Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since September 1, 2014, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R590. Insurance, Administration.
Rule R590-172. Notice to Uninsurable Applicants for Health Insurance.
As in effect on September 1, 2014
Table of Contents
- R590-172-1. Authority.
- R590-172-2. Scope.
- R590-172-3. Definitions.
- R590-172-4. Rule.
- R590-172-5. Enforcement Date.
- R590-172-6. Severability.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
This rule is adopted pursuant to the provisions of Section 31A-29-116.
This rule applies to all health insurers doing business in the State of Utah.
For the purpose of this rule the commissioner adopts the definitions as particularly set forth in Section 31A-1-301 and in addition, the following:
The term, "health insurance," is defined in Subsection 31A-29-103(5)(a) as any hospital and medical expense-incurred policy; nonprofit health care service plan contract, and health maintenance organization subscriber contract. It does not include workers' compensation insurance, automobile medical payment insurance, or insurance under which benefits are payable with or without regard to fault and which is required by law to be contained in any liability insurance policy.
(1) Notification of Denial to Applicants.
Every health insurer writing health insurance in the State of Utah will provide a written notice containing the requirements in R590-176-5(3)(a), Health Benefit Plan Enrollment, and the following language to each applicant for health insurance coverage that is denied coverage by the insurer for reasons relating to health:
"You have been denied health insurance coverage due to a health condition which is uninsurable. The Utah Comprehensive Health Insurance Pool (HIPUtah) was created to provide health insurance to residents of Utah who are denied health insurance and who are considered uninsurable. If you have lived in the State of Utah for 12 consecutive months prior to applying for insurance with this company you may be eligible for health insurance coverage with HIPUtah.
"However, if you have not lived in the state of Utah for 12 consecutive months, but you are a Utah resident and you are coming from another State's high risk pool or have had 18 months of continuous coverage with the most recent coverage being through a group health plan, you may still be eligible for health insurance coverage with the Utah Comprehensive Insurance Pool.
"Part or all of the preexisting waiting period will be waived if you are an eligible individual according to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) or your previous coverage was involuntarily terminated for reasons other than for nonpayment of premium or fraud, and application for HIPUtah is made within 63 days of that termination. The amount of credit given will depend on the length of time an applicant was previously covered under that health insurance.
"If application for coverage with HIPUtah is made within 30 days of this denial letter and you are declined coverage with the pool, HIPUtah will issue a certificate of insurability and you may reapply for coverage with this company within 30 days of the certificate date.
"To find out whether you qualify for pool coverage or to make application for pool coverage, Salt Lake City area residents should call 801-442-6660. Residents of other areas in Utah should call 800-705-9173, toll free. The HIPUtah's mailing address is P.O. Box 30192, Salt Lake City, Utah 84130-0192."
(2) Notification of Denial to HIPUtah.
(a) Every health insurer writing health insurance in the State of Utah shall provide written notice to HIPUtah for each application in which applicant does not have current individual coverage, for insurance the insurer has denied.
(b) The notice to HIPUtah shall contain the name and address of the applicant who was denied insurance, and no other personal information. If the applicant applied for the insurance through an insurance producer, the written notice shall provide the name and the address of the insurance producer. The information must be presented in an excel spreadsheet in the format; Applicant, Last Name, First Name, Mailing Address, Producer, Last Name, First Name, Mailing Address.
(c) The notice shall be submitted to HIPUtah on the 1st of each month. The notice shall be transmitted electronically to HIPUtah through a secure email address at firstname.lastname@example.org.
The commissioner will begin enforcing the revised provisions of this rule 45 days from the effective date of the rule
If a provision of this rule or its application to any person or circumstance is for any reason held to be invalid, the remainder of the rule and the application of such provisions are not affected.
September 15, 2011
April 29, 2010
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R590, please contact the promulgating agency (Insurance, Administration). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.