Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since September 1, 2016, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R398. Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Children with Special Health Care Needs.
Rule R398-5. Birth Defects Reporting.
As in effect on September 1, 2016
Table of Contents
- R398-5-1. Purpose and Authority.
- R398-5-2. Definitions.
- R398-5-3. Reporting by Hospitals and Birthing Centers.
- R398-5-4. Reporting by Laboratories.
- R398-5-5. Record Abstraction.
- R398-5-6. Liability.
- R398-5-7. Penalties.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
This rule establishes reporting requirements for birth defects and stillbirths in Utah and for related test results. Sections 26-1-30(5), (6), (7), (9), (18), (22), 26-10-1(2), 26-10-2, and 26-10-6(1)(d) authorize this rule.
As used in this rule:
(1) "Birthing center" means a birthing center licensed under Title 26, Chapter 21.
(2) "Birth defect" means any medical disorder of organ structure, function or biochemistry which is of possible genetic or prenatal origin. This includes any congenital anomaly, indication of hypoxia or genetic metabolic disorder listed in the ICD-9-CM (International Classification of Diseases, 9th Revision, Clinical Modification, established by the United States Center for Health Statistics) with any of the following diagnostic codes: 243, 255.2, 255.4, from 269.2 to 279.9, from 740.0 to 759.9; and from 768.0 to 768.9; or listed in the ICD-10 (International Classification of Diseases, 10th Revision, established by the World Health Organization) with any of the following diagnostic codes: E03, E25, from E70 to E90, from D55 to D58, J96.00 to J96.91, P09, and from Q00-Q99.
(3) "Hospital" means general acute hospital, children's specialty hospital, remote-rural hospital licensed under Title 26, Chapter 21.
(4) "Stillbirth" means a pregnancy resulting in a fetal death at 20 weeks gestation or later.
(5) "Clinic" means physician-owned or operated clinic that regularly provide services for the diagnosis or treatment of birth defects, genetic counseling, or prenatal diagnostic services.
Each hospital or birthing center that admits a patient and detects or screens for a birth defect as a result of any outcome of pregnancy, or admits a child under 24 months of age with a birth defect, or is presented with the event of a stillbirth shall report or cause to report to the department within 40 days of discharge the following:
(1) if live born, child's name;
(2) child's date of birth (or date of delivery);
(3) mother's name;
(4) mother's date of birth;
(5) delivery hospital;
(6) birth defects and hypoxia/hypoxemia diagnoses;
(7) pulse oximetry results for all initial and repeat screenings, including limb location;
(8) mother's state of residency at delivery;
(9) child's sex; and
(10) mother's zip code.
Each laboratory operating in the state that identifies a human chromosomal or genetic abnormality or other evidence of a birth defect shall report the following on a calendar quarterly basis to the department within 40 days of the end of the preceding calendar quarter:
(1) if live born, child's name and date of birth;
(2) mother's name;
(3) mother's date of birth;
(4) date the sample is accepted by the laboratory;
(5) test conducted;
(6) test result; and
(7) mother's state of residency at delivery.
Hospitals, birthing centers, and clinics as well as community health care providers shall allow personnel from the department or its contractors to abstract information from the mother's and child's files on their demographic characteristics, family history of birth defects, prenatal and postnatal procedures or treatments (including diagnostics) related to the birth defect or stillbirth, and outcomes of that and other pregnancies by that mother. Hospitals, birthing centers, and clinics as well as community health care providers shall allow personnel from the department or its contractors to abstract information from the affected child's files, throughout their lifespan.
As provided in Title 26, Chapter 25, persons who report, either voluntarily or as required by this rule, information covered by this rule may not be held liable for reporting the information to the Department of Health.
Pursuant to Section 26-23-6, any person that willfully violates any provision of this rule may be assessed an administrative civil money penalty not to exceed $1,000 upon an administrative finding of a first violation and up to $3,000 for a subsequent similar violation within two years. A person may also be subject to penalties imposed by a civil or criminal court.
birth defects, birth defect reporting
July 31, 2012
September 2, 2014
26-1-30(2)(c), (d), (e), (g), (p), (t); 26-10-1(2); 26-10-2; 26-25-1
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R398, please contact the promulgating agency (Health, Family Health and Preparedness, Children with Special Health Care Needs). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.