutic radiology, or 
radiation oncology by the American Board of Radiology; 
 (b)  nuclear medicine by the American Board of Nuclear 
Medicine; 
 (c)  diagnostic radiology or radiology by the American 
Osteopathic Board of Radiology; or 
 (d) nuclear medicine by the Royal College of Physicians and 
Surgeons of Canada; or 
 (2)  has had eight hours of classroom and laboratory training in 
basic radioisotope handling techniques specifically applicable to the use 
of the device that includes: 
 (a)  radiation physics, mathematics pertaining to the use and 
measurement of radioactivity, and instrumentation; 
 (b)  radiation biology; 
 (c)  radiation protection; and 
 (d)  training in the use of the device for the uses requested. 
 
R313-32-960.  Training for Teletherapy. 
 Except as provided in R313-32-970, the licensee shall require the 
authorized user of a sealed source listed in R313-32-600 in a 
teletherapy unit to be a physician who: 
 (1)  is certified in: 
 (a)  radiology, therapeutic radiology, or radiation oncology by the 
American Board of Radiology; 
 (b)  radiation oncology by the American Osteopathic Board of 
Radiology; 
 (c)  radiology, with specialization in radiotherapy, as a British 
"Fellow of the Faculty of Radiology" or "Fellow of the Royal College 
of Radiology"; or 
 (d)  therapeutic radiology by the Canadian Royal College of 
Physicians and Surgeons; or 
 (2)  is in the active practice of therapeutic radiology, and has had 
classroom and laboratory training in basic radioisotope techniques 
applicable to the use of a sealed source in a teletherapy unit, supervised 
work experience, and supervised clinical experience as follows: 
 (a)  200 hours of classroom and laboratory training that includes: 
 (i)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (ii)  radiation protection; 
 (iii)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; and 
 (iv)  radiation biology; 
 (b)  500 hours of supervised work experience under the 
supervision of an authorized user at a medical institution that includes: 
 (i)  review of the full calibration measurements and periodic spot 
checks; 
 (ii)  preparing treatment plans and calculating treatment times; 
 (iii)  using administrative controls to prevent misadministrations; 
 (iv)  implementing emergency procedures to be followed in the 
event of the abnormal operation of a teletherapy unit or console; and 
 (v)  checking and using survey meters; and 
 (c)  three years of supervised clinical experience that includes one 
year in a formal training program approved by the Residency Review 
Committee for Radiology of the Accreditation Council for Graduate 
Medical Education or the Committee on Postdoctoral Training of the 
American Osteopathic Association and an additional two years of 

clinical experience in therapeutic radiology under the supervision of an 
authorized user at a medical institution that includes: 
 (i)  examining individuals and reviewing their case histories to 
determine their suitability for teletherapy treatment, and any limitations 
or contraindications; 
 (ii)  selecting the proper dose and how it is to be administered; 
 (iii)  calculating the teletherapy doses and collaborating with the 
authorized user in the review of patients' or human research subjects' 
progress and consideration of the need to modify originally prescribed 
doses as warranted by patients' or human research subjects' reaction to 
radiation; and 
 (iv)  post-administration follow-up and review of case histories. 
 
R313-32-961.  Training for Teletherapy Physicist. 
 The licensee shall require the teletherapy physicist to be an 
individual who: 
 (1)  is certified by the American Board of Radiology in: 
 (a)  therapeutic radiological physics; 
 (b)  roentgen ray and gamma ray physics; 
 (c)  x-ray and radium physics; or 
 (d)  radiological physics; or 
 (2)  is certified by the American Board of Medical Physics in 
radiation oncology physics; or 
 (3)  holds a master's or doctor's degree in physics, biophysics, 
radiological physics, or health physics, and has completed one year of 
full time training in therapeutic radiological physics and an additional 
year of full time work experience under the supervision of a teletherapy 
physicist at a medical institution that includes the tasks listed in R313-
32-59, R313-32-632, R313-32-634 and R313-32-641. 
 
R313-32-970.  Training for Experienced Authorized Users. 
 Physicians, dentists, or podiatrists identified as authorized users 
for the medical, dental, or podiatric use of radioactive material on a 
license issued by the Executive Secretary, Nuclear Regulatory 
Commission, or Agreement State license issued before January 1, 1989, 
who perform only those methods of use for which they were authorized 
on that date need not comply with the training requirements of R313-
32-900 to R313-32-961. 
 
R313-32-971.  Physician Training in a Three Month Program. 
 A physician who, before October 1, 1988, began a three month 
nuclear medicine training program approved by the Accreditation 
Council for Graduate Medical Education and has successfully 
completed the program need not comply with the requirements of 
R313-32-910 or R313-32-920. 
 
R313-32-972.  Recentness of Training. 
 The training and experience specified in R313-32-900 through 
R313-32-981 shall have been obtained within the seven years 
preceding the date of application or the individual shall have had 
related continuing education and experience since the required training 
and experience was completed. 
 
R313-32-980.  Training for an Authorized Nuclear Pharmacist. 
 The licensee shall require the authorized nuclear pharmacist to be 
a pharmacist who: 
 (1)  has current board certification as a nuclear pharmacist by the 
Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties, or 
 (2)(a)  has completed 700 hours in a structured educational 
program consisting of both: 
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 (i)  didactic training in the following areas: 
 (A)  radiation physics and instrumentation; 
 (B)  radiation protection; 
 (C)  mathematics pertaining to the use and measurement of 
radioactivity; 
 (D)  chemistry of radioactive material for medical use; and 
 (E)  radiation biology; and 
 (ii)  supervised experience in a nuclear pharmacy involving the 
following: 
 (A)  shipping, receiving, and performing related radiation surveys; 
 (B)  using and performing checks for proper operation of dose 
calibrators, survey meters, and, if appropriate, instruments used to 
measure alpha- or beta-emitting radionuclides; 
 (C)  calculating, assaying, and safely preparing dosages for 
patients or human research subjects; 
 (D)  using administrative controls to avoid mistakes in the 
administration of radioactive material; 
 (E) using procedures to prevent or minimize contamination and 
using proper decontamination procedures; and 
 (b)  has obtained written certification, signed by a preceptor 
authorized nuclear pharmacist, that the above training has been 
satisfactorily completed and that the individual has achieved a level of 
competency sufficient to independently operate a nuclear pharmacy. 
 
R313-32-981.  Training for Experienced Nuclear Pharmacists. 
 A licensee may apply for and must receive a license amendment 
identifying an experienced nuclear pharmacist as an authorized nuclear 
pharmacist before it allows this individual to work as an authorized 
nuclear pharmacist.  A pharmacist who has completed a structured 
educational program as specified in R313-32-980(2)(a) before January 
1, 1998 and who is working in a nuclear pharmacy would qualify as an 
experienced nuclear pharmacist.  An experienced nuclear pharmacist 
need not comply with the requirements on preceptor statement (See 
R313-32-980(2)(b)) and recentness of training (See R313-32-972) to 
qualify as an authorized nuclear pharmacist. 
 
R313-32-999.  Resolution of Conflicting Requirements During 
Transition Period. 
 If the rules in R313-32 conflict with the licensee's radiation safety 
program as identified in its license, and if that license was approved by 
the Bureau of Radiation Control, Department of Health, before January 
1, 1989, and has not been renewed since January 1, 1989, then the 
requirements in the license will apply.  However, if the licensee 
exercises its privilege to make minor changes in its radiation safety 
procedures that are not potentially important to safety under R313-32-
31, the portion changed shall comply with the requirements of R313-
32.  At the time of license renewal and thereafter, these amendments to 
R313-32 shall apply.] 
 
KEY:  radioactive material, radiopharmaceutical, brachytherapy, 
nuclear medicine 
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NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Repeal) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27753 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 12:03 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The change 
is proposed after a comprehensive revision and consolidation 
of the Division's rules. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The changes involve 
repealing the current rule and replacing it with a new rule.  
This rule is repealed in its entirety. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 62A-5-102 and 62A-5-103 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--This revision does not alter the 
basic operations or functions of the Division.  Therefore, there 
is cost or savings to the state. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--Local government funding is 
not used.  Therefore, there is no cost to local governments. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  None--This revision does not alter the 
basic operations or functions of the Division.  Therefore, there 
is no cost or savings to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  This revision does 
not alter the basic operations or functions of the Division.  
Therefore, there is no cost to affected persons. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  None--This revision does not 
alter the basic operations or functions of the Division.  
Therefore, there is no impact on businesses.  Lisa-Michele 
Church, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HUMAN SERVICES 
SERVICES FOR PEOPLE WITH DISABILITIES 
Room 411  
120 N 200 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84103-1500, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzie Totten at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
4197, by FAX at 801-538-4279, or by Internet E-mail at 
stotten@utah.gov 
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INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/03/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Lisa-Michele Church, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R539.  Human Services, Services for People with Disabilities. 
[R539-4.  Quality Assurance. 
R539-4-1.  Quality Assurance Survey. 
 A.  Policy. 
 The purpose of the Quality Assurance survey is to ensure that 
recipients of Division of Services for People with Disabilities funded 
programs are receiving services that support them in participating fully 
in community life and an enhanced quality of life. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  The Quality Assurance team will survey quality of life 
outcomes for the identified individual by observation, interviews, and a 
review of records. 
 2.  Deficiencies identified in the report require a provider to 
submit a plan of correction within 15 working days from the final 
survey report date.  The Provider must respond to each identified 
deficiency, including proposed method of correction, task assignments, 
and supervision. 
 3.  The Quality Assurance team leader will determine if the 
submitted plan of correction is acceptable and if not, notify the Provider 
by certified mail within ten working days of receipt.  The Provider must 
submit a revised plan of correction within five working days.  If a 
revised plan of correction is unsatisfactory, the Division and Regional 
Director may initiate sanctions. 
 4.  A follow-up survey will be scheduled by Division staff within 
60-90 days after receipt of the accepted plan of correction.  The purpose 
of the follow-up is to: 
 a.  determine and certify if the deficiencies have been corrected as 
specified in the plan of correction. 
 b.  if deficiencies have not been corrected as specified, initiate 
corrective actions which include the following: 
 (1)  provide additional time for the Provider to complete 
corrections. 
 (2)  request a revised plan of correction to be submitted to the 
Division within five days, or 
 (3)  recommend the Division and Regional Director initiate formal 
sanctions. 
 5.  The Division and Regional Director may initiate sanctions by 
providing written notice of the action to be taken to the Provider in 
instances when: 
 a.  Revised plan of corrections is unsatisfactory. 
 b.  Imminent danger and health violations exist or other significant 
deficiencies are present. 
 c.  The Provider has failed to implement an approved plan of 
correction. 
 6.  A Provider who disagrees with the proposed sanctions may 
pursue an appeal through the Department of Human Services (R495-
100). 
 
R539-4-2.  Volunteer Monitoring. 
 A.  Policy. 

 Volunteer Monitoring is an integral part of the Division's Quality 
Assurance system.  Volunteer monitors are interested individuals not 
otherwise paid to provide services.  The goal of the Volunteer 
Monitoring Services Committee is to help children and adults with 
disabilities be assured of an enhanced quality of life.  In order to 
accomplish this goal, the Volunteers conduct facility and program 
reviews.  Corrective activities may be undertaken for problems 
identified by the Volunteer Monitoring Services Committee. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  A Plan of Correction may be requested if the review indicates 
that the program is not in compliance with Division policy and 
procedures. 
 a.  A written response is required within 20 days to correct any 
deficiencies and respond to concerns (see R539-4-1.B.2). 
 b.  The Plan of Correction will be submitted to the Division and 
the Executive Committee of the Volunteer Monitoring Services 
Committee for review and follow-up.  In addition, at the Division 
Director's request, the Division may conduct a Quality Assurance 
review (in accordance with R539-4-1). 
 
R539-4-3.  Residential Site. 
 A.  Policy. 
 It is the policy of the Division that acquisition of residential sites 
for the purpose of providing services to people with disabilities should 
conform to state and local zoning requirements and shall not violate the 
Federal Fair Housing Law.  The Division shall make a formal 
determination, where an individual history warrants, that the individual 
being considered for placement does not pose a direct threat to the 
health and safety of other individuals. 
 
R539-4-4.  Informal Quality Assurance Reconsideration Process. 
 A.  Policy. 
 A Provider with the Division of Services for People with 
Disabilities is entitled to a review of any individual's quality assurance 
outcomes survey. 
 B.  Procedures. 
 1.  A provider of services may request informal reconsideration by 
submitting a written request to the Division Director of Quality 
Assurance within 15 working days of receipt of the outcomes survey 
report.  The letter should include a description of the standards or items 
on the survey for which review is requested. 
 2.  The informal reconsideration will be performed within ten 
working days of receipt of the request.  The results of the 
reconsideration will be submitted in writing to the provider and the 
Division Director within ten working days of the completion of the 
informal reconsideration. 
 3.  The provider may exercise any further formal appeals afforded 
them in contract or state policy. 
 
R539-4-5.  Contracts for Services. 
 A.  Policy 
 The State Office will coordinate on behalf of the Regional Offices 
the review of contracts, the call for statewide proposals for services, 
promulgation of rates, and the development of the contract Objectives 
and Evaluations attachment.  The Regions shall arrange for contracts 
with Providers on behalf of service recipients, shall establish and 
manage budgets for signed contracts, and shall conduct contract 
compliance monitoring activities.  The State Office and Regional 
Offices shall collaborate on the resolution of problems occurring 
around contracting, which will include promoting an environment of 
fair competition among providers. 
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 B.  Procedures 
 1.  A contract may be terminated immediately: 
 a.  If the individuals served are in clear and imminent danger. 
 b.  If a purchase of service provider cannot demonstrate proper 
licensing/certification. 
 2.  A contract may be terminated without cause upon 30 days prior 
written notice under the following circumstances: 
 a.  division funding inadequacies; 
 b.  there is no further need for the contract. 
 3.  A contract may be terminated with cause with a 30 day written 
notice for: 
 a.  continued contractual violations; 
 b.  continued violations of Department or Division policy; 
 c.  mismanagement of personal, state, or federal funds; 
 d.  failure to correct continuing deficiencies identified in quality 
assurance surveys; 
 e.  and other situations where the Division determines it is in the 
best interest of the persons served. 
 4.  Contractors may avail themselves of all remedies available for 
termination with cause under the provisions of the Utah State 
Procurement Code, Section 63-56-1. 
 
KEY:  social services, disabled persons* 
1994 
Notice of Continuation December 18, 2002 
62A-5-103] 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Money Management Council, 
Administration 

R628-15 
Certification as an Investment Adviser 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27743 

FILED:  03/11/2005, 14:31 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this rule is to establish a uniform standard to 
evaluate the financial condition and the standing of an 
investment adviser to determine if investment transactions 
with public treasurers by investment advisers would expose 
public funds to undue risk. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This rule requires that an 
investment adviser who intends to provide investment 
advisory services to a public treasurer become certified; 
provides for the application process; and the information 
required from the investment adviser to become certified.  The 
rule also requires that investment advisers renew their 
certification annually and contains post-certification 
requirements and provides qualification criteria for the use of 
non-certified broker/dealers by investment advisers.  The rule 
also requires that the Money Management Council mail the list 
of certified investment advisers out to public treasurers at 
least semiannually.  The rule also provides grounds and 

procedures for denial, suspension, and termination of status 
as a certified investment adviser. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 51-7-3(3); and Subsections 51-7-18(2)(b)(vi), 
51-7-18(2)(b)(vii),  51-7-11.5(2)(b), and 51-7-11.5(2)(c) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The fee for certification is $500 per each 
firm.  It is not known how many investment advisers will 
become certified.  Using the certified dealers list as an 
example, the fee process could generate up to $10,000 
annually.  Currently, the Council is aware of three investment 
advisory firms that may become certified. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  The local public treasurers will not 
have any costs associated with this rule.  If they choose to 
utilize investment advisers to manage their money, any fees 
paid should in theory be offset by earnings on those funds 
under management. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  The certified investment adviser fee is 
$500 annually; these fees would be offset by potential income 
from managing public funds.  There is also a requirement that 
insurance coverage be maintained based on how many public 
funds are under management.  Additionally, errors and 
omissions insurance is required.  It is assumed that firms carry 
some if not all of the required insurance already so the exact 
cost cannot be determined, however, the cost is averaged out 
at about 1% of the amount of the bond on errors and 
omissions insurance. Fidelity coverage was approximately the 
same cost. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  It will cost an 
investment firm $500 annually to become certified and if they 
need additional insurance to meet the requirement it is 
estimated that it will cost 1% of the amount of the bond on 
errors and omissions insurance and the same on fidelity 
insurance. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  Investment advisers seeking 
certification must pay a $500 annual 
certification fee established by Section 51-7-18.4.  
Compliance with 
this rule requires certified investment advisers to provide 
copies of 
certain documents and to give notices which may result in 
nominal, 
incremental costs for duplication and delivery.  Federal 
covered 
investment advisers may incur additional legal fees and other 
administrative and registration costs as a result of the 
requirement for 
licensing in Utah.  Larry Richardson, Chair 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

MONEY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room E315 EAST OFFICE BLDG 
STATE CAPITOL COMPLEX 
PO BOX 142315 
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SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-2315, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ann Pedroza at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
1883, by FAX at 801-538-1465, or by Internet E-mail at 
apedroza@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/03/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Larry Richardson, Chair 
 
 
 
R628.  Money Management Council, Administration. 
R628-15.  Certification as an Investment Adviser. 
R628-15-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is issued pursuant to Sections 51-7-3(3), 51-7-
18(2)(b)(vi) and (vii), and 51-7-11.5(2)(b) and (c). 
 
R628-15-2.  Scope. 
 This rule establishes the criteria applicable to all investment 
advisers and investment adviser representatives for certification by 
the Director as eligible to provide advisory services to public 
treasurers under the State Money Management Act (the "Act").  It 
further establishes the application contents and procedures, and the 
criteria and the procedures for denial, suspension, termination and 
reinstatement of certification.  Additionally, the qualification of non-
certified dealers and the use of these qualified dealers by certified 
investment advisers is provided for. 
 
R628-15-3.  Purpose. 
 This rule establishes a uniform standard to evaluate the 
financial condition and the standing of an investment adviser to 
determine if investment of public funds by investment advisers 
would expose said public funds to undue risk. 
 
R628-15-4.  Definitions. 
 A.  The following terms are defined in Section 51-7-3 of the 
Act, and when used in this rule, have the same meaning as in the 
Act: 
 1.  "Certified investment adviser"; 
 2.  "Council"; 
 3.  "Director"; 
 4.  "Public treasurer"; and 
 5.  "Investment adviser representative". 
 B.  For purposes of this rule the following terms are defined: 
 1.  "Investment adviser" means either a federal covered adviser 
as defined in Section 61-1-13 or an investment adviser as defined in 
Section 61-1-13. 
 2.  "Qualified dealer" means a non-certified broker/dealer that 
is licensed by the Division and is qualified by the Council to conduct 
investment transactions on behalf of a public treasurer pursuant to an 
investment adviser contract not inconsistent with the Act or Rules of 
the Council between the public treasurer and a certified investment 
adviser. 

 3.  "Realized rate of return" means yield calculated by 
combining interest earned, discounts accreted and premiums 
amortized, plus any gains or losses realized during the month, less 
all fees, divided by the average daily balance during the reporting 
period.  The realized return should then be annualized. 
 4.  "Soft dollar" means the value of research services and other 
benefits, whether tangible or intangible, provided to a certified 
investment adviser in exchange for the certified investment adviser's 
business. 
 
R628-15-5.  General Rule. 
 Before an investment adviser or investment adviser 
representative provides investment advisory services to any public 
treasurer, the investment adviser or investment adviser 
representative must submit and receive approval of an application to 
the Division, pay to the Division a non-refundable fee as described 
in Section 51-7-18.4(2), and become a Certified investment adviser 
or Investment adviser representative under the Act. 
 
R628-15-6.  Criteria for Certification of an Investment Adviser. 
 To be certified by the Director as a Certified investment adviser 
or Investment adviser representative under the Act, an investment 
adviser or investment adviser representative shall: 
 A.  Submit an application to the Division on Form 628-15 
clearly designating: 
 (1)  the investment adviser; 
 (2)  its designated official as defined in R164-4-2 of the 
Division; and 
 (3)  any investment adviser representative who provides 
investment advisory services to public treasurers in the state. 
 B.  Pay to the Division the non-refundable fee described in 
Section 51-7-18.4(2). 
 C.  Have a current Certificate of Good Standing dated within 30 
days of application from the state in which the applicant is 
incorporated or organized. 
 D.  Have net worth as of its most recent fiscal year-end of not 
less than $150,000 documented by financial statements prepared by 
an independent certified public accountant in accordance with 
generally accepted accounting principles. 
 E.  Allow the public treasurer to select the forum and method 
for dispute resolution, whether that forum be arbitration, mediation 
or litigation in any state or federal court.  No agreement, contract, or 
other document that the applicant requires or intends to require to be 
signed by the public treasurer to establish an investment advisory 
relationship shall require or propose to require that any dispute 
between the applicant and the public treasurer must be submitted to 
arbitration. 
 F.  Agree to the jurisdiction of the Courts of the State of Utah 
and applicability of Utah law, where relevant, for litigation of any 
dispute arising out of transactions between the applicant and the 
public treasurer. 
 G.  All Investment adviser representatives who have any 
contact with a public treasurer or its account, must sign and have 
notarized a statement that the representative: 
 (1)  is familiar with the authorized investments as set forth in 
the Act and the rules of the Council; 
 (2)  is familiar with the investment objectives of the public 
treasurer, as set forth in Section 51-7-17(2); 
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 (3)  acknowledges, understands, and agrees that all investment 
transactions conducted for the benefit of the public treasurer must 
fully comply with all requirements set forth in Section 51-7-7 and 
that the Certified investment adviser and any Investment adviser 
representative is prohibited from receiving custody of any public 
funds or investment securities at any time. 
 
R628-15-7.  Certification. 
 A.  The initial application for certification must be received on 
or before the last day of the month for approval at the following 
month's Council meeting. 
 B.  All certifications shall be effective upon acceptance by the 
Council. 
 C.  All certifications not otherwise terminated shall expire on 
June 30 of each year, unless renewed. 
 
R628-15-8.  Renewal of Application. 
 A.  Certified investment advisers shall apply annually, on or 
before April 30 of each year, for certification to be effective July 1 
of each year. 
 B.  The application must contain all of the documents and meet 
all of the requirements as set forth above with respect to initial 
applications. 
 C.  The application must be accompanied by an annual 
certification fee as described in Section 51-7-18.4(2). 
 D.  A Certified investment adviser whose certification has 
expired as of June 30 may not function as a Certified investment 
adviser until the investment adviser's certification is renewed. 
 
R628-15-9.  Post Certification Requirements. 
 A.  Certified investment advisers shall notify the Division of 
any changes to any items or information contained in the original 
application within 30 calendar days of the change.  The notification 
shall provide copies, where necessary, of relevant documents. 
 B.  Certified investment advisers shall maintain a current 
application on Form 628-15 with the Division throughout the term 
of any agreement or contract with any public treasurer.  Federal 
covered advisers shall maintain registration as an investment adviser 
under the Investment Advisers Act of 1940 throughout the term of 
any agreement or contract with any public treasurer. 
 C.  Certified investment advisers shall provide written evidence 
of insurance coverage and shall maintain insurance coverage as 
follows: 
 (1)  fidelity coverage based on the following schedule: 
 

TABLE 
 
Utah Public funds under management    Percent for Bond 
              $0 to $25,000,000       10% but not less than 
$1,000,000 
     $25,000,001 to $50,000,000        8% but not less than 
$2,500,000 
     $50,000,001 to $100,000,000       7% but not less than 
$4,000,000 
    $100,000,001 to $500,000,000       5% but not less than 
$7,000,000 
    $500,000,001 to $1.250 billion     4% but not less than 
$25,000,000 
  $1,250,000,001 and higher            Not less than $50,000,000 

 

 (2) errors and omissions coverage equal to five percent (5%) of 
Utah public funds under management, but not less than $1,000,000 
nor more than $10,000,000 per occurrence. 
 D.  Certified investment advisers shall provide to the public 
treasurer the SEC Form ADV Part II prior to contract execution. 
 E.  Certified investment advisers shall file annual audited 
financial statements with all public treasurers with whom they are 
doing business and with the Division. 
 F.  Certified investment advisers shall fully disclose all 
conflicts of interest and all economic interests in qualified dealers 
and other affiliates, consultants and experts used by the Investment 
adviser in providing investment advisory services. 
 G.  Certified investment advisers shall act with the degree of 
care, skill, prudence, and diligence that a person having special skills 
or expertise acting in a like capacity and familiar with such matters 
would use in the conduct of an enterprise of a like character and with 
like aims. 
 H.  Certified investment advisers shall exercise good faith in 
allocating transactions to qualified dealers in the best interest of the 
account and in overseeing the completion of transactions and 
performance of qualified dealers used by the Investment adviser in 
connection with investment advisory services. 
 I.  Certified investment advisers shall fully disclose to the 
public treasurer any self-dealing with subsidiaries, affiliates or 
partners of the Investment adviser and any soft dollar benefits to the 
Investment adviser for transactions placed on behalf of the public 
treasurer. 
 J.  Certified investment advisers shall fully and completely 
disclose to all public treasurers with whom they do business the 
basis for calculation of fees, whether and how fees may be adjusted 
during the term of any agreement, and any other costs chargeable to 
the account.  If performance-based fees are proposed, the disclosure 
shall include a clear explanation of the amount of the fee at specific 
levels of performance and how prior losses are handled in 
calculation of the performance-based fee. 
 K.  Certified investment advisers shall not assign any contract 
or agreement with a public treasurer without the written consent of 
the public treasurer. 
 L.  Certified investment advisers shall provide immediate 
written notification to any public treasurer to whom advisory 
services are provided and to the Division upon conviction of any 
crime involving breach of trust or fiduciary duty or securities law 
violations. 
 M.  Not less than once each calendar quarter and as often as 
requested by the public treasurer, Certified investment advisers shall 
timely deliver to the public treasurer: 
 (1)  copies of all trade confirmations for transactions in the 
account; 
 (2)  a summary of all transactions completed during the 
reporting period; 
 (3)  a listing of all securities in the portfolio at the end of each 
reporting period, the market value and cost of each security, and the 
credit rating of each security; 
 (4)  performance reports for each reporting period showing the 
total return on the portfolio as well as the realized rate of return, 
when applicable, and the net return after calculation of all fees and 
charges permitted by the agreement; and 
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 (5)  a statistical analysis showing the portfolio's weighted 
average maturity and duration, if applicable, as of the end of each 
reporting period. 
 
R628-15-10.  Notification of Certification. 
 The Director shall provide a list of Certified investment 
advisers and Investment adviser representatives to the Council at 
least semiannually.  The Council shall mail this list to each public 
treasurer. 
 
R628-15-11.  Criteria for Qualification of a Non-certified Dealer. 
 A.  Before a Certified investment adviser uses a non-certified 
dealer to conduct investment transactions on behalf of a public 
treasurer, the investment adviser must submit an application for each 
non-certified dealer for qualification by the Division. 
 B.  The application must include: 
 (1)  Proof of licensing with the Division under its laws and 
rules, effective as of the date of the application, of the following: 
 (a)  the broker-dealer; 
 (b)  any agents of a firm doing business in the state. 
 (2)  A Certificate of Good Standing, obtained from the state in 
which the applicant is incorporated or organized. 
 (3)  With respect to applicants who are not primary reporting 
dealers, financial statements, prepared by an independent certified 
public accountant in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principles, indicating that the applicant has, as of its most recent 
fiscal year end: 
 (a)  Minimum net capital, as calculated under rule 15c3-1 of the 
Securities and Exchange Act of 1934 (17 CFR 240.15c3-1(2004)), 
of at least 5% of the applicant's aggregate debt balances, as defined 
in the rule, and; 
 (b)  Total capital as follows: 
 (i)  of at least $10 million or; 
 (ii)  of at least $25 million, calculated on a consolidated basis, 
with respect to an applicant which is a wholly-owned subsidiary. 
 
R628-15-12.  Grounds for Denial, Suspension or Termination of 
Status as a Certified investment adviser. 
 Any of the following constitutes grounds for denial, 
suspension, or termination of status as a Certified investment 
adviser: 
 A.  Denial, suspension or termination of the Certified 
investment adviser's license by the Division. 
 B.  Failure to maintain a license with the Division by the firm 
or any of its Investment adviser representatives conducting 
investment transactions with a public treasurer. 
 C.  Failure to maintain the required minimum net worth and the 
required bond. 
 D.  Requiring the public treasurer to sign any documents, 
contracts, or agreements which require that disputes be submitted to 
mandatory arbitration. 
 E.  Failure to pay the annual certification fee. 
 F.  Making any false statement or filing any false report with 
the Division. 
 G.  Failure to comply with any requirement of section R628-15-
9. 
 H.  Engaging in any material act in negligent or willful 
violation of the Act or Rules of the Council. 
 I.  Failure to respond to requests for information from the 
Division or the Council within 15 days after receipt of a request for 
information. 

 J.  Engaging in a dishonest or unethical practice.  "Dishonest or 
unethical practice" includes but is not limited to those acts and 
practices enumerated in Rule R164-6-1g. 
 K.  Being the subject of: 
 (1)  an adjudication or determination, within the past five years 
by a securities or commodities agency or administrator of another 
state, Canadian province or territory, or a court of competent 
jurisdiction that the person has willfully violated the Securities Act 
of 1933, the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the Investment 
Advisers Act of 1940, the Investment Company Act of 1940, the 
Commodity Exchange Act, or the securities or commodities law of 
any other state; or 
 (2)  an order entered within the past five years by the securities 
administrator of any state or Canadian province or territory or by the 
Securities and Exchange Commission denying or revoking license as 
an investment adviser, or investment adviser representative or the 
substantial equivalent of those terms or is the subject of an order of 
the Securities and Exchange Commission suspending or expelling 
the person from a national securities exchange or national securities 
association registered under the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, or 
is the subject of a United States post office fraud order. 
 
R628-15-13.  Procedures for Denial, Suspension, or Termination 
and Reinstatement of Status. 
 A.  Where it appears to the Division or to the Council that 
grounds may exist to deny, suspend, or terminate status as a 
Certified investment adviser, the Council shall proceed under the 
Utah Administrative Procedures Act, Chapter 46b, Title 63 
("UAPA"). 
 B.  All proceedings to suspend a Certified investment adviser or 
to terminate status as a certified investment adviser are designated as 
informal proceedings under ("UAPA"). 
 C.  In any hearings held, the Chair of the Council shall be the 
presiding officer, and that person may act as the hearing officer, or 
may designate another person from the Council or the Division to be 
the hearing officer.  After the close of the hearing, other members of 
the Council may make recommendations to the hearing officer. 
 D.  The Notice of Agency Action as set forth under UAPA, or 
any petition filed in connection with it, shall include a statement of 
the grounds for suspension or termination, and the remedies required 
to cure the violation. 
 E.  A Certified investment adviser and its Investment adviser 
representative who has received a Notice of Agency Action alleging 
violations of the Act or these rules, may continue, in the discretion 
of the public treasurer, to conduct investment transactions with the 
public treasurer until the violations asserted by the Money 
Management Council in the Notice of Agency Action becomes 
subject to a written order of the Council or Agency against the 
adviser or adviser representative, or until the Council enters an 
emergency order indicating that public funds will be jeopardized by 
continuing investment transactions with the adviser or adviser 
representative. 
 F.  The Council may issue an emergency order to cease and 
desist operations or specified actions with respect to public 
treasurers or public funds.  Further, the Council may issue an 
emergency suspension of certification if the Council determines that 
public funds will be jeopardized by continuing investment 
transactions or other specified actions with the adviser or adviser 
representative. 
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 G.  Within ten business days after the conclusion of a hearing 
on an emergency order, the Council shall lift this prohibition upon a 
finding that the Certified investment adviser and its investment 
adviser representative may maintain certification. 
 
KEY:  cash management, public investments, securities 
regulation, investment advisers 
2005 
51-7-3(3) 
51-7-18(2)(b)(vi) 
51-7-18(2)(b)(vii) 
51-7-11.5(2)(b) 
51-7-11.5(2)(c) 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Money Management Council, 
Administration 

R628-19 
Requirements for the Use of Investment 

Advisers by Public Treasurers 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Repeal and Reenact) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27742 

FILED:  03/11/2005, 13:16 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The original 
rule was written before The Money Management Act, Title 51 
Chapter 7, was changed to specifically state that investment 
advisers were an option and the use of them was governed by 
Council rule.  In the process of drafting rules to do so, several 
requirements in the rule were moved to the rule that will 
"certify" investment advisers.  The language in this rule will 
now deal only with what a public treasurer must do.  The 
requirements for investment advisers are covered in another 
rule. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The minimum requirements 
of providing fee information, report formats, how much the 
funds under management are earning and providing 
descriptions of securities, have all been moved to Rule R628-
15 of the Council as requirements for the investment adviser.  
Some definitions of terms have been added and are noted as 
defined in the Act.  These terms were not noted in the original 
rule.  Before the statute was changed, there were not certified 
investment advisers, so the term has been added to this rule 
and the requirement to use only certified investment advisers 
has been added.  The statement in the purpose paragraph of 
the notion that these were minimum requirements has been 
removed because it was felt that this was not a "purpose" for 
the rule.  The requirement of using licensed investment 
advisers has been removed and is dealt with in Rule R628-15. 
 Public treasurers may now use only certified investment 
advisers if they choose to use this option to invest.  (DAR 
NOTE:  The proposed new Rule R628-15 is under DAR No. 
27743 in this issue.) 
 

STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 51-7-18(2)(b) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  None--There is not a requirement to use 
investment advisers, this rule only provides requirements to 
follow if a public entity chooses to use advisers.  If that is the 
case, there are costs incurred in fees, which would hopefully 
be offset by earnings. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  None--There is not a requirement to 
use investment advisers, this rule provides requirements to 
follow if a public entity chooses to use advisers.  If they do, 
there are costs incurred in fees based on the amount of funds 
under management which is difficult to cost out.  These fees 
would hopefully be offset by earnings on the funds being 
managed. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  None--This rule deals only with the 
potential use of investment advisers by public treasurers. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are none.  
This rule only provides requirements for use of investment 
advisers by public treasurers. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There is no direct impact.  The 
proposed rule requires use of certified investment advisers 
pursuant to Rule R628-15.  Any impact on businesses will 
ensue from compliance with Rule R628-15.  Certified 
investment advisers who provide services to public treasurers 
will presumably earn advisory fees.  Larry Richardson, Chair 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

MONEY MANAGEMENT COUNCIL 
ADMINISTRATION 
Room E315 EAST OFFICE BLDG 
STATE CAPITOL COMPLEX 
PO BOX 142315 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84114-2315, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Ann Pedroza at the above address, by phone at 801-538-
1883, by FAX at 801-538-1465, or by Internet E-mail at 
apedroza@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/03/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Larry Richardson, Chair 
 
 
 
R628.  Money Management Council, Administration. 
R628-19.  Requirements for the Use of Investment Advisers by 
Public Treasurers. 
[R628-19-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is issued pursuant to Section 51-7-18(2)(b). 
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R628-19-2.  Scope. 
 This rule establishes basic requirements for public treasurers when 
using investment advisers. 
 
R628-19-3.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to outline requirements for public 
treasurers who are considering utilizing investment advisers to invest 
public funds.  These are minimum requirements and not exhaustive 
criteria to be used when choosing an adviser. 
 
R628-19-4.  Definitions. 
 (1)  For purposes of this rule: 
 (a)  Investment adviser as used in this rule has the same meaning 
as defined in Section 61-1-13(15). 
 (b)  Investment adviser representative as used in this rule has the 
same meaning as defined in Section 61-1-13(16). 
 (c)  Realized rate of return means: yield calculated by combining 
interest earned, discounts accreted and premiums amortized, plus any 
gains or losses realized during the month, less all fees, divided by the 
average daily balance during the reporting period.  The realized return 
should then be annualized. 
 
R628-19-5.  General Rule. 
 When considering and using an investment adviser the public 
treasurer shall follow these minimum requirements: 
 (1)  A person offering investment advisory services to a public 
treasurer shall at all times be licensed as an investment adviser or an 
investment adviser representative with the Utah Securities Division. 
 (2)  The public treasurer shall request and the investment adviser 
shall furnish, a clear and concise written explanation of any and all fees 
and the fee structure. 
 (3)  The public treasurer shall request and the investment adviser 
shall furnish, examples of report formats which shall reflect at a 
minimum the following information: 
 (a)  the realized rate of return on the funds under the advisers 
management reported monthly on an actual over 360 day basis; and 
 (b)  a description of the security including the name, interest rate, 
maturity date and purchase date of the security. 
 (4)  All transactions must be in full compliance with all aspects of 
the Money Management Act and Rules of the Council particularly 
those requirements governing safekeeping, utilizing certified dealers, 
qualified depositories and purchasing only the types of securities listed 
in 51-7-11., 51-7-12. and 51-7-13. as applicable. 
 (5)  Transaction confirmations shall be provided on every trade 
transacted for the public entity, within five business days of trade date 
by the certified dealer, to the public treasurer. 
 
R628-19-6.  Reporting to the Council. 
 When a public treasurer has contracted with an investment adviser 
for the management of public funds, the public treasurer shall provide 
the detail of those investments to the Council, pursuant to Section 51-7-
18.2. 
 
KEY:  securities, investment adviser, public funds 
February 10, 2004 
51-7-18(2)(b) 
61-1-13] 
R628-19-1.  Authority. 
 This rule is issued pursuant to Section 51-7-18(2)(b). 
 

R628-19-2.  Scope. 
 This rule establishes basic requirements for public treasurers 
when using investment advisers. 
 
R628-19-3.  Purpose. 
 The purpose of this rule is to outline requirements for public 
treasurers who are considering utilizing investment advisers to 
invest public funds. 
 
R628-19-4.  Definitions. 
 (1)  The following terms are defined in Section 51-7-3 of the 
Act, and when used in this rule, have the same meaning as in the 
Act: 
 (a)  "Certified investment adviser"; 
 (b)  "Council": 
 (c)  "Director"; and 
 (d)  "Investment adviser representative". 
 (2)  For purposes of this rule: 
 (a)  "Investment adviser" means either a federal covered adviser 
as defined in Section 61-1-13 or an investment adviser as defined in 
Section 61-1-13. 
 
R628-19-5.  General Rule. 
 1.  A public treasurer may use an investment adviser to conduct 
investment transactions on behalf of the public treasurer as permitted 
by statute, rules of the Council, and local ordinance or policy. 
 2.  A public treasurer using an investment adviser to conduct 
investment transactions on behalf of the public treasurer is 
responsible for full compliance with the Act and rules of the 
Council. 
 3.  Due diligence in the selection of an investment adviser and 
in monitoring compliance with the Act and Rules of the Council and 
the performance of investment advisers is the responsibility of the 
public treasurer.  (The Council advises public treasurers that reliance 
on certification by the Director may not be sufficient to fully satisfy 
prudent and reasonable due diligence.) 
 4.  The public treasurer shall assure compliance with the 
following minimum standards: 
 (a)  A public treasurer may use a Certified investment adviser 
properly designated pursuant to R628-15. 
 (b)  A public treasurer's use of a Certified investment adviser 
shall be governed by a written investment advisory services 
agreement between the public treasurer and the Certified investment 
adviser.  Terms of the agreement shall conform to the requirements 
of R628-15, and shall be adopted pursuant to all procurement 
requirements of statute and local ordinance or policy. 
 (c)  Prior to entering into an investment advisory services 
agreement with a Certified investment adviser, the public treasurer 
shall request and the investment adviser shall furnish, the SEC Form 
ADV Part II for review and consideration by the public treasurer. 
 (d)  All investment transactions and activities of the public 
treasurer and the Certified investment adviser must be in full 
compliance with all aspects of the Money Management Act and 
Rules of the Council particularly those requirements governing 
criteria for investments, safekeeping, utilizing only certified dealers 
or qualified dealers, and purchasing only the types of securities 
listed in 51-7-11., 51-7-12. and 51-7-13. as applicable. 
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 (e)  Prior to entering into an investment advisory services 
agreement with a Certified investment adviser, the public treasurer 
shall request and the investment adviser shall furnish a clear and 
concise explanation of the investment adviser's program, objectives, 
management approach and strategies used to add value to the 
portfolio and return, including the methods and securities to be 
employed. 
 5.  If selection of a Certified investment adviser to provide 
investment advisory services to a public treasurer is based upon the 
investment adviser's representation of special skills or expertise, the 
investment advisory services agreement shall require the Certified 
investment adviser to act with the degree of care, skill, prudence, 
and diligence that a person having special skills or expertise acting 
in a like capacity and familiar with such matters would use in the 
conduct of an enterprise of a like character and with like aims. 
 6.  The public treasurer is advised to review and consider 
standards of practice recommended by other sources, such as the 
Government Finance Officers Association, in the selection and 
management of investment adviser services. 
 
R628-19-6.  Reporting to the Council. 
 When a public treasurer has contracted with an investment 
adviser for the management of public funds, the public treasurer 
shall provide the detail of those investments to the Council, pursuant 
to Section 51-7-18.2. 
 
KEY:  securities, investment advisers, public funds 
2005 
51-7-18(2)(b) 
61-1-13 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 

State Lands 

R652-70-1900 
Camping and Motor Vehicles 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27750 

FILED:  03/14/2005, 15:13 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The rule, as 
currently written, restricts camping on lands "lying between 
the low water mark and the ordinary high water mark."  The 
locations of these two "marks" are not only difficult or 
impossible to ascertain, but have not been determined on all 
sovereign lands of the State.  Changing the wording to "the 
beds of navigable lakes and rivers" will create less confusion 
for the public, as well as the enforcement agencies.  
Additionally, under the current rule, "motorized vehicles are 
restricted from driving or parking on these lands."  The rule 
needs to be amended to assure consistency with another 
proposed rule amendment governing use of sovereign lands 
at Bear Lake, where extended drought has resulted in low 
water levels and increased interest in motor vehicle use on the 
exposed beach. 

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  The proposed rule change 
clarifies the portions of sovereign lands along navigable lakes 
and rivers where restrictions on camping and use of motor 
vehicles may be in effect to protect the public, as well as 
natural, cultural, and archeological resources.  It also provides 
that motor vehicles may operate on the shoreline of Bear Lake 
with certain restrictions.  (DAR NOTE:  The proposed 
amendment to Section R652-70-2300 dealing with Bear Lake 
is under DAR No. 27740 in this issue.) 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 65A-1-4(2) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This proposed change can be 
implemented without impact upon current state budgets. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Affected counties are aware of the 
proposed rule and will be able to enforce the rule with current 
staffing and budgets. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  Those found using or occupying state 
lands in violation of this rule will be charged with a class B 
misdemeanor, as provided in Subsection 65A-3-1(1)(b) and 
Section 76-3-204.  A bail schedule has not yet been set with a 
court administrator's office, so fines are to be determined by 
the local magistrate.  The division is not aware of any other 
cost or savings to other persons. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  The public has use 
of sovereign lands with certain restrictions just as any other 
public land.  The division is not aware of any compliance costs 
other than fines for violators as referenced under Other 
persons above. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The rule provides for use of 
sovereign lands while accommodating public safety and 
protection to natural resources, as well as cultural and 
archeological resources.  The rule provides for safe, orderly 
use of the beach by the public, which is expected to benefit 
local business.  Michael Styler, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
FORESTRY, FIRE AND STATE LANDS 
Room 3520  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jennifer Gregerson at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-5418, by FAX at 801-533-4111, or by Internet E-mail at 
jennifergregerson@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/03/2005 
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AUTHORIZED BY:  Karl Kappe, FFSL Strategic Planner 
 
 
 
R652.  Natural Resources; Forestry, Fire and State Lands. 
R652-70.  Sovereign Lands. 
R652-70-1900.  Camping and Motor Vehicles. 
 1.  The division may restrict camping on [lands lying between 
the low water mark and the ordinary high water mark]the beds of 
navigable lakes and rivers.  Except as provided elsewhere in this 
rule, [M]motor vehicles are prohibited from driving or parking on 
these lands at all times, except that those areas supervised by the 
Division of Parks and Recreation or other enforcement entity, and 
posted as open to vehicle use, will be open to vehicle use. 
 2.  In accordance with Subsections 65A-3-1(1)(b) and 76-3-
204, those found in violation of this rule will be charged with a class 
B misdemeanor, with sentence, fine, or both to be determined by the 
local magistrate. 
 
KEY:  sovereign lands, permits, administrative procedures 
[June 11, 2001]2005 
Notice of Continuation April 2, 2002 
65A-10-1 
 
▼ ▼ 
 
Natural Resources, Forestry, Fire and 

State Lands 

R652-70-2300 
Management of Bear Lake Sovereign 

Lands 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27740 
FILED:  03/10/2005, 11:00 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  With several 
consecutive years of drought, the low water level of Bear Lake 
has exposed large areas of beach (sovereign land) that 
experience high levels of recreational use.  This has led to 
concern for sanitation, public safety, and protection of 
sovereign land resources.  There have been confrontations 
between private landowners and the public as they access 
and use the beach.  In the past, attempts to educate the public 
as to voluntary guidelines for use of the beach have proven 
unsuccessful.  Attempts to cite violators were likewise 
unsuccessful because the guidelines were not enforceable.  
During public meetings held this year in Salt Lake City and 
Garden City, public concern was expressed about unsafe use 
of off-road vehicles regarding speed and proximity to other 
users, vehicle use too close to the water's edge, and the lack 
of a law enforcement presence on the beach.  The purpose of 
this change is to provide for effective management of public 
use on the exposed sovereign land. 
 

SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  This proposed rule 
establishes speed limits for vehicle use on sovereign lands, 
specifies when and where motor vehicle use can occur, 
establishes a 100-foot safety zone around the water's edge, 
restricts camping and picnicking to certain hours of the day, 
and specifies that no campfires or fireworks are allowed on 
the beach. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Subsection 65A-1-4(2) 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  The proposed change can be 
implemented within existing agency budget and staff.  There 
will be no impact on the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  Local government has advised it will 
assist the division in enforcing the rule as time, staff and 
budget allow; therefore, there is no additional cost to local 
government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  This change specifies the conditions of use 
of the sovereign land by the public and does not force them to 
purchase any permits or incur any additional costs.  However, 
those found using or occupying state lands in violation of this 
rule will be charged with a class B misdemeanor, as provided 
in Subsection 65A-3-1(1)(b) and Section 76-3-204.  A bail 
schedule has not yet been set with a court administrator's 
office, so fines are to be determined by the local magistrate. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  Public use of 
sovereign land is voluntary.  The division has not identified 
any compliance costs other than the fines for violators as 
referenced under Other persons above. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  The rule provides for orderly, 
safe use of the beach by the public.  This is expected to be of 
benefit to local businesses.  Michael Styler, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

NATURAL RESOURCES 
FORESTRY, FIRE AND STATE LANDS 
Room 3520  
1594 W NORTH TEMPLE 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3154, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Jennifer Gregerson at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-5418, by FAX at 801-533-4111, or by Internet E-mail at 
jennifergregerson@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/03/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Karl Kappe, FFSL Strategic Planner 
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R652.  Natural Resources; Forestry, Fire and State Lands. 
R652-70.  Sovereign Lands. 
R652-70-2300.  Management of Bear Lake Sovereign Lands. 
 (1)  Lands lying below the ordinary high water mark of Bear 
Lake as of the date of statehood are owned by the state of Utah and 
shall be administered by the division as sovereign lands. 
 (2)  Upon application for a specific use of state lands near the 
boundary of Bear Lake, or in the event of a dispute as to the 
ownership of the sovereign character of the lands near the boundary 
of Bear Lake, the division may evaluate all relevant historical 
evidence of the lake elevation, the water erosion along the shoreline, 
the topography of the land, and other relevant information to 
determine the relationship of the land in question to the ordinary 
high water mark. 
 (3)  In the absence of evidence establishing the ordinary high 
water mark as of the date of statehood, the division shall administer 
all the lands within the bed of Bear Lake and lying below the level 
of 5,923.68 feet above mean sea level, Utah Power and Light datum, 
as being sovereign lands. 
 (4)  The division, after notice to affected state agencies and any 
person with an ownership in the land, may enter into agreements to 
establish boundaries with owners of land adjoining the bed of Bear 
Lake; provided that the agreements shall not set a boundary for 
sovereign lands below the level of 5,923.68 feet above mean sea 
level. 
 (5)  From October 1 through April 30, motor vehicle use and 
camping or picnicking will be allowed on the exposed lake bed with 
the following restrictions: 
 (a)  Motor vehicles will not be allowed on lands administered 
by the Division of Parks and Recreation. 
 (b)  The established speed limit is 20 miles per hour. 
 (c)  Except as necessary to launch or retrieve watercraft, motor 
vehicles are not allowed within 100 feet of the water's edge.  Travel 
parallel to the water's edge is allowed, outside of the 100 foot zone. 
 (d)  Camping and use of motorized vehicles are prohibited 
between the hours of 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. 
 (e)  No campfires or fireworks are allowed. 
 (6)  From May 1 through September 30, motor vehicle use and 
camping or picnicking will be allowed on the exposed lake bed with 
the following restrictions: 
 (a)  Areas posted by the division are off limits to motorized 
vehicles. 
 (b)  The established speed limit is 15 miles per hour. 
 (c)  Except as necessary to launch or retrieve watercraft, motor 
vehicles are not allowed within 100 feet of the waters edge. 
 (d)  Unless posted otherwise, or to access a camping or 
picnicking spot, no motor vehicles may travel parallel to the waters 
edge. 
 (e)  Camping and use of motorized vehicles are prohibited 
between the hours of 10 p.m. and 7 a.m. 
 (f)  No campfires or fireworks are allowed. 
 (7)  In accordance with Subsections 65A-3-1(1)(b) and 76-3-
204, those found in violation of this rule will be charged with a class 
B misdemeanor, with sentence, fine, or both to be determined by the 
local magistrate. 
 
KEY:  sovereign lands, permits, administrative procedures 
[June 11, 2001]2005 
Notice of Continuation April 2, 2002 
65A-10-1 
 
▼ ▼ 

Public Safety, Fire Marshal 
R710-9-6 

Amendments and Additions 
 

NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 
(Amendment) 

DAR FILE NO.:  27754 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 13:06 

 
RULE ANALYSIS 

PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The Utah 
Fire Prevention Board met on March 8, 2005, in a regularly 
scheduled Board meeting and voted by motion to Section 
R710-9-6 by adding an exception that allows storage on 
shelves to be placed to the ceiling in certain applications. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  In Subsection R710-9-
6(6.3.3), the Board proposes to add an exception that allows 
storage to be placed to the ceiling on wall mounted shelves 
protected with an automatic fire sprinkler system in light and 
ordinary hazard occupancies. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 53-7-204 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  There is no anticipated cost or savings 
to the state budget because the proposed amendment is an 
allowance for shelf storage on wall shelving systems and will 
not affect the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  There is no anticipated cost or 
savings to local government because the proposed 
amendment is an allowance for shelf storage on wall mounted 
shelving systems and will not affect local government. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There is no anticipated cost to other 
persons but there is an anticipated savings to other persons.  
The proposed rule amendment will allow storage on wall-
mounted shelves to go to the ceiling rather than be required to 
maintain an 18-inch clearance.  This will allow more storage 
space usage and save having to build more shelves.  The 
aggregate anticipated savings is unknown due to the unknown 
number of occupancies that will be affected and the unknown 
number of shelves affected in each occupancy. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There is no 
compliance cost for affected persons with the enactment of 
this rule amendment.  The proposed rule amendment will 
benefit businesses with the allowance to use more storage 
shelving to the ceiling on wall-mounted shelves rather than 
build more shelving. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There is no fiscal impact to 
businesses for the enactment of this proposed rule 
amendment.  There is a fiscal savings for businesses allowed 
in buildings that are fire sprinklered to be allowed more 
shelving space than before.  Robert Flowers, Commissioner 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

PUBLIC SAFETY 
FIRE MARSHAL 
Room 302  
5272 S COLLEGE DR 
MURRAY UT 84123-2611, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Brent Halladay at the above address, by phone at 801-284-
6352, by FAX at 801-284-6351, or by Internet E-mail at 
bhallada@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/03/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Gary A. Wise, State Fire Marshal 
 
 
 
R710.  Public Safety, Fire Marshal. 
R710-9.  Rules Pursuant to the Utah Fire Prevention Law. 
R710-9-6.  Amendments and Additions. 
 The following amendments and additions are hereby adopted 
by the Board for application statewide: 
 6.1  Administration 
 6.1.1  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.3 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows: No change shall be made in the use or occupancy of any 
structure that would place the structure in a different division of the 
same group or occupancy or in a different group of occupancies, 
unless such structure maintains a reasonable level of fire and life 
safety and the change to use or occupancy does not create a distinct 
hazard to life or property as determined by the AHJ. 
 6.1.2  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.4 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows: The design and construction of new structures shall comply 
with the International Building Code.  Repairs, alterations and 
additions to existing structures are allowed when such structure 
maintains a reasonable level of fire and life safety and the change 
does not create a distinct hazard to life or property as determined by 
the AHJ. 
 6.1.3  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 102.5 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows: The construction, alteration, repair, enlargement, 
restoration, relocation or movement of existing buildings or 
structures that are designated as historic buildings are allowed when 
such historic structures maintains a reasonable level of fire and life 
safety and the change does not create a distinct hazard to life or 
property as determined by the AHJ. 
 6.1.4  IFC, Chapter, 1, Section 102.4 is amended as follows:  
On line three after the words "Building Code." add the following 
sentence: "The design and construction of detached one- and two-
family dwellings and multiple single-family dwellings (town houses) 
not more than three stories above grade plane in height with a 
separate means of egress and their accessory structures shall comply 
with the International Residential Code." 
 6.1.5  IFC, Chapter 1, Section 109.2 is amended as follows:  On 
line three after the words "is in violation of this code," add the 
following "or other pertinent laws or ordinances". 

 6.2  Definitions 
 6.2.1  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Educational Group E, Day 
care is amended as follows: On line three delete the word "five" and 
replace it with the word "four". 
 6.2.2  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Institutional Group I, Group 
I-1 is amended to add the following:  Add "Type 1" in front of the 
words "Assisted living facilities". 
 6.2.3  IFC, Chapter 2 Section 202, Institutional Group I, Group 
I-2 is amended as follows: On line three delete the word "five" and 
replace it with the word "three".  After "Detoxification facilities" 
delete the rest of the paragraph, and add the following: "Ambulatory 
surgical centers with two or more operating rooms where care is less 
than 24 hours, Outpatient medical care facilities for ambulatory 
patients (accommodating more than five such patients in each tenant 
space) which may render the patient incapable of unassisted self-
preservation, and Type 2 assisted living facilities.  Type 2 assisted 
living facilities with five or fewer persons shall be classified as a 
Group R-4.  Type 2 assisted living facilities with at least six and not 
more than 16 residents shall be classified as a Group I-1 facility. 
 6.2.4  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202, Institutional Group I, Group 
I-4, day care facilities, Child care facility is amended as follows: On 
line three delete the word "five" and replace it with the word "four". 
 Also on line two of the Exception after Child care facility delete the 
word "five" and replace it with the word "four". 
 6.2.5  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202 General Definitions, 
Occupancy Classification, Residential Group R-1 is amended to add 
the following:  Exception:  Boarding houses accommodating 10 
persons or less shall be classified as Residential Group R-3. 
 6.2.6  IFC, Chapter 2, Section 202 General Definitions, 
Occupancy Classification, Residential Group R-2 is amended to add 
the following:  Exception:  Boarding houses accommodating 10 
persons or less shall be classified as Residential Group R-3. 
 6.3  General Precautions Against Fire 
 6.3.1  IFC, Chapter 3, Section 304.1.2 is amended to delete the 
following sentence: "Vegetation clearance requirements in urban-
wildland interface areas shall be in accordance with the International 
Urban/Wildland Interface Code." 
 6.3.2  IFC, Chapter 3, Section 311.1.1 is amended as follows: 
On line ten delete the words "International Property Maintenance 
Code and the" from this section. 
 6.3.3  IFC, Chapter 3, Section 315.2.1 is amended to add the 
following: Exception:  Where storage is not directly below the 
sprinkler heads, storage is allowed to be placed to the ceiling on wall 
mounted shelves that are protected by fire sprinkler heads in 
occupancies meeting classification as light or ordinary hazard. 
 6.4  Elevator Recall and Maintenance 
 6.4.1  IFC, Chapter 6, Section 607.3 is deleted and rewritten as 
follows:  Firefighter service keys shall be kept in a "Supra-Stor-a-
key" elevator key box or similar box with corresponding key system 
that is adjacent to the elevator for immediate use by the fire 
department.  The key box shall contain one key for each elevator and 
one key for lobby control. 
 6.5  Building Services and Systems 
 6.5.1  IFC, Chapter 6, Section 610.1 is amended to add the 
following: On line three after the word "Code" add the words "and 
NFPA 96". 
 6.6  Record Drawings 
 6.6.1  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 901.2.1 is amended to add the 
following: The code official has the authority to request record 
drawings ("as builts") to verify any modifications to the previously 
approved construction documents. 
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 6.6.2  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 902.1 Definitions, RECORD 
DRAWINGS is deleted and rewritten as follows: Drawings ("as 
builts") that document all aspects of a fire protection system as 
installed. 
 6.7  Fire Protection Systems 
 6.7.1  Inspection and Testing of Automatic Fire Sprinkler 
Systems 
 The owner or administrator of each building shall insure the 
inspection and testing of water based fire protection systems as 
required in IFC, Chapter 9, Section 901.6. 
 6.7.2  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.2.7 Group R, is amended to 
add the following: Exception: Detached one- and two-family 
dwellings and multiple single-family dwellings (townhouses) 
constructed in accordance with the International Residential Code 
for one- and two-family dwellings. 
 6.7.3  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.2.7 is amended to add the 
following: Exception: Group R-4 fire areas not more than 4500 
gross square feet and not containing more than 16 residents, 
provided the building is equipped throughout with an approved fire 
alarm system that is interconnected and receives its primary power 
from the building wiring and a commercial power system. 
 6.7.4  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection: 903.6.2  Commercial cooking operation 
suppression.  Automatic fire sprinkler systems protecting 
commercial kitchen exhaust hood and duct systems with appliances 
that generate appreciable depth of cooking oils shall be replaced 
with a UL300 listed system by May 1, 2004. 
 6.7.5  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection: 903.6.3  Dry chemical hood system 
suppression.  Existing automatic fire-extinguishing systems using 
dry chemical that protect commercial kitchen exhaust hood and duct 
systems shall be removed and replaced with a UL300 listed system 
by January 1, 2006 or before that date when any of the following 
occurs: 1) Six year internal maintenance service; 2) Recharge; 3) 
Hydrostatic test date as indicated on the manufacturers date of the 
cylinders; or 4) Reconfiguration of the system piping. 
 6.7.6  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection: 903.6.4  Wet chemical hood system 
suppression.  Existing wet chemical fire-extinguishing systems not 
UL300 listed and protecting commercial kitchen exhaust hood and 
duct systems shall be removed, replaced or upgraded to a UL300 
listed system by January 1, 2006 or before that date when any of the 
following occurs: 1) Six year internal maintenance service; 2) 
Recharge; 3) Hydrostatic test date as indicated on the manufacturer 
date of the cylinder; or 4) Reconfiguration of the system piping. 
 6.7.7  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 903.6 is amended to add the 
following subsection:  903.6.5 Group A-2 occupancies.  An 
automatic fire sprinkler system shall be provided throughout Group 
A-2 occupancies where indoor pyrotechnics are used. 
 6.7.8  NFPA, Standard 10, Section 6.2.1 is amended to add the 
following sentence: The use of a supervised listed electronic 
monitoring system shall be permitted to satisfy the 30 day fire 
extinguisher interval inspection requirement. 
 6.8  Backflow Protection 
 6.8.1  The potable water supply to automatic fire sprinkler 
systems and standpipe systems shall be protected against backflow 
in accordance with the International Plumbing Code as amended in 
the Utah Administrative Code, R156-56-707. 
 6.9  Retroactive Installations of Automatic Fire Alarm Systems 
in Existing Buildings 

 6.9.1  IFC, Chapter 9, Sections 907.3.1.1, 907.3.1.2, 907.3.1.3, 
907.3.1.4, 907.3.1.5, 907.3.1.6, 907.3.1.7, and 907.3.1.8 are deleted. 
 6.10  Smoke Alarms 
 6.10.1  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 907.3.2 is amended to add the 
following: On line three after the word "occupancies" add "and 
detached one- and two-family dwellings and multiple single-family 
dwellings (townhouses)". 
 6.10.2  IFC, Chapter 9, Section 907.3.2.3 is amended to add the 
following: On line one after the word "occupancies" add "and 
detached one- and two-family dwellings and multiple single-family 
dwellings (townhouses)". 
 6.11  Means of Egress 
 6.11.1  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1008.1.8.3 is amended to add 
the following:  5. Doors in Group I-1 and I-2 occupancies, where the 
clinical needs of the patients require specialized security, approved 
access controlled egress may be installed when all the following are 
met:  5.1 The controlled egress doors shall unlock upon activation of 
the automatic fire sprinkler system or the automatic fire detection 
system.  5.2 The facility staff can unlock the controlled egress doors 
by either sensor or keypad.  5.3 The controlled egress doors shall 
unlock upon loss of power.  6. Doors in Group I-1 and I-2 
occupancies, where the clinical needs of the patients require 
approved, listed delayed egress locks, they shall be installed on 
doors as allowed in IFC, Section 1008.1.8.6. 
 6.11.2  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1009.3 is amended as follows: 
On line six of Exception 5 delete "7.75" and replace it with "8".  On 
line seven of Exception 5 delete "10" and replace it with "9". 
 6.11.3  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1009.11, Exception 4 is 
deleted and replaced with the following: 4. In occupancies in Group 
R-3, as applicable in Section 101.2 and in occupancies in Group U, 
which are accessory to an occupancy in Group R-3, as applicable in 
Section 101.2, handrails shall be provided on at least one side of 
stairways consisting of four or more risers. 
 6.11.4  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1009.11.3 is amended to add 
the following:  Exception: Non-circular handrails serving an 
individual unit in a Group R-1, Group R-2 or Group R-3 occupancy 
shall be permitted to have a maximum cross sectional dimension of 
3.25 inches (83 mm) measured 2 inches (51mm) down from the top 
of the crown.  Such handrail is required to have an indention on both 
sides between 0.625 inch (16mm) and 1.5 inches (38mm) down 
from the top or crown of the cross section.  The indentation shall be 
a minimum of 0.25 inch (6mm) deep on each side and shall be at 
least 0.5 (13mm) high.  Edges within the handgrip shall have a 
minimum radius of 0.0625 inch (2mm).  The handrail surface shall 
be smooth with no cusps so as to avoid catching clothing or skin. 
 6.11.5  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1012.2 is amended to add the 
following exception: 3.  For occupancies in Group R-3 and within 
individual dwelling units in occupancies in Grouop R-2, as 
applicable in Section 101.2, guards shall form a protective barrier 
not less than 36 inches (914mm). 
 6.11.6  IFC, Chapter 10, Section 1027.2 is amended to add the 
following:  On line five after the word "fire" add the words "and 
building". 
 6.12  Fireworks 
 6.12.1  IFC, Chapter 33, Section 3301.1.3 is amended to add 
the following Exception: 10.  The use of fireworks for display and 
retail sales is allowed as set forth in UCA 53-7-220 and UCA 11-3-
1. 
 6.13  Flammable and Combustible Liquids 
 6.13.1  IFC, Chapter 34, Section 3404.4.3 is amended as 
follows: Delete 3403.6 on line three and replace it with 3403.4. 
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 6.14  Liquefied Petroleum Gas 
 6.14.1  IFC, Chapter 38, Section 3809.12, is amended as 
follows: Delete 20 from line three and replace it with 10. 
 6.14.2  IFC, Chapter 38, Section 3809.14 is amended as 
follows:  Delete 20 from line three and replace it with 10. 
 
KEY:  fire prevention, law 
[March 4, 2005]May 3, 2005 
Notice of Continuation June 12, 2002 
53-7-204 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

R986-200-214 
Assistance for Specified Relatives 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(Amendment) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27771 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 18:27 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purpose of this amendment is to change eligibility 
requirements for specified relatives. 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  Stepparents will now be 
required to qualify as a household under family employment 
program rules and will not be eligible as specified relatives.  
Also the amendment  requires that the dependent children in 
the household be related by blood to the specified relative. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Sections 35A-3-101 et seq. and 35A-3-301 et seq. 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This is a federally-funded program so 
there are no costs or savings to the state budget. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This rule does not apply to local 
government so therefore there are no costs or savings to local 
governments.  Local governments do not contribute to the 
costs of this program.  This rule change merely requires that 
individuals who care for dependent children be related by 
blood to those dependent children.  It also requires that 
stepparents who are caring for dependent children meet the 
income and asset eligibility requirments of the financial 
assistance program. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There are no costs or savings to any other 
persons as there are no fees associated with this program and 
it is federally funded. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no costs 
or savings to any affected persons as there are no fees 
associated with this program and it is federally funded.  
Stepparents caring for dependent children will now have to 
meet the income and asset eligibility requirements and will no 
longer qualify as specified relatives.  All specified relatives will 

also be required to be related by blood to the dependent 
children receiving financial assistance.  It will not cost these 
individuals anything to comply with this rule but a small 
number of specified relatives may lose financial assistance if 
they cannot meet the income and asset limits. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There are no compliance costs 
associated with this change.  There are no fees associated 
with this change.  It will not cost anyone any sum to comply 
with these changes.  Tani Downing, Executive Director 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
EMPLOYMENT DEVELOPMENT 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/03/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Tani Downing, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R986.  Workforce Services, Employment Development. 
R986-200.  Family Employment Program. 
R986-200-214. Assistance for Specified Relatives. 
 (1)  Specified relatives include: 
 (a)  grandparents; 
 (b)  brothers and sisters;[ 
 (c)  stepparents;] 
 ([d]c)  stepbrothers and stepsisters; 
 ([e]d)  aunts and uncles; 
 ([f]e)  first cousins; 
 ([g]f)  first cousins once removed; 
 ([h]g)  nephews and nieces; 
 ([i]h)  people of prior generations as designated by the prefix 
grand, great, great-great, or great- great-great; 
 ([j]i)  a natural parent whose parental rights were terminated by 
court order; 
 ([k]j)  brothers and sisters by legal adoption; 
 ([l]k)  the spouse of any person listed above; 
 ([m]l)  the former spouse of any person listed above; and[ 
 (n)  persons who meet any of the above relationships by means 
of a step relationship even if the marriage has been terminated; and] 
 ([o]m)  individuals who can prove they met one of the above 
mentioned relationships via a blood relationship even though the 
legal relationship has been terminated. 
 (2)  The Department shall require compliance with Section 30-
1-4.5 
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 (3)  A specified relative may apply for financial assistance for 
the child. If the child is otherwise eligible, the FEP rules apply with 
the following exceptions: 
 (a)  The child must have a blood or a legal relationship to the 
specified relative even if the legal relationship has been terminated, 
 ([a]b)  Both parents must be absent from the home where the 
child lives; and 
 ([b]c)  The child must be currently living with, and not just 
visiting, the specified relative; and 
 ([c]d)  The parents' obligation to financially support their child 
will be enforced and the specified relative must cooperate with child 
support enforcement; and 
 ([d]e)  If the parent(s) state they are willing to support the child 
if the child would return to live with the parent(s), the child is 
ineligible unless there is a court order removing the child from the 
parent(s)' home. 
 (4)  If the specified relative is currently receiving FEP or 
FEPTP, the child must be included in that household assistance unit. 
 (5)  The income and resources of the specified relative are not 
counted unless the specified relative requests inclusion in the 
household assistance unit. 
 (6)  If the specified relative is not currently receiving FEP or 
FEPTP, and the specified relative does not want to be included in the 
financial assistance payment, the specified relative shall be paid, on 
behalf of the child, the full standard financial assistance payment for 
one person. The size of the financial assistance payment shall be 
increased accordingly for each additional eligible child in the 
household assistance unit excluding the dependent child(ren) of the 
specified relative. Since the specified relative is not included in the 
household assistance unit, the income and assets of the specified 
relative, or the relative's spouse, are not counted. 
 (7)  The specified relative may request to be included in the 
household assistance unit. If the specified relative is included in the 
household assistance unit, the household must meet all FEP 
eligibility requirements including participation requirements and 
asset limits. 
 (8)  Income eligibility for a specified relative who wants to be 
included in the household assistance unit is calculated according to 
R986-200-241. 
 
KEY:  family employment program 
[April 1, 2004]2005 
35A-3-301 et seq. 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Workforce Services, Workforce 
Information and Payment Services 

R994-304 
Special Provisions Regarding Transfers 

of Unemployment Experience and 
Assigning Rates 

 
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE 

(New Rule) 
DAR FILE NO.:  27770 

FILED:  03/15/2005, 18:13 
 

RULE ANALYSIS 
PURPOSE OF THE RULE OR REASON FOR THE CHANGE:  The 
purposed of this new rule is to assist and explain enforcement 
of H.B. 10 passed in the 2005 General Session of the Utah 
State Legislature.  (DAR NOTE:  H.B. 10 is found at UT L 
2005 Ch 12, and was effective 03/15/2005.) 
 
SUMMARY OF THE RULE OR CHANGE:  H.B. 10 as passed in the 
2005 General Session of the Utah State Legislature, prohibits 
employers from transferring ownership, management, and/or 
control of a company to another company to obtain a lower 
experience rate calculation.  This rule is intended to assist in 
the enforcement of that new law. 
 
STATE STATUTORY OR CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORIZATION FOR THIS 
RULE:  Section 35A-4-304 
 
ANTICIPATED COST OR SAVINGS TO: 
❖  THE STATE BUDGET:  This is a federally funded program and 
there will be no cost or savings to the state budget.  Even 
though the state pays unemployment benefits, since the state 
has never been able to change "ownership" to achieve a lower 
experience rating, this rule change will not represent a cost or 
savings to the state. 
❖  LOCAL GOVERNMENTS:  This is a federally funded state-run 
program and there will be no cost or savings to any local 
governmental entity.  Even though local governments pay 
unemployment benefits, since local governments have never 
been able to change "ownership" to avoid a higher experience 
rating, this rule change will represent no costs of savings to 
local governmental entities. 
❖  OTHER PERSONS:  There will be no cost or savings to other 
persons not anticipated by the legislation.  Only those 
employers attempting to transfer interest in a company to 
another company in an effort to avoid unemployment liability 
will be affected.  The legislation provides that the "higher" 
experience rating will "follow" the transfer to the new 
company. 
 
COMPLIANCE COSTS FOR AFFECTED PERSONS:  There are no 
compliance costs for any persons.  This rule makes no 
substantive change to the legislation passed in the 2005 
General Session as H.B. 10.  An employer that transferred 
ownership in a business to avoid a higher experience rating 
prior to passage of H.B. 10 will be unable to illegally avoid that 
experience rating now but the change was made by the 
legislation, not this rule.  This rule merely defines the 
procedure for effectuating the legislative change and carries 
no compliance costs independent of that legislation. 
 
COMMENTS BY THE DEPARTMENT HEAD ON THE FISCAL IMPACT THE 
RULE MAY HAVE ON BUSINESSES:  There will be no impact on 
businesses as a result of this rule.  Employers will no longer 
be able to avoid an experience rating by transferring 
ownership to a new employer as a result of the legislation.  
This new rule simply follows the legislation.  Tani Downing, 
Executive Director 
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THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

WORKFORCE SERVICES 
WORKFORCE INFORMATION AND 
PAYMENT SERVICES 
140 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2333, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Suzan Pixton at the above address, by phone at 801-526-
9645, by FAX at 801-526-9211, or by Internet E-mail at 
spixton@utah.gov 
 
INTERESTED PERSONS MAY PRESENT THEIR VIEWS ON THIS RULE BY 
SUBMITTING WRITTEN COMMENTS TO THE ADDRESS ABOVE NO LATER 
THAN 5:00 PM on 05/02/2005. 
 
THIS RULE MAY BECOME EFFECTIVE ON:  05/03/2005 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Tani Downing, Executive Director 
 
 
 
R994.  Workforce Services, Workforce Information and 
Payment Services. 
R994-304.  Special Provisions Regarding Transfers of 
Unemployment Experience and Assigning Rates. 
R994-304-101.  Transfer of a Trade or Business, or Portion 
Thereof, with Common Ownership, Management, or Control. 
 (1)  The term "person" includes but is not limited to an 
individual, trust, estate, partnership, association, limited liability 
company, corporation, government entity, or Indian tribe.  The 
"predecessor employer" is the employer that transfers its trade or 
business, or a portion of its trade of business, to another employer.  
The "successor employer" is the employer that acquires the trade or 
business, or a portion of the trade or business. 
 (2)  Common ownership exists if an employer transfers a trade 
or business, or a portion of a trade or business, to another employer 
and at the time of the transfer: 
 (a)  the predecessor employer owns 50% or more of the of the 
trade or business of the successor employer.  For entities that issue 
shares of stock ownership, 50% or more of the "voting shares" of 
stock interest must be common to both; or 
 (b)  an individual with a controlling interest in the predecessor 
trade or business, transfers that controlling interest to an individual 
in the successor trade or business and the parties are related in one of 
the following ways: 
 (i)  spouse; 
 (ii)  parent; 
 (iii)  step parent; 
 (iv)  child; 
 (v)  step child; 
 (vi)  sibling; or 
 (vii)  step sibling. 
 (3)  The Department will determine common management or 
control using the best available evidence. 
 (a)  Common management will be found if the predecessor and 
successor employers have the same or similar: 

 (i)  managers, officers, board of directors; 
 (ii)  personnel and human resource policies; 
 (iii)  operating procedures; 
 (iv)  sales and pricing policies; 
 (v)  collection procedures; 
 (vi)  financing policies; 
 (vii)  accounting practices; or 
 (viii)  purchasing practices. 
 (b)  common control will be found where the predecessor and 
successor employers have the same or similar: 
 (i)  control of the assets used to conduct the business enterprise; 
 (ii)  financing and/or leasing arrangements; 
 (iii)  contracts; or 
 (iv)  business, professional, and regulatory licenses of the 
business enterprise. 
 (4)  The factors listed in subsections 3(a) and (3)(b) of this 
section are not exclusive and are intended as aids for analyzing the 
facts of each case.  The degree of importance of each factor in those 
subsections varies depending on the nature of the trade or business 
transferred.  Some do not apply to certain trades or businesses and, 
therefore, should not be given any weight.  The Department will 
scrutinize the facts in each case to assure that the form of the transfer 
does not obscure the substance of the transfer. 
 
R994-304-102.  Notification Requirements. 
 (1)  All parties to a transfer described in Section 35A-4-
304(3)(a) must provide the following information to the Department 
within 30 days of the transfer date: 
 (a)  the effective date of the transfer. 
 (b)  the percentage of the assets, trade or business, and 
workforce transferred. 
 (c)  the reason for the transfer. 
 (d)  the following information for both the predecessor and the 
successor employers: 
 (i)  name; 
 (ii)  street address; 
 (iii)  Utah Unemployment Insurance Registration Numbers, if 
one has been assigned; and 
 (iv)  Federal Employer Identification Numbers (FEIN), if one 
has been assigned. 
 (e)  the name and Social Security number (SSN) or FEIN of 
any successor employer who was also a predecessor employer, or 
any individual who is related to the predecessor.  Related means to 
have a family relationship as described in Section R994-304-
101(2)(b). 
 (f)  Common management and control practices that were 
retained from the predecessor employer. 
 (g)  Any other information requested by the Department. 
 
R994-304-103.  Recalculation and Effective Date of Contribution 
Rates. 
 Any employer that is a party to a transfer of an employer's trade 
or business described in Section 35A-4-304(3)(a) shall have its 
contribution rate recalculated.  The effective date of the 
recalculation shall be the first day of the calendar quarter following 
the actual date of the transfer, unless the actual transfer occurred on 
the first day of a calendar quarter, in which case the recalculation 
takes effect on that day. 
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End of the Notices of Proposed Rules Section 
 

R994-304-104.  Identification of the Transfer or Acquisition of 
an Employer's Workforce. 
 The Department will develop and implement programs to aid in 
the detection and identification of employers that transfer or acquire 
all or a portion of another employer's workforce. 
 

KEY:  unemployment experience rating 
2005 
35-A-4-304 
 
▼ ▼ 
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FIVE-YEAR NOTICES OF REVIEW AND STATEMENTS OF CONTINUATION 
  
 
Within five years of an administrative rule's original enactment or last five-year review, the responsible agency is 
required to review the rule.  This review is designed to remove obsolete rules from the Utah Administrative Code. 
 
Upon reviewing a rule, an agency may:  repeal the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE; continue the rule as it is by filing 
a NOTICE OF REVIEW AND STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION (NOTICE); or amend the rule by filing a PROPOSED RULE and by 
filing a NOTICE.  By filing a NOTICE, the agency indicates that the rule is still necessary. 
 
NOTICES are not followed by the rule text.  The rule text that is being continued may be found in the most recent 
edition of the Utah Administrative Code.  The rule text may also be inspected at the agency or the Division of 
Administrative Rules.  NOTICES are effective when filed.  NOTICES are governed by Utah Code Section 63-46a-9 
(1998). 
  
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-38 
Residence Lien Restriction and Lien 

Recovery Fund Rules 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27752 
FILED:  03/15/2005, 08:31 

 
NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 38, Chapter 11, 
provides for the Residence Lien Recovery Fund.  Section 38-
11-103 provides that this chapter is to be administered by the 
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.  Section 
38-11-105 and Subsection 38-11-108(2) provide that the 
Division shall establish procedures by rule with respect to the 
Fund.  This rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 
38, Chapter 11, with respect to the Residence Lien Recovery 
Fund. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was last 
reviewed in April 2000, it has been amended six times.  The 
rule was amended on July 26, 2004, February 3, 2004, June 
17, 2003, July 3, 2002, September 17, 2001, and  July 17, 
2001.  Most of the amendments which were proposed were 
the result of legislative changes made to Title 38, Chapter 11, 
during the years since April 2000.  No written comments have 
been received with respect to any of the proposed rule filings. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued for several reasons.  First, the rule sets forth the 
 
 

evidentiary requirements for Lien Recovery Fund applications. 
Without those requirements the processing of applications 
would decay into a chaotic morass.  Second, the rule codifies 
years of decisions so the public has a single, convenient 
reference for guidance on taking advantage of the Residence 
Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery Fund Act.  Finally, the rule 
is the repository of instructions for all Fund activities.  Without 
that guidance, the Fund's workings would become mired in 
inefficiency and contradiction. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Earl Webster or Rich Oborn at the above address, by phone 
at 801-530-7632 or 801-530-6104, by FAX at 801-530-6511 or 
801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at ewebster@utah.gov or 
roborn@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/15/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Commerce, Occupational and 
Professional Licensing 

R156-60c 
Professional Counselor Licensing Act 

Rules 
 

FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

DAR FILE NO.:  27749 
FILED:  03/14/2005, 13:42 
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NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 4, 
provides for the licensure of professional counselors and 
certified professional counselor interns.  Subsection 58-1-
106(1)(a) provides that the Division may adopt and enforce 
rules to administer Title 58.  Subsection 58-60-403(3) provides 
that the Professional Counselor Licensing Board's duties and 
responsibilities shall be in accordance with Section 58-1-202.  
Subsection 58-1-202(1)(a) provides that one of the duties of 
each board is to recommend appropriate rules to the division 
director.  This rule was enacted to clarify the provisions of Title 
58, Chapter 60, Part 4, with respect to professional counselors 
and certified professional counselor interns. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  Since this rule was last 
reviewed in April 2000, it has been amended three times.  In 
June 2003, amendments were proposed to clarify the 
educational requirements so that they were consistent with 
national accrediting requirements for mental health therapy.  
The Division received no written comments with respect to this 
rule filing.  In December 2001, an amendment was proposed 
to update the ethical standards to the current edition.  The 
Division received no written comments with respect to this rule 
filing.  In June 2001, amendments were proposed as a result 
of legislative changes made in the respective statute in 2001.  
The statute amendments created a new license classification 
of certified professional counselor intern.  Amendments were 
proposed to the rule regarding the new classification of 
licensure.  The Division received one written comment from 
Sheila Bittle in June 2001 regarding the continuing education 
requirements for certified professional counselor interns.  The 
Division and Professional Counselor Licensing Board 
reviewed Ms. Bittle's written comments regarding lessening 
the number of continuing education hours required for certified 
professional counselor interns and determined that the 
number of continuing education hours should remain at 40 
continuing education hours every two years to ensure that the 
certified professional counselor intern was as up to date with 
continuing education as a licensed professional counselor. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued as it provides a mechanism to inform potential 
licensees of the requirements for licensure as allowed under 
statutory authority provided in Title 58, Chapter 60, Part 4, 
with respect to professional counselors and certified 
professional counselor interns.  The rule should also be 
continued as it provides information to ensure applicants for 
licensure are adequately trained and meet minimum licensure 
requirements. 
 

THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

COMMERCE 
OCCUPATIONAL AND PROFESSIONAL LICENSING 
HEBER M WELLS BLDG 
160 E 300 S 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84111-2316, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Debra Hendren at the above address, by phone at 801-530-
6621, by FAX at 801-530-6511, or by Internet E-mail at 
debhendren@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  J. Craig Jackson, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/14/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Environmental Quality, Radiation 
Control 

R313-34 
Requirements for Irradiators 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27738 

FILED:  03/08/2005, 14:06 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Subsection 19-1-106(1) 
created the Radiation Control Board within the Department of 
Environmental Quality.  Subsection 19-3-104(4) provides that 
the Board may make rules necessary for controlling exposure 
to sources of radiation that constitute a significant health 
hazard and to meet the requirements of federal law relating to 
radiation control. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  This has not been a 
controversial rule, as there have been no comments received 
during and since the last five-year review of the rule. 
 
REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The Radiation Control 
Board recommends the continuation of this rule.  This rule 
must be continued because it establishes the requirements for 
the possession and use of radioactive sealed sources in 
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irradiators.  These devices use gamma radiation for irradiation 
of objects or materials.  The rule provides for protection of 
public health and safety by controlling panoramic irradiators 
that have either dry or wet storage of the radioactive sealed 
sources; underwater irradiators in which both the source and 
object being irradiated are underwater; and irradiators whose 
dose rate exceeds 500 rads per hour at one meter from the 
radioactive source in air or in water. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 
RADIATION CONTROL 
Room 212  
168 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3085, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Craig Jones at the above address, by phone at 801-536-4264, 
by FAX at 801-533-4097, or by Internet E-mail at 
cwjones@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Dane Finerfrock, Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/08/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Health, Health Care Financing, 
Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 

R414-61 
Home and Community Based Waivers 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27741 

FILED:  03/11/2005, 12:13 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  This rule is authorized by 
Section 26-1-5 that grants the Utah Department of Health the 
power to adopt, amend, or rescind rules that shall have the 
force and effect of law.  In addition, Section 26-18-3 requires 
the Department to administer the Medicaid program.  
Furthermore, 42 USC 1396n(c) authorizes the Department to 
administer home and community based services by waiver. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No written or oral 
comments have been received that support or oppose this 
rule. 
 

REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  This rule should be 
continued because it implements all home and community 
based waivers that provide community based alternatives to 
institutional care; currently enables over 5,000 Medicaid 
clients to either postpone or prevent the need to go into 
nursing homes; and provides a financial cost savings to the 
state. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

HEALTH 
HEALTH CARE FINANCING, 
COVERAGE AND REIMBURSEMENT POLICY 
CANNON HEALTH BLDG 
288 N 1460 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 
 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Craig Devashrayee at the above address, by phone at 801-
538-6641, by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at 
cdevashrayee@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  David N. Sundwall, Executive Director 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/11/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
 

Tax Commission, Auditing 

R865-16R 
Severance Tax 

 
FIVE YEAR NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 

STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 
DAR FILE NO.:  27739 

FILED:  03/08/2005, 15:38 
 

NOTICE OF REVIEW AND 
STATEMENT OF CONTINUATION 

CONCISE EXPLANATION OF THE PARTICULAR STATUTORY PROVISIONS 
UNDER WHICH THE RULE IS ENACTED AND HOW THESE PROVISIONS 
AUTHORIZE OR REQUIRE THE RULE:  Section 59-2-203 indicates 
how taxable value shall be determined for purposes of 
imposing the mining severance tax of 2.6% of taxable value.  
This section also requires the Tax Commission to establish a 
rule setting forth an established authority for market prices of 
metals; and a process for determining the value of metals sold 
between affiliates where a bona fide sale has not taken place. 
 
SUMMARY OF WRITTEN COMMENTS RECEIVED DURING AND SINCE THE 
LAST FIVE YEAR REVIEW OF THE RULE FROM INTERESTED PERSONS 
SUPPORTING OR OPPOSING THE RULE:  No comments have been 
received in the last five years. 
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REASONED JUSTIFICATION FOR CONTINUATION OF THE RULE, 
INCLUDING REASONS WHY THE AGENCY DISAGREES WITH COMMENTS 
IN OPPOSITION TO THE RULE, IF ANY:  The rule establishes 
authority and promulgates processes both required by statute 
and is necessary in the determination of fair market value.  
The rule is necessary to ensure that the measurement of 
taxable value is consistent among the different tax payers, 
thereby ensuring that all pay their fair share of tax.  Therefore, 
this rule should be continued. 
 
THE FULL TEXT OF THIS RULE MAY BE INSPECTED, DURING REGULAR 
BUSINESS HOURS, AT: 

TAX COMMISSION 
AUDITING 
210 N 1950 W 
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84134, or 
at the Division of Administrative Rules. 

DIRECT QUESTIONS REGARDING THIS RULE TO: 
Cheryl Lee at the above address, by phone at 801-297-3900, 
by FAX at 801-297-3919, or by Internet E-mail at 
clee@utah.gov 
 
AUTHORIZED BY:  Pam Hendrickson, Commissioner 
 
EFFECTIVE:  03/08/2005 
 
▼ ▼ 
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NOTICES OF RULE EFFECTIVE DATES 
  
 
These are the effective dates of PROPOSED RULES or CHANGES IN PROPOSED RULES published in earlier editions of 
the Utah State Bulletin.  These effective dates are at least 31 days and not more than 120 days after the date the 
following rules were published.  
 
 
Abbreviations 
AMD = Amendment 
CPR = Change in Proposed Rule 
NEW = New Rule 
R&R = Repeal and Reenact 
REP = Repeal 
 
Administrative Services 

Facilities Construction and Management 
No. 27603 (AMD): R23-1.  Procurement of 
Construction. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 15, 2005 
 
No. 27605 (AMD): R23-2.  Procurement of Architect-
Engineer Services. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 15, 2005 
 
No. 27615 (AMD): R23-3.  Planning and Programming 
for Capital Projects. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 15, 2005 
 
No. 27610 (AMD): R23-4.  Suspension/Debarment and 
Contract Performance Review Committee. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 15, 2005 
 
No. 27614 (NEW): R23-26.  Dispute Resolution. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 15, 2005 
 

Records Committee 
No. 27621 (NEW): R35-1a.  State Records Committee 
Definitions. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 8, 2005 
 
No. 27625 (AMD): R35-2.  Declining Appeal Hearings. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
No. 27622 (AMD): R35-3.  Prehearing Conferences. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
No. 27624 (AMD): R35-4.  Compliance with State 
Records Committee Decisions and Orders. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 

No. 27623 (AMD): R35-5.  Subpoenas Issued by the 
Records Committee. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
No. 27620 (AMD): R35-6.  Expedited Hearing. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
 

Capitol Preservation Board (State) 
Administration 

No. 27631 (NEW): R131-8.  CPB Facilities and 
Grounds:  Maintenance of Aesthetics. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 3, 2005 
 
No. 27632 (NEW): R131-9.  State Capitol Preservation 
Board Art Program and Policy. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 3, 2005 
 
 

Commerce 
Occupational and Professional Licensing 

No. 27548 (AMD): R156-47b.  Massage Therapy 
Practice Act Rules. 
Published:  December 15, 2004 
Effective:  March 7, 2005 
 
No. 27548 (CPR): R156-47b.  Massage Therapy 
Practice Act Rules. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 7, 2005 
 
 

Environmental Quality 
Air Quality 

No. 27429 (AMD): R307-110-11.  Section IX, Control 
Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part B, Sulfur 
Dioxide. 
Published:  October 1, 2004 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
No. 27429 (CPR): R307-110-11.  Section IX, Control 
Measures for Area and Point Sources, Part B, Sulfur 
Dioxide. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
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Governor 
Planning and Budget, Chief Information Officer 

No. 27545 (NEW): R365-101.  Utah Geographic 
Information Systems Advisory Council. 
Published:  December 1, 2004 
Effective:  March 9, 2005 
 
 

Human Services 
Substance Abuse and Mental Health 

No. 27638 (AMD): R523-1.  Policies and Procedures. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 7, 2005 
 

Recovery Services 
No. 27648 (AMD): R527-40.  Retained Support. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 14, 2005 
 
No. 27647 (AMD): R527-255.  Substantial Change in 
Circumstances. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 14, 2005 
 

Services for People with Disabilities 
No. 27651 (REP): R539-2.  Civil Rights. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 12, 2005 
 
No. 27626 (NEW): R539-2.  Service Coordination. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 12, 2005 
 
No. 27627 (NEW): R539-3.  Rights and Protections. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 12, 2005 
 
No. 27652 (REP): R539-3.  Service Coordination. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 12, 2005 
 
 

Labor Commission 
Safety 

No. 27616 (AMD): R616-2-3.  Safety Codes and Rules 
for Boilers and Pressure Vessels. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  March 7, 2005 
 
 

Natural Resources 
Wildlife Resources 

No. 27649 (AMD): R657-33.  Taking Bear. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
No. 27639 (REP): R657-47.  Trust Fund Permits. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
 

Public Safety 
Fire Marshal 

No. 27654 (AMD): R710-3-3.  Amendments and 
Additions. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
No. 27653 (AMD): R710-4-3.  Amendments and 
Additions. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
No. 27655 (AMD): R710-9-6.  Amendments and 
Additions. 
Published:  February 1, 2005 
Effective:  March 4, 2005 
 
 

School and Institutional Trust Lands 
Administration 

No. 27611 (REP): R850-20.  Mineral Resources. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27612 (NEW): R850-21.  Oil, Gas and 
Hydrocarbon Resources. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27613 (NEW): R850-22.  Bituminous-Asphaltic 
Sands and Oil Shale Resources. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27609 (NEW): R850-23.  Sand, Gravel and 
Cinders Permits. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27607 (NEW): R850-24.  General Provisions:  
Mineral and Material Resources, Mineral Leases and 
Material Permits. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27606 (NEW): R850-25.  Mineral Leases and 
Materials Permits. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27604 (NEW): R850-26.  Coal Leases. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27601 (NEW): R850-27.  Geothermal Steam. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
 
No. 27602 (REP): R850-130.  Materials Permits. 
Published:  January 15, 2005 
Effective:  April 1, 2005 
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RULES INDEX 
BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 

AND 
BY KEYWORD (SUBJECT)  

 
The Rules Index is a cumulative index that reflects all effective changes to Utah's administrative rules.  The current 
Index lists changes made effective from January 1, 2005, including notices of effective date received through March 
15, 2005, the effective dates of which are no later than April 1, 2005.  The Rules Index is published in the Utah State 
Bulletin and in the annual Index of Changes.  Nonsubstantive changes, while not published in the Bulletin, do 
become part of the Utah Administrative Code (Code) and are included in this Index, as well as 120-Day (Emergency) 
rules that do not become part of the Code.  The rules are indexed by Agency (Code Number) and Keyword 
(Subject). 
 
DAR NOTE:  The index may contain inaccurate page number references.  Also the index is incomplete in the sense 
that index entries for Changes in Proposed Rules (CPRs) are not preceded by entries for their parent Proposed 
Rules.  Bulletin issue information and effective date information presented in the index are, to the best of our 
knowledge, complete and accurate.  If you have any questions regarding the index and the information it contains, 
please contact Nancy Lancaster (801 538-3218), Mike Broschinsky (801 538-3003), or Kenneth A. Hansen (801 
538-3777). 
 
A copy of the Rules Index is available for public inspection at the Division of Administrative Rules  (4120 State Office 
Building, Salt Lake City, UT), or may be viewed online at the Division’s web site (http://www.rules.utah.gov/). 
 
 
 
 
 RULES INDEX - BY AGENCY (CODE NUMBER) 
 
 
 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  

 
 
 
CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
Administrative Services 

Facilities Construction and Management 
R23-1 Procurement of Construction 27603 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/2  

R23-2 Procurement of Architect-Engineer Services 27605 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/7  

R23-3 Planning and Programming for Capital Projects 27615 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

R23-4 Suspension/Debarment and Contract 
Performance Review Committee 

27610 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/10  

R23-26 Dispute Resolution 27614 NEW 03/15/2005 2005-2/12  

Fleet Operations 
R27-1-2  Definitions 27546 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/3  

R27-3-6  Application for Commute or Take Home Use 27599 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R27-4 Vehicle Replacement and Expansion of State 
Fleet 

27543 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

R27-4-1  Authority 27594 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R27-6 Fuel Dispensing Program 27544 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/7  
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CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

Records Committee 
R35-1a State Records Committee Definitions 27621 NEW 03/08/2005 2005-2/17  

R35-2 Declining Appeal Hearings 27625 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/18  

R35-3 Prehearing Conferences 27622 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/19  

R35-4 Compliance with State Records Committee 
Decisions and Orders 

27624 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/20  

R35-5 Subpoenas Issued by the Records Committee 27623 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/21  

R35-6 Expedited Hearing 27620 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/22  

 
Agriculture and Food 

Animal Industry 
R58-1 Admission and Inspection of Livestock, Poultry, 

and Other Animals 
27570 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-24/5  

R58-1-7  Swine 27687 AMD 03/18/2005 2005-4/8  

R58-2 Diseases, Inspections and Quarantines 27581 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/9  

R58-7 Livestock Markets, Satellite Video Livestock 
Auction Market, Livestock Sales, Dealers, and 
Livestock Market Weighpersons 

27688 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/47  

R58-10 Meat and Poultry Inspection 27693 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/28  

R58-17 Aquaculture and Aquatic Animal Health 27696 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/28  

R58-21 Trichomoniasis 27694 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/29  

R58-22 Equine Infectious Anemia (EIA) 27695 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/29  

Plant Industry 
R68-3 Utah Fertilizer Act Governing Fertilizers and 

Soil Amendments 
27645 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/58  

R68-20 Utah Organic Standards 27697 5YR 02/04/2005 2005-5/30  

Regulatory Services 
R70-440 Egg Products Inspection 27514 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R70-440-2  Adopt by Reference 27628 AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/23  

R70-440-2  Adopt by Reference 27667 NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

R70-540-14  Exemptions 27569 AMD 03/18/2005 2004-24/7  

R70-960-7  Registration Certificate Displayed 27523 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Capitol Preservation Board (State) 

Administration 
R131-1 Procurement of Architectural and Engineering 

Services 
27711 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

R131-2 Capitol Hill Facility Use 27712 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

R131-7 State Capitol Preservation Board Master 
Planning Policy 

27713 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/34  

R131-8 CPB Facilities and Grounds:  Maintenance of 
Aesthetics 

27631 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

R131-9 State Capitol Preservation Board Art Program 
and Policy 

27632 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
Commerce 

Administration 
R151-1 Department of Commerce General Provisions 27633 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/29  

R151-46b Department of Commerce Administrative 
Procedures Act Rules 

27636 AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/32  

Occupational and Professional Licensing 
R156-1 General Rules of the Division of Occupational 

and Professional Licensing 
27499 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 
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CODE 
REFERENCE TITLE 

FILE 
NUMBER ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

R156-31b Nurse Practice Act Rules 27600 AMD 02/17/2005 2005-2/36  

R156-38 Residence Lien Restriction and Lien Recovery 
Fund Rules 

27752 5YR 03/15/2005 2005-7/75  

R156-47b Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules 27548 CPR 03/07/2005 2005-3/51  

R156-47b Massage Therapy Practice Act Rules 27548 AMD 03/07/2005 2004-24/7  

R156-50 Private Probation Provider Licensing Act Rules 27435 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

R156-50 Private Probation Provider Licensing Act Rules 27435 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

R156-56 Utah Uniform Building Standard Act Rules 27489 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

R156-56-704  Statewide Amendments to the IBC 27490 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

R156-60c Professional Counselor Licensing Act Rules 27749 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/76  

R156-61-502  Unprofessional Conduct 27538 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

R156-71-202  Naturopathic Physician Formulary 27533 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

Securities 
R164-2 Investment Adviser - Unlawful Acts 27732 5YR 02/28/2005 2005-6/34  

R164-9-1  Registration by Coordination 27777 EMR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

 
Community and Economic Development 

Community Development, Community Services 
R202-202-202  Opening and Closing Dates for HEAT Program 27418 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

R202-203-324  Income Deductions 27421 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

R202-203-328  Self-Employment Income 27419 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

R202-207-702  Records Management 27420 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
Education 

Administration 
R277-400 School Emergency Response Plans 27539 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R277-422 State Supported Voted Leeway, Local Board-
Approved Leeway and Local Board Leeway for 
Reading Improvement Programs 

27702 NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

R277-473 Testing Procedures 27547 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/43  

R277-501 Educator Licensing Renewal, Highly Qualified 
and Timelines 

27722 5YR 02/23/2005 2005-6/35  

R277-713 Concurrent Enrollment of High School Students 
in College Courses 

27662 AMD 03/21/2005 2005-4/14  

R277-725 Electronic High School 27507 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R277-733 Adult Education Programs 27592 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/10  

R277-746 Driver Education Programs for Utah Schools 27520 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Environmental Quality 

Air Quality 
R307-110-11  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 

Point Sources, Part B, Sulfur Dioxide 
27429 AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

R307-110-11  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 
Point Sources, Part B, Sulfur Dioxide 

27429 CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

R307-110-12  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 
Point Sources, Part C, Carbon Monoxide 

27343 CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

R307-110-12  Section IX, Control Measures for Area and 
Point Sources, Part C, Carbon Monoxide 

27343 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

Drinking Water 
R309-305 Certification Rules for Backflow Technicians 27617 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

Radiation Control 
R313-34 Requirements for Irradiators 27738 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  
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R313-34-1  Requirements for Irradiators 27646 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

Water Quality 
R317-4 Onsite Wastewater Systems 27699 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

R317-7 Underground Injection Control (UIC) Program 27596 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Governor 

Planning and Budget, Chief Information Officer 
R365-101 Utah Geographic Information Systems 

Advisory Council 
27545 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
Health 

Administration 
R380-40 Local Health Department Minimum 

Performance Standards 
27571 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  

Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy 
R414-1B Prohibition of Payment for Certain Abortion 

Services 
27582 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R414-7D Intermediate Care Facility for the Mentally 
Retarded Transition Project 

27505 NEW 01/03/2005 2004-22/15  

R414-10A-6  Prior Authorization 27486 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R414-34-6  Qualified Providers 27589 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/21  

R414-36-6  Qualified Providers 27591 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/22  

R414-61 Home and Community Based Waivers 27741 5YR 03/11/2005 2005-7/77  

R414-61-2  Incorporation by Reference 27586 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/23  

R414-63 Medicaid Policy for Pharmacy Reimbursement 27549 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

R414-90 Diabetes Self-Management Training 27557 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/15  

R414-200 Non-Traditional Medicaid Health Plan Services 27588 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

R414-507 Medicaid Long Term Care Managed Care 27629 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/42  

Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services 
R426-12 Emergency Medical Services Training and 

Certification Standards 
27519 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-22/26  

R426-13 Emergency Medical Services Provider 
Designations 

27521 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/47  

R426-14-303  Ambulance Service and Paramedic Service 
Licensure 

27584 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R426-15 Licensed and Designated Provider Operations 27522 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/48  

Health Systems Improvement, Licensing 
R432-7 Specialty Hospital - Psychiatric Hospital 

Construction 
27674 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/47  

R432-8 Specialty Hospital - Chemical 
Dependency/Substance Abuse Construction 

27675 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

R432-9 Specialty Hospital - Rehabilitation Construction 
Rule 

27676 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

R432-10 Specialty Hospital - Long-Term Acute Care 
Construction Rule 

27677 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

R432-11 Specialty Hospital - Orthopedic Hospital 
Construction 

27678 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

R432-12 Small Health Care Facility (Four to Sixteen 
Beds) Construction Rule 

27679 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

R432-13 Freestanding Ambulatory Surgical Center 
Construction Rule 

27680 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

R432-14 Birthing Center Construction Rule 27681 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

R432-30 Adjudicative Procedure 27682 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

R432-270 Assisted Living Facilities 27683 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/52  
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Human Services 

Administration, Administrative Services, Licensing 
R501-18 Abuse Background Screening 27673 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  

Substance Abuse and Mental Health 
R523-1 Policies and Procedures 27638 AMD 03/07/2005 2005-3/28  

Recovery Services 
R527-10 Disclosure of Information to the Office of 

Recovery Services 
27640 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

R527-40 Retained Support 27642 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

R527-40 Retained Support 27648 AMD 03/14/2005 2005-3/30  

R527-210 Guidelines for Setting Child Support Awards 27534 REP 01/04/2005 2004-23/49  

R527-255 Substantial Change in Circumstances 27647 AMD 03/14/2005 2005-3/30  

R527-475 State Tax Refund Intercept 27641 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

Services for People with Disabilities 
R539-1 Eligibility 27568 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

R539-2 Civil Rights 27651 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/31  

R539-2 Service Coordination 27626 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/45  

R539-3 Service Coordination 27652 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/34  

R539-3 Rights and Protections 27627 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/47  

 
Insurance 

Administration 
R590-88 Prohibited Transactions Between Agents and 

Unauthorized Multiple Employer Trusts 
27684 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

R590-128 Unfair Discrimination Based Solely on the 
Failure to Maintain Auto Insurance (Revised) 

27685 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

R590-132 Insurance Treatment of Human 
Immunodeficiency Virus (HIV) Infection 

27686 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/54  

R590-147 Annual and Quarterly Statement Filing 
Instructions 

27556 R&R 02/10/2005 2004-24/21  

R590-163 Filing Quarterly Statements 27554 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/23  

R590-174 Diskette Filing of Annual and Quarterly 
Statements 

27555 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/24  

R590-196 Bail Bond Surety Fee Standards, Collateral 
Standards, and Disclosure Form 

27644 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/60  

R590-196 Bail Bond Surety Fee Standards, Collateral 
Standards, and Disclosure Form 

27558 AMD 02/10/2005 2004-24/25  

 
Judicial Conduct Commission 

Administration 
R595-1 General Provisions 27330 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/59  

R595-1 Rules of Procedure 27580 REP 02/01/2005 2005-1/26  

R595-1 General Provisions 27330 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/18  

R595-2 Administration 27331 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/23  

R595-2 Administration 27331 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/60  

R595-3 Procedure 27332 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/61  

R595-3 Procedure 27332 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/24  

R595-3-10  Discipline by Consent 27668 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R595-4 Sanctions 27333 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/26  

R595-4 Sanctions 27333 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/64  
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Labor Commission 

Safety 
R616-2-3  Safety Codes and Rules for Boilers and 

Pressure Vessels 
27616 AMD 03/07/2005 2005-2/49  

R616-3-3  Safety Codes for Elevators 27590 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
Money Management Council 

Administration 
R628-11 Maximum Amount of Public Funds Allowed to 

be Held by any Qualified Depository 
27689 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/18  

 
Natural Resources 

Oil, Gas and Mining; Coal 
R645-105 Blaster Training, Examination and Certification 27778 5YR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

R645-400 Inspection and Enforcement:  Division Authority 
and Procedures. 

27779 5YR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

Parks and Recreation 
R651-202 Boating Advisory Council 27560 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/28  

R651-205-7  Palisade Lake 27559 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

R651-206 Carrying Passengers for Hire 27561 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

R651-206 Carrying Passengers for Hire 27664 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

R651-209 Registration Expiration 27562 REP 01/15/2005 2004-24/32  

R651-211 Assigned Numbers 27563 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/33  

R651-212 Display of Yearly Registration Decals and 
Month of Expiration Decals 

27564 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/34  

R651-215 Personal Flotation Devices 27565 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/35  

R651-401 Off-Highway Vehicle and Registration Stickers 27566 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/37  

Water Rights 
R655-3 Reports of Water Right Conveyance 27690 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

R655-4 Water Well Drillers 27392 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

R655-4 Water Well Drillers 27691 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

R655-4 Water Well Drillers 27475 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

Wildlife Resources 
R657-5 Taking Big Game 27550 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 27432 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

R657-13 Taking Fish and Crayfish 27432 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

R657-33 Taking Bear 27649 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/36  

R657-37 Cooperative Wildlife Management Units for Big 
Game 

27551 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  

R657-38 Dedicated Hunter Program 27552 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

R657-42-4  Surrenders 27553 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  

R657-47 Trust Fund Permits 27639 REP 03/04/2005 2005-3/39  

R657-47 Trust Fund Permits  (5YR EXTENSION) 27637 NSC 03/04/2005 Not Printed 

 
Professional Practices Advisory Commission 

Administration 
R686-100 Professional Practices Advisory Commission, 

Rules of Procedure:  Complaints and Hearings 
27542 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 
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Public Safety 

Fire Marshal 
R710-3-3  Amendments and Additions 27654 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/42  

R710-4-3  Amendments and Additions 27653 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/44  

R710-6 Liquefied Petroleum Gas Rules 27573 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/54  

R710-8 Day Care Rules 27574 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

R710-9-6  Amendments and Additions 27655 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/47  

 
Public Service Commission 

Administration 
R746-200-6  Termination of Service 27587 AMD 02/25/2005 2005-1/32  

R746-360-9  One-Time Distributions from the Fund 27302 CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

R746-360-9  One-Time Distributions from the Fund 27302 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

R746-409-1  General Provisions 27527 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
Regents (Board Of) 

Administration 
R765-604 New Century Scholarship 27663 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/56  

R765-604 New Century Scholarship 27666 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/22  

 
School and Institutional Trust Lands 

Administration 
R850-20 Mineral Resources 27611 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

R850-21 Oil, Gas and Hydrocarbon Resources 27612 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

R850-22 Bituminous-Asphaltic Sands and Oil Shale 
Resources 

27613 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

R850-23 Sand, Gravel and Cinders Permits 27609 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

R850-24 General Provisions:  Mineral and Material 
Resources, Mineral Leases and Material 
Permits 

27607 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

R850-25 Mineral Leases and Materials Permits 27606 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

R850-26 Coal Leases 27604 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  

R850-27 Geothermal Steam 27601 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  

R850-130 Materials Permits 27602 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/89  

 
Tax Commission 

Auditing 
R865-16R Severance Tax 27739 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/78  

 
Workforce Services 

Employment Development 
R986-500-501  Authority for Adoption Assistance (AA) and 

Other Applicable Rules 
27491 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/31  
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 ABBREVIATIONS 
 

AMD = Amendment NSC = Nonsubstantive rule change 
CPR = Change in proposed rule REP = Repeal 
EMR = Emergency rule (120 day) R&R = Repeal and reenact 
NEW = New rule 5YR  = Five-Year Review 
EXD  = Expired  
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abortion 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27582 R414-1B NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
adjudicative proceedings 
Commerce, Administration 27636 R151-46b AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/32  

 
administrative procedures 
Commerce, Administration 27636 R151-46b AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/32  

 27611 R850-20 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

 27612 R850-21 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

 27613 R850-22 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

 27606 R850-25 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

 27604 R850-26 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  

 27601 R850-27 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  

 27602 R850-130 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/89  

 
adoption assistance 
Workforce Services, Employment 
Development 

27491 R986-500-501  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/31  

 
adult education 
Education, Administration 27592 R277-733 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/10  

 
aesthetics 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27631 R131-8 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

 
air pollution 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27429 R307-110-11  AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

 27429 R307-110-11  CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
alternative onsite wastewater systems 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

 
aquaculture 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27696 R58-17 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/28  

 
architects 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27605 R23-2 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/7  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27711 R131-1 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  
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architecture 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27631 R131-8 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

 
art 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27632 R131-9 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
assisted living facilities 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27654 R710-3-3  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/42  

 
backflow assembly tester 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 27617 R309-305 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
banking law 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

27689 R628-11 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/18  

 
bear 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27649 R657-33 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/36  

 
benefits 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
big game seasons 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 
bituminous-asphaltic sands 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27613 R850-22 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

 
board members 
Commerce, Administration 27633 R151-1 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/29  

 
boating 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 27560 R651-202 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/28  

 27559 R651-205-7  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

 27664 R651-206 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27561 R651-206 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/29  

 27562 R651-209 REP 01/15/2005 2004-24/32  

 27563 R651-211 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/33  

 27564 R651-212 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/34  

 27565 R651-215 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/35  

 
boilers 
Labor Commission, Safety 27616 R616-2-3  AMD 03/07/2005 2005-2/49  

 
building codes 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 
building inspection 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  
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capitol-preservation 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27711 R131-1 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 
certification 
Labor Commission, Safety 27616 R616-2-3  AMD 03/07/2005 2005-2/49  

 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
child support 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

 27648 R527-40 AMD 03/14/2005 2005-3/30  

 27642 R527-40 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

 27534 R527-210 REP 01/04/2005 2004-23/49  

 27647 R527-255 AMD 03/14/2005 2005-3/30  

 27641 R527-475 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/59  

 
cinders 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27609 R850-23 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

 
coal 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27611 R850-20 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

 27604 R850-26 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  

 
coal mines 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

27778 R645-105 5YR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

 
coal mining 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

27779 R645-400 5YR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

 
conduct 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
construction 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27610 R23-4 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/10  

 
construction disputes 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27610 R23-4 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/10  

 
contractors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27752 R156-38 5YR 03/15/2005 2005-7/75  

 27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 
contracts 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27603 R23-1 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/2  

 27610 R23-4 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/10  

 
conveyance 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  
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cooperative wildlife management unit 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27551 R657-37 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  

 
cost sharing 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

 
counselors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27749 R156-60c 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/76  

 
CPB 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27631 R131-8 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

 27632 R131-9 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
cross connection control 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 27617 R309-305 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
curricula 
Education, Administration 27662 R277-713 AMD 03/21/2005 2005-4/14  

 
day care 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27574 R710-8 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
definitions 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27546 R27-1-2  AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/3  

 
design 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27615 R23-3 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

 
disability 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27568 R539-1 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

 
disabled persons 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27651 R539-2 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/31  

 27652 R539-3 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/34  

 
disasters 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
disease control 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27570 R58-1 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-24/5  

 27687 R58-1-7  AMD 03/18/2005 2005-4/8  

 27694 R58-21 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/29  

 
dispute 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27614 R23-26 NEW 03/15/2005 2005-2/12  

 
diversion programs 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
drinking water 
Environmental Quality, Drinking Water 27617 R309-305 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 



RULES INDEX 
 

 
92 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 1, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 7 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
driver education 
Education, Administration 27520 R277-746 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
education 
Education, Administration 27702 R277-422 NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
educational program evaluations 
Education, Administration 27722 R277-501 5YR 02/23/2005 2005-6/35  

 
educational testing 
Education, Administration 27547 R277-473 AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/43  

 
educator license renewal 
Education, Administration 27722 R277-501 5YR 02/23/2005 2005-6/35  

 
electronic high school 
Education, Administration 27507 R277-725 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
elevators 
Labor Commission, Safety 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

 
emergency medical services 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Emergency Medical Services 

27519 R426-12 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-22/26  

 27521 R426-13 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/47  

 27584 R426-14-303  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27522 R426-15 AMD 02/01/2005 2004-23/48  

 
emergency preparedness 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
energy assistance 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
engineers 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27605 R23-2 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/7  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27711 R131-1 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 
facilities use 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27712 R131-2 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 
fertilizers 
Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 27645 R68-3 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/58  

 
finance 
Education, Administration 27702 R277-422 NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
financial information 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  
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financial institutions 
Money Management Council, 
Administration 

27689 R628-11 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/18  

 
fire prevention 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27653 R710-4-3  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/44  

 27574 R710-8 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27655 R710-9-6  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/47  

 
fish 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 
fishing 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 
fleet expansion 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27543 R27-4 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

 
fleet expansion vehicle replacement 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27594 R27-4-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
food inspection 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27693 R58-10 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/28  

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 27514 R70-440 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27667 R70-440-2  NSC 03/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27628 R70-440-2  AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/23  

 27569 R70-540-14  AMD 03/18/2005 2004-24/7  

 
fuel dispensing 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27544 R27-6 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/7  

 
game laws 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 27649 R657-33 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/36  

 
geothermal steam 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27601 R850-27 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  

 
government documents 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

27621 R35-1a NEW 03/08/2005 2005-2/17  

 27625 R35-2 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/18  

 27622 R35-3 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/19  

 27624 R35-4 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/20  

 27623 R35-5 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/21  

 27620 R35-6 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/22  

Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
government hearings 
Commerce, Administration 27636 R151-46b AMD 02/15/2005 2005-2/32  
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gravel 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27609 R850-23 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

 
health facilities 
Health, Health Systems Improvement, 
Licensing 

27674 R432-7 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/47  

 27675 R432-8 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

 27676 R432-9 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/48  

 27677 R432-10 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

 27678 R432-11 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/49  

 27679 R432-12 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

 27680 R432-13 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/50  

 27681 R432-14 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

 27682 R432-30 5YR 01/28/2005 2005-4/51  

 27683 R432-270 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/52  

 
health insurance 
Human Services, Recovery Services 27640 R527-10 5YR 01/06/2005 2005-3/58  

 
hearings 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
HEAT 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 
higher education 
Education, Administration 27662 R277-713 AMD 03/21/2005 2005-4/14  

 27666 R765-604 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/22  

 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/56  

 
hospitals 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27582 R414-1B NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
human services 
Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

27673 R501-18 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  

Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27568 R539-1 AMD 01/25/2005 2004-24/17  

 
hunting 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
income eligibility 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 
inspections 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27695 R58-22 5YR 02/03/2005 2005-5/29  

Agriculture and Food, Plant Industry 27697 R68-20 5YR 02/04/2005 2005-5/30  

Agriculture and Food, Regulatory Services 27523 R70-960-7  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 
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insurance 
Insurance, Administration 27556 R590-147 R&R 02/10/2005 2004-24/21  

 27554 R590-163 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/23  

 27558 R590-196 AMD 02/10/2005 2004-24/25  

 27644 R590-196 5YR 01/07/2005 2005-3/60  

 
insurance companies 
Insurance, Administration 27685 R590-128 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

 
insurance law 
Insurance, Administration 27684 R590-88 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/53  

 27686 R590-132 5YR 01/31/2005 2005-4/54  

 27555 R590-174 REP 02/10/2005 2004-24/24  

 
investigators 
Commerce, Administration 27633 R151-1 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/29  

 
irradiator 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 27738 R313-34 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

 27646 R313-34-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
IT bid committee 
Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

27545 R365-101 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
IT standards council 
Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

27545 R365-101 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
judicial conduct commission 
Judicial Conduct Commission, 
Administration 

27580 R595-1 REP 02/01/2005 2005-1/26  

 27330 R595-1 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/59  

 27330 R595-1 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/18  

 27331 R595-2 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/60  

 27331 R595-2 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/23  

 27332 R595-3 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/24  

 27332 R595-3 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/61  

 27668 R595-3-10  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27333 R595-4 NEW 02/01/2005 2004-17/26  

 27333 R595-4 CPR 02/01/2005 2004-24/64  

 
law 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27655 R710-9-6  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/47  

 
lease operations 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27607 R850-24 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

 
lease provisions 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27612 R850-21 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

 27613 R850-22 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  

 27606 R850-25 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

 27604 R850-26 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  
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 27601 R850-27 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  

 
licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27600 R156-31b AMD 02/17/2005 2005-2/36  

 27752 R156-38 5YR 03/15/2005 2005-7/75  

 27548 R156-47b CPR 03/07/2005 2005-3/51  

 27548 R156-47b AMD 03/07/2005 2004-24/7  

 27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 27489 R156-56 AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/6  

 27490 R156-56-704  AMD 01/01/2005 2004-21/11  

 27749 R156-60c 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/76  

 27538 R156-61-502  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

 27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

Human Services, Administration, 
Administrative Services, Licensing 

27673 R501-18 5YR 01/27/2005 2005-4/52  

Natural Resources, Water Rights 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

 27475 R655-4 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
liens 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27752 R156-38 5YR 03/15/2005 2005-7/75  

 
liquefied petroleum gas 
Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27573 R710-6 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/54  

 
livestock 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27688 R58-7 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/47  

 
local health departments 
Health, Administration 27571 R380-40 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  

 
maintenance 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27631 R131-8 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/24  

 
massage therapy 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27548 R156-47b CPR 03/07/2005 2005-3/51  

 27548 R156-47b AMD 03/07/2005 2004-24/7  

 
material permit 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27607 R850-24 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

 
materials handling 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27602 R850-130 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/89  

 
Medicaid 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27582 R414-1B NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27505 R414-7D NEW 01/03/2005 2004-22/15  

 27486 R414-10A-6  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 
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 27589 R414-34-6  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/21  

 27591 R414-36-6  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/22  

 27741 R414-61 5YR 03/11/2005 2005-7/77  

 27586 R414-61-2  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/23  

 27549 R414-63 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

 27557 R414-90 AMD 01/19/2005 2004-24/15  

 27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

 27629 R414-507 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/42  

 
mental health 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27749 R156-60c 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/76  

Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

27638 R523-1 AMD 03/07/2005 2005-3/28  

 
mineral classification 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27606 R850-25 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

 
mineral lease 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27607 R850-24 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

 
mineral resources 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27607 R850-24 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/76  

Tax Commission, Auditing 27739 R865-16R 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/78  

 
naturopathic physician 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

 
naturopaths 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27533 R156-71-202  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/41  

 
non-traditional 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27588 R414-200 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/24  

 
nurses 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27600 R156-31b AMD 02/17/2005 2005-2/36  

 
oath 
Commerce, Administration 27633 R151-1 NEW 02/15/2005 2005-2/29  

 
occupational licensing 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27499 R156-1 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
off-highway vehicles 
Natural Resources, Parks and Recreation 27566 R651-401 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/37  

 
oil gas and hydrocarbons 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27612 R850-21 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

 
oil shale 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27613 R850-22 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/65  
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onsite wastewater systems 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

 
opening and closing dates 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  

 
operations 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27612 R850-21 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/58  

 
ownership 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

 
ozone 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27429 R307-110-11  CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

 27429 R307-110-11  AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
payment determination 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 
people with disabilities 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27626 R539-2 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/45  

 27627 R539-3 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/47  

 
performance standards 
Health, Administration 27571 R380-40 AMD 02/02/2005 2004-24/9  

 
permit provisions 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27609 R850-23 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

 
permit terms 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27606 R850-25 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/81  

 
permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27553 R657-42-4  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  

School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27602 R850-130 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/89  

 
physicians 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27582 R414-1B NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
pipeline 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
plan of operation 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27604 R850-26 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/84  

 27601 R850-27 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/86  
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planning 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27615 R23-3 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

 
planning-budgeting 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27713 R131-7 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/34  

 
PM10 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27429 R307-110-11  CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

 27429 R307-110-11  AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 
PM2.5 
Environmental Quality, Air Quality 27429 R307-110-11  AMD 03/04/2005 2004-19/37  

 27429 R307-110-11  CPR 03/04/2005 2005-3/52  

 27343 R307-110-12  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-17/12  

 27343 R307-110-12  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/53  

 
policies and procedures 
Human Services, Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health 

27638 R523-1 AMD 03/07/2005 2005-3/28  

 
policy 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27632 R131-9 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
prescriptions 
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage 
and Reimbursement Policy 

27549 R414-63 AMD 01/26/2005 2004-24/13  

 
primary term 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27611 R850-20 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

 
private probation provider 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 
probation 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27435 R156-50 AMD 01/18/2005 2004-20/12  

 27435 R156-50 CPR 01/18/2005 2004-24/58  

 
procurement 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27603 R23-1 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/2  

 27605 R23-2 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/7  

 27615 R23-3 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27711 R131-1 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 
professional counselors 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27749 R156-60c 5YR 03/14/2005 2005-7/76  
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program 
Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27632 R131-9 NEW 03/03/2005 2005-2/26  

 
psychologists 
Commerce, Occupational and Professional 
Licensing 

27538 R156-61-502  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-23/40  

 
public buildings 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27603 R23-1 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/2  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27712 R131-2 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/33  

 27713 R131-7 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/34  

Public Safety, Fire Marshal 27653 R710-4-3  AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/44  

 
public utilities 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27587 R746-200-6  AMD 02/25/2005 2005-1/32  

 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 
quarantines 
Agriculture and Food, Animal Industry 27581 R58-2 AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/9  

 
radiation 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 27738 R313-34 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

 27646 R313-34-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
radiation safety 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 27738 R313-34 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

 27646 R313-34-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
reclamation 
Natural Resources, Oil, Gas and Mining; 
Coal 

27778 R645-105 5YR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

 27779 R645-400 5YR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

 
records appeal hearings 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

27621 R35-1a NEW 03/08/2005 2005-2/17  

 27625 R35-2 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/18  

 27622 R35-3 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/19  

 27624 R35-4 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/20  

 27623 R35-5 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/21  

 27620 R35-6 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/22  

 
recreation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
repository 
Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

27545 R365-101 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
residency requirements 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27418 R202-202-202  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/24  
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resolution 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27614 R23-26 NEW 03/15/2005 2005-2/12  

 
rights 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27627 R539-3 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/47  

 
royalties 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27611 R850-20 REP 04/01/2005 2005-2/50  

 
rules 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27587 R746-200-6  AMD 02/25/2005 2005-1/32  

 
rules and procedures 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
safety 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

Labor Commission, Safety 27616 R616-2-3  AMD 03/07/2005 2005-2/49  

 27590 R616-3-3  AMD 02/01/2005 2005-1/30  

Public Service Commission, Administration 27527 R746-409-1  NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
safety education 
Education, Administration 27539 R277-400 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
sand 
School and Institutional Trust Lands, 
Administration 

27609 R850-23 NEW 04/01/2005 2005-2/72  

 
scholarship 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/56  

 
scholarships 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27666 R765-604 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/22  

 
secondary education 
Regents (Board Of), Administration 27666 R765-604 AMD 03/22/2005 2005-4/22  

 27663 R765-604 5YR 01/19/2005 2005-4/56  

 
securities 
Commerce, Securities 27732 R164-2 5YR 02/28/2005 2005-6/34  

 27777 R164-9-1  EMR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

 
securities regulation 
Commerce, Securities 27732 R164-2 5YR 02/28/2005 2005-6/34  

 27777 R164-9-1  EMR 03/25/2005 Not Printed 

 
self-employment income 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27421 R202-203-324  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/25  

 27419 R202-203-328  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/26  

 
septic tanks 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  



RULES INDEX 
 

 
102 UTAH STATE BULLETIN, April 1, 2005, Vol. 2005, No. 7 

KEYWORD 
AGENCY 

FILE 
NUMBER CODE REFERENCE ACTION 

EFFECTIVE 
DATE 

BULLETIN 
ISSUE/PAGE 

 
services 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27626 R539-2 NEW 03/12/2005 2005-2/45  

 
settlement 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27614 R23-26 NEW 03/15/2005 2005-2/12  

 
social services 
Human Services, Services for People with 
Disabilities 

27651 R539-2 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/31  

 27652 R539-3 REP 03/12/2005 2005-3/34  

 
state buildings 
Administrative Services, Facilities 
Construction and Management 

27615 R23-3 AMD 03/15/2005 2005-2/9  

Capitol Preservation Board (State), 
Administration 

27713 R131-7 5YR 02/16/2005 2005-6/34  

 
state HEAT office records 
Community and Economic Development, 
Community Development, Community 
Services 

27420 R202-207-702  AMD 01/12/2005 2004-19/27  

 
state records committee 
Administrative Services, Records 
Committee 

27621 R35-1a NEW 03/08/2005 2005-2/17  

 27625 R35-2 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/18  

 27622 R35-3 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/19  

 27624 R35-4 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/20  

 27623 R35-5 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/21  

 27620 R35-6 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-2/22  

 
state vehicle use 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27599 R27-3-6  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
students 
Education, Administration 27662 R277-713 AMD 03/21/2005 2005-4/14  

 
survey 
Environmental Quality, Radiation Control 27738 R313-34 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/76  

 27646 R313-34-1  NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
taxation 
Tax Commission, Auditing 27739 R865-16R 5YR 03/08/2005 2005-7/78  

 
teacher certification 
Professional Practices Advisory 
Commission, Administration 

27542 R686-100 NSC 01/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
technology best practices 
Governor, Planning and Budget, Chief 
Information Officer 

27545 R365-101 NEW 03/09/2005 2004-23/45  

 
telecommunications 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 
underground injection control 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27596 R317-7 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 
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universal service 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27302 R746-360-9  AMD 01/04/2005 2004-15/59  

 27302 R746-360-9  CPR 01/04/2005 2004-23/54  

 
utility service shutoff 
Public Service Commission, Administration 27587 R746-200-6  AMD 02/25/2005 2005-1/32  

 
vehicle replacement 
Administrative Services, Fleet Operations 27543 R27-4 AMD 01/10/2005 2004-23/5  

 
waste water 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27699 R317-4 5YR 02/10/2005 2005-5/30  

 
water quality 
Environmental Quality, Water Quality 27596 R317-7 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 
water rights 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27690 R655-3 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/54  

 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

 27475 R655-4 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
well drillers 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27691 R655-4 5YR 02/01/2005 2005-4/55  

 
well drilling 
Natural Resources, Water Rights 27475 R655-4 NSC 02/01/2005 Not Printed 

 27392 R655-4 AMD 01/12/2005 2004-18/30  

 
wildlife 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27550 R657-5 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/38  

 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 27649 R657-33 AMD 03/04/2005 2005-3/36  

 27551 R657-37 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/45  

 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 27553 R657-42-4  AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/53  

 27637 R657-47 NSC 03/04/2005 Not Printed 

 27639 R657-47 REP 03/04/2005 2005-3/39  

 
wildlife conservation 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27552 R657-38 AMD 01/15/2005 2004-24/48  

 
wildlife law 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27432 R657-13 CPR 01/03/2005 2004-22/66  

 27432 R657-13 AMD 01/03/2005 2004-20/33  

 
wildlife permits 
Natural Resources, Wildlife Resources 27637 R657-47 NSC 03/04/2005 Not Printed 

 27639 R657-47 REP 03/04/2005 2005-3/39  
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