Utah Department of Administrative Services Division of Administrative Rules

File No. 34180

This rule was published in the November 15, 2010, issue (Vol. 2010, No. 22) of the Utah State Bulletin.


Governor, Economic Development, Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission

Section R359-1-511

Event Officials

Notice of Proposed Rule

(Amendment)

DAR File No.: 34180
Filed: 10/31/2010 10:12:58 PM

RULE ANALYSIS

Purpose of the rule or reason for the change:

The amendment would base the minimum fee paid by the promoter for referees, judges, and timekeepers on the number of bouts and not on attendance and would allow ringside physicians to negotiate their own fees based on market conditions.

Summary of the rule or change:

The amendment would base the minimum fee paid by the promoter for referees, judges, and timekeepers on the number of bouts and not on attendance and would allow ringside physicians to negotiate their own fees based on market conditions.

State statutory or constitutional authorization for this rule:

  • Title 63C, Chapter 11

Anticipated cost or savings to:

the state budget:

This wouldn't affect the state budget since the event promoter pays the fees for officials and the ringside physician(s).

local governments:

This amendment will not affect local governments since they don't regulate unarmed combat or pay any fees to event officials.

small businesses:

Depending on the number of bouts, the fees will go up or down and would not be dependent on the number of people attending the events. Officials' fees are not a significant percentage in the total cost of promoting events.

persons other than small businesses, businesses, or local governmental entities:

Officials' minimum payment will now be based on the number of bouts and not attendance. The fee schedule sets the minimum charge, officials are able to negotiate higher fees for larger events, based on market demand.

Compliance costs for affected persons:

The minimum fee for a referee is $100, for a judge is $50, and timekeeper is $35. The fees for judges and timekeepers increase to $100 and $50 for events with 5 or more bouts. The minimum fee for ringside physicians is being eliminated to meet market conditions, but should have little impact on the promoters.

Comments by the department head on the fiscal impact the rule may have on businesses:

Setting the minimum fees for event officials based on the number of bouts is a more equitable policy and is consistent with the level of effort required to support an event.

Richard Montanez, Commission Chair

The full text of this rule may be inspected, during regular business hours, at the Division of Administrative Rules, or at:

Governor
Economic Development, Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission
324 S STATE ST
STE 500
SALT LAKE CITY, UT 84111

Direct questions regarding this rule to:

  • Bill Colbert at the above address, by phone at 801-538-8876, by FAX at 801-538-8888, or by Internet E-mail at bcolbert@utah.gov

Interested persons may present their views on this rule by submitting written comments to the address above no later than 5:00 p.m. on:

12/15/2010

This rule may become effective on:

12/22/2010

Authorized by:

Bill Colbert, Secretary, PSUAC

RULE TEXT

R359. Governor, Economic Development, Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission.

R359-1. Pete Suazo Utah Athletic Commission Act Rule.

R359-1-511. Event Officials.

(1) Selection and approval of event officials for a contest, bout, program, match, or exhibition.

(a) The event officials are the referee(s), judges, timekeeper and physician(s).

(b) The commission shall approve all event officials.

(c) The number of event officials assigned is dependent on the number of rounds, bouts and/or championship bouts.

(d) The number of event officials required to be in attendance, or the substitution of officials for any reason or at any time during the event shall be solely within the power and discretion of the Commission.

(e) The promoter may select the event announcer.

(2) Event officials shall be stationed at places designated by the Commissioner in Charge or Director.

(3) Referees, judges, timekeepers and physicians shall be deemed to be independent contractors of the Commission.

(4) All ring officials assigned and directed by the Commission to be in attendance at any event, bout, program, match, or exhibition shall be paid by the licensed promoter for the event in accordance with the fee schedule approved by the Commission.

(6) The promoter shall pay to the Commission the total fees set by the Commission for all officials whom the Commission directs to officiate in a contest or exhibition promoted by the promoter.

(7) Event Officials' Minimum Fee Schedule:

 

TABLE


  [EVENT ATTENDANCE
  
]NUMBER OF BOUTS    REFEREE    JUDGE    TIMEKEEPER[   PHYSICIAN]
     [0 - 500]1-5   [$50]$100.00 $[35]50.00     $35.00[      $300.00]
   [501 - 4000]>5     $100.00  [$50]$100.00 $50.00[      $350.00]
[  4001 - 10000       $200.00   $100.00    $100.00       $400.00
  10001 AND ABOVE     $400.00   $200.00    $200.00       $500.00
]

 

(8) If any licensee of the Commission protests the assignment of a referee or judge, the matter will be reviewed by two Commissioners or a Commissioner and the Commission Director and/or Chief Inspector in order to make such disposition of the protest as the facts may justify. Protests not made in a timely manner may be denied.

 

KEY: licensing, boxing, unarmed combat, white-collar contests

Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment: [October 1], 2010

Notice of Continuation: May 10, 2007

Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law: 63C-11-101 et seq.

 


Additional Information

The Portable Document Format (PDF) version of the Bulletin is the official version. The PDF version of this issue is available at http://www.rules.utah.gov/publicat/bull-pdf/2010/b20101115.pdf. The HTML edition of the Bulletin is a convenience copy. Any discrepancy between the PDF version and HTML version is resolved in favor of the PDF version.

Text to be deleted is struck through and surrounded by brackets (e.g., [example]). Text to be added is underlined (e.g., example).  Older browsers may not depict some or any of these attributes on the screen or when the document is printed.

For questions regarding the content or application of this rule, please contact Bill Colbert at the above address, by phone at 801-538-8876, by FAX at 801-538-8888, or by Internet E-mail at bcolbert@utah.gov.