This filing was published in the 09/15/2008, issue, Vol. 2008, No. 18, of the Utah State Bulletin.
Health, Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services
Application and Award Formula
NOTICE OF PROPOSED RULE
DAR File No.: 31919
Filed: 09/02/2008, 12:22
Received by: NL
Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:
The rule change was proposed by the Grants Subcommittee and approved by the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Committee. It will change the award formula so that a agency can only receive per capita funds for one person unless that person is dually certified as a dispatcher and an EMT or paramedic. The rule change is proposed by the Grants Subcommittee because agencies are given money for certified individuals who work for them. Some agencies claim certified individuals who may work for them a minimal amount of time. The Grants Subcommittee feels that an agency who recertifies a person and pays his fees, should receive credit for him, but an agency that is not responsible for the recertification or fees, should not receive credit for the person even if it is in a separate county.
Summary of the rule or change:
This amendment changes the award formula to let a person only be counted for one agency unless that person is a dually certified as a dispatcher and an EMT or a paramedic.
State statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:
Anticipated cost or savings to:
the state budget:
The changes impose no additional duties on state government and do not relieve state government from any responsibilities. Therefore, there will be no cost to the state budget.
Counties will receive the same amount of per capita funds because the formula does not change. The Department anticipates that the impact will be anywhere from $20 less for some agencies to over $7,000 less for some agencies. The impact of the change will hurt agencies that hire part time people, such as Air Med, Life Flight, and other agencies that hire people to cover their areas at night. Specifically, there are eight agencies that tend to lose money. These agencies are Air Med - $7,218; Life Flight - $6,616; Lone Peak/Alpine - $2,539; Eagle Mountain - $2,319; Lehi Ambulance - $2,193; Layton City Fire - $1,644; Riverdale Fire Dept - $1,195; and Washington Terrace Fire - $1,136. The agencies that will gain this funding are the agencies where EMS personnel are full time, for instance, Davis County Sheriff, Salt Lake City Fire Department, Sandy Fire Department, Unified Fire Authority, West Jordan Public Safety, West Valley Fire, Orem Public Safety, Provo Fire Department, and Ogden Fire Department all will gain over $1,000 to $7,000.
small businesses and persons other than businesses:
There are very few non-local government agencies that are involved in this process, and the only one that will be affected is the Dixie Ambulance Service in St. George. They would stand to gain over $200 with the proposed change.
Compliance costs for affected persons:
There are no compliance costs because the per capita grants are monies provided to EMS providers through the Criminal Fines and Forfeitures and given to providers. The rule imposes no additional application requirements.
Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:
This change will restrict applications for the same person unless they are dually certified and is requested by the industry. David N. Sundwall, MD, Executive Director
The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Division of Administrative Rules, or at:Health
Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services
CANNON HEALTH BLDG
288 N 1460 W
SALT LAKE CITY UT 84116-3231
Direct questions regarding this rule to:
Leslie Johnson at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6292, by FAX at 801-538-6808, or by Internet E-mail at email@example.com
Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:
This rule may become effective on:
David N. Sundwall, Executive Director
R426. Health, Health Systems Improvement, Emergency Medical Services.
R426-8. Emergency Medical Services Per Capita Grants Program Rules.
R426-8-4. Application and Award Formula.
(1) Grants are available to eligible providers that complete a grant application by the deadline established annually by the Department.
(2) Agency applicants shall certify agency personnel rosters as part of the grant application process.
(a) A certified individual who works for both a public and a for-profit agency may be credited only to the public or non-profit licensee or designee.
individuals may be credited for only one agency[
per county]. However, if a dispatcher is also an EMT,
EMT-I, EMT-IA, or paramedic, the dispatcher may be credited to one agency as a
dispatcher and one agency as an EMT, EMT-I, EMT-IA, or paramedic.
(c) Certified individuals who work for providers that cover multiple counties may be credited only for the county where the certified person lives.
(d) The Department shall determine the amounts of the per capita grants by prorating available funds on a per capita basis by county.
(3) The Department shall allocate funds to licensed and designated ambulance and paramedic providers, designated dispatch agencies and designated first response units by using the following point totals for their personnel: certified Dispatchers = 1; certified Basic EMTs and EMT-IVs = 2; certified Intermediate EMTs = 3; and certified Paramedics = 4. The number of certified personnel is based upon the personnel rosters of each licensed EMS provider, designated dispatch agency and designated first response unit as of January 1 immediately prior to the grant year, which begins July 1.
KEY: emergency medical services
Date of Enactment or Last Substantive
June 5, ]2008
Notice of Continuation: January 24, 2006
Authorizing, and Implemented or Interpreted Law: 26-8a
Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets (e.g., [
example]). Text to be added is underlined (e.g., ). Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.
For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact Leslie Johnson at the above address, by phone at 801-538-6292, by FAX at 801-538-6808, or by Internet E-mail at firstname.lastname@example.org
For questions about the rulemaking process, please contact the Division of Administrative Rules (801-538-3764). Please Note: The Division of Administrative Rules is NOT able to answer questions about the content or application of these administrative rules.
Last modified: 09/11/2008 1:36 PM