Utah Administrative Code
The Utah Administrative Code is the body of all effective administrative rules as compiled and organized by the Division of Administrative Rules (see Subsection 63G-3-102(5); see also Sections 63G-3-701 and 702).
NOTE: For a list of rules that have been made effective since September 1, 2016, please see the codification segue page.
NOTE TO RULEFILING AGENCIES: Use the RTF version for submitting rule changes.
R994. Workforce Services, Unemployment Insurance.
Rule R994-404. Payments Following Workers' Compensation.
As in effect on September 1, 2016
Table of Contents
- R994-404-101. Claimants Who Qualify for an Adjustment to the Base Period.
- R994-404-102. Good Cause for Late Filing.
- R994-404-103. The Effective Date of the Claim.
- R994-404-104. Adjustment of the Base Period.
- Date of Enactment or Last Substantive Amendment
- Notice of Continuation
- Authorizing, Implemented, or Interpreted Law
(1) A claimant who was off work due to a work related illness or injury may qualify for an adjusted base period if all of the following elements are satisfied:
(a) the claimant must have received temporary total disability (TTD) compensation for the illness or injury under the workers' compensation or occupational disease laws of this state or under federal law;
(b) the claimant must have received TTD for at least seven full weeks during the base period immediately preceding the effective date of the claim. This can be either the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters or the last four completed calendar quarters as provided in R994-404-104. The weeks need not be consecutive;
(c) the initial claim for unemployment insurance benefits must have been filed no later than 90 calendar days after the claimant was released by his or her health care provider to return to full-time work. This does not include release to limited or light duty work. The effective date of the eligible claim must be within the 90 days regardless of the date on which the claimant contacts the Department to file a claim. For example, if the 90th day falls on Wednesday and the claimant files a claim on Thursday, the effective date of the claim would be Sunday of that calendar week and would fall within the 90 day time limitation;
(d) the initial claim for unemployment insurance benefits must have been filed within 36 months of the week the covered injury or illness occurred. The covered injury can be the initial injury or an event such as a re-injury that caused the claimant to go back on TTD.
(2) Wages previously used to establish a benefit year cannot be re-used.
(1) Good cause for not filing within the 90 day period can be established if:
(a) the claimant contested the release to work date by filing for a hearing with the appropriate administrative agency and there was no substantial delay between the date of the decision of the agency and the filing of the claim;
(b) the delay in filing was due to circumstances beyond the claimant's control;
(c) the claimant delayed filing due to circumstances which were compelling and reasonable; or
(d) the claimant returned to work immediately after receiving a release from his health care provider and there was no substantial delay between the time the employment ended and the filing of the claim.
(2) A lack of knowledge about the wage freeze provisions due to the claimant's failure to inquire or the employer's failure to provide information does not establish good cause for failure to file within the 90 day period.
The effective date of the claim for benefits shall be the Sunday of the week in which the claimant makes application for benefits. Although the Act provides for the use of an alternate benefit year, it does not extend coverage to the weeks that were not filed timely in accordance with provisions of Subsection 35A-4-403(1)(a).
(1) The claimant can file a claim using wages paid during the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the effective date of the claim or the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters prior to the date the claimant left work due to the illness or injury.
(2) If a claimant does not qualify under either base period described in paragraph (1) above, and the claim is effective on or after January 2, 2011, the claimant can use the four completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the effective date of the claim or the four completed calendar quarters immediately prior to the date the claimant left work due to the illness or injury.
unemployment compensation, workers' compensation
December 9, 2010
May 22, 2012
For questions regarding the content or application of rules under Title R994, please contact the promulgating agency (Workforce Services, Unemployment Insurance). A list of agencies with links to their homepages is available at http://www.utah.gov/government/agencylist.html or from http://www.rules.utah.gov/contact/agencycontacts.htm.