This filing was published in the 01/15/2007, issue, Vol. 2007, No. 2, of the Utah State Bulletin.
Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy
Medicaid Health Insurance Flexibility and Accountability Demonstration Waiver
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
DAR File No.: 29380
Filed: 01/02/2007, 12:54
Received by: NL
Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:
This rule complies with the Standard Terms and Conditions of the Section 1115 Demonstration Waiver program approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. In addition, this rule is necessary to change the name of the Department's waiver program to Utah's Premium Partnership for Health Insurance (UPP). It also clarifies other sections that describe program eligibility.
Summary of the rule or change:
This amendment removes language that allows an individual enrolled in employer-sponsored health insurance for less than 60 days to be eligible for the Section 1115 Demonstration Waiver program. Throughout the text, this amendment changes all "HIFA" references to "UPP." It also adds a new premium change requirement, clarifies UPP enrollment eligibility criteria, specifies income requirements, allows an individual 45 days to provide eligibility information or verifications, clarifies eligibility criteria for a Primary Care Network or Children's Health Insurance Program recipient, clarifies the effective date of enrollment for faxed or online applications, deletes the new enrollment fee requirement for reenrollment, removes the requirement that an alien's sponsor is responsible to repay benefits, clarifies reimbursement criteria for dental coverage, and makes other minor clarifications.
State statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:
Sections 26-18-3 and 26-1-5
Anticipated cost or savings to:
the state budget:
There are minimal savings in state and federal dollars because this rule limits enrollment in the demonstration waiver program. Nevertheless, there is insufficient data to quantify dollar amounts.
There is no budget impact because local governments do not fund demonstration waiver programs.
There is a minimal loss of revenue to providers and an out-of-pocket expense to Medicaid clients who do not qualify for the demonstration waiver program. Nevertheless, there is insufficient data to quantify dollar amounts.
Compliance costs for affected persons:
There is a minimal loss of revenue to a single provider and an out-of-pocket expense to a single Medicaid client who does not qualify for the demonstration waiver program. Nevertheless, there is insufficient data to quantify dollar amounts.
Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:
This rule follows an emergency rule published to assure compliance with federal law to implement the Standard Terms and Conditions of the Section 1115 Demonstration Waiver program approved by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services for employer-sponsored health insurance. Moving Medicaid clients to privately-provided insurance will have a positive impact on business. David N. Sundwall, MD, Executive Director (DAR NOTE: The 120-day (emergency) rule filing is under DAR No. 29250 in the December 15, 2006, issue of the Bulletin, and was effective 11/28/2006.)
The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Division of Administrative Rules, or at:Health
Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy
CANNON HEALTH BLDG
288 N 1460 W
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231
Direct questions regarding this rule to:
Craig Devashrayee at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6641, by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org
Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:
This rule may become effective on:
David N. Sundwall, Executive Director
R414. Health, Health Care Financing, Coverage and Reimbursement Policy.
R414-320. Medicaid Health Insurance Flexibility and Accountability Demonstration Waiver.
rule is authorized by [
Utah Code ]Title 26, Chapter 18[ .The Health
Insurance Flexibility and Accountability (HIFA) Demonstration is authorized by
a waiver of federal Medicaid and SCHIP requirements approved by the federal
Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services ]and allowed under Section 1115
of the Social Security Act. This rule
establishes the eligibility requirements for enrollment and the benefits
enrollees receive under the [ HIFA Demonstration].
The following definitions apply throughout this rule:
(1) "Adult" means an individual who is at least 19 and not yet 65 years of age.
(2) "Applicant" means an individual
who applies for benefits under the [
HIFA] program, but who is
not an enrollee.
(3) "Best estimate" means the Department's determination of a household's income for the upcoming certification period based on past and current circumstances and anticipated future changes.
(4) "Child" means an individual who is younger than 19 years of age.
(5) "Children's Health Insurance Program" or "CHIP" provides medical services for children under age 19 who do not otherwise qualify for Medicaid.
(6) "Department" means the Utah Department of Health.
(7) "Enrollee" means an individual who
has ]applie[ d] for and [ been] found
eligible for the [ HIFA] program.
(8) "Employer-sponsored health plan" means a health insurance plan offered through an employer where:
(a) the employer contributes at least 50 percent of the cost of the health insurance premium of the employee;
(b) coverage includes at least physician visits, hospital inpatient services, pharmacy, well child visits, and children's immunizations;
(c) lifetime maximum benefits are at least $1,000,000;
(d) the deductible is no more than $1,000 per individual; and
(e) the plan pays at least 70% of an inpatient stay after the deductible.
HIFA" Health Insurance
Flexibility and Accountability] program provides cash reimbursement for all or
part of the insurance premium paid by an employee for health insurance coverage
through an employer-sponsored health insurance plan that covers either the
eligible employee, the eligible spouse of the employee, dependent children, or
(10) "Income averaging" means a process of using a history of past and current income and averaging it over a determined period of time that is representative of future income.
(11) "Income anticipating" means a process of using current facts regarding rate of pay, number of working hours, and expected changes to anticipate future income.
(12) "Income annualizing" means a process of determining the average annual income of a household, based on the past history of income and expected changes.
(13) "Local office" means any Bureau of Eligibility Services office location, outreach location, or telephone location where an individual may apply for medical assistance.
(14) "Open enrollment means a time period
during which the Department accepts applications for the [
(15) "Public Insitution" means an institution that is the responsibility of a governmental unit or that is under the administrative control of a governmental unit.
(16) "Primary Care Network" or "PCN" program provides primary care medical services to uninsured adults who do not otherwise qualify for Medicaid.
(17) "Recertification month" means the last month of the eligibility period for an enrollee.
(18) "Spouse" means any individual who has been married to an applicant or enrollee and has not legally terminated the marriage.
(19) "Verifications" means the proofs needed to decide if an individual meets the eligibility criteria to be enrolled in the program. Verifications may include hard copy documents such as a birth certificate, computer match records such as Social Security benefits match records, and collateral contacts with third parties who have information needed to determine the eligibility of the individual.
R414-320-3. Applicant and Enrollee Rights and Responsibilities.
(1) Any person who meets the limitations set by the Department may apply during an open enrollment period. The open enrollment period may be limited to:
(a) Adults with children [
under age 19 ]living
in the home;
(b) Adults without children [
under age 19 ]living
in the home;
(c) Adults enrolled in the PCN program;
(d) Children enrolled in the CHIP program;
(e) Adults or children who were enrolled in the Medicaid program within the last thirty days prior to the beginning of the open enrollment period; or
(f) Other groups designated in advance by the Department consistent with efficient administration of the program.
(2) If a person needs help to apply, he may have a friend or family member help, or he may request help from the local office or outreach staff.
(3) Applicants and enrollees must provide requested information and verifications within the time limits given. The Department will allow the client at least 10 calendar days from the date of a request to provide information and may grant additional time to provide information and verifications upon request of the applicant or enrollee.
(4) Applicants and enrollees have a right to be notified about the decision made on an application, or other action taken that affects their eligibility for benefits.
(5) Applicants and enrollees may look at information in their case file that was used to make an eligibility determination.
(6) Anyone may look at the eligibility policy manuals located at any Department local office.
(7) An individual must repay any benefits
received under the [
HIFA] program if the Department determines
that the individual was not eligible to receive such benefits.
(8) Applicants and enrollees must report certain changes to the local office within ten calendar days of the day the change becomes known. The local office shall notify the applicant at the time of application of the changes that the enrollee must report. Some examples of reportable changes include:
(a) An enrollee stops paying for coverage under an employer-sponsored health plan.
(b) An enrollee changes health insurance plans.
(c) An enrollee has a change in the amount of the premium they are paying for an employer-sponsored health insurance plan.
(d) An enrollee begins to receive coverage under, or begins to have access to Medicare or the Veteran's Administration Health Care System.
(e) An enrollee [
has a change in the amount
the enrollee pays for coverage under an employer-sponsored health plan].
(f) An enrollee[
leaves the household or dies].
An enrollee or the household moves out
Change of address of an enrollee or the
(i) An enrollee enters a public institution or
an institution for mental diseases.
] (9) An applicant or enrollee has a right to request an agency conference or a fair hearing as described in R414-301-5 and R414-301-6.
(10) An enrollee must continue to pay premiums and remain enrolled in an employer-sponsored health plan to be eligible for benefits.
(11) Eligible children may choose to enroll in
their employer-sponsored health insurance plan and receive [
benefits, or they may choose direct coverage through the Children's Health
R414-320-4. General Eligibility Requirements.
(1) The provisions of R414-302-1, R414-302-2, R414-302-3, R414-302-5, and R414-302-6 apply to adult applicants and enrollees.
(2) The provisions of R382-10-6, R382-10-7, and R382-10-9 apply to child applicants and enrollees.
(3) An individual who is not a U.S. citizen and
does not meet the alien status requirements of R414-302-1 or R382-10-6 is not
eligible for any services or benefits under the [
(4) Applicants and enrollees for the [
program are not required to provide Duty of Support information. An adult who would be eligible for Medicaid
but fails to cooperate with Duty of Support requirements required by the
Medicaid program cannot enroll in the [ HIFA] program.
(5) Individuals who must pay a spenddown or
premium to receive Medicaid can enroll in the [
if they meet the program eligibility criteria in any month they do not receive
Medicaid as long as the Department has not stopped enrollment under the
provisions of R414-320-15. If the
Department has stopped enrollment, the individual must wait for an applicable
open enrollment period to enroll in the [ HIFA] program.
R414-320-6. Residents of Institutions.
(1) Residents of public institutions are not
eligible for the [
(2) A child under the age of 18 is not a
resident of an institution if [
he] is living temporarily
in the institution while arrangements are being made for other placement.
(3) A child who resides in a temporary shelter for a limted period of time is not a resident of an institution.
R414-320-7. Creditable Health Coverage.
(1) The Department adopts 42 CFR 433.138(b),
2005 ed., which [
are] incorporated by reference.
(2) An individual who is covered under a group
health plan or other creditable health insurance coverage, as defined by the
Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act of 1996 (HIPAA), [
time of application ]is eligible for enrollment[ if they have
been enrolled for less than 60 days at the time of application].
(3) Eligibility for an individual who has access to but has not yet enrolled in employer-sponsored health insurance coverage will be determined as follows:
(a) If the cost of the employer-sponsored
does not exceed] 5% of the household's
gross income, the individual is not eligible for the [ HIFA]
(b) For adults, if the cost of the
employer-sponsored coverage exceeds 15% of the household's gross income the
adult may choose to enroll in the [
HIFA] program or may choose
direct coverage through the Primary Care Network program if enrollment has not
been stopped under the provisions of R414-310-16.
(c) A child may choose enrollment in [
or direct coverage under the CHIP program if the cost of the employer sponsored
coverage is more than 5% of the household's gross income.
(d) An individual is considered to have access to coverage even if the employer offers coverage only during an open enrollment period.
(4) An individual who is covered under Medicare Part A or Part B, or who could enroll in Medicare Part B coverage, is not eligible for enrollment, even if the individual must wait for a Medicare open enrollment period to apply for Medicare benefits.
(5) An individual who is enrolled in the
Veteran's Administration (VA) Health Care System is not eligible for
enrollment. An individual who is
eligible to enroll in the VA Health Care System, but who has not yet enrolled,
may be eligible for the [
HIFA] program while waiting for
enrollment in the VA Health Care System to become effective. To be eligible
during this waiting period, the individual must initiate the process to enroll
in the VA Health Care System.
Eligibility for the [ HIFA] program ends once the
individual becomes enrolled in the VA Health Care System.
(6) The Department shall deny eligibility if the
applicant, spouse, or dependent child has voluntarily terminated health
insurance coverage within the 90 days immediately prior to the application date
for enrollment under the [
(a) An applicant, applicant's spouse, or
dependent child can be eligible for the [
HIFA] program if
their prior insurance ended more than 90 days before the application date.
An applicant, applicant's spouse, or
dependent child who voluntarily discontinues health insurance coverage under a
COBRA plan, or under the [
Insurance Pool, or who is involuntarily terminated from an employer's plan may
be eligible for the [ HIFA] program without a 90 day waiting
(7) An individual with creditable health
coverage operated or financed by [
the ]Indian Health Services may enroll
in the [ HIFA] program.
(8) Individuals must report at application and recertification whether each individual for whom enrollment is being requested has access to or is covered by a group health plan or other creditable health insurance coverage. This includes coverage that may be available through an employer or a spouse's employer, Medicare Part A or B, or the VA Health Care System.
(9) The Department shall deny an application or recertification if the applicant or enrollee fails to respond to questions about health insurance coverage for any individual the household seeks to enroll or recertify.
R414-320-8. Household Composition.
(1) The following individuals are included in
the household when determining household size for the purpose of computing
financial eligibility for the [
(a) The individual;
(b) The individual's spouse living with the individual;
(c) All children of the individual or the individual's spouse who are under age 19 and living with the individual; and
(d) An unborn child if the individual is pregnant, or if the applicant's legal spouse who lives in the home is pregnant.
(2) A household member who is temporarily absent for schooling, training, employment, medical treatment or military service, or who will return home to live within 30 days from the date of application is considered part of the household.
R414-320-9. Age Requirement.
(1) An individual must be younger than 65 years
of age to enroll in the [
(2) The individual's 65th birthday month is the
last month the person can be eligible for enrollment in the [
R414-320-10. Income Provisions.
(1) For an adult to be eligible to enroll, gross countable household income must be equal to or less than 150% of the federal non-farm poverty guideline for a household of the same size.
(2) For children to be eligible to enroll, gross countable household income must be equal to or less than 200% of the federal non-farm poverty guideline for a household of the same size.
(3) All gross income, earned and unearned, received by the individual and the individual's spouse is counted toward household income, unless this section specifically describes a different treatment of the income.
(4) Any income in a trust that is available to, or is received by a household member, is countable income.
(5) Payments received from the Family Employment Program, Working Toward Employment program, refugee cash assistance or adoption support services as authorized under Title 35A, Chapter 3 are countable income.
(6) Rental income is countable income. The following expenses can be deducted:
(a) Taxes and attorney fees needed to make the income available;
(b) Upkeep and repair costs necessary to maintain the current value of the property;
(c) Utility costs only if they are paid by the owner; and
(d) Interest only on a loan or mortgage secured by the rental property.
(7) Cash contributions made by non-household members are counted as income unless the parties have a signed written agreement for repayment of the funds.
(8) The interest earned from payments made under a sales contract or a loan agreement is countable income to the extent that these payments will continue to be received during the certification period.
(9) Needs-based Veteran's pensions are counted as income. Only the portion of a Veteran's Administration check to which the individual is legally entitled is countable income.
(10) Child support payments received for a dependent child living in the home are counted as that child's income.
(11) In-kind income, which is goods or services provided to the individual from a non-household member and which is not in the form of cash, for which the individual performed a service or which is provided as part of the individual's wages is counted as income. In-kind income for which the individual did not perform a service, or did not work to receive, is not counted as income.
(12) Supplemental Security Income and State Supplemental payments are countable income.
(13) Income that is defined in 20 CFR 416 Subpart K, Appendix, 2004 edition, which is incorporated by reference, is not countable.
(14) Payments that are prohibited under other federal laws from being counted as income to determine eligibility for federally-funded medical assistance programs are not countable.
(15) Death benefits are not countable income to the extent that the funds are spent on the deceased person's burial or last illness.
(16) A bona fide loan that an individual must repay and that the individual has contracted in good faith without fraud or deceit, and genuinely endorsed in writing for repayment is not countable income.
(17) Child Care Assistance under Title XX is not countable income.
(18) Reimbursements of Medicare premiums received
by an individual from Social Security Administration or the [
[ of Health ]are not countable income.
(19) Earned and unearned income of a child is not countable income if the child is not the head of a household.
(20) Educational income, such as educational loans, grants, scholarships, and work-study programs are not countable income. The individual must verify enrollment in an educational program.
(21) Reimbursements for employee work expenses incurred by an individual are not countable income.
(22) The value of food stamp assistance is not countable income.
is no asset test for eligibility in the [
R414-320-13. Application Procedure.
(1) The application is the initial request from
an applicant for [
HIFA] enrollment. The application process includes gathering information and
verifications to determine the individual's eligibility for enrollment.
(2) The applicant must complete and sign a
written application or complete an application on-line via the Internet to
enroll in the [
(a) The Department accepts any
Department-approved application form for medical assistance programs offered by
the state as an application for the [
HIFA] program. The local office eligibility worker may
require the applicant to provide additional information that was not asked for
on the form the applicant completed, and may require the applicant to sign a
signature page from a hardcopy medical application form.
(b) If an applicant cannot write, he must make his mark on the application form and have at least one witness to the signature. A legal guardian or a person with power of attorney may sign the application form for the applicant.
(c) An authorized representative may apply for the applicant if unusual circumstances prevent the individual from completing the application process himself. The applicant must sign the application form if possible.
(3) The date of application will be decided as follows:
(a) The date the Department receives a completed, signed application is the application date when the application is delivered to a local office.
(b) The date postmarked on the envelope is the application date when a completed, signed application is mailed to the agency.
(c) The date the Department receives a completed, signed application via facsimile transfer is the application day. The agency accepts the signed application sent via facsimile as a valid application and does not require it to be signed again.
(d) The transaction date is the application date when the application is submitted online.
(4) If an applicant has a legal guardian, a person with a power of attorney, or an authorized representative, the local office shall send decision notices, requests for information, and forms that must be completed to both the individual and the individual's representative, or to just the representative if requested or if determined appropriate.
(5) The Department shall reinstate a [
case without requiring a new application if the case was closed in error.
(6) The Department shall continue enrollment without requiring a new application if the case was closed for failure to complete a recertification or comply with a request for information or verification:
(a) If the enrollee complies before the effective date of the case closure or by the end of the month immediately following the month the case was closed; and
(b) The individual continues to meet all eligibility requirements.
(7) An applicant may withdraw an application any time before the Department completes an eligibility decision on the application.
(8) If an eligible household requests enrollment for a new household member, the application date for the new household member is the date of the request. A new application form is not required. However, the household shall provide the information necessary to determine eligibility for the new member, including information about access to creditable health insurance.
(a) Benefits for the new household member will be allowed from the date of request or the date an application is received through the end of the current certification period.
(b) A new income test is not required to add the new household member for the months remaining in the current certification period.
(c) A new household member may be added only if
the Department has not stopped enrollment under [
(d) Income of the new member will be considered at the next scheduled recertification.
(9) A child who loses Medicaid coverage because
he or she has reached the maximum age limit and does not qualify for any other
Medicaid program without paying a spenddown, may enroll in [
without waiting for the next open enrollment period.
(10) A child who loses Medicaid coverage because
he or she is no longer deprived of parental support and does not qualify for
any other Medicaid program without paying a spenddown, may enroll in [
without waiting for the next open enrollment period.
(11) A new child born to or adopted by an
enrollee may be enrolled in [
HIFA] without waiting for the
next open enrollment period.
R414-320-14. Eligibility Decisions and Recertification.
(1) The Department adopts 42 CFR 435.911 and 435.912, 2004 ed., which are incorporated by reference.
(2) When an individual applies for [
the local office shall determine if the individual is eligible for
Medicaid. An individual who qualifies
for Medicaid without paying a spenddown or a premium cannot enroll in the [ HIFA]
program. If the individual appears to
qualify for Medicaid, but additional information is required to determine
eligibility for Medicaid, the applicant must provide additional information
requested by the eligibility worker.
Failure to provide the requested information shall result in the
application being denied.
(a) If the individual must pay a spenddown or
premium to qualify for Medicaid, the individual may choose to enroll in the [
program if it is an open enrollment period and the individual meets all the
applicable criteria for eligibility. If
the [ HIFA] program is not in an enrollment period, the
individual must wait for an open enrollment period.
(b) At recertification, the local office shall
first review eligibility for Medicaid.
If the individual qualifies for Medicaid without a spenddown or premium,
the individual cannot be reenrolled in the [
program. If the individual appears to
qualify for Medicaid, the applicant must provide additional information
requested by the eligibility worker.
Failure to provide the requested information shall result in the
application being denied.
(3) To enroll, the individual must meet [
eligibility criteria [ for enrollment and it must be] a
time when the Department has not stopped enrollment under [ s]ection R414-320-15. An applicant [ must be able to enroll in
his or her employer-sponsored health insurance by the end of the month
following the application month to be eligible].
Otherwise, eligibility will be denied, and the individual may reapply
during another open enrollment period.
(4) The local office shall complete a determination of eligibility or ineligibility for each application unless:
(a) The applicant voluntarily withdraws the application and the local office sends a notice to the applicant to confirm the withdrawal;
(b) The applicant died; or
(c) The applicant cannot be located; or
(d) The applicant has not responded to requests
for information within the [
30] day application period or by
the date the eligibility worker asked the information or verifications to be
returned, if that date is later.
(5) The enrollee must recertify eligibility at least every 12 months.
(6) The local office eligibility worker may require the applicant, the applicant's spouse, or the applicant's authorized representative to attend an interview as part of the application and recertification process. Interviews may be conducted in person or over the telephone, at the local office eligibility worker's discretion.
(7) The enrollee must complete the recertification process and provide the required verifications by the end of the recertification month.
(a) If the enrollee completes the recertification and continues to meet all eligibility criteria, coverage will be continued without interruption.
(b) The case will be closed at the end of the recertification month if the enrollee does not complete the recertification process and provide required verifications by the end of the recertification month.
(c) If an enrollee does not complete the recertification by the end of the recertification month, but completes the process and provides required verifications by the end of the month immediately following the recertification month, coverage will be reinstated as of the first of that month if the individual continues to be eligible.
(8) The eligibility worker may extend the recertification due date if the enrollee demonstrates that a medical emergency, death of an immediate family member, natural disaster or other similar cause prevented the enrollee from completing the recertification process on time.
R414-320-15. Effective Date of Enrollment and Enrollment Period.
(1) The effective date of enrollment is the day that a completed and signed application or an on-line application is received by the local office and the applicant meets all eligibility criteria. The Department shall not provide any benefits before the effective enrollment date.
(2) The effective date of enrollment cannot be before the month in which the applicant pays a premium for the employer-sponsored health insurance and is determined as follows:
(a) The effective date of enrollment is the date an application is received and the person is found eligible, if the applicant enrolls in and pays the first premium for the employer-sponsored health insurance in the application month.
(b) If the applicant will not pay a premium for the employer-sponsored health insurance in the application month, the effective date of enrollment is the first day of the month in which the applicant pays a premium for the employer-sponsored health insurance. The applicant must enroll in the employer-sponsored health insurance no later than the end of the month following the month the application is received.
(c) If the applicant cannot enroll in the employer-sponsored health insurance by the end of the month immediately following the application month, the application shall be denied and the individual will have to reapply during another open enrollment period.
(3) The effective date of enrollment for a newborn or newly adopted child is the date the newborn or newly adopted child is enrolled in the employer-sponsored health insurance if the family requests the coverage within 30 days of the birth or adoption. If the request is more than 30 days after the birth or adoption, enrollment is effective the date of report.
(4) The effective date of re-enrollment for a recertification is the first day of the month after the recertification month, if the recertification is completed as described in R414-320-13.
(5) If the enrollee does not complete the recertification as described in R414-320-13, and the enrollee does not have good cause for missing the deadline, the case will remain closed and the individual may reapply during another open enrollment period.
(6) An individual found eligible shall be eligible from the effective date through the end of the first month of eligibility and for the following 12 months. If the enrollee completes the redetermination process in accordance with R414-320-13 and continues to be eligible, the recertification period will be for an additional 12 months beginning the month following the recertification month. Eligibility could end before the end of a 12-month certification period for any of the following reasons:
(a) The individual turns age 65;
(b) The individual becomes entitled to receive Medicare, or becomes covered by Veterans Administration Health Insurance;
(c) The individual dies;
(d) The individual moves out of state or cannot be located;
(e) The individual enters a public institution or an Institute for Mental Disease.
(7) If an adult enrollee discontinues enrollment in employer-sponsored insurance coverage, eligibility ends. If the enrollment in employer-sponsored insurance is discontinued involuntarily and the individual notifies the local office within 10 calendar days of when the insurance ends, the individual may switch to the PCN program for the remainder of the certification period.
(8) A child enrollee may discontinue employer-sponsoreed health insurance and move to direct coverage under the Children's Health Insurance Program at any time during the certification period without any waiting period.
(9) An individual enrolled in the Primary Care
Network or the Children's Health Insurance Program who enrolls in an
employer-sponsored plan may switch to the [
HIFA] program if
the individual reports to the local office within 10 calendar days of enrolling
in an employer-sponsored plan.
(10) If a [
HIFA] case closes for
any reason, other than to become covered by another Medicaid program or the
Children's Health Insurance Program, and remains closed for one or more
calendar months, the individual must submit a new application to the local
office during an enrollment period to reapply. The individual must meet all the
requirements of a new applicant.
(11) If a [
HIFA] case closes
because the enrollee is eligible for another Medicaid program or the Children's
Health Insurance Program, the individual may reenroll if there is no break in
coverage between the programs, even if the State has stopped enrollment under
(a) If the individual's 12-month certification period has not ended, the individual may reenroll for the remainder of that certification period. The individual is not required to complete a new application or have a new income eligibility determination.
(b) If the 12-month certification period from
the prior enrollment has ended, the individual may still reenroll. However, the individual must complete a new
,] meet eligibility and income guidelines[ ,
and pay a new enrollment fee] for the new certification period.
(c) If there is a break in coverage of one or more calendar months between programs, the individual must reapply during an open enrollment period.
R414-320-18. Improper Medical Coverage.
(1) An individual who receives benefits under
HIFA] program for which he is not eligible is responsible
to repay the Department for the cost of the benefits received.
An alien and the alien's sponsor are
jointly liable for benefits received for which the individual was not eligible. (3) ]An overpayment of benefits
includes all amounts paid by the Department for medical services or other
benefits on behalf of an enrollee or for the benefit of the enrollee during a
time period that the enrollee was not actually eligible to receive such
(1) The [
HIFA] program provides
cash reimbursement to enrollees as described in this section.
(2) The reimbursement shall not exceed the amount the employee pays toward the cost of the employer-sponsored coverage.
(3) The amount of reimbursement for an adult will be up to $150 per month per individual.
(4) The amount of reimbursement for children will be up to $100 per month per child for medical and an additional $20 if they choose to enroll in employer-sponsored dental coverage.
(a) When the employer-sponsored insurance does not include dental benefits, the children may receive cash reimbursement up to $100 for the medical insurance cost and enroll in direct dental coverage under the CHIP Program.
(b) When the employer-sponsored insurance includes dental, the applicant will be given the choice of enrolling the children in the employer-sponsored dental and receiving reimbursement up to $20, or enrolling in direct dental coverage through the CHIP Program.
KEY: Medicaid, PCN, CHIP
Date of Enactment or Last
Substantive Amendment: [
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 26-18-3; 26-1-5
Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets (e.g., [
example]). Text to be added is underlined (e.g., ). Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.
For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact Craig Devashrayee at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6641, by FAX at 801-538-6099, or by Internet E-mail at email@example.com
For questions about the rulemaking process, please contact the Division of Administrative Rules (801-538-3764). Please Note: The Division of Administrative Rules is NOT able to answer questions about the content or application of these administrative rules.
Last modified: 01/11/2007 9:13 AM