Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since September 1, 2016, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R27. Administrative Services, Fleet Operations.
Rule R27-7. Safety and Loss Prevention of State Vehicles.
As in effect on September 1, 2016
Table of Contents
- R27-7-1. Authority.
- R27-7-2. Accident Reporting and Liability.
- R27-7-3. Driver Eligibility to Operate a State Vehicle.
- R27-7-4. Accident Review Committee (ARC).
- R27-7-5. Accident Review Committee Guidelines.
- R27-7-6. Effects of ARC Accident Classification.
- R27-7-7. Driver Eligibility Board.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
(1) This rule is established pursuant to Subsection 63A-9-401(1)(d)(iii) which requires the Division of Fleet Operations (DFO) to make rules establishing requirements for fleet safety and loss prevention programs.
(1) In the event of an accident involving a state vehicle, either the driver of the vehicle or the employing agency shall notify DFO, the Division of Risk Management, and the agency's management, within 24 hours of the occurrence of the accident.
(1) The authority to operate a state vehicle is subject to withdrawal, suspension or revocation.
(2) The authority to operate a state vehicle shall be automatically withdrawn, suspended or revoked in the event that an authorized driver's license is not in a valid status.
(a) The authority to operate a state vehicle shall, at a minimum, be withdrawn, suspended or revoked for the period of denial, cancellation, disqualification, suspension or revocation of the authorized driver's license.
(b) The authority to operate a state vehicle shall not be reinstated until such time as the individual provides proof that his or her driver license has been reinstated or DFO verifies the license has been reinstated.
(3) The authority to operate a state vehicle may be suspended or revoked for up to three years by the Driver Eligibility Board for any of the following reasons:
(a) The authorized driver, while acting within the scope of employment, has been involved in 3 or more preventable accidents during a three (3) year period; or
(b) The authorized driver has 3 or more moving violations while driving a state vehicle within a 12 month period; or
(c) The authorized driver has been convicted of any of the following:
(i) Alcohol related driving violations;
(ii) reckless, careless, or negligent driving (including excessive speed violations);
(iii) driving violations that have resulted in injury or death;
(iv) felony related driving violations;
(v) hit and run violations;
(vi) impaired driving;
(vii) or any other driving violation determined by the Driver Eligibility Board as posing a significant risk to the safety or loss prevention of state vehicles.
(d) The unauthorized use, misuse, abuse or neglect of a state vehicle as validated by the driver's agency; or
(e) On the basis of citizen complaints validated by the agency, the authorized driver, while acting within the scope of employment has been found, pursuant to 63A-9-501,to have misused or illegally operated a vehicle three (3) times during a three (3) year period.
(4) The withdrawal of authority to operate a state vehicle imposed by the Driver Eligibility Board shall be in addition to agency-imposed discipline, corrective or remedial action, if any.
(5) Drivers declared ineligible to operate a state vehicle by the Driver Eligibility Board may appeal to the Director of the Department of Administrative Services (DAS) or his/her designee. Any appeal to the Executive Director of DAS or his/her designee must be made in writing within 30 days from the date the Driver Eligibility Board declared a state driver ineligible to operate a vehicle.
(6) Effective Date
(a) Phase in - current state employees shall be subjected to R27-7-3(3) as of the effective date of the rules as published by the Division of Administrative Rules.
(b) State employees hired after the effective date of this administrative rule will be subject to the Driver Eligibility standards in R27-7-3(3) for three years previous to the hire date.
(1) Each agency leasing vehicles from the Division of Fleet Operations shall establish and maintain an Accident Review Committee (ARC). Each agency ARC shall conduct at least quarterly reviews of all accidents involving state vehicles under the possession or control of their respective agencies.
(2) The purpose of the ARC is to reduce the number of accidents involving drivers of vehicles being used in the course of conducting state business.
(3) After DFO has made an initial determination regarding the status of an accident the agency ARC shall determine, through a review process, whether an accident was either preventable or non-preventable, using standards published by the National Safety Council.
(4) Each agency ARC shall, within one (1) calendar month following the last day of the quarter (March, June, September, December), provide to DFO, in writing, its determination and recommended actions, if any, as well as all evidence used to arrive at its determination as to whether the accident was preventable or non-preventable.
(5) If an agency ARC does not send the quarterly accident reviews as specified in R27-7-4(4), the status of the accident will be reviewed by the Driver Eligibility Board on behalf of the agency ARC. The Driver Eligibility Board's decision about the status any vehicle accident will be final. The Driver Eligibility Board may recommend disciplinary actions for agency drivers to the agency when it is acting on behalf of the agency ARC.
(1) The ARC shall have no less than three (3) voting members. The members shall be from different areas in the agency.
(2) An accident shall be classified as preventable if any of the following factors are involved:
(a) Driving too fast for conditions;
(b) Failure to observe clearance;
(c) Failure to yield;
(d) Failure to properly lock the vehicle;
(e) Following too closely;
(f) Improper care of the vehicle;
(g) Improper backing;
(h) Improper parking;
(i) Improper turn or lane change;
(j) Reckless Driving as defined in Utah Code 41-6a-528;
(k) Unsafe driving practices, including but not limited to: the use of electronic equipment or cellular phone while driving, smoking while driving, personal grooming, u-turn, driving with an animal(s) loose in the vehicle.
(3) An accident shall be classified as non-preventable when:
(a) The state vehicle is struck while properly parked;
(b) The state vehicle is vandalized while parked at an authorized location;
(c) The state vehicle is an emergency vehicle, and
(i) At the time of the accident the operator was in the line of duty and operating the vehicle in accordance with their respective agency's applicable policies, guidelines or regulations; and
(ii) Damage to the vehicle occurred during the chase or apprehension of people engaged in or potentially engaged in unlawful activities; or
(iii) Damage to the vehicle occurred in the course of responding to an emergency in order to save or protect the lives, property, health, welfare and safety of the public.
(1) In the event that an accident is determined by the ARC to be preventable, the ARC shall impose and enforce the following:
(a) The authorized driver shall be required to attend a Division of Risk Management-approved driver safety program after being involved in the first preventable accident;
(b) The driver shall be required to attend, at their own expense, a state certified or nationally recognized defensive driving course after being involved in a second preventable accident.
(1) The Driver Eligibility Board (DEB) shall have at least 4 voting members. Members of the Board shall include a representative from the Division of Risk Management, the Division of Fleet Operations, the Department of Human Resource Management and, a representative of the employee's agency. Each member of the Board will be assigned by the Executive Director of the Department of Administrative Services.
(2) The Driver Eligibility Board shall meet at least quarterly.
(3) The employing agency supervisor and the state driver being reviewed shall be notified of the Driver Eligibility Board's meeting place, date and time. Each state employee reviewed by the Driver Eligibility Board will be given the opportunity to speak to the Board and/or answer questions during the meeting if he or she chooses to attend the Board meeting.
(4) The Driver Eligibility Board may impose an ineligible status from a single day up to three years. In no case shall the ineligible status to operate a state vehicle be less than the period imposed by the courts or the employing agency.
accidents, incidents, tickets, ARC
March 11, 2014
November 6, 2015
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R27, please contact the promulgating agency (Administrative Services, Fleet Operations). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.